User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 709 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    This game had a great campaign that fits into the GOW franchise as a prequel. I thought they did really well with the story and how you play as Baird. The aftermath campaign they added makes it even nicer, which shows you where Baird and Cole actually go to in GOW 3 when Marcus tell them to go get reinforcements. The multiplayer is ok and can be fun at times. I never really got into theThis game had a great campaign that fits into the GOW franchise as a prequel. I thought they did really well with the story and how you play as Baird. The aftermath campaign they added makes it even nicer, which shows you where Baird and Cole actually go to in GOW 3 when Marcus tell them to go get reinforcements. The multiplayer is ok and can be fun at times. I never really got into the multiplayer for gears except for horde mode on 3. Survival mode is not as good but its ok, but overrun is pretty fun. Overall great game and if you like gears you must check it out! Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    1
    Do not buy this game under any circumstances. I am an avid gears fan and the fact that anyone could call this gears of war is depressing. The story lacked the emotion and connection the other gears games had. The multiplayer is the worst part about the game. They simplified all the controls, nerfed all the weapons, everyone starts with grenades, and added constant crosshairs. All of thisDo not buy this game under any circumstances. I am an avid gears fan and the fact that anyone could call this gears of war is depressing. The story lacked the emotion and connection the other gears games had. The multiplayer is the worst part about the game. They simplified all the controls, nerfed all the weapons, everyone starts with grenades, and added constant crosshairs. All of this combined makes it just a bunch of people trading kills until someone finds a map weapon of value. I hate to be one of the people comparing this game to cod but there is definitely some merit to that conclusion. Overall the worst in the franchise and I hope they end the franchise after this because they clearly aren't heading the right direction. Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2013
    3
    (EPIC CASH GRAB: Lag and Disappointment) should have been the title for this turd. Gears of war is my favorite game series this generation. With that being said this title is a total cash grab and an embarassment to the series. Your basically paying $60 for half a game then expected to fork over another $20 for the other half in a month or so. Four maps on disc for mplayer in a AAA(EPIC CASH GRAB: Lag and Disappointment) should have been the title for this turd. Gears of war is my favorite game series this generation. With that being said this title is a total cash grab and an embarassment to the series. Your basically paying $60 for half a game then expected to fork over another $20 for the other half in a month or so. Four maps on disc for mplayer in a AAA title is a total joke. The maps are decent but the entire drop in from above concept is totally at odds with a cover based shooter. The new weapons are fun to use but the marksa is really cheap in the hands of a good sniper because of the amount of ammo in the clips. Overrun is fun but feels unfinished-like there could have been more added to make it more balanced and technical but the developers said screw it it's good enough. The competitive multiplayer is a total joke. It's clear the second you realize everyone can spawn with frags and have shotguns with a shield this game is a total noobfest. Anything that required skill and thinking in past games is now completely removed, even the quick reload WTF!! The removal of locusts was also done for the sole purpose of milking players into buying skins for cog armor. Everything about multiplayer just feels off. Even the gnasher shotgun feels...slightly wrong like the hit detection isn't quite right. Survival is the best thing about this game. This is the only mode with minimal lag, a decent challenge, and most importantly FUN! Guess what- it's also the mode with the least experience points for play and not included in the VIP playlist at this time. Every other mode I played is so full of bouts of LAG that the game is nearly unplayable. Every game save for Gears 3 was laggy but this one is the worst since Gears 2's mess of an online mode. After four games there's no excuse other than the developers just don't care, and why should they people keep shoveling money into the series so they keep copy pasting their net code. The campaign does get some things right by including the Declassified missions and bringing back the tone of the first game. Gore and horror themes are what started the series before it trailed off into the lame generic environments from later titles. That said the story is short and pretty unremarkable, doing nothing to further the series canon in any way. This title was supposed to be a love letter to die hard gears fans, instead it's a slap in the face. Taking away nearly everything we love about a series and charging full price for half a game full of lag is just unacceptable. You can tell a REAL hardcore gears fan from a casual player just by the reviews you see on this site. I'm ditching this game in a couple weeks for Defiance and hoping for a better experience. After this Epic has it's work cut out for it in winning back my affection for this series.... I gave the game a 3 which is honestly the amount of effort I feel was put into this terrible title. For everyone else who thinks they are getting a great deal here, you are part of the problem... Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    I am so glad this was only a rental for me, because I would of felt cheated of my money. The biggest problem with this game is content, there isn't hardly any! There are more weapon and armour skins for sale then there is to unlock! Microsoft have shamelessly overcharged for something that already exists on the disk and it costs more than the season pass! The gameplay feels samey, whichI am so glad this was only a rental for me, because I would of felt cheated of my money. The biggest problem with this game is content, there isn't hardly any! There are more weapon and armour skins for sale then there is to unlock! Microsoft have shamelessly overcharged for something that already exists on the disk and it costs more than the season pass! The gameplay feels samey, which would not be a bad thing but the story is so sub-par it feels like this should of been a 1600 MS points addon for gears 3! This is what happens to good games when the creative directer is no longer working on them. I got this to fill the gap between getting Bioshock Infinite, but it never did. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Another solid entry into the Gears of War franchise. Although it refines certain mechanics, it doesn't add much new. Overall a solid game though.
