User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1344 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    Only played a few levels so far but it seems great. The cover system and aiming is a lot smoother this time and i cant wait to try out the co-op stuff with friends.
  2. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    It's just like GoW2 but with improved multiplayer due to better balancing and dedicated servers to ensure lag-free gameplay. The horde mode is now more deep, with the introduction of money to buy weapons and barricades. However, multiplayer matchmaking doesn't seem to use TrueSkill- a level 11 ends up in a lobby full of level 100s for example. However it's the most brutal an fast-pacedIt's just like GoW2 but with improved multiplayer due to better balancing and dedicated servers to ensure lag-free gameplay. The horde mode is now more deep, with the introduction of money to buy weapons and barricades. However, multiplayer matchmaking doesn't seem to use TrueSkill- a level 11 ends up in a lobby full of level 100s for example. However it's the most brutal an fast-paced online yet. Now it actually works properly. You can level up across all modes and earn medals just like in Halo Reach, making the campaign, co-op modes and competitive Versuses intergrate seemlessly. The campaign is still an epic but it was shorter than I was expecting, and doesn't feel as grand or engaging as Gears 2. All in all, if you're a fan of the series or are looking for a brutal shooter that's very different from others and is good quality this game is most certainly worth getting. The actual gameplay is no different from the previous game and there aren't many additions butit's still a fun shooter. What does degrade the experience slightly is that despite it running on Unreal Engine 3.5- the updated UE3, there are many games which make better use of its graphical capabilities. Sure, Unreal Engine was built for this kind of game but the textures are, without exaggeration- vastly dated. The cutscenes have the worst graphics and feel like they're in 480p rather than full HD whilst the normal gameplay graphics are much more consistent. Overall the essence of Gears is still here. The satisfying sound of headshots with a LongShot, the brutal weapons, including additions like the OneShot and th beasty enemies are all here. The campaign is shorter than I expected and too easy on anything but Insane because you can be revived by the AI. But the Versus is now compatible with bots, there are challenges and XP across all aspects of the game, there's arcade mode and beast mode allowing you to play as locust and take down humans in time. GoW3 feels like GoW2 but sort of "Reachified" by the addition of leveling up in all modes and the huge stat tracking for all modes- even K/D for campaign and number of failed active reloads! The medals, ribbons and collectibles add a lot of replay value and encourage you to take advantage of everything in the game so you get a great variety too. Certainly Gears 3 is the most complete Gears of War game- there's not much more that could've been done to make it bigger. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    **9.5/10 Really, really good. You've got to play it. It's the best in the series. Buy it. Love it. Finish it. You'll have a huge blast. That is all.
  4. Cg1
    Sep 21, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is one of the most hyped-up games of this year. And rightfully so. This game boasts beautiful graphics, eye-popping colors, and intricate details in characters, enemies, weapons, and the environment. The game flows smoothly between its frequent cuts between cut-scenes and game-play, and this is always appreciated because it never interferes with the playing experience. TheGears of War 3 is one of the most hyped-up games of this year. And rightfully so. This game boasts beautiful graphics, eye-popping colors, and intricate details in characters, enemies, weapons, and the environment. The game flows smoothly between its frequent cuts between cut-scenes and game-play, and this is always appreciated because it never interferes with the playing experience. The story line is great and the characters were really brought to life. Wise-cracking jokes throughout the game really serve as comic relief for a dark turn of events on Sera, and me and my buddy had a good laugh at least once per Act. The game's witty sense of humor matches perfectly with it satisfying visceral -blood-and-guts action. Gear 3 is addicting and never stops being fun. I have never been on the edge of my seat for the length of an entire game, always guessing what'll happen next. The combat is always changing and mixing up so firefights are never the same. The wide variety of enemies make combat unpredictable and make Gears stand out compared to games like Killzone and Resistance. One of my favorite parts in the game is when Delta Squad mans a Pendulum Wars-era COG Submarine through a beautifully animated underwater environment. Gears has a massive sense of past history that intersects the present in the game, which makes it unparalleled. Story wise, it was very fun and unpredictable. Gears has a high replay value, Horde is brilliant, Beast is awesome, and online multiplayer is simply awesome. Though, not as addicting as Halo and Call of Duty's online, gears is definitely a must have for all Xbox owners if not only just for the online multiplayer experience. The campaign is epic, and the ending has sweet revenge and resolution written all over it. The only reason Gears 3 is getting a 9 from me is becuase of a few minor technical issues and a few scattered cheesy lines that stuck out like a sore thumb. Other than that, Gears of War 3 is one of the best titles of this year and of this Series. Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    What an amazing game, still not completed the game only one chapter remaining. Horde and beast mode are great compared with the horde mode of gears1 and 2
  6. Sep 24, 2011
    9
    This game is excellent. The single player campaign is superb and fun despite being wrapped in a throwaway, groan-inducing story. For those who are complaining about the story; I don't quite know what you were expecting. The multiplayer modes are a lot of fun and exceedingly well balanced. As a long-time Gears of War 2 multiplayer, I can see why there is some controversy around the changesThis game is excellent. The single player campaign is superb and fun despite being wrapped in a throwaway, groan-inducing story. For those who are complaining about the story; I don't quite know what you were expecting. The multiplayer modes are a lot of fun and exceedingly well balanced. As a long-time Gears of War 2 multiplayer, I can see why there is some controversy around the changes that have been made to multiplayer. The multiplayer feels less strict, with tighter controls and it really emphasizes the need to work as a team. I think a lot of the complaints around GOW3 multiplayer basically centers around GOW2 fans who can't use the same old bag of tricks. The ranking system also seems to work a lot better now too, so some of these players who are upset about getting beaten could just have found themselves with a new class of opponent.

    For many of the GOW3 multiplayer games, players with good map knowledge and tactics won the games every time. The teams with the most organized attack plan (whether on purpose, or by accident) constantly dominated.

    Nitpicks.
    I find that there is some weird stuff happening around interacting with players/bots that are downed. You seem to need to be in JUST the right place to revive them, or to use them as a shield or execute them. I have lost a few matches as I was fumbling with the controls to use a guy as a shield but couldn't quite get it right.

    Despite these minor issues. This game is very well made and one of the highest polished games I have ever player. The whole presentation oozes quality and perfectionism.

    Great Job EPIC

    The multiplayer bots seem to have been upgraded as well. While still not the same challenge you get from human players, they WILL kill you if you are careless or make a mistake. On every server I've played on so far, any bots playing have held their own and were not "gimmes," or (much of) a weak link in any team.

    This game is huge. Even after completing the single player campaign on "Hardcore" (a step I wish I could just skip, and go straight to Insane), I still feel like I have only scratched the surface.
    Expand
  7. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    GoW3 is a fitting end to an epic (pun intended) trilogy. The campaign offers nonstop, large scale, third person action (as expected) while the multiplayer offers a wide range of exciting game modes.
  8. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    This game is phenomenal. Don't get me wrong it's the most polished one having been developed for three years and the multiplayer is by far exceeds the previous two. The couple problems I have with the game are the difficulty settings. I played Gears 2 on Insane and broke one of my controllers in the process from getting so angry, Hardcore and Insane in this game feel way too easy I breezedThis game is phenomenal. Don't get me wrong it's the most polished one having been developed for three years and the multiplayer is by far exceeds the previous two. The couple problems I have with the game are the difficulty settings. I played Gears 2 on Insane and broke one of my controllers in the process from getting so angry, Hardcore and Insane in this game feel way too easy I breezed through the "longest" gears campaign. I also felt the ending needed a bit more power, it was kinda lame compared to the previous. Now the only gripe I have from the multiplayer is this and I know its been said a million times, but the double barreled shotgun kills the experience. Its great if your going to have a unique gun that kills in one shot (torque bow/one shot sniper rifle) but please do not make it a load out weapon. I mean come on Epic your threads were were been flooded with angry fans during the beta, and you still ignore them. 9/10 Expand
  9. Sep 30, 2011
    9
    Im no fan boy of Gears but I have to say I think this is one of the best games on the 360. Those knocking the story I can actually understand but to be honest in all three games it has not exactly been deep and meaningful.

    Repettiive I would have to question, the on-line modes have certainly kept my attention and Horde is excellent (once you have committed a little time to it). All a
    Im no fan boy of Gears but I have to say I think this is one of the best games on the 360. Those knocking the story I can actually understand but to be honest in all three games it has not exactly been deep and meaningful.

    Repettiive I would have to question, the on-line modes have certainly kept my attention and Horde is excellent (once you have committed a little time to it).

