User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1541 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    I admit my concern. I was afraid Gears' formula had worn on me after the second installment. I also admit that I was wrong. So horribly wrong. Gears of War 3 is, without a doubt, the best in the series by a mile and an absolute masterpiece. There is something that sets it apart from the other two. You can feel the dedication that Epic has put into this finale. Everything has been improved.I admit my concern. I was afraid Gears' formula had worn on me after the second installment. I also admit that I was wrong. So horribly wrong. Gears of War 3 is, without a doubt, the best in the series by a mile and an absolute masterpiece. There is something that sets it apart from the other two. You can feel the dedication that Epic has put into this finale. Everything has been improved. The campaign, while never emotionally engaging, is fairly intriguing and supplies some twists I didn't see coming. This game's crown achievement, however, lies in its multiplayer. Everything is streamlined and works brilliantly. There was hardly a game where lag was a problem, and the constant unlocks have kept me addicted. Gears 3 isn't a radical change, but it never really needed it. Instead, Epic has opted to smooth over the wrinkles of the last two. Everything feels smooth and improved. I love, love, LOVE this game. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    First of all please ignore any comments made by blackzkeys or dolar as they seriously should not be on this forum if you give a bad review for gears of war. This last title is by far the best of the lot when it comes to campaign and the story has been great from the beginning. Everyone that I have spoken to who played gears has just said good things like "WOW what an action paced game. TheFirst of all please ignore any comments made by blackzkeys or dolar as they seriously should not be on this forum if you give a bad review for gears of war. This last title is by far the best of the lot when it comes to campaign and the story has been great from the beginning. Everyone that I have spoken to who played gears has just said good things like "WOW what an action paced game. The look and feel of the game is out of this world" This is all true and the multiplayer is really good and a lot of fun. 4 player co-op WOW , how awesome is that. You just can't put the remote down and I guarantee you will play the game more than once with your friends because it is so exciting and fun to play. There is no flaw in gears and I am sad to hear this is the last of the series.Cliffy B is seriously a genius and I cant wait to see what he will come up with next. Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    This game is just epic. Explosions, violence and so much gameplay. Decent length campaign (4 player co-op and arcade mode give more replay value), Horde 2.0 is more of the same, but its still a lot of fun and its not longer about planting boom shields. Beast mode is good fun, if not a bit easy. There's some people complaining about the multiplayer- they're sad because they're gettingThis game is just epic. Explosions, violence and so much gameplay. Decent length campaign (4 player co-op and arcade mode give more replay value), Horde 2.0 is more of the same, but its still a lot of fun and its not longer about planting boom shields. Beast mode is good fun, if not a bit easy. There's some people complaining about the multiplayer- they're sad because they're getting beat, but don't worry you can play with bots on "casual" if you're not up for it. Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    WOW! Lots of ill-informed and stupid reviews here! GOW 3 is a good game, and you won't be fooled by it if you've played the first two. If you don't like 3rd person shooters, stay away! @KyleCrase15, you downvote a game because you don't know how a beta works??? The dev didn't tell you your unlocks weren't going to be there upon the actual game coming out because THAT'S HOW ALL BETAS WORK.WOW! Lots of ill-informed and stupid reviews here! GOW 3 is a good game, and you won't be fooled by it if you've played the first two. If you don't like 3rd person shooters, stay away! @KyleCrase15, you downvote a game because you don't know how a beta works??? The dev didn't tell you your unlocks weren't going to be there upon the actual game coming out because THAT'S HOW ALL BETAS WORK. @Jordan23 I read your "review" three times and couldn't come up with any actual criticism of the game. Your problem with the game seems to be you overhyped it for yourself, and now have issues because it's not the GOTY candidate you thought it might be. Anyway, the game is exactly what you think it is if you've played Gears. Solid 3PS, and doesn't do too much to change the series (which can be a bit of a downer if you thought this was gonna be something it's not.) Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    simply amazing!! putting the minor flaws aside, u know this game will be played online by millions for years to come and that's all i need to know to tell if it's an epic game or not, 11/10!!!!
  6. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Me parece que la saga ha ido mejorando con cada entrega...los graficos, la IA, el multijugador, los escenarios...es definitivamente el mejor juego de la saga y un excelente exponente del genero
