User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2369 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2011
    1
    Completely overhyped and overrated. Gamers were basically told that we are supposed to like this game and many never bothered to question that. Read the summary on this game then ask someone who likes GoW why they do. Nine times out of ten their answer will sound like they are reading the summary, almost like rehearsed lines. Clunky gameplay, darkness instead of graphics, overuse of coverCompletely overhyped and overrated. Gamers were basically told that we are supposed to like this game and many never bothered to question that. Read the summary on this game then ask someone who likes GoW why they do. Nine times out of ten their answer will sound like they are reading the summary, almost like rehearsed lines. Clunky gameplay, darkness instead of graphics, overuse of cover system to the point of boredom, very short game (for what was a top dollar release), cliche everything, and nothing new enough to balance just how tired and clearly "borrowed" so much of this game was- all with a sheen of gore and machismo so over the top it is almost laughable. This game had great appeal for people like the movie going audiences that laud each new release as the best movie ever until the next movie comes out, but in the annals of gaming it is a minor embarrassment and little more. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    I played this game in 2010, So I'm very late to the GOW party.
    The graphics where very nice and had some moments of awe!
    The characters are flat and boring, consisting of hey lets go here and shoot this mentality.
    Story was paper thin...
    The game started and then it felt like it ended with out anything happening in terms of story progression.
    GOW is a fast pace action movie that you control...
  3. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    Gears of War may have violence and 'badass' weapons but its small in substance and lame in the big scheme of things. The intention of its creators was to obviously make exactly what Gears is but that does not make it good. Any memories this game may create wont last and it is only original to the ignorant console crowd. Gears of War's story is pointless asides from the sensation ofGears of War may have violence and 'badass' weapons but its small in substance and lame in the big scheme of things. The intention of its creators was to obviously make exactly what Gears is but that does not make it good. Any memories this game may create wont last and it is only original to the ignorant console crowd. Gears of War's story is pointless asides from the sensation of violence, it lacks originality, the script is a joke and is immaturely predictable. There maybe some fun to be had with some of its gameplay but there are plenty of other better games out there that have both substance and are 'fun'. In the end the Gears series is just another game for the uncritically minded and sits on the big fat pile of games with crap stories and a missed opportunity. Expand
  4. JohnS.
    Jan 19, 2007
    1
    I enjoyed this game quite a lot..........for 5 hours. I don't mind short games when they are extremely complete and introduce brand new things to a genre, but this game just felt like a really well done remake of past games. All the really cool features, have been done before, just not tied together so well. Graphics are nice, but it's sad to see that they couldnt run theI enjoyed this game quite a lot..........for 5 hours. I don't mind short games when they are extremely complete and introduce brand new things to a genre, but this game just felt like a really well done remake of past games. All the really cool features, have been done before, just not tied together so well. Graphics are nice, but it's sad to see that they couldnt run the Unreal 3 engine at its max, the demo's I've seen of the engine rendering other things on PC is amazing. Framerate is very poor when camera pans around in story sequences.

    Good game, not great, I recomend renting it, but not buying it. I would normally give it a 7, but because of the overhype, and the insane fanboys spreading false info, I give it a 1.
    Expand
  5. dudeXIII
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    Bob J. is a Halo fanboy because of his rediculously low score that he gave for this game.

    People gave high scores for RE4. This game has the same camera style like RE4, and nearly the same gameplay (this game's a bit more "free" compared to RE4 for obvious reasons). P.S. Halo was definitely overrated. I can't stand to play that crap of a game. And before you say that I suck
    Bob J. is a Halo fanboy because of his rediculously low score that he gave for this game.

    People gave high scores for RE4. This game has the same camera style like RE4, and nearly the same gameplay (this game's a bit more "free" compared to RE4 for obvious reasons).

