User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1223 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    I admit my concern. I was afraid Gears' formula had worn on me after the second installment. I also admit that I was wrong. So horribly wrong. Gears of War 3 is, without a doubt, the best in the series by a mile and an absolute masterpiece. There is something that sets it apart from the other two. You can feel the dedication that Epic has put into this finale. Everything has been improved. The campaign, while never emotionally engaging, is fairly intriguing and supplies some twists I didn't see coming. This game's crown achievement, however, lies in its multiplayer. Everything is streamlined and works brilliantly. There was hardly a game where lag was a problem, and the constant unlocks have kept me addicted. Gears 3 isn't a radical change, but it never really needed it. Instead, Epic has opted to smooth over the wrinkles of the last two. Everything feels smooth and improved. I love, love, LOVE this game. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    First of all please ignore any comments made by blackzkeys or dolar as they seriously should not be on this forum if you give a bad review for gears of war. This last title is by far the best of the lot when it comes to campaign and the story has been great from the beginning. Everyone that I have spoken to who played gears has just said good things like "WOW what an action paced game. The look and feel of the game is out of this world" This is all true and the multiplayer is really good and a lot of fun. 4 player co-op WOW , how awesome is that. You just can't put the remote down and I guarantee you will play the game more than once with your friends because it is so exciting and fun to play. There is no flaw in gears and I am sad to hear this is the last of the series.Cliffy B is seriously a genius and I cant wait to see what he will come up with next. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Gears of War 3 is an unmitigated triumph for Epic, not only finishing off the trilogy in style, but doing so while expanding upon already sturdy foundations. It
  4. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Gameplay wise, Its pretty much the same with the exceptions of a few new things here n' there. BUT, it must be noted that this is one of the MOST REFINED games ive ever played! Seriously, its almost bizzare to se such huge hulks move around the battlefield with such grace & fluidity . Story On the other hand is much much better than the previous installments & you actually feel the dread & sorrow that the gears would be feeling.
    Graphics Like always are topnotch.
    A couple of new characters are introduced, but id would have been nice to get a bit more of a backstory on the newcomers. The introduction of lambent enemies really makes you change your playstyle from previous gears as enemies are far more aggressive.
    One Impotrtant thing to note here is that Difficulty levels have been altered significantly. So if u used to play gears on normal difficulty than go with hardcore , cause the game has become just TOO EASY!
    Even in hardcore mode one can at times finish whole levels without shooting a single bullet! Sadly, Insane mode is unlocked only after finishing the campaign :( All in All Its Pretty much what i expected (which is near perfect) , This Game Has Lots of modes and tons of collectibles,skins,gun themes to unlock thus giving it a huge replayibility bonus.
    So... STOP READING THIS AND GET YOUR GEARS 3 COPY ASAP! >:D
    Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    This game is just epic. Explosions, violence and so much gameplay. Decent length campaign (4 player co-op and arcade mode give more replay value), Horde 2.0 is more of the same, but its still a lot of fun and its not longer about planting boom shields. Beast mode is good fun, if not a bit easy. There's some people complaining about the multiplayer- they're sad because they're getting beat, but don't worry you can play with bots on "casual" if you're not up for it. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    I absolutely love this game. The shooting is fantastic, it has a satisfying amount of gore and the guns just feel great. Story wise it's fairly weak, but the moment to moment story telling is strong. The multiplayer and horde modes are much better now, but the new Beast mode doesn't quite feel polished enough. Overall though, this is a fantastic package.The cracking single and multi player modes mean this is well worth getting. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    GoW 3 is an improvement over ever other GoW game in the series. The story is better than the other games, the graphics are better, and the gameplay (while remaining true to the series) has been tweaked with things like the retro lancer to really improve the mechanics and strategy of the game. Beast mode and Horde mode are welcomed co-op additions to the multiplayer experience and the horde mode is particularly well polished with the new fortifications-buying aspect. Naturally, if you didn't like previous GoW you won't like this one. But if you do, this will be the best GoW you've ever played! Expand
  8. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    WOW! Lots of ill-informed and stupid reviews here! GOW 3 is a good game, and you won't be fooled by it if you've played the first two. If you don't like 3rd person shooters, stay away! @KyleCrase15, you downvote a game because you don't know how a beta works??? The dev didn't tell you your unlocks weren't going to be there upon the actual game coming out because THAT'S HOW ALL BETAS WORK. @Jordan23 I read your "review" three times and couldn't come up with any actual criticism of the game. Your problem with the game seems to be you overhyped it for yourself, and now have issues because it's not the GOTY candidate you thought it might be. Anyway, the game is exactly what you think it is if you've played Gears. Solid 3PS, and doesn't do too much to change the series (which can be a bit of a downer if you thought this was gonna be something it's not.) Expand
  9. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    Gears 3 is a really, really fun co-op game. I've played co-op in the other Gears games for many, many hours, and the gameplay in Gears 3 is the best. The story is different. Early reviews said that Gears 3 wraps everything up nicely and beautifully. While it does wrap everything up, it does so hastily, and misses out on many opportunities to flesh out backstory or just general explanations.
    However, I can't bring myself to give Gears 3 a lower rating because of the story just because it's so fun. I can remember so many different parts in the campaign that were totally freaking awesome and exciting. Gears 3 also features a horde mode, where waves of computer controlled enemies attack you and 4 of your friends. Horde mode is a great way to extend gameplay, because it distills the gameplay from the story, and lets you just shoot bad aliens, which is what Gears rocks at. If you didn't like the first two Gears, however, you certainly will not like Gears 3. The gameplay, while refined, boils down to the same cover based shooter it was 5 years ago. If you were a fan, you will be absolutely satisfied with Gears 3 for a very long time.
    Expand
  10. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    One thing that I can't stress enough is that you're easily getting your money's worth by purchasing Gears of War 3. There's so much content to be fully explored, accompanied with a ridiculous amount of time-consuming challenges and unlockables. As with all games, however, there is still a handful of disappointments, mainly with the campaign. Starting with the campaign, it is definitely the longest one in the series. This, however, is misleading, as there are many situations that are merely used as "filler" firefights, consisting of you killing endless amounts of locust/lambent for no apparent reason in the exact same fashion over and over again. They're entirely unnecessary, and are only implemented to extend the campaign's number of gameplay hours. I enjoy locust/lambent firefights as much as the next guy, but the pacing and sheer amount of them becomes tedious and repetitive quite often. Epic also did a poor job explaining many of the events following GoW2 but before GoW3, as well as some of the new characters. Supposedly these details were explained in comics that Epic released, but honestly, that's a little absurd to include vital information on a separate piece of media that a fan MIGHT read. Overall, the story of the campaign was very enjoyable, save for the conclusion. The conclusion winds up being an extremely cliche and "convenient" ending, leaving me slightly angry. However, it's still a somewhat fitting ending and it essentially leaves no room for another game. Epic could, however, make some DLC for one loose end during the campaign, but nothing more than DLC. I was very impressed with GoW3's improved graphics, and the new lighting effects are quite exceptional. The multiplayer is where most of us will be spending our time, whether it be Horde Mode or Versus. Beast Mode is a great little addition, but I don't see myself playing it more than necessary in order to unlock awards. If you were a serious Horde fan from GoW2, you won't be disappointed. "Horde 2.0", as Epic calls it, is chalk full of additional tweaks and challenges that dramatically extend the abundance of things to do. It's still obviously heavy on the core experience, but fantastic new features such as "Boss Waves" are a sheer blast to play. The Versus Mode has been tremendously improved, using dedicated servers to prevent lag and so that host no longer has god powers over the game. The online maps are much larger than in previous installments, and I dislike at least half of them, due to the weapon-hording/camping that goes on, but they still work most of the time. I still feel that the Sawed-Off Shotgun is far too noob-friendly, removing any skill involved with actually aiming a shotgun. Granted, they have to be relatively close to pull off a gib, but with the way the maps are set up, it's extremely easy. The game keeps track of a huge variety of statistics, which is something that I desperately desired in GoW2. Versus does have some matchmaking issues that should be somehow fixed. Getting into games is easy enough, but the servers are more worried about throwing you into the first game it finds, rather than balancing teams. You'll quite commonly be thrown into games where no one on your team, other than yourself, is even above level 40, whilst the opposing team has no one below the level of 70. And it's not just the initial game where they'll be unbalanced teams; even after that first game's completion, the game will still constantly stack one team and leave the other with Sawed-Off wielding scrubs who have no idea how to play. Keep in mind that this is an EXTREMELY frequent occurrence, so expect it to happen more often than not. The positive thing, is that this only occurs in Quick Match Versus, whereas Ranked Match games will wait until the game is balanced before starting. The negative thing, is that on average, about 30,000 people are playing Quick Match at most given times, whereas only 2500-3000 are on Ranked. If you don't mind waiting for several minutes for a game start and you want to avoid the aforementioned issue, I recommend Ranked. Overall, Gears of War 3 is essentially the whole package. It still easily remains one of the top 3 shooters on consoles, the others being Halo and Call of Duty. It stays true to what made the original famous, and tweaks it to become a top shooter. If you even have remotely enjoyed any Gears of War games in the past, you should definitely pick up a copy of this one. It is the best overall in the series, and even if you're new to the series, it's another fantastic shooter that stands out amongst the rest. Expand
  11. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    simply amazing!! putting the minor flaws aside, u know this game will be played online by millions for years to come and that's all i need to know to tell if it's an epic game or not, 11/10!!!!
  12. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is an excellent cooperative campaign experience and also an excellent cooperative multiplayer experience. The key with this game is that whether you are sitting with a friend on the couch or playing with a few friends online, you can complete both the campaign and the various fantastic multiplayer experiences together. Not many games offer this type of experience. The graphics are better than previously, the gameplay much smoother. The multiplayer is light years ahead of what it used to be with modes like Horde vein immersive. The developer did a great job of combining your achievements from the campaign and the multiplayer together to level your player up. There are countless in game achievements that can be earned and things like weapon and character skins. Gears Of War 3 is a must have third person shooter for fans of the Gears series or newcomers alike. Expand
  13. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Me parece que la saga ha ido mejorando con cada entrega...los graficos, la IA, el multijugador, los escenarios...es definitivamente el mejor juego de la saga y un excelente exponente del genero
  14. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    This game is Epic. After working at gamestop for 3.5 years i can safely say anyone who doesnt like this is either a kid who doesnt know any better, or an adult idiot. Campaign took me about 11 hours on hardcore, the story was amazing, and the scene with Doms Ultimate drama almost made me cry. The ending was equally emotional and epic. The new horde mode is great, once i beat the campaign on insane i will ensue countless hours in it. The multiplayer is amazing, it finally works, i have played at least 40 games and have not lagged once. Weekly challenges just as Halo Reach help unlock gun skins and such. All the new gun skins are quite a nice touch too. My guns currently have dynamic thunderstorms on them. In the end GOW3 was an epic ending to the series.. Expand
  15. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Just might be the best out of the Gears of War games. The story is well beyond compelling, the graphics are goddamn killer and the gameplay is just the way you would want it.
  16. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is the best of the franchise to this point. I really enjoyed the campaign's good pace and varied war zones. The story had better moments than the past two games and the characters were a bit more interesting. It made the single player portion much more memorable and that means I'm going to play it again soon. The multiplayer side of things is tight. There are some occasions where you might get a WTF moment, but all in all it's a solid experience. Horde mode is a little more fun as Epic did small improvements from the previous version in Gears 2. GoW 3 reminds me why this is one of the best exclusives out there, and with a very generously priced seasons pass option, I can keep gaming at an affordable price with new content over the next year. I certainly hope this isn't the end-all title for Gears, as it's just getting better. Expand
  17. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    amazing game, the best gears of war, the most complete and the most funny.
    buy it now and enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  18. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    I jumped into Gears 3 after adoring the first and finding the second...fun but not as enjoyable. What I found was something incredible. While the action has remained mostly the same, everything else has improved exponentially. The characters are loads more interesting, with some nice throwbacks to character's pasts that really enforces that these people used to lead different lives. The graphics are the biggest improvement. Oh my. The Unreal Engine is constantly getting updated, but this is the best I have seen in a long time. I was surprised to see them - these are the kinds of graphics I expect from a PC game. Couple that with new environments - not just underground and urban surroundings - and you get something that looks as good as it plays. The action, like I said, has remained mostly the same, although with new weapons and enemies so unless you didn't like the previous games, I doubt you will dislike this. I strongly recommend this game. A worthwhile purchase. Expand
  19. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    The story is great, but the multi-player feels old in spite of everything new that included, without doubt it is best that you can play with 4 friends the story and the way Horde 2.0 is that you can absorb more time.
  20. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    From the looks of it, probably the best gears so far. The multiplayer handles great and no more lag or a distinguishable host advantage. Epic also added plenty of; characters, weapon skins, medals, executions, etc. I really don't know how people could complain about this game, they must just hate life or something. Another thing i noticed, was horde. Epic added so much to horde it actually makes it fun to play. As the campaign goes, I haven't gotten too far in it to really tell if it is good or not. This is a must have for all 360 owners. Expand
  21. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    This was an outstanding game. The single player campaign was very satisfying. The multiplayer, both co-op and pvp is a blast. It is good to see this game evolve and improve over the three releases as opposed to stagnate like the Medal of Honor and BF series. I love the 3rd person view and the weapons.
  22. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Everyone complaining is hilarious. This game is as near perfection as a game can get. Horde 2.0 alone makes this game worth buying, Plus there is the regular multiplayer, 4 player co-op across the ENTIRE campaign, even an arcade mode where it turns it into a competition, Beast mode which allows to to take control of almost every monster in the entire game, even giant centipedes, Berserkers, and even the smaller monsters like Tickers and Wretches. The games stat tracking is amazing as well, anything you do is tracked, and every bit of your effort transfers into experience for leveling up. I have seen people making outlandish complaints and it is just sad really, Because they are either just lying PS3 fanboys, or they did not give the game a fair chance from the start. Gears 3 isn't perfect.. but NO GAME EVER IS, It is pretty damn close though, and definitely some of the most intense game play you could ever hope to experience. Another quick argument about the **** reviews being made.. Notice how there are a **** of positive reviews, and then only a handful of mixed? and then way more negative then mixed.. Why do you think that is? people are giving it harsh scores just to be **** so you should disregard reviews giving such a low score because it is nothing more then a PS3 fanboy trying to hate on a game that they cannot play. I own both systems, I look forward to playing this years exclusives, Gears is a great game regardless of what console it is on. So haters keep being salty, nothing you say matters. Expand
  23. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Wow, this game is so good, it stands apart from the usual shooter in that it has a unique, highly effective cover system, and in online matches you get one life, so it really forces people to savor their lives and work together rather than run around on their own like other shooters. If you played great games like CoD and Halo and are looking something with this type of change of flavor, then Gears 3 is for you. Expand
  24. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    I've been a fan of the Gears series since the first blew me away back in 2006.

