User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2796 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesM.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a bit of a let down but not as much as some people make out. yes the shotgun has changed etc.. and it's not gears1, if it was, that would be a bad evolution of the game. Why not just play gears1 if you want to own with the shotgun? This is a new game and new rules. get revving and let the blood flow through those metal teeth! anyone for toast? Expand
  2. CoryG.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to it's fullest. Expand
  3. AndrewB.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system and the new party system, a la Halo, for multiplayer matches. If you own and XBOX 360, you should own Gears 2. Expand
  4. PatrickR.
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    from the very begining of the campaign its clear. Gears 2 is everything that made the first an instant classic with a face lift and some well proportioned implants. If you loved the first game, you'll love the second. Nuff said. The multi player once again stands as the best xbox has to offer.... if you can find a party that is. Which brings me to why i cant give Gears 2 a perfect from the very begining of the campaign its clear. Gears 2 is everything that made the first an instant classic with a face lift and some well proportioned implants. If you loved the first game, you'll love the second. Nuff said. The multi player once again stands as the best xbox has to offer.... if you can find a party that is. Which brings me to why i cant give Gears 2 a perfect 10. The easy and accesable match searching from the first has been replaced by the tedious, frustrating and often time consuming matchmaking that annoyed me about halo 3. In order to play you can either A. Host a match in which the only people who can join are on your friends list. B. enter matchmaking in which you have to wait until you get added to a party of other frustrated gamers waiting to play. once you get a party you must then wait until your party finds another party of players who have chosen the same 2-6 possible games types (i guess to speed up the process you can no longer search for one single mode, which again,is frustrating.) All that being said, Horde is an amazing addition to the Mp and should be the standout mode for this game. Gears 2 is everything you wanted it to be, and aside from some match making issues (which im sure will be addressed eventually) is every bit as intense as the first if not more so. Expand
  5. BenM.
    Nov 9, 2008
    9
    Non-stop feeling of being in a war plowing a troika through 50+ locusts is just amazing .. multiplayer movement is alot smoother - no more hoover vacuums in walls . Needs locale settings or ping indicator for public games in multiplayer ... lag can become terrible at times.
  6. ZacharyTrimmer
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    Gears of War 2 is an improvement over its predecessor in almost every single way. The single player is more epic and engaging, and the multiplayer has received the attention it deserves. My only complaint is that the chainsaw is too easy to re-rev if you are shot/beat trying to chainsaw someone, meaning it is easier to chainsaw in GOW2 than GOW1.
  7. JeffreyP
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    This game is mixed by users 1) perhaps they are not the type to play third person shooters 2) they are ps3 users trying to make the purchase justified and not buy this game 3) the reviewer just honestly did not like the game. I can understand one and three, but when I hear people get upset because they didn't mind to look at the freaking cover of the game, thinking it was a racingThis game is mixed by users 1) perhaps they are not the type to play third person shooters 2) they are ps3 users trying to make the purchase justified and not buy this game 3) the reviewer just honestly did not like the game. I can understand one and three, but when I hear people get upset because they didn't mind to look at the freaking cover of the game, thinking it was a racing game, come on, that makes me a little upset. This game defines what a blockbuster style action and story of epic survival really mean. Big guns, huge enemies with bigger weapons, expanded environments and new takes on the bleak world of Sera, take this game to a new height of badassness. Mind you there are thing like glitches that need to work out, but don't complain the multilayer is laggy, because you're internet sucks(oldest excuse in the book of gaming by the way). The game may feel short to some, but in the long run, I know people will be working day and night to get the Seriously 2.0 Achievement. Expand
  8. LaV.
    Dec 6, 2008
    9
    "I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is "I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is only played by teenage bed-wetters who cannot read. Worst ever! Shame on you Microsoft!" Have you been living under a rock? How the hell do you think it's a racing game? There's a damn gun in the front of the cover and have you ever thought about looking at the back of the damn package? It gives a perfect description of what the game is about. Microsoft didn't give any false advertising at all your just an ignorant daft c**nt! Other than that I believe the game is great. Only downside is it takes ages for the game to connect online. Which I'm hoping they will fix. Expand
  9. BrandonS
    Dec 7, 2008
    9
    This game is great and truly improves upon the original Gears. Now I wonder, what's with all the low-rating scores for stupid reasons? "I thought it was a racing game, so I'll give it a 2", that's just dumb. And why are people saying it's perfect and recommending it, but then giving it a 2? I realize they are kidding, but do not ruin a game's reputation for your This game is great and truly improves upon the original Gears. Now I wonder, what's with all the low-rating scores for stupid reasons? "I thought it was a racing game, so I'll give it a 2", that's just dumb. And why are people saying it's perfect and recommending it, but then giving it a 2? I realize they are kidding, but do not ruin a game's reputation for your own enjoyment. Expand
  10. DevinGrant
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    The follow up to the first Killer App for the 360 is a progressive if not somewhat flawed effort. Epic addressed the repetive environments of the first game and added beautiful diverse levels that more that please the eye. The key gameplay component hasn't changed with the cover system being nearly identical to its predecessor. The only time the system is abandoned is the act thatThe follow up to the first Killer App for the 360 is a progressive if not somewhat flawed effort. Epic addressed the repetive environments of the first game and added beautiful diverse levels that more that please the eye. The key gameplay component hasn't changed with the cover system being nearly identical to its predecessor. The only time the system is abandoned is the act that takes place inside a giant worm. The level is merely a platfrom game with only one type of enemy, and one objective. It's understandable that epic wanted to switch things up, but the cover system is sorely missed after this level based soley on the fact that the gameplay from the previous level, was so simple and archaic. This doesn't however take away from the rest of the campaign that clocks in at a little over 12 hours. The action's frantic pace is continuous throughout and the bosses battles only add to a game that is filled with constant action.
    The main improvement from part one is the multiplayer. Epic builds on an already solid foundation, and then bumps it up more than few notches. The horde mode where two players battle wave after wave of locust is heart-pounding and can almost be a game in itself. This is accompanied by all the modes found in the first and a refined online modes that rival the hallowed Halo series. Ultimately Gears of War 2 is an more than adequate improvement over the first with some gameplay flaws keeping it from a perfect score. If Epic stays on the right track, Gears of War 3 could be one of the games that defines the current generation of videogames
    Expand
  11. CodyB
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    Well sure there seems to be some issues with the online play to this game, however, it is something that can be fixed. The graphics, and unique gameplay and tactical team work needed is amazing and unlike any other. A great game and shows remarkable potential for what is to come for the rumored Gears of War 3.
  12. MichaelK
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    Why all the bad reviews this is a solid game and even though I live in an area with terrible connection speeds I hardly suffer any lag yes there where issues when the game was released but these issues are all cleared now the only possible compaint anyone could have about the online is the amount of hardcore players who will own all newcomers untill they adjust to the way this game works Why all the bad reviews this is a solid game and even though I live in an area with terrible connection speeds I hardly suffer any lag yes there where issues when the game was released but these issues are all cleared now the only possible compaint anyone could have about the online is the amount of hardcore players who will own all newcomers untill they adjust to the way this game works because it is truly unlike any other game out there Expand
  13. JustinE.
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    I played this game at my friend's house and beat the campaign on hardcore in one sitting... but it was a really well done campaign. The only parts that didn't seem to be like Gears of War (and are usually found in crappy games that try to "mix things up") were the vehicles. Really the only one that was truly unnecessary and annoying was the Centaur, but the others were all I played this game at my friend's house and beat the campaign on hardcore in one sitting... but it was a really well done campaign. The only parts that didn't seem to be like Gears of War (and are usually found in crappy games that try to "mix things up") were the vehicles. Really the only one that was truly unnecessary and annoying was the Centaur, but the others were all right. Horde mode is incredibly addictive, and chainsawing NEVER gets old. Haven't played matchmaking, but I've heard it is rather disappointing. Overall, this game is really really good. Expand
  14. beavisbutt
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    i have to say that everythings been improved upon in the sequel better graphics, gameplay, and story make for a great followup new enemies and weapons to dispatch them are greatly implemented and a.i has been tweaked making this a more satisfying and less frustrating experience then the original so far gets my vote for game of the year well done Cliffy and co...
  15. ToddB.
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    When I hear same as the original with minor changes, I get skeptical. Yet, with GoW2, it is the same as the original, with the minor tweaks that make the game a measurably better experience. From the new game modes in the competitive multiplayer to the additional head count in the co-op, everything they changed was for the better and the stuff they left the same did not need any changes. When I hear same as the original with minor changes, I get skeptical. Yet, with GoW2, it is the same as the original, with the minor tweaks that make the game a measurably better experience. From the new game modes in the competitive multiplayer to the additional head count in the co-op, everything they changed was for the better and the stuff they left the same did not need any changes. The story became shallower and the ending left a lot to be desired, but expected, since the game has been touted as a trilogy. A better wrap to this campaign and a 10 would have been a no brainer. Aside from the shortfall in the story, the game is engrossing and every bit as fun as the first one, if not more. A must buy for any fan of shooters; you will definitely enjoy this one. Expand
  16. RickR.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    This game is superior to the original with better story, emotion, design and environments. The only slights are the difficulty is easier and the single-player is short. Horde is a lot of fun (but empty your bladder first) and the remaining multiplayer modes are fun and-so far-unspoiled by glitches and modded controllers.
  17. AnonymousMC
    Nov 12, 2008
    9
    That 9 is based only on the campaign.
    It's hard to give any game a 10 but I did consider it for a bit. My online experience is limited for now, so I'll only talk about the story. Amazing.
    Don't quite understand why so many folks are bashing this game. I found it absolutly fantastic and would recomend it to anyone. Plenty of fun, great story, great new characters and
    That 9 is based only on the campaign.
    It's hard to give any game a 10 but I did consider it for a bit. My online experience is limited for now, so I'll only talk about the story. Amazing.
    Don't quite understand why so many folks are bashing this game. I found it absolutly fantastic and would recomend it to anyone. Plenty of fun, great story, great new characters and weapons.
    Get your favorite bag of chips, a jug of soda/juice or whatever your poison is, log on w/ your favorite pal and have at it. Totally enjoyable.
    Don't waste any time thinking about it- just play it and smile.
    By the way- the limited edition Bonus DVD pretty much blows. Nothing very interesting on it. The HALO3 bonus DVD had plenty of good info- this one, nope. Boreing.