    All a matter of taste but I for one could think it is excellent.
    Expand
  10. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    As I started to think about writing this review, I spent a good 47 seconds trying to think of one word to describe Cliffy Bs and Epic games third chapter of their beloved baby. I soon realised that word was staring at me from the front of the box. EPIC. No other word can describe the sheer scale of this game; from the massive range of beautiful environment to detail on the faces of deltaAs I started to think about writing this review, I spent a good 47 seconds trying to think of one word to describe Cliffy Bs and Epic games third chapter of their beloved baby. I soon realised that word was staring at me from the front of the box. EPIC. No other word can describe the sheer scale of this game; from the massive range of beautiful environment to detail on the faces of delta squad to the hilarious one liners from Baird, Cole and the rest of the COG crew, Gears Of War 3 leaves it all in the ring and splatters awesomeness everywhere like the end of a particularly sticky porno.
    The gameplay from the prequels remains intact. Sliding between conspicuously placed cover before popping up to empty a clip into an enemy or having a last ditch charge at a locust with you chainsaw is still as satisfying as it ever was. Along with very few changes to the user interface, the essential Gears experience remains the same. While it really doesnâ
    Expand
  11. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Best Gears yet!! Online play has never been so smooth, minimum lag if any at all. The only problem I have with this game is the fact you'd have to play 24/7 to unlock all the cool nest eggs.
  12. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is definetly one of my new favorite games. I like to wait a few weeks before I review games, so the intoxicating new game smell can fade and I can see a game for what it truly is. I was introduced to the series by my friend and as a gift he bought me Gears of War 2. I enjoyed it more than I expected, but it was still a lack luster game for me. However, I found myselfGears of War 3 is definetly one of my new favorite games. I like to wait a few weeks before I review games, so the intoxicating new game smell can fade and I can see a game for what it truly is. I was introduced to the series by my friend and as a gift he bought me Gears of War 2. I enjoyed it more than I expected, but it was still a lack luster game for me. However, I found myself excited for GOW3 in the weeks before release. The first thing I went to after picking it up, was Co-Op campaign with my friends. The story seemed to lack emotion at times, and when certain people died... I honestly wish I could have felt something, but I didn't. However, I found the boss battles VERY enjoyable, and the jokes funny. Of course the music was great, this franchise has some of the best songs I have ever heard. All in all, the campaign was great, even better with friends. But the real reason I bought Gears of War 3 was for the online multiplayer and Co-Op modes. Your standard multiplayer can be at times frustrating, with the sawed- off shotgun almost completely outclassing the Gnasher shotgun. However, it takes skill to win the games, which I always love. Sure you could camp behind a wall with your sawed-off shotgun, but thats nothing a few grenades can't flush out. Horde and Beast modes are each respectivly... how can I put this... AMAZINGLY AWSOME!!! Horde is always keeping me on my toes. One minute you are easily racking up kills on drones with your sniper, the next you are running for your life from acouple of Beserkers. Beast mode is probably more enjoyable for me though, as I can just run around the first few waves as a Ticker, blowing up everyone, then suddenly morph into a Beserker and destroy everything. GOW3 also has a multitude of fun Easter eggs that will have you and your friends laughing and running in terror at times. This is definetly going down as one of the best games I've played in a while. Expand
  13. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Better than Gears of War 2 , Good story , Great gameplay , Best Graphics on XBOX360 so far , Strong multtiplayer but its this game better than Uncharted 3 ???? we ill know the answer later
  14. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    I Really didn't come into Gears of War 3 expecting to be taken by it as much as i have, the multiplayer is genuinely great this time around and is one of the most polished and smooth running games i have played on my Xbox 360.

    The campaign offers around the same emotional impact as the last, which is just above average for a shooter, but being a game that knows it's audience well Gears 3
    I Really didn't come into Gears of War 3 expecting to be taken by it as much as i have, the multiplayer is genuinely great this time around and is one of the most polished and smooth running games i have played on my Xbox 360.

    The campaign offers around the same emotional impact as the last, which is just above average for a shooter, but being a game that knows it's audience well Gears 3 has delivered the best epic set pieces, levels and characters of the series.

    I wouldn't have purchased this title if it was going to be the regular average campaign and multiplayer that interests you for a bit under a month that is becoming ever so common with 'triple A' titles as of late. With modes like Horde, Beast, Co-op Campaign and the ability to adjust campaign with 'skull' like options this is definitely value for money.

    I am giving this title a 9 out of 10, it is a great game that has very polished and addictive multiplayer, a variety of buddy modes and a pretty lengthy and rad campaign!
    Expand
  15. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    Ever since I started playing the Xbox 360, I have usually played the exclusives such as Halo as well as Gears. Now with this epic end to the trilogy, Gears of War shall be placed down as the best Xbox 360 exclusive game I have ever played and possibly will ever play. Although featuring near identical game play to the previous Gears of War games, I will stand by the 'if it ain't broke,Ever since I started playing the Xbox 360, I have usually played the exclusives such as Halo as well as Gears. Now with this epic end to the trilogy, Gears of War shall be placed down as the best Xbox 360 exclusive game I have ever played and possibly will ever play. Although featuring near identical game play to the previous Gears of War games, I will stand by the 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it' philosophy. In the previous installations it was simply about saving the world from a mysterious enemy, the Locust however in this finally, you will look more deeply into the lives of the team of soldiers that have survived this long, with some happy endings and well, lets just say, some not so happy. As I finally defeated the main boss and I watched the ending cinematic I was in awe at the revelation that had just unfolded and the amazing soundtrack just added to that fact. I would simply play the game all over again just to hear that soundtrack. Although I found Gears of War 2 harder to get into with the plot line and game play, I found that I had no problem getting into Gears of War 3. This makes it an excellent starting point for those new to the series but I would advice said people to play the previous two games first as the finally is a lot more shocking and awe worthy if you know all about the main characters and the people surrounding them. Multiplayer however I never got into, it was a bit frustrating with the Gears combat system, but it will depend on your taste. Horde however is the next best thing to the Campaign and I found me and my friends staying up late into the night fighting off endless amounts of Locust and Lambent while laughing as I was continuously downed by the Boomers. All in all definitely worth a weekend rent for the Campaign and to dabble in the online modes and if they fit to your liking, worth the purchase. Expand
  16. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    I really enjoy this game more so than the other installments in the series. This game plays just like the others which isn't bad at all and makes veterans coming into the series able to adapt really quickly and same goes for newcomers. The new game modes like Beast mode and the updated Horde mode really add a kind of flavor to Gears that won't be found anywhere else; the 4-player co-opI really enjoy this game more so than the other installments in the series. This game plays just like the others which isn't bad at all and makes veterans coming into the series able to adapt really quickly and same goes for newcomers. The new game modes like Beast mode and the updated Horde mode really add a kind of flavor to Gears that won't be found anywhere else; the 4-player co-op feature is a welcomed addition as well. now with all this being said the game does have flaws not huge ones by any means but i felt they were annoying such as in most cases when you exited a multiplayer game it kicked your party back to their respective menus,also the loading screens were a little long but it runs a lot better if the game is installed. Last but not least the Multilayer which this time around is amazing and will keep somebody hooked for a month or two at least. New game types include TDM, Capture the leader (essentially guardian with a twist) and the random weekend playlists. all in all if you are a fan of gears and don't have it then get it now if you are looking for a game to play this should be on your list of options IMO Epic nailed this title with only a few flaws. Expand
  17. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    I have never played any other of these games but gears 3 is next to top of my best online games of all time. The campaign isnt big but its one that can be played over and over again to find all the collectibles or to complete with friends. Online versus has a very good range of games to pick from and all are unique to the game. Playing is very competative and gets very interesting a lot ofI have never played any other of these games but gears 3 is next to top of my best online games of all time. The campaign isnt big but its one that can be played over and over again to find all the collectibles or to complete with friends. Online versus has a very good range of games to pick from and all are unique to the game. Playing is very competative and gets very interesting a lot of the time. Horde isnt a bad mode by all means but it can get very samey after playing it a few times. The new beast mode is alike but it will keep some people trying to unlock all the creatures to play as. Overall gears 3 is much better than COD, even though the graphics are good but pretty dull and un-atmospheric a lot of the time. Expand
  18. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    This game is pretty damn good. Nuff said. However, it got pretty repetitive towards the end and it was kind of a dread playing it back on insane, which was tough as f$&@. Gears 3 is the best one yet and is definitely a bang for your buck.
  19. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is simply freakin' awesome!! It has the best cover mechanic gameplay, gruesome gore, best graphics, and cool story. I think you should save up your money for Gears of War 3 because it is such a blast to play this game!
  20. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is the best game I own on my XBOX. That is definite. Since 2005, The Gears franchise has captivated my, and millions others imaginations. Although I had to wait till 2009 when I finally managed to get an XBOX 360 to play a Gears game, I had been avidly following them since they came out. Some may say that I'm a fanboy, but I am not. Thhis game is just perfect in almost allGears of War 3 is the best game I own on my XBOX. That is definite. Since 2005, The Gears franchise has captivated my, and millions others imaginations. Although I had to wait till 2009 when I finally managed to get an XBOX 360 to play a Gears game, I had been avidly following them since they came out. Some may say that I'm a fanboy, but I am not. Thhis game is just perfect in almost all aspects. I'll explain the almost later on.

    STORY - 9--------------------------------------
    Marcus Fenix and his beefed up friends are on the ship Sovereign, after the events of Gears of War 2 and the intervening novels. The story is very engaging in itself, and if you've read the novels, it'll be twice the fun. Key events and characters of the novels are introduced in the game, although the novels are still worth a read. Without giving too much away, I can say that there'll be a moment even more emotional than Dom and Maria's reunion in Gears 2. This 'moment' has been praised by many critics, and I'll side by them. It really emphasises that this is the last chapter in Marcus' story. Gears series veterans will get their fill, and although some questions still remain unanswered, it is still a blast.