    I must admit i felt Gears 2 went backwards in both single and multi player , apart from Horde.

    This has rectified that though. It really is the total package from a brilliant single player to the best multi player they have done. Brilliant game.
  25. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    I've studied at lot of games, as far as game design goes, and no game has yet to master what Gears does best. Whereas most games constantly reward players with perks and bonuses for doing anything, Gears encourages territorial control and teamwork without "special abilities" hindering player progression of skill. It goes a long way in evolving tactical combat into a balance pace of cover/flank/shoot without lingering in any one position. Best of all, I've notice little to no camping is possible. With new maneuvers like the mantle kick and new weapons such as the digger launcher, there is a functional solution for any situation and creates kinetic tension rarely done in modern shooters. Most importantly, although Gears 3 is staying in a "tried and true" formula, this franchise has done more than just influenced a new style of shooter to play; it has a signature feel that no other game has. Halo, Call of Duty, Battlefield, etc. all play first person and have reiterated the same motion of combat since games like Doom. Not to say Gears didn't have its influences (Resident Evil 4's over the shoulder camera and kill.switch's cover system) but in a crowded market of "me too" first person shooters, Gears strides in playing completely different. I respect those who may think that Gears is not there game or if some other game makes them feel more passionate, but any hate towards the amount of polish and passion this game has received is just plain ignorance. This is my Game of the Year. Expand
  26. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 3 is the best in the series by a mile. The multiplayer is great no flaws, and the first game with a way to kill campers. The digger gun! Great graphics on both SP and MP. 4 player co-op and just an all round epic game. While saying epic, I hope they have some plans up there sleeves as it's ashame this is the end for gears. Possible spin offs witch would be great as it's an amazing franchise. The MP is fresh and I just love playing on it, a great action game and one of the best on the 360. Epic should be very proud as this is a top contender for game of the year. That's about all I have to say on it really other then  if your on the fence with this on, just trust me you won't be let down! Expand
  27. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 not because it's perfect - but it is definitely closer to a 10 than a 9. The single player campaign of Gears 3 is brilliant fun. For a game that looks big and dumb to the untrained eye, the story was surprisingly compelling and I really cared for the characters. That "event" to the middle of the game (don't want to spoil anything) definitely rates as one of my top 5 or 10 game moments in my 15 years of gaming.

    Aside from single player, the online multiplayer is fantastic fun. I have already lost hours of my life with three other mates in Horde mode and versus. Though I do hope Epic tones down the sawn-off in a future update. All in all, an utterly excellent game and a fitting swan song to the trilogy. Bravo, Epic.
    Expand
  28. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    The first two games were very good and served to shape the current generation of consoles, but the third entry in the franchise is simple a cut above everything that came before.

    Gameplay feels refined, responsive and more fluid than ever. Sticking to and pulling away from cover has never felt this smooth. The roadie run has had its speed ramped up. Weapons like the lancer have been
    fine-tuned to perfection. Add to that a feature-rich package which includes 4-player campaign co-op, competitive multiplayer (on dedicated servers!), Horde 2.0 and the new Beast mode which lets you control the Locusts (BERSERKER RUSH!) and you have one of the best games ever released on the Xbox 360.

    Amazing. Game.
    Expand
  29. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    I'm a little bit bored or Gears of War, and I only want to play it for 45 minutes here and there, but regardless this is still obviously an awesome game. Kinda more of the same but there's only 2 other gears of war so of course it's okay if it's the same. I really wish people would realize that the 'more of the same' complaint should only apply to games that have numerous releases, like COD or 2d Mario. Not to one trilogy. Expand
  30. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Great title. Amazing visuals and very solid gameplay. I'm a fan of the series and am very impressed with the 3rd outing. My only beef is that the online matchmaking is annoying as always with the Gears series. It takes minutes to find matches, as opposed to seconds like most "A" titles.
  31. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Well Just beat the campaign and played some multiplayer, Horde and Beast. So now im ready to give my review. KEEP IS MIND THIS IS MY OPINION. Don't hate, Just post your opinions on the game below. First off id like to say MAJOR improvement from Gears 2. What you might of thought that was gears about gears 2 was just made 5 times better in this one. Starting of with Campaign.