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    This game is Epic. After working at gamestop for 3.5 years i can safely say anyone who doesnt like this is either a kid who doesnt know any better, or an adult idiot. Campaign took me about 11 hours on hardcore, the story was amazing, and the scene with Doms Ultimate drama almost made me cry. The ending was equally emotional and epic. The new horde mode is great, once i beat the campaignThis game is Epic. After working at gamestop for 3.5 years i can safely say anyone who doesnt like this is either a kid who doesnt know any better, or an adult idiot. Campaign took me about 11 hours on hardcore, the story was amazing, and the scene with Doms Ultimate drama almost made me cry. The ending was equally emotional and epic. The new horde mode is great, once i beat the campaign on insane i will ensue countless hours in it. The multiplayer is amazing, it finally works, i have played at least 40 games and have not lagged once. Weekly challenges just as Halo Reach help unlock gun skins and such. All the new gun skins are quite a nice touch too. My guns currently have dynamic thunderstorms on them. In the end GOW3 was an epic ending to the series.. Expand
  8. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Just might be the best out of the Gears of War games. The story is well beyond compelling, the graphics are goddamn killer and the gameplay is just the way you would want it.
  9. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    amazing game, the best gears of war, the most complete and the most funny.
    buy it now and enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  10. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    From the looks of it, probably the best gears so far. The multiplayer handles great and no more lag or a distinguishable host advantage. Epic also added plenty of; characters, weapon skins, medals, executions, etc. I really don't know how people could complain about this game, they must just hate life or something. Another thing i noticed, was horde. Epic added so much to horde itFrom the looks of it, probably the best gears so far. The multiplayer handles great and no more lag or a distinguishable host advantage. Epic also added plenty of; characters, weapon skins, medals, executions, etc. I really don't know how people could complain about this game, they must just hate life or something. Another thing i noticed, was horde. Epic added so much to horde it actually makes it fun to play. As the campaign goes, I haven't gotten too far in it to really tell if it is good or not. This is a must have for all 360 owners. Expand
  11. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Everyone complaining is hilarious. This game is as near perfection as a game can get. Horde 2.0 alone makes this game worth buying, Plus there is the regular multiplayer, 4 player co-op across the ENTIRE campaign, even an arcade mode where it turns it into a competition, Beast mode which allows to to take control of almost every monster in the entire game, even giant centipedes,Everyone complaining is hilarious. This game is as near perfection as a game can get. Horde 2.0 alone makes this game worth buying, Plus there is the regular multiplayer, 4 player co-op across the ENTIRE campaign, even an arcade mode where it turns it into a competition, Beast mode which allows to to take control of almost every monster in the entire game, even giant centipedes, Berserkers, and even the smaller monsters like Tickers and Wretches. The games stat tracking is amazing as well, anything you do is tracked, and every bit of your effort transfers into experience for leveling up. I have seen people making outlandish complaints and it is just sad really, Because they are either just lying PS3 fanboys, or they did not give the game a fair chance from the start. Gears 3 isn't perfect.. but NO GAME EVER IS, It is pretty damn close though, and definitely some of the most intense game play you could ever hope to experience. Another quick argument about the **** reviews being made.. Notice how there are a **** of positive reviews, and then only a handful of mixed? and then way more negative then mixed.. Why do you think that is? people are giving it harsh scores just to be **** so you should disregard reviews giving such a low score because it is nothing more then a PS3 fanboy trying to hate on a game that they cannot play. I own both systems, I look forward to playing this years exclusives, Gears is a great game regardless of what console it is on. So haters keep being salty, nothing you say matters. Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Wow, this game is so good, it stands apart from the usual shooter in that it has a unique, highly effective cover system, and in online matches you get one life, so it really forces people to savor their lives and work together rather than run around on their own like other shooters. If you played great games like CoD and Halo and are looking something with this type of change of flavor,Wow, this game is so good, it stands apart from the usual shooter in that it has a unique, highly effective cover system, and in online matches you get one life, so it really forces people to savor their lives and work together rather than run around on their own like other shooters. If you played great games like CoD and Halo and are looking something with this type of change of flavor, then Gears 3 is for you. Expand
  13. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    I've been a fan of the Gears series since the first blew me away back in 2006.

