User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2113 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Merrill
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Wowzers 0_o...the multiplayer is so good that I was pretty much speechless. The chainsaws, bombs, brain-plattering headshots, and gore are just the beginning of what is truly a tactical TPS game that defines what Next-Gen means. Props to MS and Epic for giving us such an awesome game and I can't stopping thinking about it as I'm typing this...must go play now.
  2. dangcucud
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    Glicthy or not; Gears MP gets your heart pounding... in a good way. I hope GOW2 gets things better as in Halo 3; i heard they would be doing something similar *(such as new host selected if the host leaves). here's hoping for the best. GOW2= Must Buy.
  3. matt
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Marc S, they put M ratings on games for a reason, they aren't meant to be played by 6 year olds. And how can you give it a 0 if you think it's a great game? Anyway, my thoughts, it really raises the bar for this genre, only once in a while does this sort of game come along, but when it does, you thank god for video games. Unbelievable game, top marks.
  4. StevenS.
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    Unbelievable. Great co-op, even better versus mode.
  5. JeffK.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing. When I played, I couldn't believe the graphics, gameplay, etc. The best game I have played to date.
  6. AbdulS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    One of the best games on 360, story could be a little longer, but it is great. the multiplayer is competative and really fun. still best graphics. the only people that do not like this game suck at it.
  7. AngelaF.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    This is one of the BEST games out for the 360! The AI is good in this game and so far I haven't found an "easy" way to kill the enemies, except for the berserker on the train, you can make him fall off. Loads of fun and pretty challenging, the weapons are designed well. I especially like how the chainsaw will stop when you get shot at. The controls work perfectly and i really This is one of the BEST games out for the 360! The AI is good in this game and so far I haven't found an "easy" way to kill the enemies, except for the berserker on the train, you can make him fall off. Loads of fun and pretty challenging, the weapons are designed well. I especially like how the chainsaw will stop when you get shot at. The controls work perfectly and i really don't understand how people can say that its hard to use.*cough, NOOB* LOL.. The only thing is that they could have made it a little longer. Still deserves a 10, this game rocks. Expand
  8. Jk
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    This game is so f*ckin good! It might be a a bit short but things like co-op add many extra hours to this game I've beaten this game so many times but I've come back for more its so frican fun specially playing with freinds on split screen or online co op GET IT NOW!
  9. SlothM.
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Sick game, yes the campaign is short but the absolutely mindblowing graphics, and superb online multiplayer make this a winner no doubt.
  10. Jordan
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Best game I've ever played. I highly recommend it to anyone. The 3rd person view took me a while to get used to, as well as there being no aiming dot until zooming in. This game has the best graphics I have ever seen. (especially on the 1080i hi-def lcd) each level has great action. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because of the online play. I found it to be a little Best game I've ever played. I highly recommend it to anyone. The 3rd person view took me a while to get used to, as well as there being no aiming dot until zooming in. This game has the best graphics I have ever seen. (especially on the 1080i hi-def lcd) each level has great action. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because of the online play. I found it to be a little boring. Other than that. Awesome game. Expand
  11. Ian
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    This is the most satisfying game I have played in a long time. Although, judging by Storage Box's content, you may not like the game if you are completely inept with first person shooters. Killing in this game is extremely rewarding and only makes you want to kill more. You won't put a round into someone's head and watch them collapse limp onto the ground. You'll blow This is the most satisfying game I have played in a long time. Although, judging by Storage Box's content, you may not like the game if you are completely inept with first person shooters. Killing in this game is extremely rewarding and only makes you want to kill more. You won't put a round into someone's head and watch them collapse limp onto the ground. You'll blow their freaking head off and watch a mess of guts come raining down after hearing them scream in agony! Although, a fair warning, you may not enjoy the story line if you came here for the epic storytelling of JRR Tolkien. The plot of this game is simple. Kill em. Kill em all! Expand
  12. MartyB.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    That Storage Box guy is pretty funny. Someday when my son asks me what an idiot is I will show him Storage's review of Gears of War and he will understand.
  13. Notafanboy
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    I could go on for pages about this game. One of the few games to deliver. What makes this game great is the features it brings. The chainsaw will keep newcomers happy in a sadistic way for some time, as well as the curb stomp, which after two years is still great fun. The graphics are right up there with the greats, even after all this time. I still haven't put this game down, truly I could go on for pages about this game. One of the few games to deliver. What makes this game great is the features it brings. The chainsaw will keep newcomers happy in a sadistic way for some time, as well as the curb stomp, which after two years is still great fun. The graphics are right up there with the greats, even after all this time. I still haven't put this game down, truly breathtaking. Collapse
  14. JamieD.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    This is a great game with a couple shortcomings. It looks great, it plays great, and is a lot of fun. I would have like to seen 4 person split screen and a longer campaign. Versus online is fun, but I get most of my kills with the chainsaw which is cool but I would like to kill more enemies with my gun. Online Co-Op Rocks!
  15. MikeM.
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    An amazing game that suddenly renewed my interest in the FP shooter genre again. I have to admit I'm a pretty jaded and long time gamer (early 80's) and like many, feared this would be either be another Brute Force or a typical formulamatic shooter. But I was definately wrong. Dead wrong. Forget that this game would put graphic whores in pure ecstasy, but the gameplay works well An amazing game that suddenly renewed my interest in the FP shooter genre again. I have to admit I'm a pretty jaded and long time gamer (early 80's) and like many, feared this would be either be another Brute Force or a typical formulamatic shooter. But I was definately wrong. Dead wrong. Forget that this game would put graphic whores in pure ecstasy, but the gameplay works well that melds halo type action with the strategy of a Tom Clancy type shooter. Repetitive game play? I think not. The coop mode is pretty sweet, but the versus mode simply enhances the games longetivity. Its only 4v4, but the maps are made perfectly accomodating for that amount. Now I only hope if they make a sequel they include 4 player coop.... Expand
  16. Falak.D
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    This game is amazing. the graphics, gameplay proves that this could be the game to beat Halo 3 but we'll have to wait and see. It was either FEAR or GOW and I guess I made the right decision. The best game for 06' PERIOD!
