User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2025 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    for a game thats loaded to the hilt with bugs and glitches its one of the most funest games ive played both online and off. the story mode is only about 5-6 hours long but its a fun 6 hours . with some of the best voice acting and diolouge in any game to date . it has a good cover mechanic and with 2 player co-op its a blast. not to mention you get a chainsaw on the end of your gun . the animayions of cutting your enimy into little bits of meat just never gets old . the online is the real mear of this game . never in a online game is team work so vital to victory. the fun ive had with my friends on this was just intense . the formulation of stratagy planning are next move just seperates this from all the other ho-hum cockie cutter shooters out there . the game isnt flawless the story in this game is badley told . you are basically in the middle of a story and get no clear sense of how it all started . there are alot of bugs and glitches in this game and even after almost 4 years they still havent fixed 75% of them and they have done like a 100 patches for this game . still this looks and feels original despite the flaws im still giving it a 10 because there are a million run and gun call of duty clones out there but only 1 gears of war and it rains king over every thing els that is a online shooter. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    Very impressive -- and far superior to the abysmal sequel that is Gears of War 2. The mechanics are simple and the concept seems like a novelty, but Gears of War is probably the best game on the 360 right now.
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    As one of the banner exclusives for the XBOX 360, Gears of Wsr is an untouchable beast of a third person shooter. A thoroughly brilliant, action packed behemoth of a campaign, innovative multiplayer offerings and a real sense of the player being a badass with chainsaw gun in hand. This is one fantastic game. If only Epic managed to distill the same brilliance to the narrative and environments, but still an unmatched goliath of a shooter. Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I never owned a console before the Xbox 360 (I only played games on the PC), so when a friend convinced me to buy one late in 2007, he also convinced me to buy GoW also. Needless to say, after years of mouse & keyboard control, I couldn't quite hack the two-thumb 360 controller. Marcus Fenix would just turn in circles while various Locus tore him up. After playing a few times over Christmas I gave up on the Xbox and put it aside. Almost a year later, completely bored over a Thanksgiving holiday, I pulled GoW off the shelf, dusted it off, moved a chair inches from my big screen and began my journey on Sera. Man, was I ever glad I did that - as Gears of War is probably my favorite game on the Xbox (head and shoulders above the Halo series, btw). If it wasn't for Gears I probably would have shelved the 360 entirely (which would have been a shame, since it's now the main focus of my multimedia experience - live streaming sports, streaming movies & tv shows - the 360 is on the active screen MUCH more than my cable box is - and that's all because GoW taught me to like playing games on the 360). If you've never played this game, GO GET IT - it really is, without a doubt, the best 360 game (and series) there is. Interesting story, fun gameplay, and really compelling. It's just a classic - and always will be. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    This game is magnificent! Everyone who owns an Xbox 360 or PC should buy this game! The gameplay is wildly addicting, fresh, and unique. This game is very innovative, flows very smooth, and has excellently crafted scenes. The amount of detail placed in this game is overwhelming. The back-story is rich, and the conflict is intense and very realistic. Gears of War is a fantastic science fiction military shooter. This game has an excellent campaign that is easily worthy of multiple replays, and has a great multiplayer experience. Gears of war sets the bar with graphics, gameplay, and military-style story telling. The game allows you to make different choices so each play through isn't identical. The story is suspenseful and gripping. Easily one of the best games ever made. Expand
  6. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Easily one of my favorite games of all time. It's one of my favorite campaigns to play and I find the story missions very enjoyable to play. Especially Marcus Fenix. He's just a badass! Otherwise, the campaign is not too long and not too short either. On easiest, it'll take around 6-7 hours, which is not bad at all for games nowadays. Playing on Insane, however, will take an extremely long time. Multiplayer is not the best but during development, it was considered not being included. The sequel, Gears of War 2, features an expanded multiplayer component. Overall, Gears of War is an excellent game with stunning visuals, intriguing gameplay and a whole lot of blood. Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    It's a rarity that a game gets as much hype as this game got, and even more rare that it lived up to that hype. Even 6 months after its release it's still going strong. This day in age, that's a lifetime for an online shooter. In the tradition of Goldeneye and Halo, this is a game for the ages.