    GAMEPLAY - 10----------------------------------
    The gameplay is perfect. I mean perfect. Right off the bat I noticed the improved controls, and although there wasn't anything wrong with the near -perfect controls in Gears 2, Gears 3 pales them by comparison. The variety is amazing. After battling through the guts of a Riftworm and riding Brumaks and Reavers in Gears 2, I thought that there was nothing that could out-epic it. But Epic Games has made Gears 2 look like a pre-release demo. You'll drop tickers on huge a Lambent Leviathan, fly 'Gas Bags Airways', ride in 'Baird's Favourute Kind of Toy', kill a Lambent Beserker and much more in the campaign. The new Lambent enemies are a blast, literally. The combat is more fluid, and almost every fight has multiple approaches. This is the ultimate Third Person Shooter experience.

    GRAPHICS - 9.5----------------------------
    Although not as good as the awesome Crysis 2, Gears is still one of the best looking XBOX games out there. The lighting engine has been improved tenfold. When you'll be slicing Locust in half with a chainsaw, and look at the world with your blood soaked eyes, you'll just want to stop and watch that perfect moment for an eternity. The level of chaos that the engine can handle has increased from Epic to Ultra-Epic. The FPS is usually solid, and is much better than Crysis 2, but can still slow down just for a second, although it isn't detrimental from gameplay. And of course, seeing someone's head blown to Kingdom Come just after you've squeezed the trigger on that Longshot, or them ggetting blown into pink mist after a One Shot shot, etcetera etcetera, never gets old. MULTIPLAYER - 8.5--------------------------------
    I realize that most of the people reading this will be from US, or Europe, or from China, Japan or Singapore. And that those people will never have any problems with connection. But in India, Trying to get a game is a nightmare come to life. The only times I have connected, I've had more fun than I've ever had in my life, but spending more time reading 'no suitable matches found' than being in the action, is not my definition of fun, exactly. The new Beast mode is great, and split screen works great, and the new weapons are awesome. And chainsaw is still alive and slicing. But if you live in any place where gaming isn't a very big market, be prepared to play with bots. But then, the bots are really, really good. Insane Versus with bots is way too good, and the only reason this managed to scrape an 8. But otherwise, the multiplayer is 'the ace of diamonds' in my book.

    LASTING APPEAL - 9.5------------------------------------
    The game has an excellent levelling system, with many ribbons and medals to be earned, mutators, characters, weapon executions (Shotgun golf, anybody?) and achievements to be unlocked. Insane difficulty is as tough as ever, perhaps even tougher, as the AI is much better, although how Epic always seems to improve upon 'Perfect' and make reviewers who gave their previous games full scores and said that this is the 'pinnacle of gaming' look like complete idiots, I don't know. And of course, there is Seriously 3.0, for the brave of heart.

    Overall-9.5---------------------------------------------
    | +Gameplay
    | +Graphics
    | +ACT III
    | +Epicness
    | -Connection problems

    The game is awesome, and multiplayer problems left alone, perfect. Do yourself a favour, run out of your house, get a copy, run back home, put the disk in, and enjoy.
    Expand
  21. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    I hope that this is not the end of Gears of War, because this game is awesome! Few shooters have ever been as addicting as Gears of War 3 because of the difficulty and the amazing weapons. I hope this isn't the end of Gears of War.
  22. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is the most polished, fined tuned game of the series. Epic Games really has taken nearly every problem found in the previous installment and fined tuned it. The games more colorful palette of levels is beautiful and finally moves away from the dreary, dark shades of Gears 1 and 2. The multiplayer is the most addictive of the series, with dedicated servers that finallyGears of War 3 is the most polished, fined tuned game of the series. Epic Games really has taken nearly every problem found in the previous installment and fined tuned it. The games more colorful palette of levels is beautiful and finally moves away from the dreary, dark shades of Gears 1 and 2. The multiplayer is the most addictive of the series, with dedicated servers that finally eliminated the dreaded host advantage. The new weapons like the Retro Lancer and the Digger are welcome new entries into the Gears weaponry. The controls are tight and there is less times where I have been stuck on cover. The story has the classic cheesy-ness that Gears is known for but also comes with some very emotional surprises that fans that followed all 3 games will truly appreciate. Horde mode is a even more addicting mode than it was in Gears 2. With tower defense strategy and boss modes, it is a whole new beast. Beast was also a nice addition. Being the Locust Horde is one of the best parts about this game. For any shooter fan this is a must buy but new comers be warned, Gears still has a tough learning curve. Expand
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Gears of war 3 was in fact a great game. Though there should be a few tweeks on multiplayer and horde mode. The campaign was in fact the most memorable part of the game. I really liked the certain aspects of game such as the new guns and side parts of missions you play. Lastly, people who gave it a 0 are PS3 fans so don't rely on their information. Just like XBOX fans that bag on UnchartedGears of war 3 was in fact a great game. Though there should be a few tweeks on multiplayer and horde mode. The campaign was in fact the most memorable part of the game. I really liked the certain aspects of game such as the new guns and side parts of missions you play. Lastly, people who gave it a 0 are PS3 fans so don't rely on their information. Just like XBOX fans that bag on Uncharted 3 and Infamous. Expand
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    With this being my first Gears of War for me(beyond playing with my friends), I really enjoyed the 3rd-person shooting, and this surely does not disappoint! I didn't pre-order it but got it that week of release and haven't turned back. -The campaign i have to give 9/10 just because I was a tad bit lost during parts of it. -But the multiplayer they fixed any problems(the one-shot shotgun)With this being my first Gears of War for me(beyond playing with my friends), I really enjoyed the 3rd-person shooting, and this surely does not disappoint! I didn't pre-order it but got it that week of release and haven't turned back. -The campaign i have to give 9/10 just because I was a tad bit lost during parts of it. -But the multiplayer they fixed any problems(the one-shot shotgun) without messing with its cohesiveness. 8/10 for the multiplayer.
    -What REALLY sold me was Horde, which I played with my friends on Gears2. THAT is the keepsake. Major innovation and continuation right there. From Gears2 to Gears3, horde has gone a drastic, for the better, change. 10/10
    I am not going to be a Gears fan boy and give it a 10 out of 10 but as a more or less impartial player I'll give it a 9/10
    Expand
  25. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Best GOW ever so much game for $60 well worth every penny. Best graphics to date for the 360. So many ways to play, so much to do, VS, Horde, Campaign, Beast mode, and Arcade style.
  26. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    We know that Epic Games are good at what they do.
    However, I was never a huge fan och Gears of War 1-2 and the third installment doesn't change my opinion of the franchise.
    Gears of war 3 is more of the same with emphasis on more. You rarely see this much content in a triple A title now a days with out having to pay for expansions. What's new in Gears 3 is the upgraded Horde mode, Beast
    We know that Epic Games are good at what they do.
    However, I was never a huge fan och Gears of War 1-2 and the third installment doesn't change my opinion of the franchise.

    Gears of war 3 is more of the same with emphasis on more. You rarely see this much content in a triple A title now a days with out having to pay for expansions.

    What's new in Gears 3 is the upgraded Horde mode, Beast mode and Arcade mode.
    Beast mode lets you play as the locust and it's probably my favorite mode.

    I have spent over 40 hours playing the campaign, horde and beast mode.
    I'm personally not interested in the player vs player modes but if you are, get ready to spend another 40 hours in there too.

    Gears of War 3 is a lot of game for its price.
    Expand
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Great graphics and art direction. Gameplay is very familiar and I enjoy the learning curve it takes to be good at this game. Only negative is the servers are not so great if you are overseas.
  28. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This game took up a lot of my time. In a good way lol. It delivered great graphics, even when in 3D. The gameplay was as always action packed and a great story line which wraps all the prior games. The multiplayer is awesome with all the new modes, I specifically love Beast mode, in this mode you get to play as the locust(bad guys) agains human AI, my only complain about this is that itThis game took up a lot of my time. In a good way lol. It delivered great graphics, even when in 3D. The gameplay was as always action packed and a great story line which wraps all the prior games. The multiplayer is awesome with all the new modes, I specifically love Beast mode, in this mode you get to play as the locust(bad guys) agains human AI, my only complain about this is that it only gives you 12 waves, which go by pretty quick. But besides that I have spent many hours with friends online raging it up. Expand
  29. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Best Gears of War to date, and a strong point for getting an xbox if you are looking for a console game platform. Campaign, while having disappointingly ugly cut scenes that run in sub par standard definition even on an hd tv with hdmi cables will shake you out of the spell the campaign weaves. This takes away only slightly from the solid gameplay and movie like grandeur that is the GoW3Best Gears of War to date, and a strong point for getting an xbox if you are looking for a console game platform. Campaign, while having disappointingly ugly cut scenes that run in sub par standard definition even on an hd tv with hdmi cables will shake you out of the spell the campaign weaves. This takes away only slightly from the solid gameplay and movie like grandeur that is the GoW3 campaign. Mulitplayer is the reason that this will really hold your attention in the end though. With co op campaign, and many new game modes like beast mode you will spend hours with your friends chainsawing through the day. Through my time with this game I have found it to be the most fun I've had online in a LONG time. Playing horde all day is something that is a relief from the frustration of campers and just general serious tone of FPS multiplayer games. Expand
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    A fine way to end the trilogy. Epic gave us a very good finish to the adventures of Marcus, Dom, Cole, and Baird. It looked great, the sound was beautiful, and the story was exciting and strong. Multiplayer has been improved over GOW2, but not as fun as the first one.
  31. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    the ultimate gears of war experience, A great story that perfectly ties the series together, perfected combat with a great addition of a few weapons and a load of content that can be played with friends. One of the best games i have ever played and it continues to to be the best gears of war game ever made. A huge list of unique maps as well as many added via dlc, horde mode is perfectedthe ultimate gears of war experience, A great story that perfectly ties the series together, perfected combat with a great addition of a few weapons and a load of content that can be played with friends. One of the best games i have ever played and it continues to to be the best gears of war game ever made. A huge list of unique maps as well as many added via dlc, horde mode is perfected and a load of fun with friends and the campaign is highly replayable due to the addition of arcade mode in that quest to out do your friends high scores.

