User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2050 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    1
    Completely overhyped and overrated. Gamers were basically told that we are supposed to like this game and many never bothered to question that. Read the summary on this game then ask someone who likes GoW why they do. Nine times out of ten their answer will sound like they are reading the summary, almost like rehearsed lines. Clunky gameplay, darkness instead of graphics, overuse of cover system to the point of boredom, very short game (for what was a top dollar release), cliche everything, and nothing new enough to balance just how tired and clearly "borrowed" so much of this game was- all with a sheen of gore and machismo so over the top it is almost laughable. This game had great appeal for people like the movie going audiences that laud each new release as the best movie ever until the next movie comes out, but in the annals of gaming it is a minor embarrassment and little more. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    for a game thats loaded to the hilt with bugs and glitches its one of the most funest games ive played both online and off. the story mode is only about 5-6 hours long but its a fun 6 hours . with some of the best voice acting and diolouge in any game to date . it has a good cover mechanic and with 2 player co-op its a blast. not to mention you get a chainsaw on the end of your gun . the animayions of cutting your enimy into little bits of meat just never gets old . the online is the real mear of this game . never in a online game is team work so vital to victory. the fun ive had with my friends on this was just intense . the formulation of stratagy planning are next move just seperates this from all the other ho-hum cockie cutter shooters out there . the game isnt flawless the story in this game is badley told . you are basically in the middle of a story and get no clear sense of how it all started . there are alot of bugs and glitches in this game and even after almost 4 years they still havent fixed 75% of them and they have done like a 100 patches for this game . still this looks and feels original despite the flaws im still giving it a 10 because there are a million run and gun call of duty clones out there but only 1 gears of war and it rains king over every thing els that is a online shooter. Collapse
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    I played this game in 2010, So I'm very late to the GOW party.
    The graphics where very nice and had some moments of awe!
    The characters are flat and boring, consisting of hey lets go here and shoot this mentality.
    Story was paper thin...
    The game started and then it felt like it ended with out anything happening in terms of story progression.
    GOW is a fast pace action movie that you control...
  4. Dec 5, 2010
    4
    I'm not quite sure where the appeal for this game is. I've played up to a certain point, and have not seen many redeeming qualities. The story is... mediocre, sound is okay, music is fine, gameplay mechanics work well enough, but at the end, I really don't care about any of these characters. There's no incentive for me to keep playing, really. In a way, it got boring fighting the same sort of enemies over and over, with a little variation every now and then with 'bosses'. -- The graphics, in its time, must have been pretty good, but does no one realise that graphics will always get worse over time? Praising a game for its amazing visuals while ignoring its faults is akin to people being famous for being famous. Something more lasting: a new, innovative graphical technique, or an interesting use of an old one (like Left 4 Dead's film techniques), an amazing story (Final Fantasy Tactics, lots of RPG's), those sort of things make a game that will be remembered as a good game for a long time to come. -- This game isn't really even worth it's money right now. let alone five years from now because it just isn't that fun. Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    Gears of War may have violence and 'badass' weapons but its small in substance and lame in the big scheme of things. The intention of its creators was to obviously make exactly what Gears is but that does not make it good. Any memories this game may create wont last and it is only original to the ignorant console crowd. Gears of War's story is pointless asides from the sensation of violence, it lacks originality, the script is a joke and is immaturely predictable. There maybe some fun to be had with some of its gameplay but there are plenty of other better games out there that have both substance and are 'fun'. In the end the Gears series is just another game for the uncritically minded and sits on the big fat pile of games with crap stories and a missed opportunity. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    Very impressive -- and far superior to the abysmal sequel that is Gears of War 2. The mechanics are simple and the concept seems like a novelty, but Gears of War is probably the best game on the 360 right now.
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    As one of the banner exclusives for the XBOX 360, Gears of Wsr is an untouchable beast of a third person shooter. A thoroughly brilliant, action packed behemoth of a campaign, innovative multiplayer offerings and a real sense of the player being a badass with chainsaw gun in hand. This is one fantastic game. If only Epic managed to distill the same brilliance to the narrative and environments, but still an unmatched goliath of a shooter. Expand
  8. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I never owned a console before the Xbox 360 (I only played games on the PC), so when a friend convinced me to buy one late in 2007, he also convinced me to buy GoW also. Needless to say, after years of mouse & keyboard control, I couldn't quite hack the two-thumb 360 controller. Marcus Fenix would just turn in circles while various Locus tore him up. After playing a few times over Christmas I gave up on the Xbox and put it aside. Almost a year later, completely bored over a Thanksgiving holiday, I pulled GoW off the shelf, dusted it off, moved a chair inches from my big screen and began my journey on Sera. Man, was I ever glad I did that - as Gears of War is probably my favorite game on the Xbox (head and shoulders above the Halo series, btw). If it wasn't for Gears I probably would have shelved the 360 entirely (which would have been a shame, since it's now the main focus of my multimedia experience - live streaming sports, streaming movies & tv shows - the 360 is on the active screen MUCH more than my cable box is - and that's all because GoW taught me to like playing games on the 360). If you've never played this game, GO GET IT - it really is, without a doubt, the best 360 game (and series) there is. Interesting story, fun gameplay, and really compelling. It's just a classic - and always will be. Expand
