User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2114 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattS.
    Dec 25, 2006
    9
    Gears of War is worth the money purely for the graphics. They're just that good, and reassure the console owner who is wondering if the money on spent on a xbox 360 will end up being worth it. But beyond the pretty face, the game is very solid. The cover system isn't completely revolutionary, but the fact that the game is built from the ground up with the use of cover in mind Gears of War is worth the money purely for the graphics. They're just that good, and reassure the console owner who is wondering if the money on spent on a xbox 360 will end up being worth it. But beyond the pretty face, the game is very solid. The cover system isn't completely revolutionary, but the fact that the game is built from the ground up with the use of cover in mind is. There are ample places to hide in mutliplayer and due to the layout of the maps flanking an enemy becomes very important. The guns are solid and fun to use, and there is hilariously absurd amounts of gore everywhere. Gibbing someone with a shotgun to the face has never been so satisfying, and really, thats the feeling an action game should aim for. Gears of War isn't a perfect ten, however, due to it's short campaign and lack of multiplayer maps and modes. It would also be nice if the matchmaker system was as innovative as the gameplay - as of now, its no better than Halo's. Ah, but those are only minor problems. Gears of War is defiantly worth your money. Expand
  2. Novi4ekNone
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    good game
  3. NathanE.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Hype has the potential to ruin games, it almost ruined Halo 2 for me, because Halo 2 did not live up. This one does.
  4. James
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    This game, as the developers are called, is truly Epic. The cover mechanics, the strategies required, the immersity of it, the fun, laughter and tears you will have with this game, will be truly unforgettable. If you do not have this game, I suggest you buy it NOW! Have fun killing Locust! See ya on live!
  5. JustinZ.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    This game is utterly insane. The graphics get a 10, the sounds get an 8, the gameplay 8, a 7 for originality, and 6 for the story. (but who cares about the story, anyways?). In bombed out inviroments that restrict your ability to go anywere, the game compansates by leting you interact with the invioment you CAN reach. Blind firing from behild a fallen pillew is awsome and new. The in-game This game is utterly insane. The graphics get a 10, the sounds get an 8, the gameplay 8, a 7 for originality, and 6 for the story. (but who cares about the story, anyways?). In bombed out inviroments that restrict your ability to go anywere, the game compansates by leting you interact with the invioment you CAN reach. Blind firing from behild a fallen pillew is awsome and new. The in-game talking is snappy, rude, and funny. The sound are coll, a bit repedative, but still sound good. It's alittle annoying how the game never gets in-depth about how the locusts are being made, or even what planet you are on relative to earth. Confusing? I think so. Forgeting the sparce storyline, the graphics were killer. Literaly. The inviorment was nice and detailed, and there werent any spots where you could get stuck or small little bits of rubble that were uncrossable. As the the gun effects, the were cool, but not neccesarly orriginal. (which guns are, now-adays?). The coolest feature of this game were the chainsaw and stuffing-a-live-grenade-into-his-chest features. Summing up. The game was funny, awsome to play (who doesnt like cutting things in 1/2 w/ a chainsaw), and scared the crap out of me. Good job, Epic Games, for makinging this awesome third person shooter. Expand
  6. JohnQ.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    I bought the PS3 with Resistance: Fall of Man and Madden. I also bought Gears of War. There is no comparison - Gears of War is amazing and much better than the disappointing Resistance. I have never seen better graphics or atmosphere. PS3 is a big let down. Gears of War is the real next generation. People should stop comparing it to the masterpiece of Halo as well. Completely different I bought the PS3 with Resistance: Fall of Man and Madden. I also bought Gears of War. There is no comparison - Gears of War is amazing and much better than the disappointing Resistance. I have never seen better graphics or atmosphere. PS3 is a big let down. Gears of War is the real next generation. People should stop comparing it to the masterpiece of Halo as well. Completely different games and different times. Expand
  7. AllistairP.
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    I had recently purchased a Wii with all the most wanted titles, and had an overall alright experience with it (as you can read from my other reviews on this site). Last night I traded my Wii for a 360 and Gears of War, as I heard from many it is one of the best gaming experiences they have ever had. After playing this game for 3 hours with my brother on co-op, I must join in the hype. I had recently purchased a Wii with all the most wanted titles, and had an overall alright experience with it (as you can read from my other reviews on this site). Last night I traded my Wii for a 360 and Gears of War, as I heard from many it is one of the best gaming experiences they have ever had. After playing this game for 3 hours with my brother on co-op, I must join in the hype. This is one of the best gaming expierences I have ever had. Just seeing true next gen graphics (in 1080!!!) with such fun gameplay (OH YES CO-OP!!) is awesome. This is what we all dreamed of Contra becoming someday, and I haven't been this blown away by a game/system since I got a Dreamcast with Soul Calibur II 6 years ago. Amazing! If you even doubt the Wii is for you, sell it and buy this. It's worth every penny. No regrets. Expand
  8. MarkP.
    Dec 9, 2006
    9
    Gears of War is absolutely the best looking game I've ever seen in my life. While you can find more realistic character models in Fight Night Round 3 and Table Tennis, the amount of detail on the entire screen at any given time is jaw-dropping. Now, don't bet me wrong... the character models are still definitely up there amongst the best in any game. But the textures, the Gears of War is absolutely the best looking game I've ever seen in my life. While you can find more realistic character models in Fight Night Round 3 and Table Tennis, the amount of detail on the entire screen at any given time is jaw-dropping. Now, don't bet me wrong... the character models are still definitely up there amongst the best in any game. But the textures, the animation, the smoke, the dust, the "destroyed beauty" in this game is like nothing you've ever seen in a game. The controls are outstanding. There is a learning curve and there have been a couple of times I've been frustrated but once you get the hang of them, you'll be rocking it like the pros. The cover system is so smooth and useful and the active relaod system is one of the best creations for a shooter in recent times. Way to go Gears of War... you've made my 360 my best friend. Expand
  9. JonB.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    This game does everything right. From the first moment you exit your jailroom, seeing the face of your mate Dominique Santiago, you know this ll be a thrilling experience. And it is. Gears of war offers you great graphics, even grater gameplay and a better story then the other comments on this site suggest. The only shortcoming Epic coudnt evade, is that the game only takes you 7 hours of This game does everything right. From the first moment you exit your jailroom, seeing the face of your mate Dominique Santiago, you know this ll be a thrilling experience. And it is. Gears of war offers you great graphics, even grater gameplay and a better story then the other comments on this site suggest. The only shortcoming Epic coudnt evade, is that the game only takes you 7 hours of gameplay on Hardcore-modus. But then again, you'll restart, to kill one of those Berserkers on Insane-modus, or to just run throught the game with one of your friends, enjoying the great split-screen mode. Gears of War is what I call a Testosteron Game: you feel like a little boy, who just has seen ninja turtles on telly, and imitates all their moves on the school's playground. Another example of a game that makes you feel like this, is PS2's God of War. God of War, Gears of War: both of them are superb. So run to the neares gameshop en ask for Epic's Testosteron Game! Expand
