Gears of War Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2138 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TonyB.
    Nov 12, 2006
    7
    I think that everybody loves this game only because its the first real next generation game. Sure the graphics and sound are simply amazing I must agree but its the same thing over and over again kill the locust blow up there emergence holes move on its the same thing as any other 3rd person shooter. Another problem is absolutely nothing is destructable. I shot a glass pot and it left a I think that everybody loves this game only because its the first real next generation game. Sure the graphics and sound are simply amazing I must agree but its the same thing over and over again kill the locust blow up there emergence holes move on its the same thing as any other 3rd person shooter. Another problem is absolutely nothing is destructable. I shot a glass pot and it left a bullet hole like I shot a wall it didn't even go through it unless the weapon of the future are extrmemly weak I think we have a problem housten. They spent all that time making the game look good and windows and pots can't break rawr. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2010
    7
    Dark, bleak and hopeless, Gears of War is the perfect example of an apocalyptic world. It completely captures the feel of an apocalyptic world, in atmosphere, story telling and visual style. The level design is great and all and the feel of the game is spot on, the gameplay is just an average third person shooter. It is tactical but it has a limited variety, making it repetitive andDark, bleak and hopeless, Gears of War is the perfect example of an apocalyptic world. It completely captures the feel of an apocalyptic world, in atmosphere, story telling and visual style. The level design is great and all and the feel of the game is spot on, the gameplay is just an average third person shooter. It is tactical but it has a limited variety, making it repetitive and un-replayable even in higher difficulties though it does add a bit of challenge. Overall, its just a typical shooter game. Nothing special. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2015
    7
    This game starts off slow and boring and then gets very fun!

    PROS
    -Nice Graphics
    -Fun Guns
    -Nice Graphics

    CONS
    -Slow story
    -levels too long

    Worth checking out for sure!
  4. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    I played this game in 2010, So I'm very late to the GOW party.
    The graphics where very nice and had some moments of awe!
    The characters are flat and boring, consisting of hey lets go here and shoot this mentality.
    Story was paper thin...
    The game started and then it felt like it ended with out anything happening in terms of story progression.
    GOW is a fast pace action movie that you control...
  5. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    Gears of War may have violence and 'badass' weapons but its small in substance and lame in the big scheme of things. The intention of its creators was to obviously make exactly what Gears is but that does not make it good. Any memories this game may create wont last and it is only original to the ignorant console crowd. Gears of War's story is pointless asides from the sensation ofGears of War may have violence and 'badass' weapons but its small in substance and lame in the big scheme of things. The intention of its creators was to obviously make exactly what Gears is but that does not make it good. Any memories this game may create wont last and it is only original to the ignorant console crowd. Gears of War's story is pointless asides from the sensation of violence, it lacks originality, the script is a joke and is immaturely predictable. There maybe some fun to be had with some of its gameplay but there are plenty of other better games out there that have both substance and are 'fun'. In the end the Gears series is just another game for the uncritically minded and sits on the big fat pile of games with crap stories and a missed opportunity. Expand
  6. Jon
    Jun 10, 2009
    6
    Gears of War might be just a little hyped from the critics. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game but I don't think it's anywhere close to games such as Halo 3 and CoD4. The single player is top notch, excellent presentation and graphics. I do get a bit frustrated with the "brisk jog" (as some of my friends joke). If you're running and you by chance bump into a Gears of War might be just a little hyped from the critics. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game but I don't think it's anywhere close to games such as Halo 3 and CoD4. The single player is top notch, excellent presentation and graphics. I do get a bit frustrated with the "brisk jog" (as some of my friends joke). If you're running and you by chance bump into a barrier, you will take cover behind it. This can be extremely annoying during fights with berserkers and the like. Sadly, where it is good in single player, it utterly fails in multiplayer. (Several WTF moments, expect to want to fling your controller into the T.V.) Multiplayer is garbage; stay away from it. Other than that, a good game but not deserving of the 94 avg. Expand
  7. EricS.
    Nov 19, 2006
    5
    It's obvious that people are reviewing this game based purely on graphics, because they really are the only thing that sets Gears of War apart from countless other shooters. Granted, technically Gears is an amazing achievement, perhaps the best looking game ever made. The shooting is adequate, but really just boils down to ducking behind blocks and coming up to take a few shot. It's obvious that people are reviewing this game based purely on graphics, because they really are the only thing that sets Gears of War apart from countless other shooters. Granted, technically Gears is an amazing achievement, perhaps the best looking game ever made. The shooting is adequate, but really just boils down to ducking behind blocks and coming up to take a few shot. Rinse, repeat. Where Gears of War really faulters is in its creativity. With their high levels of detail, the enemies give the illusion of being well designed. However, what you really have is some standard looking aliens rendered a lot better. The same can be said for the weapons. The particle effects look amazing, but this is seriously one of the least inspired inventories I've ever seen in a game. The one original weapon (which is quite spectacular, if not particularly deep) is almost never useable. The environments are the only exception to the rule. They are what make the game feel epic even if it is just the same shallow, yet surprisingly satisfying shooting mechanics over and over again. Un-originality aside, what really ruins Gears of War is its embarrassing excuse for a story line and dialogue. How can Video Games be respected the general public when its high-profile releases sound like they're written by... well, programmers. If you care at all about dialogue, voice acting and a coherent plot, then just turn off the sound. It's funny that in the Making of DVD, the designers talk about immersion, yet its hard to become immersed a game where the characters you're meant to sympathize with sound like badly-written teenagers in a straight to TV movie. If I could give the developers one piece of advice, it would be to hire a scriptwriter. What's the point in spending so much time crafting a visual masterpiece and not making some effort to create memorable characters and situations? Perhaps if the single-player had lasted more than 5 hours (another disappointment, as so many people have been looking forward to this game for so long) then these flaws could have been overlooked, but if I'm going to spend 70 dollars on a 5 hour game, then it better have a hell of an impact. Despite my rant, Gears of War is by no means a bad game. It's just not the masterpiece that the reviewers claim. But at this point, the game industry is young, and can't yet distinguish between an all-around classic that contributes something new and a visually stunning (not mention over-hyped) game that steals surface concepts from better games to give the illusion of having depth. Expand