  17. Mahfu83
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    Dont believe the other ratings! These people only rated the single player mode. Multiplayer and online are so utterly amazing that it outshines anything ever created for online. If you love to get the blood pumpin and enjoy edge of your seat competion....then buy this game. The hype was under-rated!
  18. danwarb
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Very innovative and original gameplay ;) ;). Great story. Subtle; you're not hit over the head with it. Best visuals in a game so far.
  19. PeterA.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Single player game is difficult and you will die often, but extremely rewarding. Co-op is a bit easier as you and your teammate can keep each other alive (run up t a downed teammate and hit X). Multi-player is excellent for the limited time I have played it. Good team work is rewarded and Rambo-style play will get you killed quick. Not sure if there are the usual CTF and free-for-all Single player game is difficult and you will die often, but extremely rewarding. Co-op is a bit easier as you and your teammate can keep each other alive (run up t a downed teammate and hit X). Multi-player is excellent for the limited time I have played it. Good team work is rewarded and Rambo-style play will get you killed quick. Not sure if there are the usual CTF and free-for-all options. Also finding an online game to join wasn't always successful. Excellent story and pacing. Some decent shock value. Graphically excellent, but sometimes difficult to tell friend from foe at a distance. Controls are intuitive once you select the Legacy configuration (Halo-like) that reverses the functions of the analog sticks. Highly recommended. I would give it a 9.5. Expand
  20. DrewC.
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    It is an amazing game! This is the first game I played on xbox 360 and it is the best of the bunch. I'm HOOKED!
  21. JonT.
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Love the singleplayer and coop. Multiplayer is great fun too. Easily best 360 game out now, so get it and play it!
  22. Themdogs
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    awesome! i expected alot from this game but i was still overwhelmed by the sheer beauty of the game, and it certainly has the gameplay to mmatch. Very little to critisize really!
  23. JG
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    A brilliant game in the making, the graphics are the best i've seen on 360, the single player is great even better on co-op, and the multiplayer is perfect.
  24. EdwardW.
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    This game is a master piece couldn't put it down Can't wait for the enivitable release if GOW2 . It's a great game of players who enjoy cinematic views and great land scapes. The fire fights are as close to real life as u can get.
  25. GM
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    "Bob J. gave it a3: This game has been so overhyped that reviewers feel compelled to give it a good score. Excellent texturing, solid presentation. Poor, repetitive desgin with little innovation. If you are expecting a classic you will be disappointed. It is as formulaic as they come." Many games have been as hyped and gotten very poor reviews. This person has obviously never played this "Bob J. gave it a3: This game has been so overhyped that reviewers feel compelled to give it a good score. Excellent texturing, solid presentation. Poor, repetitive desgin with little innovation. If you are expecting a classic you will be disappointed. It is as formulaic as they come." Many games have been as hyped and gotten very poor reviews. This person has obviously never played this game. This game assaults all of your senses. The game is amazing and unlike any game I have ever played before and I've owned EVERY system made since the Atari 2600. It's sad whebn someone trashes a masterpiece like this simply because it may hurt sales of the one console they choose to own. Being a multi-console owner and seeing all games in an un-tainted way is pure gaming bliss. Expand
  26. AdamF.
    Nov 9, 2006
    9
    Very good game! The graphics are tight and fluid, very impressive. The controls, though a bit tricky at first, leave very little to be desired. The crouch and cover system is a God send once you get it down. The story is solid. The sound is solid. Only complaints come from the inability to jump and the short campaign mode. Someday, I will get my wish and see a game like this with the Very good game! The graphics are tight and fluid, very impressive. The controls, though a bit tricky at first, leave very little to be desired. The crouch and cover system is a God send once you get it down. The story is solid. The sound is solid. Only complaints come from the inability to jump and the short campaign mode. Someday, I will get my wish and see a game like this with the length of a solid RPG... Expand
  27. AaronH.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Simply a great game. I can't think of any changes I would like to see in the sequal except maybe to make the single player campaign longer.
  28. Eric
    Jan 11, 2007
    9
    Best game for 360 for the year. Halo sucks (yes its true) and this game is good. Its no Half-Life 2 though.
  29. DylanP.
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    I have had so much fun with this game. YES the main game is short but my friend and I had so much fun playing it together we kept coming back. The online is my favorite part. Strategy comes into play in the online matches to a large extent. Rushing in and dying? Hold back and let the enemy come to you and have a teammate flank from the side. If you have a team that talks to each other it I have had so much fun with this game. YES the main game is short but my friend and I had so much fun playing it together we kept coming back. The online is my favorite part. Strategy comes into play in the online matches to a large extent. Rushing in and dying? Hold back and let the enemy come to you and have a teammate flank from the side. If you have a team that talks to each other it is an amazing experience. And of course the graphics are beautiful! I guess people don't understand the concept of different art styles. Everything doesn't have to be all bright and colorful. Still I would recommend renting it as with any game. Everyone has different tastes in games so you may not enjoy it. Expand
  30. WillM.
    Jan 1, 2007
    9
    This game is by far the best game for the 360 A.I. is perfect the campaign is very entertaining as well. But.... it is very short that is why I am giving it a nine. Also online is very fun although it it is repetetive through the whole thing either you curb stomp chainsaw or shoot their head off its just the same.
  31. CoryD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Stunning visuals.. doesn't have the replay value of the Halo franchise, but one of the must-have games for the 360. ;)
  32. Xamox
    Jan 25, 2007
    9
    Awesome game. Graphics rock. The only compliant I have about this game is the single player could be a bit longer and it severely needs more multiplayer maps.
