Gears of War Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2141 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Merrill
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Wowzers 0_o...the multiplayer is so good that I was pretty much speechless. The chainsaws, bombs, brain-plattering headshots, and gore are just the beginning of what is truly a tactical TPS game that defines what Next-Gen means. Props to MS and Epic for giving us such an awesome game and I can't stopping thinking about it as I'm typing this...must go play now.
  2. dangcucud
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    Glicthy or not; Gears MP gets your heart pounding... in a good way. I hope GOW2 gets things better as in Halo 3; i heard they would be doing something similar *(such as new host selected if the host leaves). here's hoping for the best. GOW2= Must Buy.
  3. matt
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Marc S, they put M ratings on games for a reason, they aren't meant to be played by 6 year olds. And how can you give it a 0 if you think it's a great game? Anyway, my thoughts, it really raises the bar for this genre, only once in a while does this sort of game come along, but when it does, you thank god for video games. Unbelievable game, top marks.
  4. StevenS.
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    Unbelievable. Great co-op, even better versus mode.
  5. JeffK.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing. When I played, I couldn't believe the graphics, gameplay, etc. The best game I have played to date.
  6. AbdulS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    One of the best games on 360, story could be a little longer, but it is great. the multiplayer is competative and really fun. still best graphics. the only people that do not like this game suck at it.
  7. AngelaF.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    This is one of the BEST games out for the 360! The AI is good in this game and so far I haven't found an "easy" way to kill the enemies, except for the berserker on the train, you can make him fall off. Loads of fun and pretty challenging, the weapons are designed well. I especially like how the chainsaw will stop when you get shot at. The controls work perfectly and i really This is one of the BEST games out for the 360! The AI is good in this game and so far I haven't found an "easy" way to kill the enemies, except for the berserker on the train, you can make him fall off. Loads of fun and pretty challenging, the weapons are designed well. I especially like how the chainsaw will stop when you get shot at. The controls work perfectly and i really don't understand how people can say that its hard to use.*cough, NOOB* LOL.. The only thing is that they could have made it a little longer. Still deserves a 10, this game rocks. Expand
  8. Jk
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    This game is so f*ckin good! It might be a a bit short but things like co-op add many extra hours to this game I've beaten this game so many times but I've come back for more its so frican fun specially playing with freinds on split screen or online co op GET IT NOW!
  9. GearH.
    Feb 13, 2007
    8
    Wow! What a game! The visuals are stunning especially on a huge high def television. This game has everything except a decent length story line, with excellent graphics and intense battles throughout you would hope for a story line that grips you for hours and hours but sadly its grips you just hours. Excellent game and cant wait for the next installment.
  10. SlothM.
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Sick game, yes the campaign is short but the absolutely mindblowing graphics, and superb online multiplayer make this a winner no doubt.
  11. Jordan
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Best game I've ever played. I highly recommend it to anyone. The 3rd person view took me a while to get used to, as well as there being no aiming dot until zooming in. This game has the best graphics I have ever seen. (especially on the 1080i hi-def lcd) each level has great action. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because of the online play. I found it to be a little Best game I've ever played. I highly recommend it to anyone. The 3rd person view took me a while to get used to, as well as there being no aiming dot until zooming in. This game has the best graphics I have ever seen. (especially on the 1080i hi-def lcd) each level has great action. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because of the online play. I found it to be a little boring. Other than that. Awesome game. Expand
  12. Ian
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    This is the most satisfying game I have played in a long time. Although, judging by Storage Box's content, you may not like the game if you are completely inept with first person shooters. Killing in this game is extremely rewarding and only makes you want to kill more. You won't put a round into someone's head and watch them collapse limp onto the ground. You'll blow This is the most satisfying game I have played in a long time. Although, judging by Storage Box's content, you may not like the game if you are completely inept with first person shooters. Killing in this game is extremely rewarding and only makes you want to kill more. You won't put a round into someone's head and watch them collapse limp onto the ground. You'll blow their freaking head off and watch a mess of guts come raining down after hearing them scream in agony! Although, a fair warning, you may not enjoy the story line if you came here for the epic storytelling of JRR Tolkien. The plot of this game is simple. Kill em. Kill em all! Expand
  13. MartyB.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    That Storage Box guy is pretty funny. Someday when my son asks me what an idiot is I will show him Storage's review of Gears of War and he will understand.
  14. Mike
    Sep 21, 2007
    8
    While the gameplay is undeniably fun, you have to shut off your brain and ignore the "plot." The storyline and presentation is so ridiculous and poorly executed that the entire thing is absolutely laughable. Character development? Non existent. Was this written by a 12 year old pre-pubescent boy?
    Hey, Epic Games? Fire your writer(s).
  15. Notafanboy
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    I could go on for pages about this game. One of the few games to deliver. What makes this game great is the features it brings. The chainsaw will keep newcomers happy in a sadistic way for some time, as well as the curb stomp, which after two years is still great fun. The graphics are right up there with the greats, even after all this time. I still haven't put this game down, truly I could go on for pages about this game. One of the few games to deliver. What makes this game great is the features it brings. The chainsaw will keep newcomers happy in a sadistic way for some time, as well as the curb stomp, which after two years is still great fun. The graphics are right up there with the greats, even after all this time. I still haven't put this game down, truly breathtaking. Expand
  16. JamieD.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    This is a great game with a couple shortcomings. It looks great, it plays great, and is a lot of fun. I would have like to seen 4 person split screen and a longer campaign. Versus online is fun, but I get most of my kills with the chainsaw which is cool but I would like to kill more enemies with my gun. Online Co-Op Rocks!
  17. MikeM.
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    An amazing game that suddenly renewed my interest in the FP shooter genre again. I have to admit I'm a pretty jaded and long time gamer (early 80's) and like many, feared this would be either be another Brute Force or a typical formulamatic shooter. But I was definately wrong. Dead wrong. Forget that this game would put graphic whores in pure ecstasy, but the gameplay works well An amazing game that suddenly renewed my interest in the FP shooter genre again. I have to admit I'm a pretty jaded and long time gamer (early 80's) and like many, feared this would be either be another Brute Force or a typical formulamatic shooter. But I was definately wrong. Dead wrong. Forget that this game would put graphic whores in pure ecstasy, but the gameplay works well that melds halo type action with the strategy of a Tom Clancy type shooter. Repetitive game play? I think not. The coop mode is pretty sweet, but the versus mode simply enhances the games longetivity. Its only 4v4, but the maps are made perfectly accomodating for that amount. Now I only hope if they make a sequel they include 4 player coop.... Expand
  18. Falak.D
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    This game is amazing. the graphics, gameplay proves that this could be the game to beat Halo 3 but we'll have to wait and see. It was either FEAR or GOW and I guess I made the right decision. The best game for 06' PERIOD!