  8. NateB.
    Nov 10, 2006
    6
    A very very mediocre title that was way too overhyped. Like everyone else, I thought this would be the best game ever. Turns out, its just a pretty average 3rd person shooter. Kind of reminds me of black. There aren't enough explosions, the gore looks like its cel shaded or something, the wepaons are pretty lame (the chainsaw is cool except the buttons are so unresponsive you usually A very very mediocre title that was way too overhyped. Like everyone else, I thought this would be the best game ever. Turns out, its just a pretty average 3rd person shooter. Kind of reminds me of black. There aren't enough explosions, the gore looks like its cel shaded or something, the wepaons are pretty lame (the chainsaw is cool except the buttons are so unresponsive you usually die because your guy won't attack when you try to) and there is a serious drought mental challenges since everything is way too straight foward and on rails. Use cover, shoot, cover, repeat. I think that everyone is over looking this game's flaws simply because it really is a beautiful game. To say though that this game belongs in the same class as Halo 2, RE4 or Metroid Prime is an insult to those games. Just rent this game (and if you're playing co-op, be prepared to block off a lot of time because it won't save your game until you beat a chapter, maybe a couple hours long. What idiot made it so you can't save at individual checkpoints? At least divide up the levels or something) Expand
  9. Andyman
    Feb 16, 2007
    6
    Here we have yet another great example of a developer focusing 95% of its resources on visuals and the remaining 5% on gameplay, and it's painfully obvious when playing Gears of War. It definitely is pretty to look at, but its annoying combination of frustrating and dull gameplay sucks the interest right out of you. The really sad part is that the insane amount of hype for this game Here we have yet another great example of a developer focusing 95% of its resources on visuals and the remaining 5% on gameplay, and it's painfully obvious when playing Gears of War. It definitely is pretty to look at, but its annoying combination of frustrating and dull gameplay sucks the interest right out of you. The really sad part is that the insane amount of hype for this game has apparently duped 95% of the population into believing it's actually a good game, when it's barely an average one. Expand
  10. AndrewG.
    Feb 2, 2007
    6
    The graphics are truly astounding - easily the best I've ever seen in a video game. But the game is kind of boring to be honest. I had a lot of fun chainsawing enemies, but otherwise the gameplay is ho-hum.
  11. LeeG.
    Apr 4, 2007
    5
    Am I the only person who saw the advert for this game when he runs into a dark building to be confronted by a giant monster in the pitch black and started firing with his buddies. It sold the game for me that scene looked fantastic. However I never once experienced such a great looking scene in the game, totally disappointed, the game just seems to get repetitive, and I was absolutely Am I the only person who saw the advert for this game when he runs into a dark building to be confronted by a giant monster in the pitch black and started firing with his buddies. It sold the game for me that scene looked fantastic. However I never once experienced such a great looking scene in the game, totally disappointed, the game just seems to get repetitive, and I was absolutely shocked when it ended, just thought that cant be it thats halve a game surely!! however I rated it 5 because the game does have its moments. Expand
  12. LarryT.
    May 18, 2007
    5
    Only one word to describe this game...disappointing. Graphics are outstanding, a lot of the game physics and controls are oustanding, but jeezey petes the game mechanics are dull and repetitive. With all the time they spent working on the graphics, you'd think there would be some more variety in the enemies and in the weapons. What really killed the fun factor for me in this game was Only one word to describe this game...disappointing. Graphics are outstanding, a lot of the game physics and controls are oustanding, but jeezey petes the game mechanics are dull and repetitive. With all the time they spent working on the graphics, you'd think there would be some more variety in the enemies and in the weapons. What really killed the fun factor for me in this game was the whole ducking and aiming thing. Novel, yes. Fun, no. It's repetitive and frustrating. You seem to aim and shoot at an enemy's general direction and hope they fall. There isn't the skill and variation in usefulness in the weapons either. The same gun is good for the whole game. Expand
  13. TomF.
    Jul 20, 2007
    6
    Mick T, if only the people who liked the game rated it, it wouldn't really be a balanced review. Eh? Anyway, This game is overrated to the extreme. The Cover mechanic (the main thing about the game) is wonky, and there is no depth to the story. The weaponry is admittedly fun, though, especially the torque bow. The graphics are gritty and extremely detailed. The multiplayer is decent. Mick T, if only the people who liked the game rated it, it wouldn't really be a balanced review. Eh? Anyway, This game is overrated to the extreme. The Cover mechanic (the main thing about the game) is wonky, and there is no depth to the story. The weaponry is admittedly fun, though, especially the torque bow. The graphics are gritty and extremely detailed. The multiplayer is decent. It's definitely not the greatest playing game in the world, but it theoretically gets the job done,if you like slow and tedious gameplay. Often times, however, matches resort to shotgun-offs. All in all, This is a decent game that isn't worth the hype. Expand
  14. JohnD.
    Jan 7, 2008
    6
    Dull, textureless, predictable. Graphics a symphony in grubby browns, sound tinny, gameplay based on a cover system which appears innovative for around five minutes but has nothing deeper to offer. Nothing too much wrong with it, but it's a very long way from the kind of quality you might expect given the reviews.