  8. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two of the coolest, most brutal, over the top weapons I have ever seen are introduced in this game. The Lancer is incredible. A high powered assault rifle with a bayonet that is a chainsaw sounds a bit ridiculous I know, but it is ridiculousness that sets games like Gears of War apart from other similar games. The second weapon I speak of is the Torque Bow. If anything could put this game over the top of the threshold of total gruesomeness, it is the Torque Bow. For all intents and purposes, this thing is a cross bow that fires exploding arrows! What more could a gamer (or COG soldier) ask for? On top of the awesome weapons, there are good characters (with good voice acting), fun objectives, a really cool and simple duck and cover system, plus an easily detestable horde villains. My only complaint, and the reasoning behind my 9 rating rather than 10, is that the campaign is kind of short. However, the game is fun enough to play through again, especially because once the game is played through, you unlock "Insane" difficulty. Expand
  9. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Where there's hype, there's people who hate it. One reviewer admitted loving Gears for 3 weeks straight, then reaching a completely turnaround after trying the multiplayer. Then he rips on the singleplayer. So, what, you just looked at the box for 3 weeks? If you're going to be critical of a game, let it be based on something. What do I think of Gears? The game's pretty good. Pretty, pretty, pretty good. Expand
  10. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    Jut a fun and action packed game. Thats it. Try also the other games in the series. But the last one lost a bit on the story and just a bit weird.....
  11. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    A hell of a game. Xbox maybe has a handful of good exclusive titles but with names like Gears of War, it should convince you to get this game. Or wait. If you don't have this game and you have an Xbox 360, you're a dumbass
  12. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = The first real leap into 7th Gen graphics and what they would later become. Great shooter, very well built.
  13. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Pure awesome sauce!Graphically stunning with fantastic action.A somewhat thin storyline is overshadowed by the sauce that is Gears of War.Its very short,but you will replay a few times.Buy it.
  14. May 29, 2011
    10
    The most enjoyable multiplayer experience I've had on the Xbox 360. I met most of my XBL friends through this game and played it more than any other game I've owned for the system. It's a perfect blend of arcade action, strategy, teamwork, and fun. Single player is short but that's not the reason to play this. The only downside in hindsight is the lack of a MP leveling system and no stats tracked for non-ranked matches (which is where I spent most of my time). Expand
  15. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    It's very good! Solid campaign, fun multiplayer, likeable characters and good gameplay. The story is also very good, and the latin/english dubs are very, very sweet. feels very complete, and is very fun.
  16. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Gears of War is a game that is near perfect. Fantastic graphics, enthralling story, funny characters, and addicting multiplayer all combines to create one of the best game of the decade. Whether your slaughtering Locust in single-player, or shotgunning noobs in Multi, this game is hard to get board of. This game would be a clear 10 if not for the bugs that plague the Gears of War servers years after it release. Oddly enough, although these were fixed for Gears of War 2 (for the most part), Gears of War 1 is still a more fun game. A must buy for any shooter fan, and one your going to want to keep. Expand
  17. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Quite possibly the best shooter I have played on the Xbox360. While some people automatically rule Gears of War out because it is an over-the-shoulder, or Third-Person shooter, players need to give it a chance and allow themselves to fall into the gameplay.

    The multiplayer delivered (past tense, as it's fairly inactive now) when it was active. If you can find this game for $20 or less, I
    would say pick it up and play it, as Gears of War 2 was great, and Gears of War 3 is on it's way. Expand
  18. May 31, 2011
    10
    What more can i say about this game.. Its definately up there with the best! A real benchmark of a game to this day,both graphically & features that have inspired many other games to copy elements it has introduced to gaming,like the now much copied context sensitive cover system,Blind Firing from Cover,to the feel itself,with games like Resistance & later Killzone games,& even games later games such as Vanquish & Hunted-The Demons Forge among others owing alot to Gears.Its great that,as good as the graphics are(& lets face it,they dont come much better),all the Gears games still have Online & Offline Co-Op.GREAT!! & is an example to all those developers out there,using the feeble excuse,that their games cant be done in Co-Op,or Split Screen,& not without Borders in Split Screen.If Gears can,then ANY game can.Simple as that! Expand
  19. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    The is the game that started it all. This is the game tht started one of the most beloved and successful Xbox exclusive games in our beoved consoles history. With beautiful graphics, wonderful gameplay mechnics, this game will be remebered by Xbox fans for years to come.