  19. TonyB.
    Nov 12, 2006
    7
    I think that everybody loves this game only because its the first real next generation game. Sure the graphics and sound are simply amazing I must agree but its the same thing over and over again kill the locust blow up there emergence holes move on its the same thing as any other 3rd person shooter. Another problem is absolutely nothing is destructable. I shot a glass pot and it left a I think that everybody loves this game only because its the first real next generation game. Sure the graphics and sound are simply amazing I must agree but its the same thing over and over again kill the locust blow up there emergence holes move on its the same thing as any other 3rd person shooter. Another problem is absolutely nothing is destructable. I shot a glass pot and it left a bullet hole like I shot a wall it didn't even go through it unless the weapon of the future are extrmemly weak I think we have a problem housten. They spent all that time making the game look good and windows and pots can't break rawr. Expand
  20. Mahfu83
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    Dont believe the other ratings! These people only rated the single player mode. Multiplayer and online are so utterly amazing that it outshines anything ever created for online. If you love to get the blood pumpin and enjoy edge of your seat competion....then buy this game. The hype was under-rated!
  21. danwarb
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Very innovative and original gameplay ;) ;). Great story. Subtle; you're not hit over the head with it. Best visuals in a game so far.
  22. BruinsFan247
    Nov 10, 2006
    8
    Product of overhyping? Possibly. Is it a bad game? Not at all, it fact its pretty darn fun. However, after more than a year of hype, I for one was expecting more innovation and more of everything. Aside from maybe the graphics, which by the way are the prettiest gaming has ever seen, period. I for one dont play games for graphics though. The gameplay is fierce and almost non-stop action, Product of overhyping? Possibly. Is it a bad game? Not at all, it fact its pretty darn fun. However, after more than a year of hype, I for one was expecting more innovation and more of everything. Aside from maybe the graphics, which by the way are the prettiest gaming has ever seen, period. I for one dont play games for graphics though. The gameplay is fierce and almost non-stop action, also a possitive. My biggest problem with the game lies in the controls. I dont like they running button being the same as the cover button. What do you think is going to happen when you run too close to a wall or crate or any other object to be used as cover, its very frustrating to me. The single player campaign is riveting, for a short while anyway. Its only about 6 hours long. Thats not such a big negative to me since I play most of my games online. Anyway its a great game, though not deserving of all the hype in my opinion. Its still a must have for especially for online gamers. Deserving of a "10" or a 100% rating? not to this gamer. Expand
  23. PeterA.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Single player game is difficult and you will die often, but extremely rewarding. Co-op is a bit easier as you and your teammate can keep each other alive (run up t a downed teammate and hit X). Multi-player is excellent for the limited time I have played it. Good team work is rewarded and Rambo-style play will get you killed quick. Not sure if there are the usual CTF and free-for-all Single player game is difficult and you will die often, but extremely rewarding. Co-op is a bit easier as you and your teammate can keep each other alive (run up t a downed teammate and hit X). Multi-player is excellent for the limited time I have played it. Good team work is rewarded and Rambo-style play will get you killed quick. Not sure if there are the usual CTF and free-for-all options. Also finding an online game to join wasn't always successful. Excellent story and pacing. Some decent shock value. Graphically excellent, but sometimes difficult to tell friend from foe at a distance. Controls are intuitive once you select the Legacy configuration (Halo-like) that reverses the functions of the analog sticks. Highly recommended. I would give it a 9.5. Expand
  24. DrewC.
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    It is an amazing game! This is the first game I played on xbox 360 and it is the best of the bunch. I'm HOOKED!
  25. JonT.
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Love the singleplayer and coop. Multiplayer is great fun too. Easily best 360 game out now, so get it and play it!
  26. Themdogs
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    awesome! i expected alot from this game but i was still overwhelmed by the sheer beauty of the game, and it certainly has the gameplay to mmatch. Very little to critisize really!
  27. JG
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    A brilliant game in the making, the graphics are the best i've seen on 360, the single player is great even better on co-op, and the multiplayer is perfect.
  28. EdwardW.
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    This game is a master piece couldn't put it down Can't wait for the enivitable release if GOW2 . It's a great game of players who enjoy cinematic views and great land scapes. The fire fights are as close to real life as u can get.
  29. GM
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    "Bob J. gave it a3: This game has been so overhyped that reviewers feel compelled to give it a good score. Excellent texturing, solid presentation. Poor, repetitive desgin with little innovation. If you are expecting a classic you will be disappointed. It is as formulaic as they come." Many games have been as hyped and gotten very poor reviews. This person has obviously never played this "Bob J. gave it a3: This game has been so overhyped that reviewers feel compelled to give it a good score. Excellent texturing, solid presentation. Poor, repetitive desgin with little innovation. If you are expecting a classic you will be disappointed. It is as formulaic as they come." Many games have been as hyped and gotten very poor reviews. This person has obviously never played this game. This game assaults all of your senses. The game is amazing and unlike any game I have ever played before and I've owned EVERY system made since the Atari 2600. It's sad whebn someone trashes a masterpiece like this simply because it may hurt sales of the one console they choose to own. Being a multi-console owner and seeing all games in an un-tainted way is pure gaming bliss. Expand
  30. AdamF.
    Nov 9, 2006
    9
    Very good game! The graphics are tight and fluid, very impressive. The controls, though a bit tricky at first, leave very little to be desired. The crouch and cover system is a God send once you get it down. The story is solid. The sound is solid. Only complaints come from the inability to jump and the short campaign mode. Someday, I will get my wish and see a game like this with the Very good game! The graphics are tight and fluid, very impressive. The controls, though a bit tricky at first, leave very little to be desired. The crouch and cover system is a God send once you get it down. The story is solid. The sound is solid. Only complaints come from the inability to jump and the short campaign mode. Someday, I will get my wish and see a game like this with the length of a solid RPG... Expand
  31. AaronH.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Simply a great game. I can't think of any changes I would like to see in the sequal except maybe to make the single player campaign longer.
  32. Eric
    Jan 11, 2007
    9
    Best game for 360 for the year. Halo sucks (yes its true) and this game is good. Its no Half-Life 2 though.