  33. WyattG.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    If you like shooters like I do, then Gears of War is as close to perfection in a shooter game that is currently available on the 360. I am hard pressed to find anything wrong with this game. The graphics, gameplay, weapons and sounds are all fantastic. The 3rd person view and the cover system helps distinguish it from other shooters. The online and offline co-op means that you will want If you like shooters like I do, then Gears of War is as close to perfection in a shooter game that is currently available on the 360. I am hard pressed to find anything wrong with this game. The graphics, gameplay, weapons and sounds are all fantastic. The 3rd person view and the cover system helps distinguish it from other shooters. The online and offline co-op means that you will want to play this game from begining to end multiple times. Then once you are done with the campaign mode it is the multiplayer that will occupy your time on the 360 for a long while. The matches may only be 4 v 4 max, but once you start playing you will soon realise why as the action is so full on that any more players would be pure mayhem. The number of maps available is good and the variety of locations between maps will test you in different ways. WARNING : You will think that you know how to play this game after playing the campaign mode on the hardest difficulty, the truth is that the multiplayer will show you that you really know nothing. Gears of War multiplayer is the home of the hardcore player, and your ass will be owned for ages until you get use to the maps and weapons. That said, your first chainsaw kill will put a smile on your face a mile wide and make you want to play more and more to do it again ! My only criticism with this game lies in the multiplayer where the online lag when shooting is one of the worst I have seen, but the action is so good that you will soon learn to work with it. If you like shooters and can't give this game a 10 then I suggest you sell your 360 and do something else. Expand
  34. I.CWiener
    Jan 5, 2007
    9
    Marc and shawn. The game is not the problem. It's you. The game is rated 18+ so of course your children should not play. The game is great! You get a choice of where you like to go in the level adding massive replay value. The graphics are amazing, so amazing your eyes will hurt, and good gamplay. Multiplayer is unbelievable. Co-op is great because you can play the entire game withMarc and shawn. The game is not the problem. It's you. The game is rated 18+ so of course your children should not play. The game is great! You get a choice of where you like to go in the level adding massive replay value. The graphics are amazing, so amazing your eyes will hurt, and good gamplay. Multiplayer is unbelievable. Co-op is great because you can play the entire game with your friend. You coulden't ask more for this game. The only problem is you will have to quit the game to go to sleep then the next day you can play more! Expand
  35. DanielM
    Jan 9, 2007
    9
    Firstly, let me just address the misguided fellows who are complaining about the fantastic chainsaw bayonette.
    I could fully understand people like "Marc Staal" and "Shawn O" getting annoyed at the predicatable results of their children viewing the undoubtably graphically violent imagary that must obviously accompany an alien soldier being systematically and gratuitously chainsawed in
    Firstly, let me just address the misguided fellows who are complaining about the fantastic chainsaw bayonette.
    I could fully understand people like "Marc Staal" and "Shawn O" getting annoyed at the predicatable results of their children viewing the undoubtably graphically violent imagary that must obviously accompany an alien soldier being systematically and gratuitously chainsawed in half and exploding in a mist of blood IF the game this was occuring in was SPYRO THE DRAGON or YOSHI'S ISLAND. But it's not.

    Gears of War is an 18 rated game in the UK and Mature rated in the US and for good reason. It's a game designed and made for adults to play and enjoy.Yes Shawn and Marc, adults play videogames too.
    It's ironic to note that the game itself does not have any reason to be apologetic. The only reason that your young children got hold of this game in the first place is either because the store your children purchased it from made the error of supplying it to them or because YOU failed to notice the glaring "Do not buy" signs when choosing to buy the game, whether that was in the form of reviews, adverts, or the large MATURE sticker placed on the box. If your children have been morally corrupted then sorry about that. But please dont blame it on a great video game.

    Gears of War is just that, a great inventive and fun game. Please dont let Nick and Marc tell you otherwise.
    Expand
  36. SeanZ.
    Feb 28, 2007
    10
    The game is only 6 hours if you play it on the "Casual" difficulty. If you play it on the other two, it will take much longer, and the accomplishment of beating the game will be much greater. This game is exhilarating from start to finish, and I wouldn't want this game any other way. If you get stressed over a certain chapter, or part hop into the Xbox Live matches and have fun!
  37. billybobvagina
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    this game is amazing its better than all halo games combine! it took a while to get used to but after that it was simple. if there is a 2nd gears of war game on its way i will buy it in a flash. this is the best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  38. AdrianW.
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    I don't play A LOT of games by comparison to most people but this is one of the best and most addictive games I've played in quite some time. After 3-4 months of solid gaming I am still sitting down and playing multiplayer for hours with maximum enjoyment. Fantastic game.
  39. RhysP.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Gears of war was a totally awesome game, it's almost like what halo was to the Xbox, but not quite. Just to give you an Idea it's slightly like GRAW and Halo combined because its third person, it's got aliens and its freakin awesome.
  40. JustinS.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    this game is superb! to Shawn O, the chainsaw has been included in the game for 2 reasons: 1. Its a ratem M game which are know to have a lot of gore 2. it is needed for close combat hence the name Chainsaw Bayonet and it adds to the gameplay
  41. JoeR.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    This game is the best out now. The online is just great and the single player is a good training for the online, I think its perfect!
  42. AdamE.
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    The best game on 360 so far. Except for squeamish people.
  43. RichF.
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    Stupendous online play, the obvious work of a master game designer. Good luck Halo 3, we already have the definitive shooter of the 360, and probably the definitive shooter for the rest of the decade.
  44. RobR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    This game is perfect in almost all aspects. The characters all have their own unique personalities, but are modest enough so that they never become annoying. Graphics are absolutely top-notch, from the water effects to the bodies flying apart, it is absorbing. Hands down the best game for 360, with its reload setup and epic environments. However, I have two complaints. The multiplayer is This game is perfect in almost all aspects. The characters all have their own unique personalities, but are modest enough so that they never become annoying. Graphics are absolutely top-notch, from the water effects to the bodies flying apart, it is absorbing. Hands down the best game for 360, with its reload setup and epic environments. However, I have two complaints. The multiplayer is more than lacking, with only four different game types (one added recently in an update), three of which are based around nothing but killing everything. The other complaint being the storyline. It was great up until the end, it leaves much to be desired and ends awfully abruptly, not answering many questions but instead leaving more. This would be fine and dandy, IF it were told well, however as I said before, it ended extremely abruptly and quite honestly, the ending cinematic isn't the most well thought out. Expand
  45. Joopiec
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    I had a lot of fun playing this game. The gameplay took a bit of getting used to because I
  46. JustinH.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Are you kidding me a 5? you must have seen a trailer and never played the game the multiplayer is by far the most fun i've had in a game in years!!!!!! Oblivion was the biggest flop ever i wasted 60 bucks on that game and ended up having more fun playing frisbee with it. most intense online game i ever played even better then halo. single player is fun too i still cant get enough and Are you kidding me a 5? you must have seen a trailer and never played the game the multiplayer is by far the most fun i've had in a game in years!!!!!! Oblivion was the biggest flop ever i wasted 60 bucks on that game and ended up having more fun playing frisbee with it. most intense online game i ever played even better then halo. single player is fun too i still cant get enough and i've beat it on insane 3 times. This is the game i look forward to getting off work everyday to play. #1 in my eyes. xbox live: deathsoldier69 Expand
