Gears of War 2 Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2780 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PatrickA.
    Nov 26, 2008
    2
    Just like the first GoW this game is very lacking in gamplay, but has good graphics and sound. The levels are extremely linear, you can not jump (a way to restrict you from taking alternative paths). The game feels more like a movie because of how linear it is and the gameplay is never challenging. The whole concept fails to entertain me; hordes of enemies, cover/shot - reapat. It gets Just like the first GoW this game is very lacking in gamplay, but has good graphics and sound. The levels are extremely linear, you can not jump (a way to restrict you from taking alternative paths). The game feels more like a movie because of how linear it is and the gameplay is never challenging. The whole concept fails to entertain me; hordes of enemies, cover/shot - reapat. It gets boring in the first 10 minutes, after 2 hours it's unbearable, even if you take breaks. None of the weapons impressed me either, never felt very fun to use which is a strange achievment. Avoid! Expand
  2. Krt
    Nov 28, 2008
    2
    This game is a great game offline but after that wtf?!? how can anyone standby that bs and give the game a 10 unless you plan on playing the campaign and returning the game, you will be dissapointed in online play. Matchmaking sucks completely. thats the truth people. it will take forever to find matches and then on top of that your chances of getting host are slim so you will be lagging This game is a great game offline but after that wtf?!? how can anyone standby that bs and give the game a 10 unless you plan on playing the campaign and returning the game, you will be dissapointed in online play. Matchmaking sucks completely. thats the truth people. it will take forever to find matches and then on top of that your chances of getting host are slim so you will be lagging pretty bad in some instances.. ive had games where the lag was 7 seconds for the shotgun. other times will have you lagging around the screen doing completely nothing and have you vulnerable to mass chainsaws... yeahh.. chainsaws rule multiplayer now... unless youre the host your shotgun wont stop a revving chainsaw before it cuts you to bits. so if you plan on playing online i highly recommend you think hard about buying this game... but if you want to play campaign only this game wont dissapoint. Horde just gets boring after youve gotten to level 50... so be wary Expand
  3. Rob
    Dec 1, 2008
    2
    This game is so sslllllllllooooooowwwwww. If anything, this is an average game with a huge budget and a stupid guy in control, like Terminator 3. Only T3 is so much better than this, because it doesn't take 3 hours for the characters to move. Cliffy B (The producer or something), in recent interviews, seems like the sort of person who ruins online gaming. "yeah, i am t3h l33t cos I This game is so sslllllllllooooooowwwwww. If anything, this is an average game with a huge budget and a stupid guy in control, like Terminator 3. Only T3 is so much better than this, because it doesn't take 3 hours for the characters to move. Cliffy B (The producer or something), in recent interviews, seems like the sort of person who ruins online gaming. "yeah, i am t3h l33t cos I camp and kill everyone with m4h l4z0r." Whilst that is not a quote from him, it seems like something he would say. Also 5 on 5 online? Is that the best the 360 can do, seriously? Resistance (a PS3 exclusive and launch title) had 20 vs 20 online, and Resistance 2 wll have 40 vs 40. even Team Fortress 2 has 8 vs 8 (I think, I don't have it in front of me). On thje whole, GoW2 is nothing more than a big dumb action game, with a dump truck of hype, but nothing to back it up with, just like Halo 3, and Call Of Duty 4. Expand
  4. ChrisD
    Dec 20, 2008
    2
    I was really excited for this game before it came out. Was I ever wrong. This game is flawed in MANY crucial ways that will leave you incredibly frustrated and generally bored. Campaign is ok. Seemed much more repetitive than the first. This game is a testament to what happens when you rush a game. This game could have used another few months of polish before release, but itI was really excited for this game before it came out. Was I ever wrong. This game is flawed in MANY crucial ways that will leave you incredibly frustrated and generally bored. Campaign is ok. Seemed much more repetitive than the first. This game is a testament to what happens when you rush a game. This game could have used another few months of polish before release, but it wouldn't surprise me if pressure from M$ forced them to get it our the door for Christmas. Common guys, you KNOW the multiplayer is brutal. I've never truly known lag until I've played this game, and the overall gameplay feels very disconnected. I've tried numerous times to "get into this game" like I did with the first, but I'll play a few rounds of multiplayer, get incredibly frustrated, and turn off the xbox. Oh yeah, they tried to stop quitting out of matches by making it so you have to shut off your console. Good thing, makes it easier to put in another game. Much MUCH less polish than the original. Z-fighting on polygons everywhere, framerate feels a bit slow most of the time, and the lighting looks oversaturated. Remember how the first GoW was dark and set a mood? Not anymore. To sum it up, this is a game that had unbelievable amount of potential that was ruined by 3 or 4 crippling design mistakes. And seriously, you want me to pay for your ******** multiplayer maps now? How about you fix the game first. Expand
  5. wtewtgewsgeryhrshgrs
    Jan 28, 2009
    2
    this game has major MAJOR lag, the server sucks, kicks gamers out from the lag. It also takes forever to find a game, this is with the update that was supposed to fix all this too. Overall the game was pretty fun but the online is one of the worst ive ever played.