  33. DylanP.
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    I have had so much fun with this game. YES the main game is short but my friend and I had so much fun playing it together we kept coming back. The online is my favorite part. Strategy comes into play in the online matches to a large extent. Rushing in and dying? Hold back and let the enemy come to you and have a teammate flank from the side. If you have a team that talks to each other it I have had so much fun with this game. YES the main game is short but my friend and I had so much fun playing it together we kept coming back. The online is my favorite part. Strategy comes into play in the online matches to a large extent. Rushing in and dying? Hold back and let the enemy come to you and have a teammate flank from the side. If you have a team that talks to each other it is an amazing experience. And of course the graphics are beautiful! I guess people don't understand the concept of different art styles. Everything doesn't have to be all bright and colorful. Still I would recommend renting it as with any game. Everyone has different tastes in games so you may not enjoy it. Expand
  34. WillM.
    Jan 1, 2007
    9
    This game is by far the best game for the 360 A.I. is perfect the campaign is very entertaining as well. But.... it is very short that is why I am giving it a nine. Also online is very fun although it it is repetetive through the whole thing either you curb stomp chainsaw or shoot their head off its just the same.
  35. A.Nonymous
    Nov 6, 2007
    8
    The more I played this game, the more it's flaws began to appear. One of the most noticeable problems is the plot, or lack thereof. To actually get any story, you have to read the manual. Secondly, is lack of variety. The firstplayer campaign is short and not-too-sweet. I wouldn't have finished it if I hadn't been co-oping. Finally, the baddies. The bosses are incredibly The more I played this game, the more it's flaws began to appear. One of the most noticeable problems is the plot, or lack thereof. To actually get any story, you have to read the manual. Secondly, is lack of variety. The firstplayer campaign is short and not-too-sweet. I wouldn't have finished it if I hadn't been co-oping. Finally, the baddies. The bosses are incredibly unchallenging, the enemies have an annoying bullet-withstanding tenacity and the each section basically follows the same formula; find cover, lean out to shoot for a while, rinse and repeat. Expand
  36. LarsB.
    Nov 7, 2007
    8
    A graphical wonderful game with a good atmosphere. not so good in storytelling, but deep in experience and very brutal. at least there are a lot of better games on the xbox360, also in graphics but this is definitely one of the better ones.
  37. CoryD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Stunning visuals.. doesn't have the replay value of the Halo franchise, but one of the must-have games for the 360. ;)
  38. Xamox
    Jan 25, 2007
    9
    Awesome game. Graphics rock. The only compliant I have about this game is the single player could be a bit longer and it severely needs more multiplayer maps.
  39. WyattG.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    If you like shooters like I do, then Gears of War is as close to perfection in a shooter game that is currently available on the 360. I am hard pressed to find anything wrong with this game. The graphics, gameplay, weapons and sounds are all fantastic. The 3rd person view and the cover system helps distinguish it from other shooters. The online and offline co-op means that you will want If you like shooters like I do, then Gears of War is as close to perfection in a shooter game that is currently available on the 360. I am hard pressed to find anything wrong with this game. The graphics, gameplay, weapons and sounds are all fantastic. The 3rd person view and the cover system helps distinguish it from other shooters. The online and offline co-op means that you will want to play this game from begining to end multiple times. Then once you are done with the campaign mode it is the multiplayer that will occupy your time on the 360 for a long while. The matches may only be 4 v 4 max, but once you start playing you will soon realise why as the action is so full on that any more players would be pure mayhem. The number of maps available is good and the variety of locations between maps will test you in different ways. WARNING : You will think that you know how to play this game after playing the campaign mode on the hardest difficulty, the truth is that the multiplayer will show you that you really know nothing. Gears of War multiplayer is the home of the hardcore player, and your ass will be owned for ages until you get use to the maps and weapons. That said, your first chainsaw kill will put a smile on your face a mile wide and make you want to play more and more to do it again ! My only criticism with this game lies in the multiplayer where the online lag when shooting is one of the worst I have seen, but the action is so good that you will soon learn to work with it. If you like shooters and can't give this game a 10 then I suggest you sell your 360 and do something else. Expand
  40. CandyD.
    Jan 5, 2007
    8
    8.5 a pretty game it is, but with no storyline existing to delve into. Its too shallow of a game. On multiplayer side , only 8 players to play to is not enough, it needs to be atleast 20 players to be called multiplayer.
  41. I.CWiener
    Jan 5, 2007
    9
    Marc and shawn. The game is not the problem. It's you. The game is rated 18+ so of course your children should not play. The game is great! You get a choice of where you like to go in the level adding massive replay value. The graphics are amazing, so amazing your eyes will hurt, and good gamplay. Multiplayer is unbelievable. Co-op is great because you can play the entire game withMarc and shawn. The game is not the problem. It's you. The game is rated 18+ so of course your children should not play. The game is great! You get a choice of where you like to go in the level adding massive replay value. The graphics are amazing, so amazing your eyes will hurt, and good gamplay. Multiplayer is unbelievable. Co-op is great because you can play the entire game with your friend. You coulden't ask more for this game. The only problem is you will have to quit the game to go to sleep then the next day you can play more! Expand
  42. DanielM
    Jan 9, 2007
    9
    Firstly, let me just address the misguided fellows who are complaining about the fantastic chainsaw bayonette.
    I could fully understand people like "Marc Staal" and "Shawn O" getting annoyed at the predicatable results of their children viewing the undoubtably graphically violent imagary that must obviously accompany an alien soldier being systematically and gratuitously chainsawed in
    Firstly, let me just address the misguided fellows who are complaining about the fantastic chainsaw bayonette.
    I could fully understand people like "Marc Staal" and "Shawn O" getting annoyed at the predicatable results of their children viewing the undoubtably graphically violent imagary that must obviously accompany an alien soldier being systematically and gratuitously chainsawed in half and exploding in a mist of blood IF the game this was occuring in was SPYRO THE DRAGON or YOSHI'S ISLAND. But it's not.

    Gears of War is an 18 rated game in the UK and Mature rated in the US and for good reason. It's a game designed and made for adults to play and enjoy.Yes Shawn and Marc, adults play videogames too.
    It's ironic to note that the game itself does not have any reason to be apologetic. The only reason that your young children got hold of this game in the first place is either because the store your children purchased it from made the error of supplying it to them or because YOU failed to notice the glaring "Do not buy" signs when choosing to buy the game, whether that was in the form of reviews, adverts, or the large MATURE sticker placed on the box. If your children have been morally corrupted then sorry about that. But please dont blame it on a great video game.