    a perfect third person action game
    Expand
  32. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Pretty good game, the only complaint I have is in multiplayer the one shotgun feels way too overpowered, the campaign also isnt the main feature on this game which is disappointing because I was hoping for an epic end to the trilogy
  33. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    It's the Gears of War experience that I have known and loved over the years with an awesome conclusion. The multiplayer is the best they've done and it is tons of fun if you get a bunch of friends together on Xbox Live. Horde mode is probably the biggest overall improvement to the formula. You and friends can dump hours of mindless Locust killing into this mode now complete with upgrades!It's the Gears of War experience that I have known and loved over the years with an awesome conclusion. The multiplayer is the best they've done and it is tons of fun if you get a bunch of friends together on Xbox Live. Horde mode is probably the biggest overall improvement to the formula. You and friends can dump hours of mindless Locust killing into this mode now complete with upgrades! The story mode is fun too with a really nice conclusion and some awesome set pieces. Overall and fantastic third person shooter! Expand
  34. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Epic End to an Epic series and for that I dished out 150 for the epic edition as well as the DLC and 400 for the limited edition gears of war 3 Xbox. Gears of War 3 is beautiful in the graphics department compared to many of the games out there. Yes Gears of War 3 has the same feel and adds a few new things here and there. However it wouldn't be Gears of War if they reinvented the game.Epic End to an Epic series and for that I dished out 150 for the epic edition as well as the DLC and 400 for the limited edition gears of war 3 Xbox. Gears of War 3 is beautiful in the graphics department compared to many of the games out there. Yes Gears of War 3 has the same feel and adds a few new things here and there. However it wouldn't be Gears of War if they reinvented the game. Gears of War 3 is meant to be played with your friends. No bro's your mostly likely going to hate this game then. Find friends and play on insane I dare you to run and gun. The plot is like a Hollywood movie, but ill roll with it bender. Horde mode 2.0 is freaking amazing with friends, member you have to have friends. multiplayer is always a blast; the addition of the sawed off shot gun and digger makes those campers run. Beast mode is a fresh new take, I always wanted to play as a berserker woot. While its not a perfect 10 Gears of War 3 is by far the best game style of its kind. Expand
  35. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Gears of War 3 is very much the same as Gears of War 2 in the gameplay aspect. However the multiplayer is a million times better, and always feels smooth. The graphics are somewhat polished and the story is taking a remarkeble turn. Gears of War 3 gives the players more of what we allready liked and takes it one level higher. Still you miss something new and creative.
  36. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Gears of war 3 is a fantastic thriller that will leave you wanting more. The movement in the game is still the same as the last Gears , but makes up for it with the new game mode Beast . The Horde game mode has been changed but for the better now adding more features such as a decoy all the way to a purchasable turret. This also has the potential to shock most Gears fans in the new Campaign mode.
  37. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    Story: 8/10 a great story Presentation: 9.5/10 Great Graphics: 10/10 Outstanding visuals
    Sound and Voice Acting: 9/10 great AI Physics: 8/10 great
    Gameplay:10/10 Amazing stuning and rush gameplay keep you busy with hordes.i speciatlly recommend to all gamers who loves to play shooters in better enviorments with great actions...worth to play..
    Overall: 9.1 a great story telling in less time
  38. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    I wasn't the biggest fan of Gears of War before part 2, I honestly never played part 1. I really enjoyed part 2 and that's what started my craze, if you can call it that, with Gears of War. Once part 3 came out, it was over. I've never played a game where each level is like its own mini war, with all the back and forth action, it's crazy. It's not exactly story driven like others haveI wasn't the biggest fan of Gears of War before part 2, I honestly never played part 1. I really enjoyed part 2 and that's what started my craze, if you can call it that, with Gears of War. Once part 3 came out, it was over. I've never played a game where each level is like its own mini war, with all the back and forth action, it's crazy. It's not exactly story driven like others have said, but if you're looking for a game with a great engine and tremendous action, Gears of War 3 is the game. Expand
  39. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    Great game. Great story, great graphics, great gameplay. Takes the multiplayer to another level as well. The constant stream of downloadable content will continue to keep this game fresh.
  40. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    This is no doubt the ultimate Gears of War experience. the multiplayer is one of the best right now on the 360 thanks to the perfect balance that Epic Games Has Achieved in weapons, map desing and modes (team Deathmach is my personal favorite), in the co-op multiplayer departament Beast is a funny inclusion yet i wish it was far more complete overall because is way to short, Horde 2.0 ModeThis is no doubt the ultimate Gears of War experience. the multiplayer is one of the best right now on the 360 thanks to the perfect balance that Epic Games Has Achieved in weapons, map desing and modes (team Deathmach is my personal favorite), in the co-op multiplayer departament Beast is a funny inclusion yet i wish it was far more complete overall because is way to short, Horde 2.0 Mode is great but the bosses every 10 waves are dificult in an annoing way which brings me to the campaing that is hit or miss, delivering with some awesome action sequences and twists but with some serious lack of gripping moments, at the end the game delivers the best Gears experience but fails to do something new and ground breaking Expand
  41. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    The Best Shooter of the Year. Unlike other games, this game has amazing and conectable characters.And the characters in this game chainsaw aliens in half. The most complete trilogy of shooter games. Yes even more then Uncharted. The action is spectacular the story is amazing. Do yourself a favor and go buy it. And if you don't have an xbox. Go buy a 360 and Gears 3. You'll thank me.
  42. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Horde mode is back on this game and its a lot better than it was in the second game. its seen a few important tweaks, theres more varied enemy types, new boss battles on the tenth rounds and bases and a money earning element has been added. also added is game modifiers. this keeps this mode fresh for much longer. a new mode called beast mode is a twist on horder and is fairly decent butHorde mode is back on this game and its a lot better than it was in the second game. its seen a few important tweaks, theres more varied enemy types, new boss battles on the tenth rounds and bases and a money earning element has been added. also added is game modifiers. this keeps this mode fresh for much longer. a new mode called beast mode is a twist on horder and is fairly decent but shorter lived than horde. its easier, shorter and less fleshed out i think, but not a bad effort. the other vs multiplayer modes are back and with a couple of additions like deathmatch, where lives are in play. im not as keen on this as the more traditional gears modes, kind of loses the gears feel. oh importantly the bugs have gone from gears 2 liek the no weapon glitch and the crippling lag. ive barely played any gmaes in gears 3 where lag has been a factor, especially in ranked matches where servers have been implemented. decent upgrade from gears 1 and 2 in the mp side of things. The multiplayer has been well supported so far with occasional patches,dlc and in the form of playlists. a playlist has been added which takes away the sawnoff shotgun and makes it a pickup, this is great as a hate that weapon. Expand
  43. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    Pretty good all around, very polished. what more do i need to say. retro lancer rocks..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  44. Jan 2, 2012
    9
    Overall, if you're looking for a great shooter this is definitely a great choice. Single player starts off weak, but soon enough becomes very action orientated and much more emotional. Graphics are great, as well as co op and multi-player. The different multiplayer modes are tons of fun and for the most part balanced along with nice looking maps. Co-op modes, "beast" and "horde" modes areOverall, if you're looking for a great shooter this is definitely a great choice. Single player starts off weak, but soon enough becomes very action orientated and much more emotional. Graphics are great, as well as co op and multi-player. The different multiplayer modes are tons of fun and for the most part balanced along with nice looking maps. Co-op modes, "beast" and "horde" modes are probably where you will send most of your time with this game. Story- 8/10
    Multiplayer- 9/10
    Visuals- 9/10
    Expand
  45. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    The game is very good but i have one question??? Epic...........Why why why in the name of god, why you killed Dominic Santiago
    Graphics:10 Fun:10 Campaign:8
  46. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    Remarkably similar to Gears 2, but hardly a bad game. The campaign was excellent as always and the mutli-player is a real step up. It's only real flaw was its lack of innovation.