  9. Sep 29, 2010
    7
    Dark, bleak and hopeless, Gears of War is the perfect example of an apocalyptic world. It completely captures the feel of an apocalyptic world, in atmosphere, story telling and visual style. The level design is great and all and the feel of the game is spot on, the gameplay is just an average third person shooter. It is tactical but it has a limited variety, making it repetitive and un-replayable even in higher difficulties though it does add a bit of challenge. Overall, its just a typical shooter game. Nothing special. Expand
  10. Sep 15, 2010
    0
    This GAME IS FULL OF S%#T, go rot in hell. All you xbox 360 fanboys look like Marcus's screwed up wife! So yeah I h8 this game so that's it I am going to say and I did this so xbox 360 will be gone.
  11. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    While for the most part its a good game, The visuals are not that impressive (environments mostly, they also lack variety) and the campaign could have done better with explaining the whole situation the characters are in.
  12. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    This game is magnificent! Everyone who owns an Xbox 360 or PC should buy this game! The gameplay is wildly addicting, fresh, and unique. This game is very innovative, flows very smooth, and has excellently crafted scenes. The amount of detail placed in this game is overwhelming. The back-story is rich, and the conflict is intense and very realistic. Gears of War is a fantastic science fiction military shooter. This game has an excellent campaign that is easily worthy of multiple replays, and has a great multiplayer experience. Gears of war sets the bar with graphics, gameplay, and military-style story telling. The game allows you to make different choices so each play through isn't identical. The story is suspenseful and gripping. Easily one of the best games ever made. Expand
  13. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    This game has always been extremely overrated, but the cooperative campaign is plenty of fun. The multiplayer is certainly a disappointment. It's simply not fun at all.
  14. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Easily one of my favorite games of all time. It's one of my favorite campaigns to play and I find the story missions very enjoyable to play. Especially Marcus Fenix. He's just a badass! Otherwise, the campaign is not too long and not too short either. On easiest, it'll take around 6-7 hours, which is not bad at all for games nowadays. Playing on Insane, however, will take an extremely long time. Multiplayer is not the best but during development, it was considered not being included. The sequel, Gears of War 2, features an expanded multiplayer component. Overall, Gears of War is an excellent game with stunning visuals, intriguing gameplay and a whole lot of blood. Expand
  15. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    It's a rarity that a game gets as much hype as this game got, and even more rare that it lived up to that hype. Even 6 months after its release it's still going strong. This day in age, that's a lifetime for an online shooter. In the tradition of Goldeneye and Halo, this is a game for the ages.
  16. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two of the coolest, most brutal, over the top weapons I have ever seen are introduced in this game. The Lancer is incredible. A high powered assault rifle with a bayonet that is a chainsaw sounds a bit ridiculous I know, but it is ridiculousness that sets games like Gears of War apart from other similar games. The second weapon I speak of is the Torque Bow. If anything could put this game over the top of the threshold of total gruesomeness, it is the Torque Bow. For all intents and purposes, this thing is a cross bow that fires exploding arrows! What more could a gamer (or COG soldier) ask for? On top of the awesome weapons, there are good characters (with good voice acting), fun objectives, a really cool and simple duck and cover system, plus an easily detestable horde villains. My only complaint, and the reasoning behind my 9 rating rather than 10, is that the campaign is kind of short. However, the game is fun enough to play through again, especially because once the game is played through, you unlock "Insane" difficulty. Expand
  17. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Where there's hype, there's people who hate it. One reviewer admitted loving Gears for 3 weeks straight, then reaching a completely turnaround after trying the multiplayer. Then he rips on the singleplayer. So, what, you just looked at the box for 3 weeks? If you're going to be critical of a game, let it be based on something. What do I think of Gears? The game's pretty good. Pretty, pretty, pretty good. Expand
  18. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    Fun game to play but it had a few frustrating bugs/crashes. Very nice visuals and the characters are second to none. I do not play on-line, so I cannot comment on that aspect of the game, but storyline mode if fun and there is something cathartic about using a chainsaw to cut through a mass of enemies. Anyone who slags this game should reevaluate their expectations because if you cannot have fun playing this, you should probably quit playing video games. Expand
  19. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Gears of War is a good game with fantastic action set-pieces and an almost creepy setting, with a human colonised world being destroyed by a ground-dwelling species known as the Locust. The voice acting is great, the graphics, for its time, were spectacular, if a little drab, and the story is solid. The multi-player aspect, I never really got into, as I was always outclassed and obliterated by other players. The ability to do co-op campaign takes this game from a 3/5 to a 3.5/5, and defeating the final boss with my mate on the hardest difficulty setting is easily my biggest achievement in gaming so far. Expand
  20. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    Jut a fun and action packed game. Thats it. Try also the other games in the series. But the last one lost a bit on the story and just a bit weird.....
  21. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    A hell of a game. Xbox maybe has a handful of good exclusive titles but with names like Gears of War, it should convince you to get this game. Or wait. If you don't have this game and you have an Xbox 360, you're a dumbass
  22. Nov 18, 2010
    7
    Gears of War is one of the greatest exclusives brought to the 360 (Yes it was also on PC, so we shall call it console exclusive) ! A great game featuring some great in-game mechanics such as the cover system. Although you aren't likely to be bored by the awesome story and clips, the repetitive gameplay might bore you after a while though.