    *MINOR
    SPOILER ALERT* Just skip this part to see multiplayer. Won't spoil much but 1 or 2 might slip.
    Campaign starts off with a bang as you start off on a ship where most of humanity has taken refuge and "safe". Throughout the campaign you will be placed in different character's shoes to tell their final story. Few main characters don't make it to the last cut scene i won't say who though. The story is told very well and a great ending to the gears story. The characters are believable and facial expressions tell the story in full. Best played with 4 player co-op but still fun to solo as well.
    *MULTIPLAYER*
    The pace has been sped up a bit to find that mid point between Gears 1 and 2. Gameplay is fun and enjoyable. As you play each match you get rewarded ribbons and medals. Level up to unlock different Characters and Execute enemies with every weapon in the game. Minor pop in and out graphics but thats not the games fault its the unreal engines none the less graphics are beautiful from the beach to brutal battlefields in the forests. You won't be disappointed. Sawed off noobs might piss you off but hey every game has an over powered weapon.

    *BEAST and HORDE*.
    Maybe the best and most fun part of the game that will keep you coming back for months to come especially with the dlc coming out next month and every 3 months following that for the next year. Grab some friends and kick some ass. The insane horde you knew from gears 2 has been upgraded with a more survival feel. Now you can build up a base with turrets and many more things to help you like decoys. You have to pay to buy mapped weapons and now every 10 waves is a random boss wave. I could play for hours on end. Beast is kinda the opposite. This time you play as the locust horde trying to kill the enemy CoG. For every kill on both modes you get money to either upgrade your fortifications or buy stronger beasts.

    All in all well worth the 60 dollars and you won't be disappointed.
    Perfect 10 out of 10. Definitely a game of the year contender. *Note i have both Ps3, Xbox, and gaming computer.*
    Expand
  32. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    By far the best looking and best playing Gears of War thus far. If you are new to the series it is still a great place to start. There is a short video that will catch you up on all the previous games and even fills in some blanks since the last game. The gun play and movement is tighter. Many unlockables, including gun skins, characters and more. My biggest gripe with the game so far is that they have so much DLC on the day of launch. Right now you can buy roughly 30 DLC packs which are nothing more than skin packs for your guns. At $3 a piece it is quite the ripoff. As far as actual in game issues there is little to complain about. I have the same basic gripe as in all Gears of War games. Multiplayer is basically a bunch of shotgunners roadie running through maps. If you can get by that there is lots and lots of fun to be had. Expand
  33. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    What can I say besides the fact this is as close to perfect a game can get. The campaign was excellent, much more depth and diversity than previous installments, and positively enthralling the entire way. The multiplayer is strong and solid, the addition of dedicated servers is perfect for someone outside of the US like me. Horde 2.0 could very well be my favourite part. With the new additions of currency and the fortification you can build, along with boss rounds and increasing difficulty, it stands up strong to other wave modes like Zombies and Firefight. Gears of War 3 is the biggest and boldest of the series, and pulls it off with a brilliant success fitting such a memorable series. Bravo, Epic Games. Expand
  34. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    This is the king of 3rd person shooters this gen. Nothing compares to it, story, multi player nothing even comes close. All the shortcomings from G1 and 2 have been removed, it is an epic end to the trilogy.
  35. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Unsurprisingly excellent on all fronts.Though there is a feeling of deja vu surrounding this game,it really doesn't matter much as you will be too busy kicking serious butt to care.If you take pure action and add a slice of cheese,you get the magnificent Gears Of War 3.
  36. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    I see metacritic has yet to do anything about the console fanboys bringing game scores down with zeros. No game deserves a zero. Quite pathetic. Uncharted 3 will be treated in the same fashion. Which is a shame.

    Gears 3 is a fantastic game! And offers the best multiplayer experience on any platform. The campaign is truly Epic, and has not one dull moment. It clocks in around 13hrs without
    filler. Couple that with COOP, Versus, Beast, and Horde 2.0 you have got yourself one Stellar package! Buy it! Buy it now! Expand
  37. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Best Gears Yet!!!!! The whole world as you know it is turned upside down and is very interesting as a result. Hope the only negative is the weapon DLC skins
  38. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best Third Person Shooters i ever played,this franchise is AMAZING,somthing who makes the diference when you are in doubt what console you will buy.Gears of War 3 Finish this Extraordinary Trilogy with Epic moments,Epic Gameplay,Epic Graphics,Epic Action,Epic Games know how to do an Epic Game.
  39. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Cerrando una magnifica historia. Gears of war es una de las franquicias mas importantes en la historia de los videojuegos, programado por el aclamado estudio Epic Games y patrocinado en exclusiva por Microsoft y su consola Xbox 360. "Marcus es tu padre" La historia nos lleva 18 meses despues de la caida de Jacinto, comenzando donde el protagonista, Marcus Fenix tiene un sueño, sobre lo que siente ante la perdida de su padre Adam Fenix. La calidad grafica a mejorado considerablemente comparado con entregas anteriores, la fisica del agua se excelente, el fuego se ve mucho mas real, y al personaje le iran saliendo cicatrices dependiendo de donde recibamos daño. El soundtrack que ambiente el juego tiene una mejor calidad que agrega emocionon en partes importantes dentro de la historia. El sistema de juego se siente mas fluido, mas rapido y tiene unas mejoras considerables, ya no mas recoger municiones cuando quieres revivir a un compañero o pegarte a la pared cuando quieres agarrar un escudo humano. Tambien se puede jugar la campaña de 4 jugadores y se pueden intercambiar las armas. La historia o campaña es mas larga comparandola con la de Gears of War y Gears of War 2. Tiene una duracion de 8 horas en adelante. Y ahora pelearas con uno o mas jefes finales por nivel. Ahora no usaras a Marcus en toda la campaña, tambien usaras a Augustus Cole "Train" en un tipo de de historia alternativa. Asi de: "Una hora antes". Entre los nuevos personajes jugables se encuentran Anya Stroud y Samantha Byrne, al parecer la igualdad de genero por fin llego a la historia. Tambien encontraras a Clayton Carmine, el tercero de esta familia, a Aaron Griffin un lider de los supervivientes y a Jace Stratton que la verdad pasa sin pena ni gloria dentro de la historia. La trama es excelente concluyendo excitosamente no solo con la historia de Marcus sino tambien cerrando las historias de los demas personajes. Los personaje se sienten mas reales y logran involucrar a la persona que lo juega en la historia, los sentimientos y expresiones se sienten mas reales, los dialogos se sienten mas fluidos y el humor logra sacar unas buenas carcajadas. "Toda gran historia tiene un excelente multijugador" El multijugador es tambien excelente, ahora agrega nuevos modos y algunas mejoras en viejas modalidades. Entre los nuevos modos de juego estan Team Deathmeatch que es un versus de 5 vs 5 donde los jugadores comparten 15 vidas cada equipo y el equipo que pierda todas las vidas primero perdera la partida. Rey de la colina tambien cambio y ahora que tomas el circulo ya no hay que quedarse dentro del circulo. Captura al lider, las viejas modalidades guardian y anexo, se fusionaron y ahora ya no hay que matar al lider, hay que capturarlo 30 segundos ininterrumpidos. Y estan los demas viejos modos. Entre las nuevas armas se encuentran: La Escopeta Recortada: es una nueva escopeta que puede matar a 3 enemigos de un solo tiro, suena excelente pero es opacada por su lenta recarga y ademas solo tiene 6 tiros. La Retro Lancer: Es una reliquia humana de 79 años antes del Dia- E. Es una arma intermedia entre la escopeta y los demas rifles pero en vez de una sierra electrica tiene una bayoneta. El Excavador: Que es un tipo de granada que se entierra y explota al encontrar un enemigo. El One Shot: Que es un potensisimo rifle de francotirador que mata al enemigo de un solo tiro. Las Granadas incendiarias: Que se usan igual que las demas granadas solo que esta se prende en flamas. El Silver-Back: Que es un tipo de Arma Movil que esta armado hasta debajo de las uñas literalmente. Sin duda sera de lo mas jugado en linea durante mucho tiempo. "Ahi viene la Horda" El clasico modo de supervivencia llega mejorado. Ahora en cada mapa hay bases y tendras fortificaciones que se consiguen con dinero que acumulas matando enemigos. Hay Desde Barricadas de puas que van evolucionando hasta lasers que queman a los enemigos. Tambien cebos que van desde figuras de carton hasta muñecos que explotan. Armas automaticas que pueden llegar hasta doble cañon. Torretas que son 4 Retro Lancers hasta una torreta automatica con escudo. Y el Silver-Back. Ahora son tambien 50 oleadas y cada 10 oleadas es una oleada de jefe. Y ahora habra todo tipo de enemigos que van desde los enemigos mas faciles hasta los enemigos mas rudos. "Eres una Bestia" Modo Bestia es como horda pero con los papeles invertidos y tu estas en el bando de los mas feos. Empiezas desde los pequeños Ticker hasta las poderosas Berserkers. El modo es contra tiempo y tienes un minuto para matar a todos los humanos, ellos tienen todo tipo de armas y tu solo tienes muy feo especto y mal aliento asi que hay que usar estrategia para matar a todos los enemigos antes del tiempo. Expand
  40. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Story driven game = Gears of War? Sorry, but you must be kidding. If someone buys any of the three Gears of War-Titels for the story, you've got something wrong. Seriously. This game is about action and having a damn good time. Because Gameplay wise everything was told before, i decided to add some information for the owners of a 3D-TV. First of all, the 3D Mode of Gears is gorgeous. You cant compare the quality of Gears's 3D effect to any other existing 3D title for the xbox. It pushes 3D on a complete new level. I own a PS3 and played all popular 3D titles so far (Killzone 3, Resistance 3, Crysis 2, Super Stardust HD and so on), but Gears 3 does not have to hide itself, compared to the PS3 3D effect.