    P.S. Halo was definitely overrated. I can't stand to play that crap of a game. And before you say that I suck @ Halo(2): I was on the Top 5 on DM rankings.
    Expand
  6. JackieB
    Jan 4, 2009
    4
    My problem with this series is that it's a basic mod for Unreal Tournament 2004. The Cogs look identical to the Human race in UT2k4 and after playing it on the PC, I can say that 'ts almost exactly the same. Aside from being third person, having a cover mechanic, and not being able to jump. I can say that Epic games has pulled a fast one and slapped a mod onto an older game and My problem with this series is that it's a basic mod for Unreal Tournament 2004. The Cogs look identical to the Human race in UT2k4 and after playing it on the PC, I can say that 'ts almost exactly the same. Aside from being third person, having a cover mechanic, and not being able to jump. I can say that Epic games has pulled a fast one and slapped a mod onto an older game and made millions. The only reason this game isn't getting a 1 is because the blood and gore in it are really good. Otherwise, it's hide, shoot, hide, shoot, watch scene, walk a little, hide, shoot, hide, shoot, hide, shoot, move a little, etc etc there are some enjoyable dialogues.. but honestly.. you guys just modded UT 2004 and called it Gears of War. Please. Have a little more creativity. Expand
  7. StorageBox
    Jun 14, 2007
    4
    I didn
  8. Dec 5, 2010
    4
    I'm not quite sure where the appeal for this game is. I've played up to a certain point, and have not seen many redeeming qualities. The story is... mediocre, sound is okay, music is fine, gameplay mechanics work well enough, but at the end, I really don't care about any of these characters. There's no incentive for me to keep playing, really. In a way, it got boring fighting the same sortI'm not quite sure where the appeal for this game is. I've played up to a certain point, and have not seen many redeeming qualities. The story is... mediocre, sound is okay, music is fine, gameplay mechanics work well enough, but at the end, I really don't care about any of these characters. There's no incentive for me to keep playing, really. In a way, it got boring fighting the same sort of enemies over and over, with a little variation every now and then with 'bosses'. -- The graphics, in its time, must have been pretty good, but does no one realise that graphics will always get worse over time? Praising a game for its amazing visuals while ignoring its faults is akin to people being famous for being famous. Something more lasting: a new, innovative graphical technique, or an interesting use of an old one (like Left 4 Dead's film techniques), an amazing story (Final Fantasy Tactics, lots of RPG's), those sort of things make a game that will be remembered as a good game for a long time to come. -- This game isn't really even worth it's money right now. let alone five years from now because it just isn't that fun. Expand
  9. MarcStaal
    Jan 4, 2007
    0
    it is unbelievable how some sicko's out there put a random chainsaw on a gun, just for the purpose of seeing blood squirt everywhere.......my son, who is 6 years of age, went to his friends house where he watched this boy's brother play the game......my son came home with the friend, and starting to pretend to chainsaw each other..they were yelling and screaming, and also sworeit is unbelievable how some sicko's out there put a random chainsaw on a gun, just for the purpose of seeing blood squirt everywhere.......my son, who is 6 years of age, went to his friends house where he watched this boy's brother play the game......my son came home with the friend, and starting to pretend to chainsaw each other..they were yelling and screaming, and also swore lots......my son said "Sup B**ches" to his friend...this is absolutely insane..........who the heck puts that dumb chainsaw in the game....this person must have just got out of jail....UNBELIEVABLE......but overall great game with great graphics Expand
  10. MasterChief
    Dec 14, 2009
    0
    This game is nothing compared to the adrenaline fueled graphics bomb we all know as Halo 3. Halo 3 is the only thing on the 360, if you want games like this, buy a Wii. Cause Wii is great for these casual games.
  11. 70bucksWasted
    Nov 8, 2006
    1
    70 bucks down the drain. I finished the game in 5 hours and since I don't have online it's practically worthless to me now. it was fun while it lasted but not challenging and waaaaaay too short. The shortest game I've ever played in my life. Bloody EB won't give me my cash back eitehr, only trade in.... sigh
  12. Jon
    Jun 10, 2009
    6
    Gears of War might be just a little hyped from the critics. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game but I don't think it's anywhere close to games such as Halo 3 and CoD4. The single player is top notch, excellent presentation and graphics. I do get a bit frustrated with the "brisk jog" (as some of my friends joke). If you're running and you by chance bump into a Gears of War might be just a little hyped from the critics. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game but I don't think it's anywhere close to games such as Halo 3 and CoD4. The single player is top notch, excellent presentation and graphics. I do get a bit frustrated with the "brisk jog" (as some of my friends joke). If you're running and you by chance bump into a barrier, you will take cover behind it. This can be extremely annoying during fights with berserkers and the like. Sadly, where it is good in single player, it utterly fails in multiplayer. (Several WTF moments, expect to want to fling your controller into the T.V.) Multiplayer is garbage; stay away from it. Other than that, a good game but not deserving of the 94 avg. Expand
  13. EricS.
    Nov 19, 2006
    5
    It's obvious that people are reviewing this game based purely on graphics, because they really are the only thing that sets Gears of War apart from countless other shooters. Granted, technically Gears is an amazing achievement, perhaps the best looking game ever made. The shooting is adequate, but really just boils down to ducking behind blocks and coming up to take a few shot. It's obvious that people are reviewing this game based purely on graphics, because they really are the only thing that sets Gears of War apart from countless other shooters. Granted, technically Gears is an amazing achievement, perhaps the best looking game ever made. The shooting is adequate, but really just boils down to ducking behind blocks and coming up to take a few shot. Rinse, repeat. Where Gears of War really faulters is in its creativity. With their high levels of detail, the enemies give the illusion of being well designed. However, what you really have is some standard looking aliens rendered a lot better. The same can be said for the weapons. The particle effects look amazing, but this is seriously one of the least inspired inventories I've ever seen in a game. The one original weapon (which is quite spectacular, if not particularly deep) is almost never useable. The environments are the only exception to the rule. They are what make the game feel epic even if it is just the same shallow, yet surprisingly satisfying shooting mechanics over and over again. Un-originality aside, what really ruins Gears of War is its embarrassing excuse for a story line and dialogue. How can Video Games be respected the general public when its high-profile releases sound like they're written by... well, programmers. If you care at all about dialogue, voice acting and a coherent plot, then just turn off the sound. It's funny that in the Making of DVD, the designers talk about immersion, yet its hard to become immersed a game where the characters you're meant to sympathize with sound like badly-written teenagers in a straight to TV movie. If I could give the developers one piece of advice, it would be to hire a scriptwriter. What's the point in spending so much time crafting a visual masterpiece and not making some effort to create memorable characters and situations? Perhaps if the single-player had lasted more than 5 hours (another disappointment, as so many people have been looking forward to this game for so long) then these flaws could have been overlooked, but if I'm going to spend 70 dollars on a 5 hour game, then it better have a hell of an impact. Despite my rant, Gears of War is by no means a bad game. It's just not the masterpiece that the reviewers claim. But at this point, the game industry is young, and can't yet distinguish between an all-around classic that contributes something new and a visually stunning (not mention over-hyped) game that steals surface concepts from better games to give the illusion of having depth. Expand
  14. GuyWithGoodTaste
    May 10, 2008
    3
    This is one of the worst games I have ever played. It really says a lot about the state of the games industry when THIS game gets high marks. Repetitive, short, and just generally soul crushing. It's only redeeming aspect is the graphics, which aren't all that dazzling when they make the transition from screen shot to actual game. Gears of War is the very definition of This is one of the worst games I have ever played. It really says a lot about the state of the games industry when THIS game gets high marks. Repetitive, short, and just generally soul crushing. It's only redeeming aspect is the graphics, which aren't all that dazzling when they make the transition from screen shot to actual game. Gears of War is the very definition of mediocrity. Avoid at all costs. It's not even worth it if it's free. Expand
  15. NateB.
    Nov 10, 2006
    6