    Gears of War is just that, a great inventive and fun game. Please dont let Nick and Marc tell you otherwise.
    Expand
  43. SeanZ.
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    The game is only 6 hours if you play it on the "Casual" difficulty. If you play it on the other two, it will take much longer, and the accomplishment of beating the game will be much greater. This game is exhilarating from start to finish, and I wouldn't want this game any other way. If you get stressed over a certain chapter, or part hop into the Xbox Live matches and have fun!
  44. PabloG.
    Feb 3, 2007
    8
    If I wrote this review two weeks after I got the game, it would probably be a 10 only because I couldn't give it any higher. But now it's knocked down a bit because I thought the online play would be a bit better. The single player game is fantastic (though short) on all three difficulties and the online-coop is fun as hell. But the team death match got pretty old. Even after If I wrote this review two weeks after I got the game, it would probably be a 10 only because I couldn't give it any higher. But now it's knocked down a bit because I thought the online play would be a bit better. The single player game is fantastic (though short) on all three difficulties and the online-coop is fun as hell. But the team death match got pretty old. Even after that, it's still THE must-own game for the Xbox 360. Expand
  45. billybobvagina
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    this game is amazing its better than all halo games combine! it took a while to get used to but after that it was simple. if there is a 2nd gears of war game on its way i will buy it in a flash. this is the best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  46. AdrianW.
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    I don't play A LOT of games by comparison to most people but this is one of the best and most addictive games I've played in quite some time. After 3-4 months of solid gaming I am still sitting down and playing multiplayer for hours with maximum enjoyment. Fantastic game.
  47. RhysP.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Gears of war was a totally awesome game, it's almost like what halo was to the Xbox, but not quite. Just to give you an Idea it's slightly like GRAW and Halo combined because its third person, it's got aliens and its freakin awesome.
  48. JustinS.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    this game is superb! to Shawn O, the chainsaw has been included in the game for 2 reasons: 1. Its a ratem M game which are know to have a lot of gore 2. it is needed for close combat hence the name Chainsaw Bayonet and it adds to the gameplay
  49. JoeR.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    This game is the best out now. The online is just great and the single player is a good training for the online, I think its perfect!
  50. SYC
    Apr 14, 2007
    8
    A quality shooter and easily the best game on the 360 to date, however it is a tad too short and does sort of fall apart about a chapter before the very abrupt end. Still well worth playing through, especially with a friend.
  51. AdamE.
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    The best game on 360 so far. Except for squeamish people.
  52. RichF.
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    Stupendous online play, the obvious work of a master game designer. Good luck Halo 3, we already have the definitive shooter of the 360, and probably the definitive shooter for the rest of the decade.
  53. RobR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    This game is perfect in almost all aspects. The characters all have their own unique personalities, but are modest enough so that they never become annoying. Graphics are absolutely top-notch, from the water effects to the bodies flying apart, it is absorbing. Hands down the best game for 360, with its reload setup and epic environments. However, I have two complaints. The multiplayer is This game is perfect in almost all aspects. The characters all have their own unique personalities, but are modest enough so that they never become annoying. Graphics are absolutely top-notch, from the water effects to the bodies flying apart, it is absorbing. Hands down the best game for 360, with its reload setup and epic environments. However, I have two complaints. The multiplayer is more than lacking, with only four different game types (one added recently in an update), three of which are based around nothing but killing everything. The other complaint being the storyline. It was great up until the end, it leaves much to be desired and ends awfully abruptly, not answering many questions but instead leaving more. This would be fine and dandy, IF it were told well, however as I said before, it ended extremely abruptly and quite honestly, the ending cinematic isn't the most well thought out. Expand
  54. Joopiec
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    I had a lot of fun playing this game. The gameplay took a bit of getting used to because I
  55. RyanQ.
    Jul 29, 2007
    8
    Overall, a decent shooter. The Cover control...is a pretty good mechanic but could use a tiny bit of work. The graphics are simply awesome. And same with most of the gameplay. The weapons are quite unique. The multiplayer is amazingly fantastic. The first thing you think when you chainsaw somebody for the first time is..."awesome..simply awesome." The single player story isn't to die Overall, a decent shooter. The Cover control...is a pretty good mechanic but could use a tiny bit of work. The graphics are simply awesome. And same with most of the gameplay. The weapons are quite unique. The multiplayer is amazingly fantastic. The first thing you think when you chainsaw somebody for the first time is..."awesome..simply awesome." The single player story isn't to die for. But the Insame difficulty level gets the job done.Overall its a decent game. This game just might spoil Halo 3 and other games to come. Expand
  56. JustinH.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Are you kidding me a 5? you must have seen a trailer and never played the game the multiplayer is by far the most fun i've had in a game in years!!!!!! Oblivion was the biggest flop ever i wasted 60 bucks on that game and ended up having more fun playing frisbee with it. most intense online game i ever played even better then halo. single player is fun too i still cant get enough and Are you kidding me a 5? you must have seen a trailer and never played the game the multiplayer is by far the most fun i've had in a game in years!!!!!! Oblivion was the biggest flop ever i wasted 60 bucks on that game and ended up having more fun playing frisbee with it. most intense online game i ever played even better then halo. single player is fun too i still cant get enough and i've beat it on insane 3 times. This is the game i look forward to getting off work everyday to play. #1 in my eyes. xbox live: deathsoldier69 Expand
  57. JamesB.
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    Clearly Nic M. knows what he's talking about comparing Gears to a game that isn't out yet. Most overrated game of all time is a haughty claim to make. It's a very progressive and original title. Naturally it's going to alienate gamers who don't know what they're looking at.
  58. Max
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    Ooooohhh yeeeeah. Gears of War. Everyone has heard of the amazing gameplay and the awesome, gory blood effects of this game. The story is fun and the multiplayer maps are fun and the weapons are cool. You can't beat a machine gun equipped with a chainsaw you just CAN'T. The achievents are fun and the tactics of finding good cover and strategy is ingenious. Definitely one of the Ooooohhh yeeeeah. Gears of War. Everyone has heard of the amazing gameplay and the awesome, gory blood effects of this game. The story is fun and the multiplayer maps are fun and the weapons are cool. You can't beat a machine gun equipped with a chainsaw you just CAN'T. The achievents are fun and the tactics of finding good cover and strategy is ingenious. Definitely one of the greatest games to hit the 360. Expand
  59. BarryP.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    It's a brilliant bench mark title for the Xbox 360. It's probably the most atmospheric game i have ever played. I have never jumped out of my skin so many times on a game with the rush of the unexpected Krill flocks! The shooting, the camera angle and cover mode is literally at a level of perfection. Stunning.