    Expand
  18. VilleK.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Just plain AWESOME game. I'm thankful that they didn't change the game itself too mutch. Cause Gears 1 was great, it's great to make the sequel same type but with little upgrades. Only 9 cause matchmaking is sometimes more than slow, worst gotten so far is 30minutes, and thats alot of time waiting.
  19. RickG
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    awesome game.. the only reason it doesnt warrant a perfect score in my book is because im not a lame fan boy (like many ps3 and 360) gamers are.. it has minute annoyances but its still a masterpiece.. dont let the 0 user scores deter your... those are simpy voted by brainless 12 year olds who only own a ps3 and are just jealous.. their envy really shows when they spend so much time tryingawesome game.. the only reason it doesnt warrant a perfect score in my book is because im not a lame fan boy (like many ps3 and 360) gamers are.. it has minute annoyances but its still a masterpiece.. dont let the 0 user scores deter your... those are simpy voted by brainless 12 year olds who only own a ps3 and are just jealous.. their envy really shows when they spend so much time trying to sabotage the score on this page... bottom line : excellent game! and fanboys suck Expand
  20. Shaun
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Great fun to play, would give a 10 but trying to find a match when you are alone takes an eternity (for me between 5-15 minutes) and for a group of 4 its even worse. Fun though? hell yes. Looks good? Better than ever. Overall gears continues to shine. People tossing scores of 0 should try playing a game before rating it. Yes i'm talking about you Lazarus S. and your rediculous review Great fun to play, would give a 10 but trying to find a match when you are alone takes an eternity (for me between 5-15 minutes) and for a group of 4 its even worse. Fun though? hell yes. Looks good? Better than ever. Overall gears continues to shine. People tossing scores of 0 should try playing a game before rating it. Yes i'm talking about you Lazarus S. and your rediculous review after admitting that you didn't even play it. Expand
  21. MarkW.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    An absolutely superb game. I've been playing it since I got it, it's awesome. The graphics are smoother and crisper than the original, the targeting system has been improved so it feels more fluid and much more accurate. The action is even more frenetic. The additions, like being able to scoop up a fallen foe to use as a 'human' shield is great. The extra modes are ace An absolutely superb game. I've been playing it since I got it, it's awesome. The graphics are smoother and crisper than the original, the targeting system has been improved so it feels more fluid and much more accurate. The action is even more frenetic. The additions, like being able to scoop up a fallen foe to use as a 'human' shield is great. The extra modes are ace too - an improved multiplayer and the horde swarm thing. All in all a bigger, better sequel. Expand
  22. RobertH.
    Nov 9, 2008
    9
    Exceptional and addicting game, managed to improve on many facets of the original. The only complaint, which keeps it from a 10: The wait in the matchmaking lobbies is ridiculous. I think I've spent more time waiting to join a game than actually playing any multiplayer modes. I only notched off a point since they'll hopefully fix this in the near future.
  23. ChristopherP.
    Dec 4, 2008
    9
    It's Gears of War, only more epic and even flashier. That about sums it up. I really liked playing coop in the first, and the campaign in this one is, in my opinion, better, just because of how much they ratcheted up the epic factor. It's almost Call of Duty 4-like. There are few quiet spots, but they're not boring and are a brief and welcome change from the constant It's Gears of War, only more epic and even flashier. That about sums it up. I really liked playing coop in the first, and the campaign in this one is, in my opinion, better, just because of how much they ratcheted up the epic factor. It's almost Call of Duty 4-like. There are few quiet spots, but they're not boring and are a brief and welcome change from the constant firefights. There's an air of suspense and thrill at the expectation of some wretches to burst through the window and attack you (and best of all, wretches still do nothing but charge at you, meaning all you have to do is stand there and hold down B to saw each one apart as they come. I'm pretty sure this was intentional as an excuse for the player to make a huge mess of wretch parts, which is great imo). There are some neat little touches throughout the game, too. It's much easier to do team-saws on enemies (when I was playing coop with my brother, he and I and Carmine all chainsawed the same grunt on every side, to our amusement), the saw's become useful again in multiplayer, the new weapons are fun to use (the chaingun mows down everything. Woo! And the mortar rains flaming death on everything you shoot it over, which is about as fun), the hordes you fight are larger, the levels are still gorgeous and often destructible, and everything's just been tuned up to near-perfection. The new multiplayer Horde mode is wonderfully awesome coop action and deserves mention. Being on a team of five, rushing for any ammunition you can find and wishing your gun would shoot faster as you're mowing down wave after wave after wave of Locust that never stop coming, is THE mode to cheer in your headset to. It's a reason to sign up for Gold. The only qualms I have are that the coolest enemy in the game who shows up early, the Darth Maul-style Locust with the twin chainsaws, is a joke of a boss when you finally fight him. My brother and I took him down first try with no difficulty, which sort of was a bust. Worse, he only sporadically tries to melee you! Otherwise he's just sending minions. We were looking forward to finally fighting him the entire game! Totally lame. I was expecting much more chainsaw dueling for that fight, but was really let down by how easy and unimpressive it was. Also, the final act blows. The final boss is just as bad and doesn't really make sense in the story. The ending itself is underwhelming when you finally finish, and the game ends just a bit too soon. Still, I had a whole lot of fun playing the campaign, and I'm still having a blast with Horde. If you liked the first one, it's a real safe bet you'll like this, too. If you didn't like the first, you probably won't like this one. Expand
  24. PigPiles
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    I would have give this game a 10 but it has quite a few bugs with it that isnt a really big deal. Graphics is top notch. Campaign is extremely good. Multiplayer is superb. The people complaining about it taking to long to find a match are obviously not that smart. Open your NAT settings so that it is not restricted then i bet you can find a match within a minute, and possibly you need a I would have give this game a 10 but it has quite a few bugs with it that isnt a really big deal. Graphics is top notch. Campaign is extremely good. Multiplayer is superb. The people complaining about it taking to long to find a match are obviously not that smart. Open your NAT settings so that it is not restricted then i bet you can find a match within a minute, and possibly you need a better connection. I have not had any problems finding matches. Great controls and physics. Another flaw with the game is the host advantage. That needs to be taken out because i feel it gives an unfair advantage to the opposing team. Expand
  25. JohnLamont
    Jan 17, 2009
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Though after one campaign experience I had enough. It was shorter than I expected, but considering the space of an 360 disc you can see why. Multiplayer is fantastic, more than anything that's what really strung my rating up to 9/10, all the different game types, and playing with a friend really makes it worthwhile. You can switch gore (blood) off ifI thoroughly enjoyed this game. Though after one campaign experience I had enough. It was shorter than I expected, but considering the space of an 360 disc you can see why. Multiplayer is fantastic, more than anything that's what really strung my rating up to 9/10, all the different game types, and playing with a friend really makes it worthwhile. You can switch gore (blood) off if you get a bit quezzy. Expand
  26. DerekRomich
    Feb 11, 2009
    9
    I don't play multiplayer so I'm only rating this game from the single player story mode. I thought the pacing was great and the story was okay. You're definitely strung along and left with more questions about Marcus Fenix's past. Dom's story gave a more personal touch to the story which I liked. The action is pretty much the same as the first game (which is aI don't play multiplayer so I'm only rating this game from the single player story mode. I thought the pacing was great and the story was okay. You're definitely strung along and left with more questions about Marcus Fenix's past. Dom's story gave a more personal touch to the story which I liked. The action is pretty much the same as the first game (which is a good thing). The final boss battle is not much of a battle at all; but this is a game that is great based on the sum of all its parts, not just one battle. Expand
  27. MikeC.
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    An extremely satisfying campaign with unique and thrilling setpieces with each battle seeming like it's own war. Stellar sound and voice acting (even if some of the characters seem to have the intelligence of Conan the Barbarian), and while there are a few very puzzling and laughable bugs (rag doll errors, clipping, severe enemy targeting errors), the epic scope of the violent action An extremely satisfying campaign with unique and thrilling setpieces with each battle seeming like it's own war. Stellar sound and voice acting (even if some of the characters seem to have the intelligence of Conan the Barbarian), and while there are a few very puzzling and laughable bugs (rag doll errors, clipping, severe enemy targeting errors), the epic scope of the violent action more than makes up for it. It won't make you love the gameplay if you hated the first one, but it will further cement fans of action games as loyal devotees of the Gears universe. Well worth every penny. Expand
  28. MattR.
    Nov 13, 2008
    9
    Gears 2 is basically gears one except a lot better. Almost everything that the original Gears of war lacked on Gears 2 made better. With new executions, weapons, enemies, multiplayer modes, and new difficulty level in campaign Gears 2 shines as one of the best 3rd person shooter that i have ever played.
  29. DavidC.
    Nov 15, 2008
    9
    I can see there are a lot of haters giving this game a 0, because the fact is this game is pretty awesome. The graphics are nice, the story is pretty awesome, love the character growth. New weapons, and updates are very nice. The online is much better, in regards to lag. The only down to this game is not being able to go online with a guest and play through matchmaking. Not everyone is I can see there are a lot of haters giving this game a 0, because the fact is this game is pretty awesome. The graphics are nice, the story is pretty awesome, love the character growth. New weapons, and updates are very nice. The online is much better, in regards to lag. The only down to this game is not being able to go online with a guest and play through matchmaking. Not everyone is gonna play with their friends online, and being able to quickly search for a game with guests, like the original would have been awesome. Another flaw, is the falling animation, when a mine blows up, all u can do is watch helplessly at you character being blown away. the cover system has been improved upon, but not perfect. Expand
  30. AaronHarmon
    Nov 23, 2008
    9
    Fantastic game. While its not revolutionary like the first game, it takes the first and adds to it in many ways. I am not going to go into all the details because others have already done so but my feeling is that if you enjoyed the first game, you will enjoy this one.
  31. AugustM.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    I don't know how someone can rate this game a 1. That is just ridiculous. I can understand 7, which might come down to personal preference, but knocking the gamemplay, environments, and entertainment level is crazy. These people are the same people that probably voted for McCain. GOW2 is a beautiful game...try reading what the pros wrote--they know their schtuff.
  32. BarlowR.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Lets not beat around the bush, in its full form gears 2 is a vamped up version of gears 1, but really thats were the beauty lies, with improved graphics enemies and weapons gears 2 is definatly a better sequel, save a little lack of replay on the legnthend main campaign this game both on and offline it will keep you entertained and amazed for hours, two words, buy it. ( if you have an xbox).
  33. DenisL.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    The first gears was good, this one is awesome. Bigger, better(gameplay, story, graphics...), and artistically perfect. Epic teams are really know their jobs, the unreal engine 3 has never looked like that before. Even if you don't like this kind of game, you just can't deny that it's one of the better action game ever. 9, because perfection is never reached.
  34. Ara
    Dec 23, 2008
    9
    SPOILERS, I guess...