    The depth, especially when you are in cover, looks amazing and the texture resolution and framerate are superb, compared to other 3D titles of course. everything runs smooth.

    So if you are looking for a superb action game with a very good 3D support, give this game a shoot!
    Expand
  41. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    What a game, its quite interesting how people say they hate gears games and then play this and want more. Its like a drug. I'll start with the bad points first, its a bit repetetive. The campaign has great locations, veiws and action but at all these consist of roll here and take cover there moments. I think its a great game to play in co-op but i didnt feel interested in playing the campaign again other than in arcade (another great adition). Horde mode 2.0 adds a new level of fun to it but yet again on your own its less fun more repetetive. The same with beast mode a great new addition but on your own its pretty boring, i think beast mode is the weakest link in the game as it has a max level of twelve you can reach which takes 15-20 mins whereas on horde you could be there for hours. Now onto mulitplayer, i need to say this... how is the sawn off shotgun n00by, please tell me. I love it, its a great way to kill someone, as you charge acroos the battlefield you blow people to peices. The gnasher on the other hand is the n00byer in my opinion, with more ammo a quicker reload, more range, more power at range, can also get one hit kills at close range its a far more n00bish weapon. the sawn off on the other hand has less ammo, awful range and the longest reload in the game but at around 2-3ft away from someone its a one hit kill. Now to tell you about the mltiplayer in whole, its great! better than BOPS, battlefield, crysis, homefront and any other multiplayer. The game modes are short and few but they are brilliant and the new servers and unlocks make it a must have. Overall its a great game and you cant take that away from it, love it or hate it, it has alot of fans and they are very loyal, dont get your hopes up on convincing people other wise, this is a must buy. Expand
  42. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    Very impressed with this fitting end to a very satisfying story. Don't listen to those who say this is just gears 2 rehashed or whatever. The story is compelling and the characters are given feelings and emotion as if you are watching a movie and these were real life actors. Game play wise yes of course it is similar but what would you expect. The idea of this was never to completely redesign it, just to enhance and refine it... and it does this very well. Basically if you are already a hater then it won't change that but if you are either a fan of the series or willing to give it a fair chance then i don't think you will be disappointed. Well done Epic Expand
  43. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Between the 10-15 hour long campaign, 6 multiplayer modes, Horde mode, and Beast mode, Gears of War 3 will keep you entertained for a long time. The only negative is the few amount of unlockable weapon skins , as most cost money.
  44. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Gears of War 3 is an old dog with some impressive new tricks. Although it doesn't leave the realm of the expected (much) or do much in ways of reinventing the franchise, it meets and even exceeds it's excessively high expectations. The campaign hasn't gone in any new directions, however, it goes much farther than any other gears of war title managed to in scope and polish; and that's just the first act of the game, and now offers 4-player coop and an arcade mode with competitive scoring and mutators (featuring old UT classics like "big head" and "instagib"). Multiplayer now features unlockable weapon skins, mutators, and characters to keep the elites interested and finally offers effective dedicated servers to ensure that someone's ping isn't the deciding factor of the match. Horde 2.0 is on a scale only dreamed of in the previous installment with the new currency system and boss waves which lead to massive battles against brumaks with the help of lumbering mechs and machine gun turrets. The new beast mode is short but impressively tactical, offering the wide diversity of locust abilities and tactics to the player in small, organized teams.

    The updated unreal engine now utilizes deferred lighting and rendering and combines it with other new and impressive effects (such as a more detailed motion blur and volumetric sunrays and particles), and color is finally used as a powerful tool in atmosphere, much unlike the original Gears of War. This makes the game's impressive visuals stand out in what is possibly the most competitive time yet for the graphics industry.

    What was the most impressive feature of the entire Gears package was the story. Epic studios has never been a studio with an emphasis on story and only recently has attempted to deliver it as part of a AAA game package. With the help of author Karyn Travis, the Gears 3 story and characters have a surprising layer of depth and atmosphere between the frantic fast paced gun fights. Characters are now far more diverse than testosterone laden men and far deeper qualities are evident or at least hinted at (depending on the character) throughout the campaign. Certain story pieces (which I will not spoil) have an impressive and respectable amount of detail. Musical and visual juxtaposition are used to the greatest effect and create moments that reduce even the rowdiest crowd of online players to complete silence. Although the story comes dangerously close to cliche at times, it steers clear just in the knick of time and has a great sense of novelty, and every component of the game comes together to create a very deep sense of the potent struggle of humans living cooperatively on the verge of death. Even the gameplay emphasizes this interdependence with the ability to share ammo and money.

    Gears of War 3 is not an unexpected game, but it is surprising in it's potent and vast sense of teamwork throughout a multitude of well designed game modes. It's a very hard game to not recommend, but although it certainly is not flawless, it shines bright enough to be seen as a gem of a game in a time of near omnipresent, massacre-fatigue shooters and horror titles. Thanks to EPIC studios for defying the stereotypical notions that have smothered this game's reputation since the first with the best and most thoughtful Gears of War title to date. Anyone who bashes the game for story shortcomings or originality must be truly desensitized to the things that make a video game more than just a game. This was truly an unforgettable experience.
    Expand
  45. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Best console game this "gen" imo. Just goes to show what a proper beta, 6 more months of dev time, and dedicated servers can do for the overall game experience. Lets hope EPIC sticks to this model, and others begin to follow it.
  46. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    This is the best iteration in the series so far. It still has the great Gears feel, and a lot of value on one disk for everyone who buys this.

    Single Player- EPIC story, FUN campaign, likeable characters and the gameplay to boot.
    Multiplayer- I have never enjoyed multiplayer Gears, but this is the first time I have continued to play months after release. Great fun and very balanced
    gameplay- definitely take some skills and getting used to, but well work the effort.
    Horde Mode and Beast Mode- again, GREAT fun. In both you kill wave after wave of increasingly stronger enemies- and it is extremely addictive. Overall- Highly recommended and should be considered for GOTY. A must buy for Gears fans and a must try for all others.
    Expand
  47. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I dont often give out full marks,but this game is the tweaked,perfected & culmination of a great gaming series(apart from the abysmal 1 page game 'Manual'!(or should i say leaflet).They've done the impossible & also improved the graphics on the already hugely impressive 1&2,& theres new features,moves,new enemies,& new weapons(LOVE the Retro Lancer)!as well as all the existing ones on all counts,as well as new characters including returning familiar faces.I found the story interesting & compelling,which is no suprise,as it was penned by the author responsible for The Gears of War novels.The campaign is longer than the previous games too,which is what i wanted,with the even more wanted 4-Player Campaign Co-Op finally..Awesome! This game really is a complete package,with a much improved Horde mode,& the new beast mode,which is kind of like Horde,but instead playing as the Locust.Plus the multiplayer.All these are playable against bots also with or against friends.You cant ask for anything more than that! This game REALLY does offer you whatever your preference is,be it Single or Co-Op campaign,Side Co-Op modes,& great multiplayer.As i said,COMPLETE package.Such a great conclusion to a great(& influential)series.But as i touched on earlier though,i have one complaint,The 'Manual' (& i struggle to use the word manual),is absolutely ABYSMAL! with the first two games,they were so well illustrated & informative,but the one with this game is quite literally a pamphlet with a diagram of the joypad buttons on one of the pages.Thats it!? Nothing to tell you to how to actually play the game,the game modes,or how to do the various moves in the game.Not even in the £100 'epic' edition of the game,do you get any kind of manual or guide! Very poor Epic,Shame on you,for sullying the final game of such an amazing series.. Collapse
  48. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    The sheer level of content is mind-boggling. Modes, maps, rewards, unlockables...just tons and tons of stuff to go through. Multiplayer is very balanced and encouraging of a wide range of play styles, both in its weapons and level design. Single player is surprisingly good story- and script-wise. It's not Earth-shattering like a Bioshock, but for what you're expecting, the story is the best one in the series and the script never gets overly hokey or cheesy. On the whole, this is the best Gears game that's been released, and it's really not as close as it seems like it should be. Expand
  49. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    I'm not a big competitive multiplayer person so after the campaign the first two installments didn't keep my attention that long. Besides being the best campaign in the series yet with the biggest variety of enemies and weapons it has improved horde mode to give it a lot more depth and beast mode is super fun too. if it's just not your type of game that's fine...but I don't know what else you could ask out of a game. Expand
  50. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    The perfect end of the trilogy.

    The story its great, better than the old eposides, and de graphics too!.

    The game use all the xbox360 power, so its a must have!.
  51. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    The fourth entry into the Gears of War franchise will quite literally blow your mind co-developed by Epic Games and People Can Fly, Gears of War: Judgment is set in the immediate aftermath of ‘Emergence Day’ which was the defining event of the very first Gears of War from 2006. Although the game will take you back through a period prior to the events of both Gears of War 2 and Gears of War 3, it has a variety of improvements that make this the most enjoyable and action-packed campaign yet!