  15. GregD.
    Nov 10, 2007
    6
    I was hoping for something different from the usual shooter nonsense when I began this game, but I did not find it. The first act of GOW is interesting. The enemy AI is smart and aggressive; squad mates handle themselves well, thus freeing you up to perform flanking manoeuvres; and the action is quick and bloody. But from then on it becomes a typically monotonous and disappointing FPS I was hoping for something different from the usual shooter nonsense when I began this game, but I did not find it. The first act of GOW is interesting. The enemy AI is smart and aggressive; squad mates handle themselves well, thus freeing you up to perform flanking manoeuvres; and the action is quick and bloody. But from then on it becomes a typically monotonous and disappointing FPS because of bland graphics and boring maps (vaguely reminiscent of NAMCO's Sniper Elite), cliched characters and dialog, and silly weapons (torquebow and bolo-grenades) and boss battles. It is these boss battles that make GOW no different from the average Shooter. If they had been left out, the game could have flowed smoothly from beginning to end and been made interesting and enjoyable enough to replay; it will quickly collect dust on my shelf. Also, active reloading is an annoying gimmick and the duck and cover system --- clearly borrowed from NAMCO's Kill.Switch --- has a few bugs in it that can frustrate even the best of players. The only thing that really keeps one going in this game are the achievement points and searching for COG Tags, but that is not enough to justify the $60 price tag. So, rent it, borrow it, or buy it used, and use your money to buy the truly great games: Halo 3, Bioshock, Call of Duty 4. Expand
  16. JasonL.
    Nov 7, 2007
    6
    The campaign is good, I mean the story is uninspiring and the dialogue is just stupid but the gameplay it's self is very satisfying. The reason I score this low is that the campaign is pretty short and the multiplayer is one of the most broken things I have ever seen. I don't even know where to begin on how screwed up the physics are in multiplayer. Anyone reading this be warned The campaign is good, I mean the story is uninspiring and the dialogue is just stupid but the gameplay it's self is very satisfying. The reason I score this low is that the campaign is pretty short and the multiplayer is one of the most broken things I have ever seen. I don't even know where to begin on how screwed up the physics are in multiplayer. Anyone reading this be warned that the multiplayer will frustrate you. Expand
  17. Serge
    Jul 25, 2007
    6
    Certainly an overrated game. The biggest disappointment was the multiplayer. Max of 4 players per team. No classes. Everyone has same weapons. Cramped maps. Graphics - gray, gray, on top of more gray.
  18. Alasdair
    Aug 23, 2007
    6
    Great game mechanics and graphics. crap story, characters etc. all a bit dumb.
  19. JohnB.
    Sep 23, 2007
    6
    Single player - great, as long as you play it on Hardcore and then Insane. though replayabaility is limited as you are confined to fighting in tunnels and going from A to B. Co-op - this is perhaps where the longevity lies. Multiplayer - i hated it. thought it was unbalanced with poor quality maps and the bleeding out/no respawn (pre-updates/DLC) was a huge flaw. the coding did not help Single player - great, as long as you play it on Hardcore and then Insane. though replayabaility is limited as you are confined to fighting in tunnels and going from A to B. Co-op - this is perhaps where the longevity lies. Multiplayer - i hated it. thought it was unbalanced with poor quality maps and the bleeding out/no respawn (pre-updates/DLC) was a huge flaw. the coding did not help to alleviate latency, and on many ocassions there was horrific lag. if you don't have Live, then this is a fantastic game for a single player, but if you do, and want to make sure you get as much out of the game as possible, i would suggest something like R6: Vegas or the reigning champ of Halo 2. Expand
  20. JB
    Oct 12, 2008
    6
    This game has good visual display and satisfying animations and gore etc. - but i find it vastly inferior in it supposed strength - its "innovative" cover system and game play mechanics... The game is way to clunky, slow and generally unsatisfying - with the exception of the chainsaw, I will take COD4 over this any day.
  21. WilliamJ.
    Jul 12, 2008
    6
    Gears of war is a good game, but is, from its core flawed. The gameplay is basic but changes in the short 7 hour campaign to become varyed, such as riding a vehicle or sniping enemys out. This isn't a deep game and continues to give a basic story, half explaining the full story, and then ending on a cliff hanger. It has texture pop-in, and plenty of bugs. The online is ok, but it Gears of war is a good game, but is, from its core flawed. The gameplay is basic but changes in the short 7 hour campaign to become varyed, such as riding a vehicle or sniping enemys out. This isn't a deep game and continues to give a basic story, half explaining the full story, and then ending on a cliff hanger. It has texture pop-in, and plenty of bugs. The online is ok, but it will only appeal to some becuase of the 1 life per round structure, its also a bit repetitive and has no reward system like cod 4s. The graphics are very depressing and grey. It looks to similar to UT:3, and has clearly taken huge amounts of ideas from the series.The technical side of this game is great, but is showcased in ways that try to show a limit of the hardware, instead of say Viva Pianata that has hugely origiunal charecters and artwork, all not meant to look real. All in all i hate this game but appreciate the unreal engine behind it all. Expand
  22. MiguelR.
    Jul 22, 2008
    7
    Bad single player, horrible plot, stupid characters, and an uninspired universe. The puzzles are terrible and the scripted moments suck. The shooting is the only redeeming aspect.