  10. BloodSoakedHell
    Jan 11, 2007
    9
    Firstly this game is not perfect but giving it 0 points because it is not Halo 2 is asinine. Anyone that makes that statement is not an avid gamer and most likely only owned Halo 2 for the previous console. Secondly giving it 0 because it gave you 4 year old brother nightmares is just moronic. The fact that you play mature 17+ game in front of a small child is only a credit too yourFirstly this game is not perfect but giving it 0 points because it is not Halo 2 is asinine. Anyone that makes that statement is not an avid gamer and most likely only owned Halo 2 for the previous console. Secondly giving it 0 because it gave you 4 year old brother nightmares is just moronic. The fact that you play mature 17+ game in front of a small child is only a credit too your stupidity as well. Okay, now for my review. This game is fast paced and gorgeous. Initially the control scheme seemed a tad akward, but learning it was quick and rewarding. The game does have some graphical hiccups here and there, I believe this is similar to the system used in Halo 2 to reduce loading screens. Online is where this game really shines. People can really sneak up on you & the paranoia factor is through the roof. Definitely give this one a try, unless youre sleeping with a master chief stuffed doll or have a house full of small children! =P Expand
  11. ZiftK.
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    A 9.5 to say the least. From the graphics, to the slick cover system. I have yet to try the multi player, and I'm sure it's the just the icing on the Cake. Gears is pure fun weather it being alone, yelling to someone next to you, or playing online with your buddies, it's all here, in one package. Gears is the fuel for your 360.
  12. NathanT.
    Jan 21, 2007
    9
    It is a great game overall, lots of shooting, plenty of gore makes it fun. The only problem with the game though is for people who like playing games like Halo and Half-Life have some getting used to for you can't just run out into the open and start killing things.
  13. DannyS.
    Dec 31, 2007
    10
    By far the best campaign mode in a game on X360! Gorgeous graphics, sound, and gameplay!!
  14. CashA.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Move over Halo, this is the best game on the Xbox 360. 10/10 for a third person shooter, Halo 3 deserves a 9/10. The excellent campaign for MULTIPLAYER is the ultimate experience.....and it FEELS so good you won't stop playing. GEARS OF WAR 2 is the only thing that can top this!
  15. ChrisH.
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    This game was great but very short. To me it got very repetitive at times. The online however makes up for this completely. there isn't much more fun then chopping another guy in half with a chainsaw! Buy this game if you have Xbox Live... and if you don't... well... rent it or go out and buy Xbox live because without Xbox Live your missing out big time.
  16. ChokQ.
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    The one player is short but if you have Xbox Live its so fun. Halo is a great game but Gears it a lot more team work and strategy.
  17. JakeS.
    May 31, 2007
    10
    It's simple. More gaming sites gave this title Game of the Year honors than any other game. It is easily the best game released last year, with Oblivion and Zelda not far behind. I've played countless online matches and it never gets old. Most people that don't like this game aren't good at it and never do get it. The online operates under a totally unique set of It's simple. More gaming sites gave this title Game of the Year honors than any other game. It is easily the best game released last year, with Oblivion and Zelda not far behind. I've played countless online matches and it never gets old. Most people that don't like this game aren't good at it and never do get it. The online operates under a totally unique set of rules. The weapons, levels, cover, diving, melee, and everything about it makes it a very unique experience. There are so many strategies for taking on the same enemies in the same levels. This isn't your run around the corner and shoot at them meat head game. This thing is very sophisticated once you figure it out. Every weapon can be used with multiple strategies and in different situations. And you can take it from a very good Halo, GRAW, R6V, Gears, Goldeneye, Counterstrike, Battlefield, and Unreal player. I've played most shooters out there. This one isn't the best, but it is damn good and damn unique. I am mostly raving about the multiplayer. Co-op is fun. But the single player by itself isn't that great. It is because it is visually stunning and challenging on higher difficulty. The online is where it's at, though. HDTV + Surround + online Gears multi = Game of the Year. The people giving bad reviews here either suck at the game, didn't like it because it isn't familiar, or are simply lame-ass Sony fanboys. Expand
  18. MickT.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    I don't understand some people. Why do people even bother commenting, or even looking at this page if they hate the game. I personally think it was great. Although the story mode wasn't what I had expected, the game was pretty good. Like Rob said, all the characters have their own personalities, and looks. I thought it was a pretty believable story. The multiplayer is fantastic. I don't understand some people. Why do people even bother commenting, or even looking at this page if they hate the game. I personally think it was great. Although the story mode wasn't what I had expected, the game was pretty good. Like Rob said, all the characters have their own personalities, and looks. I thought it was a pretty believable story. The multiplayer is fantastic. It's actually a challenge. And awesome gametypes like Assassination. It's something new. It may not have CTF and like Oddball for all you Halo fanboys. Instead you get a whole new multiplayer experience. Not to say the Halo series consists of bad games. I actually enjoy them. But I find this game much more fun then the old choppy Halo gameplay. This game is something totally new in the military gaming atmosphere. Think about it. It's got great MULTIPLAYER gameplay (I basically bought it for that, because the story mode sucks), good graphics, and a gothy military side to it. Something other FPSs don't have. eevrything else is all happy bunny atmosphere- ish stuff. So don't call me a fanboy because you love Halo ever so much. And this is just MY opinion. So don't spazz because I wrote some negative points about Halo and other games. Expand
  19. PhilipH.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    A solid 10. This is an extremely rare rating for me, but this game deserves it. It's more of a gaming experience than a mere game. I personally don't even like FPSs that much, but this game had me hooked with my blood pumping and heart pounding the whole way through. Excellent weapons, bosses, graphics, cutscenes - and outstanding co-op play. The duck and cover and action A solid 10. This is an extremely rare rating for me, but this game deserves it. It's more of a gaming experience than a mere game. I personally don't even like FPSs that much, but this game had me hooked with my blood pumping and heart pounding the whole way through. Excellent weapons, bosses, graphics, cutscenes - and outstanding co-op play. The duck and cover and action re-load systems were innovative and impressive as well - they make the game very intense and engaging. Expand
  20. CMode
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    I cannot believe that there are people out there that feel this masterpiece deserves a score less than perfect... this game is flawless and anybody that feels otherwise is seriously misled... I get the feeling that the naysayers simply do not own a X360 and/or a powerful PC and simply hate on the game because it is not available on their system.
  21. Fenix