  6. JimmyP
    Nov 26, 2008
    2
    Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost all games could have been deeper but still is engrossing! AND did I mention HORDE! Great game and looking forward to DL content. Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2011
    2
    Easily one of the most overrated games of all time, right up there with Halo 3 and Mass Effect. Story and dialogue is as ridiculous as the voice acting, Horde mode is a terrible excuse for a game mode. I really get upset when people argue that Gears created the "Horde" mode! Does anyone remember TimeSplitters?!?! I just cringed thinking about the voice acting again. Multiplayer is a totalEasily one of the most overrated games of all time, right up there with Halo 3 and Mass Effect. Story and dialogue is as ridiculous as the voice acting, Horde mode is a terrible excuse for a game mode. I really get upset when people argue that Gears created the "Horde" mode! Does anyone remember TimeSplitters?!?! I just cringed thinking about the voice acting again. Multiplayer is a total laggy, inconsistent joke. Thank god this is not out for multiple consoles so only the Xbox users can suffer. Expand
  8. Mar 11, 2011
    2
    The new enemies in this game are same ol' same ol'. The game play is dead similar throughout. Doesn't matter if you're in a cave or a hotel, it's the same formula of sticking to the wall and popping off shots. Plus the story and the characters are booooring. Playing through the first 4 levels was like being in a coma. In one part, you and your men move through a tunnel ... and you don'tThe new enemies in this game are same ol' same ol'. The game play is dead similar throughout. Doesn't matter if you're in a cave or a hotel, it's the same formula of sticking to the wall and popping off shots. Plus the story and the characters are booooring. Playing through the first 4 levels was like being in a coma. In one part, you and your men move through a tunnel ... and you don't have any torches. It seemed like such a cheap way to make the same gameplay "more interesting" except it didn't. Did I mention the enemies were boring. Urgh, how on earth this did game get such good scores? Expand
  9. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I bought this game together with Bulletstorm from a used game store a few days ago, paid £4 for it and i think that is was too much. I played it after Bulletstorm so maybe because i had that fresh in my mind (but i had highly doubt it) i didn't enjoy playing this at all. Bulletstorm was fun and entertaining, i laughed and shot stuff and i had a good time, but with Gears of War 2 i hadn't done any of that. I am about 2 hours into the single player campaign and i really don't think i will even play it again. I got cutscenes every 5 minutes, i barely shot anything (can you even get headshots in this game?) because for some reason the enemies were moving everywhere for no reason, mainly towards my and my squads position so my dumb squad mates jumped in front of my bullets. How dumb can you get? I got lost every time i started a mission because i didn't know in what direction i should go. Story ... i am not sure there is one. They are at war with some monsters but nobody actually explained to me what the goal of the game was. Defeat the monsters forever? Give the humans an upper hand in the war? I don't think the point is to kill as many monsters as you can because there is a pretty small number of enemies in a shootout which i couldn't even kill properly because they kept moving in every direction possible at crazy speeds walking in some angles that i don't are even possible if you actually have bones in your body. So ... what is the point? What is my main mission? You go underground and ...? Graphics and sound are ok, as good as you can expect from the Unreal Engine but the feel and the story i should be getting from an action game are not there. I am not an action game fan, this is about the third or fourth action game i played, including the first Gears of War, which i enjoyed, even if it was too short, so i am not looking at some masterpiece of a game, i play action games to shoot some stuff, have fun and shut my brain down for a while i am sorry to say Gears of War 2 doesn't deliver at all. Everything just falls flat! Expand
  10. Apr 23, 2013
    2
    Let's face it, the big appeal of the original Gears was the massive multiplayer carnage. Irrespective of the notable 'host advantage', I think it was (and remains) a success.