  47. JamesB.
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    Clearly Nic M. knows what he's talking about comparing Gears to a game that isn't out yet. Most overrated game of all time is a haughty claim to make. It's a very progressive and original title. Naturally it's going to alienate gamers who don't know what they're looking at.
  48. Max
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    Ooooohhh yeeeeah. Gears of War. Everyone has heard of the amazing gameplay and the awesome, gory blood effects of this game. The story is fun and the multiplayer maps are fun and the weapons are cool. You can't beat a machine gun equipped with a chainsaw you just CAN'T. The achievents are fun and the tactics of finding good cover and strategy is ingenious. Definitely one of the Ooooohhh yeeeeah. Gears of War. Everyone has heard of the amazing gameplay and the awesome, gory blood effects of this game. The story is fun and the multiplayer maps are fun and the weapons are cool. You can't beat a machine gun equipped with a chainsaw you just CAN'T. The achievents are fun and the tactics of finding good cover and strategy is ingenious. Definitely one of the greatest games to hit the 360. Expand
  49. BarryP.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    It's a brilliant bench mark title for the Xbox 360. It's probably the most atmospheric game i have ever played. I have never jumped out of my skin so many times on a game with the rush of the unexpected Krill flocks! The shooting, the camera angle and cover mode is literally at a level of perfection. Stunning.
  50. JackB.
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    Loved the game, great visuals, story, guns, characters, just an awsome game!
  51. BillyB.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    The so called gamers that gave low scores, either have no idea what they are doing, or just don't know one of the best games to come on in the last 10 years! It's strategic, it makes you protect yourself, and flank, and get down or you will die. Unlike other shotters where you can just run and jump, or see who unloads the weapon first to get the kill, gears makes you play smart, The so called gamers that gave low scores, either have no idea what they are doing, or just don't know one of the best games to come on in the last 10 years! It's strategic, it makes you protect yourself, and flank, and get down or you will die. Unlike other shotters where you can just run and jump, or see who unloads the weapon first to get the kill, gears makes you play smart, and work together as a team online, and in the single player coop. It's an amazing game, and the haters are probably still playing 360 ports on their choppy ps3. A worthy buy, and get it now if you haven't played it, because Gear of War 2 is hitting and it's been in production since before the first one released. Get ready cause it's only getting better! Expand
  52. Joem
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    Gears of War has to be the top game ever made for the Xbox 360!! No-one should give this game lower than an 8 because the Graphics of the game a immense, the gory shotgun kills, how people blow up with the wonderful BOOMSHOT and how peoples heads explode when you get a headshot with the sniper rifle. GOW Rules!!!
  53. JaredK.
    Jul 16, 2008
    9
    This game is well made and just brings you into the environment. The cover and running are my favorite parts of the game.
  54. MikeB.
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    Fun, fast paced and heavily-violent gameplay and great graphics for when it released. Difficulty can be infuriating at times, both in single player and multiplay, but that's just part of the challenge. Definitely a hardcore shooter.
  55. DavidA
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    One of the best 360 games, Gears of War is a game that truly delivers. And will go down as one of the most important games to come out under the xbox brands. Next to Halo this is the most important franchise for the 360.
  56. LiamR
    Aug 18, 2009
    9
    Gears of war is an excellent all round gaming experience. I was a bit cautious when buying it because of the huge amount of hype surrounding, but I was certainly not disappointed. The game takes place on the Planet Sera which in many aspects is very similar to Earth. The main story resolves around a war between the humans and the Locust Horde, a skinless gorilla like race from under the Gears of war is an excellent all round gaming experience. I was a bit cautious when buying it because of the huge amount of hype surrounding, but I was certainly not disappointed. The game takes place on the Planet Sera which in many aspects is very similar to Earth. The main story resolves around a war between the humans and the Locust Horde, a skinless gorilla like race from under the ground. Throughout the game you battle through beautiful set pieces such as burned out palaces and mansions. The story was very good but was hampered by the fact that the friendly AI is no where near as sophisticated as that of the Locust. However any of these issues resolve themselves when playing in co-op. The online is brilliant. It is very, very hard however compared to most games until you realise the essentials. Cover is key and you need to stick together as a team to survive. All in all Gears of War is a great game with an awe-inspiring soundtrack, voice acting and graphics with solid gameplay but just could have had better AI in single player. Expand
  57. StuartM.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    This game is magical. the gameplay is engaging and just plain fun. just try it, you will be hooked by this games depth and quality. you wont find a better game this year on any system. you just wont. and the chainsaw never gets old.
  58. MiguelH.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    The most addictive game I have played in years. Great controls, great audio and great visuals. The learning curve is steep enough to keep the game fresh; while the restarts resulting from frequent deaths I incur are not as tedious as most games. It's a compelling co-op game. As sweet of gaming as it gets.
  59. JimP.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    A very unique experience. A nice break from all the run and gun and hack and slash FPS. To compare this with Halo or call it a Halo clone is ridiculous. They're two different styles of games. Best Graphics on any console hands down. With high def and surround sound it's an experience you will never forget.
  60. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    Very impressive -- and far superior to the abysmal sequel that is Gears of War 2. The mechanics are simple and the concept seems like a novelty, but Gears of War is probably the best game on the 360 right now.