  47. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Gears of War 3 is a magnificent game!! However, the story felt forced and rushed and at some points made me flinch. However, like in Gears 2, was much more character driven. The ending saga for the world-renowned and immensely popular video game franchise had a satisfying conclusion. For the first time players were able to explore Sera's surface instead of the battlegrounds in ruinedGears of War 3 is a magnificent game!! However, the story felt forced and rushed and at some points made me flinch. However, like in Gears 2, was much more character driven. The ending saga for the world-renowned and immensely popular video game franchise had a satisfying conclusion. For the first time players were able to explore Sera's surface instead of the battlegrounds in ruined cities, sinkholes, or Locust tunnels. The tale of a world on the brink of total collapse while facing the Lambent threat was engaging, suspenseful, and had me intrigued. The graphics looks awesome, the gameplay is excellent and very refined! Enemies are fun, smart, and powerful. I enjoyed fighting both Lambent and Locust. Cutscenes were excellent, and the music was great! Online multiplayer is VERY fun, and keeps you wanting more. I enjoyed how every aspect and mode of the game are all interlinked. The online maps are AMAZING, unlike any other game. Down to the basics, Gears 3 is just fun and addicting! The conclusion to the story was great, and for the first time in a long time I felt totally satisfied by how a game ended. Gears of War 3 is a game no one should miss! keep it up Epic!! Expand
  48. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    My other half turned me in to Gears fan was playing Gears 2 one night and could not wait for 3 to come out. Just nice to have a game with a good story and fun stuff to kill :)
  49. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    Great game all around. Game play was solid, no notable flaws to be found. I found the story to be a grea continuation of the previous installments, hard to imagine a better or more fitting ending for the series. Marcus's obvious anguish at the loss of his brother in arms, Coles comment "Did you ever feel like you died...and no one told you?" and Anya's subtle support of Marcus throughoutGreat game all around. Game play was solid, no notable flaws to be found. I found the story to be a grea continuation of the previous installments, hard to imagine a better or more fitting ending for the series. Marcus's obvious anguish at the loss of his brother in arms, Coles comment "Did you ever feel like you died...and no one told you?" and Anya's subtle support of Marcus throughout the game all added up to a story I could believe in. Great work, hope to see mroe titles from them in the future. Expand
  50. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    If your a fan of the Gear's series, you have to pick this one up. I feel the ending was a little abrupt, but it was an overall good game. The multiplayer complements the campaign well and i love the fluent and fast paced gameplay.
  51. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Ive played gears of war since the begining in 2006 And i have to say that Gears of war 3 is the ultimate gears game. Or the ultimate game for anyone who loves gore infested action. This game totaly rocks! The only con i come to think about is that they made the game a bit too easy for newcomers...
  52. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Two years after Jacinto fell humanity has been scattered into remote areas of Sera. The Locust have been pushed out of the tunnels and also into hiding, but worst of all the Lambent threat grows day by day. When Marcus Fenix receives a message from his long dead father Adam Fenix speaking of a last hope for humanity, he and Dom begin a search to find Delta Squad, reunite them and end theTwo years after Jacinto fell humanity has been scattered into remote areas of Sera. The Locust have been pushed out of the tunnels and also into hiding, but worst of all the Lambent threat grows day by day. When Marcus Fenix receives a message from his long dead father Adam Fenix speaking of a last hope for humanity, he and Dom begin a search to find Delta Squad, reunite them and end the war for Sera once and for all.
    Gears of War 3 is a stunning conclusion to the GoW trilogy, it combines the best gameplay with pretty graphics (for once in the entire series) and a well written story, not to mention giving a satisfying ending that ties up all loose ends. However GoW3 seemed a bit underwhelming, it is meant to be a large scale game and instead felt no bigger than the first game. However the games final acts really give you the feeling of an all out war, also too many Lambent and not enough Locust.
    Expand
  53. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Gears has never let me down and this one was the best in the whole series. Campaign was awesome, some bits made me sad, laugh and even cheer. Versus is bigger and awesome. Horde is just the next level. Beast is great new feature but does not keep me interrested as much as everything else. Great end to the Gears series! Gears of War 3 9.7/10
  54. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    Gears of war 3 is the best game in the series,it has the best graphics and very fun multiplayer it is also very polished,but i must say i expected a bit more from the story and there were some pop in textures and some glitches so yes it's far from perfect but overall it's an awesome game!
  55. May 7, 2012
    9
    Gears of War 3 is the climax of the series - bigger louder better than the rest. The series has definitely matured greatly from the initial outing, but all the same techniques are there. Reload right, jump over stuff, duck and cover. Not surprisingly different, but with AAA popcorn like this, who needs surprises. Great stuff!
  56. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    One and a half year late to review this game, but after watching the very regular game that Judgment was, Gears of War 3 is the definitive game of the Gears series. It doesn't have that campaign that originally described the first Gears of War, but it's very solid and it doesn't demand more. The most important part of the game is the online multiplayer. You may spend hours and hours in theOne and a half year late to review this game, but after watching the very regular game that Judgment was, Gears of War 3 is the definitive game of the Gears series. It doesn't have that campaign that originally described the first Gears of War, but it's very solid and it doesn't demand more. The most important part of the game is the online multiplayer. You may spend hours and hours in the different modes of the game. The whole package it's very solid. Gears of War 3 is one of the best third person shooters of this generation. Expand
  57. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Amazing game. Went to the 12 am premiere and even this hot girl went with my friend. Great game good maps solid guns other than sawed off that gun is for gays. Sawed off is stupid sawed off sucks it prevents this game from getting a ten.
  58. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    The best 3rd person shooter I have ever played... The graphics are amazing and the game play is brilliant. I love horde and beast mode and multi player is a big step up from gears of war 2 with the dedicated servers. The campaign is also amazing and the storyline is great... I just can't wait until judgement!
  59. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    This game is huge and amazingly well done. Playing with friends have a different level. Its almost infinite as Gears of War 3 have multiple game modes apart from the regular campaign in my opinion, the best campaign was the Gears of War 2 one), it has a lot of modes such as beast, horde and the classic matchmaking modes that all we know. As for the game-play, i must say that this game itsThis game is huge and amazingly well done. Playing with friends have a different level. Its almost infinite as Gears of War 3 have multiple game modes apart from the regular campaign in my opinion, the best campaign was the Gears of War 2 one), it has a lot of modes such as beast, horde and the classic matchmaking modes that all we know. As for the game-play, i must say that this game its in a ground-braking level compared with the industry's standards. The arsenal has become bigger and much more versatile. I recommend everyone to play this game. If you have a Xbox you must buy this piece of entertaining game. My score is a 9 because what I said before; the campaign its kind of less-spectacular than the previous ones. It´s always the same: kill bunch of Locusts then open a door, cinematic, and repeat the cycle until you finish. I'm not saying that is bad but it could be much more Epic (Games) Expand
  60. Jan 28, 2013
    9
    This game has the one of the best history ever with your war artnersi will give my score for all the modes
    Campaign 11
    Multi 7 Beast 9 Horde 10
    9,25
  61. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Gears of War 3 is an amazing game, and the best game in the franchise. It gives a fantastic story, amazing and gritty shooter game play, and great characterization in a single game. Playing this, I expected it to have a cut rate story, that wouldn't match the first two, as I've seen that as a growing trend in modern shooters. My expectations were wrong, Gears 3 has an amazing storyline,Gears of War 3 is an amazing game, and the best game in the franchise. It gives a fantastic story, amazing and gritty shooter game play, and great characterization in a single game. Playing this, I expected it to have a cut rate story, that wouldn't match the first two, as I've seen that as a growing trend in modern shooters. My expectations were wrong, Gears 3 has an amazing storyline, that does the first two justice. The game play is great as well, giving you guns that don't feel overpowered, or underpowered. The cover mechanics felt natural, and I never found myself sticking to cover that I didn't want to use. The characterization in Gears 3 is amazing. I found myself constantly laughing at witty one-liners that epic put in at just the right moment, and the voice acting was spot on. This game is great, and if you have a 360, I would highly recommend it. Expand
  62. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    9/10