    A very very mediocre title that was way too overhyped. Like everyone else, I thought this would be the best game ever. Turns out, its just a pretty average 3rd person shooter. Kind of reminds me of black. There aren't enough explosions, the gore looks like its cel shaded or something, the wepaons are pretty lame (the chainsaw is cool except the buttons are so unresponsive you usually A very very mediocre title that was way too overhyped. Like everyone else, I thought this would be the best game ever. Turns out, its just a pretty average 3rd person shooter. Kind of reminds me of black. There aren't enough explosions, the gore looks like its cel shaded or something, the wepaons are pretty lame (the chainsaw is cool except the buttons are so unresponsive you usually die because your guy won't attack when you try to) and there is a serious drought mental challenges since everything is way too straight foward and on rails. Use cover, shoot, cover, repeat. I think that everyone is over looking this game's flaws simply because it really is a beautiful game. To say though that this game belongs in the same class as Halo 2, RE4 or Metroid Prime is an insult to those games. Just rent this game (and if you're playing co-op, be prepared to block off a lot of time because it won't save your game until you beat a chapter, maybe a couple hours long. What idiot made it so you can't save at individual checkpoints? At least divide up the levels or something) Expand
  16. BobJ.
    Nov 8, 2006
    3
    This game has been so overhyped that reviewers feel compelled to give it a good score. Excellent texturing, solid presentation. Poor, repetitive desgin with little innovation. If you are expecting a classic you will be disappointed. It is as formulaic as they come.
  17. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    4
    IT works. It lacks any major glitches. Beyond that, there is nothing to recommend this game. It is boring, repetitive, formulaic, and above all else mundane. It is the quintessential second-rate shooter, embodying all that is and can be wrong with the FPS genre. The online is boring to the point of unplayability, the offline held together simply by polish. They did what they set out to IT works. It lacks any major glitches. Beyond that, there is nothing to recommend this game. It is boring, repetitive, formulaic, and above all else mundane. It is the quintessential second-rate shooter, embodying all that is and can be wrong with the FPS genre. The online is boring to the point of unplayability, the offline held together simply by polish. They did what they set out to do, they made what they set out to make. They just forgot to make sure that goal was . . . you know . . . good. Expand
  18. Andyman
    Feb 16, 2007
    6
    Here we have yet another great example of a developer focusing 95% of its resources on visuals and the remaining 5% on gameplay, and it's painfully obvious when playing Gears of War. It definitely is pretty to look at, but its annoying combination of frustrating and dull gameplay sucks the interest right out of you. The really sad part is that the insane amount of hype for this game Here we have yet another great example of a developer focusing 95% of its resources on visuals and the remaining 5% on gameplay, and it's painfully obvious when playing Gears of War. It definitely is pretty to look at, but its annoying combination of frustrating and dull gameplay sucks the interest right out of you. The really sad part is that the insane amount of hype for this game has apparently duped 95% of the population into believing it's actually a good game, when it's barely an average one. Expand
  19. AndrewG.
    Feb 2, 2007
    6
    The graphics are truly astounding - easily the best I've ever seen in a video game. But the game is kind of boring to be honest. I had a lot of fun chainsawing enemies, but otherwise the gameplay is ho-hum.
  20. NickC.
    Feb 24, 2007
    3
    Kinda interesting, for the first few acts 1,2. Later it get boring and boring. And then you get to fight the final boss which is so easy. Then you play multiplayer and then it gets boring because there are 3 game modes. I gave it a 3 because the graphics and the characters and co-op. But in theory GoW sucks as a team-based shooter.
  21. SteveF.
    Mar 19, 2007
    4
    Sure, it looks and sounds great, but that's only skin deep. The core cover mechanic is repetitive, cumbersome and unoriginal (you're basically playing Killswitch 2), the plot is terrible and the AI seems lobotomised. Mulitplayer is fairly fun for a while but dragged down by glitches, limited modes and the same repetition of that cover mechanic.
  22. LeeG.
    Apr 4, 2007
    5
    Am I the only person who saw the advert for this game when he runs into a dark building to be confronted by a giant monster in the pitch black and started firing with his buddies. It sold the game for me that scene looked fantastic. However I never once experienced such a great looking scene in the game, totally disappointed, the game just seems to get repetitive, and I was absolutely Am I the only person who saw the advert for this game when he runs into a dark building to be confronted by a giant monster in the pitch black and started firing with his buddies. It sold the game for me that scene looked fantastic. However I never once experienced such a great looking scene in the game, totally disappointed, the game just seems to get repetitive, and I was absolutely shocked when it ended, just thought that cant be it thats halve a game surely!! however I rated it 5 because the game does have its moments. Expand
  23. LarryT.
    May 18, 2007
    5
    Only one word to describe this game...disappointing. Graphics are outstanding, a lot of the game physics and controls are oustanding, but jeezey petes the game mechanics are dull and repetitive. With all the time they spent working on the graphics, you'd think there would be some more variety in the enemies and in the weapons. What really killed the fun factor for me in this game was Only one word to describe this game...disappointing. Graphics are outstanding, a lot of the game physics and controls are oustanding, but jeezey petes the game mechanics are dull and repetitive. With all the time they spent working on the graphics, you'd think there would be some more variety in the enemies and in the weapons. What really killed the fun factor for me in this game was the whole ducking and aiming thing. Novel, yes. Fun, no. It's repetitive and frustrating. You seem to aim and shoot at an enemy's general direction and hope they fall. There isn't the skill and variation in usefulness in the weapons either. The same gun is good for the whole game. Expand
  24. TomF.
    Jul 20, 2007
    6
    Mick T, if only the people who liked the game rated it, it wouldn't really be a balanced review. Eh? Anyway, This game is overrated to the extreme. The Cover mechanic (the main thing about the game) is wonky, and there is no depth to the story. The weaponry is admittedly fun, though, especially the torque bow. The graphics are gritty and extremely detailed. The multiplayer is decent. Mick T, if only the people who liked the game rated it, it wouldn't really be a balanced review. Eh? Anyway, This game is overrated to the extreme. The Cover mechanic (the main thing about the game) is wonky, and there is no depth to the story. The weaponry is admittedly fun, though, especially the torque bow. The graphics are gritty and extremely detailed. The multiplayer is decent. It's definitely not the greatest playing game in the world, but it theoretically gets the job done,if you like slow and tedious gameplay. Often times, however, matches resort to shotgun-offs. All in all, This is a decent game that isn't worth the hype. Expand
  25. ColinG.
    Jul 8, 2007
    3
    I could not agree more with Storage Box and Jacob B. I'm glad the truth is finally starting to come out about this sad excuse for a game. This is definitely the most over-rated game I have ever played. Graphics=10/10. Gameplay=2/10. The level design is unbelievably repetitive, the A.I. is probably the worst I have ever seen and the dialogue could have been written by a five-year-old. I could not agree more with Storage Box and Jacob B. I'm glad the truth is finally starting to come out about this sad excuse for a game. This is definitely the most over-rated game I have ever played. Graphics=10/10. Gameplay=2/10. The level design is unbelievably repetitive, the A.I. is probably the worst I have ever seen and the dialogue could have been written by a five-year-old. If ever you needed definitive proof that graphics don't make a game then this is it. At least there's half decent multiplayer on XBOX live but this doesn't make up for the abysmal single player campaign. Half the budget for this 'blockbuster' must have gone into bribing reviewers to give good scores. Well, Microsoft - you can't get to me! I was fooled into buying the first game but don't expect me to buy any more Gears games - I suspect that there'll be at least one or two others following my example. P.S. I don't own a PS3, I love my 360 - I was just hugely disappointed by the poor quality of this game. Expand
  26. CamJ.
    Sep 14, 2007
    3
    I hate this game, on single player they force you to listen to stupid dialogs that you cant skip and they put it after a checkpoint so you have to hear it over again every time you die as punishment, like this game has a story anyway online its worse, the maps are stupid simple designed an its nothing but lag and noobs that either chainsaw you or just knock you in the head, the guns are I hate this game, on single player they force you to listen to stupid dialogs that you cant skip and they put it after a checkpoint so you have to hear it over again every time you die as punishment, like this game has a story anyway online its worse, the maps are stupid simple designed an its nothing but lag and noobs that either chainsaw you or just knock you in the head, the guns are useless dont bother shooting anyone, just run up to them either knock them in the head or stick a frag on them, this game is so over hyped. Expand
  27. NevilleS.
    Jan 30, 2008
    0