  61. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    As one of the banner exclusives for the XBOX 360, Gears of Wsr is an untouchable beast of a third person shooter. A thoroughly brilliant, action packed behemoth of a campaign, innovative multiplayer offerings and a real sense of the player being a badass with chainsaw gun in hand. This is one fantastic game. If only Epic managed to distill the same brilliance to the narrative andAs one of the banner exclusives for the XBOX 360, Gears of Wsr is an untouchable beast of a third person shooter. A thoroughly brilliant, action packed behemoth of a campaign, innovative multiplayer offerings and a real sense of the player being a badass with chainsaw gun in hand. This is one fantastic game. If only Epic managed to distill the same brilliance to the narrative and environments, but still an unmatched goliath of a shooter. Expand
  62. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I never owned a console before the Xbox 360 (I only played games on the PC), so when a friend convinced me to buy one late in 2007, he also convinced me to buy GoW also. Needless to say, after years of mouse & keyboard control, I couldn't quite hack the two-thumb 360 controller. Marcus Fenix would just turn in circles while various Locus tore him up. After playing a few times overI never owned a console before the Xbox 360 (I only played games on the PC), so when a friend convinced me to buy one late in 2007, he also convinced me to buy GoW also. Needless to say, after years of mouse & keyboard control, I couldn't quite hack the two-thumb 360 controller. Marcus Fenix would just turn in circles while various Locus tore him up. After playing a few times over Christmas I gave up on the Xbox and put it aside. Almost a year later, completely bored over a Thanksgiving holiday, I pulled GoW off the shelf, dusted it off, moved a chair inches from my big screen and began my journey on Sera. Man, was I ever glad I did that - as Gears of War is probably my favorite game on the Xbox (head and shoulders above the Halo series, btw). If it wasn't for Gears I probably would have shelved the 360 entirely (which would have been a shame, since it's now the main focus of my multimedia experience - live streaming sports, streaming movies & tv shows - the 360 is on the active screen MUCH more than my cable box is - and that's all because GoW taught me to like playing games on the 360). If you've never played this game, GO GET IT - it really is, without a doubt, the best 360 game (and series) there is. Interesting story, fun gameplay, and really compelling. It's just a classic - and always will be. Expand
  63. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    This game is magnificent! Everyone who owns an Xbox 360 or PC should buy this game! The gameplay is wildly addicting, fresh, and unique. This game is very innovative, flows very smooth, and has excellently crafted scenes. The amount of detail placed in this game is overwhelming. The back-story is rich, and the conflict is intense and very realistic. Gears of War is a fantastic scienceThis game is magnificent! Everyone who owns an Xbox 360 or PC should buy this game! The gameplay is wildly addicting, fresh, and unique. This game is very innovative, flows very smooth, and has excellently crafted scenes. The amount of detail placed in this game is overwhelming. The back-story is rich, and the conflict is intense and very realistic. Gears of War is a fantastic science fiction military shooter. This game has an excellent campaign that is easily worthy of multiple replays, and has a great multiplayer experience. Gears of war sets the bar with graphics, gameplay, and military-style story telling. The game allows you to make different choices so each play through isn't identical. The story is suspenseful and gripping. Easily one of the best games ever made. Expand
  64. JamesChennault
    Nov 13, 2006
    9
    This game is a must buy for any Xbox 360 owner. This is really the killer game that the system needed. It does not get a full 10 out of 10 due to retarded AI, texture glitches, and random Multiplayer glitches. Still is one of the best game i have played this year, hands down.
  65. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    for a game thats loaded to the hilt with bugs and glitches its one of the most funest games ive played both online and off. the story mode is only about 5-6 hours long but its a fun 6 hours . with some of the best voice acting and diolouge in any game to date . it has a good cover mechanic and with 2 player co-op its a blast. not to mention you get a chainsaw on the end of your gun . thefor a game thats loaded to the hilt with bugs and glitches its one of the most funest games ive played both online and off. the story mode is only about 5-6 hours long but its a fun 6 hours . with some of the best voice acting and diolouge in any game to date . it has a good cover mechanic and with 2 player co-op its a blast. not to mention you get a chainsaw on the end of your gun . the animayions of cutting your enimy into little bits of meat just never gets old . the online is the real mear of this game . never in a online game is team work so vital to victory. the fun ive had with my friends on this was just intense . the formulation of stratagy planning are next move just seperates this from all the other ho-hum cockie cutter shooters out there . the game isnt flawless the story in this game is badley told . you are basically in the middle of a story and get no clear sense of how it all started . there are alot of bugs and glitches in this game and even after almost 4 years they still havent fixed 75% of them and they have done like a 100 patches for this game . still this looks and feels original despite the flaws im still giving it a 10 because there are a million run and gun call of duty clones out there but only 1 gears of war and it rains king over every thing els that is a online shooter. Expand
  66. KeithM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    To the people below me, you are idiots. I agree the single player was a little weak in the story department but it was loads of fun. And the only reason you guys don't like the online multiplayer is because A. you suck horribly (noob) and B. you didnt explore the gametypes like annex that allow you to respawn and fight to maintain territory. How about you play the game more than once To the people below me, you are idiots. I agree the single player was a little weak in the story department but it was loads of fun. And the only reason you guys don't like the online multiplayer is because A. you suck horribly (noob) and B. you didnt explore the gametypes like annex that allow you to respawn and fight to maintain territory. How about you play the game more than once before you judge it you idiots. Expand
  67. Destructed
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    Personally, I think you just suck at playing video games Justin. It's called skill. The controls aren't clumsy, YOU are. As for the lighting....maybe it's your 12 inch 1990 sylvania that's making it look crappy, sped. Let's not even get started with you Neville...a zero? I could make a game that's worth more than a zero. Once again, you have the same problemPersonally, I think you just suck at playing video games Justin. It's called skill. The controls aren't clumsy, YOU are. As for the lighting....maybe it's your 12 inch 1990 sylvania that's making it look crappy, sped. Let's not even get started with you Neville...a zero? I could make a game that's worth more than a zero. Once again, you have the same problem as Justin. YOU SUCK. Seriously. Spare us all and stop playing video games and writing your special education opinion on this site. Grow some sack hair and kiss a girl then get back to me. Expand
  68. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    F*ck this, this suck to the asss!....................................................................................................................