  60. JackB.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    Loved the game, great visuals, story, guns, characters, just an awsome game!
  61. BillyB.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    The so called gamers that gave low scores, either have no idea what they are doing, or just don't know one of the best games to come on in the last 10 years! It's strategic, it makes you protect yourself, and flank, and get down or you will die. Unlike other shotters where you can just run and jump, or see who unloads the weapon first to get the kill, gears makes you play smart, The so called gamers that gave low scores, either have no idea what they are doing, or just don't know one of the best games to come on in the last 10 years! It's strategic, it makes you protect yourself, and flank, and get down or you will die. Unlike other shotters where you can just run and jump, or see who unloads the weapon first to get the kill, gears makes you play smart, and work together as a team online, and in the single player coop. It's an amazing game, and the haters are probably still playing 360 ports on their choppy ps3. A worthy buy, and get it now if you haven't played it, because Gear of War 2 is hitting and it's been in production since before the first one released. Get ready cause it's only getting better! Expand
  62. Viseage
    Mar 6, 2008
    8
    I don't understand why a lot of people say that this game is "overrated" when some of them are clearly halo fanboys. And complain about the controls? I only get stuck to a wall like once every week because I get distracted. I mean you guys must really suck, and complaining about the ducking? well you see theres this thing called taking cover from bullets flying past your head! not I don't understand why a lot of people say that this game is "overrated" when some of them are clearly halo fanboys. And complain about the controls? I only get stuck to a wall like once every week because I get distracted. I mean you guys must really suck, and complaining about the ducking? well you see theres this thing called taking cover from bullets flying past your head! not being rambo (aka halo) and owning a bunch of aliens on your own. I say its a good game. I can see my team mates and who's the enemy just fine (as I'm not blind *cough*) Anyways, this is a great game not UBER MICRO 1337 but its good! If you play consoles a lot the controls are just fine the graphics were great lest we not forget it was made in 2006 and the storyline was just fine as I was mostly paying attention to blowing locust heads off not being QQ about storyline. Multiplayer may not be a big awesome war but my heart gets pumping when I'm in cover and they run at me with a shotty. Expand
  63. Joem
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    Gears of War has to be the top game ever made for the Xbox 360!! No-one should give this game lower than an 8 because the Graphics of the game a immense, the gory shotgun kills, how people blow up with the wonderful BOOMSHOT and how peoples heads explode when you get a headshot with the sniper rifle. GOW Rules!!!
  64. JaredK.
    Jul 16, 2008
    9
    This game is well made and just brings you into the environment. The cover and running are my favorite parts of the game.
  65. MikeB.
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    Fun, fast paced and heavily-violent gameplay and great graphics for when it released. Difficulty can be infuriating at times, both in single player and multiplay, but that's just part of the challenge. Definitely a hardcore shooter.
  66. DavidA
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    One of the best 360 games, Gears of War is a game that truly delivers. And will go down as one of the most important games to come out under the xbox brands. Next to Halo this is the most important franchise for the 360.
  67. LiamR
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    Gears of war is an excellent all round gaming experience. I was a bit cautious when buying it because of the huge amount of hype surrounding, but I was certainly not disappointed. The game takes place on the Planet Sera which in many aspects is very similar to Earth. The main story resolves around a war between the humans and the Locust Horde, a skinless gorilla like race from under the Gears of war is an excellent all round gaming experience. I was a bit cautious when buying it because of the huge amount of hype surrounding, but I was certainly not disappointed. The game takes place on the Planet Sera which in many aspects is very similar to Earth. The main story resolves around a war between the humans and the Locust Horde, a skinless gorilla like race from under the ground. Throughout the game you battle through beautiful set pieces such as burned out palaces and mansions. The story was very good but was hampered by the fact that the friendly AI is no where near as sophisticated as that of the Locust. However any of these issues resolve themselves when playing in co-op. The online is brilliant. It is very, very hard however compared to most games until you realise the essentials. Cover is key and you need to stick together as a team to survive. All in all Gears of War is a great game with an awe-inspiring soundtrack, voice acting and graphics with solid gameplay but just could have had better AI in single player. Expand
  68. StuartM.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    This game is magical. the gameplay is engaging and just plain fun. just try it, you will be hooked by this games depth and quality. you wont find a better game this year on any system. you just wont. and the chainsaw never gets old.
  69. MiguelH.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    The most addictive game I have played in years. Great controls, great audio and great visuals. The learning curve is steep enough to keep the game fresh; while the restarts resulting from frequent deaths I incur are not as tedious as most games. It's a compelling co-op game. As sweet of gaming as it gets.
  70. JimP.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    A very unique experience. A nice break from all the run and gun and hack and slash FPS. To compare this with Halo or call it a Halo clone is ridiculous. They're two different styles of games. Best Graphics on any console hands down. With high def and surround sound it's an experience you will never forget.
  71. MauricioG.
    Dec 13, 2006
    4
    I Must Agree with Daniel, the expectations was so big that everyone make a big over-rated. This game is ridiculous in size. In one day I Finish!! The gameplay and looking remind a lot of BLACK on the PS2. The main aspect of the gears of war is the paintball style of play. Rent before buy and you will save a bucks...
