Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 685 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of Gears of War: Judgment take place fourteen years before the original Gears and just after the essential event of the Gears of War universe, Emergence Day. In the story of Judgment you fight to save the city of Halvo Bay from a horrifying new enemy in a campaign that strips awayThe events of Gears of War: Judgment take place fourteen years before the original Gears and just after the essential event of the Gears of War universe, Emergence Day. In the story of Judgment you fight to save the city of Halvo Bay from a horrifying new enemy in a campaign that strips away the extraneous and returns to the basics, capturing the true essence of Gears combat, and introduces a new style of gameplay that is faster-paced and more action-packed than what came before. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    96
    Judgment is literally as much fun as Gears of War 2. It doesn’t have this scope or severity one and three had, but it operates on a grand scale. I, for one, couldn’t be happier.
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    88
    Although it’s in no way game changing, Gears of War: Judgment is a fast paced, satisfyingly violent, action shooter.
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    85
    Gears of War Judgment is exactly what you’d expect in a Gears of War game - a few tweaks here and there, but basically the same game it's been for six and half years.
  4. 80
    A great game with enough to please fans of the series and even welcome new players. A new control scheme might add a bit of frustration, but this is quickly forgotten when you dive into the great multiplayer. Team Kilo Squad and the addition of a new star system which awards special play throughs of levels in single player mode add to an already enjoyable title.
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    79
    While Gears of War: Judgment is perhaps burdened by the pall of over-familiarity, the changes that developer People Can Fly have implemented are enough, for now, to keep it feeling fresh – and certainly worthy of your time.
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    Judgment is a worthy addition to the franchise, but it’s a shame the campaign falls short of the high standard of those that preceded it.
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    60
    Gears of War: Judgment is not a bad game, but one that very much stands in the shadow of its more illustrious predecessors. It is a bit like going back to a favorite restaurant, only to find that the management has changed and it's just not quite the same anymore...Sure, you'll still have a pretty decent meal, but you'll also leave yearning for days gone by.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 242
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    As a "Gear Head" the game's single player heavily relied on its combat and presented me with many different ways to approach them. With smartAs a "Gear Head" the game's single player heavily relied on its combat and presented me with many different ways to approach them. With smart AI you wont be fighting the same enemies if you wipe in single player. I completed the campaign in coop, with the game's matching making filling in those empty spots is a breeze. Also God of War was not the right GOW to purchase. I like PSY Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    Wtf with those bad reviews?

    I mean, I can understand there is bad review but not that much for a really good game! The only downfall of
    Wtf with those bad reviews?

    I mean, I can understand there is bad review but not that much for a really good game!

    The only downfall of this episode is for the player who did all the previous episodes! If it's your first one, like me, it's an awesome game
    Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    8
    People Can Fly did great and I can see them getting better and better at it. I am an avid Bulletstorm lover. So I've played GOW 1, 2, 3,People Can Fly did great and I can see them getting better and better at it. I am an avid Bulletstorm lover. So I've played GOW 1, 2, 3, and now Judgement. I'm mostly a campaign player, not a big MP player. I love the Gears world and have enjoyed every game including now Judgement. I won't agree that this installment has lost the GOW soul, it's just different so it's going to make a lot of hardcore GOW fans mad. I like the control modifications they have made and if it's a little more like COD controls, so what? I for one am glad it's not as difficult as GOW1 (which was hard as hell on Casual) and possibly is a little easier than 2 and 3 too. Play on Insane if you want that ultimate challenge, but my playthroughs on Normal were really fun with some really furious shootouts, and the end boss fight against Karn was cool also! I'm going to try Hardcore mode next. OK, the locust AI should have been a little smarter, each episodic mission piece should have been a little longer (most were only 5 to 10 minutes it seemed), and they missed out on great dialogue possibilities from Baird and Cole which really surprised me so I'm knocking 2 points down for those misses but hey it's more GOW, it doesn't suck, and I personally hope they keep doing them. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    5
    (Single Player/Co-Op Campaign review only) Very disappointing. All the gruff manly charm has been completely sucked out of this iteration of(Single Player/Co-Op Campaign review only) Very disappointing. All the gruff manly charm has been completely sucked out of this iteration of Gears. Say goodbye to the epic set piece battles of GOW 3 in place for monotonous corridor shooting and score tracking. The core mechanics play exactly the same with a boring suspense-less plot and small bite sized missions with no investment or memorable events. Friendly banter between characters has been replaced with tired, overused dialogue from every action game ever. Even worse, every round ends with a score sheet. Why? Why turn Gears into an arcade shooter? Why break up the action every 3-5 minutes for a grading that is completely pointless to the overall story? One good thing I suppose is the new weapons that do handle well and fill in gaps to round out the already expansive existing arsenal. Still, undoubtedly the low point of the series, dumbfounded as to why reviewers are giving it such a glowing reception. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2013
    4
    i was really excited about multyplayer for this game because the maps were not flat any more, However, the multiplayer was huge let downi was really excited about multyplayer for this game because the maps were not flat any more, However, the multiplayer was huge let down because basically if you can't use the shot gun then your screwed. I don't under stand why the the lancer can't counter the shot gun at long range like it can in gears 3. even the saw off shot gun seams like it does less damage then the shot gun at times.I thought multiplayer should appeal to everyone but not GOWJ its for shotgun loving gears fans.Now the story is weak. their are some cool moments for long time gears fans but other then that its lame. the characters don't even really act like them self. Baird had no sense of humor and Cole does not look like Cole even though its 15 years in the past i know i get he younger. The aftermath story should have dlc for gears 3. Honestly paduk is my new favorite character. He is the only character who is really fleshed out. in short if you a die hard gears fan who loves gears multiplayer form gears one and two then this game is for you. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    2
    I am a long time gears of war fan but honestly, anybody who gave this game more than a 5 is either a fanboy, doesn't know gears or games orI am a long time gears of war fan but honestly, anybody who gave this game more than a 5 is either a fanboy, doesn't know gears or games or both. this is game is an insult to gears of war ESPECIALLY multiplayer. They took out DBNO, meatshields,executions, active reloads and wall tagging frags. They also took out the ability to have a tertiary weapon. In other words you can only have one big weapon and a pistol with a grenade to start each match. there is no horde and the campaign is, quite frankly, boring; it's stale. the only half decent part of the campaign is "aftermath" and I'm pretty sure it's a lost DLC from gears of war 3. I beat the campaign because that's how much hope I had in the game, telling myself "the story will get better" but to no avail. people can fly are trash for even allowing themselves to think of this as a game. all they did was make a game, skin their character with the franchise game, slap on the gears name and told us real fans that it's gears of war it's not. I recommend this game to no one Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    0
    some of this people who just think this game is awesome need to play previous GOW,. Judgement sucks i mean they don't have the Locust nosome of this people who just think this game is awesome need to play previous GOW,. Judgement sucks i mean they don't have the Locust no DNBO this game was rushed in less than a year to compete with other games EPIC messed this up really good, Collapse

See all 242 User Reviews