    After nailing the new campaign on the 'normal' level within 8 to 10 hours (it was too easy and that's coming from someone who is rubbish at shooter games) I was looking forward to some new arenas and new features
    Let's face it, the big appeal of the original Gears was the massive multiplayer carnage. Irrespective of the notable 'host advantage', I think it was (and remains) a success.

    After nailing the new campaign on the 'normal' level within 8 to 10 hours (it was too easy and that's coming from someone who is rubbish at shooter games) I was looking forward to some new arenas and new features in the Gears 2 multiplayer environment.

    Whatever the thinking was behind the new party format, IT JUST DOESN'T WORK. After 3 weeks of owning Gears 2 I have played just 1 public match. And the only reason I got into that match was because some USA based guys I met in the original Gears had a party lobby already set up.

    For me, this is the letdown of 2008. The multiplayer potential is vast but being able to access it is a near impossibility unless you can easily gather a group of 5 friends in your lobby.

    Whether EPIC or Microsoft are able to offer a patch to improve the multiplayer environment is a big question. Fingers crossed that something can be done.

    Were it up to scratch then Gears 2 would be worthy of 4 stars or more. Since the multiplayer is such a mess and the campaign is so short, 2 is all I can give. Shame.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Yes No
    Expand
  11. DillWhippy
    Nov 10, 2008
    1
    Come'on, scout team, stop writing all this <10> comments. We all know, you working hard to persuade masses that GOW2 is great, but it's a mass maedia pr LIES. I know, you will delete it, but you have to know - we know waht you doing, we know, how you doing it, we know how you make all the so called peoples votes so high.
  12. LtM.
    Dec 1, 2008
    1
    No wonder some people call it gears of bore! youre telling me... 5hours to complete the story, broken multiplayer, same old host advantage bullshitt, borked weapons, insane lag..10mins to get a ranked game = FAIL..this game almost as bad as halo3 for hype vs crap game syndrome.
  13. stevenh
    Jan 4, 2009
    1
    this game is bullshit to many retarded things happenin like that unbeatable chain saw wen its comin at u not even god himself can stop it i try to use the shot gun but na wont work ....also how come da shot gun only works some times wen u shot a player at the same distance he shot you u get blown away....this game is 2 be for enjoyment all it does is do ur head in its a load of bullshitthis game is bullshit to many retarded things happenin like that unbeatable chain saw wen its comin at u not even god himself can stop it i try to use the shot gun but na wont work ....also how come da shot gun only works some times wen u shot a player at the same distance he shot you u get blown away....this game is 2 be for enjoyment all it does is do ur head in its a load of bullshit ..yhey should have an up date to fix this crap like the glitches and laging
    catch me at my gamer tag stevenhallissey
    Expand
  14. steveweinstein
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    this game is way too much like the first one, sure the graphics are good but thats it(thats why i gave it one point) but besides that this game is a buggy piece if crap. as a shooter, its very much like the halo series in that its overrated by all people who bought the 360 mainly because they dont want to admit the wii and ps3 are superior... ha, pathetic!