  20. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    I can't believe Gears of War came out 5 years ago, I recently revisited it and it's one of the few games that you can say has aged well. Regardless of being overhyped, Gears of War is still one of my most favourite games of this game gen.
  21. May 23, 2011
    9
    payed this in the days that the only fps i admired or really new about was halo, pleasantly surprised loved the alternative methods of movements and fantastic cinematic feel :)
  22. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    oh my god iv just read a few reviews and so many stupid c***s. i bought it and haven't got live so $70 wasted who's dumb fault is that and my 4 year old younger bro had nightmares don't let him watch you play it and it wont ever be better then halo ??????? it's way better then halo as halo is boring f***ing fanboys piss off this game is great story is ace a little short yes but makes up the time in online multiplayer if you did enjoy this game buy gears of war 3 on september the 20th iv played the beta and it was awesome nuff said Expand
  23. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Compared to other game released in 2005, 'Gears of War' far exceeds all expectations against it's competitor's. It was clean, smooth and great to play, If you go by time frame 'Gears of War' is probably one of the greatest games ever. It was a new way of war playing game and something that we have never seen before. We have to appreciate that this game released in 2005 has that kind of graphics and game play, well that is just remarkable. In all, this was my all time FAVORITE game!!!!!! 10/10 Expand
  24. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Nearly perfect. The game came out with a bang back in 2005 and exploded past all the competition. This game had something special about it and wasn't afraid to show it. The graphic's were great and the game play was even better. I truly love getting head shots my self something special about it. All and all a great game and one of my favorites to play, of all time!
  25. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    It's not often that you can play a game SIX YEARS AFTER RELEASE and still be amazed by the graphics. I had to stop playing the game just to come here and say that it's THE BEST LOOKING SHOOTER ON XBOX 360 TO DATE! The lighting and textures have insane detail, and no other game- not even Gears of War 3- can match its graphics. As the first ever game to use the most common game engine of this generation, its technological achievement is astounding. The gameplay is so original, and the controls are the best for a third person shooter because they are fast and fluent. I've come from Gears 2 and 3 to play this and you really CANNOT tell that this game is old. It was one of the first games to have co-op splitscreen in campaign, and the gameplay, controls, graphics and campaign are still amazing today. Another thing that is astonishing is the A.I. I have completed the other two games on Insane and playing through this on Hardcore puts them to shame. Unlike the other two the AI on here seem to analyse your position relative to other enemies and can judge when to advance. In most other shooters the AI just sit there behind cover, wheras on here they seem dynamic. As a result, the game is made more challenging, which is always welcome. Not only was Gears of War way ahead of its time, but the gameplay and controls were so original and unique that now you have games that try to copy its style, like Warhammer Space Marine. For its time, this was definitely the best shooter on X360 without a doubt. The graphics on this game just go to show how little advancements have been made for console shooters due to the hardware's limited performance. I'd highly recommend this game if you like a good shooter and especially if you've played other Gears games. Expand
  26. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I haven't played this game in a long time but I really enjoyed it. Shooting combat has rarely been as unique as Gears of War and this game was only the beginning of a great series.
  27. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Even in 2011 this game still looks great! Online still great ! One of the greatest 360 games !!!! I can' t recommend this game more than I already do! Must have for any 360 fan!