    I liked: - New battles with old enemies (brumarks, but specially reavers were fun to fight, their appearances gave a great movie-like feeling to the action) - That fish boss was extremely cool (altough somewhat easy to kill) - Miniguns...it gave a great feeling of FIREPOWER. - That level inside the worm, it was organic and all. Weird that the worm had lungs
    SPOILERS, I guess...

    I liked:
    - New battles with old enemies (brumarks, but specially reavers were fun to fight, their appearances gave a great movie-like feeling to the action)
    - That fish boss was extremely cool (altough somewhat easy to kill)
    - Miniguns...it gave a great feeling of FIREPOWER.
    - That level inside the worm, it was organic and all. Weird that the worm had lungs and three hearts, but hey...reality went down the toilet a while ago, right?

    Didn't like:
    - Final "boss" (was that a JOKE?)
    - Lack of depth in the story
    Expand
  35. AnonymousMC
    Dec 29, 2008
    9
    A great game. It's far from the best, with its sudden deaths (i.e. if you stand in one place for half of a second too long, you will die without warning) and terrible group of players on it (but that's not the game's fault, that's the fault of LIVE). However, if you have a 360, don't miss this great game. Oh, and if you're wondering about the low userA great game. It's far from the best, with its sudden deaths (i.e. if you stand in one place for half of a second too long, you will die without warning) and terrible group of players on it (but that's not the game's fault, that's the fault of LIVE). However, if you have a 360, don't miss this great game. Oh, and if you're wondering about the low user score, that's from the PS3 fanboys who don't try both games. I'm as ashamed of them as the people lowering the Resistance 2 score. But I'm getting off topic. Just get this game. Expand
  36. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Gears of War 2 is a fantastic game, with an epic campaign, incredible Horde co-op experience, and improved multiplayer; all in a package that promises to keep players entertained for dozens, if not hundreds of hours. Several issues keep the game from being all it could be, but it remains a worthy addition to any 360 owner's library.
  37. Sep 4, 2010
    9
    After playing Gears of war 2 I was quite satisfied with the game. The story, somewhat bland, was still interesting. However a few minor issues keeps this score from being a perfect one. Sometimes the controls are unresponsive or delayed which could mean the difference between life and death. Another issue I faced was when I switched from xbox live to unconnected form the internet theAfter playing Gears of war 2 I was quite satisfied with the game. The story, somewhat bland, was still interesting. However a few minor issues keeps this score from being a perfect one. Sometimes the controls are unresponsive or delayed which could mean the difference between life and death. Another issue I faced was when I switched from xbox live to unconnected form the internet the game would wipe all of my progress and start over again. So say you were on wave 49 of horde and you unplugged your ethernet cable and turned off the xbox. When you play the game again it will reset. Other then that the weapons are nice, the multiplayer, on or offline, well balanced, and horde is fun with friends. I say this game is a 9.25. Expand
  38. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    So maybe it doesn't go farther away from the original but the gameplay is still great. The campaign story isn't as great or intense as the first's but the addition of multi-player is awesome if you wanna play online against your friends or by your self. If I could I'd give it a 9.5.
  39. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = A great shooter with fun, addictive gameplay. Excellent graphics, awesome campaign. Mulltiplayer needs a lot of work for Gears 3.
  40. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    This is another example of a sequel that surpasses its predecessor in almost every way, the story is better, the graphics are fantastic but show some age in one or two little places and has texture loading issues, and the sound is phenomenal, the controls and combat are as smooth as butter, the campaign is intense and epic always puts you in a new scenario, from fantastic cover basedThis is another example of a sequel that surpasses its predecessor in almost every way, the story is better, the graphics are fantastic but show some age in one or two little places and has texture loading issues, and the sound is phenomenal, the controls and combat are as smooth as butter, the campaign is intense and epic always puts you in a new scenario, from fantastic cover based shooting with some of the coolest weapons in video games, to awesome vehicle sections, and it offers one of the most epic, empowering, and rewarding moments in video game history, I don't want to spoil it, but I will say this it involves a Brumak, there are still a small community playing online, but with Gears of War 3 out there you might as well go to that for your multiplayer, but it is still fun to play, and even without the thriving community the campaign alone makes it worth a purchase, so if you liked the first game this one is better in almost every way, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  41. Jun 13, 2011
    9
    Much more of everything you could want.Story,action,awesome sauce.Could not be much better though I missed the Berserkers from the original.360 owners must have this!
  42. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    Gears Of War 2 is bigger, and better than it's predecessor. It has taken all the elements from Gears Of War and improved on them. However, not much has changed from the first game, Epic Games has done little to tried and trusted formula, other than minor tweaks here and there. The gameplay, is very much the same. The cover system has been tightened, which makes taking cover behind objectsGears Of War 2 is bigger, and better than it's predecessor. It has taken all the elements from Gears Of War and improved on them. However, not much has changed from the first game, Epic Games has done little to tried and trusted formula, other than minor tweaks here and there. The gameplay, is very much the same. The cover system has been tightened, which makes taking cover behind objects more fluid and easier. The combat system is fantastic. The shooting is satisfying, and getting the Locust between your sights has never felt this good. Unsurprisingly, the game still encourages you to make use of the Lancer through the majority of the campaign. Making use of the chainsaw in firefights is a welcome break from the pop-and-shoot mechanic. The enemies from the first game return, with the exception of a few fresh faces to decimate. The graphics have also been improved upon, with exceptional shading, lighting, and character models. This is by far the best looking game on Xbox 360 for 2008. This game is not perfect, but it sure as hell gets close. The story, that drives the game, just like the predecessor, flatlines. It feels like the missions were created, and a story was filled in just to put the pieces of the puzzle together. With regards to the narrative, I don't care really. I still have to meet a person who played Gears Of War just for it's story. As you know, the story in the previous iteration was not one to pull at the emotional strings. This time however, Epic has attempted to introduce emotional elements in to the game, and has failed miserably. These scenes often come across as a joke, and we urge Epic Games to focus on the balls-out action rather than attempt to bring tears to our eyes. Nonetheless, Gears Of War 2 defines what an action game should be, combat is brutally entertaining and does not shy away from the extreme violence. If you are over eighteen, I suggest you go your nearest retailer and pick up Gears Of War 2. It has a lengthy ten hour campaign, an addictive multiplayer component along with co-op play. Simply put, it is worth every cent. Expand
