User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1223 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 3 is the best in the series by a mile. The multiplayer is great no flaws, and the first game with a way to kill campers. The digger gun! Great graphics on both SP and MP. 4 player co-op and just an all round epic game. While saying epic, I hope they have some plans up there sleeves as it's ashame this is the end for gears. Possible spin offs witch would be great as it's an amazing franchise. The MP is fresh and I just love playing on it, a great action game and one of the best on the 360. Epic should be very proud as this is a top contender for game of the year. That's about all I have to say on it really other then  if your on the fence with this on, just trust me you won't be let down! Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Unsurprisingly excellent on all fronts.Though there is a feeling of deja vu surrounding this game,it really doesn't matter much as you will be too busy kicking serious butt to care.If you take pure action and add a slice of cheese,you get the magnificent Gears Of War 3.
  3. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    If you're a fan or a newcomer to the Gears Universe, the end of the trilogy has something for everyone. The gameplay is the same tried and true formula that you know and love, but it's even smoother now. The campaign simply seeps epicness from it's very core, with an interesting story that's pleasing yet accessible. The same goes for the multiplayer, which'll feel great to anyone who has played Gears before, and introduces new players well. Those two modes alone would be enough to warrant a high score, but the loads of additional content Epic has added is what makes Gears 3 a nearly flawless game, more than worthy of the proverbial 10 out of 10. Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2011
    7
    Its good, well polished, quality sounds an effects, but there is virtually nothing to distinguish it gameplay wise from the first two titles except different weapons and enemies. The script writing is pretty hackneyed, and I didn't care about the characters at all.

    The multiplayer is a mixed bag. The deathmatch I don't think is much fun because it pretty much boils down to explosive
    weapons and shotguns. The availability of cover and dive rolls means you won't be killing anyone with your rifle weapons. However, horde and beast modes are pretty fun, and are a less aggressive multiplayer arena and should provide some good fun.

    Still, this game is not at all innovative and I will probably get bored quick.
    Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    When I first started playing this, I was going to give it a 7 due to the first third of the campaign being quite dull. But it really picks up after that. Some very nice 'holy **** moments in it and even a very emotional bit too. Haven't played the mp yet but the sp is very solid after the first third. If you like Gears, you will like this. The best one of the three. Much prettier more refined gameplay. Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2011
    6
    I guess i'm mixed with this title because i prefer story driven games, and as much as I tried to want to like the story in it, it didnt really stand out shine in this perspective. In short the story is filled with a plethora of cheesy phrases and imo overall bad storytelling, however on the good side, the game boasts incredible graphics, gameplay, and a suiting end to the trilogy... On the multiplayer side, however we theirs an incredibe amount of game modes, and Horde 2.0 is aweeesoomme!! and i can see this as being a game dedicated gears fans play for a long time. In conclusion, the multiplayer aspect really saves this game, for without is i would've rated this game a 2. Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    1
    I find this game over hyped and the game play too repetitive. Don't understand how people can rate this game as high as they do.

    Please rent it first and save a few bucks.
  8. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    By far the best looking and best playing Gears of War thus far. If you are new to the series it is still a great place to start. There is a short video that will catch you up on all the previous games and even fills in some blanks since the last game. The gun play and movement is tighter. Many unlockables, including gun skins, characters and more. My biggest gripe with the game so far is that they have so much DLC on the day of launch. Right now you can buy roughly 30 DLC packs which are nothing more than skin packs for your guns. At $3 a piece it is quite the ripoff. As far as actual in game issues there is little to complain about. I have the same basic gripe as in all Gears of War games. Multiplayer is basically a bunch of shotgunners roadie running through maps. If you can get by that there is lots and lots of fun to be had. Expand
  9. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 3 is the best co-op game ever. It's is better than gears 1 and gears 2. The weapons are cooler, the gfx are better, the story is more in dept and the online multiplayer is actually fun... Gears of War 3 has all this and... ofc the best cutscene of any game ever. Buy this game.
  10. Sep 21, 2011
    3
    Multiplayer Review:

    This review is coming from a long-time Gears of War 1 and 2 fan, a big supporter of Epic games and their commercial and indie releases(Unreal, UT, Shadow Complex), and a hardcore gamer in general. I'll try to make this review as unbiased as possible, but, given my history with the series, bias is bound to occur. I loved GOW 1's multiplayer, despite the lag, and,
    although I believe that GOW 2's multiplayer was a step back in a lot of ways, I still enjoyed it as well. Now, concerning GOW 3's multiplayer, I believe Epic REALLY dropped the ball. In trying to cater to the COD fanbase and the newcomers in general Epic has created a multiplayer Vs game that, in my opinion, alienates its core fanbase from the shot-gun battles that made GOW 1 and 2's multiplayer so much fun. Gone are the days of having good shotty battles while trying to establish dominance of a power weapon. Now it's just a bunch of people camping with the far overpowered retro lancers and sawed-off shotguns, both weapons which make the competetive multiplayer a **** joke. This game has become the COD of the third person shooter world seemingly over-night. Kids camp in corners with sawed-off shotguns with no need to aim because the aiming reticle takes up 95% of the screen and can kill up to 4 people with one shot. I absolutely cannot stand this games multiplayer, which, while offering dedicated servers that tremendously cuts down on the lag, is catered way too much to the casual gamer, and totally has become a game of camping. The old gears multiplayer is dead. This isn't what any veteran Gears player would want. Not this one anyways. I cannot even begin to describe how much I loathe this game. Maybe with patches the game will be fixed. Probably not. I've lost all respect for Epic. And, won't be supporting them again. Expand
  11. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Game of the Year on XBOX no doubt about it, the single player is just pure epic and the multiplayer is even better whether you play versus or horde or beast. I am useless with using the xbox controller since I am a PC guy but this game is the only one I have bought for xbox so far this year and it's really the reason why I one an xbox in the first place. Dont miss it, buy an xbox if you have to in order to experience it. Expand
  12. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Really enjoyable especially if you got friends to play with and multiplayer is very fun. There's not much thats already been said in other reviews so all i can say is its a good end to the series.
  13. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    This game is f*****g amazing! The graphics, story, gameplay, replay-value, multiplayer are all as perfect as perfect can be! I got the epic edition and I don't regret it at all!
  14. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Only played a few levels so far but it seems great. The cover system and aiming is a lot smoother this time and i cant wait to try out the co-op stuff with friends.
  15. Sep 20, 2011
    0
    Awful game. Once again Epic has hyped up a massive failure of a game. We once again fight the fight of the beefy men(and now women) vs the "bad dudes". The story is stupid and massively cliched. The 45 dollar day one on the disc DLC is just another reason of many to hate this game. Not to mention the other maps on the disc they want you to pay for later. Do yourself a favor, pass on this game. save your money. Wait for one of the many other AAA titles, much better and interested ones, coming out in the next few months. Expand
  16. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Gameplay wise, Its pretty much the same with the exceptions of a few new things here n' there. BUT, it must be noted that this is one of the MOST REFINED games ive ever played! Seriously, its almost bizzare to se such huge hulks move around the battlefield with such grace & fluidity . Story On the other hand is much much better than the previous installments & you actually feel the dread & sorrow that the gears would be feeling.
    Graphics Like always are topnotch.
    A couple of new characters are introduced, but id would have been nice to get a bit more of a backstory on the newcomers. The introduction of lambent enemies really makes you change your playstyle from previous gears as enemies are far more aggressive.
    One Impotrtant thing to note here is that Difficulty levels have been altered significantly. So if u used to play gears on normal difficulty than go with hardcore , cause the game has become just TOO EASY!
    Even in hardcore mode one can at times finish whole levels without shooting a single bullet! Sadly, Insane mode is unlocked only after finishing the campaign :( All in All Its Pretty much what i expected (which is near perfect) , This Game Has Lots of modes and tons of collectibles,skins,gun themes to unlock thus giving it a huge replayibility bonus.
    So... STOP READING THIS AND GET YOUR GEARS 3 COPY ASAP! >:D
    Expand
  17. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    I bought the first gears a few years back and I didn't really appeal to me back then, so I passed up on the second one all together. I was in the store today really doubting if I would give it another shot after all these years and holy crap. I am glad I did. This is an absolute monster of a game, I played through the first two acts and really had to convince myself to try out the multiplayer as well tonight because otherwise I would've played the campaign till early dawn. Incredible setpiece moments, badass gunfights, amazing dialogue. Really one of the best campaigns I played in the last 2 years. But then it was time to start up the multiplayer and although I rarely play a third-person game online I didn't have any problems at all adjusting to the mechanics of the game and after 2 rounds I was playing top 3 places in my team. kudos to the matchmaking as well, very nicely balanced the teams all the time so the experience is very enjoyable. You have a lot of modes in the regular versus (Team Deathmatch, Warzone (normal deathmatch), execution (instead of killing enemys you must execute them up close and personal) and king of the hill). If you are now to the game, there is an option to play a casual multiplayer witch lets you play witch other "newbies". And further more you have a horde mode (fending of waves of enemy's) and beast mode (horde mode in reverse). And if that's not enough you can play the whole campaign with up to 3 friends in split-screen or in online coop. As you can see that's a whole lot of multiplayer :-) and it's al very smoothly, I encountered not a single lag issue in my first 7 hours of playing. A piece of multiplayer that will grasp you for months I can imagine. So in conclusion. If you're not already a very confirmed hater or just don't care about shooting stuff with gaming's most badass guns then you have no reason at all not to buy this game, really top notch!!!! Expand
  18. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Superbly, the graphics are jaw-dropping, and impeccable gameplay, history and well-written characters with life.Go stay forever in the history of games, Gears is wonderful everything was done with great care and with many details, but rather an game to top it off gold trilogy.
  19. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    Loved the first game and the second one was just ok for me I had some big issues with it. The third game has now come out and after beating it I honestly feel like it falls somewhere in the middle. The first being a 9 for me and the second being a 6 or 7 I feel very comfortable with an 8. Didn't reach what I had hoped it would but still a lot of fun. I love the Gears franchise its my favorite on 360 but I worry about it going stale. I felt like it took 2 steps back with 2 and a step forward with 3. Expand
  20. Sep 23, 2011
    4
    I hate that bought this game. I waited on line for 2 hours for this crap? A game where it's okay to hide behind a corner and double barrel shotgun your way to victory? A game where you can kill a guy while using a shotgun from 100 feet away? This game sucks. It looks nice, but it sucks. I'm finishing the campaign and trading it in. Btw, they should rename the game 'Shotguns of war'
  21. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    From the looks of it, probably the best gears so far. The multiplayer handles great and no more lag or a distinguishable host advantage. Epic also added plenty of; characters, weapon skins, medals, executions, etc. I really don't know how people could complain about this game, they must just hate life or something. Another thing i noticed, was horde. Epic added so much to horde it actually makes it fun to play. As the campaign goes, I haven't gotten too far in it to really tell if it is good or not. This is a must have for all 360 owners. Expand
  22. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    A great 3rd place title to accompany COD and Battlefield this fall. More improved from the rest of the series but can still be considered recycled over all.
  23. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    To the people who gave this a "1" and a "0" either didn't play it or are PS3 fanboys. This game is absolutely amazing. Graphics, story, progression, presentation, audio/sfx, did i mention graphics? It's easily THE BEST looking game on X360 to date. A must own, no brainer if you ask me.
  24. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    I have played hundreds and hundreds of hours of Gears of war 1 and 2 and 3 beta. This is easily the best of the 3 hands down. My personal favorite series of this generation finally gets and end and it actually doesn end which is more than I can say for Halo Reach. You will def get your money out of this title. Theres' something for everyone: Campaign, Horde, Beast, VS, Arcade. No matter your gaming preferences there is something to love and a ton of stuff to unlock and have a blast with. Only complaint I have it the Final boss on Insane difficulty is the cheapest boss I've ever played against outside of a fighter. Expand
  25. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    For the haters, this game is made for those who are dedicated to the trilogy of Marcus Fenix and Delta team, considering the characters not being changed is something the fans would die for especially at the end of the trilogy, and if you don't like the story then you should know that Gears is not about story-telling, it's about ass kicking, and if it's to repetative for you, then it shouldn't be for those who love the series, because they would beat the first two games so many times they'd want something new, and that's what Gears 3 is offering for millions of fans out there. For the one considering buying this game, it's all that is a bad-ass Triple A, perfect third person shooter for your entertainment. Expand
  26. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    First of all please ignore any comments made by blackzkeys or dolar as they seriously should not be on this forum if you give a bad review for gears of war. This last title is by far the best of the lot when it comes to campaign and the story has been great from the beginning. Everyone that I have spoken to who played gears has just said good things like "WOW what an action paced game. The look and feel of the game is out of this world" This is all true and the multiplayer is really good and a lot of fun. 4 player co-op WOW , how awesome is that. You just can't put the remote down and I guarantee you will play the game more than once with your friends because it is so exciting and fun to play. There is no flaw in gears and I am sad to hear this is the last of the series.Cliffy B is seriously a genius and I cant wait to see what he will come up with next. Expand
  27. Sep 25, 2011
    5
    I bought this game with high hopes. I loved the storyline of the first two, but the third part left me feeling very disappointed. The endings of GoW and GoW2 were spot on IMO, but I felt that the ending to GoW3 was not the epic cinematic experience one would expect at the conclusion of story involving the fate of humanity. Plot references felt contrived and convenient and there was no emotional depth, nothing to reinforce the previous two games.

    Game play is the same as the others, along with the repeat and rinse maps. Running from one section to another, you will certainly know when to expect a Locust attack. I was hoping for something new in the game play, so I was disappointed with how similar to the other games each level felt. The campaign arcade mode was interesting for a short while, earning points for position on a high score table.

    Multiplayer faired better. I'm not a fan of competitive multiplayer, so I always turn my attention to co-op. I loved beast mode, laying waste to the Stranded and the heroes of GoW, but horde mode was excellent. In Horde mode you earn cash to build and repair defences which hinder the locusts as they try to wipe you out. My only problem with horde mode was that it was somewhat easier to kill the locusts at normal difficulty. XP can earned in campaign and carries through to multiplayer and, every so often, your friends may jump in and help you at any time.

    Overall GoW3 doesn't offer anything new over GoW and GoW2 that would warrant forking out £40. In some ways it is a missed opportunity to close a terrific story. For me, horde mode in GoW2 feels more hectic than in GoW3.

    So 5/10 from me.
    Expand
  28. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    This is the king of 3rd person shooters this gen. Nothing compares to it, story, multi player nothing even comes close. All the shortcomings from G1 and 2 have been removed, it is an epic end to the trilogy.
  29. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Best Gears Yet!!!!! The whole world as you know it is turned upside down and is very interesting as a result. Hope the only negative is the weapon DLC skins
  30. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best Third Person Shooters i ever played,this franchise is AMAZING,somthing who makes the diference when you are in doubt what console you will buy.Gears of War 3 Finish this Extraordinary Trilogy with Epic moments,Epic Gameplay,Epic Graphics,Epic Action,Epic Games know how to do an Epic Game.
  31. Oct 18, 2011
    8
    nice improvement on the 2nd game. Locations are very different and colorful. Some interestings bosses and enemies. But graphics are not very good, old hardware after all :(
  32. Sep 21, 2011
    7
    Gears of War 3 feels like a giant step back as well as a small step forward in some areas. Gameplay wise there are some invaluable new additions, they sadly proved to be pointless. However, somehow they managed to unbalance the game a bit. The melee is no longer auto-targeted and the damage has been broken down a fair bit, a few guns have also been messed with far too much. The campaign feels extremely sluggish and dull, it was not executed properly at all. The story also had great promise. Cole Train returns to his hometown, sees his stadium in ruin.. Marcus finds out his father his actually alive-- Dom dies.. none of these story elements were taken seriously, it felt lifeless. A couple new characters were also thrown at you that no history behind them, they weren't very likeable either. The multiplayer section of this game lives up to expectations, more or less. The new and 'improved' horde mode is much, much better. It adds an engulfing amount of depth into the map. You can build different types of defenses and offenses, the boss battles are also very challenging. The new beast mode is also surprisingly fun as well, different playable 'beasts' had a number of strengths and weaknesses. Within the other half of multiplayer, player vs player.. nothing really changed. Of course you still have your new maps and all. Overall, I wish they could have been as innovative as they were with Gears 1 and 2. Expand
  33. Sep 22, 2011
    7
    The story had so much potential but it could have been executed in a much better way I would have enjoyed the story and gotten into it if it wasn't for this poor execution the bad humour and the lack of seriousness among the characters really ruined it for me. The characters from the previous 2 games return along with some new characters but I just could not get myself to care for or take any of them seriously because of their bland and annoying personalities specially the buff male characters who look like freaks of nature and mutated themselves. The campaign was fun and they have made some improvements over the gameplay but it is still very linear with its share of frustrating moments and still way to short for the wrap up of the triology but I still enjoyed it and the EXP system is really a great addition and exactly what the previous two games needed in the campaign and the new weapons are also unique and fun to use. The multiplayer is definitely much better than the one from Gears 2 they have added new modes and reworked the Horde mode and they are all really fun and much more strategic than repetitive and boring.. The online multiplayer for the campaign which allows a 4 player Co-Op is really cool however playing the campaign with offline multiplayer with a friend by your side with the awful split screen can be really frustrating. The graphics are just amazing it is nice that despite being out for so many years the 360 is still not showing its age. The game's voice acting is fine but could have been alot better and realistic. Also I still did not see that many changes in the Single player from Gears 2 this game it still feels more like it predecessors. Overall I think Epic Games took 2 steps forward and 2 steps back in my opinion don't get me wrong I still think this is a really good game but I think it is getting overpraised because as the ending of a 5 year triology it is a little disappointing. 7.5/10. Expand
  34. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    Gears of War I: Introduction into an incredible trilogy, amazing mutliplayer experience for both pro and casual gamers and the only reason I bough an XBOX 360.