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    The reason i gave this game a 8 is because the multiplayer makes up for the crappy campaign. The campaign is repetitive and very shallow with its story. Character are EXTREMELY flat and the ending id disapointing. This is one of those campaigns that you should sell on the marketplace for $20 as a DLC to GoW3. BUT the multiplayer is very much improved. It could take a little while to getThe reason i gave this game a 8 is because the multiplayer makes up for the crappy campaign. The campaign is repetitive and very shallow with its story. Character are EXTREMELY flat and the ending id disapointing. This is one of those campaigns that you should sell on the marketplace for $20 as a DLC to GoW3. BUT the multiplayer is very much improved. It could take a little while to get used to but its awesome. It changes the usual slow pace of previous GoW and makes it a much more fast paced, dynamic, crazy multiplayer. Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    4
    I am a hardcore Gears fan. I think we all knew that Cog of Duty: Gnasher Warfare Judgment wouldn't live up to it's hype of being the surprise next gears of war after the trilogy ended. But I think we all secretly hoped that it would have been better than the developers were telling us and that the game would actually be fun.

    Cog Of Duty: Gnasher Warefare Judgment is a gears let down,
    I am a hardcore Gears fan. I think we all knew that Cog of Duty: Gnasher Warfare Judgment wouldn't live up to it's hype of being the surprise next gears of war after the trilogy ended. But I think we all secretly hoped that it would have been better than the developers were telling us and that the game would actually be fun.

    Cog Of Duty: Gnasher Warefare Judgment is a gears let down, cookie cutter of call of duty with a gears of war paintjob. And I can't really say the description of this game fits anything but that. So much originality taken out and so little put in. The list goes on from things that People can Fly have taken out.
    The highlights of these are: secondary shotguns, grenade sticking, downs and executions, horde mode, beast mode, active reload, the list goes on. Multiplayer is so bland and so boring. I haven't played multiplayer this boring since... Since... Ok, this is THE most boring multiplayer I have every played. The multiplayer is extreeeeeemely unbalanced since you can only have 1 primary weapon iether shotguns or assault rifles. Did PCF even play the original gears? WTF? Though I have to say it makes for some pretty funny gameplay when you see every one with a lancer get dodged out by someone with a gnasher and will walk up to them hit b to stun and BLAUUUUUUULA!!!! If you use anything but the gnasher you're screwed. It's more overpowered then previous gears! Since there are no downs and b melee takes you down to half health and since downs are out you die in 1 hit but the gnasher from 20 feet away that is if the enemy can even get away from you. If you use the gnasher, you win. Did I also mention it's humans vs humans now? Locusts were removed in multiplayer... Since there are only 4 game modes now the game gets even more boring. And you don't want to go back to the menu because the menu music makes you want to blow your brains out.

    Overrun is extremely unbalanced too! Locust win every time, Baird's sentry turret is way OP. Locust regenerate health, if you have a mauler on your team you win, the list can go on. Gears of War promised 1 step forward but took at least 50 steps back.. Very dissopointed, not worth the trouble to get up off your couch from playing good games to go to the store to buy this pile of s***.