  43. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    For me, Gears of War 2 is quite simply one of the greatest sequels ever to grace a console. Gears of War was a breakthrough game that encapsulated so many, however the improvement made in Gears 2 is phenominal. This game really does eclipse the original in every way. To begin with the gameplay is so much more enhanced and plays much more smoother than its predecessor. For example theFor me, Gears of War 2 is quite simply one of the greatest sequels ever to grace a console. Gears of War was a breakthrough game that encapsulated so many, however the improvement made in Gears 2 is phenominal. This game really does eclipse the original in every way. To begin with the gameplay is so much more enhanced and plays much more smoother than its predecessor. For example the shooting system just seems to be perfectly presented. Zooming is hardly revolutionary but I thought it was a marvellous addition to the game. Ofcourse there are new weapons which adds more to the game and as expected they are awesome. And, surprise surprise there is also new creatures within the Locus Horde.The story has been criticisized by many but I didn't have a problem with it whatsoever, yes it times it's hard to follow and here and there but its simply about an all out attack on the Locust Horde with a few side stories thrown in to spice things up now and again. But the things I found fault with in the original, however few they were I just felt had been addressed in every way i'd wanted. And whatever mas missing from the first outing is not in Gears 2! It just oozes quality from start to finish and once more you will find yourself engulfed in destorying the Horde. Theres plenty of variety on offer shooting, driving, hell even controlling the Locust Horde's own inventions one in particular at the end is awesome fun! Visually its a massive improvement on Gears 1 and takes it up another level, but you know what your getting the looks aren't everything when it comes to this seriesOnline, well what more can I say other than try it. Because when you do, you might just be sacrificng hours on end, it draws you in and you will seriously struggle to let go its incredible! All in all this is an unmissable expereince. It dwarfs the original in every way possible. All I can say is buy this game (if you haven't already ofcourse) Expand
  44. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    Quite simply one of the best shooters ever seen on the market, an extensive campaign followed up by fun and lasting multiplayer. Epic has come a long way in developing games, they really broke the mold with this series. The controls are solid and stunning graphics and sound to go with it, there is a small frame rate collapse here and there but nothing game breaking at all. MultiplayerQuite simply one of the best shooters ever seen on the market, an extensive campaign followed up by fun and lasting multiplayer. Epic has come a long way in developing games, they really broke the mold with this series. The controls are solid and stunning graphics and sound to go with it, there is a small frame rate collapse here and there but nothing game breaking at all. Multiplayer at launch was a mess but they cleaned that up nicely with their updates, I think it covers a lot of bases with multiplayer for all player needs. This series will just get better as the new anticipated Gears 3 will soon be out, Epic has raised the bar once again with their new release. Its a really addicting game since there is an experience gain to level up and with tons of achievements to work for. Horde mode really helped this series out a lot and adding bots was a plus for players lacking internet that way they can still use the multiplayer content. I play this game almost everyday still, its replay value is grand and you simply cannot go wrong with this game its a must have for you collection. Expand
  45. May 11, 2011
    9
    With the announcement of Gears 3 recently, I decided to return to the previous titles to give them a go in anticipation for the third. That should tell you that I'm a fan of Gears of War and pretty much have played them right from the beginning. Now, when I initially got Gears of War 2, I was majorly disappointed. The campaign was fantastic, yes but I really bought it for the killerWith the announcement of Gears 3 recently, I decided to return to the previous titles to give them a go in anticipation for the third. That should tell you that I'm a fan of Gears of War and pretty much have played them right from the beginning. Now, when I initially got Gears of War 2, I was majorly disappointed. The campaign was fantastic, yes but I really bought it for the killer multiplayer.
    Obviously, there were a host of problems right from launch date. Lag, not finding matches etc. But Epic clearly knows what it's doing and has resolved the problems from launch day over the past couple of years. Now the troublesome host advantage is barely noticeable and it's an extremely enjoyable online experience, complete with ranking system. I'm definitely looking forward to the third title and will play this till September 20th.
    Expand
  46. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 2 is a great and fun game to play that is bloodily satisfying. The game is great even if it has some flaws. The graphics of the game are impressive and the controls play out very well, much better than in the first game. The story is much better than than the first one's too. The multiplayer is a fun mode to play and you will want to play this for some time. The story is aGears of War 2 is a great and fun game to play that is bloodily satisfying. The game is great even if it has some flaws. The graphics of the game are impressive and the controls play out very well, much better than in the first game. The story is much better than than the first one's too. The multiplayer is a fun mode to play and you will want to play this for some time. The story is a great and more concise effort that is more logical and has some more emotion than than the first one, the intensity and emotion is well played out. The only flaws with the game are that voice acting could use some work, the graphics could use some cleaning up and the story could have less testoterone-filled dudebro dialogue. The multiplayer could get some tweaks too but the flaws are not that bad. Overall, GoW 2 is a great game that is fun to play that will entertain you for a while. A definitive better game than the second one. Breakdown for "Gears of War 2": Presentation: 9, Graphics: 9.5, Sound: 9, Playability: 9.5, Lasting Appeal: 9.3, Verdict: 9.4 out of 10 "Amazing". Expand
  47. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    This game is great the story mode is amazing and hoard mode is a great addition and playing multiplayer is fun. Multiplayer may be fun but its also the worst part about the game while fighting people online is awesome about 60% of the time you will be lagging due to the lack of dedicated servers. While you move slower in this compared to gears of war 1 the cover system works a lot betterThis game is great the story mode is amazing and hoard mode is a great addition and playing multiplayer is fun. Multiplayer may be fun but its also the worst part about the game while fighting people online is awesome about 60% of the time you will be lagging due to the lack of dedicated servers. While you move slower in this compared to gears of war 1 the cover system works a lot better in this one, letting you traverse obstacles at a fast pace. If you can get past the laggy online then you will have a blast with this game Expand
  48. Apr 25, 2016
    9
    I am playing through this game in 2016 for the first time and the campaign is a beast! Graphically, this game would have been amazing by 2008 standards, it still looks great today. It starts off pretty easy, but by Chapter 4 the difficulty is very respectable. Lots of variety in terms of place, enemies and strategy. There are multiple ways to kill your enemies, much more varied thanI am playing through this game in 2016 for the first time and the campaign is a beast! Graphically, this game would have been amazing by 2008 standards, it still looks great today. It starts off pretty easy, but by Chapter 4 the difficulty is very respectable. Lots of variety in terms of place, enemies and strategy. There are multiple ways to kill your enemies, much more varied than most modern shooters. Great story, characters and voice acting. My only knock is that I do not care for the multiplayer. Expand
  49. May 27, 2012
    9
    Not as groundbreaking as the first game, but still an awesome game and a fun ride.
  50. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    It might not be as exceptionally memorable as its predecessor, but Epic Games's follow-up still delivers all the action, characters, and violence that gamers warmly embrace.
  51. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    This is the game that started it all when it comes to horde mode. My friends and I spent countless hours playing it, seeing how long we could last. It was also innovative with its huge set pieces and interesting story. Everything was better than the first and set up a near-perfect series finale.
  52. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    nfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffnfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffjnfjdsbfjkdfbdsjkfbjdbfjdbjbfjdbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb Expand
  53. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    mejores graficos, mejor jugabilidad, mejor sonido y un mejor multijugador que el videojuego anterior un gears of war que demuestra su actual progreso en xbox 360 y el mejor gears of war
  54. Dec 10, 2014
    9
    More guns, more gore, what else could someone want? The story is also great and has some emotional moments that almost made me tear up.