    Gears of War II: Better visuals (compared to GOW 1), yet Epic messed up the multi-player experience a little bit. Still, by far one of the best games I have played.

    Gears of War III: Dazzling visuals, very nice story, a variety
    of mutliplayer game modes which literally changed my XBOX 360 into a GOW3-only game console! While the original GoW3 game has a lot to offer, the are providing the gamers with incredible DLC at a reasonable price. This game is much more enhanced than the previous two and you will never regret buying it. That is of course if you are into third person shooter games. If you are, GOW3 is the best game you can get on XBOX 360 and probably on an other platform. Expand
  35. Sep 23, 2011
    1
    Japanese style boss killing game is not for me. Really who likes to kill one boss monster next hours? I don't! And I really don't like multiplayer too where is most important thing is to be suicidical mass murderer. there is nothing real. There is only suicide mass murderer style!
  36. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    Run, roll and cover
    Run, roll and cover
    Run, roll and cover
    Run, roll and cover
    Run, roll and cover
    Run, roll and cover
    Run, roll and cover
    Run, roll and cover
  37. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is a great game, only hindered by sub-par graphics and a somewhat sluggish frame rate. My first reaction was to blame the current generation of consoles. However, with Dead Space 2, Resident Evil 5, Heavy Rain, Uncharted, Red Dead Redemption, Castlevania: LOS and numerous other games looking gorgeous and running so well on near 7 year old console generation... its hard for me to beleive the Xbox 360 or PS3 is the reason any game would show this much age just yet. A highend gaming PC they are certainly not, but they still impress with certain titles that make you wonder just how the hell they are getting games to look and run as well as they do on yesteryears hardware. Sadly, it doesn't seem to keep GoW3's graphics and performance feeling rather lacking... Could it be the Unreal 3 engine powering it? possibly... since its rooted in a Direct X 9 era of gaming. Or maybe EPIC ran out of time to optimize?

    Regardless, it's easily the best of series per se... except it might be too much like a combination of GoW 1 & 2 for some. Perhaps too many instances of same old/same old. Then again, this is can be a bit more of a blessing than a curse... it works well, and its guranteed fun, far more intensified this third trip through the GoW saga. The story is so-so at best, and the duck/cover/run may be too focused... possibly becoming repetitive after long periods of time for many. But once again, its a flawless implementation, common to see poorly executed in other games, and definetely a breath of fresh air well maintaned within the series.

    Loaded with extra content for endless hours, inclduing fantastic co-op scenarios. The game truly delivers.. not just on the story mode... but also in multiplay. Very seldom can a title balance both so remarkably well Easily a game you don't want to pass up. Worth a purchase, not a rental.
    Expand
  38. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 3 is amazing it surpasses gears of war 2 in almost every way possible. The very few problems that the series has had in the past has been fixed like: the connection is better than before, the pacing of the game is just right. Theres plenty of different modes to play like: campain(with co-op up to 4 people), verses, beast mode, horde. Theres alot to unlock from skins on your weapon to characters, the achievements and challenges are fun but also challenging to get. This wont be a game youll get bored of in a weekend infact ive been playing gears of war 2 up until now and thats been like what 3 years?! This game is perfect if your a fan of gears of war this game will deliver all you want and more. Expand
  39. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    An epic conclusion to an epic series! Gears of War 3 is by far one of 2011's strongest releases. Highly entertaining game play, a great multiplayer that will keep you going for a long time, and an epic story to finish one of the greatest game series-Ever.
  40. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I got this yesterday and I finished it today. It was awesome! I hate that Adam Fenix died.... DX and I thought Queen Myrrah was Marcus Fenixs' Mom. That would be awesome! THIS GAME GETS A 20/10! Expand
  41. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Excellent game so far. The graphics are top notch and has the same gameplay as the previous versions but with differnt weapons and modes. Like evrryone else has said, horde mode is great.
  42. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    fantastic well polished cap to the gears universe, the multiplayer is like nothing else and the single player is a beautiful roller coaster ride of awesome.. The story is what it is, but when gears is telling a story it makes for hilarious commentary. Great game all around, so worth the purchase!
  43. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Gears of War 3 is the best shooter ever. With stunning graphics, excellent sound effects and a perfect gameplay, this game definitely deserves 10. He will surely win the Game of the Year 2011.
  44. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    I've studied at lot of games, as far as game design goes, and no game has yet to master what Gears does best. Whereas most games constantly reward players with perks and bonuses for doing anything, Gears encourages territorial control and teamwork without "special abilities" hindering player progression of skill. It goes a long way in evolving tactical combat into a balance pace of cover/flank/shoot without lingering in any one position. Best of all, I've notice little to no camping is possible. With new maneuvers like the mantle kick and new weapons such as the digger launcher, there is a functional solution for any situation and creates kinetic tension rarely done in modern shooters. Most importantly, although Gears 3 is staying in a "tried and true" formula, this franchise has done more than just influenced a new style of shooter to play; it has a signature feel that no other game has. Halo, Call of Duty, Battlefield, etc. all play first person and have reiterated the same motion of combat since games like Doom. Not to say Gears didn't have its influences (Resident Evil 4's over the shoulder camera and kill.switch's cover system) but in a crowded market of "me too" first person shooters, Gears strides in playing completely different. I respect those who may think that Gears is not there game or if some other game makes them feel more passionate, but any hate towards the amount of polish and passion this game has received is just plain ignorance. This is my Game of the Year. Expand
  45. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Great title. Amazing visuals and very solid gameplay. I'm a fan of the series and am very impressed with the 3rd outing. My only beef is that the online matchmaking is annoying as always with the Gears series. It takes minutes to find matches, as opposed to seconds like most "A" titles.
  46. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Best console game this "gen" imo. Just goes to show what a proper beta, 6 more months of dev time, and dedicated servers can do for the overall game experience. Lets hope EPIC sticks to this model, and others begin to follow it.
  47. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    This is an overall great game. I would recomend it to anyone. There are a few things that bug me tho that a normal gamer may not even notice. The multiplayer can be glitchy. I often find myself playing as Marcus when I chose Carmine as my character and it can get annoying. Also I didn't get to keep any of my Beta unlocks because I was unaware that you needed your saves to keep them, I assumed multiplayer unlocks were saved online as they should be. So you cant play multiplayer at a friends house because you need your saved data. My only other complaint is the campaign script. Cheesy, corny punch lines one after another. Its hard to take the characters seriously at times. Besides those few minor issues, this is a great game. The multiplayer gameplay is unmatched fun and the variety of ways to play online means for endless fun. Horde, Beast, Versus, and Arcade modes give you plenty of hours of fun gameplay. Not to mention, there is nothing more satisfying then blowing and enemy to bits with one shot from your Gnasher. The campaign is very gripping and will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time with many plot twists and unexpected turns of events. Overall this is an incredably fun game and if you dont have it yet, get your a$$ up and go buy it. Expand
  48. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    **9.5/10 Really, really good. You've got to play it. It's the best in the series. Buy it. Love it. Finish it. You'll have a huge blast. That is all.
  49. Oct 5, 2011
    2
    I was so eager to play this game that I put down my deposit in angst a month ago. This was by far the worse game I played this year. Terrible plot line and even worse chatter from the in-game characters. Save your money, I do not not know why websites rate this game above 90%. Save your money and do not repeat my mistake. I'm going to try to get at least half my money back in an exchange.
  50. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    WOW! Lots of ill-informed and stupid reviews here! GOW 3 is a good game, and you won't be fooled by it if you've played the first two. If you don't like 3rd person shooters, stay away! @KyleCrase15, you downvote a game because you don't know how a beta works??? The dev didn't tell you your unlocks weren't going to be there upon the actual game coming out because THAT'S HOW ALL BETAS WORK. @Jordan23 I read your "review" three times and couldn't come up with any actual criticism of the game. Your problem with the game seems to be you overhyped it for yourself, and now have issues because it's not the GOTY candidate you thought it might be. Anyway, the game is exactly what you think it is if you've played Gears. Solid 3PS, and doesn't do too much to change the series (which can be a bit of a downer if you thought this was gonna be something it's not.) Expand
  51. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is an excellent cooperative campaign experience and also an excellent cooperative multiplayer experience. The key with this game is that whether you are sitting with a friend on the couch or playing with a few friends online, you can complete both the campaign and the various fantastic multiplayer experiences together. Not many games offer this type of experience. The graphics are better than previously, the gameplay much smoother. The multiplayer is light years ahead of what it used to be with modes like Horde vein immersive. The developer did a great job of combining your achievements from the campaign and the multiplayer together to level your player up. There are countless in game achievements that can be earned and things like weapon and character skins. Gears Of War 3 is a must have third person shooter for fans of the Gears series or newcomers alike. Expand
  52. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    The first two games were very good and served to shape the current generation of consoles, but the third entry in the franchise is simple a cut above everything that came before.

