Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 642 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Gears of War: Judgment take place fourteen years before the original Gears and just after the essential event of the Gears of War universe, Emergence Day. In the story of Judgment you fight to save the city of Halvo Bay from a horrifying new enemy in a campaign that strips away the extraneous and returns to the basics, capturing the true essence of Gears combat, and introduces a new style of gameplay that is faster-paced and more action-packed than what came before. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    96
    Judgment is literally as much fun as Gears of War 2. It doesn’t have this scope or severity one and three had, but it operates on a grand scale. I, for one, couldn’t be happier.
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    88
    Although it’s in no way game changing, Gears of War: Judgment is a fast paced, satisfyingly violent, action shooter.
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    85
    Gears of War Judgment is exactly what you’d expect in a Gears of War game - a few tweaks here and there, but basically the same game it's been for six and half years.
  4. 80
    A great game with enough to please fans of the series and even welcome new players. A new control scheme might add a bit of frustration, but this is quickly forgotten when you dive into the great multiplayer. Team Kilo Squad and the addition of a new star system which awards special play throughs of levels in single player mode add to an already enjoyable title.
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    79
    While Gears of War: Judgment is perhaps burdened by the pall of over-familiarity, the changes that developer People Can Fly have implemented are enough, for now, to keep it feeling fresh – and certainly worthy of your time.
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    Judgment is a worthy addition to the franchise, but it’s a shame the campaign falls short of the high standard of those that preceded it.
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    60
    Gears of War: Judgment is not a bad game, but one that very much stands in the shadow of its more illustrious predecessors. It is a bit like going back to a favorite restaurant, only to find that the management has changed and it's just not quite the same anymore...Sure, you'll still have a pretty decent meal, but you'll also leave yearning for days gone by.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 233
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    As a "Gear Head" the game's single player heavily relied on its combat and presented me with many different ways to approach them. With smart AI you wont be fighting the same enemies if you wipe in single player. I completed the campaign in coop, with the game's matching making filling in those empty spots is a breeze. Also God of War was not the right GOW to purchase. I like PSY Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    I though this Gears game was a lot more fluid than previous games. The mechanics to me seemed smoother and for once in multiplayer when I actually shot people they died. Which didn't happen a lot in other Gears games if you used a Lancer. Overall I was a bit shocked to see such low scores. The single player campaign narrative wasn't my style, just get on with it. But the new weapons seemed to fit, I thought they might seem out of place with it being a prequel. The Declassified missions seemed more like a gimmick than anything, but does add a bit of replay value to a mission. I think they have done a good job overall in making the game flow a lot better. Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    I played the entire game you play as Baird from the last gears of war games you also get to play as cole and 2 new characters. The story is not as good as the last 3 games the story mode is about 8 hours. I played the full game in one sit down. The story don't drag you in like the previous 3 installments. The game has multiplayer but them taking the locust out of the multiplayer tool all the fun out and also how you can only have 2 guns but that dose not mean you'll still have fun in the multiplayer it's still fun but if you played the MP on the past 3 games you'll have to learn Judgment multiplayer. If you don't have Xbox Live you can play Multiplayer bots which is still very fun. It has a sorta bland story the MP is not as fun as before but it's still a very fun game i i give it a 8/10 Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    The only person i recommend this game to is Call of Duty enthusiasts. It's taken what made Gears a standout shooter, in a market that's been flooded by shooters already, and pushed it into the mold of any fly by night shooter out there. Starting with the campaign, i actually enjoyed it quite much. That's only because I'm a hardcore Gears fan and smile every time a reference is made or a old characters voice came over the radio. Other than that, it's just a linear succession of rooms where you pop out and shoot whatever is attacking and move up. This game play is entertaining if only because of the "Declassified" sections of the game. These area's allow you to beef up the difficult for extra points toward your star rank by hindering circumstances like decreasing visibility, restricting you to only a certain weapon or clearing the level in a set amount of time. If offers a slight tweak that allows for some changes in game play that keep it fresh enough not to bore you into submission. Multiplayer, on the other hand, is atrocious to say the lest. The originality that made Gears a staple in online shooters is completely shot in the foot as soon as you get into a match. With an embarrassing amount of playable characters (8), maps (4), and game modes (4), this installment is hardly a Gears of War game. With game modes like Free-For-All, Domination and Team Deathmatch, Judgement could be mistaken for a 3rd Person Call of Duty. The similarities don't end there, unfortunately. With a new control scheme, weapons are no longer accessed via the DPad but instead, you switch weapons with the Y button. Also, grenades are now mapped to their own button, the LB button. While this does speed up the game play by allowing you to switch weapons while roadie running or to quick toss a grenade, it takes all originally away from the game, leaving it, again, looking like a Call of Duty clone. When the first Gears game was released, players were introduced to modes like Annex, Warzone, Execution and Guardian, something they've never experienced before. And when game modes were introduced, like Capture the Leader or Team Deathmatch (GoW3), they had their own Gears spin on things, making it fresh to play. This game feels old as hell and done 100 times over. And to top it all off, it just feels like one of those $40 games like Halo 3: ODST, that are simply fan games to hold you off until Gears 4 comes out. I'm a hardcore Gears fan, i've got all of the books, games, and even a Marcus statue, but there is no amount of fan-dom that can hold this game back from being just a shame to the series in general. Don't waste your money. Collapse
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    4
    It's awful. It literally took out everything that made Gears of War fun. The only thing they did do good was make a versus Beast Mode. It's got only 4 maps, only a couple game-modes, no Locust, a few characters, damage is inconsistent, etc. (just bad changes overall). They focused WAY too much on skins. I thought the skins were cool in Gears of War 3, and I was happy to hear you could have them on your characters in Judgement, but they handled the skins really bad. It's literally just for them to make money. The only people that can find this fun are people who have never played any of the other games, and are coming from a game like CoD. I normally hate statements like these in other games, but this literally is just CoD in third person with a cover system, better customization, and characters. that's all. Game just sucks. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2013
    2
    Everything I loved about the original is gone. Gears used to be about deep strategic teamplay and intense standoffs but it has become a generic run & gun shooter. Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    0
    some of this people who just think this game is awesome need to play previous GOW,. Judgement sucks i mean they don't have the Locust no DNBO this game was rushed in less than a year to compete with other games EPIC messed this up really good, Expand

See all 233 User Reviews