  23. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Gears of War is a good game with fantastic action set-pieces and an almost creepy setting, with a human colonised world being destroyed by a ground-dwelling species known as the Locust. The voice acting is great, the graphics, for its time, were spectacular, if a little drab, and the story is solid. The multi-player aspect, I never really got into, as I was always outclassed andGears of War is a good game with fantastic action set-pieces and an almost creepy setting, with a human colonised world being destroyed by a ground-dwelling species known as the Locust. The voice acting is great, the graphics, for its time, were spectacular, if a little drab, and the story is solid. The multi-player aspect, I never really got into, as I was always outclassed and obliterated by other players. The ability to do co-op campaign takes this game from a 3/5 to a 3.5/5, and defeating the final boss with my mate on the hardest difficulty setting is easily my biggest achievement in gaming so far. Expand
  24. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    GOW by no means is a bad game but is very very overrated i just can't find the masterpiece that everybody sees, the story is boring the game play is very repetitive the characters are plain, the only good thing are the graphics for a 2006 game off course.
  25. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (0/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  26. BenK.
    Nov 13, 2006
    7
    Its a solid shooter that is really marred by crappy AI and linear level design. The texture detail is pretty amazing though and the environments are really great to look at. Its unfortunate that the gameplay cannot live up to the standard set by the visuals.
  27. OverRated
    Nov 10, 2006
    7
    This game is sorely over-rated. It is the same thing over and over (hide shoot throw grenade in hole.) They mix it up a bit by stayin out of darkness. (yeah thats it) the Chainsaw is worthless because if you try running to use it your dead. You do get to use it but its not that great. The graphics are good and story is good. Its a good game don't get me wrong its just over rated. It This game is sorely over-rated. It is the same thing over and over (hide shoot throw grenade in hole.) They mix it up a bit by stayin out of darkness. (yeah thats it) the Chainsaw is worthless because if you try running to use it your dead. You do get to use it but its not that great. The graphics are good and story is good. Its a good game don't get me wrong its just over rated. It is seriously not the best game. only 8 people online and A short campaign its a mediocre game with great graphics thats it. Expand
  28. SteveG.
    Nov 9, 2006
    7
    I have to admit, I fell into all the Hype about this game as well, and it has left me a bit disappointed and $60 poorer. The Graphics are very, very, very good and the sound effects are just the same. The Graphics/Artwork are what I would expect to see from a well produced comic book with "Dark" overtones. The Controls are more than ok, but not great. The maps to me are not as large as I I have to admit, I fell into all the Hype about this game as well, and it has left me a bit disappointed and $60 poorer. The Graphics are very, very, very good and the sound effects are just the same. The Graphics/Artwork are what I would expect to see from a well produced comic book with "Dark" overtones. The Controls are more than ok, but not great. The maps to me are not as large as I expected them to be. To me this game is very reminiscent to KillZone for the PS2, but with better graphics. The real downfall to this game is the Very Limited number of players while playing Online (that is of course you can get online because of the connection problems!). The Online maps are Small compared to the largeness of the Caricatures and scenery. Maybe that's why they only allow a Total of 8 players. 4 on each team. So, you run around wildly while blasting away at your opponent. Hmmm Not much fun after about 15 minutes of that. So kids, that's why I rated this game as I did. I have to say, I wished I didn't open the game so I could take it back to where I bought it. Yours Truly xSkullnBonesx Expand
  29. MoNaRky
    Jan 12, 2007
    6
    So hyped and excited when I started play. Look gorgeous! In 5.7 hrs later, done! That's it? That's the story? Disapointed! M$ critic payoff, I assume. Bought X360 because of this game. Boring!
  30. JamesD.
    Jan 9, 2007
    7
    Overall the game wasn't bad when it came to controls and gameplay. However the storyline was crap and the game was short. I don't see what all the hype was about.
  31. TheMan
    Apr 11, 2007
    5
    It was good, but it got fairly repetitive. I also didn't like that it was third person. I think I'll stick with my first person shooters like Halo.
  32. RonL.
    May 14, 2007
    5
    It's an alright game with decent action and storyline. However, I'm personally very tired of games that are formatted with a very straight forward and repetitive level which is capped off with a "beat the boss" format. This format feels dated and takes away from the overall worthiness of the game. Personally, I prefer games with a little less linear design. For what the XBOX 360 It's an alright game with decent action and storyline. However, I'm personally very tired of games that are formatted with a very straight forward and repetitive level which is capped off with a "beat the boss" format. This format feels dated and takes away from the overall worthiness of the game. Personally, I prefer games with a little less linear design. For what the XBOX 360 console should be getting as far as games, I'm only giving this a 5. Rent it only, don't buy it. Expand