    Expand
  8. Mar 23, 2013
    5
    Four bland and short multiplayer maps, the removal of Horde mode which Gears *made* popular in the industry, a complete control scheme change for more arcade like ("Call of Duty"-esque) gameplay, a forgettable linear story with characters who are subdued, removal of key unique game modes and mechanics (e.g. DBNO, active reloads, executions), and extremely shady DLC practices out of theFour bland and short multiplayer maps, the removal of Horde mode which Gears *made* popular in the industry, a complete control scheme change for more arcade like ("Call of Duty"-esque) gameplay, a forgettable linear story with characters who are subdued, removal of key unique game modes and mechanics (e.g. DBNO, active reloads, executions), and extremely shady DLC practices out of the gate. Frankly, Gears: Judgement is the culmination of the loss of several key Epic developers (CliffyB, Rod Ferguson), the loss of People Can Fly's original founder and creative designer after their acquisition by Epic, and Microsoft pushing to keep their limited number of "exclusive" franchises relevant. The lowest point in the series and it removes nearly all the elements that differentiated Gears from every other bombastic shooter. Rent, don't buy. Expand
  9. 0xy
    Mar 23, 2013
    5
    Bad boy, Epic! Fan of Gears of War. Judgement SP is ok & short but MP is not good. I bought half a game, only 4 maps, NO HORDE! So please, don't throw in more different types of weapons in your MP, yes? I don't want a run & gun in my Gears! Back to basics, everybody loved GoW1, so use that engine in a Classic MP Mode, yes! Don't overcomplicate things in Horde, yes! Keep it simple, yes!
  10. Mar 23, 2013
    7
    As a long time Gears fan i am going to try my best to give a honest review of the latest installment.
    Having just finished the Campaign and played quite a tad of multiplayer, i can say this Gears is just meh? While the campaign adds a nice new element of challenge with the "declassified sections" the story element behind it just feels really bland. It thought in the campaign Gears fans
    As a long time Gears fan i am going to try my best to give a honest review of the latest installment.
    Having just finished the Campaign and played quite a tad of multiplayer, i can say this Gears is just meh? While the campaign adds a nice new element of challenge with the "declassified sections" the story element behind it just feels really bland. It thought in the campaign Gears fans was going to get a look at how Baird and the squad grew and a bit of back story. Alas there was hardly any back story. I kind of felt disappointment again by the boss in the game, i distinctly remember the developers saying that Kaan was stalking you throughout the campaign and tracking your movements to stop you, but this was only seen in the last act! However, the campaign is still fun and a great laugh with your friends.
    The multiplayer on the other hand is what makes the game feel the real confusion, you either love it or hate it. The standard game types, Domination, Free For All and Team Deathmatch have been created souly to fight around Judgements fast paced play style. Now players can instantly re spawn when killed and only have the choice of one weapon to go in with. The addition of allowing players to spawn with a grenade is decent as well. It adds a unique twist on some game types, but let me tell you Free For All with always be a Gnasher hell! Especially now with the addition of having a main gun with the shield. The multplayer aspect of the game is just confusing but still great fun.
    Overrun however is defiantly where the game shines. Puts players into two teams (Locust and COG) and one trying to defend a area while the opposite attack. It's one of the strongest elements of the game, as even if a team is all snipers, the clear winner will be the Locust as playing as a team is essential to this game type. It's really sad to see Horde gone and replaced with Survival. Survival is pretty much Overun, only you play as the COG and the locust are bots and really difficult to fight. It defiantly adds challenge to the game again, but i see it as a game type with friends only. One of the most frustrating parts of the game is the amour skins, the weapon skins are all pretty decent, if you like it buy it. However the amour skins really are pretty bland and boring, especially ones like Cascade and Digital which just look god awful and are £3.50 each! But I'm sure majority of the favorite skins are available through prize boxes, which are won by getting kills, ribbons or leveling up.
    Overall, Gears Of War Judgement is a pretty decent game, it's a fun multiplayer experience for Overun and the Campaign is challenging. However lack of story and horde just make this Gears not so great.
    Expand
  11. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    This is the best gears yet its a more fast paced multiplayer haven't had connection issues like all the other gears of wars only negatives i found is theres no locust its cog vs cog and campaign is great not bad at all
  12. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Great gameplay, great graphics, and excellent story telling method. This is Gears of War revamped. People Can Fly has done to Gears what 343 has done to Halo.