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    This game is, ironically, Epic! I really, really, enjoy playing it. The control scheme is great and even though it takes place in the future you can see a lot of realism in it. For instance, the Locust can take more damage than you, making you constantly have to take cover and you have to help your guys if they get gunned down. They game is fairly linear, but thats not necessarily a bad This game is, ironically, Epic! I really, really, enjoy playing it. The control scheme is great and even though it takes place in the future you can see a lot of realism in it. For instance, the Locust can take more damage than you, making you constantly have to take cover and you have to help your guys if they get gunned down. They game is fairly linear, but thats not necessarily a bad thing. There is a lot of crap you can do with it. You can't just run and gun, you have to use tactics. The ability of giving squad orders is a very helpful tool in combat. The graphics in this game are great. The graphics and visuals are probably the most interesting thing in the game. Because the game is kinda linear, it freed up developers to make the graphics really good. the lighting and shadowing effects are great, also the physics are pretty good. There really is a lot more I could say about this game, but I don't want to make my review longer than it already is. Basically it's a great game and you should buy it, no matter what kind of gamer you are! Expand
  22. JohnnyL.
    Jan 17, 2009
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyed the experience, both the visuals, the audio, and intense gameplay this game served up. And quite frankly, how can you not like a chainsaw bayonet! the gears of war experience is something you can't miss, and though there are some areas to be improved on, you'll notice some beneficial changes in the next game: gears 2.
  23. dominikj
    Feb 21, 2009
    9
    Actually 8.5 it is a great game for any xbox 360 owner the first act and last act are SO fun. gun action is cool but i hate shooters that require half a clip to used to kill one guy like halo series and this game. AI works like its supposed to but some environments after a while look too same and multiplayer is a joke. Great co-op though and great story. I can see why it got a lot of rewards.
  24. AnnetteN
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    I love gears it does everything a 1st person gory shooter supposed to do. I loved the characters and the story, I found nothing wrong with the game. It wasn't boring maybe a little hard but they solved it with gears 2. Wonderful game and I look forward to part 3.
  25. EdK.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    a bit short in one player, but still a great game. thnk of it as a combination of halo and resident evil 4 with amazing graphics. really the first game to put good use to a cover system.
  26. MARCG.
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    Awesome gameplay!! the graphics are superb, but the gameplay is just as good. the innovative reload system and the great cover system make this game highly enjoyable. and with the AI having all the same resources and moves you do it is great to play. they take cover, flank, duck away from gunfire and shoot better than enemies in most games. I love this game!!
  27. ShirleyFilms
    Nov 13, 2006
    9
    I am not really a fan of 3rd person games, generally speaking (I enjoy a good first person shooter). HOWEVER. This game is so good... that it really turned me around. After the first few minutes of having to deal with the "use of cover" and rolling from one cover to the next.... I thought...."This will get old REALLY FAST". but. I was wrong. The story is above average. The level designs I am not really a fan of 3rd person games, generally speaking (I enjoy a good first person shooter). HOWEVER. This game is so good... that it really turned me around. After the first few minutes of having to deal with the "use of cover" and rolling from one cover to the next.... I thought...."This will get old REALLY FAST". but. I was wrong. The story is above average. The level designs are outstanding. The graphics are beyond compare. Music and sound are stellar. My only TINY complaint is the voice acting. Two things - why is it that characters in games can only say 5 phrases? Would it be that hard to get them to say like 50 things? so it doesnt get so old??? Also... the voice acting of the lead is a LITTLE weak. Its not as bad as some games.... but. I dont know. There are SO MANY voice actors out there... is the really the best they could do??? The guy who plays Gus was outstanding tho. Overall... this game lives up to the hype and then some. Games usually DONT live up to the hype (in my opinion ... take FEAR for example) But this one (while a little short) is definitely worth the price of admission. Expand
  28. BigJake
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    Incredible graphics and gameplay to match. Well done fine sirs...well done...
  29. GuangmianK.
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    This game has some impressive textures but I am really disappointed by the particle effects and the bullet holes. The drawing of the bullets and the gun holes look absolutely last gen, and do nothing other than block your view when you are firing at enemies at a lare distance. The graphics are good, but only on the textures and characters, but not in a way that actually matters to you and This game has some impressive textures but I am really disappointed by the particle effects and the bullet holes. The drawing of the bullets and the gun holes look absolutely last gen, and do nothing other than block your view when you are firing at enemies at a lare distance. The graphics are good, but only on the textures and characters, but not in a way that actually matters to you and enhances gameplay. More detailed it might be, but it is much less visually attractive compared to Lost Planet and GRAW and even Halo 2. Its like, the game is very detailed, but somehow you don't want to stand there to admire the scenery. Halo 2 was a game which i felt didn't really look that detailed, but the way the plasma shots and explosions and lighting are drawn, really makes the firefight really beautiful. But this is not the case in Gears .The game play is okay, but the drones' AI could really get some improvement. It feels like you are just shooting at rubber ducks that bob up and down from the cover. The controls are a bit out of control when you come into melee range of your enemy, and that is when you realise that Gears could really make use of Rainbow Six: Vegas's first/third person system. The game is still good and above average in my opinion, but its single-player just isn't as good as everybody hypes it up to be. The speeches in the cutscenes are sometimes embarassingly dumb and meaningless, when they could potentially be used to great effect to bring out the story much much more. With a more effective art styling and some tweaking of the controls and camera angles, I feel that the game would have felt alot more organic and easy to play. Expand
  30. DwaneW.
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    I am an ex pc gamer, but I have come to respect console games. In the past I have always held the position that pc games ruled when it came to rendering graphics. However, the past few years since the inception of Xbox 360 and the way the console renders grapics it has humbled me. I am by no means a console drone, but after playing GOW and consuming the level of detail the game has, I I am an ex pc gamer, but I have come to respect console games. In the past I have always held the position that pc games ruled when it came to rendering graphics. However, the past few years since the inception of Xbox 360 and the way the console renders grapics it has humbled me. I am by no means a console drone, but after playing GOW and consuming the level of detail the game has, I have to admit there is no other game to date, pc or console that comes close to the visual detail of GOW. I have played through several levels now and if I had just one complaint is the game at times seems VERY linear. I will admit, I love the, "hide and shoot" .....it RULES! But, I don't like the lack of ability to, "jump down". When I cannot jump down to a trench below....I have to say, I don't want to be a super hero, but I should be able to drop 8-12 feet as a soldier. For this, I long for Halo 3. There were times when I wanted to jump through a window, but I could not. I realize Epic wanted to introduce a new style of gameplay, but I think they were so focused on their experience of paintball, they forgot about advances in technology. I look at the characters in the game! They, for the most part should be able to jump, drop, roll, dive....blah, blah. I know every video game must have it's limitations, but when I am playing and I can't drop down to an area below that is, at most 6 feet below, I have to ask, "Huh?". It goes back to my desire that I don't want be to limited to a linear path. I love GOW, but I believe Halo 3 will present the graphics and much less constrained game play. I am looking forward to Halo 3. Expand
  31. AnonymousMC
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    It's a perfect game, apart from an apparently missing piece of information in the single player campaign (at the level with the train)