    I must admit i felt Gears 2 went backwards in both single and multi player , apart from Horde.

    This has rectified that though. It really is the total package from a brilliant single player to the best multi player they have done. Brilliant game.
  14. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    I've studied at lot of games, as far as game design goes, and no game has yet to master what Gears does best. Whereas most games constantly reward players with perks and bonuses for doing anything, Gears encourages territorial control and teamwork without "special abilities" hindering player progression of skill. It goes a long way in evolving tactical combat into a balance pace ofI've studied at lot of games, as far as game design goes, and no game has yet to master what Gears does best. Whereas most games constantly reward players with perks and bonuses for doing anything, Gears encourages territorial control and teamwork without "special abilities" hindering player progression of skill. It goes a long way in evolving tactical combat into a balance pace of cover/flank/shoot without lingering in any one position. Best of all, I've notice little to no camping is possible. With new maneuvers like the mantle kick and new weapons such as the digger launcher, there is a functional solution for any situation and creates kinetic tension rarely done in modern shooters. Most importantly, although Gears 3 is staying in a "tried and true" formula, this franchise has done more than just influenced a new style of shooter to play; it has a signature feel that no other game has. Halo, Call of Duty, Battlefield, etc. all play first person and have reiterated the same motion of combat since games like Doom. Not to say Gears didn't have its influences (Resident Evil 4's over the shoulder camera and kill.switch's cover system) but in a crowded market of "me too" first person shooters, Gears strides in playing completely different. I respect those who may think that Gears is not there game or if some other game makes them feel more passionate, but any hate towards the amount of polish and passion this game has received is just plain ignorance. This is my Game of the Year. Expand
  15. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 3 is the best in the series by a mile. The multiplayer is great no flaws, and the first game with a way to kill campers. The digger gun! Great graphics on both SP and MP. 4 player co-op and just an all round epic game. While saying epic, I hope they have some plans up there sleeves as it's ashame this is the end for gears. Possible spin offs witch would be great as it's anGears of war 3 is the best in the series by a mile. The multiplayer is great no flaws, and the first game with a way to kill campers. The digger gun! Great graphics on both SP and MP. 4 player co-op and just an all round epic game. While saying epic, I hope they have some plans up there sleeves as it's ashame this is the end for gears. Possible spin offs witch would be great as it's an amazing franchise. The MP is fresh and I just love playing on it, a great action game and one of the best on the 360. Epic should be very proud as this is a top contender for game of the year. That's about all I have to say on it really other then  if your on the fence with this on, just trust me you won't be let down! Expand
  16. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    I'm giving this a 10 not because it's perfect - but it is definitely closer to a 10 than a 9. The single player campaign of Gears 3 is brilliant fun. For a game that looks big and dumb to the untrained eye, the story was surprisingly compelling and I really cared for the characters. That "event" to the middle of the game (don't want to spoil anything) definitely rates as one of my top 5I'm giving this a 10 not because it's perfect - but it is definitely closer to a 10 than a 9. The single player campaign of Gears 3 is brilliant fun. For a game that looks big and dumb to the untrained eye, the story was surprisingly compelling and I really cared for the characters. That "event" to the middle of the game (don't want to spoil anything) definitely rates as one of my top 5 or 10 game moments in my 15 years of gaming.