  33. BrendanL.
    Jul 26, 2007
    7
    Honestly, I don't want to give this game a seven, but more of a 6.7 score. I got this game in December of 2007. I finsished the storyline within less than 10 hours, combined over a period of 4-5 days. Not exactly a prolonged storyline if you ask me. Secondly, I was certainly disappointed with the Xbox Live. The games are great and all, but the fact you only get one life seems unfair Honestly, I don't want to give this game a seven, but more of a 6.7 score. I got this game in December of 2007. I finsished the storyline within less than 10 hours, combined over a period of 4-5 days. Not exactly a prolonged storyline if you ask me. Secondly, I was certainly disappointed with the Xbox Live. The games are great and all, but the fact you only get one life seems unfair for the unexperienced, like me. Lastly, the replay value on this game isn't great either, as I have not played it since late January. My opinion: overrated. Expand
  34. NicM.
    Aug 17, 2007
    5
    Most over rated game of all time, its pretty graphics and fun co op dont make up for amazingly repitive single and online play. oblivion is by a longshot better , and the second best game on 360, next to bioshock.
  35. TARGET1058
    Feb 10, 2008
    7
    Solid single player and co-op. A good shooter, but a very slow and limited multiplayer.
  36. Mr.Gunther
    Jul 10, 2008
    7
    I feel this game is greatly overrated. Sure it shines at times, mainly during the co-op campaign, which itself is one of the best out there yet far too short. Single player is dull and lifeless however and online play gets very boring very quickly, using the same duck and cover game mechanic over and over again gets old-fast. An intense and gripping 3rd person shooter then that suffers I feel this game is greatly overrated. Sure it shines at times, mainly during the co-op campaign, which itself is one of the best out there yet far too short. Single player is dull and lifeless however and online play gets very boring very quickly, using the same duck and cover game mechanic over and over again gets old-fast. An intense and gripping 3rd person shooter then that suffers from a bland, very grey colour scheme, a campaign that is far too short, repetitive gameplay and a very hardcore "noob hating" online community Expand
  37. Miika
    Aug 1, 2008
    7
    One of the most over-rated 360 games. A mediocre shooter with clumsy controls and covering system. The gameplay itself is very repetitive. I find it kinda awkward that this game takes itself so seriously. Come on, big men killing big monsters with big guns. Buckets of blood, stupid dialogue and other childish stuff only teenage boys might find cool. Nothing wrong with all that except the One of the most over-rated 360 games. A mediocre shooter with clumsy controls and covering system. The gameplay itself is very repetitive. I find it kinda awkward that this game takes itself so seriously. Come on, big men killing big monsters with big guns. Buckets of blood, stupid dialogue and other childish stuff only teenage boys might find cool. Nothing wrong with all that except the fact that GoW does all that and then says with a deadpan face: "This is SERIOUS". Expand
  38. ChristosT.
    Nov 15, 2006
    6
    Yo this game is fun, to co-op is cool, the action is tight, so is the look but online sucks. There needs tobe a 4 player split screen and you will spend most of your time trying to get in to the same game along with your friends. Therefore please update your online cause it is really weak.
  39. Frank
    Nov 19, 2006
    7
    Great graphics solid gameplay. But you will get bored of it pretty quick. SIngle player campaign is short and mutiplayer doesn't have lasting appeal. It will be gathering dust in a few weeks.
  40. danwong
    Nov 20, 2006
    7
    Hmm, yes excellent graphics - pretty linear gaming though, great sound, good (though over used) cover system, repetitive. Single player and co-op worth a rental, but on-line is no where as fullfilling as cod3. As a matter of fact on line in perfect dark zero is 5 times better. All in all disappointing, I expected something special, but it's nothing we've not seen before gameplay wise.
  41. AramisG.
    Nov 22, 2006
    7
    It is just ok (fun and looks great). However, the entire game suffers from lack of variation, and it is short to boot. There is barely a variation in enemies or weapons. The music is sometimes inappropriate for what is actually happening on screen. There is even a pompous little inscription in the booklet about what the designer of GOW feels makes a next generation game, "next It is just ok (fun and looks great). However, the entire game suffers from lack of variation, and it is short to boot. There is barely a variation in enemies or weapons. The music is sometimes inappropriate for what is actually happening on screen. There is even a pompous little inscription in the booklet about what the designer of GOW feels makes a next generation game, "next generation". In the end I hope publishers really start considering other methods of creating "next generation" games, other than amazing graphics. In a year this game will be forgotten history. Expand
  42. RedRose
    Nov 23, 2006
    6
    Great graphics but typically bland and unoriginal xbox gameplay.
    **AS USUAL EDGE GETS IT RIGHT AND DOESN'T BUY INTO THE HYPE. READ THE EDGE REVIEW FIRST BEFORE BUYING. LOOK AT ALL THEIR REVIEWS. THEY HARDLY EVER GIVE ABOVE 9 UNLIKE MOST REVIEWERS WHIO THROW 9'S AND 10'S ABOUT LIKE THEY ARE GOING OUT OF FASHION.**

    Buyer beware.