    Verdict:
    A great game with emotional moments
    9/10
  55. Sep 10, 2015
    9
    After playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be hadAfter playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be had with mates and Horde is another stunning co-op inventive feature. A superb game, any fans of shooters, good MP games or gore should get this. Expand
  56. Feb 12, 2017
    9
    The sequel to one of the most popular new IP of the console was obviously very expected, did they improve the formula or just re hash the same game ?

    Technically Epic continued to push forward the boundaries of the 360 hardware with astonishing visuals for the time, it runs flawlessly and impress you as soon as they got a chance. The art direction is more varied than the first game and
    The sequel to one of the most popular new IP of the console was obviously very expected, did they improve the formula or just re hash the same game ?

    Technically Epic continued to push forward the boundaries of the 360 hardware with astonishing visuals for the time, it runs flawlessly and impress you as soon as they got a chance. The art direction is more varied than the first game and some of the boss are very inspired.

    Concerning the gameplay the TPS formula is better executed and the game will offer a great variety of situations so that you'll never fall in some routine. The cinematic realisation is also a great "Waho" factor that will rhythm your playthrough in the most positive way. The only bad thing is that even in the hardest difficulty the game is not challenging.

    The story is way more detailed than in the first game which is very good, I finally care about Marcus and the gang they stopped being just random badasses (for the most part), the global story is also more incentive and now I do care about winning the fight against the locust, and also I want to have the answers to some questions raised by this opus. The game is still predictable but still huge improvement in this section. Shamefully the campaign is still way too short (5-6 hours) and it's not with the very rare online activity that you will find today that you may prolonged the experience.

    In conclusion Gears of War 2 is better in every department than the first game, the predictable story and very short length are the only things in the way of perfection, still for the handful of $/€ it cost today it would be an error to not play it if you like the action genre.
    Expand
  57. Nov 15, 2017
    9
    Gears 2 accomplishes what a true sequel should. More guns, more characters, best story in the series, better graphics and better gameplay, though Gears 3 steals the crown in that department. One of the best 360 games on the market, and one of the best games of 2008.
  58. May 15, 2015
    9
    I was excited in every mission wondering what will happen next with an amazing soundtrack which just pumped me up but it was a disappointing ending, but a good squel!
  59. Dec 27, 2015
    9
    They have taken the second rennovation of Gears of Wars and was also very exciting, and captivating play for many hours to stay with square eyes glued to the screen.
  60. Dec 2, 2015
    9
    Much improved from Gears 1. Plays smoothly and the visuals look great for 360. The singleplayer is what you expect, gory exciting third person action with a simple plot, which is what Gears should be.

    The multiplayer is some of the most fun I've ever played. It's essential you get a group of friends or communicate with your team to succeed online. Few games offer such strategy and deep
    Much improved from Gears 1. Plays smoothly and the visuals look great for 360. The singleplayer is what you expect, gory exciting third person action with a simple plot, which is what Gears should be.

    The multiplayer is some of the most fun I've ever played. It's essential you get a group of friends or communicate with your team to succeed online. Few games offer such strategy and deep thinking as well as high level of skill into it's online multiplayer. With only 1 life in each round, you really have to think and strategize with your team to determine how to control certain areas of the map, how to obtain power weapons, and who should defend what location, attack the enemy with what and from where.

    Some of my best video gaming memories come from playing Gears 2 all night with my friends during the summer, and it's hard to find a game that offers this much satisfaction in multiplayer.
    Expand
  61. Mar 24, 2016
    9
    The highlight of the Gears of War series, GOW 2 picks up and improves on the first instalment of the franchise by adding in four-player co-op for you and 3 friends to play, but if you're going solo then there is a hugely enjoyable campaign with some ridiculous boss fights, and all the blood and gore of the original.

    Though some aspects of the story may be forgotten or lost in the
    The highlight of the Gears of War series, GOW 2 picks up and improves on the first instalment of the franchise by adding in four-player co-op for you and 3 friends to play, but if you're going solo then there is a hugely enjoyable campaign with some ridiculous boss fights, and all the blood and gore of the original.