    The game has the best cover system in any game, some fun new weapons, an original story and fun multiplayer.

    Lets hope the review scores will go up when new content is released!

    SMH & WTF @ the 3 reviews with an 8...!!!!
  32. Michael
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    U guys are forgetting the great multiplayer. but my favorite is the intense gore, especially that which comes from the chainsaw. in the words of cliffyb, "gun, chainsaw, it's like a peanut butter chocolate type thing". also love how its not completely in fcirst person. i prefer over the shoulder much more.
  33. MichaelM.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    This game was amazing! Me and my brother were so pumped by the commercial that we went out and bought a 360 just for it. We hooked it up to a 55 inch sony xrd and played 1080i, and i can honestly say that this game has perhaps the greatest graphics displayed by any game yet. Just makes my mouth water for the ps3's unreal 2007 (which uses the same engine). We played coop for about 7 This game was amazing! Me and my brother were so pumped by the commercial that we went out and bought a 360 just for it. We hooked it up to a 55 inch sony xrd and played 1080i, and i can honestly say that this game has perhaps the greatest graphics displayed by any game yet. Just makes my mouth water for the ps3's unreal 2007 (which uses the same engine). We played coop for about 7 or 8 hours, and it was fantastic!! The story line is great, the gameplay is great, and it was tough! (if you play on the harder of the 2 settings, it took us 15 times to beat different parts. And now i look forward to beating it on the newly unlocked insane mode. Being a very experienced gamer, and very picky, I can honestly say this game lived up to all the hype, I enjoyed its campaign even more than i enjoyed the Ps3's resistance:fall of man, campaign. Now its time to hook it up and play online, dont be deceived by people who hate on this game, other than maybe the campaign wasnt quite as long as i had hoped, i had a hard time finding anything wrong with it. Thats enough rambling... im gonna go play Gears Of War. Expand
  34. JDKim
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    Its a fantastic game because of overall gameplay. Single player could've been longer and details should've been more thorough.
  35. Alan
    Dec 12, 2006
    9
    Outstanding game. Being in the military, this game has some of the most realistic war tactics I have ever scene in a game, and it still puts that futuristic, imaganitive icing on the cake. My only regret is that the single player mode leaves me salivating and wanting more. It will be hard for "run n gun" halo players to adjust, but for me it felt right at home.
  36. ChrisD
    Dec 13, 2006
    9
    'Daniel F.', if you're going to make a 'review', make it more than something like that. That's just pathetic. You didn't even state why you didn't like the game. Guess it's just another fanboy.

    Anyway, Gears of War is easily one of the greatest gaming experiences I have ever had. Playing through the co-op campaign with a friend is
    'Daniel F.', if you're going to make a 'review', make it more than something like that. That's just pathetic. You didn't even state why you didn't like the game. Guess it's just another fanboy.