    Aside from single player, the online multiplayer is fantastic fun. I have already lost hours of my life with three other mates in Horde mode and versus. Though I do hope Epic tones down the sawn-off in a future update. All in all, an utterly excellent game and a fitting swan song to the trilogy. Bravo, Epic.
    Expand
  17. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Well Just beat the campaign and played some multiplayer, Horde and Beast. So now im ready to give my review. KEEP IS MIND THIS IS MY OPINION. Don't hate, Just post your opinions on the game below. First off id like to say MAJOR improvement from Gears 2. What you might of thought that was gears about gears 2 was just made 5 times better in this one. Starting of with Campaign.

    *MINOR
    Well Just beat the campaign and played some multiplayer, Horde and Beast. So now im ready to give my review. KEEP IS MIND THIS IS MY OPINION. Don't hate, Just post your opinions on the game below. First off id like to say MAJOR improvement from Gears 2. What you might of thought that was gears about gears 2 was just made 5 times better in this one. Starting of with Campaign.

    *MINOR SPOILER ALERT* Just skip this part to see multiplayer. Won't spoil much but 1 or 2 might slip.
    Campaign starts off with a bang as you start off on a ship where most of humanity has taken refuge and "safe". Throughout the campaign you will be placed in different character's shoes to tell their final story. Few main characters don't make it to the last cut scene i won't say who though. The story is told very well and a great ending to the gears story. The characters are believable and facial expressions tell the story in full. Best played with 4 player co-op but still fun to solo as well.
    *MULTIPLAYER*
    The pace has been sped up a bit to find that mid point between Gears 1 and 2. Gameplay is fun and enjoyable. As you play each match you get rewarded ribbons and medals. Level up to unlock different Characters and Execute enemies with every weapon in the game. Minor pop in and out graphics but thats not the games fault its the unreal engines none the less graphics are beautiful from the beach to brutal battlefields in the forests. You won't be disappointed. Sawed off noobs might piss you off but hey every game has an over powered weapon.

    *BEAST and HORDE*.
    Maybe the best and most fun part of the game that will keep you coming back for months to come especially with the dlc coming out next month and every 3 months following that for the next year. Grab some friends and kick some ass. The insane horde you knew from gears 2 has been upgraded with a more survival feel. Now you can build up a base with turrets and many more things to help you like decoys. You have to pay to buy mapped weapons and now every 10 waves is a random boss wave. I could play for hours on end. Beast is kinda the opposite. This time you play as the locust horde trying to kill the enemy CoG. For every kill on both modes you get money to either upgrade your fortifications or buy stronger beasts.

    All in all well worth the 60 dollars and you won't be disappointed.
    Perfect 10 out of 10. Definitely a game of the year contender. *Note i have both Ps3, Xbox, and gaming computer.*
    Expand
  18. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    What can I say besides the fact this is as close to perfect a game can get. The campaign was excellent, much more depth and diversity than previous installments, and positively enthralling the entire way. The multiplayer is strong and solid, the addition of dedicated servers is perfect for someone outside of the US like me. Horde 2.0 could very well be my favourite part. With the newWhat can I say besides the fact this is as close to perfect a game can get. The campaign was excellent, much more depth and diversity than previous installments, and positively enthralling the entire way. The multiplayer is strong and solid, the addition of dedicated servers is perfect for someone outside of the US like me. Horde 2.0 could very well be my favourite part. With the new additions of currency and the fortification you can build, along with boss rounds and increasing difficulty, it stands up strong to other wave modes like Zombies and Firefight. Gears of War 3 is the biggest and boldest of the series, and pulls it off with a brilliant success fitting such a memorable series. Bravo, Epic Games. Expand
  19. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    This is the king of 3rd person shooters this gen. Nothing compares to it, story, multi player nothing even comes close. All the shortcomings from G1 and 2 have been removed, it is an epic end to the trilogy.
  20. Sep 26, 2011
    10
    I see metacritic has yet to do anything about the console fanboys bringing game scores down with zeros. No game deserves a zero. Quite pathetic. Uncharted 3 will be treated in the same fashion. Which is a shame.