    Gameplay feels refined, responsive and more fluid than ever. Sticking to and pulling away from cover has never felt this smooth. The roadie run has had its speed ramped up. Weapons like the lancer have been
    fine-tuned to perfection. Add to that a feature-rich package which includes 4-player campaign co-op, competitive multiplayer (on dedicated servers!), Horde 2.0 and the new Beast mode which lets you control the Locusts (BERSERKER RUSH!) and you have one of the best games ever released on the Xbox 360.

    Amazing. Game.
    Expand
  53. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Story driven game = Gears of War? Sorry, but you must be kidding. If someone buys any of the three Gears of War-Titels for the story, you've got something wrong. Seriously. This game is about action and having a damn good time. Because Gameplay wise everything was told before, i decided to add some information for the owners of a 3D-TV. First of all, the 3D Mode of Gears is gorgeous. You cant compare the quality of Gears's 3D effect to any other existing 3D title for the xbox. It pushes 3D on a complete new level. I own a PS3 and played all popular 3D titles so far (Killzone 3, Resistance 3, Crysis 2, Super Stardust HD and so on), but Gears 3 does not have to hide itself, compared to the PS3 3D effect.

    The depth, especially when you are in cover, looks amazing and the texture resolution and framerate are superb, compared to other 3D titles of course. everything runs smooth.

    So if you are looking for a superb action game with a very good 3D support, give this game a shoot!
    Expand
  54. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    After playing the previous 2 games in the series, I believe this is what fans of the series have been waiting for since 2006. The campaign does not have a story that will pull you in unless you have played the previous games. I felt that the story was predictable but a good conclusion to one of the better action games ever released. Where the story lacks, the game play more than makes up for the shortcomings. Player movement is faster, weapons have a good feel and realistic sound, and the cover system has been tweaked so the accidental wall sticks rarely occur. The multiplayer aspect is lag free and the most enjoyable competitive and cooperative experience to date on the 360. There are some balance issues to be had with a few of the weapons(doublebarrel) but for the most part, everything feels that it has it's place. the new maps are designed to prevent camping and every match is exciting. I do feel that the arcade campaign should not have cut scenes, but that is just a personal opinion. If you enjoyed the first two games in the series, then do not hesitate to make this a must purchase. If you never had the opportunity to play the previous iterations then you owe it to yourself to pick this game up and give it a try. Either way, this will be the only game in your system for quite some time. Expand
  55. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    I wanted to like this game, but I'm only reminded of what I hated about the first one and why I didn't buy the second one. Overall a fail. Multiplayer is simply frustrating. I'm sure the things I hate are what everyone else loves. The sprint effect, the random "bouncing" when taking damage that makes it near impossible to adjust your fire on target. The sounds are horrible, when you hear the enemy they sound like they are right behind you even if they are halfway across the map. I know why they made these features this way, as a way to artificially raise the tension of the game, but do shooters really need this? Versus mode needs more options for games, like the ability to have uneven numbers of players on teams, though I guess that's what they included horde mode for.Overall it's just too simplistic, two dimensional, and lacking compared to shooters like COD. If you loved the first two I'm sure you'll love this one too. I wish I had saved my money. Expand
  56. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This game is by far the best experience available on the xbox 360. the gameplay defined this generation of 3rd person shooters and it builds heavily on that.the story is very dramatic and has some of the best story telling techniques in gaming of course lines can be a bit over exaggerated but people are to focused on the small things. the graphics are probably about the best you'll get on 360.....or any console. the gameplay is about as action packed and as cinematic as an AAA blockbuster movie.This game is everything you wanted from this generation of gaming and then some.10/10
    STORY:9.5 GAMEPLAY:10 GRAPHICS:10 SOUND 9.5 MULTIPLAYER:10 PRESENTATION:10 REPLAY VALUE: 11
    Expand
  57. Sep 29, 2011
    0
    Really? This is what we get? After 10 minutes all I could think to myself was "this is still Gears 2". Game play mechanics are identical. To its credit, the story telling has been improved, and clearly the story is concluded in this final title of the trilogy. Other than that...why is this $60? Seriously, it's a gun-pack and a map-pack rolled into one, and that's about it. Surprised? Say hello to a million dollar marketing campaign to milk their cash cow. I'll save my money for something original. Expand
  58. Sep 22, 2011
    8
    i wasnt to sure what to expect from gears 3 . i loved the first didnt like the second so wasnt sure if epic was gona deliver . they did in some ways and failed in others . i'll start off where they messed up . first off the story mode wasnt very good even now with 4 player co op which is great is brought down by its lack of any real story telling. gears of war 1 and 2 raised soooo many questions that i was hoping this game was gona answer. unfortunitly it didnt answer really any of them . the game has you pushing one fight to another to get to marcuses father with little to any thing new being told in the story or much of any thing answered. theres a few good boss fights like the glowing berzerker and the final boss fight was pretty well done . the ending left alot to be desired. again though much like the firs,t gears 3 is just littered with bugs and glitches which to me is unaceptable seeing as this game was done months ago . you will have problems with the ammo crates not refilling your ammo or certain guns , doors and ladders to climb wont let you use them to progress through the level so you will have to reload from last chack point., ive gotten stuck on walls , game frooze a few times and having none of the controls work after a cut sceane. i have no desire to ever play the story mode ever again . now for the good and for alot prolly the most important. the online mode is back to being fun again like gears 1 was. the shot gun works like its suppose to , the game plays on dedicated servers so true skill can shine through over host advantage . the new maps are all very well done . im pretty sure i played all the maps as ive spent about 10+ hours in multiplayer and cant say i really hated any of them . though i wish they added more of the classic maps . only one they have is a redone gridlock which is nice but would have liked mansion and war machine and some others as well ... maybe in some future DLC. the online is just smooth and alot of fun i feel like i did over 5 years ago playing gears 1 with my old friends again just having a blast. if a great online game is all you wanted then gears is for you . if you wanted and where hoping for the total package well you will be disappointed abit . over all though gears 3 is worth buying as it will keep you busy with the online for many months im sure. Expand
  59. Dec 10, 2011
    6
    Without a doubt the game i was most disappointed with this year ... to much of the same ... to little innovation ... still fun just feels like an expansion pack
  60. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Without question the best of the 3 which should say something b/c the first 2 are so good. Basically refined straight up fun that makes it hard to imagine playing a more fun game again this year (but remember Battlefield, COD). Worth buying a 360 for.
  61. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Gears of War 3 in my book is epic! All of them are great games, and have changed the gaming world much like Halo has. As I played through this last installment I realized not much has changed from the first Gears. We are still fighting the same enemy (Even though they glow) we still have the same characters, and same game play. I know a lot of critics are saying it's nothing new, but to me that's the charm of it! I feel like it's been one long journey that's finally come to an end in the best possible way! Great ending to a fantastic franchise. Expand
  62. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    There is a difference in a bad game and being bad at the game. Since gears of war 1 i loved this game but 1 had a HUGE multiplayer learning curve. If you did not shotgun or pick up a special weapon you were out of luck. It was all about quick reflexes and bounces of the wall. So to start I will explain the differences I see in multiplayer that makes it perfect. First off the movement, to say only guns and maps changed is idiotic and blind, go play gears 1,2, and then 3 and you will see a major diffence in the smoothness of the movement. From roadie running to aim to getting behind and off cover and overall movement it's amazing. Going from extremely slow matchmaking based off host to a little better in gears to dedicated servers in 3? Extremely fast matchmaking and virtually lag less game if your connection is decent. There is no gun in the game that you can not use. Gears 1 was mainly shotgun. Gears 2 was a little weaker shotgun,explosive, and sniper. Gears 3 adds a lot stronger rifles to make it almost necessary to work as a team as apposed to lone wolf making it a lot more accessible to new players while keeping it balanced for the day 1 players. They went from a gloomily dark color palette and added brighter colors easily distinguishing locust and cog. The graphics are amazing and the detail is incredible. And to complain about 45$ Day 1 DLC it is weapon camo, it has no impact on the game. They are doing it to fund the dedicated servers. The gears multiplayer is the most balanced I have ever experienced but it does take time to grow on you. Repetitive dying might annoy you, i sure was making me not play the first one for months. But the day you can bounce off walls and do a pop shot you will feel a challenge to get better and a game that takes great developed skill to be a great player, overall offering a better experience that the way easier shooter games of this generation. There is a reason this franchise went from my most hated to my favorite, it takes time to grow on you. The single player is great especially this third one adding four player coop making it a way better experience. The lambent add a great challenge and the feeling a hopelessness adds Dalton to the wound in the falling gears universe. The holy s**t moments are bigger than ever and the lines are as enertainina as the first. Horde 2.0 is a great experience adding the tower defense portion add greater depth with boss fights adding a greater challenge. The money incorporation adds customization and ability to re buy in if you die and a end points makes a reachable goal that will prove a challenge on insane dificulty. Beast mode is a great spin on the horde where you play as the locust. It is fun but my once complain about this game is that beast mode is extremely short but not much to besmirch my score for the fact the everything else add such great play value that this game will keep you entertained for month. All 10 maps 9 new are destined to be classics. My advice for you is to give this game a try and keep playing because it will grow on you. Thank you Epic Games for making this the first time a hyped up game actually surpasses what I expect. Forever live the gears universe!! Expand
  63. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Anybody who rates this game less than a 10 is retarded the gameplay is so tight the story compelling and multilayer is a blast by far the best gears game out there and one of my top ten games of all time and I've been playing games for twenty years.go buy it now!!!!!
  64. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    This game is just epic. Explosions, violence and so much gameplay. Decent length campaign (4 player co-op and arcade mode give more replay value), Horde 2.0 is more of the same, but its still a lot of fun and its not longer about planting boom shields. Beast mode is good fun, if not a bit easy. There's some people complaining about the multiplayer- they're sad because they're getting beat, but don't worry you can play with bots on "casual" if you're not up for it. Expand
  65. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Gears of War 3 is an old dog with some impressive new tricks. Although it doesn't leave the realm of the expected (much) or do much in ways of reinventing the franchise, it meets and even exceeds it's excessively high expectations. The campaign hasn't gone in any new directions, however, it goes much farther than any other gears of war title managed to in scope and polish; and that's just the first act of the game, and now offers 4-player coop and an arcade mode with competitive scoring and mutators (featuring old UT classics like "big head" and "instagib"). Multiplayer now features unlockable weapon skins, mutators, and characters to keep the elites interested and finally offers effective dedicated servers to ensure that someone's ping isn't the deciding factor of the match. Horde 2.0 is on a scale only dreamed of in the previous installment with the new currency system and boss waves which lead to massive battles against brumaks with the help of lumbering mechs and machine gun turrets. The new beast mode is short but impressively tactical, offering the wide diversity of locust abilities and tactics to the player in small, organized teams.