  13. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    The Gears franchise is beloved to me. It was one of the first games I picked up for my 360 and I quickly fell in love with its gritty humor and intense violence. After 3 installments, many of accumulated hours on multiplayer and horde mode, with plenty of replays within the story, Epic hands its crown jewel to People Can Fly and, in my opinion. a great addition to a fantastic franchise.The Gears franchise is beloved to me. It was one of the first games I picked up for my 360 and I quickly fell in love with its gritty humor and intense violence. After 3 installments, many of accumulated hours on multiplayer and horde mode, with plenty of replays within the story, Epic hands its crown jewel to People Can Fly and, in my opinion. a great addition to a fantastic franchise. The story, although lackluster in comparison to the other three, fared pretty well in my book, the last boss battle was a minor disappointment, but the story was fleshed out and consistent. The new Declassified edition for each mission were a good change of pace from the long, drawn out sequences that we are accustomed to. Though, it took out set pieces, I found it appropriate for its narrative. The multiplayer, though lacking maps, is balanced and addictive, Overrun keeps me coming back for more. I will admit, I wish there were more classic modes like Execution and Guardian. Survival is fun, but Horde was better as a whole. My only real problem wad the control flip, it may not be a big deal, but 7yrs of using a scheme and then it changing was a little off-putting but I will adjust. Overall, the game is still Gears, not as spectacular or extravagant, but at its core, plays and feels like it should. Expand
  14. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    The formula has been tweaked, not completely redone. Developer People Can Fly teaming up with Epic Games is probably the best thing that could happen to Gears, Campaign mode finds Kilo Squad (Baird, Cole, and two new to the Gears universe Sofia and Paduk) recalling their journey that brought them to trial for treason and a few other crimes. You play through each characters testimony andThe formula has been tweaked, not completely redone. Developer People Can Fly teaming up with Epic Games is probably the best thing that could happen to Gears, Campaign mode finds Kilo Squad (Baird, Cole, and two new to the Gears universe Sofia and Paduk) recalling their journey that brought them to trial for treason and a few other crimes. You play through each characters testimony and it's intriguing enough to keep you playing and a fun story mode. Declassified missions manipulate a certain part of Gameplay to add a challenge but reward to each mission. This adds a refreshing variety to the Gears series that is very welcome. The multiplayer is top notch as ever. If you're reading this review you must have an idea of Overrun, which is somewhat similar to horde vs beast mode and it's phenomenal. The new domination mode mirrors annex with domination in most multiplayer games, with enough previous influence it's quite fun too. Free for All mode is great but with Domination it's confusing, usually COG vs COG soldiers and it's hard to differentiate between teammates in Domination. Survival takes place of Horde and while much like Overrun it doesn't feel as deep and rewarding playing against bots. Customization is abundant and plentiful, many ribbons and metals, skins, and rewards alike. I'll try to keep this more brief but Judgment is a must buy for any Gears fan and a damn good game in general, it's a fresh way to approach Gears and reinvigorate the series with new found life. Expand
  15. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    what a great game! The multiplayer is awesome. the new over run mode is as tense as horde mode on level 50. the graphics r amazing so many beautiful colors that i never thought i would see in a gow game. combat is more intense than ever. The new smart spawn system is a great add to the campaign as well. have enjoyed every part of this game hope there will be another like this.