  69. dudeXIII
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    Bob J. is a Halo fanboy because of his rediculously low score that he gave for this game.

    People gave high scores for RE4. This game has the same camera style like RE4, and nearly the same gameplay (this game's a bit more "free" compared to RE4 for obvious reasons). P.S. Halo was definitely overrated. I can't stand to play that crap of a game. And before you say that I suck
    Bob J. is a Halo fanboy because of his rediculously low score that he gave for this game.

    People gave high scores for RE4. This game has the same camera style like RE4, and nearly the same gameplay (this game's a bit more "free" compared to RE4 for obvious reasons).

    P.S. Halo was definitely overrated. I can't stand to play that crap of a game. And before you say that I suck @ Halo(2): I was on the Top 5 on DM rankings.
    Expand
  70. GuyGamer
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Great game, what can i say. Ppl giving 5 to this are sony/nintendo fanboys or gow haters. Do you REALLY think this deserver 5? You know 5 means that it sucks? Does it suck? No it doesnt. You think its 8 but you give it 5 because youre so stupid.
  71. NoahL
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Gameplay -- Awesome!
    Story -- Awesome!
    AI -- Awesome!
    Sound -- Awesome!
    Graphics -- Awesome!
    Multiplayer -- Holy Friggin' Awesome!!!
    This game is like Crack for Gamers. Its been a long time since my fingers have hurt this much from over-gaming. If you have a 360 and don't buy this game ASAP you deserve a chainsaw through your chest!
  72. JonSteine
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    this game is the best third person shooter i have ever played. A sweet campain story. The bosses fights are so sweet that will just be saying "sweet". The chainsaw is the one of the best weapons ever having the blood spray all over the screen. but to Steve M. you are on crack and wasted and you deserve to have Marcus Felix come over to your house and chop you up with a chainsaw forthis game is the best third person shooter i have ever played. A sweet campain story. The bosses fights are so sweet that will just be saying "sweet". The chainsaw is the one of the best weapons ever having the blood spray all over the screen. but to Steve M. you are on crack and wasted and you deserve to have Marcus Felix come over to your house and chop you up with a chainsaw for saying that. Expand
  73. SeamO'Keefe
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    Honestly, I haven't had so much fun playing a game in a long time. Buy twenty copies to share with your friends. Oh, and to the people who bash this game the same way they bashed Halo just because those games were popular, go to hell. Find a better way to feel sophisticated.
  74. Elim
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    This game is one of the best 360 games out and one of the best FPS i played to.People say this game is over hyped, Its no its just great on the deatil and action. They get the story easy to follow but great and suspenseful and you just want to keep playing! The array of unqie wepons are awsome and just great to use, Like the Chainsaw gun thing, It brings action and mele together,But in theThis game is one of the best 360 games out and one of the best FPS i played to.People say this game is over hyped, Its no its just great on the deatil and action. They get the story easy to follow but great and suspenseful and you just want to keep playing! The array of unqie wepons are awsome and just great to use, Like the Chainsaw gun thing, It brings action and mele together,But in the battlles i dident like the keep your head down, For Every fight you have to travel behind things for saftey and some times this can get boring but you wont really think when you are in the combat with the detail down to the bullot shell wizzing by you. The game is easy to pick and you will never put it down. The enemys have excellent AI and will now when to cover and when to attack, every enemy is hard but fun and the plans to attck them are endless, YOu can flank run in wait for then throw gernade, Then the best is you up mode to insane and play with freind and make plans and that makes its most fun. Even when your done with the enless story Multiplayer is just great! you can do vs and its better than Halo 2 multi in my words. If your going to get a FPS dont go for FEAR or GOW and even COD just pick up gears of war and you will have a great time! Expand
  75. gamertag=smockthegreen
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    In this sequel to Gears of War 2, the core gameplay is the same but with vast improvements. The chainsaw can be brought down with a few shots, adding skill to the multiplayer whereas everyone just ran around holding "B" in Gears 2. Grenade tagging is more dangerous, and the imbalanced practice of sticking them to walls has been removed - removing some of the tension of turning a corner andIn this sequel to Gears of War 2, the core gameplay is the same but with vast improvements. The chainsaw can be brought down with a few shots, adding skill to the multiplayer whereas everyone just ran around holding "B" in Gears 2. Grenade tagging is more dangerous, and the imbalanced practice of sticking them to walls has been removed - removing some of the tension of turning a corner and encouraging more active gameplay. Overall an improvement, definitely a must-buy for any strategical shooter enthusiast. Just don't play the prequel. Expand
  76. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    Jut a fun and action packed game. Thats it. Try also the other games in the series. But the last one lost a bit on the story and just a bit weird.....
  77. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = The first real leap into 7th Gen graphics and what they would later become. Great shooter, very well built.
  78. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Pure awesome sauce!Graphically stunning with fantastic action.A somewhat thin storyline is overshadowed by the sauce that is Gears of War.Its very short,but you will replay a few times.Buy it.