    Gears 3 is a fantastic game! And offers the best multiplayer experience on any platform. The campaign is truly Epic, and has not one dull moment. It clocks in around 13hrs without
    I see metacritic has yet to do anything about the console fanboys bringing game scores down with zeros. No game deserves a zero. Quite pathetic. Uncharted 3 will be treated in the same fashion. Which is a shame.

    Gears 3 is a fantastic game! And offers the best multiplayer experience on any platform. The campaign is truly Epic, and has not one dull moment. It clocks in around 13hrs without filler. Couple that with COOP, Versus, Beast, and Horde 2.0 you have got yourself one Stellar package! Buy it! Buy it now!
    Expand
  21. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Best Gears Yet!!!!! The whole world as you know it is turned upside down and is very interesting as a result. Hope the only negative is the weapon DLC skins
  22. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best Third Person Shooters i ever played,this franchise is AMAZING,somthing who makes the diference when you are in doubt what console you will buy.Gears of War 3 Finish this Extraordinary Trilogy with Epic moments,Epic Gameplay,Epic Graphics,Epic Action,Epic Games know how to do an Epic Game.
  23. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Cerrando una magnifica historia.

    Gears of war es una de las franquicias mas importantes en la historia de los videojuegos, programado por el aclamado estudio Epic Games y patrocinado en exclusiva por Microsoft y su consola Xbox 360. "Marcus es tu padre" La historia nos lleva 18 meses despues de la caida de Jacinto, comenzando donde el protagonista, Marcus Fenix tiene un
    Cerrando una magnifica historia.

    Gears of war es una de las franquicias mas importantes en la historia de los videojuegos, programado por el aclamado estudio Epic Games y patrocinado en exclusiva por Microsoft y su consola Xbox 360.

    "Marcus es tu padre"

    La historia nos lleva 18 meses despues de la caida de Jacinto, comenzando donde el protagonista, Marcus Fenix tiene un sueño, sobre lo que siente ante la perdida de su padre Adam Fenix.

    La calidad grafica a mejorado considerablemente comparado con entregas anteriores, la fisica del agua se excelente, el fuego se ve mucho mas real, y al personaje le iran saliendo cicatrices dependiendo de donde recibamos daño.

    El soundtrack que ambiente el juego tiene una mejor calidad que agrega emocionon en partes importantes dentro de la historia. El sistema de juego se siente mas fluido, mas rapido y tiene unas mejoras considerables, ya no mas recoger municiones cuando quieres revivir a un compañero o pegarte a la pared cuando quieres agarrar un escudo humano. Tambien se puede jugar la campaña de 4 jugadores y se pueden intercambiar las armas. La historia o campaña es mas larga comparandola con la de Gears of War y Gears of War 2. Tiene una duracion de 8 horas en adelante. Y ahora pelearas con uno o mas jefes finales por nivel.

    Ahora no usaras a Marcus en toda la campaña, tambien usaras a Augustus Cole "Train" en un tipo de de historia alternativa. Asi de: "Una hora antes".

    Entre los nuevos personajes jugables se encuentran Anya Stroud y Samantha Byrne, al parecer la igualdad de genero por fin llego a la historia. Tambien encontraras a Clayton Carmine, el tercero de esta familia, a Aaron Griffin un lider de los supervivientes y a Jace Stratton que la verdad pasa sin pena ni gloria dentro de la historia.

    La trama es excelente concluyendo excitosamente no solo con la historia de Marcus sino tambien cerrando las historias de los demas personajes.