    GOW VET!
    Asides from one OP weapon,(Retro) this is the best in the series,
    Ignore all the boys who can not beast with out host now!

    This game STILL has dedicated servers!
    Horde is loads of fun also!
  63. May 29, 2013
    9
    Another great sequel to the series! This conclusion to the series is an absolute blast! The campaign is EXPLOSIVE, co-op is awesome, and MP (again) is a fun experience! To bad it didn't have the same "spark" 2 had and this being the (proper) finale to the series, unlike Judgement.
  64. May 30, 2013
    9
    To me, Gears of War 3 is the pinnacle of the entire Gears universe. It took everything about Gears and made it better. The graphics for previous Gears of War tended to be dark, washed over colors that didn't provide a whole lot of stuff to look at and in its defense, Gears of War is set in a war torn world, but Gears 3 just made the graphics feel alive. There were so many more colors addedTo me, Gears of War 3 is the pinnacle of the entire Gears universe. It took everything about Gears and made it better. The graphics for previous Gears of War tended to be dark, washed over colors that didn't provide a whole lot of stuff to look at and in its defense, Gears of War is set in a war torn world, but Gears 3 just made the graphics feel alive. There were so many more colors added despite its setting and it worked wonderfully. The controls felt a lot better and I just had fun running around. The multiplayer is still not user friendly, but is finally balanced. If you want to use a lancer to kill people, you can. It just takes a little practice and if you want to use a shotgun, you can. The story is an epic conclusion to one of my favorite game series of all time and many tears were had during the campaign. It brought back horde, but added a fortification system in which you build barriers and turrets to help your fight against the locust. It also added boss battles in horde and added a new level of challenge. They made a whole new mode, beast mode, in which you play as the locust trying to kill the COG. Overall, it's the best Gears of the entire series and has great replay value. Worth every dollar you spend. Expand
  65. Jun 1, 2013
    9
    Amazing game, anybody who says different just go play a less unique unoriginal game because clearly this game is to complicated for you.
  66. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    This is my favorite game on the Xbox 360. It may even be the best game I've ever played. The Gears of War franchise has always been near and dear to my heart, providing smooth and intense 3rd-person game play that is tactical as well as brutal and frenetic. I must have dumped 300+ hours into this game over the years. The campaign is one of the best I've ever experienced, offering a lengthyThis is my favorite game on the Xbox 360. It may even be the best game I've ever played. The Gears of War franchise has always been near and dear to my heart, providing smooth and intense 3rd-person game play that is tactical as well as brutal and frenetic. I must have dumped 300+ hours into this game over the years. The campaign is one of the best I've ever experienced, offering a lengthy (around 10 hours) and cinematic experience that impressed me on all fronts. Act 3 is one of the best gaming experiences of all time and warrants a purchase itself. The multiplayer is superb and refined, and the horde mode is better than ever. This game screams replay value. I got it the day it came out and I still play it today, 3 years later. This is truly one of the best games I've ever played. Expand
  67. Dec 10, 2014
    9
    A great way to end the Gears Of War trilogy. Great amounts of gore and fun in this game. Play it, it's pretty cheap now.

    Verdict:
    An awesome game that ends the GOW trilogy very well.
    9/10
  68. Jul 2, 2014
    9
    This is my first game of GoW series. This game is absolutely enjoyable and very good. Especially i laughed a lot for Cole. About story, its not boring and you want to play all day. And the ending i suprised very much. If you got a Xbox 360, you have to play this game. If you don't you will be miss a lot of things.
  69. Sep 22, 2011
    8
    i wasnt to sure what to expect from gears 3 . i loved the first didnt like the second so wasnt sure if epic was gona deliver . they did in some ways and failed in others . i'll start off where they messed up . first off the story mode wasnt very good even now with 4 player co op which is great is brought down by its lack of any real story telling. gears of war 1 and 2 raised soooo manyi wasnt to sure what to expect from gears 3 . i loved the first didnt like the second so wasnt sure if epic was gona deliver . they did in some ways and failed in others . i'll start off where they messed up . first off the story mode wasnt very good even now with 4 player co op which is great is brought down by its lack of any real story telling. gears of war 1 and 2 raised soooo many questions that i was hoping this game was gona answer. unfortunitly it didnt answer really any of them . the game has you pushing one fight to another to get to marcuses father with little to any thing new being told in the story or much of any thing answered. theres a few good boss fights like the glowing berzerker and the final boss fight was pretty well done . the ending left alot to be desired. again though much like the firs,t gears 3 is just littered with bugs and glitches which to me is unaceptable seeing as this game was done months ago . you will have problems with the ammo crates not refilling your ammo or certain guns , doors and ladders to climb wont let you use them to progress through the level so you will have to reload from last chack point., ive gotten stuck on walls , game frooze a few times and having none of the controls work after a cut sceane. i have no desire to ever play the story mode ever again . now for the good and for alot prolly the most important. the online mode is back to being fun again like gears 1 was. the shot gun works like its suppose to , the game plays on dedicated servers so true skill can shine through over host advantage . the new maps are all very well done . im pretty sure i played all the maps as ive spent about 10+ hours in multiplayer and cant say i really hated any of them . though i wish they added more of the classic maps . only one they have is a redone gridlock which is nice but would have liked mansion and war machine and some others as well ... maybe in some future DLC. the online is just smooth and alot of fun i feel like i did over 5 years ago playing gears 1 with my old friends again just having a blast. if a great online game is all you wanted then gears is for you . if you wanted and where hoping for the total package well you will be disappointed abit . over all though gears 3 is worth buying as it will keep you busy with the online for many months im sure. Expand
  70. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    The pinnacle of the series.

    Campaign: AMazing story as always from this game.
    Multiplayer: At first it felt just like any other GOW game, but as I played I noticed and felt the differences. Team Deathmatch is amazing.
    Horde 2.0 = Holy Horde BATMAN! A lot of fun to play with friends.

    OVERALL, A winner for the XBOX to own this series.
  71. Oct 12, 2014
    8
    This is one of those rare games that strikes a balance of good single-player and multiplayer components. I found myself a bit uninterested from time to time, but the Gears formula that has earned it countless awards and tens of millions of units sold is here and better than ever.
  72. Sep 20, 2011
    8
    When I first started playing this, I was going to give it a 7 due to the first third of the campaign being quite dull. But it really picks up after that. Some very nice 'holy **** moments in it and even a very emotional bit too. Haven't played the mp yet but the sp is very solid after the first third. If you like Gears, you will like this. The best one of the three. Much prettier moreWhen I first started playing this, I was going to give it a 7 due to the first third of the campaign being quite dull. But it really picks up after that. Some very nice 'holy **** moments in it and even a very emotional bit too. Haven't played the mp yet but the sp is very solid after the first third. If you like Gears, you will like this. The best one of the three. Much prettier more refined gameplay. Expand
  73. May 8, 2012
    8
    Full disclosure, I have not fired up multiplayer. There is no way mutliplayer in Gears 3 can be worse than Gears 2. Gears 3 has a few inventive set pieces and a handful of intense firefights, but Gears 2 really outshines all that Gears 3 offers. Remember fighting your way through a giant worm, fighting off a killer fish, riding a Brumack, drilling into Sera to fight the Grubs on their homeFull disclosure, I have not fired up multiplayer. There is no way mutliplayer in Gears 3 can be worse than Gears 2. Gears 3 has a few inventive set pieces and a handful of intense firefights, but Gears 2 really outshines all that Gears 3 offers. Remember fighting your way through a giant worm, fighting off a killer fish, riding a Brumack, drilling into Sera to fight the Grubs on their home turf, the Sire's, and Cole Train's speech over the PA system? That was all in Gears of War 2. It was great. Gears of War 3 gives us less of the same. Riding an inflated beast thing was interesting, but the beast catapults were boring. Seriously, catapults versus helicopters? Helicopters can move in all axis and thus helicopters would win every time. Many of the firefights in Gears 3 were a chore. The area of play is quite small on each level. Compare the battlefields of Gears 3 to Halo: Reach. In Gears 3 you have a few tiny fences the players cannot cross, steps down that the players cannot go back up, and piles of rubble blatantly placed to pen in the player. The good games (like Halo: Reach) have moved beyond invisible walls to give us an almost open world feel. (And then, of course, there are the open world games). The levels in Gears 3 are stuck in the mid 2000s. The story doesn't help. From start to finish, Gears 3 is just another road movie. You go from point A, a sinking ship, to point B, a secret island. All the battles in between thus feel like they get in the way of your progress. At the very end, when you do storm that secret island, you finally feel like you are really working toward something. All in all, Gears 3 is a fun game. There was that moment near the end where time got away from me. Some of the weapons are also noteworthy. The One-Shot does what it says and is fun to use. Another fun weapon is a machine gun tied to an ammo pack. You hold the gun while a teammate has to carry around the ammo. The Retro-Lancer had me running around maps looking for enemies to bayonet. Clearly the developers know what is fun and what isn't. To me, it seem they used up all of their best ideas in the second installment. Expand
  74. Jan 5, 2012
    8
    Gears of War 3 was a super fun play. It had fantastic graphics, great mechanics, and there's a chainsaw on your gun. My issues with this game only resided in the characters and the storyline. I'm definitely not a big fan of fenix, and the story was too cheesy for me. I couldn't really handle it.
  75. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    I like the game. The problem is that i dont love it. Why? Because its the same with gow 2. It is definately a must for gow fans. The same goes for halo games. The are a must for their fans. If you are not a fan then maybe you find it repetitive.
  76. Dec 28, 2014
    8
    The Gears of War series trilogy concludes with this entry and the people from Epic Games bring us another action packed experience. Subtle refinements can be found throughout, However outside of some expansion to the multiplayer element it doesn't do that much new for the series. Still this is one any 360 owner needs to check out.

    The campaign is exactly what you would expect from a
    The Gears of War series trilogy concludes with this entry and the people from Epic Games bring us another action packed experience. Subtle refinements can be found throughout, However outside of some expansion to the multiplayer element it doesn't do that much new for the series. Still this is one any 360 owner needs to check out.

    The campaign is exactly what you would expect from a Gears game. The four-player co-op has never been better, but outside of a few new enemy types and some great set-pieces it doesn't really do anything new. However it is hard to complain when the action is this solid. It's still a heck of a lot of fun.

    The story behind it all is pretty solid as well. However the emotional moments fall flat due to the way these steroid-pumped heroes have always been presented. It concludes the series well though and manages to have some interesting twists on what we all thought was going on.