  23. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = The first real leap into 7th Gen graphics and what they would later become. Great shooter, very well built.
  24. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    One of my favorite memories of the 360, Gears of War is a great game. It's fun to go through, the story is about a bunch of huge space marines, and things go boom. It looks great, even today, and it's mechanics are rock solid. I've beaten it a dozen times and I still have fond memories about it. The multiplayer is good, though the sequel has it beat there. But for the price you can get this for these days, you might as well pick up and have a go. Expand
  25. Dec 5, 2010
    0
    This game is so overhyped! I can't believe how it it said to beat the ps3 exclusives or the x360 games lik Halo and Uncharted 2. But then when I look at the kind of people who find this game appealing I realise hey are the type of people who like anything. Even critics say the game has good graphics - but it doesn't! Play any ps3 exclusive like gt5, ps home, uncharted, FFXIII (I know it's not exclusive but it has great graphics), ratchet and clank etc. and you will realise how this game looks like a ps2 game. The gameplay is clunky and the controls are awkward. It sucks. Expand
  26. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Gears of War might have been over hyped, while it's a great game with solid gameplay it's not a game changer, graphics show age, but the sound is great, and the multiplayer is good, the worst part about this game is the story, there is absolutely no character development, hey try to give you a feeling of mystery about Marcus Fenix's (the main character) past, but it just makes him unlikable, weak story aside if you like 3rd person cover shooters you like this, just don't expect a deep story backing it up. Expand
  27. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    GOW by no means is a bad game but is very very overrated i just can't find the masterpiece that everybody sees, the story is boring the game play is very repetitive the characters are plain, the only good thing are the graphics for a 2006 game off course.
  28. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    I love this game! Achievements are fun to get, the game play is really fun, great graphic. If you find this game cheap, get it. It is a great game with only one problem. It take too many shots to kill an enemy. That is not really too bad of problem see as you get an unbelievable amount of ammo.
  29. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Pure awesome sauce!Graphically stunning with fantastic action.A somewhat thin storyline is overshadowed by the sauce that is Gears of War.Its very short,but you will replay a few times.Buy it.
  30. May 29, 2011
    10
    The most enjoyable multiplayer experience I've had on the Xbox 360. I met most of my XBL friends through this game and played it more than any other game I've owned for the system. It's a perfect blend of arcade action, strategy, teamwork, and fun. Single player is short but that's not the reason to play this. The only downside in hindsight is the lack of a MP leveling system and no stats tracked for non-ranked matches (which is where I spent most of my time). Expand
  31. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Single player: The single player campaign is the main reason why I love Gears of War. I spent most of my time on the game, playing the campaign with my ex or by myself. The story is great and the controls are pretty good. I feel like the campaign was just long enough as well. With it on it's easiest level, it's EXTREMELY easy and hard is just hard enough to still enjoy the game Multiplayer: I enjoyed multiplayer but I wasn't good at it. I was very impatient and that hurt me. You have to be good at aiming from your hip a lot. It's solid gameplay, but it just wasn't my thing. Expand
  32. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    It's very good! Solid campaign, fun multiplayer, likeable characters and good gameplay. The story is also very good, and the latin/english dubs are very, very sweet. feels very complete, and is very fun.
  33. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Gears of War is a game that is near perfect. Fantastic graphics, enthralling story, funny characters, and addicting multiplayer all combines to create one of the best game of the decade. Whether your slaughtering Locust in single-player, or shotgunning noobs in Multi, this game is hard to get board of. This game would be a clear 10 if not for the bugs that plague the Gears of War servers years after it release. Oddly enough, although these were fixed for Gears of War 2 (for the most part), Gears of War 1 is still a more fun game. A must buy for any shooter fan, and one your going to want to keep. Expand
  34. Sep 2, 2011
    8
    With Gears of War 3 drawing ever closer I decided to go back to the start before it finally arrives! First of all, stating the obvious, its a great game. Sure, 5 years or so on from the original release but it's still one of the best gaming debuts. Back in the day I recall being blown away by what Gears had to offer. Visually it raised the bar, it looked very next gen. More importantly the game plays extremely well. The shooting system is fairly straightforward and easy to come to grips with although it times you may get ever son slightly frustrated but thats were the revolutionary chainsaw and gun combination comes to the rescue. Yes, its absurd, ridiculous but also genius! The story is simple, humanity is on the brink. The Locust Horde have risen and are taking over, enter Marcus Fenix, humanity's last hope. Well not quite but you get the drift. Its an incredibly engaging experience and a very well written game full of twists and also full of all sorts of weird and nasty creatures. For me there wasn't much wrong with this game however I just feel it was lacking something, what though I can't quite put my finger on I wanted more but I was for from disappointed because as an all round game Gears of War is a fantastic game. Online is addictive as hell and there is bags of fun to be had here for hours on end, you really do have to experience this game mind you it is 2011 so I doubt any 360 owner hasn't. Not perfect but a stunning game nonetheless. Expand
  35. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Quite possibly the best shooter I have played on the Xbox360. While some people automatically rule Gears of War out because it is an over-the-shoulder, or Third-Person shooter, players need to give it a chance and allow themselves to fall into the gameplay.