    The updated unreal engine now utilizes deferred lighting and rendering and combines it with other new and impressive effects (such as a more detailed motion blur and volumetric sunrays and particles), and color is finally used as a powerful tool in atmosphere, much unlike the original Gears of War. This makes the game's impressive visuals stand out in what is possibly the most competitive time yet for the graphics industry.

    What was the most impressive feature of the entire Gears package was the story. Epic studios has never been a studio with an emphasis on story and only recently has attempted to deliver it as part of a AAA game package. With the help of author Karyn Travis, the Gears 3 story and characters have a surprising layer of depth and atmosphere between the frantic fast paced gun fights. Characters are now far more diverse than testosterone laden men and far deeper qualities are evident or at least hinted at (depending on the character) throughout the campaign. Certain story pieces (which I will not spoil) have an impressive and respectable amount of detail. Musical and visual juxtaposition are used to the greatest effect and create moments that reduce even the rowdiest crowd of online players to complete silence. Although the story comes dangerously close to cliche at times, it steers clear just in the knick of time and has a great sense of novelty, and every component of the game comes together to create a very deep sense of the potent struggle of humans living cooperatively on the verge of death. Even the gameplay emphasizes this interdependence with the ability to share ammo and money.

    Gears of War 3 is not an unexpected game, but it is surprising in it's potent and vast sense of teamwork throughout a multitude of well designed game modes. It's a very hard game to not recommend, but although it certainly is not flawless, it shines bright enough to be seen as a gem of a game in a time of near omnipresent, massacre-fatigue shooters and horror titles. Thanks to EPIC studios for defying the stereotypical notions that have smothered this game's reputation since the first with the best and most thoughtful Gears of War title to date. Anyone who bashes the game for story shortcomings or originality must be truly desensitized to the things that make a video game more than just a game. This was truly an unforgettable experience.
    Expand
  66. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    This is the best iteration in the series so far. It still has the great Gears feel, and a lot of value on one disk for everyone who buys this.