  15. RaynJ.
    Jan 30, 2009
    1
    I was a huge fan of the first Gears of War, but I gotta be honest, this game BLEW. The story was completely absurd (AHEM WORM), and the locations didn't make sense at all (AHEM WORM). The underground parts of the game were a complete drag, and the last boss was incredibly lame. The multiplayer is completely broken, like more broken than SOCOM: Confrontations was early on. The only I was a huge fan of the first Gears of War, but I gotta be honest, this game BLEW. The story was completely absurd (AHEM WORM), and the locations didn't make sense at all (AHEM WORM). The underground parts of the game were a complete drag, and the last boss was incredibly lame. The multiplayer is completely broken, like more broken than SOCOM: Confrontations was early on. The only redeeming quality of this game is the graphics, which are very impressive. Expand
  16. JakeC.
    Nov 15, 2008
    1
    I was actuially pretty disappointed with Gears 2. It felt to me like Halo 2 all over again. Not that it's similar to halo 2, but i mean in its relationship to Gears 1. I think the critics are giving it much more hype than it deserves, as the game is less a new game than it is the original game revamped. Which some people might find great, but i was disappointed.
  17. JoshE.
    Nov 26, 2008
    1
    In comparison to gears 1 this gets a 5. Campaign is decent but its much more of the same. All the little add-ons like the meat shield and chainsaw duals could have been left out and it would have made no difference, they aren't a big deal. Graphically it almost looks a step back from gears 1. looks more cartoony. Multiplayer is where for me anyways that this is a big letdown. Im a In comparison to gears 1 this gets a 5. Campaign is decent but its much more of the same. All the little add-ons like the meat shield and chainsaw duals could have been left out and it would have made no difference, they aren't a big deal. Graphically it almost looks a step back from gears 1. looks more cartoony. Multiplayer is where for me anyways that this is a big letdown. Im a hardcore gears player and have been playing online solid for the last two years. The new maps are terrible, the new weapons are fairly useless and one on one shotgun battles and sniper battles etc are now a thing of the past. Last gears had a sense of emotion and rivalry in its multiplayer but this is just too mindless. Any gears fan will not be pleased with this and I honestly don't know how gears of war 2 has gotten such high reviews. For people new to the series it will be decent but to hardcore fans of old.. don't get too excited! Peace. Expand
  18. JaseM.
    Nov 26, 2008
    1
    I was actually pretty disappointed with Gears 2. It felt to me like Halo 2 all over again. Not that it's similar to halo 2, but i mean in its relationship to Gears 1. I think the critics are giving it much more hype than it deserves, as the game is less a new game than it is the original game revamped. Which some people might find great, but i was disappointed.
  19. JaredR
    Dec 10, 2009
    1
    I loved the first one but this was a step down. Its near impossible to play online, nomatter what time of day. There are some cool new weapons. This game was more hype than bite, but worth picking up when it reaches the $5 bargain bin.