    The main protagonist is a young COG by the name of Damon Baird, who should already be very familiar to all Gears fans from being the sidekick to Marcus Fenix, but here in Judgment Baird has a story of his own to tell in a series of flashback sequences used to tell the events leading up to why a small Kilo Squad are being judged in a military COG court. Having taken matters into their own hands and defying all orders to save the world from a new threat, Kilo Squad stand on trial and must face a Colonel Loomis to defend their actions. It is with the Kilo Squad telling their story where the flashback sequences come into play as you relive in-game each part of the Kilo Squads reasoning to Loomis. This is clearly why the title is ‘Judgment’ and you daringly pace through their testimonies putting your life on the line for the greater good or so you believe!

    In Gears of War: Judgment, the Kilo Squad is made up of a young team of trained COG army soldiers that are joined in their unanimity to protect themselves and the world from a terrifying threat on humanity. Although Baird is the main man through-out most of the campaign, you will face the attack and defence missions through the eyes of the other Kilo Squad members. This being Augustus “The Cole Train” Cole, the more comical character and another blast from the past games; Sofia Hendrick, a journalist who joined the army after Emergence Day, and Garron Paduck, a Gear Soldier in the COG Army who was previously a Major for another military force. The characters are united by their actions and defend their reasons with justified decisions that you will experience in the campaign, each character presents their own traits and discussion’s with dialogue that is classic Gears of War talk! If you were somewhat nervous about People Can Fly’s input into the Gears of War universe, you need not worry, the gritty war-torn landscapes and accompanying plot lines feel like the heart and soul of the Gears of War: Judgment story-telling and a real “Gears-experience”, it’s definitely a game for the fans as well as fantastic entry title if you’ve never played a Gears of War game before.

    Judgment is not just a new story that takes place alongside the events of Emergence Day, but it’s a whole new arsenal of weapons and also a whole new way to play a campaign. The game is broken down into Chapters where each features the Testimony of each member of Kilo Squad; Chapters are also broken down into sections which vary between six to eight and at the start of each section you’ll see a glowing COG Emblem emblazoned on the wall where you will have the option to accept or dismiss a Mission Declassification. These Declassify missions completely turn up the heat with how you are expected to play the campaign by making it increasingly difficult, limiting in ammo, time-based challenges, and impaired vision amongst many other unique gameplay scenarios to test your endurance through-out the Chapter. Successfully completed Declassify Missions within the story will not only earn you extra rewards for both Campaign and Multiplayer, but they uncover critical information relating to the story as well as helping towards your Achievements. Should you inevitably die, or fail challenges another new feature comes to life. In completely taking away the predictability after a death and an enhancement to the challenges you face is the addition of a new Smart Spawn System for Judgment. Having seen this in action I can say that every game from here on in could use this great tool to make your respawns play differently since every spawn changes the type of enemies in play, the timing of their appearance and additionally their locations so that each encounter although in the same battleground feels a little different. It’s a like a new take on the environment so that you’re not complacent and this does add an extra layer of freshness because this is for both Campaign and Multiplayer It really mixes things up a little for the better.

    As written by myself Jason Andrews for thisisxbox.com this review in full can also be read on thisisxbox.com
    Expand
  52. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games for the 360. The graphics are awsome. The story is great. The campaign has a very satisfying ending. The horde mode is awsome too!
  53. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    There was no doubt in my mind that Gears of War 3 would be fantastic. I had hyped myself up in the days and months prior to it's release, watching the E3 demos and teaser trailers over and over again. I am glad to say that I was not wrong. It exceeded my expectations as to how fun it would be. After the slight disappointment of Gears Of War 2, this a return to form for the series and for Epic Games.
    The multiplayer is superb, bringing back a higher movement speed and sense of agility and responsiveness found in Gears 1 but sadly lost in Gears 2. The game modes are satisfactory, but I find myself mainly going for Team Deathmatch over everything else. The new ranking system is good, the weapons are more or less balanced despite people saying the sawed-off is overpowered: there are ways to counteract it.
    Beast Mode is also a pretty fun experience, giving an opportunity to play as Locust monsters and crush waves of CoG. Certainly, the selection of characters is excellent but I couldn't help but think they didn't need a time limit or only have 12 waves.
    Horde Mode is where I spend most of my time on Gears 3 nowadays. The mode has been completely upgraded from Gears 2. Instead of throwing you on a map with no defences against the Locust, Epic have now given the player the ability to build fortifications such as spikes, sentry turrets, gun turrets, decoys and battle-mechs to counteract the Locust Horde's menagerie of monsters. As a result, I would say the difficulty is ramped up and makes it more of a challenge to complete all 50 waves. However, even after those initial 50 waves have been completed, there are still fortifications to upgrade and achievements to earn that will keep players coming back.
    I have deliberately left the story till last. As a Gears of War fan, I like to think that I have a good knowledge of the universe outside of the games. I've read the comics and the novels which cover a significant amount of time between each game. Therefore, I understood most of what was going on in Gears Of War 3's campaign. Between Gears 2 and 3, a lot happened. So much so, that three books were written to cover those events. I find the story amazing; with genuine emotional moments cropping up in between intense cinematic action sequences that makes this seem at times, like a blockbuster movie (especially ONE very emotional moment. Ahem ahem) However, I can see how people who haven't taken such an interest in the novels or comics could find this story confusing. I have a few friends who haven't read the books and asked me "Who the **** is Jace?", "Where the hell did Sam come from?" and "Why are they on a boat?"
    Gears Of War 3 is a fantastic game in all respects and is worth it's money in both replay value and quality. A game that I will be playing for years.
    Expand
  54. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    The perfect Xbox game. Perfect way to end the series, and a game I will play for years. Multiplayer is very improved and very enjoyable, and the single player is still very satisfying... and the four player co-op works great!
  55. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    No need to to say anything more than what has been said already. This is Third-person shooter at its finest. A perfected cover system. Game of the year material. A game that will surely still be played for many years to come. if you own a xbox 360, this game is must in your library. Don't let the haters get to you since this one game everyone can surely enjoy. no other game comes close. If there is one complaint, that may be about the single player. its short, and veterans might breeze through it rather quickly. but the real meat is in the multiplayer anyway. and the beta testing, served this game well. Expand
  56. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    Finally I have succumbed to the Gears game. The team have done an excellent job grabbing the most from the 360 GPU. The graphics are as sublime as Anya's pretty little face. Credit for keeping this one out of tunnels, it can get a little depressing, but 3rd time great and it probably had no luck involved whatsoever. A champion game!
  57. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    I like this trilogy it has been fun. I love horde mode and the final game was just so well done I enjoyed it. If you like Action and and enjoyed any of the Story in 1 or 2 you will love this game.
  58. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Game of the Year on XBOX no doubt about it, the single player is just pure epic and the multiplayer is even better whether you play versus or horde or beast. I am useless with using the xbox controller since I am a PC guy but this game is the only one I have bought for xbox so far this year and it's really the reason why I one an xbox in the first place. Dont miss it, buy an xbox if you have to in order to experience it. Expand
  59. Oct 11, 2011
    9
    An almost perfect single player experience, the graphics, the story and the musical score come together perfectly to make the finale satisfying and fun. Horde is fun minus the jerks that drop out in the middle as is beast mode. The versus isn't my thing as the roll roll shotgun gameplay is boring as boring can be but still a great game.
  60. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 3 is the best co-op game ever. It's is better than gears 1 and gears 2. The weapons are cooler, the gfx are better, the story is more in dept and the online multiplayer is actually fun... Gears of War 3 has all this and... ofc the best cutscene of any game ever. Buy this game.
  61. Sep 29, 2011
    9
    I guess it feels like the same old game with a few new players...? Of course, I'm a firm believer in the "ain't broke don't fix it" mentality, so I'm not complaining. I avoid shooters like plague...but I dove straight into online play with this one, and I had a blast. I liked it so much I went out and bought it the next day...my first shooter purchase since N64...and no regrets at all.
  62. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Single player campaign game made great. It has a sustained rhythm, a lot of memorable emotional moments and a good length.
    Graphics looks great, special effects and picture look great. The game's plot answers to many questions of the previous parts and logically completes the epic trilogy.
  63. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Gears of War 3 is definitely the best out of the trilogy and reeks of polish. The singleplayer was fun and the addition of 4 player coop is awesome. Horde mode was definitely my favorite aspect of the game, it combines a great coop and tower defense experience all into the gears universe, beast mode was also a hilarious edition. The competitive multiplayer experience is also fun, there is a nice selection of deathmatch/objective modes to please most peoples needs. There have been complaints about the gameplay being the same as the first two, and that is true, Gears of War doesn't need to refine its gameplay experience. It is already a unique third person shooter franchise and I don't think it needs to borrow ideas from COD or any other big titles to be successful. It's not a perfect game but it's a damn good one with plenty of polish. Expand
  64. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    To the people who gave this a "1" and a "0" either didn't play it or are PS3 fanboys. This game is absolutely amazing. Graphics, story, progression, presentation, audio/sfx, did i mention graphics? It's easily THE BEST looking game on X360 to date. A must own, no brainer if you ask me.
  65. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is a great game, only hindered by sub-par graphics and a somewhat sluggish frame rate. My first reaction was to blame the current generation of consoles. However, with Dead Space 2, Resident Evil 5, Heavy Rain, Uncharted, Red Dead Redemption, Castlevania: LOS and numerous other games looking gorgeous and running so well on near 7 year old console generation... its hard for me to beleive the Xbox 360 or PS3 is the reason any game would show this much age just yet. A highend gaming PC they are certainly not, but they still impress with certain titles that make you wonder just how the hell they are getting games to look and run as well as they do on yesteryears hardware. Sadly, it doesn't seem to keep GoW3's graphics and performance feeling rather lacking... Could it be the Unreal 3 engine powering it? possibly... since its rooted in a Direct X 9 era of gaming. Or maybe EPIC ran out of time to optimize?