    The multiplayer delivered (past tense, as it's fairly inactive now) when it was active. If you can find this game for $20 or less, I
    would say pick it up and play it, as Gears of War 2 was great, and Gears of War 3 is on it's way. Expand
  36. May 31, 2011
    10
    What more can i say about this game.. Its definately up there with the best! A real benchmark of a game to this day,both graphically & features that have inspired many other games to copy elements it has introduced to gaming,like the now much copied context sensitive cover system,Blind Firing from Cover,to the feel itself,with games like Resistance & later Killzone games,& even games later games such as Vanquish & Hunted-The Demons Forge among others owing alot to Gears.Its great that,as good as the graphics are(& lets face it,they dont come much better),all the Gears games still have Online & Offline Co-Op.GREAT!! & is an example to all those developers out there,using the feeble excuse,that their games cant be done in Co-Op,or Split Screen,& not without Borders in Split Screen.If Gears can,then ANY game can.Simple as that! Expand
  37. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    The is the game that started it all. This is the game tht started one of the most beloved and successful Xbox exclusive games in our beoved consoles history. With beautiful graphics, wonderful gameplay mechnics, this game will be remebered by Xbox fans for years to come.
  38. Jan 14, 2014
    8
    Its easy to forgot now but at the time the original Gears of War set a benchmark for next generation graphics and inspired a whole genre in the way it reinvented the cover based shooter. Truth be told there is little story behind proceedings and the controls could be a little fiddly until you got a handle on them but, the brutal gameplay was truly unlike anything else available at the time and the opportunity to play the entire campaign with a friend (either split-screen or over Xbox Live) only made things even better. Expand
  39. May 2, 2011
    5
    I'd like to be kind here, but I just don't understand where some of the reviewers are coming from. Golem's cave perhaps? It is not tactical in the least bit. Run, shoot, ooh creepy, shoot, ahh look at that! shoot, yeah! give him the chainsaw! shoot.
    I returned it for a full refund a day or 2 after I purchased it. They asked me why I would do such a thing, and I told them what I'm telling
    you now. They put a lot of effort into this game, and a lot of detail, but it has been way over-hyped. Primarily because of how gritty and cool it looks(I admit that at least). But tactical? Nah. Maybe if taking a dump is tactical for you.
    In all fairness, I thought it was a cool game, and the 2nd one is much much better because of online and horde mode, but I'm surprised this franchise has gotten to where it is now. Did not see it coming.
    Like I said though, it's enjoyable, but completely not complicated.
    Expand
  40. May 6, 2011
    5
    Sure its got some amazing graphics, but this isnt anything i havent played before. Throw in extremely linear, one dimensional gameplay, zero exposition , and a messy control scheme, and what you get is an terribly overrated piece of garbage. Its very hard to believe this recieved such high ratings- i smell a payoff.
  41. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    I can't believe Gears of War came out 5 years ago, I recently revisited it and it's one of the few games that you can say has aged well. Regardless of being overhyped, Gears of War is still one of my most favourite games of this game gen.
  42. May 23, 2011
    9
    payed this in the days that the only fps i admired or really new about was halo, pleasantly surprised loved the alternative methods of movements and fantastic cinematic feel :)
  43. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Gears of War is epic. Just epic. If you haven't played this game...go play it. It's a little short but overall this is a very good game! The gameplay is WOW and the graphics is good. This is better than Gears of War 2 in my opinion.
  44. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    oh my god iv just read a few reviews and so many stupid c***s. i bought it and haven't got live so $70 wasted who's dumb fault is that and my 4 year old younger bro had nightmares don't let him watch you play it and it wont ever be better then halo ??????? it's way better then halo as halo is boring f***ing fanboys piss off this game is great story is ace a little short yes but makes up the time in online multiplayer if you did enjoy this game buy gears of war 3 on september the 20th iv played the beta and it was awesome nuff said Expand
  45. Jun 21, 2011
    5
    Even if I finished this game I was realy dissapointed. It´s quite fun to playthrough, but I dont see anything so amazing about this title. Yeah, maybe the cover system was something new, but the control is bad, It have realy poor story, stupid enemies, graphics was maybe once good, but these days bad, but never great. The final boss fight also bit killed the game for me. I cant help, but when I see Cliff, nothing personal, I see some very juvenile ego with the muscles, soo full of himself..., the same I thing about this game. I give five, because of regret. Expand
  46. Oct 22, 2011
    8
    On the weekend I went game shopping and rustled myself up a copy of the 2006 Xbox Classic-Gears of War. By Epic Games the creators of Bulletstorm and the Unreal Games. Gears of War was a Revolutionary shooter and I see why. When Microsoft released it they said it was the new Halo and they weren't kidding. But when they said that they meant it was better than Halo. You are the rather massive Marcus Fenix who has been put in jail because you tried to save your father from the locust horde who have risen out of the Earth for some reason. This is all until your friend Dominic Santiago rescues you from prison you are then told to go plant a resonator light bomb in an underground pumping station to stop them. The games story is average but it doesn't really need one because the game is pure action you sort of forget the story even. The gunplay is as any good i've ever seen the cover system is the most intuitive ive ever seen and the guns are kick-ass. My favorite is the Lancer mainly because it's attachment is a chainsaw and that makes for some very gory parts in fact the game it self is pretty damn gory. It's sort of annoying with the hub though when your being shot the GoW logo fades in as you get closer to death but even then I didn't know when I was dying because I was focused on the action. I barely got lost. The level design accomadates some tactics they were the same in evry level but thats good to have in a game overall I had a great time and it definitely beats Halo so i'll give it 8.5 massive stars As always this will be on Metacritic http://www.maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/ Expand
  47. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Compared to other game released in 2005, 'Gears of War' far exceeds all expectations against it's competitor's. It was clean, smooth and great to play, If you go by time frame 'Gears of War' is probably one of the greatest games ever. It was a new way of war playing game and something that we have never seen before. We have to appreciate that this game released in 2005 has that kind of graphics and game play, well that is just remarkable. In all, this was my all time FAVORITE game!!!!!! 10/10 Expand
  48. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Nearly perfect. The game came out with a bang back in 2005 and exploded past all the competition. This game had something special about it and wasn't afraid to show it. The graphic's were great and the game play was even better. I truly love getting head shots my self something special about it. All and all a great game and one of my favorites to play, of all time!
  49. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    It's not often that you can play a game SIX YEARS AFTER RELEASE and still be amazed by the graphics. I had to stop playing the game just to come here and say that it's THE BEST LOOKING SHOOTER ON XBOX 360 TO DATE! The lighting and textures have insane detail, and no other game- not even Gears of War 3- can match its graphics. As the first ever game to use the most common game engine of this generation, its technological achievement is astounding. The gameplay is so original, and the controls are the best for a third person shooter because they are fast and fluent. I've come from Gears 2 and 3 to play this and you really CANNOT tell that this game is old. It was one of the first games to have co-op splitscreen in campaign, and the gameplay, controls, graphics and campaign are still amazing today. Another thing that is astonishing is the A.I. I have completed the other two games on Insane and playing through this on Hardcore puts them to shame. Unlike the other two the AI on here seem to analyse your position relative to other enemies and can judge when to advance. In most other shooters the AI just sit there behind cover, wheras on here they seem dynamic. As a result, the game is made more challenging, which is always welcome. Not only was Gears of War way ahead of its time, but the gameplay and controls were so original and unique that now you have games that try to copy its style, like Warhammer Space Marine. For its time, this was definitely the best shooter on X360 without a doubt. The graphics on this game just go to show how little advancements have been made for console shooters due to the hardware's limited performance. I'd highly recommend this game if you like a good shooter and especially if you've played other Gears games. Expand
  50. Sep 26, 2011
    3
    Graphics are nice, and the characters have some personality. However the game is very boring, I found myself staying in cover too much for too long and it ultimately became boring. Also getting killed when trying to navigate through a level, made the pacing way too slow.