    When you're finished with the campaign the massive multiplayer will keep you busy for a very long time. Matches are a blast and the maps are well designed. The co-op modes steal the show however. Horde mode is back and bigger than ever. The beast mode is an interesting twist that puts you in the role of the Locust racing against the time during rounds. Whatever mode you play you are in for hours of fun.

    However multiplayer has one big issue nowadays; you have to buy all the DLC in oder to play on dedicated servers. Not downloading the DLC means no multiplayer for you. You can download the on free map pack and be able to play on host servers so it's not so bad. However in order to experience the full force of it you better be willing to shell out some cash for the DLC. Something to keep in mind if you are planning to rent this game like I did.

    Overall despite it's flaws this is a complete package. It's a fitting end to the story of one of the 360's biggest series. With action and content this tight, it would be foolish for any 360 owner to pass this up.
    Expand
  77. Oct 18, 2011
    8
    nice improvement on the 2nd game. Locations are very different and colorful. Some interestings bosses and enemies. But graphics are not very good, old hardware after all :(
  78. Feb 14, 2012
    8
    This is another reason why people should own a XBOX 360 for. You will easily falling into the game and spend endless hours just for shooting, shooting and shooting. More over, with the great features of multiplayer, one should expect more and more fun, obviously
  79. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    Despite what at first appear to be only relatively minor changes and additions Gears of Wars 3 is without doubt the best in the series. New enemy types, new weapons and spectacular set pieces all help to keep things fresh especially when playing through the campaign with friends. For me the competitive multiplayer is still a bit of a waste of time as it doesn't compare favourably to CallDespite what at first appear to be only relatively minor changes and additions Gears of Wars 3 is without doubt the best in the series. New enemy types, new weapons and spectacular set pieces all help to keep things fresh especially when playing through the campaign with friends. For me the competitive multiplayer is still a bit of a waste of time as it doesn't compare favourably to Call of Duty of Battlefield but this is still a great all round package. Expand
  80. Sep 30, 2011
    8
    Best in the trilogy, Epic has come a long way to refine the storytelling and diversify the gameplay from the original. Good stuff. The graphics impressed me almost as much as the original did a few years ago. Kudos.
  81. Oct 9, 2011
    8
    This game is amazing. The campaign is mostly conclusive, the Horde, Multiplayer and Beast modes are some of the most inginuitive I've ever seen. My only complaint is that the ending seems rushed. By the end of the game, I expected to keep going and figure out why a certain character we first saw in GoW2 is so human-like, but all you get is a "nope, nothing unusual here, just anotherThis game is amazing. The campaign is mostly conclusive, the Horde, Multiplayer and Beast modes are some of the most inginuitive I've ever seen. My only complaint is that the ending seems rushed. By the end of the game, I expected to keep going and figure out why a certain character we first saw in GoW2 is so human-like, but all you get is a "nope, nothing unusual here, just another character." answer. Maybe It'll be answered better in future DLC. Expand
  82. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    This is an overall great game. I would recomend it to anyone. There are a few things that bug me tho that a normal gamer may not even notice. The multiplayer can be glitchy. I often find myself playing as Marcus when I chose Carmine as my character and it can get annoying. Also I didn't get to keep any of my Beta unlocks because I was unaware that you needed your saves to keep them, IThis is an overall great game. I would recomend it to anyone. There are a few things that bug me tho that a normal gamer may not even notice. The multiplayer can be glitchy. I often find myself playing as Marcus when I chose Carmine as my character and it can get annoying. Also I didn't get to keep any of my Beta unlocks because I was unaware that you needed your saves to keep them, I assumed multiplayer unlocks were saved online as they should be. So you cant play multiplayer at a friends house because you need your saved data. My only other complaint is the campaign script. Cheesy, corny punch lines one after another. Its hard to take the characters seriously at times. Besides those few minor issues, this is a great game. The multiplayer gameplay is unmatched fun and the variety of ways to play online means for endless fun. Horde, Beast, Versus, and Arcade modes give you plenty of hours of fun gameplay. Not to mention, there is nothing more satisfying then blowing and enemy to bits with one shot from your Gnasher. The campaign is very gripping and will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time with many plot twists and unexpected turns of events. Overall this is an incredably fun game and if you dont have it yet, get your a$$ up and go buy it. Expand
  83. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    Loved the first game and the second one was just ok for me I had some big issues with it. The third game has now come out and after beating it I honestly feel like it falls somewhere in the middle. The first being a 9 for me and the second being a 6 or 7 I feel very comfortable with an 8. Didn't reach what I had hoped it would but still a lot of fun. I love the Gears franchise its myLoved the first game and the second one was just ok for me I had some big issues with it. The third game has now come out and after beating it I honestly feel like it falls somewhere in the middle. The first being a 9 for me and the second being a 6 or 7 I feel very comfortable with an 8. Didn't reach what I had hoped it would but still a lot of fun. I love the Gears franchise its my favorite on 360 but I worry about it going stale. I felt like it took 2 steps back with 2 and a step forward with 3. Expand
  84. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Gears of War 3 was exactly what I thought it was going to be, a stellar finish to a great trilogy. This third installment included all the things that I thought the second game was missing. To break down the different modes, I will start with the Campaign. The graphics were great, and the implementation of 4 player co-op finally gave a reason for "Baird and Cole". I love the fact that IGears of War 3 was exactly what I thought it was going to be, a stellar finish to a great trilogy. This third installment included all the things that I thought the second game was missing. To break down the different modes, I will start with the Campaign. The graphics were great, and the implementation of 4 player co-op finally gave a reason for "Baird and Cole". I love the fact that I could play the entire story mode with all of my friends instead of having to play through 3 times with different buddies. The story was a bit vague and quick and some sections leave you asking "huh?". Overall the story was action packed and fun.

    Versus is a bit more fair and polished than GoW2 The weapons give balance from what was previously a gnasher fest. Even though people scream that the sawed off is cheap, it really helps balance a game that was plagued by shotgun abusers. The maps and the added modes like Team Death Match (TDM) help to strengthen the game. The ability to grace your guns with skins, and selected from a ton of characters keep the game interesting.

    The bread and butter in my opinion is Horde mode. When playing GoW2's horde mode, I would get bored around wave 30. The new fortifications and boss waves keep the game very interesting. You don't just focus on staying alive and killing, but now saving your money and building up to help you against the horde.
    Expand
  85. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    It's a fun game if you can forgive the transition issues with the story, worth your time and money, oh and don't buy the recent dlc release it's free on November 24th.
  86. Oct 1, 2011
    8
    I haven't finished the game yet, but I felt the need to counteract some of the idiocy in the negative reviews. Firstly, I am a gears of war fan, but have never been a fan of the multiplayer. I saw some guy complaining that it isn't just a 'shotgun war' now, which, to me, means I'll probably actually like it. That's what I hated about the multi in the first two games.

    Anyways I've
    I haven't finished the game yet, but I felt the need to counteract some of the idiocy in the negative reviews. Firstly, I am a gears of war fan, but have never been a fan of the multiplayer. I saw some guy complaining that it isn't just a 'shotgun war' now, which, to me, means I'll probably actually like it. That's what I hated about the multi in the first two games.

    Anyways I've played through the first act in the campaign and spent a good bit of time with the new horde mode and beast mode.

    Horde2.0 is badass- they've added an RTS type element to it, where you build fortifications, turrets, etc, as well as boss waves which are pretty awesome too.

    Beast mode is pretty cool, although it seems like once you get the berserker it's game over humans. It's definitely fun playing around with some of the monsters. Corpsers and bloodmounts are two of my faves.

    Campaign so far is pretty good, although some of the dialogue is kinda terrible. The jokes aren't funny and there are a lot of them. So far, it seems to lack any of the tense moments from the previous games, although I admit that I'm only through the first act, so it is really hard to judge it accurately.

    I currently have no internet connection, but I'm not missing the multiplayer. There is enough single player (or local co-op) content here to completely ignore the online play and have a good time.

    I can understand that this may not be the game for everybody, but there's just no way this game deserves anything less than, say, a 6 or 7. Period.