    Single Player- EPIC story, FUN campaign, likeable characters and the gameplay to boot.
    Multiplayer- I have never enjoyed multiplayer Gears, but this is the first time I have continued to play months after release. Great fun and very balanced
    gameplay- definitely take some skills and getting used to, but well work the effort.
    Horde Mode and Beast Mode- again, GREAT fun. In both you kill wave after wave of increasingly stronger enemies- and it is extremely addictive. Overall- Highly recommended and should be considered for GOTY. A must buy for Gears fans and a must try for all others.
    Expand
  67. Oct 4, 2011
    6
    The co-op elements in this game are exactly the sort of thing most mainstream games are missing in todays market, Beast Mode and Horde are worth the price tag alone and you'll never run out of things to do.
    My main complaint however, is the campaign. I have never felt so alienated by a franchise title to which i have become a patron to. It seems like im playing GoW4 rather than GoW3, with
    all the unexplained, un-introduced new characters, (i assumed they were a bunch of "red shirts", but was sadly mistaken) setting and location not to mention the complete lack of locust. I heard that alot of this was explained in the 19 comic books that Epic released, but I feel that the finale of the franchise should not ride so heavily on cross-media. Without trying to spoil too much, I was greatly disappointed with the games conclusion, which seemed all too rushed and convenient. Im not saying that they should of killed off all of the characters, but I would of liked the game to stir some emotion rather than cliche in its closing hour. Expand
  68. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    I reviewed this game earlier and found the beginning slow and, therefore, gave it a rating of only 6. Having played this for a few more hours, I can safely say that this is an absolutely brilliant and mental game. The action is cranked up to overload compared to Gears I & II. I would have no problem in saying that this is probably the best of the series and one of the best games on the x-box. There is a feeling of deja vu about the game but who cares. It is more of the same with a turbo on it. In conclusion, if you can get passed the first couple of missions (Cole's mission) which are a bit slow, then you are in for a cracking ride. GET IT. Expand
  69. Cg1
    Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is one of the most hyped-up games of this year. And rightfully so. This game boasts beautiful graphics, eye-popping colors, and intricate details in characters, enemies, weapons, and the environment. The game flows smoothly between its frequent cuts between cut-scenes and game-play, and this is always appreciated because it never interferes with the playing experience. The story line is great and the characters were really brought to life. Wise-cracking jokes throughout the game really serve as comic relief for a dark turn of events on Sera, and me and my buddy had a good laugh at least once per Act. The game's witty sense of humor matches perfectly with it satisfying visceral -blood-and-guts action. Gear 3 is addicting and never stops being fun. I have never been on the edge of my seat for the length of an entire game, always guessing what'll happen next. The combat is always changing and mixing up so firefights are never the same. The wide variety of enemies make combat unpredictable and make Gears stand out compared to games like Killzone and Resistance. One of my favorite parts in the game is when Delta Squad mans a Pendulum Wars-era COG Submarine through a beautifully animated underwater environment. Gears has a massive sense of past history that intersects the present in the game, which makes it unparalleled. Story wise, it was very fun and unpredictable. Gears has a high replay value, Horde is brilliant, Beast is awesome, and online multiplayer is simply awesome. Though, not as addicting as Halo and Call of Duty's online, gears is definitely a must have for all Xbox owners if not only just for the online multiplayer experience. The campaign is epic, and the ending has sweet revenge and resolution written all over it. The only reason Gears 3 is getting a 9 from me is becuase of a few minor technical issues and a few scattered cheesy lines that stuck out like a sore thumb. Other than that, Gears of War 3 is one of the best titles of this year and of this Series. Expand
  70. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This is strictly a Multiplayer review:
    Gears 3 multiplayer is easily the most accessible for new players, I myself are a Gears Veteran, but I can see that EPIC have made some drastic changes to the MP, to encourage new players to the series and at the same time, keep that fine line between Hardcore and Casual. EPIC have done a tremendous job with Gears 3, they have eliminated the 4 major
    issues with previous games:

    1) Host advantage
    2) Lag
    3) Overpowered Bots
    4) Balance with Weapons

    One of the negatives of this game is that there aren't enough maps or new game modes for Multiplayer but EPIC have already confirmed that future DLC maps are coming soon. My other negative is the Sawed Off shotgun, the gun requires no aiming and skill, it needs a significant "nerf". But these issues are very minor, it's easy to avoid a Sawed Off, it's like avoiding a Chainsaw from the Lancer.

    10/10 EPIC, the introduction of Dedicated Servers has made Gears of War 3's hit detection flawless!
    Expand
  71. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    I have never seen a more detailed and fun game in my entire life. Horde, beast, versus, campaign. Gears fans will be spending lots of time on this beauty.
  72. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    This game is out of this world! The story is actually awesome. The game play is tight. I have lost many hours of sleep these last few night because I couldn't put it down. Epic nailed it on this one. Don't take my word for it almost everyone who has REALLY played it loves this game. The only bad review by users I've read are from resistance 3 fan boys who have not even played it but have nothing better to do while they wait on a patch for that bug filled pile of garbage! GOW 3 gets it right in every way possible. A must play for all gamers. Expand
  73. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Anyone who is thinking about buying this game shouldn't be discouraged by this user rating of 7.8, the game deserves about a 9 but I'm rating it 10 to balance out all the idiots who gave it a 0. If you like the Gears series you WILL love this game, people who give it a 1 are just a bunch of ps3 and cod fanboys.
  74. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Gears of War 3 has so many improvements and new features compared to Gears 1 and 2 and blows both games out of the park. The online is smooth and not rigged and rating the whole game low since you didn't get the beta unlocks that don't do anything is ridiculous. The only thing about the game that I think could have been improved would be for the Horde mode. I made it to round 37 and the host left and I was immediately put into the main level. You can start a private horde game on any level but I do not know if I can start from where I left off. The campaign of Gears 3 is longer and more story driven than any of Epic's games and is a blast from start to finish with dramatic sections. This is the best I could ask for to the end of the trilogy. Expand
  75. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    I am happy to have bought this game .. and was not disappointed!
    First, as expected, the scenary just does not cease to please. While the first part was a simple shooting, but the second part has already demonstrated the drama, tears and bitterness of loss .. And yes, the third part could only strengthen it.
    Secondly - the schedule. The quality is very high. Finally, the console squeezed
    all the juice. The quality of execution just 10-plus.
    Third - gameplay. Perhaps the most colorful and bloody shooter at the moment. Not to mention the detail of his injuries.

    I bet 10 out of 10. This is a good completion interesting series of games. And also a good game. Gorgeous.)

    P.S. The plot just grabs ..
    Expand
  76. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    This game is phenomenal. Don't get me wrong it's the most polished one having been developed for three years and the multiplayer is by far exceeds the previous two. The couple problems I have with the game are the difficulty settings. I played Gears 2 on Insane and broke one of my controllers in the process from getting so angry, Hardcore and Insane in this game feel way too easy I breezed through the "longest" gears campaign. I also felt the ending needed a bit more power, it was kinda lame compared to the previous. Now the only gripe I have from the multiplayer is this and I know its been said a million times, but the double barreled shotgun kills the experience. Its great if your going to have a unique gun that kills in one shot (torque bow/one shot sniper rifle) but please do not make it a load out weapon. I mean come on Epic your threads were were been flooded with angry fans during the beta, and you still ignore them. 9/10 Expand
  77. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    You piece of **** Gamehog.
    It is the **** better game in the world.
    ENJOY !!!!
  78. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The graphics on Gears of War 3 are impressive. The storyline is also as heart moving as could be. Filled with all the characters you have grown to know and love, you watch and see as they go through their final hours. Making it as epic as ever could be. 9/10*
  79. Nov 16, 2011
    3
    WHY GEARS, WHY!!! The makers had three years to work on this game and what they did was take gow2 and made it worse. The new beast mode is fun for only two plays and the multiplayer isn't nearly as fun as it was in gow2. The makers decided to take out guardian (which was the most played playlist in gow2) and replace it with team deathmatch which is not nearly as fun. The maps are worse and the campaign loses your interest off the first mission, the only good part about this game is that they added a few more guns and horde has significantly improved. Expand
  80. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    Following the act of Gears of War 2 is no easy job. While Gears of War 3 polishes what already existed, it does little on its own. The multiplayer feels largely the same, while the campaign is bigger than the two games that came before it. While Gears of War 3 is a well executed title, it leaves much to be desired, and will have a hard time sticking around for the long haul like most big-budget titles do. Expand
  81. Sep 24, 2011
    6
    GOW3: My single player experience.

    Game is now more Zombie type, than a scifi horror. The melancholy, dark, sad, sort of depressing tone in the first game is replaced by jokes, sarcastic jokes, and more sarcastic jokes. I mean it when I say EVERY spoken dialog by every character is a sarcastic joke. It gets old super quick.

    GOW3 lacks any suspense. No creatures of the night, no
    scary encounters, The first game even had lots of "wholly **** moments. GOW3 instead gives you zombies waves. Then fails to provide any real risk or thrill factor with these zombies. They die with one hit, they don't grab on to you, they move at normal speed. Where is the ripping your gun away from you? Or having the zombies jump on you and you have to shake them off? Even the missions lack any sense of urgency. Where is the 3 minute countdown? Or defend the base for 15 minutes? Where is the LIMITED AMMO!!!! While the level design is amazing, the battle fields look great, with lots of room for fights, lots of great places to stick and move, but GOW3 has moved away from this tactical type game play. In the first Gears game, you had to out flank turrets, move quickly cover to cover, the grub also (on the harder difficulties) were quick to charge your cover, jump over and try to instant kill you. GOW3 is pretty much setup at one location, cover shoot, cover shoot till everyone is dead. No need to move forward to advance your position.

    Great suspenseful moments in the first Gears game, where the Grub is climbing over the barricade forcing you to switch from your lancer to quicker melee weapon are non existence in GOW3.

    This game is designed to be played by 4 people, akin to the whole Left 4 Dead Zombie horror game. (Which explains a lot)

    But there is not 4x times the enemy on the screen 4x the action, 4x amount of stuff going on. You don't need to have some of your team flank the enemy while you move up and one guy hangs back with a sniper. As before when you take some damage you will have the option to be revived. Except now you have 3 other team mates to do it. Sometimes, you literal cannot be killed. Start firing, get taken down, get almost instantly revived, repeat. My first run, playing on Hardcore, I barely had to use the cover system, and with instant revive from my teammates you almost don't need it.