    I don't mind taking cover, as long as the game lets me roam around without getting killed constantly.

    It had the
    potential to be something great but it disappointed. Expand
  51. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    Great game, but it's rather ironic that a developer would name themselves Epic Games, but not make the story in this game epic; there should've been another difficulty level really; but for what it is, the campaign mode is nice, the graphics are amazing, the music is John Williams standards, the characters scream testosterone and masculinity, and the gameplay is a bloody mess in a good way; but the multiplayer is the big problem here; the team deathmatch mode doesn't let you respawn after you die until the next round; they should've took lessons from Halo 2 and have you respawn immediately after you die so you'll get better at it, and have a limit of the number of kills that ends the match instead of rounds; after being told to leave a match by some wanker, I'm never going to play this game on multiplayer ever again Expand
  52. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I haven't played this game in a long time but I really enjoyed it. Shooting combat has rarely been as unique as Gears of War and this game was only the beginning of a great series.
  53. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Even in 2011 this game still looks great! Online still great ! One of the greatest 360 games !!!! I can' t recommend this game more than I already do! Must have for any 360 fan!
  54. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Gears of War is a ground breaking game in terms of graphics, and gameplay for the third person shooter genre. Graphics wise I remember seeing it the first time and thinking WOW is this ingame? Today obviously those graphics, while still good are not so much of a WOW factor when buying. Gameplay wise the cover system was brand new and I found it quite intuitive diving from cover to cover etc and laying down fire. Of course there's also the chainsaw mounted on your gun that allows you to flay into your enemies! Did I like it? Big time yes! Expand
  55. Dec 2, 2011
    4
    One of the most overrated game I've ever played. There is fun to be had here but it's tough to enjoy with the truly awful A.I and tedious gameplay. At release, it had great multiplayer which was unfortunately full of bugs and connection issues. The only appeal this game has is the pretty (but dated) graphics and decent core gameplay and "decent" is generous.
  56. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Gears of war is an instant classic. This world of blood and guts and chainsaw bayonets just gets more exciting the more you play it. The locust are one of the coolest enemies i've ever fought in a videogame. They dwell underground and some of them just make you feel so insignificant. None of them are more impressive than the Berserkers, fighting a Berserker was one of the most memorable fights i've had in a videogame. That and the Kryll who decimate anybody in the darkness. So remember to stay in the light and when in doubt use the hammer of dawn. Expand
  57. Jan 22, 2012
    8
    Set in a dark but interesting world, with well thought-out game-mechanics in the form of the cover-system, sprint, melee, reload bonus etc, this is a good overall game.
  58. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Przez pierwszego gears'a którego graÅ
  59. Feb 15, 2012
    7
    This game is one the best games Xbox 360 has to offer. The storyline isnt amazing but its close to it. gears of war 3 and 2 have better storylines but that is expected being that the game is the first in the series. The originality of the story is amazing and very clever i love it. The game does fail though with its multiplayer. Its probably on of the laggiest multiplayer experience you will ever have. While some level designs make sense others dont and also there is no ranking system. If you want a game that has a really good storyline buy it but if you are in it for multiplayer this isnt the game for you Expand
  60. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This game is really amazing! I had a great feeling while playing it. This game's visuals were stunning(especially for a 2006 game). The gameplay was amazing, the guns are really cool(Heavy machine gun with chainsaw bayonet FTW!). And the story I actually thought was pretty cool. The online versus is so hardcore and addictive! If your looking to play an online game, it's pretty basic and standard,team slayer, capture the point,execution,e.t.c. But all of them are just so addictive and fun, especially when playing with friends. They also involve true skill, you have to play a lot of single player to be good at it. I highly recommend getting this game, especially since it's 5 bucks nowadays. Great single player, great mulltiplayer. Highly recommend! Expand
  61. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    F*ck this, this suck to the asss!....................................................................................................................
  62. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    The title on the box says it all. If you still havent played this game...GO BUY IT NOW! Im serious no game has ever had my finish its campaign over 10 times singleplayer, Splitscreen and cross xboxlive this game is the best third person shooter on the market.
  63. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    The planet Sera was once a beautiful planet, one of humanities greatest colonies, however that all changed after E-Day. Gears of War picks up 14 years after the events of E-Day, you play Marcus Fenix, an ex-COG soldier imprisoned for abandoning military post. You are busted out of prison by your old buddy Dominic Santiago and are informed that the COG needs you again. Reluctantly you agree to help and so begins humanities struggle to take back Sera from the alien forces known as Locust that emerged from the ground.
    Gears of War is perhaps the perfect example of a third-person shooter, a killer app for the 360 early into its lifespan and the start to one of this generations greatest gaming series.
    Expand
  64. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    What I love about Gears of War one then 2 and 3 is the world is more dark, grime and really suits it. Amazing campaign and awesome multiplayer make this one of my favorite games of all time. Gears of War 9.5/10
  65. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    Gears of War (1) was amazing at it's time and is still fresh today. It's a great 3rd person shooter and this first instalment feels more like a horror/survival game, whereas it's sequels are more action orientated. The graphics and art design are superb, the music is fantastic and it's gameplay is very solid. It might drag a bit here and there and its story and characters might be a bit over the top, but that's Gears. 9/10 Expand
  66. May 27, 2012
    10
    One of the best multiplayer games ever. I poured hours into this games multiplayer until I mastered it...One of the most satisfying multiplayers of all time.
  67. Aug 27, 2013
    8
    The game that helped put the Xbox 360 on the map, Gears Of War is one of the most unique 3rd Person Shooters you can possibly play. For a game to have come out back in 2006, it is a testament to the game and the GOW series that it is still memorable.