  16. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    this game has a lot to offer,first off the visuals and sound are on par with any gears game before it.the campaign and multiplayer is fun,frantic,fast,and more than worthy of the gears of war name.a lot of changes have been made but for all the right reasons.here is the thing about video games,if you put out the same thing over and over again people start saying you are rehashing thethis game has a lot to offer,first off the visuals and sound are on par with any gears game before it.the campaign and multiplayer is fun,frantic,fast,and more than worthy of the gears of war name.a lot of changes have been made but for all the right reasons.here is the thing about video games,if you put out the same thing over and over again people start saying you are rehashing the game.judgment tries to do something new and people act like its the end of the world.people can fly are veterans of the series they worked on the pc version of gears of war 1. later epic got them to help out on gears 2 and 3.it is a triple A title and it shows. i do think more maps and modes should have come with the game but to me that is minor considering the replay value the game has.judgment is getting free dlc on april 2,dbno,execution,2 other game modes,and 2 more multiplayer maps.title updates to the game will further add to the replay value.more maps and modes will be coming in the months to follow.the story could have been a bit better but the co op and the multiplayer more than make up for that.i am giving this game a 10 only because of people giving it a 0 or 5,which it does not deserve. Expand
  17. Mar 21, 2013
    2
    Pros; the game boots up, you can connect to other players, Cons; not a gears game feels like COD, took out DBNO, have to pay for warzone and execution only started gears no big deal. RED vs BLUE really? I like playing as the locust. Very broken mp was this play tested? Cover base game not in cover ever, ONLY 4 mp map not counting overrun, the maps are just bad, this list can go on and on,Pros; the game boots up, you can connect to other players, Cons; not a gears game feels like COD, took out DBNO, have to pay for warzone and execution only started gears no big deal. RED vs BLUE really? I like playing as the locust. Very broken mp was this play tested? Cover base game not in cover ever, ONLY 4 mp map not counting overrun, the maps are just bad, this list can go on and on, this was failment Expand
  18. Mar 21, 2013
    0
    Same gameplay and same cover mechanics (Yeah, it has new few things, but nothing impressive after all) new guns? New guns dont change a TPS mechanics, Multiplayer... ITS THE SAME! I knew this game would fail, they released a trailer about this game 10months (I think) after Gears of War 3! They failed, the plots and "sad" momments are stupid, Gears of War 2 is by far the best in the series,Same gameplay and same cover mechanics (Yeah, it has new few things, but nothing impressive after all) new guns? New guns dont change a TPS mechanics, Multiplayer... ITS THE SAME! I knew this game would fail, they released a trailer about this game 10months (I think) after Gears of War 3! They failed, the plots and "sad" momments are stupid, Gears of War 2 is by far the best in the series, dont buy this new one, get the Gears of War 2 complete edition! CHEAPER AND BETTER! Expand
  19. Mar 21, 2013
    2
    Everything I loved about the original is gone. Gears used to be about deep strategic teamplay and intense standoffs but it has become a generic run & gun shooter.
  20. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Gears Of War: Judgment is Epic Game's and People Can Fly's way to say goodbye to the current generation Xbox. It's gorgeous, Unreal Engine 3 at it's peak. The flawless third person cover shooter mechanics that Gears Of War is known for are back, however it's much more faster paced. The campaign last for a good 7-10 hours with the Aftermath campaign as a bonus and the campaign is muchGears Of War: Judgment is Epic Game's and People Can Fly's way to say goodbye to the current generation Xbox. It's gorgeous, Unreal Engine 3 at it's peak. The flawless third person cover shooter mechanics that Gears Of War is known for are back, however it's much more faster paced. The campaign last for a good 7-10 hours with the Aftermath campaign as a bonus and the campaign is much better paced this time around with different gameplay scenarios. Aftermath tells the story of what happened to Baird and Cole when they and Marcus's group split because they go and search for reinforcements. Mutiplayer, once again is satisfying and rewarding. This time with Epic Price Boxes, that give the game a TF2 kind of feel. Multiplayer has less modes overall, but they are refined and well done. There's also not going to be as much of a problem finding matches than there were before when there were so many gamemodes that nobody necessarily played. Overrun is the biggest and newest addition to the multiplayer. Class based Locust VS. COG action. It's well balanced and everybody needs to play their role, whether it's the engineer keeping fortifications up and in good condition or medic keeping everybody alive. Overall Judgment is a neat package that every Gears fan needs in their library and if you've never played a Gears game before, this is the right game to start from. It takes place the furthest back in the timeline so you wouldn't be missing anything. Expand
  21. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    This game is stand out amazing. If you play Gears of War and like it then this is a must buy game. The graphics are amazing the new control scheme gets a little annoying but can still be playable. The story could of been better but the multiplayer is stand out amazing. The maps are well built and Overrun is an amazing gamemode. I thought i would miss horde but f that. This game is amazing.