    Though some aspects of the story may be forgotten or lost in the shuffle, the main characters are once again some of the finest characters in video games, from the gritty realistic versions of Mario and Luigi in Marcus and Dom, to the unforgettable Cole Train and the sarcastic Baird. The addition and improvement of the multiplayer is also a welcome addition, and everything about Gears of War 2 shows off everything that gaming can do, in fantastic fashion.
    Expand
  62. Nov 24, 2016
    9
    One of the best games on 360. Probably one of the main reasons I bought the console. The story is amazing, the visuals look beautiful to this day, the gameplay is addicting. Probably the best Gears game to date.
  63. Jul 3, 2017
    9
    It is one of the best game on xbox 360, the reason why you wanna buy this console. Good graphics despite many years since release, interesting story and i think it should be the last one from gears of war. 3rd part is like reheated pork, get easy money from fans.
  64. Sep 10, 2017
    9
    Es un juego muy bueno con gráficos avanzados para esos años, el sistema de apuntado me gusta igual que los sonidos, los jefes no son gran cosa pero tampoco son malos, la historia tampoco me cautivo mucho, las mecánicas están muy bien hechas pero lo importante del juego es que es divertido y entretenido que al fin y al cabo es lo importante.
    Si te gustan los juegos de disparos lo recomiendo.
  65. Alec
    Nov 10, 2008
    8
    overall a great game, if a bit over hyped. the game play is solid (albeit simplistic), the campaign is gripping (aside from parts that are too soap opera-ish for my tastes), and horde mode is just fantastic. the only downer is the versus multiplayer, which is disappointing on several levels. the match making system takes way too long (2+ minutes to find a game?), the way you chose game overall a great game, if a bit over hyped. the game play is solid (albeit simplistic), the campaign is gripping (aside from parts that are too soap opera-ish for my tastes), and horde mode is just fantastic. the only downer is the versus multiplayer, which is disappointing on several levels. the match making system takes way too long (2+ minutes to find a game?), the way you chose game modes is frustrating, and weapon imbalances are annoying. if i want to play the submission game type, why do i have to join a queue for "territories" and hope that it is voted for by the other players over annex or king of the hill? that method of finding games may make sense for halo 3 because it has so many game types, but i really think that epic should have gone the route of COD matchmaking, including the ability for new players to drop in/drop out of games. god knows there are enough people playing this game for this to work. luckily this game has horde mode to keep me coming back, but who knows for how long. cod 5 comes out soon, with its zombie coop mode, and not long after is left 4 dead. Expand
  66. DemothH.
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    This game was AWESOME, and far better than the first. I am almost a total fan-boy for this game because of the fixes for multiplayer. I still have my gripes, however, that caused me to not give this a 10. The weapons online can sometimes be horribly inconsistent. Some days all the weapons seem to work as they should and I'll get kills and get killed and there are no problems. Other This game was AWESOME, and far better than the first. I am almost a total fan-boy for this game because of the fixes for multiplayer. I still have my gripes, however, that caused me to not give this a 10. The weapons online can sometimes be horribly inconsistent. Some days all the weapons seem to work as they should and I'll get kills and get killed and there are no problems. Other times I will unload 3 shotgun shells into someone, point blank, then melee them and then I get chainsawed. I've also been on the receiving end of BS when someone sits in my face for 3 seconds with a chainsaw and then I roll away and down them in one non-active reload shot with the shotgun. I've even been hin the legs with a boomshot and lived.... wtf? BS goes both ways sometimes, and when the game decides to have inconsistent weapons then the game becomes no fun. The matchmaking can also be spotty, sometimes taking 10 minutes to find a game, and other times assigning you to a game where everyone is experiencing crippling lag. When the game does decide to work, however, the game is second to none. I just wish the game actually was consistent. Expand
  67. JohnS.
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    Although the feel was the same as the first game, this shouldn't be unexpected as it is the second in a trilogy. The writing was great as the plot was advanced - the writers aren't waiting for the last game to release all the information. I liked the differences between Gears 1 and Gears 2 - "collectables" aren't just in the form of COG tags, and, when found, they actually Although the feel was the same as the first game, this shouldn't be unexpected as it is the second in a trilogy. The writing was great as the plot was advanced - the writers aren't waiting for the last game to release all the information. I liked the differences between Gears 1 and Gears 2 - "collectables" aren't just in the form of COG tags, and, when found, they actually serve a purpose - they advance the plot of the story. DIfferent weapons, enemies and modes of transport made for a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  68. Mike
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    Gears 1, but with better graphics and more weapons. The SP is much like a current Hollywood action film: bloated, obvious, and be prepared for either a cutscene or text and control hints overlaid on your screen about every 60 seconds or so. And the music is an overbearing nonstop classical score from beginning to end. The whole thing kinda reminds me of a new Star Wars film, overproduced Gears 1, but with better graphics and more weapons. The SP is much like a current Hollywood action film: bloated, obvious, and be prepared for either a cutscene or text and control hints overlaid on your screen about every 60 seconds or so. And the music is an overbearing nonstop classical score from beginning to end. The whole thing kinda reminds me of a new Star Wars film, overproduced and bombastic with not much substance. I struggled to feel "part" of the world, with the text messages, cutscenes, and control hints constantly popping up. Feels like its for a 12 yr old. All that being said, MP is better than in Gears 1, with more options and a better party system. Still has some of the glitchiness present in Gears 1, with wall sticking and the cover system, but I suppose that can be overlooked. Still, its unreal this is getting rated 100 by so-called legit game mags and websites. Wake up people. Expand
  69. mg
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    The cinematics are the same as the first, which is great. The single player campaign is epic. The multiplayer is a little wanting. My friends and I had to wait for a long time to get a 5th player before we could actually start playing. And only 2 player coop? And since they were released so close together, you can't help but compare this game to resistance 2. Gears wins the solo The cinematics are the same as the first, which is great. The single player campaign is epic. The multiplayer is a little wanting. My friends and I had to wait for a long time to get a 5th player before we could actually start playing. And only 2 player coop? And since they were released so close together, you can't help but compare this game to resistance 2. Gears wins the solo campaign. But I have to give the award for multiplayer to Resistance. It's just more fulfilling, not a lot of waiting around. Gears is still definitely a great game, though. Expand
  70. DAVIDGIBBONS
    Nov 9, 2008
    8
    i THINK THIS IS STILL AN AMAZING GAME AND FOR NEWCOMERS IS JUST AS GOOD OR BETTER THAN THE FIRST. BUT IF YOU HAVE PLAYED THE FIRST AND HAVE JUST BOUGHT THE SECOND THEN YOU MAY FIND IT A BIT BORING IN SOME WAYS BECAUSE IT IS VERY MUCH THE SAME
  71. AdamW
    May 21, 2009
    8
    Not the best game ever but still one of the best cover shooters around. The storyline was a little disappointing with the extremely easy end boss but the inclusion of 5 of the original Gears of War maps makes up for that.
  72. IsaacH.
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    The Campaign has been vastly improved, the graphics look great and the gameplay less clunky and heavy from the first... Everything Single player is great. Multiplayer drags it down from the first... The addition of matchmaking is a HUGE flaw as most games are laggy unless you can pull host. The Chainsaw is too overpowering and the shotgun, reduced greatly. It's still fun to play and The Campaign has been vastly improved, the graphics look great and the gameplay less clunky and heavy from the first... Everything Single player is great. Multiplayer drags it down from the first... The addition of matchmaking is a HUGE flaw as most games are laggy unless you can pull host. The Chainsaw is too overpowering and the shotgun, reduced greatly. It's still fun to play and a good online experience - and much better than most other shooters (fps or otherwise) - but it just feels like they wanted to change it too much, to have it played completely on their terms, and there definitely needs to be the inclusion of dedicated servers so that lag is not an issue. Expand
  73. BryanFedor
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    Gears of War 2 is a good game, bu I wouldn't necessarily recommend it. Sometimes, bigger isn't better. The level design in the original Gears of War is better, even without the "boss" battles. The enemies in Gears of War 2 lack distinction. The tickers remind me of less mobile, and therefore, less threatening wretches. What happened to the Berserker, and why get rid of theGears of War 2 is a good game, bu I wouldn't necessarily recommend it. Sometimes, bigger isn't better. The level design in the original Gears of War is better, even without the "boss" battles. The enemies in Gears of War 2 lack distinction. The tickers remind me of less mobile, and therefore, less threatening wretches. What happened to the Berserker, and why get rid of the Kryll? Razor hail? Really? Weapons are unbalanced, too. The mortar is simply too much fun, and the range on the flame thrower is too high. That being said, Gears 2 works because it tries to tell a story, and because the "boss" battles are good enough (even if they're derivative) to keep you entertained. The real juice is in the multiplayer, especially Horde mode. This is where Gears 2 offers enough variety that it earns style points over it's predecessor. By all means, play this game - but make sure you play the original too. Expand
  74. David
    Nov 9, 2008
    8
    Very similar to the first game, which could mean a good thing or a not so good thing. But I liked the first gears so the second one i definitely enjoyed. I always thought the third person shooter system was always a bit quirky for online play but single player was spectacular, I thoroughly enjoyed the plot.
  75. PaoloB
    Dec 28, 2008