  72. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    As one of the banner exclusives for the XBOX 360, Gears of Wsr is an untouchable beast of a third person shooter. A thoroughly brilliant, action packed behemoth of a campaign, innovative multiplayer offerings and a real sense of the player being a badass with chainsaw gun in hand. This is one fantastic game. If only Epic managed to distill the same brilliance to the narrative andAs one of the banner exclusives for the XBOX 360, Gears of Wsr is an untouchable beast of a third person shooter. A thoroughly brilliant, action packed behemoth of a campaign, innovative multiplayer offerings and a real sense of the player being a badass with chainsaw gun in hand. This is one fantastic game. If only Epic managed to distill the same brilliance to the narrative and environments, but still an unmatched goliath of a shooter. Expand
  73. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I never owned a console before the Xbox 360 (I only played games on the PC), so when a friend convinced me to buy one late in 2007, he also convinced me to buy GoW also. Needless to say, after years of mouse & keyboard control, I couldn't quite hack the two-thumb 360 controller. Marcus Fenix would just turn in circles while various Locus tore him up. After playing a few times overI never owned a console before the Xbox 360 (I only played games on the PC), so when a friend convinced me to buy one late in 2007, he also convinced me to buy GoW also. Needless to say, after years of mouse & keyboard control, I couldn't quite hack the two-thumb 360 controller. Marcus Fenix would just turn in circles while various Locus tore him up. After playing a few times over Christmas I gave up on the Xbox and put it aside. Almost a year later, completely bored over a Thanksgiving holiday, I pulled GoW off the shelf, dusted it off, moved a chair inches from my big screen and began my journey on Sera. Man, was I ever glad I did that - as Gears of War is probably my favorite game on the Xbox (head and shoulders above the Halo series, btw). If it wasn't for Gears I probably would have shelved the 360 entirely (which would have been a shame, since it's now the main focus of my multimedia experience - live streaming sports, streaming movies & tv shows - the 360 is on the active screen MUCH more than my cable box is - and that's all because GoW taught me to like playing games on the 360). If you've never played this game, GO GET IT - it really is, without a doubt, the best 360 game (and series) there is. Interesting story, fun gameplay, and really compelling. It's just a classic - and always will be. Expand
  74. Sep 29, 2010
    7
    Dark, bleak and hopeless, Gears of War is the perfect example of an apocalyptic world. It completely captures the feel of an apocalyptic world, in atmosphere, story telling and visual style. The level design is great and all and the feel of the game is spot on, the gameplay is just an average third person shooter. It is tactical but it has a limited variety, making it repetitive andDark, bleak and hopeless, Gears of War is the perfect example of an apocalyptic world. It completely captures the feel of an apocalyptic world, in atmosphere, story telling and visual style. The level design is great and all and the feel of the game is spot on, the gameplay is just an average third person shooter. It is tactical but it has a limited variety, making it repetitive and un-replayable even in higher difficulties though it does add a bit of challenge. Overall, its just a typical shooter game. Nothing special. Expand
  75. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    While for the most part its a good game, The visuals are not that impressive (environments mostly, they also lack variety) and the campaign could have done better with explaining the whole situation the characters are in.
  76. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    This game is magnificent! Everyone who owns an Xbox 360 or PC should buy this game! The gameplay is wildly addicting, fresh, and unique. This game is very innovative, flows very smooth, and has excellently crafted scenes. The amount of detail placed in this game is overwhelming. The back-story is rich, and the conflict is intense and very realistic. Gears of War is a fantastic scienceThis game is magnificent! Everyone who owns an Xbox 360 or PC should buy this game! The gameplay is wildly addicting, fresh, and unique. This game is very innovative, flows very smooth, and has excellently crafted scenes. The amount of detail placed in this game is overwhelming. The back-story is rich, and the conflict is intense and very realistic. Gears of War is a fantastic science fiction military shooter. This game has an excellent campaign that is easily worthy of multiple replays, and has a great multiplayer experience. Gears of war sets the bar with graphics, gameplay, and military-style story telling. The game allows you to make different choices so each play through isn't identical. The story is suspenseful and gripping. Easily one of the best games ever made. Expand
  77. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    This game has always been extremely overrated, but the cooperative campaign is plenty of fun. The multiplayer is certainly a disappointment. It's simply not fun at all.
  78. Jan 19, 2015
    7
    This game starts off slow and boring and then gets very fun!

    PROS
    -Nice Graphics
    -Fun Guns
    -Nice Graphics

    CONS
    -Slow story
    -levels too long

    Worth checking out for sure!
  79. JamesChennault
    Nov 13, 2006
    9
    This game is a must buy for any Xbox 360 owner. This is really the killer game that the system needed. It does not get a full 10 out of 10 due to retarded AI, texture glitches, and random Multiplayer glitches. Still is one of the best game i have played this year, hands down.
  80. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    for a game thats loaded to the hilt with bugs and glitches its one of the most funest games ive played both online and off. the story mode is only about 5-6 hours long but its a fun 6 hours . with some of the best voice acting and diolouge in any game to date . it has a good cover mechanic and with 2 player co-op its a blast. not to mention you get a chainsaw on the end of your gun . thefor a game thats loaded to the hilt with bugs and glitches its one of the most funest games ive played both online and off. the story mode is only about 5-6 hours long but its a fun 6 hours . with some of the best voice acting and diolouge in any game to date . it has a good cover mechanic and with 2 player co-op its a blast. not to mention you get a chainsaw on the end of your gun . the animayions of cutting your enimy into little bits of meat just never gets old . the online is the real mear of this game . never in a online game is team work so vital to victory. the fun ive had with my friends on this was just intense . the formulation of stratagy planning are next move just seperates this from all the other ho-hum cockie cutter shooters out there . the game isnt flawless the story in this game is badley told . you are basically in the middle of a story and get no clear sense of how it all started . there are alot of bugs and glitches in this game and even after almost 4 years they still havent fixed 75% of them and they have done like a 100 patches for this game . still this looks and feels original despite the flaws im still giving it a 10 because there are a million run and gun call of duty clones out there but only 1 gears of war and it rains king over every thing els that is a online shooter. Expand
  81. KeithM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    To the people below me, you are idiots. I agree the single player was a little weak in the story department but it was loads of fun. And the only reason you guys don't like the online multiplayer is because A. you suck horribly (noob) and B. you didnt explore the gametypes like annex that allow you to respawn and fight to maintain territory. How about you play the game more than once To the people below me, you are idiots. I agree the single player was a little weak in the story department but it was loads of fun. And the only reason you guys don't like the online multiplayer is because A. you suck horribly (noob) and B. you didnt explore the gametypes like annex that allow you to respawn and fight to maintain territory. How about you play the game more than once before you judge it you idiots. Expand
  82. gregchaboinker
    Nov 18, 2006
    8
    this is obviously a great game. the graphics are stunning and the gameplay is phenomenal. this game was very overly hyphed though. i really thought it was missing something. i think they should have spent more time too make it absolutley perfect. its still a great game and should be boughten, but i think it cud be better
  83. gingerman
    Jan 5, 2007
    8
    yeah...whatever. its like an arcade shoot up on steroids. i dont understand all the crazy hipe about it. some people compare it to halo...which is nonsense. halo is a landmark achievement which defined a system for about 5 years or more...this is just brainless gore fun. get over it ..(also...the people who let their kids be exposed to "adult" games should be shot, not the creators of theyeah...whatever. its like an arcade shoot up on steroids. i dont understand all the crazy hipe about it. some people compare it to halo...which is nonsense. halo is a landmark achievement which defined a system for about 5 years or more...this is just brainless gore fun. get over it ..(also...the people who let their kids be exposed to "adult" games should be shot, not the creators of the game...its called freedom of expression, morons!) Expand
  84. Destructed
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    Personally, I think you just suck at playing video games Justin. It's called skill. The controls aren't clumsy, YOU are. As for the lighting....maybe it's your 12 inch 1990 sylvania that's making it look crappy, sped. Let's not even get started with you Neville...a zero? I could make a game that's worth more than a zero. Once again, you have the same problemPersonally, I think you just suck at playing video games Justin. It's called skill. The controls aren't clumsy, YOU are. As for the lighting....maybe it's your 12 inch 1990 sylvania that's making it look crappy, sped. Let's not even get started with you Neville...a zero? I could make a game that's worth more than a zero. Once again, you have the same problem as Justin. YOU SUCK. Seriously. Spare us all and stop playing video games and writing your special education opinion on this site. Grow some sack hair and kiss a girl then get back to me. Expand
  85. Sep 15, 2010
    0
    This GAME IS FULL OF S%#T, go rot in hell. All you xbox 360 fanboys look like Marcus's screwed up wife! So yeah I h8 this game so that's it I am going to say and I did this so xbox 360 will be gone.