  22. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    Gears of War Judgment takes BABY STEPS of evolution, the same thing like last Gears of Wars Games without Marcus Fenix, the story is very boring and the graphics same level I think is a desperate move from Microsoft and Epic to trying to take our money, Very Disappointed
  23. Mar 24, 2013
    3
    Gears of war judgement is just downright awful. Epic games has lost me as a customer. I have nothing positive to say about this game. It functions and loads correctly. This is a copy and paste as far as game mechanics go but that's it. Wall bouncing plagues this game. You charged 60$ when this content is dlc at best... dumb ass campaign full of story holes. Stripped down multiplayer, thatGears of war judgement is just downright awful. Epic games has lost me as a customer. I have nothing positive to say about this game. It functions and loads correctly. This is a copy and paste as far as game mechanics go but that's it. Wall bouncing plagues this game. You charged 60$ when this content is dlc at best... dumb ass campaign full of story holes. Stripped down multiplayer, that you will be nickeled and dimed for. No down but not out function Overrun is a welcomed addition but the classes make it extremely unbalanced. I don't care what your next game is, we as fans now have to worry about epic also rapping its customers like call of duty. This game was made for tweens that thought gears 3...2...1 were too hard. Epic games has lost its stay at my house for good. Thanks for getting 60 dollars out of people for 20$ work. Its a marvel why cliffy left...? He saw what was going on and left. People can fly suck. Bullet storm was a joke.. its sad that you all call yourself developers... hope I see this pile in every bargain been soon. PS 4 maps for a retail release. Who has the balls of lack of intelligence to push this on there community of supporters?? Epic that's who.... epic ca$h grab. Hope people are smart and pirate thus trash or don't buy it either way. Not a good game. If your looking for gears ignore this one because its trash and pick up isn't until Tuesday. Expand
  24. Mar 20, 2013
    2
    The main reason i bought an xbox 360 is because of gears of war. Wow fan boy's how can you love this P.O.S. I almost quite playing gears of war when 3 came out but man you really seemed to screw things up this time. No i am not waiting for you fix things this time. I'm trading in my gears game for bioshock for P.C. There is no longer the reason to practice shooting a weapon from the hip.The main reason i bought an xbox 360 is because of gears of war. Wow fan boy's how can you love this P.O.S. I almost quite playing gears of war when 3 came out but man you really seemed to screw things up this time. No i am not waiting for you fix things this time. I'm trading in my gears game for bioshock for P.C. There is no longer the reason to practice shooting a weapon from the hip. It takes no skill now.You have the cross hairs already up. Granted you can swap out you pistol for a shotgun but spawning w/ one core weapon is dumb. This isn't Call of Duty or Battlefield stop making classes.The game mechanics isn't made for classes in this type of game. Now you know why Cliffy B and Rod F left Epic. It's another activison all over again. Save your Money Expand
  25. Mar 22, 2013
    0
    Awful game! Haven't seen graphics this bad since the Atari days, it looks like the old ET game. Gameplay is awful and glitchy, all you do in the game is sit behind walls and talk to your friends about the meaning of life, seriously! Worst game this generation! It's a shame because the only exclusive of the year for the 360 is terrible! Avoid at all costs!

    This is for turkishkarma
  26. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    This game is absolutely great. Extremely fun to play, and a memorable addition to the Gears franchise. The campaign was very good, and I enjoyed the ability to play as new characters and to really explore the world of Sera and the COG in a way never before, which satisfied the itch to see a great integration of the Gears universe fleshed out in the books into the games themselves. TheThis game is absolutely great. Extremely fun to play, and a memorable addition to the Gears franchise. The campaign was very good, and I enjoyed the ability to play as new characters and to really explore the world of Sera and the COG in a way never before, which satisfied the itch to see a great integration of the Gears universe fleshed out in the books into the games themselves. The Multiplayer is great, and OverRun is fantastic! Overall a completely fun game to play that is immensely satisfying. Ignore all the BS hate from haters and trolls, the user score is not an accurate indication of the quality of this game. Expand
  27. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Hey I don't do this often but this is a game I think a lot of people are on the fence about. It's a good game, I wasn't sure about it either and kind of picked it up on a whim. The gameplay is awesome better than ever I'd say, it's also the prettiest gears game yet, though it sounds strange to call a G.O.W. game pretty. The only real problem I have in the campaign is the story, it justHey I don't do this often but this is a game I think a lot of people are on the fence about. It's a good game, I wasn't sure about it either and kind of picked it up on a whim. The gameplay is awesome better than ever I'd say, it's also the prettiest gears game yet, though it sounds strange to call a G.O.W. game pretty. The only real problem I have in the campaign is the story, it just seems like a missed opportunity to expand the lore and give us an in depth look at those early days of the war. All the characters are noticeably quieter this time around, which is a shame because I wanted to get to know them better. I've played through the campaign in about ten hours on normal, though haven't done aftermath yet. Its a solid campaign, a bit more restrained than the last two entries but it almost reminds me of the first gears(which thanks to a free code I can play again for the first time since '07. I've checked out all the MP modes and while overrun is the clear winner they're all a blast. Maps are scarce at the moment but what's there is fantastic and worthy of the great tradition set forth by it's fellow gears titles. All in all a great game that falls just a bit shy of the very high bar set by the trilogy. But at the end of the day a mediocre gears game is better than 90% of the third person shooters out there. Oh and don't be scared of the microtransactions, its nothing and not pay to win or pay to play even in any way shape or form. If you love gears support it, you wont be dissapointed. Expand
  28. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    People Can Fly have done the impossible, they've taken Epic's genre-defining gameplay and made it better, this is truly the most fun I've had playing Gears.