    Anyway, Gears of War is easily one of the greatest gaming experiences I have ever had. Playing through the co-op campaign with a friend is definitely an intense experience. While the cover system is a little rough around the edges, the controls are pretty seamless once you get the hang of them. Active reloading is one of the coolest features I've ever seen as well. If you're looking for a gory, intense, and beautiful shooter, look no further.
    Expand
  37. JasonA.
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Most bad ass game out there its fun as hell especialy on insanity and for those retards that think its suck go analy rape yourselves for being re-tard-ed i mean whats more bad ass run up chainsaw a guy in half back up in cover frag them shot gun there face off if there close and still think its hard very orriganal very good looking for more games in the future props
  38. TylerS.
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    This game is the greatest game that I have ever played to this date. I have beaten it and love to play it online. The use of the chainsaw is the beyond words and the y effects are the best. This game is very challenging and has a great cover system. I'm glad that I got it the day that gears came out.
  39. F.G.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    It is at least 10 time better than Halo2 I liked it more than all the other game I have there is great graphics and a really good history. That's why i give it a great 10 on 10
  40. KadathB.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    Epic used to have a much larger name- 'Epic Mega Games'. Gears of War is their first game to truly be Epic, or a Mega Game, since the original, and still best, Unreal. In fact, it's sweeter. Gears of War is a thrill ride. It is not a BioShock style 'choose your own adventure' game where the gameplay changes based on ones decisions in the gameworld, it is rather a Epic used to have a much larger name- 'Epic Mega Games'. Gears of War is their first game to truly be Epic, or a Mega Game, since the original, and still best, Unreal. In fact, it's sweeter. Gears of War is a thrill ride. It is not a BioShock style 'choose your own adventure' game where the gameplay changes based on ones decisions in the gameworld, it is rather a movie-quality thrill ride, you strap in, let the graphics and sound suck you in, and then let the rest of the game blow you away. Gears of War is the only true 'Adventure' game that also plays like a shooter. While it's story is not the greatest, it's thrills are worthy of Indiana Jones and Alien. It's adventure and horror, fun and gore. In fact, speaking of Indiana Jones, one of my favourite parts is a section where you go for a ride in a mining cart. This is like one of those Hollywood blockbusters that may not have much to say in it's word or message, but everything else is just.. FUN. Despite it's dark premise, theres quite a bit of humour and adventure, and even a few pretty damn creepy moments, including a couple nods to it's inspiration, Resident Evil. Gears Of War is not entirely on the rails though, you do get to play the game, and it is a unique game at that. The strategy involved is minor, but the cover system is the first in any game to truly be unique and entertaining. It gets even better online, where Strategy does show it's true form, though balls to the wall splatterfests [where you massacre the other team as a one man army] can sometiimes be more exhilarating leading your team to victory, if your team is exceptionally bad. The graphics are gorgeous. The music is great, except for a couple out of place metal guitar riffs, and the guns sound like guns, and the villains sound menacing. The dialogue isn't brilliant, and the characters are thin, but their characters are brought out by great points of humour and good voice acting (Except for Fenix, who tries to hard to sound like a Vin Diesel with rocks stuck in his throat.). The game is truly Epic, and it is worth playing through several times just to enjoy the experience, and the multiplayer is there if Singeplayer games get old to you after awhile. It's a great package, and a truly Epic game. Expand
  41. JacoboT.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    It deserves an 11. I used to love halo, now it is nothing in comparison. This game in comparison to Resistance: Fall of Man is amusing, resistance is like a dumb little kid, and gears is a grown super-genius with a machinegun.
  42. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Easily one of my favorite games of all time. It's one of my favorite campaigns to play and I find the story missions very enjoyable to play. Especially Marcus Fenix. He's just a badass! Otherwise, the campaign is not too long and not too short either. On easiest, it'll take around 6-7 hours, which is not bad at all for games nowadays. Playing on Insane, however, will take anEasily one of my favorite games of all time. It's one of my favorite campaigns to play and I find the story missions very enjoyable to play. Especially Marcus Fenix. He's just a badass! Otherwise, the campaign is not too long and not too short either. On easiest, it'll take around 6-7 hours, which is not bad at all for games nowadays. Playing on Insane, however, will take an extremely long time. Multiplayer is not the best but during development, it was considered not being included. The sequel, Gears of War 2, features an expanded multiplayer component. Overall, Gears of War is an excellent game with stunning visuals, intriguing gameplay and a whole lot of blood. Expand
  43. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    It's a rarity that a game gets as much hype as this game got, and even more rare that it lived up to that hype. Even 6 months after its release it's still going strong. This day in age, that's a lifetime for an online shooter. In the tradition of Goldeneye and Halo, this is a game for the ages.
  44. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two of the coolest, most brutal, over the top weapons I have ever seen are introduced in this game. The Lancer is incredible. A high powered assault rifle with a bayonet that is a chainsaw sounds a bit ridiculous I know, but it is ridiculousness that sets games like Gears of War apart from other similar games. The second weapon I speak of is the Torque Bow. If anything could put this game over the top of the threshold of total gruesomeness, it is the Torque Bow. For all intents and purposes, this thing is a cross bow that fires exploding arrows! What more could a gamer (or COG soldier) ask for? On top of the awesome weapons, there are good characters (with good voice acting), fun objectives, a really cool and simple duck and cover system, plus an easily detestable horde villains. My only complaint, and the reasoning behind my 9 rating rather than 10, is that the campaign is kind of short. However, the game is fun enough to play through again, especially because once the game is played through, you unlock "Insane" difficulty. Expand
  45. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Where there's hype, there's people who hate it. One reviewer admitted loving Gears for 3 weeks straight, then reaching a completely turnaround after trying the multiplayer. Then he rips on the singleplayer. So, what, you just looked at the box for 3 weeks? If you're going to be critical of a game, let it be based on something. What do I think of Gears? The game's pretty good. Pretty,Where there's hype, there's people who hate it. One reviewer admitted loving Gears for 3 weeks straight, then reaching a completely turnaround after trying the multiplayer. Then he rips on the singleplayer. So, what, you just looked at the box for 3 weeks? If you're going to be critical of a game, let it be based on something. What do I think of Gears? The game's pretty good. Pretty, pretty, pretty good. Expand
  46. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    A hell of a game. Xbox maybe has a handful of good exclusive titles but with names like Gears of War, it should convince you to get this game. Or wait. If you don't have this game and you have an Xbox 360, you're a dumbass
  47. May 29, 2011
    10
    The most enjoyable multiplayer experience I've had on the Xbox 360. I met most of my XBL friends through this game and played it more than any other game I've owned for the system. It's a perfect blend of arcade action, strategy, teamwork, and fun. Single player is short but that's not the reason to play this. The only downside in hindsight is the lack of a MP leveling system and noThe most enjoyable multiplayer experience I've had on the Xbox 360. I met most of my XBL friends through this game and played it more than any other game I've owned for the system. It's a perfect blend of arcade action, strategy, teamwork, and fun. Single player is short but that's not the reason to play this. The only downside in hindsight is the lack of a MP leveling system and no stats tracked for non-ranked matches (which is where I spent most of my time). Expand
  48. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    It's very good! Solid campaign, fun multiplayer, likeable characters and good gameplay. The story is also very good, and the latin/english dubs are very, very sweet. feels very complete, and is very fun.
  49. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Gears of War is a game that is near perfect. Fantastic graphics, enthralling story, funny characters, and addicting multiplayer all combines to create one of the best game of the decade. Whether your slaughtering Locust in single-player, or shotgunning noobs in Multi, this game is hard to get board of. This game would be a clear 10 if not for the bugs that plague the Gears of War serversGears of War is a game that is near perfect. Fantastic graphics, enthralling story, funny characters, and addicting multiplayer all combines to create one of the best game of the decade. Whether your slaughtering Locust in single-player, or shotgunning noobs in Multi, this game is hard to get board of. This game would be a clear 10 if not for the bugs that plague the Gears of War servers years after it release. Oddly enough, although these were fixed for Gears of War 2 (for the most part), Gears of War 1 is still a more fun game. A must buy for any shooter fan, and one your going to want to keep. Expand
  50. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Quite possibly the best shooter I have played on the Xbox360. While some people automatically rule Gears of War out because it is an over-the-shoulder, or Third-Person shooter, players need to give it a chance and allow themselves to fall into the gameplay.