    8
    Single Player:10 Multiplayer: 7
    I feel like the developers did not listen to the gamers at all while making this sequel. Yes, there's nothing like it out there and is the only game I truly enjoy playing but as an avid GOW 1 multiplayer I feel they screwed it up a bit. I know but talking to fellow players what their concerns are and everyone says the same thing: they messed up the
    Single Player:10 Multiplayer: 7
    I feel like the developers did not listen to the gamers at all while making this sequel. Yes, there's nothing like it out there and is the only game I truly enjoy playing but as an avid GOW 1 multiplayer I feel they screwed it up a bit. I know but talking to fellow players what their concerns are and everyone says the same thing: they messed up the SHOTGUN big time ! Before it was the weapon of choice, using the Chainsow only occasionally but now you have no choice as the SHOTGUN is just ineffective, even bots need two or three shots in the head to die at times, the result is that if you use the SHOTGUN you will more often than not, DIE, probably by chainsaw. The Sniper shot and the BOOMER have all been weakend, everything seems to have been geared towards the CHAINSAW gaming, which makes no sense at all to me. Don't get me wrong, I am not one of those yanks who go around calling people nubes when they Chainsaw but before there was a balance, the chainsaw being just of the options , now that balance has been broken. Never mind releasing new maps and stuff if you release any update please fix the SHOTGUN to what it was before. Single player is awesome, I have been playing for 25 years and, believe it or not, I've only ever finished three games prior to this, one of them being GOW1 ! The games keeps you guessing and constantly throws new things for you to do, always retaining the same unique playability. If anything single player is a little short but it's still terrific. It's quite funny to me how rather obviously the game's creative director Cliffy B created Marcus Fenix out of his reseablance, cleverly disguised, nice try but you cannot hide ones eyes, unless he wears goggles. TOP TOP GAME
    Expand
  76. AlexH
    Dec 4, 2008
    8
    As a fan of the first Gears. I can easily say i am still as much a fan the second time around. Solid, polished single player experience with beautiful Art and nice story pacing from Design. I do feel however that Multiplayer has taken a step backwards. I feel adding an option to search for local games or at least per country would have been a much stronger pay off than matching players As a fan of the first Gears. I can easily say i am still as much a fan the second time around. Solid, polished single player experience with beautiful Art and nice story pacing from Design. I do feel however that Multiplayer has taken a step backwards. I feel adding an option to search for local games or at least per country would have been a much stronger pay off than matching players rankings. There is just as much, if not worse lag during games. Expand
  77. Tj
    Nov 11, 2008
    8
    Gears of War 2 is a good game, with good gameplay elements. However the single player campain seems uninteressing at times and dull. The new muiltiplayer features are the best part of this game. The mulitiplayer modes are addicting and a blast to play, especially without Gears 1 famous "Run 'n' Shotgun" stratagey. However it's mulitiplayer still has a long way to go to Gears of War 2 is a good game, with good gameplay elements. However the single player campain seems uninteressing at times and dull. The new muiltiplayer features are the best part of this game. The mulitiplayer modes are addicting and a blast to play, especially without Gears 1 famous "Run 'n' Shotgun" stratagey. However it's mulitiplayer still has a long way to go to match up with Halo 3's Party up, forge, and limitless options. Expand
  78. gamertag=smockthegreen
    Nov 23, 2008
    8
    After having played non-stop since release, let me start by saying that the campaign is improved over Gears of War 1. The variety in objectives and scenery make it a more enthralling adventure, and the many sequences that pit you against hordes of locust are more entertaining than the kill-5-guys-and-go-to-the-next-room formula used throughout most of the original campaign. However, Gears After having played non-stop since release, let me start by saying that the campaign is improved over Gears of War 1. The variety in objectives and scenery make it a more enthralling adventure, and the many sequences that pit you against hordes of locust are more entertaining than the kill-5-guys-and-go-to-the-next-room formula used throughout most of the original campaign. However, Gears of War 2's multiplayer does not compare. The level design puts more emphasis on the "power weapons" (sniper, torque bow, etc.) and the beginning of each round is less about cooperation than it is a bum rush to the weapons (see level: "Day One"). While this was true in the first Gears, it is heavily emphasized in the second. The Lancer Rifle/Chainsaw has replaced the shotgun as the game's main weapon, and someone running at you with a revved chainsaw spells imminent doom. Unlike the first, the chainsaw is not easily lowered by one shot, or even two - your best bet is to turn the other direction and run, or pull out your own Lancer. The frag grenade blast radius has reached the point where one full roll away will nearly always result in death, making it almost completely unavoidable. Tagging walls, while a novel idea, creates many standoff situations where both teams are too afraid to turn a corner because of the chance their face will be instantly blown across the map. The shotgun has been weakened and a delay has been added, removing the "shotgun rolling" tactic that almost every Gears 1 MP match consisted of. Gears 2 maps with mortars have become races, and as long as one team holds the mortar the other is stuck on the opposite side of the level, or hiding under some sort of ceiling. Matchmaking takes forever, especially with a party of 4/5, and the voting system forces only gives you an option of 2 of the 6 game and 2 of the many maps, meaning you may not even want to play the game you get into after waiting for 30 minutes. While Gears 2 is at core a similar game to the original, the added content and weakening of Gears 1 tactics result in an ultimately frustrating multiplayer experience. Expand
  79. MarianoMora
    Dec 15, 2008
    8
    This is a great game. The online play is one of the best for the xbox 360. The co-op is not the best. People don't play that as often so the chances of finding a room for a particular level are slim. The game it self doesn't flow as well as the first for both the. Online and the campaine
  80. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    Gears of War 2 is a great game. The campaign is fun, while the story is a bit naff, playing with a mate is a great experience and the fun you can get out of wiping out horde after horde of locust makes this one of my favourite games. Horde mode itself is brilliant, especially with mates and you achievement of surviving waves 1-50 is one of the highlights of my gaming career. Multi-playerGears of War 2 is a great game. The campaign is fun, while the story is a bit naff, playing with a mate is a great experience and the fun you can get out of wiping out horde after horde of locust makes this one of my favourite games. Horde mode itself is brilliant, especially with mates and you achievement of surviving waves 1-50 is one of the highlights of my gaming career. Multi-player is the only downside, I've never got to grips with it really but it can be fun in short doses, but be prepared to get slaughtered if you're not a hardcore player. Expand
  81. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Improved multiplayer and visuals definently get a thumbs up from me. However the campaign is shorter and the story is far too recycled from the previous game, Ends exactly the same as well.
  82. Oct 30, 2010
    8
    A great improvement on the original with more weapons, characters, maps, enemy types complimented with some improved graphics and sounds. Although the story and gameplay is pretty much the same the whole way through, it is great fun nonetheless although some might feel it lacks the awesomeness Gears of War 1 brought when it was released.
  83. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This is a worthy sequel to a great game. The single player has more action and explosions, though the story is still about a bunch of space marines being badasses. Who cares? The point is to shoot stuff, and in that approach, it's a great experience that has tight controls and rewarding combat. The multiplayer is well expanded and this is the first game that I can recall that uses theThis is a worthy sequel to a great game. The single player has more action and explosions, though the story is still about a bunch of space marines being badasses. Who cares? The point is to shoot stuff, and in that approach, it's a great experience that has tight controls and rewarding combat. The multiplayer is well expanded and this is the first game that I can recall that uses the "horde" system of cooperative play against waves of harder and harder enemies. I like this more than the actual multiplayer of the game, which is full of people who apparently play this game 24/7 and are so good it takes the fun out of trying to play. Expand
  84. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Single player: The single player campaign is the main reason why I love Gears of War. I spent most of my time on the game, playing the campaign. The story is great and the controls are pretty good. I feel like the campaign was just long enough as well. With it on it's easiest level, it's EXTREMELY easy and hard is just hard enough to still enjoy the game Multiplayer: I enjoyed multiplayerSingle player: The single player campaign is the main reason why I love Gears of War. I spent most of my time on the game, playing the campaign. The story is great and the controls are pretty good. I feel like the campaign was just long enough as well. With it on it's easiest level, it's EXTREMELY easy and hard is just hard enough to still enjoy the game Multiplayer: I enjoyed multiplayer but I wasn't good at it. I was very impatient and that hurt me. You have to be good at aiming from your hip a lot. It's solid gameplay, but it just wasn't my thing. It also was really broken. It was hard to get into matches and had MANY glitches. Expand
  85. Jul 15, 2011
    8
    I loved it , not blown away by the typical standard's , i most say is an exaggeration by all any means, which is what i a hated . The story is good and is interesting, and the visuals are beautiful and well made. The multiplayer is what i found cool, quite challenging. Looking forward too Gears of War 3, that may be the monster.
  86. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    This game is awesome. That isn't a very refined word but this is no refined experience. There are a great many games on the market today that offer the "I'm a big, testosterone spewing Space Marine....in Space, and all Aliens must be violently punished." sort of games. None do it quite as well as "Gears of War 2".