    ALSO, because you have 4 people playing, the designers felt that those times where you died by explosion, head shot, curb stomp, or the infamous Torque Bow have to be turned down if not gotten rid of. This takes away a lot of risk, thrill and difficulty in the game. In the first Gears game, the sound of a Torque bow being charge up followed by the sound of the explosive arrow hitting something, was a nerve wracking experience. That weapon made you take notice, and move a little different. Now I take the damage, maybe if iâ
    Expand
  82. Sep 22, 2011
    7
    Where to start. Multiplayer is better than ever and i feel that the game is worth the purchase on the strength of that alone. The maps are well designed and the weapons are fun and match a nice variety of playstyles wich has bred a fair amount of discontent from the hardcore fanbase who are used to only having 1 type of player to deal with.

    Story mode falls on its face a little. With any
    story i feel the toughest part to nail down is a satisfying ending and gears of war 3 pulls the old "i win button" one wich is a fairly large cop out in story telling. There were some great parts of the story to play through such as defending anvil gate but its a bit short and some of the plot is a bit daft.

    I give the game 7 out of 10 based largely on multiplayer, the story itself has good characters and not alot else and seeing as its haf the game its underpreforming brings the overall score down for me.
    Expand
  83. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    What an amazing game, still not completed the game only one chapter remaining. Horde and beast mode are great compared with the horde mode of gears1 and 2
  84. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    I believe that this game is excellent. Of course I am a long time Gears Of War Fan, so I may a bit Biast. But I love this game. The new modes, including Beast Mode, Arcade, and the improved online and Horde, along with the Ten hour campaign is excelent. The Multiplayer has improved ten fold from two, being more fast paced with better weapons in damage and control. Though shotguns still primarily dominate this game, rifles do play a bigger role. No longer can someone kill you half way across the map with a gnasher against a rifle, though they can still kill you half way across the map. I so far love the campaign, and enjoy it thouroughly. The new horde mod has come from being a simple survival game to something completely else. It now has tower defense elements with things such as turret's, barriers and distractions at each out post. Holding very small RPG elements because when you level up each type of defence, you keep it until the next game and more. Beast is the exact opposite. 12 Rounds as locusts fighting full fledged defended humans with a boss wave that, on the harder difficulties, can be quite crushing. Finally, the arcade mode lets you have a bit of competitive fun with your friends without there being to much competetiveness for your more hardcore gamer friends to freak out. All in all, its a major improvement and the best game in the series. Though quite a bit has changed, the good parts are still the same, and that is why I love this game!
    10 out of 10.
    Expand
  85. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Firstly i would like to say how disappointed i am by the fact that some people on this site have given a negative review on the game without even completing the campaign. Ive personally have always been a fan of Gears, even though ive been disappointed in some of the directions taken in the previous games, Gears 3 seems to be able to hit the nail on the head just right. It contains a well varied campaign that will remain fresh throughout the game by introducing new characters, guns, enviorments, and boss battles. The game rewards both the aggressive and defensive players alike. These qualities carry on to the multiplayer where i was blown away with the fluidity, well balanced maps and guns, and also just the overall fun factor. I cannot even begin to imagine the amount of effort put into this game. Gears 3 will be remaining in my xbox for months to come. Expand
  86. Sep 23, 2011
    5
    1 step forward, 2 steps back. that's where GOW3 stands against its predecessors. this is essentially the exact same thing, except the devs believe they have improved the graphics by splashing an annoying level of bloom lighting on everything, to the point where it looks washed out and burns your retinas. in all honesty, i truly believe the graphics from the first game, back in 2005, are still better than this "updated" version. not because i believe myself to be a purist, but because that's just that way i actually see it. and the A.I. is even worse than before. how is this possible? time after time you sit and watch one of your NPC teammates dancing a jig with a NPC locust. it looks pretty stupid. also, there is pop-in, where if you look around the map fast enough, you will see white boxes suddenly fill in with a texture. seriously? artifacts like this are still present? even with an additional 5 months to polish? then there's the dialogue. this is writing fit for a Micheal Bay movie, not much substance or nuance, so they fill the void with harsh language and explosions. awesome. every character is a complete douche-bag, ESPECIALLY the new female characters. it's like they have to out douche the biggest douches in the universe in order to be invited to the COG house for hell / rush / pledge week. speaking of which, the female characters are so out of place in a game like this. i'm calling it the worst addition ever, it's absurd. a 90 lb woman soaking wet beating a 500 lb locust in the face until it explodes? really? this is NOT a pleasing end to the trilogy. the entire storyline is convoluted and trite. big guys grunt here, and then they grunt over there, someone spouts off a lowest-common-denominator remark to appeal to the Jeff Foxworthy / Larry the Cable Guy / Jeff Dunham crowd, then some woman starts gruntin like she's been getting testosterone treatments without all the nasty facial hair and body mass increase side-effects. i guess i'm just REALLY let down when it comes to the champagne. and by the way, the lambent is a blatant rip-off of Halo's flood. just throwing that out there because it is. so overall, weak level design, unlikable characters, Micheal Bay style action, lame storyline, and **** A.I. make for a complete borefest, of which even the addition of new weapons and the Silverback mech suit can't alleviate. MP is pretty tight though, much better than GOW2, but still, not as good as GOW1. horde 2.0 is still pretty fun, and is in fact much better than the original. i'm glad they decided to throw bosses at you, from previous games, after the 10th wave. it gets super intense. beast mode is just ok. it's not nearly as exciting as horde. but it's something different.

    one other small grip i have about this game: you used to be able to kick dead locust all over the place after you blew them away. what happened to that? now they just shrink away and disappear. i know it's a minor thing, but i LOVED doing that, just rolling around in a pile of gibs. but anyway, you could say that i'm mostly disappointed with this game. once again i bit, due to effective marketing hyperbole.

    next time Epic, please assume your fan base aren't slobbering, hyperactive, knuckle dragging tweens. it wouldn't kill you to make a game EVERYONE can enjoy.
    Expand
  87. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Best game of the series. Love the main story and single player game play. Multiplayer needs a few balancing tweeks but i'm sure this will be fixed in time.
  88. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Here is an Xbox 360 exclusive that is resolutely hardcore. It comes packed with visceral gun-battles, ear-splitting explosions, bucketloads of blood and you use a good old-fashioned control-pad to play it. Oh, and it's also one of the best games released all year.

    Committed gamers know what to expect from the Gears Of War franchise, and Gears Of War 3 will tick all of their boxes.
    Chainsaw bayonets and blood spatters: tick. Hulking space marines: tick. Chest-high walls and new and interesting ways to blast the Locust troops: tick.

    But there are signs here that Epic want to entice the casual gamer too. The campaign mode contains a short clip of the game's backstory to ground the uninitiated. It also offers a "casual" difficulty setting which allows players only interested in seeing how the story develops to breeze through its 10 to 12 hour-long campaign.
    Expand
  89. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. The addition of new weapons, characters, and modes are a wonderful addition. Beast mode in particular is a delight to play, and Horde mode has received a major upgrade. The gameplay is the same as ever, and that is not a bad thing. I personally loved the campaign, and found the ending thrilling; however, a large amount of people never play campaigns anyway, so it doesn't matter if I liked it. The multiplayer deserves a paragraph of its own. Its as amazing as it has always been, and it has received some marked improvements. One of these improvements are the ribbons/medals system (clearly taking a page from Halo: Reach....or a whole book), which let you see your stats clearly, and compare them to your friends. While there are balancing issues, particularly with the Sawed-Off Shotgun, I expect these to be fixed in a patch rather soon. I recommend this game to fans of shooters, and especially fans of the series Expand
  90. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    I admit my concern. I was afraid Gears' formula had worn on me after the second installment. I also admit that I was wrong. So horribly wrong. Gears of War 3 is, without a doubt, the best in the series by a mile and an absolute masterpiece. There is something that sets it apart from the other two. You can feel the dedication that Epic has put into this finale. Everything has been improved. The campaign, while never emotionally engaging, is fairly intriguing and supplies some twists I didn't see coming. This game's crown achievement, however, lies in its multiplayer. Everything is streamlined and works brilliantly. There was hardly a game where lag was a problem, and the constant unlocks have kept me addicted. Gears 3 isn't a radical change, but it never really needed it. Instead, Epic has opted to smooth over the wrinkles of the last two. Everything feels smooth and improved. I love, love, LOVE this game. Expand
  91. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is the best of the franchise to this point. I really enjoyed the campaign's good pace and varied war zones. The story had better moments than the past two games and the characters were a bit more interesting. It made the single player portion much more memorable and that means I'm going to play it again soon. The multiplayer side of things is tight. There are some occasions where you might get a WTF moment, but all in all it's a solid experience. Horde mode is a little more fun as Epic did small improvements from the previous version in Gears 2. GoW 3 reminds me why this is one of the best exclusives out there, and with a very generously priced seasons pass option, I can keep gaming at an affordable price with new content over the next year. I certainly hope this isn't the end-all title for Gears, as it's just getting better. Expand
  92. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    I've been a fan of the Gears series since the first blew me away back in 2006.