  86. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    F*ck this, this suck to the asss!....................................................................................................................
  87. Apr 13, 2011
    1
    Completely overhyped and overrated. Gamers were basically told that we are supposed to like this game and many never bothered to question that. Read the summary on this game then ask someone who likes GoW why they do. Nine times out of ten their answer will sound like they are reading the summary, almost like rehearsed lines. Clunky gameplay, darkness instead of graphics, overuse of coverCompletely overhyped and overrated. Gamers were basically told that we are supposed to like this game and many never bothered to question that. Read the summary on this game then ask someone who likes GoW why they do. Nine times out of ten their answer will sound like they are reading the summary, almost like rehearsed lines. Clunky gameplay, darkness instead of graphics, overuse of cover system to the point of boredom, very short game (for what was a top dollar release), cliche everything, and nothing new enough to balance just how tired and clearly "borrowed" so much of this game was- all with a sheen of gore and machismo so over the top it is almost laughable. This game had great appeal for people like the movie going audiences that laud each new release as the best movie ever until the next movie comes out, but in the annals of gaming it is a minor embarrassment and little more. Expand
  88. MessiahLee
    Dec 13, 2007
    0
    A generic, mediocre shooter of the most depthless proportions. My opinion of this game is hardly marred by its difficulty, Abdul, but its been-there-done-that gameplay.
    I think it's funny that you claim Mass Effect's storyline was awful, and then you gave Gears of War, an entire experience that can be summarized in one or two paragraphs at Wikipedia, and finished in less than
    A generic, mediocre shooter of the most depthless proportions. My opinion of this game is hardly marred by its difficulty, Abdul, but its been-there-done-that gameplay.
    I think it's funny that you claim Mass Effect's storyline was awful, and then you gave Gears of War, an entire experience that can be summarized in one or two paragraphs at Wikipedia, and finished in less than 6 hours on HARDCORE MODE, a perfect 10.
    You're an idiot.
    Expand
  89. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    I played this game in 2010, So I'm very late to the GOW party.
    The graphics where very nice and had some moments of awe!
    The characters are flat and boring, consisting of hey lets go here and shoot this mentality.
    Story was paper thin...
    The game started and then it felt like it ended with out anything happening in terms of story progression.
    GOW is a fast pace action movie that you control...
  90. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    Gears of War may have violence and 'badass' weapons but its small in substance and lame in the big scheme of things. The intention of its creators was to obviously make exactly what Gears is but that does not make it good. Any memories this game may create wont last and it is only original to the ignorant console crowd. Gears of War's story is pointless asides from the sensation ofGears of War may have violence and 'badass' weapons but its small in substance and lame in the big scheme of things. The intention of its creators was to obviously make exactly what Gears is but that does not make it good. Any memories this game may create wont last and it is only original to the ignorant console crowd. Gears of War's story is pointless asides from the sensation of violence, it lacks originality, the script is a joke and is immaturely predictable. There maybe some fun to be had with some of its gameplay but there are plenty of other better games out there that have both substance and are 'fun'. In the end the Gears series is just another game for the uncritically minded and sits on the big fat pile of games with crap stories and a missed opportunity. Expand
  91. JohnS.
    Jan 19, 2007
    1
    I enjoyed this game quite a lot..........for 5 hours. I don't mind short games when they are extremely complete and introduce brand new things to a genre, but this game just felt like a really well done remake of past games. All the really cool features, have been done before, just not tied together so well. Graphics are nice, but it's sad to see that they couldnt run theI enjoyed this game quite a lot..........for 5 hours. I don't mind short games when they are extremely complete and introduce brand new things to a genre, but this game just felt like a really well done remake of past games. All the really cool features, have been done before, just not tied together so well. Graphics are nice, but it's sad to see that they couldnt run the Unreal 3 engine at its max, the demo's I've seen of the engine rendering other things on PC is amazing. Framerate is very poor when camera pans around in story sequences.

    Good game, not great, I recomend renting it, but not buying it. I would normally give it a 7, but because of the overhype, and the insane fanboys spreading false info, I give it a 1.
    Expand
  92. dudeXIII
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    Bob J. is a Halo fanboy because of his rediculously low score that he gave for this game.

    People gave high scores for RE4. This game has the same camera style like RE4, and nearly the same gameplay (this game's a bit more "free" compared to RE4 for obvious reasons). P.S. Halo was definitely overrated. I can't stand to play that crap of a game. And before you say that I suck
    Bob J. is a Halo fanboy because of his rediculously low score that he gave for this game.

    People gave high scores for RE4. This game has the same camera style like RE4, and nearly the same gameplay (this game's a bit more "free" compared to RE4 for obvious reasons).

    P.S. Halo was definitely overrated. I can't stand to play that crap of a game. And before you say that I suck @ Halo(2): I was on the Top 5 on DM rankings.