    A summary of the plot is that it is set 15 years after the events of E-Day when a horde of mysterious enemies called the Locust attacked
    the world which puts Humanity on the brink of extinction. You play as Marcus and to put it as simply as possible, you must defeat the Locust, or is it as simple as that?

    It is one of the best, if not the best 3rd Person Shooters I've played. I can't think off the top of my head any game other than the sequels to really stand out any more than GOW, an important factor is the excellent cover system which is the main substance for the action in the game.

    If you have never played Gears Of War and you want to get into a new series, than this is the perfect game for you.

    8/10 Brilliant
    Expand
  68. Oct 8, 2012
    8
    Gears of war can be very fun at times but is also very disappointing to of how short i found this game and how boring it is and also the fact that their is really no reason to go back and play this game
  69. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    "Gears of War" for the XBOX 360 is a groundbreaking masterpiece. Cliff Bleszinski's highly-acclaimed action game set a standard for third-person shooters. It joined David Jaffe's "God of War" and Shinji Mikami's "Resident Evil 4" as an innovative trend setter in the video game industry. A successor to the XBOX's "Halo" franchise, "Gears of War" pushed the 360's graphical capabilities to the extreme. Developed on the Unreal Engine (which also powered "Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory"), its animated characters and locations seemed to be the most visually detailed creations in a video game at the time. With its highly-kinetic action gameplay and cinematic visual grandeur, "Gears of War" existed on entirely different plane than other similar titles in '06. Its beefy protagonists Marcus Fenix and Dominic Santiago lead a band of brothers into battle to stop a massive alien army from invading the Earth. If there was ever a Hollywood action blockbuster made exclusively for video game consoles, this is it. This is an extremely satisfying shooter than almost feels like an interactive action movie at times. The "pop 'n stop" cover system works like a charm and the visceral gunfights deliver in a big way. "Gears of War" is a great and gritty game that all fans of action should try at least once. It's that good. 9.5 out of 10. Expand
  70. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    Standard blockbuster, big explosion, big muscles, no brains gaming come to life. Barely got through it, because it was so damn boring. The end boss was the most unimaginative bosses i have ever seen! 4 /10 Because it is payable and not broken!
  71. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    EPIC and Cliff Blezinski had every reason to be so excited to show off and release this back in 2006. Lackluster colors made the visuals better. The characters are fantastic and the voice acting is excellent. The story is very good, and revolves around the survival of mankind against a new enemy called the Locust, who dug out of the ground with their Beserker pets and started killing everyone, every single human being human being they can find, this game does have a history in its background such as the Pendulum Wars. The one question to this game is how do they dig out of the ground and attack every inhabitant on the world? Didn't they ever dig out accidentally under the sea and drown? With its gorgeous graphics (for the time), dark gritty and excellent campaign and the tactical gameplay such as "down but not out," extreme use of cover as well as its superior multiplayer for the time, there was every reason this game was so successful. Expand
  72. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    This game is solid cus there were no third person shooters and **** heads blowin off after getting domed peiced. the only bad thing is the sometimes lag and over powered sniper.
  73. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Lovable characters, legendary gameplay, tonal breadth, awesome action, the first worthwhile multiplayer experience on the 360, and a horrifyingly memorable set of visuals and sound leave "Gears Of War" a go-to masterpiece for gamers of all kinds.
  74. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    This game made Xbox 360 back in 2006. By far the most influential game on the system.