  20. ClintonW
    Sep 12, 2009
    1
    This game is just sad i cant believe how crappy this game is. with all the money that epic has at their disposal you would think that this game would be loads better than the first, you would be wrong. this game has the shortest and most repetitive campaign i have ever seen. the multiplayer is a joke. epic didnt even try with the multiplayer. you sit and wait for 5-10 minutes just to find This game is just sad i cant believe how crappy this game is. with all the money that epic has at their disposal you would think that this game would be loads better than the first, you would be wrong. this game has the shortest and most repetitive campaign i have ever seen. the multiplayer is a joke. epic didnt even try with the multiplayer. you sit and wait for 5-10 minutes just to find a match and when you finally get into a match expect lag. the host advantage is great how when the host quits everyone leaves the match. and guess what you get to wait another 5 minutes just to find another laggy match. i have cursed this game so many times to the point that i wanted to punch cliffy b and his team in the face. this game has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. people might say the graphics are the best on the 360 and i ask what are you smoking.if you want a game with the best graphics get bioshock. the campaign sucks, multiplayer sucks, voice acting sucks, weapons suck, this whole damn game sucks and i couldnt care less about the campaign in gears 3 all i want is a good multiplayer and unless they fix not just me but thousands of people WILL NOT get this game. Expand
  21. KenzoCapulong
    Nov 23, 2008
    1
    Gears of War 2 builds upon the gameplay of the first title in every way. First, the scope of the action is bigger: new characters, more weapons, nastier enemies, bigger vehicles, and grander locales offer more action, more emotion, and more thrills. Next, every major aspect of the game has been refined to create heightened, more immersive experiences. Finally, the overall tone of Gears ofGears of War 2 builds upon the gameplay of the first title in every way. First, the scope of the action is bigger: new characters, more weapons, nastier enemies, bigger vehicles, and grander locales offer more action, more emotion, and more thrills. Next, every major aspect of the game has been refined to create heightened, more immersive experiences. Finally, the overall tone of Gears of War 2 is more badass: replete with new weapon-specific executions, chainsaw duels, and shocking boss fights. Expand
  22. Darren
    Nov 26, 2008
    1
    This was the worst game I have played this year. This was a total turn around from the first GOW. I dont know why they had to add so much unnecessary plot... No one wants to fight a giant worm, they want to fight the locust. In my opinion the developers stole every idea from Halo and tried to incorporate it with the previous GOW... I was not even close the the caliber of Halo now. Do not This was the worst game I have played this year. This was a total turn around from the first GOW. I dont know why they had to add so much unnecessary plot... No one wants to fight a giant worm, they want to fight the locust. In my opinion the developers stole every idea from Halo and tried to incorporate it with the previous GOW... I was not even close the the caliber of Halo now. Do not buy this game. Expand
  23. DavidH.
    Dec 19, 2008
    1
    What the hell happenend to the multiplayer?? :( The horrible slow matchmaking totally ruins the multiplayer experience from the start. You have to wait minutes which feel like days to even start a match. Searching and connecting with teammates. Searching and connecting with enemy team. Voting for which mode out of two random selected modes, then which map out of two random preselectedWhat the hell happenend to the multiplayer?? :( The horrible slow matchmaking totally ruins the multiplayer experience from the start. You have to wait minutes which feel like days to even start a match. Searching and connecting with teammates. Searching and connecting with enemy team. Voting for which mode out of two random selected modes, then which map out of two random preselected maps. And also ten seconds waiting to choose your character and one starting weapon, lancer or hammerburst. Then you have to wait a minute or so for the match to actually start. And you also have to wait 20 seconds when the match has finished! :( What is that all about? But wait there's a lot more bad news...
    It is impossible to have exiting sniper battles anymore. The new maps with its structures and weapon placements don't allow you anymore of that. The few headshots you get when you are lucky sound like water splashing :( And the weapons sound horrible and weak as well, especially the sounds from the sniper and the shotgun. And don't get me started about how they nutered the shotgun which has become the weakest weapon of all. Headshots up close with the shotgun are impossible now :( Only if you get very lucky. And the chainsaw has become even stronger which is lame. Talk about out of balance :(
    And if you thought fragtagging was annoying. Now smokegrenades push you on the ground and stun you for a couple of seconds. This totally ruins the fast pace of the great original gears of war. And you can walltag all grenades too. So they go off when you get too close. This is horrible when you have a sudden death. Everybody is to scared to go look for eachother because a frag grenade tagged to a wall can be just around the corner. When you hear a sound, it is too late and you're dead. Also, you still have to wait up to 14 seconds to get spawned again if the game mode allow that. There are still only two places you spawn from. Is it so hard to create random spawn points where there are no enemies? Why can't you change all the starting weapons? I want to start off with sniper and/or boomshot for example. And I want to drop in and out a game just like gears 1. Where is the freedom? Where is the choice? I give 1 point for the single player which actually is pretty good..for one or two times.
    Conclusion: This is only worth a rental for the single player. I love gears 1, I hate gears 2. Spend your money on left 4 dead if you want an intense multiplayer. Hell, even call of duty games, bad company and halo 3 are much better then this mess! Do not buy this crap, you will be dissapointed beyond believe!