  79. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    oh my god iv just read a few reviews and so many stupid c***s. i bought it and haven't got live so $70 wasted who's dumb fault is that and my 4 year old younger bro had nightmares don't let him watch you play it and it wont ever be better then halo ??????? it's way better then halo as halo is boring f***ing fanboys piss off this game is great story is ace a little short yes but makes upoh my god iv just read a few reviews and so many stupid c***s. i bought it and haven't got live so $70 wasted who's dumb fault is that and my 4 year old younger bro had nightmares don't let him watch you play it and it wont ever be better then halo ??????? it's way better then halo as halo is boring f***ing fanboys piss off this game is great story is ace a little short yes but makes up the time in online multiplayer if you did enjoy this game buy gears of war 3 on september the 20th iv played the beta and it was awesome nuff said Expand
  80. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Gears of War is a ground breaking game in terms of graphics, and gameplay for the third person shooter genre. Graphics wise I remember seeing it the first time and thinking WOW is this ingame? Today obviously those graphics, while still good are not so much of a WOW factor when buying. Gameplay wise the cover system was brand new and I found it quite intuitive diving from cover to coverGears of War is a ground breaking game in terms of graphics, and gameplay for the third person shooter genre. Graphics wise I remember seeing it the first time and thinking WOW is this ingame? Today obviously those graphics, while still good are not so much of a WOW factor when buying. Gameplay wise the cover system was brand new and I found it quite intuitive diving from cover to cover etc and laying down fire. Of course there's also the chainsaw mounted on your gun that allows you to flay into your enemies! Did I like it? Big time yes! Expand
  81. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    Gears of War (1) was amazing at it's time and is still fresh today. It's a great 3rd person shooter and this first instalment feels more like a horror/survival game, whereas it's sequels are more action orientated. The graphics and art design are superb, the music is fantastic and it's gameplay is very solid. It might drag a bit here and there and its story and characters might be a bitGears of War (1) was amazing at it's time and is still fresh today. It's a great 3rd person shooter and this first instalment feels more like a horror/survival game, whereas it's sequels are more action orientated. The graphics and art design are superb, the music is fantastic and it's gameplay is very solid. It might drag a bit here and there and its story and characters might be a bit over the top, but that's Gears. 9/10 Expand
  82. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    and easily one of the best games ever released. A Co-op campaign in games is something which is always requested, and rarely is it pulled off as well as Gears of War does. Halo 2's co-op campaign is the only thing which comes close to it, and even then, I feel that as the game is 3rd person, it just feels more Co-Oppy.

    Not only is the Co-op amazing, the Xbox Live Co-Op is out of this
    and easily one of the best games ever released. A Co-op campaign in games is something which is always requested, and rarely is it pulled off as well as Gears of War does. Halo 2's co-op campaign is the only thing which comes close to it, and even then, I feel that as the game is 3rd person, it just feels more Co-Oppy.

    Not only is the Co-op amazing, the Xbox Live Co-Op is out of this world... no lag, and everything streams together nicely bringing a nice feel to playing with a friend. You both see the cut-scenes at the same time and the only bug I found was the occasional texture not loading for the first 5 seconds of a chapter. Apart from that, chainsaw killing glory.

    If you have a 360, you /need/ this game, if you don't have a 360, you need to buy one
    Expand
  83. TonyG.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    Phenomenal. Fun, intelligent, and violent.
  84. DavidR.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Okay, first off, the controls don't suck, the people who say they suck suck. I can do everything just fine, you're just retarded. Second off, the graphics ARE all that and about 28 bags of chips. Don't listen to anyone who tells you otherwise. "The voice-acting is retarded." Of course it is! These are the big, hulking jock jerks from High School that knew nothing other than Okay, first off, the controls don't suck, the people who say they suck suck. I can do everything just fine, you're just retarded. Second off, the graphics ARE all that and about 28 bags of chips. Don't listen to anyone who tells you otherwise. "The voice-acting is retarded." Of course it is! These are the big, hulking jock jerks from High School that knew nothing other than how to play sports. These guys are DUMB. In a good way. Oh, I saw a reviewer who said that whenever you got shot, your chainsaw stopped revving. That was to make the chainsaw not a complete noob weapon, retard! You know, add some challenge? 10/10. Nothing less. Expand
  85. JD
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    Excellent graphics, best shooter game I've ever played; enjoy the 3rd-person view rather than 1st person (Halo). For those who complain about their 6 or 7 year-olds playing the game, would they let their kids watch a slasher movie? Probably not...the game is graphic, but that's what ratings are for.
  86. JosueRomero
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    this game is incredible!!! I bought it after a year it had come out... I boought this game and COD 4, and if I had a decision between the 2 I would prefer GOW , the story is immersive, and for those who just say COD 4 is better, remember this COD 4 came out a year after GOW, a lot of time to improve. and now that Gears of War 2 is coming out in 3 more days, I'm so phyched!!!! And itthis game is incredible!!! I bought it after a year it had come out... I boought this game and COD 4, and if I had a decision between the 2 I would prefer GOW , the story is immersive, and for those who just say COD 4 is better, remember this COD 4 came out a year after GOW, a lot of time to improve. and now that Gears of War 2 is coming out in 3 more days, I'm so phyched!!!! And it got a 95 from Metacritic!!! In my opinion GOW 2 is gonna rule, and COD 5 is gonna go down the toilet! Expand
  87. Jag
    Apr 1, 2008
    9
    Gears of war is a third person game. It has some brand new gameplay ideas such as the new cover system. This is somewhat realistic and keeps the game play flowing. Taking cover isn't the only advantage. You can roll, summersalt forward, and do a pretty cool backwards maneuver. All these maneuvers have their own purpose and are pretty fun to do. However like just about every other Gears of war is a third person game. It has some brand new gameplay ideas such as the new cover system. This is somewhat realistic and keeps the game play flowing. Taking cover isn't the only advantage. You can roll, summersalt forward, and do a pretty cool backwards maneuver. All these maneuvers have their own purpose and are pretty fun to do. However like just about every other game out there this game does have gameplay flaws. All the keys to survival are on one button. The A button. This button controls taking cover getting uot of cover in unique ways(like SW.A.T turn, leaping over, diving,ect, some pretty cool stuff) summersalting, dodging, sprinting the backwards maneuver. All these actions on one button can have you doing one thing when you really want to do another. For example: if you are aprothing an object and plan to use it as cover,when you hit the A button you guy could end up summersalting past it leaving you out in the open in which you will probably die. Situations like this can lead to frustration however the more you play the more you will learn to react and counter unlucky insidinses. This game has a real story with really well developed characters. The dialog is very clever at times and each of you men has their own personality. You could very well find your self liking and disliking characters for real reasons. Like you may not like the way they act or you may like the way they act. So you won't find you self liking a guy for his skill in battle or not liking him for his flaws in a fight, or at least most of the time. Which brings us to A.I. The A.I. was fairly good. Your guys will leap away from explosions, pick up other weapons and can save you life. But just because they can doesn't mean they will. They will screw up from time to time but nothing big enough to lower the score. Enemy A.I was pretty impressive. They will flank and they are pretty good shots which gives you even more of a reason to take cover. Physics were amazing. You can blow an enemy into pieces and even them the physics are great when the pieces hit the ground. Graphics were mind blowing. Everything was so detailed. Its still one of the best looking games to date even two years later. As far as weapons go this game has a fairly small but wicked deadly arsenal. When I say deadly I mean deadly. Weapons such as the sniper rifle are awesome. You can literely CAP you enemys with it. The torque bow is pretty cool. Its a bow with an exploding arrow. The Hammer of dawn and the primary weapon the Lancer, a full auto assult rifle with a chainsaw attached to the bottom. This game is really violent. From the chain sawing to the curb stomping its all satisfying. The only things that keep this from getting perfect was the gameplay flaws and I didn't like the way some of the guys acted but if you have a 360 I recommend this. It PWN3S. Expand
  88. TheBigmac
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Best Graphics I've ever seen. Best Shooter I've ever played. and finally something fresh for us who don't lose sleep over sports games and FPS. Usualy I get motion sick with FPS, but the fact that this game is a Third Person Shooter and the controls and perfectly balanced and responsive, makes you feel you are 100% in control all the time. You feel like you're really Best Graphics I've ever seen. Best Shooter I've ever played. and finally something fresh for us who don't lose sleep over sports games and FPS. Usualy I get motion sick with FPS, but the fact that this game is a Third Person Shooter and the controls and perfectly balanced and responsive, makes you feel you are 100% in control all the time. You feel like you're really there amidst the bullets, explosions and carnage. The chainsaw is perfectly executed and I love the frequest checkpoints. This game is what all game should be about : FUN. This game rocks! Expand