  43. G.Camel
    Nov 25, 2006
    5
    This game is way over hyped. Yes, it looks good, but it is now Halo Killer. The game movement could be a lot better. You stick when you want to dive and dive when you are trying to stick to a wall. AI is stupid at times and the cursing is not really necessary. We all know what to say by now when we die and don't need to hear it in the game. This was really gradtuitous. I would This game is way over hyped. Yes, it looks good, but it is now Halo Killer. The game movement could be a lot better. You stick when you want to dive and dive when you are trying to stick to a wall. AI is stupid at times and the cursing is not really necessary. We all know what to say by now when we die and don't need to hear it in the game. This was really gradtuitous. I would recommend a rental, do not buy.Peace. Expand
  44. KeironG.
    Nov 27, 2006
    5
    Very average kind of game, the graphics are beautiful though and there are some interesting twists but all being said it is over hyped as has already been mentioned. Someone recommended this to me over call of duty 3, im glad i got Call of Duty 3 first, for all that games faults its currently holding more for me in terms of playability than this game is.
  45. SeanJ.
    Nov 9, 2006
    7
    I, like Steve G,wish I never opened it and could return it. The games is great if you are new to gaming but this a boring game where you do the same thing on each board. The graphics are great and so is the sound but the plot is weak. I was bored in the first half hour of it. My biggest problem is with the dead bodies of the enemies they seem not to have any mass. Meaning if you kick or I, like Steve G,wish I never opened it and could return it. The games is great if you are new to gaming but this a boring game where you do the same thing on each board. The graphics are great and so is the sound but the plot is weak. I was bored in the first half hour of it. My biggest problem is with the dead bodies of the enemies they seem not to have any mass. Meaning if you kick or walk by one it will go sliding across the floor. If they had a working Demo I probably never have bought it. Expand
  46. JaceN.
    Dec 13, 2006
    6
    Well here it is...the kingpin title weve all been waiting for...the game that influenced how much RAM was built into the 360...and universally considered critic-proof........unfortunatly I don't play by those rules! Gears of War starts well enough, youve got a slightly off the right shoulder third person camera, a cover system and lots of urban wasteland to fight big monster Well here it is...the kingpin title weve all been waiting for...the game that influenced how much RAM was built into the 360...and universally considered critic-proof........unfortunatly I don't play by those rules! Gears of War starts well enough, youve got a slightly off the right shoulder third person camera, a cover system and lots of urban wasteland to fight big monster musclemen in and around...but then things get frustrating! Control pad action just isn't translated into onscreen response properly, the chainsaw on the end of your weapon has the idiotic design flaw of switching off if you take a hit...after a few stops & starts you just give up and shoot your would-be saw-ee...left with him riddled with holes instead of being cut in two pieces and you wondering why you bothered trying the saw in the first place...your characters "off & on" cover context always has him leaping out into dead mans land instead of ducking behind cover when you needed him not to the most...the "Avioding Krill" and "Leading Berserker" minigame mechanics feel so out of place and stupid...your teammates care little for their own safety...one time youre given 30 seconds to cross a courtyard filled with enemies to reach an APC or its game over...you might be able to cheese it and just roll & run your way there but had it been 1 minute instead it might have been acceptable...and the outdated and stale checkpoint system has you re-re-re-re-doing sections countless times just because one Theron Guard got lucky with his explodey bow shot. So overall you either love it or hate it..I hate it...the score is for workmanships sake as the game (where applicable) is built quite solidly! But unless your some knd of gaming genius youre going to find little fun in this game...and more anger than your could possibly imagine! Expand
  47. GoukiJ.
    Dec 20, 2006
    7
    What
  48. AnonA.
    Dec 25, 2006
    6
    Dissapointing and repetitive gameplay. I can tell you the next 6 hours of gameplay and 4 steps 1)press A to duck or hide 2) Shoot 3) run and hide again 4) Repeat
  49. MarcComeau
    Dec 27, 2006
    7
    first off compair this to halo i thought halo was shit i thought that game was retarted neways some things are bad about the game it is short graphics are amazing its a very fun game yet to play online i rented it first and then i bought it this is one of best games for 360 and the people who gave less then a 7 on this must like crappy games no affence its a very good game
  50. NikM.
    May 21, 2007
    7
    Perfect in nearly every way, but i dont know what was up, i didnt love it. Its just my opinion.
  51. Bryank
    May 29, 2007
    5
    frist off if someone said this stop me but the game is rated M so no shit it is going to have bloddy and gore Shawn O. you must have bought the game for your kid other wise he would not have it. so don't gi ve it a bad review just because u are dumb and don't look at the box to see if it is ok for you kids. it's you fault.
  52. JacobB.
    Jun 14, 2007
    7
    I know alot of you fans out there will probably hate me and call me too picky or arrogent, but i gave this game I chance and it was not what I expected. I rented this game after finally deciding to
  53. DavidF.
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    Great graphics, and exhilerating single player and co-op make it worth the purchase, but the lack of any real story, and the buggy multiplayer taint the experience.