    The multiplayer delivered (past tense, as it's fairly inactive now) when it was active. If you can find this game for $20 or less, I
    Quite possibly the best shooter I have played on the Xbox360. While some people automatically rule Gears of War out because it is an over-the-shoulder, or Third-Person shooter, players need to give it a chance and allow themselves to fall into the gameplay.

    The multiplayer delivered (past tense, as it's fairly inactive now) when it was active. If you can find this game for $20 or less, I would say pick it up and play it, as Gears of War 2 was great, and Gears of War 3 is on it's way.
    Expand
  51. May 31, 2011
    10
    What more can i say about this game.. Its definately up there with the best! A real benchmark of a game to this day,both graphically & features that have inspired many other games to copy elements it has introduced to gaming,like the now much copied context sensitive cover system,Blind Firing from Cover,to the feel itself,with games like Resistance & later Killzone games,& even games laterWhat more can i say about this game.. Its definately up there with the best! A real benchmark of a game to this day,both graphically & features that have inspired many other games to copy elements it has introduced to gaming,like the now much copied context sensitive cover system,Blind Firing from Cover,to the feel itself,with games like Resistance & later Killzone games,& even games later games such as Vanquish & Hunted-The Demons Forge among others owing alot to Gears.Its great that,as good as the graphics are(& lets face it,they dont come much better),all the Gears games still have Online & Offline Co-Op.GREAT!! & is an example to all those developers out there,using the feeble excuse,that their games cant be done in Co-Op,or Split Screen,& not without Borders in Split Screen.If Gears can,then ANY game can.Simple as that! Expand
  52. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    The is the game that started it all. This is the game tht started one of the most beloved and successful Xbox exclusive games in our beoved consoles history. With beautiful graphics, wonderful gameplay mechnics, this game will be remebered by Xbox fans for years to come.
  53. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    I can't believe Gears of War came out 5 years ago, I recently revisited it and it's one of the few games that you can say has aged well. Regardless of being overhyped, Gears of War is still one of my most favourite games of this game gen.
  54. May 23, 2011
    9
    payed this in the days that the only fps i admired or really new about was halo, pleasantly surprised loved the alternative methods of movements and fantastic cinematic feel :)
  55. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Compared to other game released in 2005, 'Gears of War' far exceeds all expectations against it's competitor's. It was clean, smooth and great to play, If you go by time frame 'Gears of War' is probably one of the greatest games ever. It was a new way of war playing game and something that we have never seen before. We have to appreciate that this game released in 2005 has that kind ofCompared to other game released in 2005, 'Gears of War' far exceeds all expectations against it's competitor's. It was clean, smooth and great to play, If you go by time frame 'Gears of War' is probably one of the greatest games ever. It was a new way of war playing game and something that we have never seen before. We have to appreciate that this game released in 2005 has that kind of graphics and game play, well that is just remarkable. In all, this was my all time FAVORITE game!!!!!! 10/10 Expand
  56. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Nearly perfect. The game came out with a bang back in 2005 and exploded past all the competition. This game had something special about it and wasn't afraid to show it. The graphic's were great and the game play was even better. I truly love getting head shots my self something special about it. All and all a great game and one of my favorites to play, of all time!
  57. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    It's not often that you can play a game SIX YEARS AFTER RELEASE and still be amazed by the graphics. I had to stop playing the game just to come here and say that it's THE BEST LOOKING SHOOTER ON XBOX 360 TO DATE! The lighting and textures have insane detail, and no other game- not even Gears of War 3- can match its graphics. As the first ever game to use the most common game engine ofIt's not often that you can play a game SIX YEARS AFTER RELEASE and still be amazed by the graphics. I had to stop playing the game just to come here and say that it's THE BEST LOOKING SHOOTER ON XBOX 360 TO DATE! The lighting and textures have insane detail, and no other game- not even Gears of War 3- can match its graphics. As the first ever game to use the most common game engine of this generation, its technological achievement is astounding. The gameplay is so original, and the controls are the best for a third person shooter because they are fast and fluent. I've come from Gears 2 and 3 to play this and you really CANNOT tell that this game is old. It was one of the first games to have co-op splitscreen in campaign, and the gameplay, controls, graphics and campaign are still amazing today. Another thing that is astonishing is the A.I. I have completed the other two games on Insane and playing through this on Hardcore puts them to shame. Unlike the other two the AI on here seem to analyse your position relative to other enemies and can judge when to advance. In most other shooters the AI just sit there behind cover, wheras on here they seem dynamic. As a result, the game is made more challenging, which is always welcome. Not only was Gears of War way ahead of its time, but the gameplay and controls were so original and unique that now you have games that try to copy its style, like Warhammer Space Marine. For its time, this was definitely the best shooter on X360 without a doubt. The graphics on this game just go to show how little advancements have been made for console shooters due to the hardware's limited performance. I'd highly recommend this game if you like a good shooter and especially if you've played other Gears games. Expand
  58. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I haven't played this game in a long time but I really enjoyed it. Shooting combat has rarely been as unique as Gears of War and this game was only the beginning of a great series.
  59. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Even in 2011 this game still looks great! Online still great ! One of the greatest 360 games !!!! I can' t recommend this game more than I already do! Must have for any 360 fan!
  60. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Gears of war is an instant classic. This world of blood and guts and chainsaw bayonets just gets more exciting the more you play it. The locust are one of the coolest enemies i've ever fought in a videogame. They dwell underground and some of them just make you feel so insignificant. None of them are more impressive than the Berserkers, fighting a Berserker was one of the most memorableGears of war is an instant classic. This world of blood and guts and chainsaw bayonets just gets more exciting the more you play it. The locust are one of the coolest enemies i've ever fought in a videogame. They dwell underground and some of them just make you feel so insignificant. None of them are more impressive than the Berserkers, fighting a Berserker was one of the most memorable fights i've had in a videogame. That and the Kryll who decimate anybody in the darkness. So remember to stay in the light and when in doubt use the hammer of dawn. Expand
  61. Dec 2, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gears of War was one of the first games I played on the 7th gen consoles. I was fairly young at the time I played this (around 13 years old, I think?), and to this day consider Gears of War one of the best third person shooters ever developed.

    Story-wise, this game would be passed of as decent. But the story isn't the bread and butter of this game. No, the bread and butter is everything else. Atmosphere, voice acting, characters, enemies, chaos, blood and gore, guns, and controls/combat mechanics.