    Los personaje se sienten mas reales y logran involucrar a la persona que lo juega en la historia, los sentimientos y expresiones se sienten mas reales, los dialogos se sienten mas fluidos y el humor logra sacar unas buenas carcajadas.

    "Toda gran historia tiene un excelente multijugador"

    El multijugador es tambien excelente, ahora agrega nuevos modos y algunas mejoras en viejas modalidades.

    Entre los nuevos modos de juego estan Team Deathmeatch que es un versus de 5 vs 5 donde los jugadores comparten 15 vidas cada equipo y el equipo que pierda todas las vidas primero perdera la partida.

    Rey de la colina tambien cambio y ahora que tomas el circulo ya no hay que quedarse dentro del circulo.

    Captura al lider, las viejas modalidades guardian y anexo, se fusionaron y ahora ya no hay que matar al lider, hay que capturarlo 30 segundos ininterrumpidos.

    Y estan los demas viejos modos.

    Entre las nuevas armas se encuentran: La Escopeta Recortada: es una nueva escopeta que puede matar a 3 enemigos de un solo tiro, suena excelente pero es opacada por su lenta recarga y ademas solo tiene 6 tiros.

    La Retro Lancer: Es una reliquia humana de 79 años antes del Dia- E. Es una arma intermedia entre la escopeta y los demas rifles pero en vez de una sierra electrica tiene una bayoneta.

    El Excavador: Que es un tipo de granada que se entierra y explota al encontrar un enemigo.

    El One Shot: Que es un potensisimo rifle de francotirador que mata al enemigo de un solo tiro.

    Las Granadas incendiarias: Que se usan igual que las demas granadas solo que esta se prende en flamas.

    El Silver-Back: Que es un tipo de Arma Movil que esta armado hasta debajo de las uñas literalmente.

    Sin duda sera de lo mas jugado en linea durante mucho tiempo.
    "Ahi viene la Horda"

    El clasico modo de supervivencia llega mejorado.

    Ahora en cada mapa hay bases y tendras fortificaciones que se consiguen con dinero que acumulas matando enemigos.
    Hay Desde Barricadas de puas que van evolucionando hasta lasers que queman a los enemigos. Tambien cebos que van desde figuras de carton hasta muñecos que explotan. Armas automaticas que pueden llegar hasta doble cañon. Torretas que son 4 Retro Lancers hasta una torreta automatica con escudo. Y el Silver-Back. Ahora son tambien 50 oleadas y cada 10 oleadas es una oleada de jefe. Y ahora habra todo tipo de enemigos que van desde los enemigos mas faciles hasta los enemigos mas rudos. "Eres una Bestia" Modo Bestia es como horda pero con los papeles invertidos y tu estas en el bando de los mas feos. Empiezas desde los pequeños Ticker hasta las poderosas Berserkers. El modo es contra tiempo y tienes un minuto para matar a todos los humanos, ellos tienen todo tipo de armas y tu solo tienes muy feo especto y mal aliento asi que hay que usar estrategia para matar a todos los enemigos antes del tiempo.
    Expand
  24. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Story driven game = Gears of War?

    Sorry, but you must be kidding. If someone buys any of the three Gears of War-Titels for the story, you've got something wrong. Seriously. This game is about action and having a damn good time. Because Gameplay wise everything was told before, i decided to add some information for the owners of a 3D-TV. First of all, the 3D Mode of Gears is gorgeous.
    Story driven game = Gears of War?

    Sorry, but you must be kidding. If someone buys any of the three Gears of War-Titels for the story, you've got something wrong. Seriously.

    This game is about action and having a damn good time. Because Gameplay wise everything was told before, i decided to add some information for the owners of a 3D-TV.

    First of all, the 3D Mode of Gears is gorgeous. You cant compare the quality of Gears's 3D effect to any other existing 3D title for the xbox. It pushes 3D on a complete new level. I own a PS3 and played all popular 3D titles so far (Killzone 3, Resistance 3, Crysis 2, Super Stardust HD and so on), but Gears 3 does not have to hide itself, compared to the PS3 3D effect.