    Hope you find this useful.
    Expand
  87. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    This game is fun. I played the first 2 GOW games and this one by far has the most balanced competitive multiplayer. The story in this one is probably the weakest of the 3 games. I remember back in the first GOW there were a lot of novel and interesting ideas that hadn't really been done a whole lot in other games. Anybody remember those carnivorous bird things and having to stay in theThis game is fun. I played the first 2 GOW games and this one by far has the most balanced competitive multiplayer. The story in this one is probably the weakest of the 3 games. I remember back in the first GOW there were a lot of novel and interesting ideas that hadn't really been done a whole lot in other games. Anybody remember those carnivorous bird things and having to stay in the light to avoid them? What about how scary the first game was? It seems like Epic kind of let some of the more interesting story and gameplay ideas fall by the way side. It's still fun to play through the story but its definitely not the game's strong point. Horde and competitive multiplayer are where the value lay in this game. The new tower defense aspects of horde are a blast and as I said before, this GOW has the most balanced competitive multiplayer of all three. I've encountered far fewer instances where the people I'm playing with are so much better than me that I can't even touch them than in past GOW games. The game could have been better but it's pretty good as is. Multiplayer is better but story is worse. Expand
  88. Oct 7, 2011
    8
    This was a good ending to a good trilogy (unlike halo which was dragged out) one thing that brings it down for me is the game itself felt a little bit short and the ending could of been a little bit better. At least with Gears Of War 2 there was something after the credits that you were not expecting. One other thing that brings this game down is that they have now started talking Gears OfThis was a good ending to a good trilogy (unlike halo which was dragged out) one thing that brings it down for me is the game itself felt a little bit short and the ending could of been a little bit better. At least with Gears Of War 2 there was something after the credits that you were not expecting. One other thing that brings this game down is that they have now started talking Gears Of War 4. If you are going to make a trilogy STICK TO IT and make something else. Expand
  89. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    i love gears of war . no doubt .Luv epic games .I have been playing it since gears 2 . The story ,graphics ,multiplayer (with offline multiplayer with bots for people not have internet),chracters every thing.Memorable story (i remember i every characters from gears 2).An awesome end to the gears trilogy
  90. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Excellent game, love the multiplayer and the story. Gears are in a league of their own. Only thing i hate is the fact that when playing arcade mode palyers can come and go but when the host is finished it ends the session. Appart from that 1 thing good game.
  91. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    The single player campaign is over the top, confusing, and goofy. However, I did not get this game for single player. I have always thought the Gears of War story-line to be uninteresting and merely an excuse for some violent action sequences. Well, that violent action is still just as fun as in previous Gears titles in my opinion. The multiplayer plays very similarly, yet feels changedThe single player campaign is over the top, confusing, and goofy. However, I did not get this game for single player. I have always thought the Gears of War story-line to be uninteresting and merely an excuse for some violent action sequences. Well, that violent action is still just as fun as in previous Gears titles in my opinion. The multiplayer plays very similarly, yet feels changed drastically by the addition of the sawed-off shotgun and retro lancer. The maps also feel different in style, though perhaps I just haven't played Gears of War 2 in a long time. All in all its a fun game, but nothing "innovative". Expand
  92. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    The Gears of War franchise has always been, to me, the games I play when I am taking a break from the games I play all the time. Don't get me wrong, I have always liked the franchise and I think it has some impressive gameplay, but it has never been the games that spend a long time in my console. The graphics and animation in Gears 3 have been tuned up a bit, and some of the combat hasThe Gears of War franchise has always been, to me, the games I play when I am taking a break from the games I play all the time. Don't get me wrong, I have always liked the franchise and I think it has some impressive gameplay, but it has never been the games that spend a long time in my console. The graphics and animation in Gears 3 have been tuned up a bit, and some of the combat has been refined, but it really doesn't offer too much that is new as far as the campaign goes. As for the multiplayer I have still been waiting for the franchise to move into the territory of customizable weapons and even vehicles, but I have to admit that those hopes may have been a little too ambitious. But I will admit that I have always enjoyed my time in the multiplayer modes and the campaign. The story is passable, and the dialog is a little cheesy at time but I have to admit that I had a lot of fun playing it. I would recommend this game to any Gears fan, or anyone looking for a good 3rd person shooter. Expand
  93. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Good, but still not better than Gears of War. Gears of War was a radical new way of thinking about shooters. Gears of War 3 is the latest, last,and everything the developers wanted the multiplayer to be. Be it single- or multiplayer, Gears of War 3 is satisfying from start until you put the controller down. Nothing new really. Just a bayonet here and a sawed off shotgun there. Still, it isGood, but still not better than Gears of War. Gears of War was a radical new way of thinking about shooters. Gears of War 3 is the latest, last,and everything the developers wanted the multiplayer to be. Be it single- or multiplayer, Gears of War 3 is satisfying from start until you put the controller down. Nothing new really. Just a bayonet here and a sawed off shotgun there. Still, it is a complete package of a game. The only shooter I have bought and will buy for 2011. Expand
  94. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    I like Gears 3 I really do, but it just misses some things I loved about the previous two....one the story is not nearly as good as Gears one or two and it was rather poorly written, the "sad" moments of Gears 3 weren't nearly as sad as the ones from Gears 2. Gameplay is still cover to cover shooting and it isn't bad it just gets really REALLY boring after a while. As always kids areI like Gears 3 I really do, but it just misses some things I loved about the previous two....one the story is not nearly as good as Gears one or two and it was rather poorly written, the "sad" moments of Gears 3 weren't nearly as sad as the ones from Gears 2. Gameplay is still cover to cover shooting and it isn't bad it just gets really REALLY boring after a while. As always kids are just diving everywhere in MP with gnashers, using some ludicrously overpowered and accurate and long range blast to instantly kill or maime me and when I use it I can shoot someone three times with an active reload and they seem to not notice the blood pouring from their backs. Horde 2.0 does a great job though and besides a few details the multiplayer is remarkably solid. Expand
  95. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    this is a very fun game, it is exactly what a game should be like, doing split screen at home, the gameplay is not entirely unique but the game has its own style that hasent changed much scince the first gears of war but is still very good to play and is a lot better than other games on the market, the downsides of this game are, the multiplayer, i cant understand the multiplayer, gears ofthis is a very fun game, it is exactly what a game should be like, doing split screen at home, the gameplay is not entirely unique but the game has its own style that hasent changed much scince the first gears of war but is still very good to play and is a lot better than other games on the market, the downsides of this game are, the multiplayer, i cant understand the multiplayer, gears of war is meant to be carnage and action but muliplayer just seems really slow and boring, but other game modes like horde are the mbest to paly with frends, another ting is that the gameplay hasnt changed too much scince the first gears of war, but the action is mixed up enough that you dont mind and its still as epic as the others Expand
  96. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    I loved the game but a 10 or 9 it does not deserve. the Campaign was overall Ok to good. with some great spots spread out and some other not so great. Some of the dialogue was very childish and scenes could be anticlimactic. And other scenes were fantastic. surprisingly i liked a lot of Baird's lines where in the last games he was a real D-bag. Horde mode was probably the biggestI loved the game but a 10 or 9 it does not deserve. the Campaign was overall Ok to good. with some great spots spread out and some other not so great. Some of the dialogue was very childish and scenes could be anticlimactic. And other scenes were fantastic. surprisingly i liked a lot of Baird's lines where in the last games he was a real D-bag. Horde mode was probably the biggest improvement, the unlocks really kept me and my friends, who really don't like those kinds of game types, play it for hours. the multiplayer would be perfect and my rank for this game would be a ten if it were not for the sawed off shotgun. I HATE IT HATE IT HATE IT. It is the worst thing to have EVER touched Gears. It is an obvious attempt to get people who don't have any skill in videogames to continue playing with an odd connection to the female characters because it seems that the vast majority of sawed offs play as girls. it is the single reason i get off gears every time. I don't know how anyone thought a gun where you either sprint up to someone and shot praying that you hit someone then run away till you wait the awkward 20 second reload time to fire it again or hide behind a wall until someone runs by was a good idea. What kind of gun is it better to not aim? Don't let my rant discourage you from buying the game just beware of the sawed off and if you are reading this and you use the sawed off YOU AREN'T GOOD AT GEARS NO MATTER WHAT YOUR K-D IS I DONT CARE ANYONE WHO USES THE GNASHER CAN YOU THE SAWED OFF BUT 99% OF THE PEOPLE WHO USE THE SAWED OFF CANT GET A KILL WITH THE GNASHER to end on a good note the 4 player co-op was cool and the game was ridiculous on insane and I love you epic games! Expand
  97. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an incredibly fun game and certainly the best Gears release to date. I was a little dissapointed with how the story wrapped up because it just seemed rushed to me but I enjoyed it while it lasted. The multiplayer is FUN if you play with friends otherwise it can get old after a while. It seems that every time i get a gears game I love it and then COD rolls around and i just stop playing it. I don't know why, maybe gears seems more fun and COD seems more business ;) Expand
  98. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Story mode was interesting, though quite a few plotholes were evident, primarily the appearance and disappearance of characters throughout this game. Multiplayer, Horde and Campaign have all improved from the second game.
  99. Aug 30, 2012
    8
    These are the ratings I give this game.
    Console Graphics 9.5 (Best Monster creatures in a game to date. I like the fake blood and gore.)
    Sound 9.5 Gamplay 9 Story 9 Language 5 (but you can turn this off so at this point it gets an 8.5.) Choice of wording 6. I don't like Active poisons or You must kill humans. I also don't like Suicide used in my games but I don't think this is in
    These are the ratings I give this game.
    Console Graphics 9.5 (Best Monster creatures in a game to date. I like the fake blood and gore.)
    Sound 9.5
    Gamplay 9
    Story 9
    Language 5 (but you can turn this off so at this point it gets an 8.5.)
    Choice of wording 6. I don't like Active poisons or You must kill humans. I also don't like Suicide used in my games but I don't think this is in this game. Mutliplayer 9
    Overall 7.5 If it wasn't for the wording or the language I would give this game a 9.
    Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 96
  2. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    65
    Rather than the perfect end to a thrilling series, it seemed like the developers were afraid to take real risks with either the story or the gameplay of Gears 3.
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    Gears of War 3 is a solid game and likely worthy of the praise it's received. I just happen to think it falls a bit flat.
  3. An unmissable, unbeatable offering. [Dec 2011, p.95]