    Regardless, it's easily the best of series per se... except it might be too much like a combination of GoW 1 & 2 for some. Perhaps too many instances of same old/same old. Then again, this is can be a bit more of a blessing than a curse... it works well, and its guranteed fun, far more intensified this third trip through the GoW saga. The story is so-so at best, and the duck/cover/run may be too focused... possibly becoming repetitive after long periods of time for many. But once again, its a flawless implementation, common to see poorly executed in other games, and definetely a breath of fresh air well maintaned within the series.

    Loaded with extra content for endless hours, inclduing fantastic co-op scenarios. The game truly delivers.. not just on the story mode... but also in multiplay. Very seldom can a title balance both so remarkably well Easily a game you don't want to pass up. Worth a purchase, not a rental.
    Expand
  66. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    I have played hundreds and hundreds of hours of Gears of war 1 and 2 and 3 beta. This is easily the best of the 3 hands down. My personal favorite series of this generation finally gets and end and it actually doesn end which is more than I can say for Halo Reach. You will def get your money out of this title. Theres' something for everyone: Campaign, Horde, Beast, VS, Arcade. No matter your gaming preferences there is something to love and a ton of stuff to unlock and have a blast with. Only complaint I have it the Final boss on Insane difficulty is the cheapest boss I've ever played against outside of a fighter. Expand
  67. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    This game is f*****g amazing! The graphics, story, gameplay, replay-value, multiplayer are all as perfect as perfect can be! I got the epic edition and I don't regret it at all!
  68. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Probably the best xbox 360 game I've played. Packed with all the goodness you want from the Gears of War franchise and then some. Also comes with a surprise in a mode called Beast Mode. Which is a reverse horde mode.
  69. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    Almost perfect.
    The campaign, Thanks to Jablonsky's music too, is epic.Maybe the ending isn't as good as Gears of War 2 one,but still, a great ending.Graphics are perfect, no one bug.
    Multiplayer is fantastic as well. No more lags, the match starts in a few seconds (minutes maybe) and it is a lot of fun. Horde 2.0 is just epic but sadly it lags more than multiplayer.
    There's no way this
    game will bore you
    Absolutely must buy for every xbox 360 owner
    Expand
  70. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    I do not understand why such a people hate this game!!!! For me, this is one of the best games ever made!
    Seriously! I love the graphics, the history and everything! and of course the game play still being good as ever was. So, if the two previous GoW are good for you, then no think it: YOU WILL LOVE THIS ONE!!!
  71. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    Hands down the best game of 2011. The game exceeds in both single, and multiplayer modes with tons and tons of content. You've got 4 player co-op in the games story mode, Horde mode, beast mode, as well as numerous other types of VS games. If you own a 360, then you need this game. If you don't own a 360, then buy one and buy this.
  72. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    For the haters, this game is made for those who are dedicated to the trilogy of Marcus Fenix and Delta team, considering the characters not being changed is something the fans would die for especially at the end of the trilogy, and if you don't like the story then you should know that Gears is not about story-telling, it's about ass kicking, and if it's to repetative for you, then it shouldn't be for those who love the series, because they would beat the first two games so many times they'd want something new, and that's what Gears 3 is offering for millions of fans out there. For the one considering buying this game, it's all that is a bad-ass Triple A, perfect third person shooter for your entertainment. Expand
  73. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    What happens when you take the greatest game of all time and make it better? You get Gears of War 3 of course. The game adds enough new stuff to the table To make it Familier to Veterans, While adding enough new content to make it a game all it's own. The multiplayer. Amazing, Deticated Servers, New guns and new maps. The campaign is an unforgettable experiance that I think will be remembered by fans Forever. Overall this Game is DEFINATELY in my top 5 games for 2011. Xbox owners. Pick this up now. PS3 owners, Buy the console bundle. Expand
  74. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    I reviewed this game earlier and found the beginning slow and, therefore, gave it a rating of only 6. Having played this for a few more hours, I can safely say that this is an absolutely brilliant and mental game. The action is cranked up to overload compared to Gears I & II. I would have no problem in saying that this is probably the best of the series and one of the best games on the x-box. There is a feeling of deja vu about the game but who cares. It is more of the same with a turbo on it. In conclusion, if you can get passed the first couple of missions (Cole's mission) which are a bit slow, then you are in for a cracking ride. GET IT. Expand
  75. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 3 is amazing it surpasses gears of war 2 in almost every way possible. The very few problems that the series has had in the past has been fixed like: the connection is better than before, the pacing of the game is just right. Theres plenty of different modes to play like: campain(with co-op up to 4 people), verses, beast mode, horde. Theres alot to unlock from skins on your weapon to characters, the achievements and challenges are fun but also challenging to get. This wont be a game youll get bored of in a weekend infact ive been playing gears of war 2 up until now and thats been like what 3 years?! This game is perfect if your a fan of gears of war this game will deliver all you want and more. Expand
  76. Oct 2, 2011
    9
    This is really a epic game from epic games. The graphics are amazing, the storyline is incredible, and the controls are absolutly epic. No longer are you going to get into cover on the wrong side. The multiplayer is more fun than Call of Duty. Yes that is right. No more annoying campers and snipers. The cover and shoot system really gives more flavor and varaiety in multiplayer. You will never feel that your opponent is completely OP. There are also a MASSIVE array of unlockables. Caracters, weapon skins and modifiers like big heads and insta-gib melee. The beast and horde mode are one of the best co-op experiences I've ever had. EVER (second to Borderlands). However, where there is good there is bad. This game can get repetitive, al lot in fact. Another thing is that this game doesn't have as many as those HOLY-CRAP moments like Gears 2 had. Gears 2 has you destroying a gaint worm by cutting it's heart's artaries. Gears 3 has you killing more lambet locusts. It just feels like gears 3 is going through the moments. And this feeling gets more strong later in the game. However these are very minor flaws, but great enough to only get a 9 intead of a 10. The single player also feels a bit cut-off. It feels like the devs spent more time on the multiplayer aspect intstead of the single-player. But all in all this is a great experience, but bear in mind: If your a offline or singleplayer gamer, you won't get as much in this game as you whould if you play online. Expand
  77. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    An epic conclusion to an epic series! Gears of War 3 is by far one of 2011's strongest releases. Highly entertaining game play, a great multiplayer that will keep you going for a long time, and an epic story to finish one of the greatest game series-Ever.
  78. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Really enjoyable especially if you got friends to play with and multiplayer is very fun. There's not much thats already been said in other reviews so all i can say is its a good end to the series.
  79. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    Without question the best of the 3 which should say something b/c the first 2 are so good. Basically refined straight up fun that makes it hard to imagine playing a more fun game again this year (but remember Battlefield, COD). Worth buying a 360 for.
  80. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    After the previous gears title this instalment is a true return to form.

    It ticks all the boxes needed for a truely great gears of war sequal, frantic 3rd person shooter gameplay, check, amateur chainsaw meat sculpturing, check, necks the size of oak trees, check. Then adds a ton of gameplay fixes and tweaks from gears 2 and adds even more stuff you never even knew you wanted but can
    never again live without, massive meat cleavers of death? yes please! Mechs made from solidified awsomeness? Please sir i want some more! Beast mode and 4 player co-op campaign? Too right!

    But wait, theres more.
    The campaign is probably the most fun ive had playing a video game since i played cod 4 way back in the day, its extremely well paced and balanced, theres always new stuff being thrown into the mix to keep it fresh and interesting and the story is arguably the best gears story yet, with the addition of 4 player co-op campaign, the most epic moments known to man and some truely heart wrenching moments to puncture through the violence and straight into your soul, you got yourself a damn fine campaign to enjoy.

    Multiplayer has been beefed up, ironed out into a chrisp responsive ultra smooth strip of chrispy bacon made of whole grain gaming goodness. Fresh outa Mr Blazinskis oven and ready to be devoured and enjoyed.

    every single tiny little problem that plagued gears 2's multiplayer has been fixed, there is never a second where you dont have 100% control of your charector and the dedicated servers ensure that the action never skips a beat.

    The multiplayer is now more accesable and deeper than ever, the addition of team deathmatch with respawns has really opened up the multiplayer experiance to those inexperianced gears noobs out there.

    New additions to the game modes are beast mode, where you play as the locust as you sabotage the pitifull humans defences and bend them to the will of the hive mind, 4 player campaign co-op as i mentioned, team deathmatch, as i also mentioned and beast mode which has been revamped and now includes the ability to build fortifications with the cash you have earned slaughtering your enemys.

    So yeah, if you dig gears or shooters in general id say that the single player and multiplayer modes more than justify you parting with your cold hard cash, i will say one thing before i go though, fear and respect the sawed off! It can be your best friend or your worst enemy.