    The depth, especially when you are in cover, looks amazing and the texture resolution and framerate are superb, compared to other 3D titles of course. everything runs smooth.

    So if you are looking for a superb action game with a very good 3D support, give this game a shoot!
    Expand
  25. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Between the 10-15 hour long campaign, 6 multiplayer modes, Horde mode, and Beast mode, Gears of War 3 will keep you entertained for a long time. The only negative is the few amount of unlockable weapon skins , as most cost money.
  26. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Gears of War 3 is an old dog with some impressive new tricks. Although it doesn't leave the realm of the expected (much) or do much in ways of reinventing the franchise, it meets and even exceeds it's excessively high expectations. The campaign hasn't gone in any new directions, however, it goes much farther than any other gears of war title managed to in scope and polish; and that's justGears of War 3 is an old dog with some impressive new tricks. Although it doesn't leave the realm of the expected (much) or do much in ways of reinventing the franchise, it meets and even exceeds it's excessively high expectations. The campaign hasn't gone in any new directions, however, it goes much farther than any other gears of war title managed to in scope and polish; and that's just the first act of the game, and now offers 4-player coop and an arcade mode with competitive scoring and mutators (featuring old UT classics like "big head" and "instagib"). Multiplayer now features unlockable weapon skins, mutators, and characters to keep the elites interested and finally offers effective dedicated servers to ensure that someone's ping isn't the deciding factor of the match. Horde 2.0 is on a scale only dreamed of in the previous installment with the new currency system and boss waves which lead to massive battles against brumaks with the help of lumbering mechs and machine gun turrets. The new beast mode is short but impressively tactical, offering the wide diversity of locust abilities and tactics to the player in small, organized teams.

    The updated unreal engine now utilizes deferred lighting and rendering and combines it with other new and impressive effects (such as a more detailed motion blur and volumetric sunrays and particles), and color is finally used as a powerful tool in atmosphere, much unlike the original Gears of War. This makes the game's impressive visuals stand out in what is possibly the most competitive time yet for the graphics industry.

    What was the most impressive feature of the entire Gears package was the story. Epic studios has never been a studio with an emphasis on story and only recently has attempted to deliver it as part of a AAA game package. With the help of author Karyn Travis, the Gears 3 story and characters have a surprising layer of depth and atmosphere between the frantic fast paced gun fights. Characters are now far more diverse than testosterone laden men and far deeper qualities are evident or at least hinted at (depending on the character) throughout the campaign. Certain story pieces (which I will not spoil) have an impressive and respectable amount of detail. Musical and visual juxtaposition are used to the greatest effect and create moments that reduce even the rowdiest crowd of online players to complete silence. Although the story comes dangerously close to cliche at times, it steers clear just in the knick of time and has a great sense of novelty, and every component of the game comes together to create a very deep sense of the potent struggle of humans living cooperatively on the verge of death. Even the gameplay emphasizes this interdependence with the ability to share ammo and money.

    Gears of War 3 is not an unexpected game, but it is surprising in it's potent and vast sense of teamwork throughout a multitude of well designed game modes. It's a very hard game to not recommend, but although it certainly is not flawless, it shines bright enough to be seen as a gem of a game in a time of near omnipresent, massacre-fatigue shooters and horror titles. Thanks to EPIC studios for defying the stereotypical notions that have smothered this game's reputation since the first with the best and most thoughtful Gears of War title to date. Anyone who bashes the game for story shortcomings or originality must be truly desensitized to the things that make a video game more than just a game. This was truly an unforgettable experience.
    Expand
  27. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Best console game this "gen" imo. Just goes to show what a proper beta, 6 more months of dev time, and dedicated servers can do for the overall game experience. Lets hope EPIC sticks to this model, and others begin to follow it.
  28. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    This is the best iteration in the series so far. It still has the great Gears feel, and a lot of value on one disk for everyone who buys this.