    Every stage in the campaign is memorable. I first played this game back in 2008 when I was thirteen. I'm nineteen now, and I can recite to you every single moment, every word that's said, and the layout of each stage. Why? Because this game is unforgettable. As mentioned before, the story is a bit flat, but the combat, dialogue, and atmosphere makes up for lack of story. Hell, it pretty much IS the story.

    The enemies are unique and terrifying. Take the Corpser for example. The Corpser is a giant spider-crab hybrid that digs huge tunnels for the rest of the Locust (the enemy) to travel through. Not to mention, it's strong enough to level entire buildings.

    The guns are another unique attraction this game offers. Take the Lancer for example. It's an assault rifle with a mounted chainsaw on it. Tell me, what other game has that?

    The developers hit it out of the park with the characters. Every one of them had there own personality. The developers also nailed the voice actors for them.

    The atmosphere of this game is dark and gritty, and leaves you wondering. There's destruction everywhere, monsters around every corner, and enough blood and gore to fill the ocean with.

    The game would be perfect, if it weren't for a few flaws. I'll list them now:
    -Sometimes, the fighting can be a little repetitive. However, there is always a way that makes the fight feel fresh. This is most likely because of the fantastic game design.
    -The game can feel a little too dark. Lighting isn't this game's strong suit, but many things make up for that.
    -The story isn't very well explained, and the ending doesn't bring everything together or reveal anything. But, many things make up for that.
    -The boss battles are kinda lame. For example: The battle with the Corpser was very disappointing. In order to kill it, you must push/fight it back into lava. The way to do this, is to stand still and wait for the Corpser to attack, and then shoot it in the mouth. Yeah, it was that easy.
    -I can't say much for the multiplayer of this game. I barely played it, mainly because I didn't have Xbox LIVE until Gears of War 3. However, I can say that in ALL of the Gears of War games, the multiplayer is ruined by just one gun: The Gnasher shotgun.

    Over-all, Gears of War is fantastic. While the lighting wasn't great, the boss battle laughable, and the story flat... the characters, voice acting, atmosphere, fun-factor, combat(while sometimes repetitive), and gameplay mechanics made up for them. I give Gears of War a sold 9/10.
    Expand
  62. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Przez pierwszego gears'a którego graÅ
  63. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This game is really amazing! I had a great feeling while playing it. This game's visuals were stunning(especially for a 2006 game). The gameplay was amazing, the guns are really cool(Heavy machine gun with chainsaw bayonet FTW!). And the story I actually thought was pretty cool. The online versus is so hardcore and addictive! If your looking to play an online game, it's pretty basic andThis game is really amazing! I had a great feeling while playing it. This game's visuals were stunning(especially for a 2006 game). The gameplay was amazing, the guns are really cool(Heavy machine gun with chainsaw bayonet FTW!). And the story I actually thought was pretty cool. The online versus is so hardcore and addictive! If your looking to play an online game, it's pretty basic and standard,team slayer, capture the point,execution,e.t.c. But all of them are just so addictive and fun, especially when playing with friends. They also involve true skill, you have to play a lot of single player to be good at it. I highly recommend getting this game, especially since it's 5 bucks nowadays. Great single player, great mulltiplayer. Highly recommend! Collapse
  64. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    The title on the box says it all. If you still havent played this game...GO BUY IT NOW! Im serious no game has ever had my finish its campaign over 10 times singleplayer, Splitscreen and cross xboxlive this game is the best third person shooter on the market.
  65. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    The planet Sera was once a beautiful planet, one of humanities greatest colonies, however that all changed after E-Day. Gears of War picks up 14 years after the events of E-Day, you play Marcus Fenix, an ex-COG soldier imprisoned for abandoning military post. You are busted out of prison by your old buddy Dominic Santiago and are informed that the COG needs you again. Reluctantly you agreeThe planet Sera was once a beautiful planet, one of humanities greatest colonies, however that all changed after E-Day. Gears of War picks up 14 years after the events of E-Day, you play Marcus Fenix, an ex-COG soldier imprisoned for abandoning military post. You are busted out of prison by your old buddy Dominic Santiago and are informed that the COG needs you again. Reluctantly you agree to help and so begins humanities struggle to take back Sera from the alien forces known as Locust that emerged from the ground.
    Gears of War is perhaps the perfect example of a third-person shooter, a killer app for the 360 early into its lifespan and the start to one of this generations greatest gaming series.
    Expand
  66. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    What I love about Gears of War one then 2 and 3 is the world is more dark, grime and really suits it. Amazing campaign and awesome multiplayer make this one of my favorite games of all time. Gears of War 9.5/10
  67. May 27, 2012
    9
    One of the best multiplayer games ever. I poured hours into this games multiplayer until I mastered it...One of the most satisfying multiplayers of all time.
  68. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    "Gears of War" for the XBOX 360 is a groundbreaking masterpiece. Cliff Bleszinski's highly-acclaimed action game set a standard for third-person shooters. It joined David Jaffe's "God of War" and Shinji Mikami's "Resident Evil 4" as an innovative trend setter in the video game industry. A successor to the XBOX's "Halo" franchise, "Gears of War" pushed the 360's graphical capabilities to"Gears of War" for the XBOX 360 is a groundbreaking masterpiece. Cliff Bleszinski's highly-acclaimed action game set a standard for third-person shooters. It joined David Jaffe's "God of War" and Shinji Mikami's "Resident Evil 4" as an innovative trend setter in the video game industry. A successor to the XBOX's "Halo" franchise, "Gears of War" pushed the 360's graphical capabilities to the extreme. Developed on the Unreal Engine (which also powered "Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory"), its animated characters and locations seemed to be the most visually detailed creations in a video game at the time. With its highly-kinetic action gameplay and cinematic visual grandeur, "Gears of War" existed on entirely different plane than other similar titles in '06. Its beefy protagonists Marcus Fenix and Dominic Santiago lead a band of brothers into battle to stop a massive alien army from invading the Earth. If there was ever a Hollywood action blockbuster made exclusively for video game consoles, this is it. This is an extremely satisfying shooter than almost feels like an interactive action movie at times. The "pop 'n stop" cover system works like a charm and the visceral gunfights deliver in a big way. "Gears of War" is a great and gritty game that all fans of action should try at least once. It's that good. 9.5 out of 10. Expand
  69. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    This game is solid cus there were no third person shooters and **** heads blowin off after getting domed peiced. the only bad thing is the sometimes lag and over powered sniper.
  70. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Lovable characters, legendary gameplay, tonal breadth, awesome action, the first worthwhile multiplayer experience on the 360, and a horrifyingly memorable set of visuals and sound leave "Gears Of War" a go-to masterpiece for gamers of all kinds.
  71. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    This game made Xbox 360 back in 2006. By far the most influential game on the system.

