Gears of War 3 Xbox 360

Gears of War 3 Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1468 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by acclaimed studio Epic Games and available only on Xbox 360, "Gears of War 3" plunges players into a harrowing tale of hope, survival, and brotherhood that will conclude the current story arc for "Gears of War." With the last human city destroyed and theDeveloped by acclaimed studio Epic Games and available only on Xbox 360, "Gears of War 3" plunges players into a harrowing tale of hope, survival, and brotherhood that will conclude the current story arc for "Gears of War." With the last human city destroyed and the remaining survivors stranded, time is running out for Marcus and his comrades as they fight to save the human race from the jaws of extinction. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 96
  2. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. Sep 25, 2011
    100
    The narrative setting is nearly as potent as the gameplay.
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    97
    Horde 2.0 is the best multiplayer experience going right now, and Beast Mode isn't far behind.
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    95
    Markus Phoneix leaves the Xbox 360 with an enormous and well-told adventure that exceeds all expectations. A lot of online modes, great Horde 2.0 and all the gameplay that characterizes the journeys of Gears. Magnificent!
  4. Sep 15, 2011
    90
    Few games offer up as much as Gears of War 3, and even fewer manage to do it this successfully. This is quite easily the best Gears of War yet, weaving excellent core mechanics together with the renewed perception of an ever-maturing developer. Once again, Epic has successfully iterated on a series that most other developers are still desperately trying to imitate.
  5. CD-Action
    Sep 29, 2011
    90
    The single player campaign is a thrilling ride through incredibly varied locations. I would rate it 8/10 but the multiplayer unquestionably deserves 10/10 – I can't think of any way to improve it. Especially the Horde 2.0 and Beast modes are terrific. Visuals are fantastic too – one glance is enough to notice the improvements in the Unreal Engine. As a whole Gears of War 3 is an outstanding, platform defining game. [October, p.52]
  6. Sep 15, 2011
    90
    Gears of War 3 is the absolute business. It plays extremely well on your own, as part of a co-op experience or if you've got the minerals to jump online and leave your mark.
  7. Jan 18, 2012
    65
    Rather than the perfect end to a thrilling series, it seemed like the developers were afraid to take real risks with either the story or the gameplay of Gears 3.

See all 96 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 428
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 3 is the best in the series by a mile. The multiplayer is great no flaws, and the first game with a way to kill campers. TheGears of war 3 is the best in the series by a mile. The multiplayer is great no flaws, and the first game with a way to kill campers. The digger gun! Great graphics on both SP and MP. 4 player co-op and just an all round epic game. While saying epic, I hope they have some plans up there sleeves as it's ashame this is the end for gears. Possible spin offs witch would be great as it's an amazing franchise. The MP is fresh and I just love playing on it, a great action game and one of the best on the 360. Epic should be very proud as this is a top contender for game of the year. That's about all I have to say on it really other then  if your on the fence with this on, just trust me you won't be let down! Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Best game in the series, hands down. So much content, and I haven't even gotten bored of the game yet! Horde and Beast add in many hours ofBest game in the series, hands down. So much content, and I haven't even gotten bored of the game yet! Horde and Beast add in many hours of gameplay. Campaign is very long for a shooter (~12 hours). Multiplayer is a blast. With weekly events, and a weekend playlist that could be anything always makes this game interesting. Keep it up, guys! Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. The addition of new weapons, characters, and modes are a wonderful addition. Beast mode in particular is a delight to play, andAwesome game. The addition of new weapons, characters, and modes are a wonderful addition. Beast mode in particular is a delight to play, and Horde mode has received a major upgrade. The gameplay is the same as ever, and that is not a bad thing. I personally loved the campaign, and found the ending thrilling; however, a large amount of people never play campaigns anyway, so it doesn't matter if I liked it. The multiplayer deserves a paragraph of its own. Its as amazing as it has always been, and it has received some marked improvements. One of these improvements are the ribbons/medals system (clearly taking a page from Halo: Reach....or a whole book), which let you see your stats clearly, and compare them to your friends. While there are balancing issues, particularly with the Sawed-Off Shotgun, I expect these to be fixed in a patch rather soon. I recommend this game to fans of shooters, and especially fans of the series Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Amazing game. Went to the 12 am premiere and even this hot girl went with my friend. Great game good maps solid guns other than sawed off thatAmazing game. Went to the 12 am premiere and even this hot girl went with my friend. Great game good maps solid guns other than sawed off that gun is for gays. Sawed off is stupid sawed off sucks it prevents this game from getting a ten. Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    Remarkably similar to Gears 2, but hardly a bad game. The campaign was excellent as always and the mutli-player is a real step up. It's onlyRemarkably similar to Gears 2, but hardly a bad game. The campaign was excellent as always and the mutli-player is a real step up. It's only real flaw was its lack of innovation. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Campaign wasn't as good as the second and multiplayer isn't as good as the first, but still an overall, solid, fun game with awesome co op.
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Yo no se que le ven a este juego de novedoso si todos se la pasan joteando con sus escopetas para mi viene siendo un asco la mera verdad noYo no se que le ven a este juego de novedoso si todos se la pasan joteando con sus escopetas para mi viene siendo un asco la mera verdad no tiene nada de PRO Expand

See all 428 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  2. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  3. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.