Gears of War: Judgment Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 778 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Gears of War: Judgment take place fourteen years before the original Gears and just after the essential event of the Gears of War universe, Emergence Day. In the story of Judgment you fight to save the city of Halvo Bay from a horrifying new enemy in a campaign that strips awayThe events of Gears of War: Judgment take place fourteen years before the original Gears and just after the essential event of the Gears of War universe, Emergence Day. In the story of Judgment you fight to save the city of Halvo Bay from a horrifying new enemy in a campaign that strips away the extraneous and returns to the basics, capturing the true essence of Gears combat, and introduces a new style of gameplay that is faster-paced and more action-packed than what came before. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    96
    Judgment is literally as much fun as Gears of War 2. It doesn’t have this scope or severity one and three had, but it operates on a grand scale. I, for one, couldn’t be happier.
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    88
    Although it’s in no way game changing, Gears of War: Judgment is a fast paced, satisfyingly violent, action shooter.
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    85
    Gears of War Judgment is exactly what you’d expect in a Gears of War game - a few tweaks here and there, but basically the same game it's been for six and half years.
  4. 80
    A great game with enough to please fans of the series and even welcome new players. A new control scheme might add a bit of frustration, but this is quickly forgotten when you dive into the great multiplayer. Team Kilo Squad and the addition of a new star system which awards special play throughs of levels in single player mode add to an already enjoyable title.
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    79
    While Gears of War: Judgment is perhaps burdened by the pall of over-familiarity, the changes that developer People Can Fly have implemented are enough, for now, to keep it feeling fresh – and certainly worthy of your time.
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    Judgment is a worthy addition to the franchise, but it’s a shame the campaign falls short of the high standard of those that preceded it.
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    60
    Gears of War: Judgment is not a bad game, but one that very much stands in the shadow of its more illustrious predecessors. It is a bit like going back to a favorite restaurant, only to find that the management has changed and it's just not quite the same anymore...Sure, you'll still have a pretty decent meal, but you'll also leave yearning for days gone by.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 256
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    As a "Gear Head" the game's single player heavily relied on its combat and presented me with many different ways to approach them. With smartAs a "Gear Head" the game's single player heavily relied on its combat and presented me with many different ways to approach them. With smart AI you wont be fighting the same enemies if you wipe in single player. I completed the campaign in coop, with the game's matching making filling in those empty spots is a breeze. Also God of War was not the right GOW to purchase. I like PSY Collapse
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    This game is a blast atm only 4 mp maps but 2 more and 2 more game types are coming for free on the 2nd of april i belive so if u can waitThis game is a blast atm only 4 mp maps but 2 more and 2 more game types are coming for free on the 2nd of april i belive so if u can wait thatd probialy be best idea! GAme controles great ive had nothing but fun and playing all recent gears im likeing how people die in the sence of the person seems to die how hey should unlike previous one it took almost so much damage till the died or got shot to peices. No blind fire has been a complaint i here and dont give a crap about its a game even if blind fire ur thing its a game and youll leArn to cope or just go playolder gears games! Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2015
    8
    Despite enjoying the Gears of War trilogy (particularly 1 and 3 when played co-op) I never got around to playing Judgement. At the time theDespite enjoying the Gears of War trilogy (particularly 1 and 3 when played co-op) I never got around to playing Judgement. At the time the mixed review scores and fact that I’d had my fill of the Gears formula meant I decided to give it a miss but, having belatedly got round to playing it online with a mate, I have to say it is a very good game.

    Few titles have ever matched the gunplay of Gears of War and People Can Fly, creators of the excellent and sadly over looked Bulletstorm, have taken the classic gameplay of previous titles and put it into short missions of between 5 and 15 minutes in length that award players with stars based on their performance. The clever twist (one I’m surprised more games haven’t copied) is that at the start of each mission players can choose to make it unclassified. This basically increases the difficulty by doing things like adding a time limit, making the enemies more intelligent, reducing visibility as a result of poor weather etc. This really helps to keep things fresh throughout the 42 Judgement campaign missions and the short length of each, as well as being ideal for online co-op, really encourages repeat plays in order to try to earn more stars.

    Once enough stars have been earned a further campaign is unlocked which acts as an hour and a half long prelude to the Gears of War 3 storyline and is an enjoyable, if rather brief, reminder of the older Gears titles.

    The only real negative in the whole package is the competitive multiplayer which is just as uninteresting as it has always been and not something I bothered spending all that much time with.

    Overall though Gears of War Judgement is a great package that can now be picked up for virtually nothing. I’d highly recommend it to anyone that enjoys a good shoot em up, particularly fans of previous games in the series.
    Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    5
    (Single Player/Co-Op Campaign review only) Very disappointing. All the gruff manly charm has been completely sucked out of this iteration of(Single Player/Co-Op Campaign review only) Very disappointing. All the gruff manly charm has been completely sucked out of this iteration of Gears. Say goodbye to the epic set piece battles of GOW 3 in place for monotonous corridor shooting and score tracking. The core mechanics play exactly the same with a boring suspense-less plot and small bite sized missions with no investment or memorable events. Friendly banter between characters has been replaced with tired, overused dialogue from every action game ever. Even worse, every round ends with a score sheet. Why? Why turn Gears into an arcade shooter? Why break up the action every 3-5 minutes for a grading that is completely pointless to the overall story? One good thing I suppose is the new weapons that do handle well and fill in gaps to round out the already expansive existing arsenal. Still, undoubtedly the low point of the series, dumbfounded as to why reviewers are giving it such a glowing reception. Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    4
    I am a hardcore Gears fan. I think we all knew that Cog of Duty: Gnasher Warfare Judgment wouldn't live up to it's hype of being the surpriseI am a hardcore Gears fan. I think we all knew that Cog of Duty: Gnasher Warfare Judgment wouldn't live up to it's hype of being the surprise next gears of war after the trilogy ended. But I think we all secretly hoped that it would have been better than the developers were telling us and that the game would actually be fun.