    Expand
  24. Jan 18, 2014
    1
    The definition of a cash cow, nothing has been improved in terms of gameplay and the story is so full of **** you would think you were playing a farm simulator but then you realise you would be having more fun. The pointless and unexplained level within a worm is the biggest load of **** I have ever played through, this game nearly became so bad it was good like an old episode of Star TrekThe definition of a cash cow, nothing has been improved in terms of gameplay and the story is so full of **** you would think you were playing a farm simulator but then you realise you would be having more fun. The pointless and unexplained level within a worm is the biggest load of **** I have ever played through, this game nearly became so bad it was good like an old episode of Star Trek where they take on a rock with a smoke machine behind it but it was just so boring and a grind to play through and I wouldn't have touched it if I wasn't skint and had nothing to play..........and had a friend that hated me so much he offered to lend the game. Expand
  25. JakeC.
    Nov 20, 2008
    0
    I was actuially pretty disappointed with Gears 2. It felt to me like Halo 2 all over again. Not that it's similar to halo 2, but i mean in its relationship to Gears 1. I think the critics are giving it much more hype than it deserves, as the game is less a new game than it is the original game revamped. Which some people might find great, but i was disappointed.
  26. DonDanger
    Sep 6, 2009
    0
    SHITTY GAME FULL OF SHIT.
    Is this game First idea of this shitty game cover shoot move cover shoot move and do that shit for 10 HOURS What the FU*K story sucks and is so cliché that if someone who hates cliché's would kill himself so....
    This game sucks really. And cost of this 60$ WTF? this game is so bad you should throw the disc out of your window and
    SHITTY GAME FULL OF SHIT.
    Is this game First idea of this shitty game cover shoot move cover shoot move and do that shit for 10 HOURS What the FU*K story sucks and is so cliché that if someone who hates cliché's would kill himself so....
    This game sucks really.
    And cost of this 60$ WTF? this game is so bad you should throw the disc out of your window and break,shoot,burn,buyan elephant and put elephant on it and sh*it on it sorry but thats true and graphics are worst it is ok put GREY it is like old time mickey Moses like how much they spent on this game? 2$?10$?
    Think before buy this game
    Expand
  27. HarryBauls
    Dec 26, 2008
    0
    At first, I thought that this game was going to be a worthy followup to a great game, and I looked forward to the story. It had me interested for a little while, but then when Marcus pissed all over that hot sexy girl in the third act of yonder I found it sort of tasteless and put the game down and never played it again.
  28. RaoultT.
    Jan 3, 2009
    0
    Excellent.
  29. JonP.
    Feb 15, 2009
    0
    Most of the story is ok, although the ending of the story is completely unsatisfying. As for multiplayer... Uhh, how to describe it... Its laggy, Ill spawn with no weapon, it takes about 3.5 hours to get in a game, it has a ranking system with only 5 ranks, and they dont really matter, all people do is mash the B-button to get like 10 kills per game, and when I get smoke gernaded down Most of the story is ok, although the ending of the story is completely unsatisfying. As for multiplayer... Uhh, how to describe it... Its laggy, Ill spawn with no weapon, it takes about 3.5 hours to get in a game, it has a ranking system with only 5 ranks, and they dont really matter, all people do is mash the B-button to get like 10 kills per game, and when I get smoke gernaded down stairs I cant get up for about 45 seconds. I went from a rank level 1 to a rank level 3 in three games, and since then Ive played hundreds of matches, and I do the best in the game (or AT LEAST on my team), and I still dont get ranked up. Also, I get in a game with 4 level 1s, and go up against like 5 level 3s or 4s every time!! What a failure of one of my most anticipated games of my life!! Go on youtube, and search: "Pissin me off- gears of war". Expand
  30. GRRRandmasterBallzack
    Feb 5, 2009
    0
    this game is rubbish, i still haven't completed it, only game i own that i can say that about, teh multiplayer is rubbish too like its all teh peoplez r like ZOMG chainsaws FTW FTW FTW, unbalanced, aiming doesn't feel natural like an FPS and OMG WTF i could of sworn for a minute there i was inside a giant worm....i couldn't have been because that would bethis game is rubbish, i still haven't completed it, only game i own that i can say that about, teh multiplayer is rubbish too like its all teh peoplez r like ZOMG chainsaws FTW FTW FTW, unbalanced, aiming doesn't feel natural like an FPS and OMG WTF i could of sworn for a minute there i was inside a giant worm....i couldn't have been because that would be stupid...........sell ur Xbox Xbots and just admit killzone 2 is best on a superior system, i gna sell my xbox cos teh red rings suck like gears2, ZOOOOOOOOOOOOOmggggggGG Expand