    This is one of those "am I playing the same game?" moments. Controls are clunky and cumbersome and unintuitive. The "training" session to get you into the game is appalling. The "multifunction" cover button never does what you want or expect - endless rolling around on the floor when you want to mantle or hide. Graphics are so greyed out and poorly defined that you can't tell team This is one of those "am I playing the same game?" moments. Controls are clunky and cumbersome and unintuitive. The "training" session to get you into the game is appalling. The "multifunction" cover button never does what you want or expect - endless rolling around on the floor when you want to mantle or hide. Graphics are so greyed out and poorly defined that you can't tell team members from foes. Plot, bad-guys, voices and weapons so cliched they may as well not exist - oh look it's THE HORDE ffs! Oh look - the baddies all look like they are from Alien. Oh look - there's a cute chick giving you instructions in your ear! Maybe the PC version is better - but having to come out of cover, twiddle endlessly with the stick to get an aim while getting shot up is DULL DULL DULL Did absolutely nothing to suck me in or make me want to play further than level one. What the hell am I missing? Expand
  28. JohnD.
    Jan 7, 2008
    6
    Dull, textureless, predictable. Graphics a symphony in grubby browns, sound tinny, gameplay based on a cover system which appears innovative for around five minutes but has nothing deeper to offer. Nothing too much wrong with it, but it's a very long way from the kind of quality you might expect given the reviews.
  29. JeffB.
    Feb 6, 2008
    1
    Two big reasons I was turned off to this game: 1)The grayed out screen had me shooting my own guys as often as the enemy because I couldn't tell them apart. 2)The most important part of the game is HIDING. What fun is a game where HIDING is the most important skill to learn? I am trying to have FUN, not learning how to duck and cover. I know that some of this needs to be involved, Two big reasons I was turned off to this game: 1)The grayed out screen had me shooting my own guys as often as the enemy because I couldn't tell them apart. 2)The most important part of the game is HIDING. What fun is a game where HIDING is the most important skill to learn? I am trying to have FUN, not learning how to duck and cover. I know that some of this needs to be involved, but this much? Very frustrating to play a game where most of it involves taking cover, and then accidentally shooting your own guys(when the cumbersome aiming allows you to actually hit anything at all). Amazed at how highly rated this game is when I see how good the other games receiving similar ratings are. And I have heard it is short too, although I will never find out myself. Glad I got it used - if I return it fast I can get decent store credit. Expand
  30. GuyGamer
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Great game, what can i say. Ppl giving 5 to this are sony/nintendo fanboys or gow haters. Do you REALLY think this deserver 5? You know 5 means that it sucks? Does it suck? No it doesnt. You think its 8 but you give it 5 because youre so stupid.
  31. HuevosBuey
    Dec 20, 2006
    4
    "whats more bad ass run up chainsaw a guy in half back up in cover frag them shot gun there face off if there close and still think its hard very orriganal" WTF does that mean??? The story mode is pretty decent, but you will finish it the day you buy it. The online play is utter crap, with the exception of the online co-op (which is the only reason I am giving this game a 4). The graphics "whats more bad ass run up chainsaw a guy in half back up in cover frag them shot gun there face off if there close and still think its hard very orriganal" WTF does that mean??? The story mode is pretty decent, but you will finish it the day you buy it. The online play is utter crap, with the exception of the online co-op (which is the only reason I am giving this game a 4). The graphics are indeed great, but so what? It takes more than graphics to make a great game. RENT this game before you buy it and form your own opinion. RENT! Expand
  32. GregD.
    Nov 10, 2007
    6
    I was hoping for something different from the usual shooter nonsense when I began this game, but I did not find it. The first act of GOW is interesting. The enemy AI is smart and aggressive; squad mates handle themselves well, thus freeing you up to perform flanking manoeuvres; and the action is quick and bloody. But from then on it becomes a typically monotonous and disappointing FPS I was hoping for something different from the usual shooter nonsense when I began this game, but I did not find it. The first act of GOW is interesting. The enemy AI is smart and aggressive; squad mates handle themselves well, thus freeing you up to perform flanking manoeuvres; and the action is quick and bloody. But from then on it becomes a typically monotonous and disappointing FPS because of bland graphics and boring maps (vaguely reminiscent of NAMCO's Sniper Elite), cliched characters and dialog, and silly weapons (torquebow and bolo-grenades) and boss battles. It is these boss battles that make GOW no different from the average Shooter. If they had been left out, the game could have flowed smoothly from beginning to end and been made interesting and enjoyable enough to replay; it will quickly collect dust on my shelf. Also, active reloading is an annoying gimmick and the duck and cover system --- clearly borrowed from NAMCO's Kill.Switch --- has a few bugs in it that can frustrate even the best of players. The only thing that really keeps one going in this game are the achievement points and searching for COG Tags, but that is not enough to justify the $60 price tag. So, rent it, borrow it, or buy it used, and use your money to buy the truly great games: Halo 3, Bioshock, Call of Duty 4. Expand
  33. JasonL.
    Nov 7, 2007
    6
    The campaign is good, I mean the story is uninspiring and the dialogue is just stupid but the gameplay it's self is very satisfying. The reason I score this low is that the campaign is pretty short and the multiplayer is one of the most broken things I have ever seen. I don't even know where to begin on how screwed up the physics are in multiplayer. Anyone reading this be warned The campaign is good, I mean the story is uninspiring and the dialogue is just stupid but the gameplay it's self is very satisfying. The reason I score this low is that the campaign is pretty short and the multiplayer is one of the most broken things I have ever seen. I don't even know where to begin on how screwed up the physics are in multiplayer. Anyone reading this be warned that the multiplayer will frustrate you. Expand
  34. DarrenMoss
    Jan 5, 2007
    1
    total rubbish for those of us that have a brain.......endless shooting at targets that are ill defined ,everything in greyscale ugh,fiddly controls that must turn on geeks like no tomorrow.who are these peaple that rate this game?...children or just those with a childs iq....halo sussed it out, a game for all generations with simple controls ,riveting story line ,clear enemies and lots oftotal rubbish for those of us that have a brain.......endless shooting at targets that are ill defined ,everything in greyscale ugh,fiddly controls that must turn on geeks like no tomorrow.who are these peaple that rate this game?...children or just those with a childs iq....halo sussed it out, a game for all generations with simple controls ,riveting story line ,clear enemies and lots of thinking required .halo 2 sadly also sufferered from over complicating the controls ,actions etc when all that was needed was a larger battlefield scenario enviroment where steath can win as well as brute force........they(microsoft ) will learn that it is the older generation that actually buy these games and just once in a while we like to play them as well ,maybe even show our children that it is not allways the best option to go in all guns blazing .fat chance in this game .apart from a few formuliaic exceptions (beserker) its just a basic shoot,em up.hyped up to the rafters...........shame Expand
  35. Serge
    Jul 25, 2007
    6
    Certainly an overrated game. The biggest disappointment was the multiplayer. Max of 4 players per team. No classes. Everyone has same weapons. Cramped maps. Graphics - gray, gray, on top of more gray.
  36. Alasdair
    Aug 23, 2007
    6
    Great game mechanics and graphics. crap story, characters etc. all a bit dumb.
  37. NoahL
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Gameplay -- Awesome!
    Story -- Awesome!
    AI -- Awesome!
    Sound -- Awesome!
    Graphics -- Awesome!
    Multiplayer -- Holy Friggin' Awesome!!!
    This game is like Crack for Gamers. Its been a long time since my fingers have hurt this much from over-gaming. If you have a 360 and don't buy this game ASAP you deserve a chainsaw through your chest!
  38. JonSteine
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    this game is the best third person shooter i have ever played. A sweet campain story. The bosses fights are so sweet that will just be saying "sweet". The chainsaw is the one of the best weapons ever having the blood spray all over the screen. but to Steve M. you are on crack and wasted and you deserve to have Marcus Felix come over to your house and chop you up with a chainsaw forthis game is the best third person shooter i have ever played. A sweet campain story. The bosses fights are so sweet that will just be saying "sweet". The chainsaw is the one of the best weapons ever having the blood spray all over the screen. but to Steve M. you are on crack and wasted and you deserve to have Marcus Felix come over to your house and chop you up with a chainsaw for saying that. Expand
  39. SeamO'Keefe
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    Honestly, I haven't had so much fun playing a game in a long time. Buy twenty copies to share with your friends. Oh, and to the people who bash this game the same way they bashed Halo just because those games were popular, go to hell. Find a better way to feel sophisticated.
  40. TimmyThompson
    Dec 12, 2006
    3
    Silky graphics... bland characters... generic game. Oh wait, CliffyB did it, 10, 10, 10, 10!