    Single Player- EPIC story, FUN campaign, likeable characters and the gameplay to boot. Multiplayer- I have never enjoyed multiplayer Gears, but this is the first time I have continued to play months after release. Great fun and very balanced
    This is the best iteration in the series so far. It still has the great Gears feel, and a lot of value on one disk for everyone who buys this.

    Single Player- EPIC story, FUN campaign, likeable characters and the gameplay to boot.
    Multiplayer- I have never enjoyed multiplayer Gears, but this is the first time I have continued to play months after release. Great fun and very balanced gameplay- definitely take some skills and getting used to, but well work the effort.
    Horde Mode and Beast Mode- again, GREAT fun. In both you kill wave after wave of increasingly stronger enemies- and it is extremely addictive. Overall- Highly recommended and should be considered for GOTY. A must buy for Gears fans and a must try for all others.
    Expand
  29. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I dont often give out full marks,but this game is the tweaked,perfected & culmination of a great gaming series(apart from the abysmal 1 page game 'Manual'!(or should i say leaflet).They've done the impossible & also improved the graphics on the already hugely impressive 1&2,& theres new features,moves,new enemies,& new weapons(LOVE the Retro Lancer)!as well as all the existing ones on allI dont often give out full marks,but this game is the tweaked,perfected & culmination of a great gaming series(apart from the abysmal 1 page game 'Manual'!(or should i say leaflet).They've done the impossible & also improved the graphics on the already hugely impressive 1&2,& theres new features,moves,new enemies,& new weapons(LOVE the Retro Lancer)!as well as all the existing ones on all counts,as well as new characters including returning familiar faces.I found the story interesting & compelling,which is no suprise,as it was penned by the author responsible for The Gears of War novels.The campaign is longer than the previous games too,which is what i wanted,with the even more wanted 4-Player Campaign Co-Op finally..Awesome! This game really is a complete package,with a much improved Horde mode,& the new beast mode,which is kind of like Horde,but instead playing as the Locust.Plus the multiplayer.All these are playable against bots also with or against friends.You cant ask for anything more than that! This game REALLY does offer you whatever your preference is,be it Single or Co-Op campaign,Side Co-Op modes,& great multiplayer.As i said,COMPLETE package.Such a great conclusion to a great(& influential)series.But as i touched on earlier though,i have one complaint,The 'Manual' (& i struggle to use the word manual),is absolutely ABYSMAL! with the first two games,they were so well illustrated & informative,but the one with this game is quite literally a pamphlet with a diagram of the joypad buttons on one of the pages.Thats it!? Nothing to tell you to how to actually play the game,the game modes,or how to do the various moves in the game.Not even in the £100 'epic' edition of the game,do you get any kind of manual or guide! Very poor Epic,Shame on you,for sullying the final game of such an amazing series.. Expand
  30. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    I'm not a big competitive multiplayer person so after the campaign the first two installments didn't keep my attention that long. Besides being the best campaign in the series yet with the biggest variety of enemies and weapons it has improved horde mode to give it a lot more depth and beast mode is super fun too. if it's just not your type of game that's fine...but I don't know whatI'm not a big competitive multiplayer person so after the campaign the first two installments didn't keep my attention that long. Besides being the best campaign in the series yet with the biggest variety of enemies and weapons it has improved horde mode to give it a lot more depth and beast mode is super fun too. if it's just not your type of game that's fine...but I don't know what else you could ask out of a game. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 96
  2. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    65
    Rather than the perfect end to a thrilling series, it seemed like the developers were afraid to take real risks with either the story or the gameplay of Gears 3.
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    Gears of War 3 is a solid game and likely worthy of the praise it's received. I just happen to think it falls a bit flat.
  3. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 2, 2011
    90
    An unmissable, unbeatable offering. [Dec 2011, p.95]