  54. MikeS.
    Nov 23, 2008
    5
    I was not impressed at all. The storyline was trite and boring, and silly at times. The game play was average, there was nothing "innovative" about it. I caught myself yawning during all of the boss fights--shoot here, mash this button, blah, blah. All I saw, from beginning to end, was basically an over-hyped, button-mashing, shooter. After finishing this mediocre game, I'm stillI was not impressed at all. The storyline was trite and boring, and silly at times. The game play was average, there was nothing "innovative" about it. I caught myself yawning during all of the boss fights--shoot here, mash this button, blah, blah. All I saw, from beginning to end, was basically an over-hyped, button-mashing, shooter. After finishing this mediocre game, I'm still reading the reviews and trying to figure out what everyone is so excited about. Expand
  55. IanR.
    May 12, 2008
    7
    I borrowed this game from a friend thinking it was gonna be a definitive title but this game is heavily overrated. This shooting system is flawed and they stole aspects of the game from other games. Like the monster that only hears by sound. Thats from resident evil 4 Its not bad but it doesn't deserve the praise that it gets. The landscapes are beautiful but the characters look like I borrowed this game from a friend thinking it was gonna be a definitive title but this game is heavily overrated. This shooting system is flawed and they stole aspects of the game from other games. Like the monster that only hears by sound. Thats from resident evil 4 Its not bad but it doesn't deserve the praise that it gets. The landscapes are beautiful but the characters look like original xbox graphics. Expand
  56. Barry
    Jun 24, 2008
    7
    According to Games Master it is the best game they have ever seen. Well, seen is the strong defining word as it was probably the best game to look at around (upon release) but in terms of gameplay, certainly not. Very linear and scripted but to be fair i don't think it deserves to get anything lower than a 6.
  57. LeonardA.
    Aug 14, 2008
    7
    This is a great game. The acting and story sucks though. I wasn't impressed at all besides the graphics and the chainsaw. Oh yea and lots of blood. Thats about it. I prefer the T rated Uncharted: Drakes Fortune over this. I'm not exaggerating either. Uncharted is superior to this game.
  58. KarlB.
    Nov 12, 2006
    7
    Campaign mode is sorely lacking. The game is fun and the graphics are awesome but you'll be disappointed if you shell out sixty bucks. Rent it and beat it in the 6 hours it takes to do so.
  59. AnthonyV.
    Nov 18, 2006
    5
    Overhyped, overrated. Awful dialogue, contrived and non-existent story elements, short single-player. The A button is used for far too many things - running and cover is a pain the neck to pull off. Multiplayer is solid as long as you can put up with the controls. And for the life of me I can't understand how this game is getting so many good reviews; "pretty" looking graphics and Overhyped, overrated. Awful dialogue, contrived and non-existent story elements, short single-player. The A button is used for far too many things - running and cover is a pain the neck to pull off. Multiplayer is solid as long as you can put up with the controls. And for the life of me I can't understand how this game is getting so many good reviews; "pretty" looking graphics and good enemy AI can only do so much if you can't control your own character. The difficulty level of this game is more of a reflection of the cover system than how good the game is. Expand
  60. JohnG.
    Nov 28, 2006
    7
    The game play if fun and the coop is great but the game is to short and it doesn't really feal like a big battle when you only face 6 to 8 bots at once and they can be dumb as heck. and only 4v4 online is crap I like a big battle.
  61. PaxtonC.
    Nov 19, 2007
    7
    decent. Looks great, but Epic made a mistake by trying to impress the community with real-time-rendered cinematics. They just don't look as good as they could. Fun campaign, but I wasn't a fan of the multiplayer, the achievements were too hard to get. Also, no ranking system makes for a highly unbalanced matchmaking. RENT first, THEN buy.
  62. Nov 18, 2010
    7
    Gears of War is one of the greatest exclusives brought to the 360 (Yes it was also on PC, so we shall call it console exclusive) ! A great game featuring some great in-game mechanics such as the cover system. Although you aren't likely to be bored by the awesome story and clips, the repetitive gameplay might bore you after a while though.
  63. May 2, 2011
    5
    I'd like to be kind here, but I just don't understand where some of the reviewers are coming from. Golem's cave perhaps? It is not tactical in the least bit. Run, shoot, ooh creepy, shoot, ahh look at that! shoot, yeah! give him the chainsaw! shoot.
    I returned it for a full refund a day or 2 after I purchased it. They asked me why I would do such a thing, and I told them what I'm telling
    I'd like to be kind here, but I just don't understand where some of the reviewers are coming from. Golem's cave perhaps? It is not tactical in the least bit. Run, shoot, ooh creepy, shoot, ahh look at that! shoot, yeah! give him the chainsaw! shoot.
    I returned it for a full refund a day or 2 after I purchased it. They asked me why I would do such a thing, and I told them what I'm telling you now. They put a lot of effort into this game, and a lot of detail, but it has been way over-hyped. Primarily because of how gritty and cool it looks(I admit that at least). But tactical? Nah. Maybe if taking a dump is tactical for you.
    In all fairness, I thought it was a cool game, and the 2nd one is much much better because of online and horde mode, but I'm surprised this franchise has gotten to where it is now. Did not see it coming.
    Like I said though, it's enjoyable, but completely not complicated.
    Expand
  64. May 6, 2011
    5
    Sure its got some amazing graphics, but this isnt anything i havent played before. Throw in extremely linear, one dimensional gameplay, zero exposition , and a messy control scheme, and what you get is an terribly overrated piece of garbage. Its very hard to believe this recieved such high ratings- i smell a payoff.