    Seriously, are people so starved for a decent XBox 360 game that as soon as shiny, legless shooter comes out every god-damn publication gives it a ridiculously high score? A lot of journalists I've talked to and heard from are actually rethinking their scores... too late, idiots.
    Silky graphics... bland characters... generic game. Oh wait, CliffyB did it, 10, 10, 10, 10!

    Seriously, are people so starved for a decent XBox 360 game that as soon as shiny, legless shooter comes out every god-damn publication gives it a ridiculously high score?

    A lot of journalists I've talked to and heard from are actually rethinking their scores... too late, idiots. You've already given this game top honours when it deserves an "honourable mention" at best. Sad.
    Expand
  41. RickyM.
    Jul 26, 2007
    4
    This game is full of stupid gimmicks that don't work. Graphics aren't that pretty, making everything dark and shiny doesn't equal good. Weapons are ridiculous and unbalanced, a machine gun with a chainsaw on it that has an attack that can't be stopped is just stupid. The whole being knocked out or whatever concept is okay, except the part where actions done to you This game is full of stupid gimmicks that don't work. Graphics aren't that pretty, making everything dark and shiny doesn't equal good. Weapons are ridiculous and unbalanced, a machine gun with a chainsaw on it that has an attack that can't be stopped is just stupid. The whole being knocked out or whatever concept is okay, except the part where actions done to you while on the ground can't be stopped. Online play is laggy and full of 12 year olds that scream about everything. Map design is either extremely simple and lazy or huge and unfocused, causing new players to get lost a lot. The one thing that makes this game not worth your time is the maneuvering system, which is an absolute joke. Whoever decided that the A button would be used for dashing and leaning against walls was a serious moron. It's not uncommon to end up stuck against multiple walls in a sticky situation because of the terrible control scheme. It's also during this that the camera reveals how bad it is and flies around like a rabid child. Online pros will stroke their e-penises and call you a noob if you complain about it, yet have a fit if it happens to them. The reloading system is a hassle and mostly makes you roll around like an idiot hoping you won't jam your weapon. Overall, the game's controls are what make this game unworthy of not only the price of an XBox 360, but of an Xbox Live subscription as well. Incredibly overhyped by critics and players alike, this game is a mistake. Expand
  42. GeraldS.
    Sep 13, 2007
    4
    I don't understand the appeal of this game. I read a dozen reviews and talked to friends, all insisting this was the second coming. I don't like multiplayer, so that could be why I wasn't impressed. Graphics are awesome, but I don't like "half games" where the actual gameplay takes second seat to cinematics. If I want a movie I'll pay 1/3 the price for one. I don't understand the appeal of this game. I read a dozen reviews and talked to friends, all insisting this was the second coming. I don't like multiplayer, so that could be why I wasn't impressed. Graphics are awesome, but I don't like "half games" where the actual gameplay takes second seat to cinematics. If I want a movie I'll pay 1/3 the price for one. I'm forcing myself to play just to finish the single player. Snore. Expand
  43. JohnB.
    Sep 23, 2007
    6
    Single player - great, as long as you play it on Hardcore and then Insane. though replayabaility is limited as you are confined to fighting in tunnels and going from A to B. Co-op - this is perhaps where the longevity lies. Multiplayer - i hated it. thought it was unbalanced with poor quality maps and the bleeding out/no respawn (pre-updates/DLC) was a huge flaw. the coding did not help Single player - great, as long as you play it on Hardcore and then Insane. though replayabaility is limited as you are confined to fighting in tunnels and going from A to B. Co-op - this is perhaps where the longevity lies. Multiplayer - i hated it. thought it was unbalanced with poor quality maps and the bleeding out/no respawn (pre-updates/DLC) was a huge flaw. the coding did not help to alleviate latency, and on many ocassions there was horrific lag. if you don't have Live, then this is a fantastic game for a single player, but if you do, and want to make sure you get as much out of the game as possible, i would suggest something like R6: Vegas or the reigning champ of Halo 2. Expand
  44. JB
    Oct 12, 2008
    6
    This game has good visual display and satisfying animations and gore etc. - but i find it vastly inferior in it supposed strength - its "innovative" cover system and game play mechanics... The game is way to clunky, slow and generally unsatisfying - with the exception of the chainsaw, I will take COD4 over this any day.
  45. TomEdwards
    Dec 8, 2008
    1
    The feeling i get from this is that, they could have done this by DLC. It feels like gears 1.5 instead of a full fledged, which is no bad thing because it's gears, but i feel as though i'm being ripped off by something that should have been a bit cheaper.
  46. WilliamJ.
    Jul 12, 2008
    6
    Gears of war is a good game, but is, from its core flawed. The gameplay is basic but changes in the short 7 hour campaign to become varyed, such as riding a vehicle or sniping enemys out. This isn't a deep game and continues to give a basic story, half explaining the full story, and then ending on a cliff hanger. It has texture pop-in, and plenty of bugs. The online is ok, but it Gears of war is a good game, but is, from its core flawed. The gameplay is basic but changes in the short 7 hour campaign to become varyed, such as riding a vehicle or sniping enemys out. This isn't a deep game and continues to give a basic story, half explaining the full story, and then ending on a cliff hanger. It has texture pop-in, and plenty of bugs. The online is ok, but it will only appeal to some becuase of the 1 life per round structure, its also a bit repetitive and has no reward system like cod 4s. The graphics are very depressing and grey. It looks to similar to UT:3, and has clearly taken huge amounts of ideas from the series.The technical side of this game is great, but is showcased in ways that try to show a limit of the hardware, instead of say Viva Pianata that has hugely origiunal charecters and artwork, all not meant to look real. All in all i hate this game but appreciate the unreal engine behind it all. Expand
  47. MiguelR.
    Jul 22, 2008
    7
    Bad single player, horrible plot, stupid characters, and an uninspired universe. The puzzles are terrible and the scripted moments suck. The shooting is the only redeeming aspect.
  48. Elim
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    This game is one of the best 360 games out and one of the best FPS i played to.People say this game is over hyped, Its no its just great on the deatil and action. They get the story easy to follow but great and suspenseful and you just want to keep playing! The array of unqie wepons are awsome and just great to use, Like the Chainsaw gun thing, It brings action and mele together,But in theThis game is one of the best 360 games out and one of the best FPS i played to.People say this game is over hyped, Its no its just great on the deatil and action. They get the story easy to follow but great and suspenseful and you just want to keep playing! The array of unqie wepons are awsome and just great to use, Like the Chainsaw gun thing, It brings action and mele together,But in the battlles i dident like the keep your head down, For Every fight you have to travel behind things for saftey and some times this can get boring but you wont really think when you are in the combat with the detail down to the bullot shell wizzing by you. The game is easy to pick and you will never put it down. The enemys have excellent AI and will now when to cover and when to attack, every enemy is hard but fun and the plans to attck them are endless, YOu can flank run in wait for then throw gernade, Then the best is you up mode to insane and play with freind and make plans and that makes its most fun. Even when your done with the enless story Multiplayer is just great! you can do vs and its better than Halo 2 multi in my words. If your going to get a FPS dont go for FEAR or GOW and even COD just pick up gears of war and you will have a great time! Expand