  28. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Gears of War is a ground breaking game in terms of graphics, and gameplay for the third person shooter genre. Graphics wise I remember seeing it the first time and thinking WOW is this ingame? Today obviously those graphics, while still good are not so much of a WOW factor when buying. Gameplay wise the cover system was brand new and I found it quite intuitive diving from cover to cover etc and laying down fire. Of course there's also the chainsaw mounted on your gun that allows you to flay into your enemies! Did I like it? Big time yes! Expand
  29. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Gears of war is an instant classic. This world of blood and guts and chainsaw bayonets just gets more exciting the more you play it. The locust are one of the coolest enemies i've ever fought in a videogame. They dwell underground and some of them just make you feel so insignificant. None of them are more impressive than the Berserkers, fighting a Berserker was one of the most memorable fights i've had in a videogame. That and the Kryll who decimate anybody in the darkness. So remember to stay in the light and when in doubt use the hammer of dawn. Expand
  30. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Przez pierwszego gears'a którego graÅ
  31. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    This game is really amazing! I had a great feeling while playing it. This game's visuals were stunning(especially for a 2006 game). The gameplay was amazing, the guns are really cool(Heavy machine gun with chainsaw bayonet FTW!). And the story I actually thought was pretty cool. The online versus is so hardcore and addictive! If your looking to play an online game, it's pretty basic and standard,team slayer, capture the point,execution,e.t.c. But all of them are just so addictive and fun, especially when playing with friends. They also involve true skill, you have to play a lot of single player to be good at it. I highly recommend getting this game, especially since it's 5 bucks nowadays. Great single player, great mulltiplayer. Highly recommend! Expand
  32. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    F*ck this, this suck to the asss!....................................................................................................................
  33. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    The title on the box says it all. If you still havent played this game...GO BUY IT NOW! Im serious no game has ever had my finish its campaign over 10 times singleplayer, Splitscreen and cross xboxlive this game is the best third person shooter on the market.
  34. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    The planet Sera was once a beautiful planet, one of humanities greatest colonies, however that all changed after E-Day. Gears of War picks up 14 years after the events of E-Day, you play Marcus Fenix, an ex-COG soldier imprisoned for abandoning military post. You are busted out of prison by your old buddy Dominic Santiago and are informed that the COG needs you again. Reluctantly you agree to help and so begins humanities struggle to take back Sera from the alien forces known as Locust that emerged from the ground.
    Gears of War is perhaps the perfect example of a third-person shooter, a killer app for the 360 early into its lifespan and the start to one of this generations greatest gaming series.
    Expand
  35. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    What I love about Gears of War one then 2 and 3 is the world is more dark, grime and really suits it. Amazing campaign and awesome multiplayer make this one of my favorite games of all time. Gears of War 9.5/10
  36. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    Gears of War (1) was amazing at it's time and is still fresh today. It's a great 3rd person shooter and this first instalment feels more like a horror/survival game, whereas it's sequels are more action orientated. The graphics and art design are superb, the music is fantastic and it's gameplay is very solid. It might drag a bit here and there and its story and characters might be a bit over the top, but that's Gears. 9/10 Expand
  37. May 27, 2012
    10
    One of the best multiplayer games ever. I poured hours into this games multiplayer until I mastered it...One of the most satisfying multiplayers of all time.
  38. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    "Gears of War" for the XBOX 360 is a groundbreaking masterpiece. Cliff Bleszinski's highly-acclaimed action game set a standard for third-person shooters. It joined David Jaffe's "God of War" and Shinji Mikami's "Resident Evil 4" as an innovative trend setter in the video game industry. A successor to the XBOX's "Halo" franchise, "Gears of War" pushed the 360's graphical capabilities to the extreme. Developed on the Unreal Engine (which also powered "Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory"), its animated characters and locations seemed to be the most visually detailed creations in a video game at the time. With its highly-kinetic action gameplay and cinematic visual grandeur, "Gears of War" existed on entirely different plane than other similar titles in '06. Its beefy protagonists Marcus Fenix and Dominic Santiago lead a band of brothers into battle to stop a massive alien army from invading the Earth. If there was ever a Hollywood action blockbuster made exclusively for video game consoles, this is it. This is an extremely satisfying shooter than almost feels like an interactive action movie at times. The "pop 'n stop" cover system works like a charm and the visceral gunfights deliver in a big way. "Gears of War" is a great and gritty game that all fans of action should try at least once. It's that good. 9.5 out of 10. Expand
  39. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    This game is solid cus there were no third person shooters and **** heads blowin off after getting domed peiced. the only bad thing is the sometimes lag and over powered sniper.