  65. Jun 21, 2011
    5
    Even if I finished this game I was realy dissapointed. It´s quite fun to playthrough, but I dont see anything so amazing about this title. Yeah, maybe the cover system was something new, but the control is bad, It have realy poor story, stupid enemies, graphics was maybe once good, but these days bad, but never great. The final boss fight also bit killed the game for me. IEven if I finished this game I was realy dissapointed. It´s quite fun to playthrough, but I dont see anything so amazing about this title. Yeah, maybe the cover system was something new, but the control is bad, It have realy poor story, stupid enemies, graphics was maybe once good, but these days bad, but never great. The final boss fight also bit killed the game for me. I cant help, but when I see Cliff, nothing personal, I see some very juvenile ego with the muscles, soo full of himself..., the same I thing about this game. I give five, because of regret. Expand
  66. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    Great game, but it's rather ironic that a developer would name themselves Epic Games, but not make the story in this game epic; there should've been another difficulty level really; but for what it is, the campaign mode is nice, the graphics are amazing, the music is John Williams standards, the characters scream testosterone and masculinity, and the gameplay is a bloody mess in a goodGreat game, but it's rather ironic that a developer would name themselves Epic Games, but not make the story in this game epic; there should've been another difficulty level really; but for what it is, the campaign mode is nice, the graphics are amazing, the music is John Williams standards, the characters scream testosterone and masculinity, and the gameplay is a bloody mess in a good way; but the multiplayer is the big problem here; the team deathmatch mode doesn't let you respawn after you die until the next round; they should've took lessons from Halo 2 and have you respawn immediately after you die so you'll get better at it, and have a limit of the number of kills that ends the match instead of rounds; after being told to leave a match by some wanker, I'm never going to play this game on multiplayer ever again Expand
  67. Feb 15, 2012
    7
    This game is one the best games Xbox 360 has to offer. The storyline isnt amazing but its close to it. gears of war 3 and 2 have better storylines but that is expected being that the game is the first in the series. The originality of the story is amazing and very clever i love it. The game does fail though with its multiplayer. Its probably on of the laggiest multiplayer experience youThis game is one the best games Xbox 360 has to offer. The storyline isnt amazing but its close to it. gears of war 3 and 2 have better storylines but that is expected being that the game is the first in the series. The originality of the story is amazing and very clever i love it. The game does fail though with its multiplayer. Its probably on of the laggiest multiplayer experience you will ever have. While some level designs make sense others dont and also there is no ranking system. If you want a game that has a really good storyline buy it but if you are in it for multiplayer this isnt the game for you Expand
  68. May 4, 2013
    5
    A bit pale to be honest it was easy on easy setting but when you jump on the Insane level it's gets so bad hard that it just feels so wrong to play on your own.

    I did try on insane and let me say it was hardest thing to try to do as when you're inside a house ect there send waves after waves after you and you pretty much die in one hit by almost anything. Also it takes a million hits
    A bit pale to be honest it was easy on easy setting but when you jump on the Insane level it's gets so bad hard that it just feels so wrong to play on your own.

    I did try on insane and let me say it was hardest thing to try to do as when you're inside a house ect there send waves after waves after you and you pretty much die in one hit by almost anything.

    Also it takes a million hits just to kill something in 1p mode it's really is annoying because you don't know what gun you want to use in the long run on them.

    Checkpoints is long too to save the game is horridly to say the least MUST WAIT FOR A CHECKPOINT to kick in before you can save a game just like modern day games.

    The driving was not good too in it you had to drive away from the black bat things I really can't remeber them so something like locast and then aim a light at them in the end I keept dieing over and over then the game put me in after it for some strange reason maybe a glitch or if you die too many times the game will pass you on the next part because frankly it was hard to do.

    So yeah the game can be a bit unfair on you at times that's why I give it a 5 for half non a 10 because it's missing a lot of things I wanted in this game.
    Expand
  69. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    I know the people that worked on this game worked really hard and it shows to a great degree. However, personally, this did not appeal to me. The controls were simple enough, but did not allow fluidity of movement. Furthermore I found it to be extremely repetitive. It is interesting for a while but soon gets tiring. Another issue, I found with this game, is it was somewhat buggy. SometimesI know the people that worked on this game worked really hard and it shows to a great degree. However, personally, this did not appeal to me. The controls were simple enough, but did not allow fluidity of movement. Furthermore I found it to be extremely repetitive. It is interesting for a while but soon gets tiring. Another issue, I found with this game, is it was somewhat buggy. Sometimes it lagged enough to disrupt gameplay and sometimes it froze. Expand
  70. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    God, I want to give this game a 10. The single player is pretty entertaining. The use of a cover system can either intrigue or frustrate gamers. The Gears of War series' multiplayer is superb... hands down the best I have played on Xbox360. It is challenging, has a steep learning curve, but very rewarding. This game however, does have some serious flaws. Textures are poor, some levels areGod, I want to give this game a 10. The single player is pretty entertaining. The use of a cover system can either intrigue or frustrate gamers. The Gears of War series' multiplayer is superb... hands down the best I have played on Xbox360. It is challenging, has a steep learning curve, but very rewarding. This game however, does have some serious flaws. Textures are poor, some levels are way too dark, and waiting times for multiplayer can be ridiculous. It does feel ridged and clunky. If interested in the single player, play all three games. If you simply want a great multiplayer experience, get the 2nd or 3rd. Expand
  71. Aug 14, 2015
    5
    Blood, guts and beyond the human refuse, no heart, with solid controls and game-play mechanics alongside a dark and suiting artistic style. The thing that fails to accompany all this is a good narrative to which to follow upon. Making you believe the only suitable use of this game is a stress relief simulator for children with ADHD
  72. Apr 6, 2014
    6
    Gears of war is fun . but way to hard and it the most biggest challenge ever . but is okay i guess . i will pass level 1 . Grade C+............................................
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.