  49. andrewjohnson
    Nov 17, 2006
    0
    frist off im not a big first shooter fan anyway but wanted to try this game becuase it was hyped and theres not many good games for the 360 yet. the game has great graffics but it still dosent challenge the player in new and fun ways. just mindless shooting and nothing else.
  50. gamertag=smockthegreen
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    In this sequel to Gears of War 2, the core gameplay is the same but with vast improvements. The chainsaw can be brought down with a few shots, adding skill to the multiplayer whereas everyone just ran around holding "B" in Gears 2. Grenade tagging is more dangerous, and the imbalanced practice of sticking them to walls has been removed - removing some of the tension of turning a corner andIn this sequel to Gears of War 2, the core gameplay is the same but with vast improvements. The chainsaw can be brought down with a few shots, adding skill to the multiplayer whereas everyone just ran around holding "B" in Gears 2. Grenade tagging is more dangerous, and the imbalanced practice of sticking them to walls has been removed - removing some of the tension of turning a corner and encouraging more active gameplay. Overall an improvement, definitely a must-buy for any strategical shooter enthusiast. Just don't play the prequel. Expand
  51. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Gears of War is a good game with fantastic action set-pieces and an almost creepy setting, with a human colonised world being destroyed by a ground-dwelling species known as the Locust. The voice acting is great, the graphics, for its time, were spectacular, if a little drab, and the story is solid. The multi-player aspect, I never really got into, as I was always outclassed andGears of War is a good game with fantastic action set-pieces and an almost creepy setting, with a human colonised world being destroyed by a ground-dwelling species known as the Locust. The voice acting is great, the graphics, for its time, were spectacular, if a little drab, and the story is solid. The multi-player aspect, I never really got into, as I was always outclassed and obliterated by other players. The ability to do co-op campaign takes this game from a 3/5 to a 3.5/5, and defeating the final boss with my mate on the hardest difficulty setting is easily my biggest achievement in gaming so far. Expand
  52. Apr 15, 2014
    9
    Jut a fun and action packed game. Thats it. Try also the other games in the series. But the last one lost a bit on the story and just a bit weird.....
  53. Dec 5, 2010
    0
    This game is so overhyped! I can't believe how it it said to beat the ps3 exclusives or the x360 games lik Halo and Uncharted 2. But then when I look at the kind of people who find this game appealing I realise hey are the type of people who like anything. Even critics say the game has good graphics - but it doesn't! Play any ps3 exclusive like gt5, ps home, uncharted, FFXIII (I know it'sThis game is so overhyped! I can't believe how it it said to beat the ps3 exclusives or the x360 games lik Halo and Uncharted 2. But then when I look at the kind of people who find this game appealing I realise hey are the type of people who like anything. Even critics say the game has good graphics - but it doesn't! Play any ps3 exclusive like gt5, ps home, uncharted, FFXIII (I know it's not exclusive but it has great graphics), ratchet and clank etc. and you will realise how this game looks like a ps2 game. The gameplay is clunky and the controls are awkward. It sucks. Expand
  54. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    GOW by no means is a bad game but is very very overrated i just can't find the masterpiece that everybody sees, the story is boring the game play is very repetitive the characters are plain, the only good thing are the graphics for a 2006 game off course.
  55. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    oh my god iv just read a few reviews and so many stupid c***s. i bought it and haven't got live so $70 wasted who's dumb fault is that and my 4 year old younger bro had nightmares don't let him watch you play it and it wont ever be better then halo ??????? it's way better then halo as halo is boring f***ing fanboys piss off this game is great story is ace a little short yes but makes upoh my god iv just read a few reviews and so many stupid c***s. i bought it and haven't got live so $70 wasted who's dumb fault is that and my 4 year old younger bro had nightmares don't let him watch you play it and it wont ever be better then halo ??????? it's way better then halo as halo is boring f***ing fanboys piss off this game is great story is ace a little short yes but makes up the time in online multiplayer if you did enjoy this game buy gears of war 3 on september the 20th iv played the beta and it was awesome nuff said Expand
  56. Vio
    Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Gears of War is a ground breaking game in terms of graphics, and gameplay for the third person shooter genre. Graphics wise I remember seeing it the first time and thinking WOW is this ingame? Today obviously those graphics, while still good are not so much of a WOW factor when buying. Gameplay wise the cover system was brand new and I found it quite intuitive diving from cover to coverGears of War is a ground breaking game in terms of graphics, and gameplay for the third person shooter genre. Graphics wise I remember seeing it the first time and thinking WOW is this ingame? Today obviously those graphics, while still good are not so much of a WOW factor when buying. Gameplay wise the cover system was brand new and I found it quite intuitive diving from cover to cover etc and laying down fire. Of course there's also the chainsaw mounted on your gun that allows you to flay into your enemies! Did I like it? Big time yes! Expand
  57. Dec 2, 2011
    4
    One of the most overrated game I've ever played. There is fun to be had here but it's tough to enjoy with the truly awful A.I and tedious gameplay. At release, it had great multiplayer which was unfortunately full of bugs and connection issues. The only appeal this game has is the pretty (but dated) graphics and decent core gameplay and "decent" is generous.
  58. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    Gears of War (1) was amazing at it's time and is still fresh today. It's a great 3rd person shooter and this first instalment feels more like a horror/survival game, whereas it's sequels are more action orientated. The graphics and art design are superb, the music is fantastic and it's gameplay is very solid. It might drag a bit here and there and its story and characters might be a bitGears of War (1) was amazing at it's time and is still fresh today. It's a great 3rd person shooter and this first instalment feels more like a horror/survival game, whereas it's sequels are more action orientated. The graphics and art design are superb, the music is fantastic and it's gameplay is very solid. It might drag a bit here and there and its story and characters might be a bit over the top, but that's Gears. 9/10 Expand
  59. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    Standard blockbuster, big explosion, big muscles, no brains gaming come to life. Barely got through it, because it was so damn boring. The end boss was the most unimaginative bosses i have ever seen! 4 /10 Because it is payable and not broken!
  60. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    and easily one of the best games ever released. A Co-op campaign in games is something which is always requested, and rarely is it pulled off as well as Gears of War does. Halo 2's co-op campaign is the only thing which comes close to it, and even then, I feel that as the game is 3rd person, it just feels more Co-Oppy.