  29. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Great story. You'll want to play it again. Great multiplayer, ultra addicting and 1 extra campaign as a bonus. The game gives you endless hours of playing and yet you won't get bored so easily. The prizeboxes is a great TF2 feeling with the game knowing you don't know what you gonna get. What can I say about the game? 10/10
  30. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    This game is a joke to the Gears franchise, there's nothing much more to be said. I am a long time Gears fan. Playing the game ever since I got my first Xbox in 2008. When Judgment was announced, I was excited. I couldn't wait for a new Gears title after been announced that the third instalment would be the last. Oh how I wish Epic games stuck to that word. This game takes everything awayThis game is a joke to the Gears franchise, there's nothing much more to be said. I am a long time Gears fan. Playing the game ever since I got my first Xbox in 2008. When Judgment was announced, I was excited. I couldn't wait for a new Gears title after been announced that the third instalment would be the last. Oh how I wish Epic games stuck to that word. This game takes everything away from what make Gears of War a unique game. Essentially giving the middle finger to long time hardcore and casual gears players. When you think of Gears of War, the aspects that come straight to mind are accelerated game play, intense close quarter battles, brutal executions and just amazing gameplay in general. The multiplier aspect is a camp fest. With players taking the infamous "Call of Duty" approach. Just sit on a ledge with a rifle and wait for your opponent, All skill has been removed from the game without any consideration to long time players. Sure, I am all for new players picking up a game and been able to play but there should be a learning curve. Not just pick up the game for the first time in your life and instantly be able to hold your own against some of the veteran players. That is not what Gears is about. Down but not outs (DBNOs) have been completely removed from the game taking with it the execution rule. Story wise, sure, a prequel sounded like a good idea but why make Baird the lead character for starters. He is the least liked character over the last 3 gears games (taken by polls on forums and other game sites). Why not take it back to Dom growing up or even Coles transition from thrashball player to COG. yes I'm nit picking now but it's just the thoughts I have about this game. my biggest issue with the game though is the control system. For 6 years, the D-pad has been iconic in the Gears play style. allowing instant switching between 3 weapon and a grenade. It worked perfectly. So why has People can Fly suddenly decided to follow the control scheme of pretty much every other shooter out there. The number of time I have hit the left d-pad to switch to the gnasher for close quarters, only to get gunned down by a rifle is ridiculous. Also when I go to check my surroundings, see where my team mates are and where I should be heading has only resulted in throwing my frag grenade. This game is just the classic example of giving a extremely popular game title to a not so well known company and them completely taking everything away from it. It happens when Ninja Theory did Devil may Cry, It kinda happened when 343i did Halo 4 (although that game was a noteworthy sequel story wise). Overall, the game is terrible. It will certainly has no replay value and I think I will stick to Gears of War 3 as my primary shooters. THANK YOU PEOPLE CAN FLY. You have killed the Gears name. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. May 9, 2013
    70
    It's Gears 3, minus pacing and ambition. It's still fantastically enjoyable, but it's easily the least interesting Gears game. [June 2013, p.64]
  2. May 7, 2013
    80
    Judgment shows that the People Can Fly team knows its way around triple-A titles. They managed to squeeze a lot out of Unreal Engine 3 – the game looks great even compared to Crysis 3, which set new standards in terms of visuals, also on consoles. And when the technology restrained them, they creatively found a way around limitations. [CD-Action 05/2013, p.60]
  3. Apr 21, 2013
    78
    Judgment feels a bit like an excuse to provide the Xbox 360 with one last first-party game for what is likely to be its final year as Microsoft’s flagship game platform.