  31. LazarusS.
    Nov 13, 2008
    0
    A very terrible game I regret to inform you, curious metacritic browsing person. I did not care much for the game at all. I would rate it a zero out of ten because' I could not stand the game long enough to actually play. I now use the disc as a Frisbee for my dog. It is typical of the Failbox 360 to achieve such terrible releases.
  32. AnonymousMC
    Nov 15, 2008
    0
    I love that the average of user review scores is at 6.6 while the critics give it a 93. Where is the fun in this terrible, terrible game? Graphics? Is that how the critics are rating games now? I don't care if the story and writing are terrible, this game just never becomes engaging or entertaining.
  33. MaxTrade
    Dec 19, 2008
    0
    Gears 2 is a huge disappointment and is far too easy by a long stretch.
    Why is it so similar to the first Gears?
    The worst aspect of the game is multiplayer which is plagued by far too many players who do very little but act as cannon fodder. Not impressed and not worth purchasing if you have played the first one for more than ten minutes. Avoid!
  34. EduardoHernadez
    Dec 20, 2008
    0
    This game is not as good as everybody say, they change a lot of things that were great, story mode is really good but the real problem is online, you have to wait a lon time to find a match, there is a lot of lag, the shotgun fires the floor if you blind fire and move, chainsaw is really powerful and also smog granades, i really love GoW 1 , but GoW 2 Sucks, well i can continue complainingThis game is not as good as everybody say, they change a lot of things that were great, story mode is really good but the real problem is online, you have to wait a lon time to find a match, there is a lot of lag, the shotgun fires the floor if you blind fire and move, chainsaw is really powerful and also smog granades, i really love GoW 1 , but GoW 2 Sucks, well i can continue complaining about the game but i wont have foun a dont waste your money buying this game Expand
  35. JorgeMarquet
    Oct 17, 2009
    0
    Only magazines rate this game as good, by far its de most anoying game ever, the weapons never work as they should, the shotgun seems te be broken everytime, once again host have advantage in everything, plus live system is so bad organized, and thats not all, insteed of fixing the game, epic seems to be focused only in making maps so they can sell them
  36. ParkerTibenko
    Nov 17, 2008
    0
    THis game is not fun in the slightest. It lacks originality, it lacks story, it lacks good Online, it is incredibly short, it is very unbalanced, it has framerate issues, laggy Online play, and pop-in objects and textures, and that is only the tip of the iceburg. This game is truly a disgrace to gamers everwhere.
  37. TheTruth
    Nov 24, 2008
    0
    I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is only played by teenage bed-wetters who cannot read. Worst ever! Shame on you Microsoft! Expand
  38. JakeC.
    Nov 26, 2008
    0
    I was actuially pretty disappointed with Gears 2. It felt to me like Halo 2 all over again. Not that it's similar to halo 2, but i mean in its relationship to Gears 1. I think the critics are giving it much more hype than it deserves, as the game is less a new game than it is the original game revamped. Which some people might find great, but i was disappointed.