    Not only is the Co-op amazing, the Xbox Live Co-Op is out of this
    and easily one of the best games ever released. A Co-op campaign in games is something which is always requested, and rarely is it pulled off as well as Gears of War does. Halo 2's co-op campaign is the only thing which comes close to it, and even then, I feel that as the game is 3rd person, it just feels more Co-Oppy.

    Not only is the Co-op amazing, the Xbox Live Co-Op is out of this world... no lag, and everything streams together nicely bringing a nice feel to playing with a friend. You both see the cut-scenes at the same time and the only bug I found was the occasional texture not loading for the first 5 seconds of a chapter. Apart from that, chainsaw killing glory.

    If you have a 360, you /need/ this game, if you don't have a 360, you need to buy one
    Expand
  61. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is
    Single Player/Multi Player (2/2)

    (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player)

    Gameplay (2/2)

    Visuals/Story (1/2)

    (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (2/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (0/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  62. Aug 14, 2015
    5
    Blood, guts and beyond the human refuse, no heart, with solid controls and game-play mechanics alongside a dark and suiting artistic style. The thing that fails to accompany all this is a good narrative to which to follow upon. Making you believe the only suitable use of this game is a stress relief simulator for children with ADHD
  63. Apr 14, 2016
    7
    Gears of War is a military science fiction third-person shooter video game developed by Epic Games and published by Microsoft