    Gears judgment is going to be one last send off for the 360 before the nextbox arrives fall 2013
  72. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    Very good game, recommend it to everyone. I'm not a fan of third person shooters but this game is still worth 9/10. The story is strong and dark. Gameplay is almost flawless. Some few annoying moments is when the chainsaw on the Lancer gets stuck if your too near enemies, but it's probably to prevent it to be overpowered. The hammer of dawn is pretty fun. I tested co-op. Multiplayer not tested.
  73. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    Great game for its time,
    Truly ground breaking, atmospheric, dark, violent & gore galore!

    Versus was and still is loads of fun.
    This is a classic and it deserves respect.
  74. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    I remember how gritty and gory I thought Gears of War was when it first came out. That's a thing of the past, but I definitely look back fondly at this first entry in the series. My friends and I had a blast and probably spent the most time in competitive multiplayer amongst the entries in the series. The story was dark and it was overall an entertaining experience.
  75. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    es un comienzo y final 2 veces en un juego con una gran historia que espero se desibre mucho mejor de lo que se hizo en este videojuego gears of war a demostrado un futuro en la xbox 360
  76. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    One Of The Best Game ever Every Things About This Game Is Great When i Played This Game It Feels Kinda Pure A Game Like No Other Graphics Are Great And Has a Heavy Atmosphere For A Shooter
  77. May 21, 2014
    10
    I love Epic Games, and Gears of War is just as good as Bulletstorm, meaning that it's awesome!! The story is great, the characters are good, the gameplay is incredible, and the graphics are good!! Don't expect a look at online multiplayer on my Xbox 360 reviews, because I'm not going to get Xbox Live, and I hate online multiplayer, anyway. However, there are some minor bad things aboutI love Epic Games, and Gears of War is just as good as Bulletstorm, meaning that it's awesome!! The story is great, the characters are good, the gameplay is incredible, and the graphics are good!! Don't expect a look at online multiplayer on my Xbox 360 reviews, because I'm not going to get Xbox Live, and I hate online multiplayer, anyway. However, there are some minor bad things about Gears of War, which are the annoyingly dumb teammates (especially Dom) and the extremely frustrating 'kryll' enemies, which eat you alive if you don't stay in light, in act 2. Gears of War still gets a 10/10, though, and it's gotten extremely cheap now, so go buy it!!! Expand
  78. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    This is an example of how a video game should be made. Great graphics, considering its age, a much better game then any other generic shooter, completely amazing story and characters and an amazing start to the best video game trilogy ever made.
  79. Dec 9, 2014
    9
    THE GORE LEVEL IS OVER 9000 as you shoot your way through a very well executed story. The game is great and one of the first games to be exclusive to the Xbox 360.

    Verdict:
    Great game with a good story.
    9/10
  80. Jul 27, 2014
    9
    Gears of War is an amazing shooter and a fantastic game overall. The gameplay and combat are great, the campaign is interesting and is very enjoyable, the multiplayer is really fun, and co-op works very well. The story is very creative and well done and the setting is unique and I absolutely love it. The characters have great personalities and are interesting to get to know. For 2006 theGears of War is an amazing shooter and a fantastic game overall. The gameplay and combat are great, the campaign is interesting and is very enjoyable, the multiplayer is really fun, and co-op works very well. The story is very creative and well done and the setting is unique and I absolutely love it. The characters have great personalities and are interesting to get to know. For 2006 the graphics were unbelievable and no one had seen anything like them, even today the graphics are pretty good. This is an incredible game and it's a must play. Expand
  81. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    Games de tiro em terceira pessoa nunca mais serão os mesmos apos Gears. Toda a ação frenética envolve o jogador e sua jogabilidade é praticamente perfeita.
  82. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    The game that started it all. This review is a bit unnecessary considering how long the game's been out for, but here goes. The game is bloody, brutal, and gritty, a big plus in my opinion considering how hard it can be to find a really gut-wrenching game. The cover system is a bit stiff compared to future releases, but still works. The story isn't super well fleshed out in this one. ItThe game that started it all. This review is a bit unnecessary considering how long the game's been out for, but here goes. The game is bloody, brutal, and gritty, a big plus in my opinion considering how hard it can be to find a really gut-wrenching game. The cover system is a bit stiff compared to future releases, but still works. The story isn't super well fleshed out in this one. It feels a bit like an action movie in that parts are a bit predictable. But the game provides a genuine challenge, which the sequels seem to have shied away from. If you play on insane on Gears 3 and want a challenge, try the original. Expand
  83. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    Best game on the 360 by a milestone,this game defined what next gen is and what we should expect and if i could score higher than ten i would,absolutely stunning in every way and **** dark souls.
  84. May 13, 2015
    10
    Mohaa (Breaktrough( 2003, Socom 2, Wolfenstein: ET, Gears of War 2006 are the best multiplayer teamplay and fun skillsfull games I have ever played. .
  85. Nov 12, 2012
    0
    This game is really amazing! I had a great feeling while playing it. This game's visuals were stunning(especially for a 2006 game). The gameplay was amazing, the guns are really cool(Heavy machine gun with chainsaw bayonet FTW!). And the story I actually thought was pretty cool. The online versus is so hardcore and addictive! If your looking to play an online game, it's pretty basic andThis game is really amazing! I had a great feeling while playing it. This game's visuals were stunning(especially for a 2006 game). The gameplay was amazing, the guns are really cool(Heavy machine gun with chainsaw bayonet FTW!). And the story I actually thought was pretty cool. The online versus is so hardcore and addictive! If your looking to play an online game, it's pretty basic and standard,team slayer, capture the point,execution,e.t.c. But all of them are just so addictive and fun, especially when playing with friends. They also involve true skill, you have to play a lot of single player to be good at it. I highly recommend getting this game, especially since it's 5 bucks nowadays. Great single player, great mulltiplayer. Highly recommend! Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.