    Gears judgment is going to be one last send off for the 360 before the nextbox arrives fall 2013
  75. May 2, 2014
    8
    Played this not long after it came out and enjoyed the hell out of it. Every 3rd person game that came out after it copied and pasted it's cover mechanics. Great graphics atthe time and tight gunplay. Grumble all you want about the dick jokes, but gameplay trumps all and I happen to be the type of guy that enjoys a good fart from a distance.
  76. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    Very good game, recommend it to everyone. I'm not a fan of third person shooters but this game is still worth 9/10. The story is strong and dark. Gameplay is almost flawless. Some few annoying moments is when the chainsaw on the Lancer gets stuck if your too near enemies, but it's probably to prevent it to be overpowered. The hammer of dawn is pretty fun. I tested co-op. Multiplayer not tested.
  77. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    and easily one of the best games ever released. A Co-op campaign in games is something which is always requested, and rarely is it pulled off as well as Gears of War does. Halo 2's co-op campaign is the only thing which comes close to it, and even then, I feel that as the game is 3rd person, it just feels more Co-Oppy.

    Not only is the Co-op amazing, the Xbox Live Co-Op is out of this
    world... no lag, and everything streams together nicely bringing a nice feel to playing with a friend. You both see the cut-scenes at the same time and the only bug I found was the occasional texture not loading for the first 5 seconds of a chapter. Apart from that, chainsaw killing glory.

    If you have a 360, you /need/ this game, if you don't have a 360, you need to buy one
    Expand
  78. May 4, 2013
    5
    A bit pale to be honest it was easy on easy setting but when you jump on the Insane level it's gets so bad hard that it just feels so wrong to play on your own.

    I did try on insane and let me say it was hardest thing to try to do as when you're inside a house ect there send waves after waves after you and you pretty much die in one hit by almost anything.

    Also it takes a million hits
    just to kill something in 1p mode it's really is annoying because you don't know what gun you want to use in the long run on them.

    Checkpoints is long too to save the game is horridly to say the least MUST WAIT FOR A CHECKPOINT to kick in before you can save a game just like modern day games.

    The driving was not good too in it you had to drive away from the black bat things I really can't remeber them so something like locast and then aim a light at them in the end I keept dieing over and over then the game put me in after it for some strange reason maybe a glitch or if you die too many times the game will pass you on the next part because frankly it was hard to do.

    So yeah the game can be a bit unfair on you at times that's why I give it a 5 for half non a 10 because it's missing a lot of things I wanted in this game.
    Expand
  79. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    Great game for its time,
    Truly ground breaking, atmospheric, dark, violent & gore galore!