    Expand
  93. JackieB
    Jan 4, 2009
    4
    My problem with this series is that it's a basic mod for Unreal Tournament 2004. The Cogs look identical to the Human race in UT2k4 and after playing it on the PC, I can say that 'ts almost exactly the same. Aside from being third person, having a cover mechanic, and not being able to jump. I can say that Epic games has pulled a fast one and slapped a mod onto an older game and My problem with this series is that it's a basic mod for Unreal Tournament 2004. The Cogs look identical to the Human race in UT2k4 and after playing it on the PC, I can say that 'ts almost exactly the same. Aside from being third person, having a cover mechanic, and not being able to jump. I can say that Epic games has pulled a fast one and slapped a mod onto an older game and made millions. The only reason this game isn't getting a 1 is because the blood and gore in it are really good. Otherwise, it's hide, shoot, hide, shoot, watch scene, walk a little, hide, shoot, hide, shoot, hide, shoot, move a little, etc etc there are some enjoyable dialogues.. but honestly.. you guys just modded UT 2004 and called it Gears of War. Please. Have a little more creativity. Expand
  94. StorageBox
    Jun 14, 2007
    4
    I didn
  95. Dec 5, 2010
    4
    I'm not quite sure where the appeal for this game is. I've played up to a certain point, and have not seen many redeeming qualities. The story is... mediocre, sound is okay, music is fine, gameplay mechanics work well enough, but at the end, I really don't care about any of these characters. There's no incentive for me to keep playing, really. In a way, it got boring fighting the same sortI'm not quite sure where the appeal for this game is. I've played up to a certain point, and have not seen many redeeming qualities. The story is... mediocre, sound is okay, music is fine, gameplay mechanics work well enough, but at the end, I really don't care about any of these characters. There's no incentive for me to keep playing, really. In a way, it got boring fighting the same sort of enemies over and over, with a little variation every now and then with 'bosses'. -- The graphics, in its time, must have been pretty good, but does no one realise that graphics will always get worse over time? Praising a game for its amazing visuals while ignoring its faults is akin to people being famous for being famous. Something more lasting: a new, innovative graphical technique, or an interesting use of an old one (like Left 4 Dead's film techniques), an amazing story (Final Fantasy Tactics, lots of RPG's), those sort of things make a game that will be remembered as a good game for a long time to come. -- This game isn't really even worth it's money right now. let alone five years from now because it just isn't that fun. Expand
  96. MarcStaal
    Jan 4, 2007
    0
    it is unbelievable how some sicko's out there put a random chainsaw on a gun, just for the purpose of seeing blood squirt everywhere.......my son, who is 6 years of age, went to his friends house where he watched this boy's brother play the game......my son came home with the friend, and starting to pretend to chainsaw each other..they were yelling and screaming, and also sworeit is unbelievable how some sicko's out there put a random chainsaw on a gun, just for the purpose of seeing blood squirt everywhere.......my son, who is 6 years of age, went to his friends house where he watched this boy's brother play the game......my son came home with the friend, and starting to pretend to chainsaw each other..they were yelling and screaming, and also swore lots......my son said "Sup B**ches" to his friend...this is absolutely insane..........who the heck puts that dumb chainsaw in the game....this person must have just got out of jail....UNBELIEVABLE......but overall great game with great graphics Expand
  97. MasterChief
    Dec 14, 2009
    0
    This game is nothing compared to the adrenaline fueled graphics bomb we all know as Halo 3. Halo 3 is the only thing on the 360, if you want games like this, buy a Wii. Cause Wii is great for these casual games.
  98. 70bucksWasted
    Nov 8, 2006
    1
    70 bucks down the drain. I finished the game in 5 hours and since I don't have online it's practically worthless to me now. it was fun while it lasted but not challenging and waaaaaay too short. The shortest game I've ever played in my life. Bloody EB won't give me my cash back eitehr, only trade in.... sigh
  99. Jon
    Jun 10, 2009
    6
    Gears of War might be just a little hyped from the critics. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game but I don't think it's anywhere close to games such as Halo 3 and CoD4. The single player is top notch, excellent presentation and graphics. I do get a bit frustrated with the "brisk jog" (as some of my friends joke). If you're running and you by chance bump into a Gears of War might be just a little hyped from the critics. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game but I don't think it's anywhere close to games such as Halo 3 and CoD4. The single player is top notch, excellent presentation and graphics. I do get a bit frustrated with the "brisk jog" (as some of my friends joke). If you're running and you by chance bump into a barrier, you will take cover behind it. This can be extremely annoying during fights with berserkers and the like. Sadly, where it is good in single player, it utterly fails in multiplayer. (Several WTF moments, expect to want to fling your controller into the T.V.) Multiplayer is garbage; stay away from it. Other than that, a good game but not deserving of the 94 avg. Expand
  100. EricS.
    Nov 19, 2006
    5
    It's obvious that people are reviewing this game based purely on graphics, because they really are the only thing that sets Gears of War apart from countless other shooters. Granted, technically Gears is an amazing achievement, perhaps the best looking game ever made. The shooting is adequate, but really just boils down to ducking behind blocks and coming up to take a few shot. It's obvious that people are reviewing this game based purely on graphics, because they really are the only thing that sets Gears of War apart from countless other shooters. Granted, technically Gears is an amazing achievement, perhaps the best looking game ever made. The shooting is adequate, but really just boils down to ducking behind blocks and coming up to take a few shot. Rinse, repeat. Where Gears of War really faulters is in its creativity. With their high levels of detail, the enemies give the illusion of being well designed. However, what you really have is some standard looking aliens rendered a lot better. The same can be said for the weapons. The particle effects look amazing, but this is seriously one of the least inspired inventories I've ever seen in a game. The one original weapon (which is quite spectacular, if not particularly deep) is almost never useable. The environments are the only exception to the rule. They are what make the game feel epic even if it is just the same shallow, yet surprisingly satisfying shooting mechanics over and over again. Un-originality aside, what really ruins Gears of War is its embarrassing excuse for a story line and dialogue. How can Video Games be respected the general public when its high-profile releases sound like they're written by... well, programmers. If you care at all about dialogue, voice acting and a coherent plot, then just turn off the sound. It's funny that in the Making of DVD, the designers talk about immersion, yet its hard to become immersed a game where the characters you're meant to sympathize with sound like badly-written teenagers in a straight to TV movie. If I could give the developers one piece of advice, it would be to hire a scriptwriter. What's the point in spending so much time crafting a visual masterpiece and not making some effort to create memorable characters and situations? Perhaps if the single-player had lasted more than 5 hours (another disappointment, as so many people have been looking forward to this game for so long) then these flaws could have been overlooked, but if I'm going to spend 70 dollars on a 5 hour game, then it better have a hell of an impact. Despite my rant, Gears of War is by no means a bad game. It's just not the masterpiece that the reviewers claim. But at this point, the game industry is young, and can't yet distinguish between an all-around classic that contributes something new and a visually stunning (not mention over-hyped) game that steals surface concepts from better games to give the illusion of having depth. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.