    Cog Of Duty: Gnasher Warefare Judgment is a gears let down, cookie cutter of call of duty with a gears of war paintjob. And I can't really say the description of this game fits anything but that. So much originality taken out and so little put in. The list goes on from things that People can Fly have taken out.
    The highlights of these are: secondary shotguns, grenade sticking, downs and executions, horde mode, beast mode, active reload, the list goes on. Multiplayer is so bland and so boring. I haven't played multiplayer this boring since... Since... Ok, this is THE most boring multiplayer I have every played. The multiplayer is extreeeeeemely unbalanced since you can only have 1 primary weapon iether shotguns or assault rifles. Did PCF even play the original gears? WTF? Though I have to say it makes for some pretty funny gameplay when you see every one with a lancer get dodged out by someone with a gnasher and will walk up to them hit b to stun and BLAUUUUUUULA!!!! If you use anything but the gnasher you're screwed. It's more overpowered then previous gears! Since there are no downs and b melee takes you down to half health and since downs are out you die in 1 hit but the gnasher from 20 feet away that is if the enemy can even get away from you. If you use the gnasher, you win. Did I also mention it's humans vs humans now? Locusts were removed in multiplayer... Since there are only 4 game modes now the game gets even more boring. And you don't want to go back to the menu because the menu music makes you want to blow your brains out.

    Overrun is extremely unbalanced too! Locust win every time, Baird's sentry turret is way OP. Locust regenerate health, if you have a mauler on your team you win, the list can go on. Gears of War promised 1 step forward but took at least 50 steps back.. Very dissopointed, not worth the trouble to get up off your couch from playing good games to go to the store to buy this pile of s***.
    Expand
  6. May 12, 2013
    3
    Gears of War: Judgement will be a waste of money to all but serious gears fans. First off, it is not even worth the money compared to what youGears of War: Judgement will be a waste of money to all but serious gears fans. First off, it is not even worth the money compared to what you would get in gears 3. There are less than 10 unlock-able characters, less than 10 unlock-able weapon skins, and you have to buy the other like 20 skins that are only un-lockable via Microsoft points. Also the multiplay is really watered down comapred to past Gears games and lacking in terms of maps and game modes. Two of the game modes are just carbon copies of eachother (survival is overrun but with bots). The campaign is short and consists of mostly a flashback telling the story. Each section is its own level and is scored like some sort of mini-horde wave with some objectives. The campaign doesn't feel like a big story like most every other shooter. There is little characterization on a team of soldiers that is just begging for tons of characterization. A former athlete gone soldier, an old UIR soldier (the UIR and COG were enemies), Baird, and an Onyx Guard cadet. All of there lives were thrown upside down by the locust invasion but this is barely touched on in the campaign. Another thing that was not given enough attention is the locust themselves. The locust are a fearsome race of sub-terainian monsters that launch a genocidal attack on humanity for seemingly no reason. The people of Serra would have been scared out of their mind and the armies of the COG don't know how to fight this new fight to every last man woman and child over surface control. And the game takes place 14 days after they first appear. The GOC thinks they are just mindless monsters but as the war progresses they realize that the locust are actually intelligent beings. All of these details about the locust are lucky if they even get one line of dialogue mentioning them in campaign. The locust are just some guys that are just in your way. Not only is the campaign short, choppy, and lacking sustenance; but it is repetitive. Each level starts with you exiting a door to the last. There is a bloody skull icon, "crimson omen," that lets you "declassify" or add challenges to the mission. You kill some locust because they are in your way then come to an open area and fortify that area for a couple locust attack waves, just like a mini-horde mode. Rinse and repeat--that is all there is to the campaign. Speaking of horde mode where is it? You get a taste of how freakin' awesome it could be with some of the new turret placement mechanics and class based play in over run, but there is no horde. Not even just a copy of horde 2.0 fro Gears 3. Horde has set gears aside as a unique shooter since Gears 2 but they failed to include it. Horde isn't the only long-time tradition to go though... Down-but-not-out has been really changed, the three weapon carry has been reduced to two, grenades are now tap to throw rather than the unique targeted throwing, and the control scheme has been made more like COD/BF3.

    Buy-n-large Gears of War Judgement is full of missed opportunities, and things watered down to match COD/BF3. EPIC games could have put so much into this game and made it probably one of the best Gears of War games yet. But instead they failed to draw on what makes Gears unique among a market saturated bad shooters, and instead added another bad, forgettable shooter into the mix. I hope the DLC redeems this game of EPIC makes another Gears game next console generation because this is a pathetic end to one of the Best shooters ever made. 3/10.
    Expand
  7. May 2, 2013
    0
    Terrible game. Terrible campaign. Probably the worst mulitplayer I have ever played. 0/10.............................................................

See all 256 User Reviews