    See you online
    Expand
  81. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    This game was Much better than I anticipated. This year Gears of war 3 was not on my top priority list of games I wanted this year, but when i get it I was Very suprised.I have Played both gears of wars that were prior to the release of #3 in there series. At first the game looked as if it would be too much like gears of war 2 and would feel like and expansion onto the game, but I was wrong. The Campaign of this game felt a great bit longer than the ones before it and it also gave the played a diverse amount of situations one had to over come. The campaign of this game may have been the best of the gear of war games. Multiplayer, The Online Versus mode is fairly similar to gears of war 2, but with some important problems fixed. Gears of war 2 had problems with "Hosting" Were the person hosting the game would have a slight advantage because all other players were lagging behind them. In gears 3 they fixed that with dedicated servers. Also, in gears 2 the shotguns rained supreme, but in gears 3 they fixed it so assault rifles are just a efficient as the shotguns. The maps in this game are great, and they brought back a couple Gears 1 Maps. There are some faults though, There is a new shotgun in the game called the Sawed off shotgun. This Shotgun has a very minimal range and takes a good amount of time to reload, but it 1 shots nearly everytime. A player will hide around a corner and wait for people to pass by or get in front of him, this makes it extremely hard for other players to play and get around these situations and it will cause many more players to sit and hide/camp spawns and objectives. ( there is a 3 sec spawn protection though). Also there is an Assault rifle called the Retro lancer, I is alot like the regular lancer but instead of a chainsaw it has a Bayonet and does more damage with the loss of accuracy. The Player can charge people with the Bayonet and some how pop corners with it. If you are on one side of a corner and someone charges at you they might glitch through your bullets and stab you through a 3 ft thick wall, but other wise a great versus mode. They also have horde again, but with a little extra spice. They have added Barriers, Dummies, Turrents, Auto Turrent, and Self Controlled Batter robot suits called Silverbacks, and Every 10 round there is a boss fight which makes it challenging ( have to fight (Beserkers and Brumaks and stuff). They also have a new thing called Beast mode which alow you to play as many of the Locusts armys Soldiers ( Kantus, Scavenge drone) and as "Beasts" of the Locust ( Beserkers, Giant centipedes, Corpsers, and many others). This game mode is really fun, but is only 12 rounds long, would be alot better if it had more rounds. Overall a Great game, but not perfect. Expand
  82. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    First the bad news. There is not enough time in any given day to play enough of gears of war 3! Now that thats out of the way where do I begin with the goodness? I have been a gears fan all through the series, but none of the games have come close to this one. Actually no shooter of any title comes close to this one. The graphics are the best of any game on any system. Epic went to work making crysis look secondary. The color palette in this game is more vibrant and welcoming unlike episodes one and two. The characters have been well meshed with the scenery and there has been an improvement in the frame rate. The story Is good, not shaw shank redemption levels but good none the less. This game features an amazing amount of cutscenes that are not just one and done, but are spread out evenly through every part of the game giving the player the perfect amount of action and then relax time. Gameplay is intuitive And the campaign is a great length. Unlike Call of Duty there is a real long and deep campaign experience. I can't say enough about the multiplayer experience. Horde is so much fun with friends and or any people from the extensive online community you won't want to play anything else. The upgrade system is fleshed out well, and makes you feel good. Many other games I've played,like Halo have upgrade systems but none this rewarding. Wingman is another one of my favorites as well as team deathmatch. I am normally a solo player and don't do the online thing much, but this game is way to fun and way to good to enjoy by yourself! Well done Epic, well done. Expand
  83. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I got this yesterday and I finished it today. It was awesome! I hate that Adam Fenix died.... DX and I thought Queen Myrrah was Marcus Fenixs' Mom. That would be awesome! THIS GAME GETS A 20/10! Expand
  84. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    I bought the first gears a few years back and I didn't really appeal to me back then, so I passed up on the second one all together. I was in the store today really doubting if I would give it another shot after all these years and holy crap. I am glad I did. This is an absolute monster of a game, I played through the first two acts and really had to convince myself to try out the multiplayer as well tonight because otherwise I would've played the campaign till early dawn. Incredible setpiece moments, badass gunfights, amazing dialogue. Really one of the best campaigns I played in the last 2 years. But then it was time to start up the multiplayer and although I rarely play a third-person game online I didn't have any problems at all adjusting to the mechanics of the game and after 2 rounds I was playing top 3 places in my team. kudos to the matchmaking as well, very nicely balanced the teams all the time so the experience is very enjoyable. You have a lot of modes in the regular versus (Team Deathmatch, Warzone (normal deathmatch), execution (instead of killing enemys you must execute them up close and personal) and king of the hill). If you are now to the game, there is an option to play a casual multiplayer witch lets you play witch other "newbies". And further more you have a horde mode (fending of waves of enemy's) and beast mode (horde mode in reverse). And if that's not enough you can play the whole campaign with up to 3 friends in split-screen or in online coop. As you can see that's a whole lot of multiplayer :-) and it's al very smoothly, I encountered not a single lag issue in my first 7 hours of playing. A piece of multiplayer that will grasp you for months I can imagine. So in conclusion. If you're not already a very confirmed hater or just don't care about shooting stuff with gaming's most badass guns then you have no reason at all not to buy this game, really top notch!!!! Expand
  85. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    After playing the previous 2 games in the series, I believe this is what fans of the series have been waiting for since 2006. The campaign does not have a story that will pull you in unless you have played the previous games. I felt that the story was predictable but a good conclusion to one of the better action games ever released. Where the story lacks, the game play more than makes up for the shortcomings. Player movement is faster, weapons have a good feel and realistic sound, and the cover system has been tweaked so the accidental wall sticks rarely occur. The multiplayer aspect is lag free and the most enjoyable competitive and cooperative experience to date on the 360. There are some balance issues to be had with a few of the weapons(doublebarrel) but for the most part, everything feels that it has it's place. the new maps are designed to prevent camping and every match is exciting. I do feel that the arcade campaign should not have cut scenes, but that is just a personal opinion. If you enjoyed the first two games in the series, then do not hesitate to make this a must purchase. If you never had the opportunity to play the previous iterations then you owe it to yourself to pick this game up and give it a try. Either way, this will be the only game in your system for quite some time. Expand
  86. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Excellent game so far. The graphics are top notch and has the same gameplay as the previous versions but with differnt weapons and modes. Like evrryone else has said, horde mode is great.
  87. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Gears of War 3 in my book is epic! All of them are great games, and have changed the gaming world much like Halo has. As I played through this last installment I realized not much has changed from the first Gears. We are still fighting the same enemy (Even though they glow) we still have the same characters, and same game play. I know a lot of critics are saying it's nothing new, but to me that's the charm of it! I feel like it's been one long journey that's finally come to an end in the best possible way! Great ending to a fantastic franchise. Expand
  88. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Just finished it, it's awesome. The story is a book to read - what an end to the series. Beast mode is fun and cash and boss battles adds to Horde is great and improves it. Great matchmaking - so far I have not waited longer than two minutes to find a match, and it's rare to pass one minute. I haven't tried 4 player co-op on campaign, but it almost asks you to play with a friend or more - which is good. Altough if you haven't liked Gears 1 and 2 you won't like it, it's an AWESOME GAME. Didn't think twice to give it 10/10. Expand
  89. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    Epic delivers across the board with a polished conclusion to the trilogy that represents the pinnacle of what this generation can offer. A surprisingly poignant and lengthy campaign with a good amount of variety both in settings and gameplay that lets you play from a variety of character perspectives. The online has a plethora of options that will give this game legs for years and introduces the new Beast mode as well as tweaks to the beloved Horde mode. Botmatch is a welcome option once again and the seamless online integration to all modes (including co-op campaign) is exceedingly well implemented. The campaign encourages replay with plenty of collectibles and Easter Eggs. The audio is every bit as impressive as the visuals from the voice acting to the soundtrack. This is the best third-person action game released to date. Expand
  90. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    If you're a fan or a newcomer to the Gears Universe, the end of the trilogy has something for everyone. The gameplay is the same tried and true formula that you know and love, but it's even smoother now. The campaign simply seeps epicness from it's very core, with an interesting story that's pleasing yet accessible. The same goes for the multiplayer, which'll feel great to anyone who has played Gears before, and introduces new players well. Those two modes alone would be enough to warrant a high score, but the loads of additional content Epic has added is what makes Gears 3 a nearly flawless game, more than worthy of the proverbial 10 out of 10. Expand
  91. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Only played a few levels so far but it seems great. The cover system and aiming is a lot smoother this time and i cant wait to try out the co-op stuff with friends.
  92. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    It's just like GoW2 but with improved multiplayer due to better balancing and dedicated servers to ensure lag-free gameplay. The horde mode is now more deep, with the introduction of money to buy weapons and barricades. However, multiplayer matchmaking doesn't seem to use TrueSkill- a level 11 ends up in a lobby full of level 100s for example. However it's the most brutal an fast-paced online yet. Now it actually works properly. You can level up across all modes and earn medals just like in Halo Reach, making the campaign, co-op modes and competitive Versuses intergrate seemlessly. The campaign is still an epic but it was shorter than I was expecting, and doesn't feel as grand or engaging as Gears 2. All in all, if you're a fan of the series or are looking for a brutal shooter that's very different from others and is good quality this game is most certainly worth getting. The actual gameplay is no different from the previous game and there aren't many additions butit's still a fun shooter. What does degrade the experience slightly is that despite it running on Unreal Engine 3.5- the updated UE3, there are many games which make better use of its graphical capabilities. Sure, Unreal Engine was built for this kind of game but the textures are, without exaggeration- vastly dated. The cutscenes have the worst graphics and feel like they're in 480p rather than full HD whilst the normal gameplay graphics are much more consistent. Overall the essence of Gears is still here. The satisfying sound of headshots with a LongShot, the brutal weapons, including additions like the OneShot and th beasty enemies are all here. The campaign is shorter than I expected and too easy on anything but Insane because you can be revived by the AI. But the Versus is now compatible with bots, there are challenges and XP across all aspects of the game, there's arcade mode and beast mode allowing you to play as locust and take down humans in time. GoW3 feels like GoW2 but sort of "Reachified" by the addition of leveling up in all modes and the huge stat tracking for all modes- even K/D for campaign and number of failed active reloads! The medals, ribbons and collectibles add a lot of replay value and encourage you to take advantage of everything in the game so you get a great variety too. Certainly Gears 3 is the most complete Gears of War game- there's not much more that could've been done to make it bigger. Expand
  93. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Superbly, the graphics are jaw-dropping, and impeccable gameplay, history and well-written characters with life.Go stay forever in the history of games, Gears is wonderful everything was done with great care and with many details, but rather an game to top it off gold trilogy.
  94. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    **9.5/10 Really, really good. You've got to play it. It's the best in the series. Buy it. Love it. Finish it. You'll have a huge blast. That is all.
  95. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    fantastic well polished cap to the gears universe, the multiplayer is like nothing else and the single player is a beautiful roller coaster ride of awesome.. The story is what it is, but when gears is telling a story it makes for hilarious commentary. Great game all around, so worth the purchase!
  96. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    There is a difference in a bad game and being bad at the game. Since gears of war 1 i loved this game but 1 had a HUGE multiplayer learning curve. If you did not shotgun or pick up a special weapon you were out of luck. It was all about quick reflexes and bounces of the wall. So to start I will explain the differences I see in multiplayer that makes it perfect. First off the movement, to say only guns and maps changed is idiotic and blind, go play gears 1,2, and then 3 and you will see a major diffence in the smoothness of the movement. From roadie running to aim to getting behind and off cover and overall movement it's amazing. Going from extremely slow matchmaking based off host to a little better in gears to dedicated servers in 3? Extremely fast matchmaking and virtually lag less game if your connection is decent. There is no gun in the game that you can not use. Gears 1 was mainly shotgun. Gears 2 was a little weaker shotgun,explosive, and sniper. Gears 3 adds a lot stronger rifles to make it almost necessary to work as a team as apposed to lone wolf making it a lot more accessible to new players while keeping it balanced for the day 1 players. They went from a gloomily dark color palette and added brighter colors easily distinguishing locust and cog. The graphics are amazing and the detail is incredible. And to complain about 45$ Day 1 DLC it is weapon camo, it has no impact on the game. They are doing it to fund the dedicated servers. The gears multiplayer is the most balanced I have ever experienced but it does take time to grow on you. Repetitive dying might annoy you, i sure was making me not play the first one for months. But the day you can bounce off walls and do a pop shot you will feel a challenge to get better and a game that takes great developed skill to be a great player, overall offering a better experience that the way easier shooter games of this generation. There is a reason this franchise went from my most hated to my favorite, it takes time to grow on you. The single player is great especially this third one adding four player coop making it a way better experience. The lambent add a great challenge and the feeling a hopelessness adds Dalton to the wound in the falling gears universe. The holy s**t moments are bigger than ever and the lines are as enertainina as the first. Horde 2.0 is a great experience adding the tower defense portion add greater depth with boss fights adding a greater challenge. The money incorporation adds customization and ability to re buy in if you die and a end points makes a reachable goal that will prove a challenge on insane dificulty. Beast mode is a great spin on the horde where you play as the locust. It is fun but my once complain about this game is that beast mode is extremely short but not much to besmirch my score for the fact the everything else add such great play value that this game will keep you entertained for month. All 10 maps 9 new are destined to be classics. My advice for you is to give this game a try and keep playing because it will grow on you. Thank you Epic Games for making this the first time a hyped up game actually surpasses what I expect. Forever live the gears universe!! Expand
  97. Cg1
    Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is one of the most hyped-up games of this year. And rightfully so. This game boasts beautiful graphics, eye-popping colors, and intricate details in characters, enemies, weapons, and the environment. The game flows smoothly between its frequent cuts between cut-scenes and game-play, and this is always appreciated because it never interferes with the playing experience. The story line is great and the characters were really brought to life. Wise-cracking jokes throughout the game really serve as comic relief for a dark turn of events on Sera, and me and my buddy had a good laugh at least once per Act. The game's witty sense of humor matches perfectly with it satisfying visceral -blood-and-guts action. Gear 3 is addicting and never stops being fun. I have never been on the edge of my seat for the length of an entire game, always guessing what'll happen next. The combat is always changing and mixing up so firefights are never the same. The wide variety of enemies make combat unpredictable and make Gears stand out compared to games like Killzone and Resistance. One of my favorite parts in the game is when Delta Squad mans a Pendulum Wars-era COG Submarine through a beautifully animated underwater environment. Gears has a massive sense of past history that intersects the present in the game, which makes it unparalleled. Story wise, it was very fun and unpredictable. Gears has a high replay value, Horde is brilliant, Beast is awesome, and online multiplayer is simply awesome. Though, not as addicting as Halo and Call of Duty's online, gears is definitely a must have for all Xbox owners if not only just for the online multiplayer experience. The campaign is epic, and the ending has sweet revenge and resolution written all over it. The only reason Gears 3 is getting a 9 from me is becuase of a few minor technical issues and a few scattered cheesy lines that stuck out like a sore thumb. Other than that, Gears of War 3 is one of the best titles of this year and of this Series. Expand
  98. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    This is strictly a Multiplayer review:
    Gears 3 multiplayer is easily the most accessible for new players, I myself are a Gears Veteran, but I can see that EPIC have made some drastic changes to the MP, to encourage new players to the series and at the same time, keep that fine line between Hardcore and Casual. EPIC have done a tremendous job with Gears 3, they have eliminated the 4 major
    issues with previous games:

    1) Host advantage
    2) Lag
    3) Overpowered Bots
    4) Balance with Weapons

    One of the negatives of this game is that there aren't enough maps or new game modes for Multiplayer but EPIC have already confirmed that future DLC maps are coming soon. My other negative is the Sawed Off shotgun, the gun requires no aiming and skill, it needs a significant "nerf". But these issues are very minor, it's easy to avoid a Sawed Off, it's like avoiding a Chainsaw from the Lancer.

    10/10 EPIC, the introduction of Dedicated Servers has made Gears of War 3's hit detection flawless!
    Expand
  99. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Gears of War 3 is the best shooter ever. With stunning graphics, excellent sound effects and a perfect gameplay, this game definitely deserves 10. He will surely win the Game of the Year 2011.
  100. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This game is by far the best experience available on the xbox 360. the gameplay defined this generation of 3rd person shooters and it builds heavily on that.the story is very dramatic and has some of the best story telling techniques in gaming of course lines can be a bit over exaggerated but people are to focused on the small things. the graphics are probably about the best you'll get on 360.....or any console. the gameplay is about as action packed and as cinematic as an AAA blockbuster movie.This game is everything you wanted from this generation of gaming and then some.10/10
    STORY:9.5 GAMEPLAY:10 GRAPHICS:10 SOUND 9.5 MULTIPLAYER:10 PRESENTATION:10 REPLAY VALUE: 11
    Expand
  101. Oct 2, 2011
    0
    I dont often give out full marks,but this game is the tweaked,perfected & culmination of a great gaming series(apart from the abysmal 1 page game 'Manual'!(or should i say leaflet).They've done the impossible & also improved the graphics on the already hugely impressive 1&2,& theres new features,moves,new enemies,& new weapons(LOVE the Retro Lancer)!as well as all the existing ones on all counts,as well as new characters including returning familiar faces.I found the story interesting & compelling,which is no suprise,as it was penned by the author responsible for The Gears of War novels.The campaign is longer than the previous games too,which is what i wanted,with the even more wanted 4-Player Campaign Co-Op finally..Awesome! This game really is a complete package,with a much improved Horde mode,& the new beast mode,which is kind of like Horde,but instead playing as the Locust.Plus the multiplayer.All these are playable against bots also with or against friends.You cant ask for anything more than that! This game REALLY does offer you whatever your preference is,be it Single or Co-Op campaign,Side Co-Op modes,& great multiplayer.As i said,COMPLETE package.Such a great conclusion to a great(& influential)series.But as i touched on earlier though,i have one complaint,The 'Manual' (& i struggle to use the word manual),is absolutely ABYSMAL! with the first two games,they were so well illustrated & informative,but the one with this game is quite literally a pamphlet with a diagram of the joypad buttons on one of the pages.Thats it!? Nothing to tell you to how to actually play the game,the game modes,or how to do the various moves in the game.Not even in the £100 'epic' edition of the game,do you get any kind of manual or guide! Very poor Epic,Shame on you,for sullying the final game of such an amazing series.. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 96
  2. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    65
    Rather than the perfect end to a thrilling series, it seemed like the developers were afraid to take real risks with either the story or the gameplay of Gears 3.
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    Gears of War 3 is a solid game and likely worthy of the praise it's received. I just happen to think it falls a bit flat.
  3. An unmissable, unbeatable offering. [Dec 2011, p.95]