    The setting is cliche but completely realized. It's a boys club of well
    This game is awesome. That isn't a very refined word but this is no refined experience. There are a great many games on the market today that offer the "I'm a big, testosterone spewing Space Marine....in Space, and all Aliens must be violently punished." sort of games. None do it quite as well as "Gears of War 2".

    The setting is cliche but completely realized. It's a boys club of well designed gigantic characters in well designed war torn environments kicking ass in the name of humanity. The Weapons, vehicles and locales in the game all help to put you into the blockbuster mind-set and played through co-op the campaign offers a ton of variety and unique shoot out moments with touch perfect controls and great paving thoughout.

    It's going to get a lot of flack for being stupid, and that is stupid. I definitely love a cerebral and innovative game experience. But sometimes I want to jump into my favorite sci-fi action movies and just blow some **** up. This satisfies that urge. If you're a shooter fan, well you're already playing this. If you think you're too good for; pull the bug out of your ass and join the fun.
    Expand
  87. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    The Campaign was brilliant and the high definition in it was immaculate. The Storyline was great as were the whole Graphics for the Game. The Insane Horde was beyond fantastic although it does get boring after you complete Wave 10 and it repeats itself by starting again but the Locusts are just much stronger. Online is slow but it is worth the wait. Multiplayer online is just as great asThe Campaign was brilliant and the high definition in it was immaculate. The Storyline was great as were the whole Graphics for the Game. The Insane Horde was beyond fantastic although it does get boring after you complete Wave 10 and it repeats itself by starting again but the Locusts are just much stronger. Online is slow but it is worth the wait. Multiplayer online is just as great as Multiplayer Campaign. Expand
  88. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    Possibly one of the best reasons to own an Xbox 360. Gears of War 2 is easily my favorite console shooter. The multiplayer matchmaking has improved in almost every possible way, the co-op ended up being an awesome addition to the game also. The horde mode is good, it feels lacking though. The weapon arsenal is bad ass. The maps were as good as the maps in the original Gears of War, IPossibly one of the best reasons to own an Xbox 360. Gears of War 2 is easily my favorite console shooter. The multiplayer matchmaking has improved in almost every possible way, the co-op ended up being an awesome addition to the game also. The horde mode is good, it feels lacking though. The weapon arsenal is bad ass. The maps were as good as the maps in the original Gears of War, I didn't see much of a variation between the two. The only thing I could **** slap this game with is the story, it turned it into a dramatic soap opera, it didn't turn out well either; I definitely didn't hate it though. Expand
  89. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Despite somewhat repetitve gameplay, multiplayer imbalance and other flaws, overall game is good. The game idea itself is really good. I'm really looking forward to Gears of War 3 and hope it will be better in terms of polish, stability and balance.
  90. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    Campaign is deep, controls are done right and the action is hardcore and brutal. Insane difficulty is as it should be. It's good that it makes it harder for co-op because if one person dies you have to restart the checkpoint. The only problem with this game is the multiplayer. While it is satisfying, I rarely got into a match that wasn't laggy. And I don't mean slightly. I mean a full 3Campaign is deep, controls are done right and the action is hardcore and brutal. Insane difficulty is as it should be. It's good that it makes it harder for co-op because if one person dies you have to restart the checkpoint. The only problem with this game is the multiplayer. While it is satisfying, I rarely got into a match that wasn't laggy. And I don't mean slightly. I mean a full 3 mins behind where the game actually freezes. To add further frustration, the ranking system got updated so I ended up losing my rank from level 21 to level 1 again. There's also no free-for-all or game mode where you respawn. Horde mode is what makes this game great. Expand
  91. Jan 26, 2012
    8
    Now this is more like, because compared to Gears 1, the Gears of War 2 campaign is twice the length of Gears 1, and there's also an extra difficulty level. What I really like about this game is the innovation, with variety in gameplay. Even though Gears of War 1 was a great game, Gears of War 2 is an improvement. My only complaints I have are the absence of some enemies and weapons thatNow this is more like, because compared to Gears 1, the Gears of War 2 campaign is twice the length of Gears 1, and there's also an extra difficulty level. What I really like about this game is the innovation, with variety in gameplay. Even though Gears of War 1 was a great game, Gears of War 2 is an improvement. My only complaints I have are the absence of some enemies and weapons that were in Gears 1 (though replaced with others), the blood can look pink when fighting in daylight, and we barely know about Marcus' past. The characters also seem to say the same phrases that was recorded for Gears 1.

    I like how when you shoot an enemy (or when you get shot) the blood splatters onto the environment, unlike Gears 1 where it showed blood coming out but never landed. The sound of the weapons is a huge improvement, the music is fantastic, and the graphics are brilliant. The longer campaign of Gears 2 is what other shooters should look at as an example, where the campaign mode of games like Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 and Halo 3 are just too damn short. The campaign mode for Gears of War 2 is perfect for people who don't have Xbox Live Gold.

    The Horde Mode is a wonderful addition to the game, where you can play by yourself or with friends to take down wave after wave of Locust.
    Expand
  92. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    The game may lack in areas, but still shines in many others. I found the campaign to be the best I've ever played in any shooters, and I've enjoyed the story very much so far. The overall gameplay is great, but the game's only yet big flaw is it's replay value. At the most, it offers campaign, competitive online, and horde. The game may not last long, but while you still have it, you areThe game may lack in areas, but still shines in many others. I found the campaign to be the best I've ever played in any shooters, and I've enjoyed the story very much so far. The overall gameplay is great, but the game's only yet big flaw is it's replay value. At the most, it offers campaign, competitive online, and horde. The game may not last long, but while you still have it, you are in for a wild ride. Expand
  93. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    It's awesome and feels awesome. Lame dialogue and story though. Very bad. 8 for multiplayer, 6 for singleplayer. I don't particularly like how some of the guns handle, and my favourite mode is definitely execution.
  94. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    Thought it was the best and most fun of the series. Wasn't a fan of all the DLC or the cliffhanger out of nowhere ending. BUT had awesome levels, weapons, and a decent plot.
  95. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    Six months after the Lightmass bombing and humanity is still fighting for control of Sera against the Locust Horde. Though close to defeat the Locust have a secret weapon, one that is sinking the last bastions of humanity one by one. It is up to Marcus, Dom, Cole Baird to reunite as Delta Squad to go deep into the underground Locust cities to find this weapon and destroy it, so thatSix months after the Lightmass bombing and humanity is still fighting for control of Sera against the Locust Horde. Though close to defeat the Locust have a secret weapon, one that is sinking the last bastions of humanity one by one. It is up to Marcus, Dom, Cole Baird to reunite as Delta Squad to go deep into the underground Locust cities to find this weapon and destroy it, so that humanity can be one step closer to being at peace on Sera once again.
    Gears of war 2 takes all of the great gameplay that makes Gears, Gears. However the story is no-where near as strong as last time round and the level design for the Locust cities are just ugly and horrible. GoW2 is still one of the best exclusives for the 360, but its not as good as its predecessor.
    Expand
  96. Jun 1, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is like having your cake and eating it, too. From the very moment you're training the rook to the end game battle with the Lambent Brumak, the game is very rewarding. A rich story that doesn't interfere with the carnage, the optional gore and language filters that ensure even younger gamers can enjoy the game, and top it off with a variety of challenging enemies, the game is nearly perfect. However, the AI is quite stupid sometimes. A few times, as I was dying, my stupid AI partner, Dom, walked past me ten times at least, and never revived me, as was intended. Nevertheless, don't let that change the perspective of the game. This game is very good, and I recommend it to anyone who loves shooters and action games. Expand
  97. Oct 27, 2016
    8
    One thing is certain, Gears of War 2, managed to surpass its predecessor with great mastery. The plot has improved, became more dramatic, leading even to breathe in '' The Lord of the Rings '' (There are certain scenes from the games with some similarities to films) Your gameplay became more insane, the action is more frantic than ever and very surreal. Gears 2, back light improvements ofOne thing is certain, Gears of War 2, managed to surpass its predecessor with great mastery. The plot has improved, became more dramatic, leading even to breathe in '' The Lord of the Rings '' (There are certain scenes from the games with some similarities to films) Your gameplay became more insane, the action is more frantic than ever and very surreal. Gears 2, back light improvements of all that was in the first, and offers us more a great high-level action game. Expand
  98. May 30, 2013
    8
    A wonderful followup to an already great game. The campaign is still awesome and draws me in every time. They added Horde which allows you to fight against wave after wave of Locust infantry alone or with 4 of your bro's. Multiplayer is once again not user friendly, but is very enjoyable. Gears 2 is worth your money and will bring you a great many hours of fun.
  99. Sep 9, 2013
    8
    A very good sequel that changes and adds things in to make it feel like a fresh new experience, I recommend this game to anyone that owns an Xbox 360.
  100. Apr 11, 2016
    8
    This is a worthy sequel to a great game. The single player has more action and explosions, though the story is still about a bunch of space marines being badasses. Who cares? The point is to shoot stuff, and in that approach, it's a great experience that has tight controls and rewarding combat.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. There are very few ways that Gears of War 2 could be improved on. Only the story and the final boss in particular are a slight disappointment. Fanboys will love the fact that only one of a multitude of story arcs is concluded; everyone else will feel slightly unfulfilled. But aside from this, Gears 2 is not just the most exhilarating game you'll play this year, but possibly the most heady and downright shocking piece of entertainment full stop. Hollywood, your days are numbered. [Dec 2008, p.61]
  2. The real star, however, is Horde, a ballistic assault on your worst score-rush tendencies that transforms maps into Gears-flavoured Mutant Storm: weapons spawn, then a wave of enemies hits, then more weapons and then another, tougher, wave.
  3. 360 Gamer Magazine UK
    90
    We could be critical of Gears of War 2 simply offering more of the same, but the fact that it simply does everything better than the original in delivering a fantastic display of shoot-’em-up mayhem its quality simply shines through. With some awesome level design, supported by unsurpassed visuals and relentlessly entertaining action it is a compelling experience from start to finish. Forget the crack at putting emotion into the storyline; it’s almost irrelevant as Gears of War 2 is an allguns- blazing extravaganza and, as such, it’s just a glorious shooter that very few can match.