  89. GiggensK.
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    This game is by far the best game for the 360. Yes the campaing is short but it has a high replay value and its multiplayer is by far the best ive ever played.
  90. XBOBU
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    They raised the bar for Halo 3! GoW is finally a game that not just shows off technology advancements but offers one of the best gameplay experiences ever. Even if you are tired of FPS games like I was you can't help but get into this game once you start. I spent like last 3 days playing single player to the end and I wish there was more story. GoW is a world you won't want to They raised the bar for Halo 3! GoW is finally a game that not just shows off technology advancements but offers one of the best gameplay experiences ever. Even if you are tired of FPS games like I was you can't help but get into this game once you start. I spent like last 3 days playing single player to the end and I wish there was more story. GoW is a world you won't want to leave. A milestone in gaming. Expand
  91. MattO.
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    Don't let those folks giving this game anything less than a 9 fool you: Gears of War is THE BEST title for the 360 by far! Even if you do complete the campaign level in 6 hours (which means you're playing it on the easiest level and are, therefore, a wimp), you'll definitely want to go back and beat it on the Hardcore and Insane settings. Throw in the multiplayer and your Don't let those folks giving this game anything less than a 9 fool you: Gears of War is THE BEST title for the 360 by far! Even if you do complete the campaign level in 6 hours (which means you're playing it on the easiest level and are, therefore, a wimp), you'll definitely want to go back and beat it on the Hardcore and Insane settings. Throw in the multiplayer and your search for all 30 COG Tags, and this game has tons of replay value. The graphics are sick and have to be seen to be believed! I'm a huge Oblivion fan, but Gears of War has it beat! Expand
  92. WallyD.
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    This game is definantly one that is an instant buy. I played through the campaign mode with a buddy of mine and we loved every second of it. The level of visual quality is perfectly paired with the level of sound quality in this game. The voice overs are awesome. The guns, enemys, enviorments, etc. all combine to help you immerse yourself to a level that was once know only by Halo. Along This game is definantly one that is an instant buy. I played through the campaign mode with a buddy of mine and we loved every second of it. The level of visual quality is perfectly paired with the level of sound quality in this game. The voice overs are awesome. The guns, enemys, enviorments, etc. all combine to help you immerse yourself to a level that was once know only by Halo. Along with the awesome online support. Co-op online, COME ON! Personally that is something I have been wanting for a long time, and boy did this game deliver. So in the end this game definantly gets a perfect score from me. Expand
  93. RyanD.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    This game is awesome. Alot of folks are sayings its not innovative and its not as good as the hype but what this game is is FUN. its graphics are smoking, load times are fast, the creatures are interesting. Havnt had this much fun with a game since halo 2.
  94. KBeatty
    Nov 17, 2006
    10
    It's been a long time since I've sat in my office thinking about getting home so I can play a game. Gears has captivated me completely. There are so many standout moments along with the "best I've ever seen on a console" graphics, that this game should not be missed.
  95. Lucas_in_denver
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Thanks to Epic's "Gears of War" XBOX 360 gamers are finally getting an idea of what this game system can do! GoW is like a lethal combo of "Aliens", Predator", and "Starship Troopers" with a little "Blade Runner" thrown in for effect. The result is absolutely AWESOME!
  96. TylerW.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Excellent game with well paced action and bits of story. The roadie run has a great gritty war feel with on the fly field of view changes. The graphics are gorgeous yes, but thats not all that sells it. The level design is well done and easy to follow. Weapons are balanced. Its done 3rd person right with excellent cameras and action. A must have app for the 360.
  97. KoreyW.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Story mode was fun. End boss was to easy to beat though. The reason I give this game a 10 is because the graphics are what you expect, same with the sound. Multiplayer is HUGE!! I'm officially finished with halo until part 3 comes out.
  98. JonnyBoy
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Great gameplay and graphics. The action is superb! They used the Resident Evil 4 aiming system and made it better. On of the best games I have ever played. Definitely a must buy for 360 owners.
  99. NateDog
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Two things to say. 1)Absolutely hands down the best game i have played all year, play it co-op it is simply amazing. 2)To anyone that says its too short, then they must have been playing it on Casual difficulty, Hardcore is exactly that, so if you do buy it - don't be a wimp, make sure to play it on Hardcore and get your money's worth!
  100. Mike
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Prospective K, the controls arent hard nor are they bad, your just an idiot. The controls, once learned are fuid and easy to use. The games graphics are some of the best seen on any platform. The audio is amazing with each weapon giving off a unique sound. The multiplayer online and the co-op is alot of fun, a must buy.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.