  39. JB
    Nov 26, 2008
    0
    Come'on, scout team, stop writing all this <10> comments. We all know, you working hard to persuade masses that GOW2 is great, but it's a mass maedia pr LIES. I know, you will delete it, but you have to know - we know waht you doing, we know, how you doing it, we know how you make all the so called peoples votes so high.
  40. GavinH
    Nov 26, 2008
    0
    I once WAS a hardcore gears of war fan and gears2 has changed all that. The single player is bigger but not much better, more of the same to be honest. Which isn't all that bad i suppose. The multiplayer is where gears 2 just completely falls apart. Some may argue that the new additions like chainsaw duels, the new game modes the new weapons make gears2 multiplayer better than the I once WAS a hardcore gears of war fan and gears2 has changed all that. The single player is bigger but not much better, more of the same to be honest. Which isn't all that bad i suppose. The multiplayer is where gears 2 just completely falls apart. Some may argue that the new additions like chainsaw duels, the new game modes the new weapons make gears2 multiplayer better than the first. I'm afraid that this is bullplop! First the matchmaking is a disaster you spend more time trying to find players to play with, than actually playing the game.Then after you finally get to play and the match is over you must repeat this process again. This also removes any rivalries or personal battles between players you used to find in gears1. I could write a novel on how bad the multiplayer is but I'm not wasting any more of my time with this game. Basically if you loved how gears1played you will not like gears 2 (no matter how much you try to), it is a shadow of its former self, frustrating for all the wrong reasons. I'll see yas all back on gears 1! Expand
  41. JalexDiamond
    Dec 16, 2008
    0
    Certainly a quality game (only a fool would doubt that it's well-made), but my score of zero is due to the fact that I, for one, simply don't find any enjoyment in the gameplay of this title.
    Perhaps that's not quite fair, and I probably wouldn't even write this were it not so popular, but I suppose I just want to add my two cents.
  42. Dec 20, 2010
    0
    I'm not a fan of the Gears of War series so that's why I was excited to see that Gears 2 was just more the same **** put in a different engine but with a worse story. The gameplay is repetitive and boring after awhile, and the multiplayer is dull empty due having nothing worth playing in the MP and the lag. Overall, not better than its predecessor and I believe if a sequel does not improveI'm not a fan of the Gears of War series so that's why I was excited to see that Gears 2 was just more the same **** put in a different engine but with a worse story. The gameplay is repetitive and boring after awhile, and the multiplayer is dull empty due having nothing worth playing in the MP and the lag. Overall, not better than its predecessor and I believe if a sequel does not improve from before, it should not merit a point. 0 Expand
  43. Jun 10, 2011
    0
    This game sucks major balls. Why even bother with those crappy and unnecesary changes to the weapons? Damn, this feels like a prequel, gaming wise. Framerate sucks, AI sucks, voice acting sucks, gameplay sucks, and, most importantly, multiplayer sucks, especially the lag. This games name should have been Gears of Lag.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. There are very few ways that Gears of War 2 could be improved on. Only the story and the final boss in particular are a slight disappointment. Fanboys will love the fact that only one of a multitude of story arcs is concluded; everyone else will feel slightly unfulfilled. But aside from this, Gears 2 is not just the most exhilarating game you'll play this year, but possibly the most heady and downright shocking piece of entertainment full stop. Hollywood, your days are numbered. [Dec 2008, p.61]
  2. The real star, however, is Horde, a ballistic assault on your worst score-rush tendencies that transforms maps into Gears-flavoured Mutant Storm: weapons spawn, then a wave of enemies hits, then more weapons and then another, tougher, wave.
  3. 360 Gamer Magazine UK
    90
    We could be critical of Gears of War 2 simply offering more of the same, but the fact that it simply does everything better than the original in delivering a fantastic display of shoot-’em-up mayhem its quality simply shines through. With some awesome level design, supported by unsurpassed visuals and relentlessly entertaining action it is a compelling experience from start to finish. Forget the crack at putting emotion into the storyline; it’s almost irrelevant as Gears of War 2 is an allguns- blazing extravaganza and, as such, it’s just a glorious shooter that very few can match.