  40. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Lovable characters, legendary gameplay, tonal breadth, awesome action, the first worthwhile multiplayer experience on the 360, and a horrifyingly memorable set of visuals and sound leave "Gears Of War" a go-to masterpiece for gamers of all kinds.
  41. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    This game made Xbox 360 back in 2006. By far the most influential game on the system.

    Gears judgment is going to be one last send off for the 360 before the nextbox arrives fall 2013
  42. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    Very good game, recommend it to everyone. I'm not a fan of third person shooters but this game is still worth 9/10. The story is strong and dark. Gameplay is almost flawless. Some few annoying moments is when the chainsaw on the Lancer gets stuck if your too near enemies, but it's probably to prevent it to be overpowered. The hammer of dawn is pretty fun. I tested co-op. Multiplayer not tested.
  43. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    and easily one of the best games ever released. A Co-op campaign in games is something which is always requested, and rarely is it pulled off as well as Gears of War does. Halo 2's co-op campaign is the only thing which comes close to it, and even then, I feel that as the game is 3rd person, it just feels more Co-Oppy.

    Not only is the Co-op amazing, the Xbox Live Co-Op is out of this
    world... no lag, and everything streams together nicely bringing a nice feel to playing with a friend. You both see the cut-scenes at the same time and the only bug I found was the occasional texture not loading for the first 5 seconds of a chapter. Apart from that, chainsaw killing glory.

    If you have a 360, you /need/ this game, if you don't have a 360, you need to buy one
    Expand
  44. Mar 26, 2014
    9
    Great game for its time,
    Truly ground breaking, atmospheric, dark, violent & gore galore!

    Versus was and still is loads of fun.
    This is a classic and it deserves respect.
  45. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    I remember how gritty and gory I thought Gears of War was when it first came out. That's a thing of the past, but I definitely look back fondly at this first entry in the series. My friends and I had a blast and probably spent the most time in competitive multiplayer amongst the entries in the series. The story was dark and it was overall an entertaining experience.
  46. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    es un comienzo y final 2 veces en un juego con una gran historia que espero se desibre mucho mejor de lo que se hizo en este videojuego gears of war a demostrado un futuro en la xbox 360
  47. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    One Of The Best Game ever Every Things About This Game Is Great When i Played This Game It Feels Kinda Pure A Game Like No Other Graphics Are Great And Has a Heavy Atmosphere For A Shooter
  48. May 21, 2014
    10
    I love Epic Games, and Gears of War is just as good as Bulletstorm, meaning that it's awesome!! The story is great, the characters are good, the gameplay is incredible, and the graphics are good!! Don't expect a look at online multiplayer on my Xbox 360 reviews, because I'm not going to get Xbox Live, and I hate online multiplayer, anyway. However, there are some minor bad things about Gears of War, which are the annoyingly dumb teammates (especially Dom) and the extremely frustrating 'kryll' enemies, which eat you alive if you don't stay in light, in act 2. Gears of War still gets a 10/10, though, and it's gotten extremely cheap now, so go buy it!!! Expand
  49. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    This is an example of how a video game should be made. Great graphics, considering its age, a much better game then any other generic shooter, completely amazing story and characters and an amazing start to the best video game trilogy ever made.
  50. Jul 27, 2014
    9
    Gears of War is an amazing shooter and a fantastic game overall. The gameplay and combat are great, the campaign is interesting and is very enjoyable, the multiplayer is really fun, and co-op works very well. The story is very creative and well done and the setting is unique and I absolutely love it. The characters have great personalities and are interesting to get to know. For 2006 the graphics were unbelievable and no one had seen anything like them, even today the graphics are pretty good. This is an incredible game and it's a must play. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.