Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 724 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Gears of War: Judgment take place fourteen years before the original Gears and just after the essential event of the Gears of War universe, Emergence Day. In the story of Judgment you fight to save the city of Halvo Bay from a horrifying new enemy in a campaign that strips awayThe events of Gears of War: Judgment take place fourteen years before the original Gears and just after the essential event of the Gears of War universe, Emergence Day. In the story of Judgment you fight to save the city of Halvo Bay from a horrifying new enemy in a campaign that strips away the extraneous and returns to the basics, capturing the true essence of Gears combat, and introduces a new style of gameplay that is faster-paced and more action-packed than what came before. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    96
    Judgment is literally as much fun as Gears of War 2. It doesn’t have this scope or severity one and three had, but it operates on a grand scale. I, for one, couldn’t be happier.
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    88
    Although it’s in no way game changing, Gears of War: Judgment is a fast paced, satisfyingly violent, action shooter.
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    85
    Gears of War Judgment is exactly what you’d expect in a Gears of War game - a few tweaks here and there, but basically the same game it's been for six and half years.
  4. 80
    A great game with enough to please fans of the series and even welcome new players. A new control scheme might add a bit of frustration, but this is quickly forgotten when you dive into the great multiplayer. Team Kilo Squad and the addition of a new star system which awards special play throughs of levels in single player mode add to an already enjoyable title.
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    79
    While Gears of War: Judgment is perhaps burdened by the pall of over-familiarity, the changes that developer People Can Fly have implemented are enough, for now, to keep it feeling fresh – and certainly worthy of your time.
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    Judgment is a worthy addition to the franchise, but it’s a shame the campaign falls short of the high standard of those that preceded it.
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    60
    Gears of War: Judgment is not a bad game, but one that very much stands in the shadow of its more illustrious predecessors. It is a bit like going back to a favorite restaurant, only to find that the management has changed and it's just not quite the same anymore...Sure, you'll still have a pretty decent meal, but you'll also leave yearning for days gone by.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 252
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    As a "Gear Head" the game's single player heavily relied on its combat and presented me with many different ways to approach them. With smartAs a "Gear Head" the game's single player heavily relied on its combat and presented me with many different ways to approach them. With smart AI you wont be fighting the same enemies if you wipe in single player. I completed the campaign in coop, with the game's matching making filling in those empty spots is a breeze. Also God of War was not the right GOW to purchase. I like PSY Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    Wtf with those bad reviews?

    I mean, I can understand there is bad review but not that much for a really good game! The only downfall of
    Wtf with those bad reviews?

    I mean, I can understand there is bad review but not that much for a really good game!

    The only downfall of this episode is for the player who did all the previous episodes! If it's your first one, like me, it's an awesome game
    Expand
  3. May 24, 2015
    8
    Such hate because it's not quite the same Gears game. Yeah, it's inferior to Gow2 and 3 (I think it's probably a little better than theSuch hate because it's not quite the same Gears game. Yeah, it's inferior to Gow2 and 3 (I think it's probably a little better than the original due to how much more content it has), but it's still fun. The metacritic score of 79 is about right. The campaign is less enjoyable than ever not only because the story is mediocre but because the whole campaign is split into little segments so they can keep giving you challenges to apply to each little part. I prefer the longer, larger scale battles of 2 and 3 to this type of campaign, although it's still a pretty good campaign (7/10, I'd say). There's nothing wrong with the multiplayer or co-op but nothing is "standout", either. Why an 8? Well, I really enjoy the overrun mode, which is like a multiplayer version of horde mode. Kind of imbalanced or not, it can provide hours of fun. On top of this, there's jus a lot of content, just like GoW3. The content isn't quite to that level, but this game is at least a 7.5/10 in my opinion. Again, I understand the hate and I was kind of disappointed, too, but it still stands as a good game with plenty of content (oh, and mroe new guns). Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    The only person i recommend this game to is Call of Duty enthusiasts. It's taken what made Gears a standout shooter, in a market that's beenThe only person i recommend this game to is Call of Duty enthusiasts. It's taken what made Gears a standout shooter, in a market that's been flooded by shooters already, and pushed it into the mold of any fly by night shooter out there. Starting with the campaign, i actually enjoyed it quite much. That's only because I'm a hardcore Gears fan and smile every time a reference is made or a old characters voice came over the radio. Other than that, it's just a linear succession of rooms where you pop out and shoot whatever is attacking and move up. This game play is entertaining if only because of the "Declassified" sections of the game. These area's allow you to beef up the difficult for extra points toward your star rank by hindering circumstances like decreasing visibility, restricting you to only a certain weapon or clearing the level in a set amount of time. If offers a slight tweak that allows for some changes in game play that keep it fresh enough not to bore you into submission. Multiplayer, on the other hand, is atrocious to say the lest. The originality that made Gears a staple in online shooters is completely shot in the foot as soon as you get into a match. With an embarrassing amount of playable characters (8), maps (4), and game modes (4), this installment is hardly a Gears of War game. With game modes like Free-For-All, Domination and Team Deathmatch, Judgement could be mistaken for a 3rd Person Call of Duty. The similarities don't end there, unfortunately. With a new control scheme, weapons are no longer accessed via the DPad but instead, you switch weapons with the Y button. Also, grenades are now mapped to their own button, the LB button. While this does speed up the game play by allowing you to switch weapons while roadie running or to quick toss a grenade, it takes all originally away from the game, leaving it, again, looking like a Call of Duty clone. When the first Gears game was released, players were introduced to modes like Annex, Warzone, Execution and Guardian, something they've never experienced before. And when game modes were introduced, like Capture the Leader or Team Deathmatch (GoW3), they had their own Gears spin on things, making it fresh to play. This game feels old as hell and done 100 times over. And to top it all off, it just feels like one of those $40 games like Halo 3: ODST, that are simply fan games to hold you off until Gears 4 comes out. I'm a hardcore Gears fan, i've got all of the books, games, and even a Marcus statue, but there is no amount of fan-dom that can hold this game back from being just a shame to the series in general. Don't waste your money. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    4
    I am so glad this was only a rental for me, because I would of felt cheated of my money. The biggest problem with this game is content, thereI am so glad this was only a rental for me, because I would of felt cheated of my money. The biggest problem with this game is content, there isn't hardly any! There are more weapon and armour skins for sale then there is to unlock! Microsoft have shamelessly overcharged for something that already exists on the disk and it costs more than the season pass! The gameplay feels samey, which would not be a bad thing but the story is so sub-par it feels like this should of been a 1600 MS points addon for gears 3! This is what happens to good games when the creative directer is no longer working on them. I got this to fill the gap between getting Bioshock Infinite, but it never did. Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2013
    3
    This will be the last Gears of War I play. I could prattle on what made this game less than worth the $60 I paid on the release date, but IThis will be the last Gears of War I play. I could prattle on what made this game less than worth the $60 I paid on the release date, but I won't. Instead I'll just sum it up. 1) Campaign was too damn short and SEVERELY lacking detail and depth 2) Multiplayer just seemed pared down and not nearly as addictive as the previous GOW 3) The "extra campaign" was absolutely not interesting. I felt like I was playing the leftover game play from GOW 3 and 4) to expect me to spend Microsoft points merely to customize my multiplayer character is absolute nonsense.

    Overall, this game was dull, repetitive, and pointless. Bah.
    Expand
  7. May 2, 2013
    0
    Terrible game. Terrible campaign. Probably the worst mulitplayer I have ever played. 0/10.............................................................

See all 252 User Reviews