    Versus was and still is loads of fun.
    This is a classic and it deserves respect.
  80. May 29, 2013
    8
    This game made me become a Gears fan and I'll never forget it! The difficulty is crazy, easy feels like normal, normal feels like hard, and hard feels like impossible, but I was easily able to forget those problems and enjoy the game the way I wanted!
  81. May 30, 2013
    8
    Gears of War was a unique experience and the sole reason I bought an xbox 360. It's just a one of a kind experience. Gears 1 is heavily online based and that's where most of its replay value is, but the campaign is still awesome. Back to the online, it can be frustrating to hop on and play Gears multiplayer if you've never played before, so it's not user friendly multiplayer, but it definitely worth every penny. Expand
  82. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    I remember how gritty and gory I thought Gears of War was when it first came out. That's a thing of the past, but I definitely look back fondly at this first entry in the series. My friends and I had a blast and probably spent the most time in competitive multiplayer amongst the entries in the series. The story was dark and it was overall an entertaining experience.
  83. Dec 4, 2013
    8
    Just got the game through the games for gold thingy, and have to say, was pretty impressed. Considering this came out in 2006, it's graphically stunning and the soundtrack is great, contributes to a very eerie mood. The gameplay is pretty simple. Cover and shoot. Sounds boring? Wrong. The gunplay is highly satisfying and packs a punch, and despite the reasonably low number of weapons each has their own distinct feel. The main thing that brings the score down is the lack of story development, however like I said I haven't played the sequels yet and this may be addressed in the future. Also, the campaign is pretty short, depending on difficulty 6-10 hours. Multiplayer is also very fun. Overall a great game. Expand
  84. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2) (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (0/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  85. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    es un comienzo y final 2 veces en un juego con una gran historia que espero se desibre mucho mejor de lo que se hizo en este videojuego gears of war a demostrado un futuro en la xbox 360
  86. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    One Of The Best Game ever Every Things About This Game Is Great When i Played This Game It Feels Kinda Pure A Game Like No Other Graphics Are Great And Has a Heavy Atmosphere For A Shooter
  87. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    Not the best game on the 360, but one you can enjoy. The purpose of this game was to give 360 gamers a well-crafted experience in 2006 and the game didn't disappoint. This game was the creator for the covering system in most 3rd-person games now, and is one reason why this game did set standards. The game may have been one of the fist 3rd-person shooters of the generation, but it didn't bring anything new really. It feels like the common shooter, and in my opinion lacks some deep storytelling campaign wise. I have personally not played the multiplayer, but I'm sure it was one of the best during its time. Expand
  88. May 21, 2014
    10
    I love Epic Games, and Gears of War is just as good as Bulletstorm, meaning that it's awesome!! The story is great, the characters are good, the gameplay is incredible, and the graphics are good!! Don't expect a look at online multiplayer on my Xbox 360 reviews, because I'm not going to get Xbox Live, and I hate online multiplayer, anyway. However, there are some minor bad things about Gears of War, which are the annoyingly dumb teammates (especially Dom) and the extremely frustrating 'kryll' enemies, which eat you alive if you don't stay in light, in act 2. Gears of War still gets a 10/10, though, and it's gotten extremely cheap now, so go buy it!!! Expand
  89. Jan 11, 2014
    3
    Writing these reviews at the end of a generation really let's you not only see what games stood the test of time but also lets you add that games contribution to the industry as part of the reviewing process. Gears of War did not stand the test of time and the only contributions it had to the industry were negative. First let me mention how this game got it's score of 3, it is one of the only games on the 360 with split screen co-op multiplayer and one of the best gaming experiences I have had was with Halo's co-op multiplayer playing split screen with a friend. Me and the same friend were overjoyed at the fact this would carry on into the new generation and had fun with Gears of War, but that joy would be short lived as the push for online began. This game seems to have been the start of the trend for what would become generic for this generation, a brown looking cover based shooter with a story based around massive men with no personalities, just huge guns. This game was fun the first time around but it inspired nothing and is easily forgotten about, I can't remember the story at all. Overall Gears of War was **** on a stick worth a nostalgic run through if you have a friend you wish to torture and you can pick it up for a pound. Expand
  90. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    I know the people that worked on this game worked really hard and it shows to a great degree. However, personally, this did not appeal to me. The controls were simple enough, but did not allow fluidity of movement. Furthermore I found it to be extremely repetitive. It is interesting for a while but soon gets tiring. Another issue, I found with this game, is it was somewhat buggy. Sometimes it lagged enough to disrupt gameplay and sometimes it froze. Expand
  91. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    God, I want to give this game a 10. The single player is pretty entertaining. The use of a cover system can either intrigue or frustrate gamers. The Gears of War series' multiplayer is superb... hands down the best I have played on Xbox360. It is challenging, has a steep learning curve, but very rewarding. This game however, does have some serious flaws. Textures are poor, some levels are way too dark, and waiting times for multiplayer can be ridiculous. It does feel ridged and clunky. If interested in the single player, play all three games. If you simply want a great multiplayer experience, get the 2nd or 3rd. Expand
  92. Apr 6, 2014
    6
    Gears of war is fun . but way to hard and it the most biggest challenge ever . but is okay i guess . i will pass level 1 . Grade C+............................................
  93. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    This is an example of how a video game should be made. Great graphics, considering its age, a much better game then any other generic shooter, completely amazing story and characters and an amazing start to the best video game trilogy ever made.
  94. May 29, 2014
    8
    Graphics: 8.8 Sound: 8.0 Gameplay: 8.0 Fun/Story: 8.0

    A good game but in my opinion too straight to have better score. Graphics are very good with good textures.
  95. Jul 27, 2014
    9
    Gears of War is an amazing shooter and a fantastic game overall. The gameplay and combat are great, the campaign is interesting and is very enjoyable, the multiplayer is really fun, and co-op works very well. The story is very creative and well done and the setting is unique and I absolutely love it. The characters have great personalities and are interesting to get to know. For 2006 the graphics were unbelievable and no one had seen anything like them, even today the graphics are pretty good. This is an incredible game and it's a must play. Expand
  96. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    Games de tiro em terceira pessoa nunca mais serão os mesmos apos Gears. Toda a ação frenética envolve o jogador e sua jogabilidade é praticamente perfeita.
  97. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    The game that started it all. This review is a bit unnecessary considering how long the game's been out for, but here goes. The game is bloody, brutal, and gritty, a big plus in my opinion considering how hard it can be to find a really gut-wrenching game. The cover system is a bit stiff compared to future releases, but still works. The story isn't super well fleshed out in this one. It feels a bit like an action movie in that parts are a bit predictable. But the game provides a genuine challenge, which the sequels seem to have shied away from. If you play on insane on Gears 3 and want a challenge, try the original. Expand
  98. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    It's funny looking back at all of the Gears reviews here. Seems so long ago, but this was the first game that made me realize that a new generation had come. There ain't much wrong with the first outing for this great franchise. Looking back its hard to score it, especially since there is a lot of nostalgia. The single player still stands up well although the chances of finding a mp game are slim to none. A classic. Expand
  99. Aug 28, 2010
    0
    for a game thats loaded to the hilt with bugs and glitches its one of the most funest games ive played both online and off. the story mode is only about 5-6 hours long but its a fun 6 hours . with some of the best voice acting and diolouge in any game to date . it has a good cover mechanic and with 2 player co-op its a blast. not to mention you get a chainsaw on the end of your gun . the animayions of cutting your enimy into little bits of meat just never gets old . the online is the real mear of this game . never in a online game is team work so vital to victory. the fun ive had with my friends on this was just intense . the formulation of stratagy planning are next move just seperates this from all the other ho-hum cockie cutter shooters out there . the game isnt flawless the story in this game is badley told . you are basically in the middle of a story and get no clear sense of how it all started . there are alot of bugs and glitches in this game and even after almost 4 years they still havent fixed 75% of them and they have done like a 100 patches for this game . still this looks and feels original despite the flaws im still giving it a 10 because there are a million run and gun call of duty clones out there but only 1 gears of war and it rains king over every thing els that is a online shooter. Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.