    I must admit i felt Gears 2 went backwards in both single and multi player , apart from Horde.

    This has rectified that though. It really is the total package from a brilliant single player to the best multi player they have done. Brilliant game.
  93. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game at all, for me it's the graphics, and the gameplay, solid effort, their are a few little issues here that dampen the experience here within the multiplayer aspect that negates the score. Worth a buy if you own an xbox360, as not many more exclusives to come, unless you own a kinect.
  94. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    I like the game. The problem is that i dont love it. Why? Because its the same with gow 2. It is definately a must for gow fans. The same goes for halo games. The are a must for their fans. If you are not a fan then maybe you find it repetitive.
  95. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    I see metacritic has yet to do anything about the console fanboys bringing game scores down with zeros. No game deserves a zero. Quite pathetic. Uncharted 3 will be treated in the same fashion. Which is a shame.

    Gears 3 is a fantastic game! And offers the best multiplayer experience on any platform. The campaign is truly Epic, and has not one dull moment. It clocks in around 13hrs without
    filler. Couple that with COOP, Versus, Beast, and Horde 2.0 you have got yourself one Stellar package! Buy it! Buy it now! Expand
  96. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Cerrando una magnifica historia. Gears of war es una de las franquicias mas importantes en la historia de los videojuegos, programado por el aclamado estudio Epic Games y patrocinado en exclusiva por Microsoft y su consola Xbox 360. "Marcus es tu padre" La historia nos lleva 18 meses despues de la caida de Jacinto, comenzando donde el protagonista, Marcus Fenix tiene un sueño, sobre lo que siente ante la perdida de su padre Adam Fenix. La calidad grafica a mejorado considerablemente comparado con entregas anteriores, la fisica del agua se excelente, el fuego se ve mucho mas real, y al personaje le iran saliendo cicatrices dependiendo de donde recibamos daño. El soundtrack que ambiente el juego tiene una mejor calidad que agrega emocionon en partes importantes dentro de la historia. El sistema de juego se siente mas fluido, mas rapido y tiene unas mejoras considerables, ya no mas recoger municiones cuando quieres revivir a un compañero o pegarte a la pared cuando quieres agarrar un escudo humano. Tambien se puede jugar la campaña de 4 jugadores y se pueden intercambiar las armas. La historia o campaña es mas larga comparandola con la de Gears of War y Gears of War 2. Tiene una duracion de 8 horas en adelante. Y ahora pelearas con uno o mas jefes finales por nivel. Ahora no usaras a Marcus en toda la campaña, tambien usaras a Augustus Cole "Train" en un tipo de de historia alternativa. Asi de: "Una hora antes". Entre los nuevos personajes jugables se encuentran Anya Stroud y Samantha Byrne, al parecer la igualdad de genero por fin llego a la historia. Tambien encontraras a Clayton Carmine, el tercero de esta familia, a Aaron Griffin un lider de los supervivientes y a Jace Stratton que la verdad pasa sin pena ni gloria dentro de la historia. La trama es excelente concluyendo excitosamente no solo con la historia de Marcus sino tambien cerrando las historias de los demas personajes. Los personaje se sienten mas reales y logran involucrar a la persona que lo juega en la historia, los sentimientos y expresiones se sienten mas reales, los dialogos se sienten mas fluidos y el humor logra sacar unas buenas carcajadas. "Toda gran historia tiene un excelente multijugador" El multijugador es tambien excelente, ahora agrega nuevos modos y algunas mejoras en viejas modalidades. Entre los nuevos modos de juego estan Team Deathmeatch que es un versus de 5 vs 5 donde los jugadores comparten 15 vidas cada equipo y el equipo que pierda todas las vidas primero perdera la partida. Rey de la colina tambien cambio y ahora que tomas el circulo ya no hay que quedarse dentro del circulo. Captura al lider, las viejas modalidades guardian y anexo, se fusionaron y ahora ya no hay que matar al lider, hay que capturarlo 30 segundos ininterrumpidos. Y estan los demas viejos modos. Entre las nuevas armas se encuentran: La Escopeta Recortada: es una nueva escopeta que puede matar a 3 enemigos de un solo tiro, suena excelente pero es opacada por su lenta recarga y ademas solo tiene 6 tiros. La Retro Lancer: Es una reliquia humana de 79 años antes del Dia- E. Es una arma intermedia entre la escopeta y los demas rifles pero en vez de una sierra electrica tiene una bayoneta. El Excavador: Que es un tipo de granada que se entierra y explota al encontrar un enemigo. El One Shot: Que es un potensisimo rifle de francotirador que mata al enemigo de un solo tiro. Las Granadas incendiarias: Que se usan igual que las demas granadas solo que esta se prende en flamas. El Silver-Back: Que es un tipo de Arma Movil que esta armado hasta debajo de las uñas literalmente. Sin duda sera de lo mas jugado en linea durante mucho tiempo. "Ahi viene la Horda" El clasico modo de supervivencia llega mejorado. Ahora en cada mapa hay bases y tendras fortificaciones que se consiguen con dinero que acumulas matando enemigos. Hay Desde Barricadas de puas que van evolucionando hasta lasers que queman a los enemigos. Tambien cebos que van desde figuras de carton hasta muñecos que explotan. Armas automaticas que pueden llegar hasta doble cañon. Torretas que son 4 Retro Lancers hasta una torreta automatica con escudo. Y el Silver-Back. Ahora son tambien 50 oleadas y cada 10 oleadas es una oleada de jefe. Y ahora habra todo tipo de enemigos que van desde los enemigos mas faciles hasta los enemigos mas rudos. "Eres una Bestia" Modo Bestia es como horda pero con los papeles invertidos y tu estas en el bando de los mas feos. Empiezas desde los pequeños Ticker hasta las poderosas Berserkers. El modo es contra tiempo y tienes un minuto para matar a todos los humanos, ellos tienen todo tipo de armas y tu solo tienes muy feo especto y mal aliento asi que hay que usar estrategia para matar a todos los enemigos antes del tiempo. Expand
  97. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Between the 10-15 hour long campaign, 6 multiplayer modes, Horde mode, and Beast mode, Gears of War 3 will keep you entertained for a long time. The only negative is the few amount of unlockable weapon skins , as most cost money.
  98. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    The sheer level of content is mind-boggling. Modes, maps, rewards, unlockables...just tons and tons of stuff to go through. Multiplayer is very balanced and encouraging of a wide range of play styles, both in its weapons and level design. Single player is surprisingly good story- and script-wise. It's not Earth-shattering like a Bioshock, but for what you're expecting, the story is the best one in the series and the script never gets overly hokey or cheesy. On the whole, this is the best Gears game that's been released, and it's really not as close as it seems like it should be. Expand
  99. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games for the 360. The graphics are awsome. The story is great. The campaign has a very satisfying ending. The horde mode is awsome too!
  100. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    I like this trilogy it has been fun. I love horde mode and the final game was just so well done I enjoyed it. If you like Action and and enjoyed any of the Story in 1 or 2 you will love this game.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 96
  2. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    65
    Rather than the perfect end to a thrilling series, it seemed like the developers were afraid to take real risks with either the story or the gameplay of Gears 3.
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    Gears of War 3 is a solid game and likely worthy of the praise it's received. I just happen to think it falls a bit flat.
  3. An unmissable, unbeatable offering. [Dec 2011, p.95]