    + Fun Gameplay
    + Good Cover Mechanics
    - Bad Story
    - Stupid Characters
    - Repetitive
  64. Mar 24, 2015
    0
    If you like subpar action games with lackluster story and marginal gameplay, this is for you. The online is far surpassed in the sequel causing this game to be the only stain on the Gears legacy, if there is ever a HD collection this should be substituted for Judgement.
  65. Aug 12, 2016
    1
    This game is overrated I finished this game like 5 years ago and its BOOORRRRIIING AND BLAND EVEN FOR 2005 STANDARDS EVEN SHADOW THE HEDGHOG IS A BETTER SHOOTER TEN THIS BLAND BORING FACTORY ROOM OF CRAP the controls and graphics are grea BUT THOSE DONT COUNT THE GAMEPLAY IS BLAND AND **** AND SOMETIMES NON RESPONSIVE SO I GUESS THE CONTROLS ARE BAD this game has a god kill me kinda storyThis game is overrated I finished this game like 5 years ago and its BOOORRRRIIING AND BLAND EVEN FOR 2005 STANDARDS EVEN SHADOW THE HEDGHOG IS A BETTER SHOOTER TEN THIS BLAND BORING FACTORY ROOM OF CRAP the controls and graphics are grea BUT THOSE DONT COUNT THE GAMEPLAY IS BLAND AND **** AND SOMETIMES NON RESPONSIVE SO I GUESS THE CONTROLS ARE BAD this game has a god kill me kinda story (its s **** boring) and its short and the game is to easy on hard mode and too many skills that make the game boring and when u don't use your skills THEN WHAT THE **** THE POINT OF PLAYING (I'm sorry for comfusion) in total this is a VEEEEEEERRRRRY overrated game with nothng bedsides good graphics TO OFFER!!! Expand
  66. TonyG.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    Phenomenal. Fun, intelligent, and violent.
  67. DavidR.
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Okay, first off, the controls don't suck, the people who say they suck suck. I can do everything just fine, you're just retarded. Second off, the graphics ARE all that and about 28 bags of chips. Don't listen to anyone who tells you otherwise. "The voice-acting is retarded." Of course it is! These are the big, hulking jock jerks from High School that knew nothing other than Okay, first off, the controls don't suck, the people who say they suck suck. I can do everything just fine, you're just retarded. Second off, the graphics ARE all that and about 28 bags of chips. Don't listen to anyone who tells you otherwise. "The voice-acting is retarded." Of course it is! These are the big, hulking jock jerks from High School that knew nothing other than how to play sports. These guys are DUMB. In a good way. Oh, I saw a reviewer who said that whenever you got shot, your chainsaw stopped revving. That was to make the chainsaw not a complete noob weapon, retard! You know, add some challenge? 10/10. Nothing less. Expand
  68. JD
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    Excellent graphics, best shooter game I've ever played; enjoy the 3rd-person view rather than 1st person (Halo). For those who complain about their 6 or 7 year-olds playing the game, would they let their kids watch a slasher movie? Probably not...the game is graphic, but that's what ratings are for.
  69. JosueRomero
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    this game is incredible!!! I bought it after a year it had come out... I boought this game and COD 4, and if I had a decision between the 2 I would prefer GOW , the story is immersive, and for those who just say COD 4 is better, remember this COD 4 came out a year after GOW, a lot of time to improve. and now that Gears of War 2 is coming out in 3 more days, I'm so phyched!!!! And itthis game is incredible!!! I bought it after a year it had come out... I boought this game and COD 4, and if I had a decision between the 2 I would prefer GOW , the story is immersive, and for those who just say COD 4 is better, remember this COD 4 came out a year after GOW, a lot of time to improve. and now that Gears of War 2 is coming out in 3 more days, I'm so phyched!!!! And it got a 95 from Metacritic!!! In my opinion GOW 2 is gonna rule, and COD 5 is gonna go down the toilet! Expand
  70. Jag
    Apr 1, 2008
    9
    Gears of war is a third person game. It has some brand new gameplay ideas such as the new cover system. This is somewhat realistic and keeps the game play flowing. Taking cover isn't the only advantage. You can roll, summersalt forward, and do a pretty cool backwards maneuver. All these maneuvers have their own purpose and are pretty fun to do. However like just about every other Gears of war is a third person game. It has some brand new gameplay ideas such as the new cover system. This is somewhat realistic and keeps the game play flowing. Taking cover isn't the only advantage. You can roll, summersalt forward, and do a pretty cool backwards maneuver. All these maneuvers have their own purpose and are pretty fun to do. However like just about every other game out there this game does have gameplay flaws. All the keys to survival are on one button. The A button. This button controls taking cover getting uot of cover in unique ways(like SW.A.T turn, leaping over, diving,ect, some pretty cool stuff) summersalting, dodging, sprinting the backwards maneuver. All these actions on one button can have you doing one thing when you really want to do another. For example: if you are aprothing an object and plan to use it as cover,when you hit the A button you guy could end up summersalting past it leaving you out in the open in which you will probably die. Situations like this can lead to frustration however the more you play the more you will learn to react and counter unlucky insidinses. This game has a real story with really well developed characters. The dialog is very clever at times and each of you men has their own personality. You could very well find your self liking and disliking characters for real reasons. Like you may not like the way they act or you may like the way they act. So you won't find you self liking a guy for his skill in battle or not liking him for his flaws in a fight, or at least most of the time. Which brings us to A.I. The A.I. was fairly good. Your guys will leap away from explosions, pick up other weapons and can save you life. But just because they can doesn't mean they will. They will screw up from time to time but nothing big enough to lower the score. Enemy A.I was pretty impressive. They will flank and they are pretty good shots which gives you even more of a reason to take cover. Physics were amazing. You can blow an enemy into pieces and even them the physics are great when the pieces hit the ground. Graphics were mind blowing. Everything was so detailed. Its still one of the best looking games to date even two years later. As far as weapons go this game has a fairly small but wicked deadly arsenal. When I say deadly I mean deadly. Weapons such as the sniper rifle are awesome. You can literely CAP you enemys with it. The torque bow is pretty cool. Its a bow with an exploding arrow. The Hammer of dawn and the primary weapon the Lancer, a full auto assult rifle with a chainsaw attached to the bottom. This game is really violent. From the chain sawing to the curb stomping its all satisfying. The only things that keep this from getting perfect was the gameplay flaws and I didn't like the way some of the guys acted but if you have a 360 I recommend this. It PWN3S. Expand
  71. TheBigmac
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    Best Graphics I've ever seen. Best Shooter I've ever played. and finally something fresh for us who don't lose sleep over sports games and FPS. Usualy I get motion sick with FPS, but the fact that this game is a Third Person Shooter and the controls and perfectly balanced and responsive, makes you feel you are 100% in control all the time. You feel like you're really Best Graphics I've ever seen. Best Shooter I've ever played. and finally something fresh for us who don't lose sleep over sports games and FPS. Usualy I get motion sick with FPS, but the fact that this game is a Third Person Shooter and the controls and perfectly balanced and responsive, makes you feel you are 100% in control all the time. You feel like you're really there amidst the bullets, explosions and carnage. The chainsaw is perfectly executed and I love the frequest checkpoints. This game is what all game should be about : FUN. This game rocks! Expand
  72. BenK.
    Nov 13, 2006
    7
    Its a solid shooter that is really marred by crappy AI and linear level design. The texture detail is pretty amazing though and the environments are really great to look at. Its unfortunate that the gameplay cannot live up to the standard set by the visuals.
  73. GiggensK.
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    This game is by far the best game for the 360. Yes the campaing is short but it has a high replay value and its multiplayer is by far the best ive ever played.
  74. XBOBU
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    They raised the bar for Halo 3! GoW is finally a game that not just shows off technology advancements but offers one of the best gameplay experiences ever. Even if you are tired of FPS games like I was you can't help but get into this game once you start. I spent like last 3 days playing single player to the end and I wish there was more story. GoW is a world you won't want to They raised the bar for Halo 3! GoW is finally a game that not just shows off technology advancements but offers one of the best gameplay experiences ever. Even if you are tired of FPS games like I was you can't help but get into this game once you start. I spent like last 3 days playing single player to the end and I wish there was more story. GoW is a world you won't want to leave. A milestone in gaming. Expand
  75. MattO.
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    Don't let those folks giving this game anything less than a 9 fool you: Gears of War is THE BEST title for the 360 by far! Even if you do complete the campaign level in 6 hours (which means you're playing it on the easiest level and are, therefore, a wimp), you'll definitely want to go back and beat it on the Hardcore and Insane settings. Throw in the multiplayer and your Don't let those folks giving this game anything less than a 9 fool you: Gears of War is THE BEST title for the 360 by far! Even if you do complete the campaign level in 6 hours (which means you're playing it on the easiest level and are, therefore, a wimp), you'll definitely want to go back and beat it on the Hardcore and Insane settings. Throw in the multiplayer and your search for all 30 COG Tags, and this game has tons of replay value. The graphics are sick and have to be seen to be believed! I'm a huge Oblivion fan, but Gears of War has it beat! Expand
  76. SteveM.
    Nov 14, 2006
    4
    This game was hyped way to much!!! The game is beautiful, but the game play gets boring after about an hour. Its the same thing over and over agian. No new originality. I think they focused to much on the graphics and not on the gameplay. The single player campaign is way to short and lacking in a lot of areas. I would rent this and then take it back, because once your done with it, you This game was hyped way to much!!! The game is beautiful, but the game play gets boring after about an hour. Its the same thing over and over agian. No new originality. I think they focused to much on the graphics and not on the gameplay. The single player campaign is way to short and lacking in a lot of areas. I would rent this and then take it back, because once your done with it, you wont want to play it again. Expand
  77. WallyD.
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    This game is definantly one that is an instant buy. I played through the campaign mode with a buddy of mine and we loved every second of it. The level of visual quality is perfectly paired with the level of sound quality in this game. The voice overs are awesome. The guns, enemys, enviorments, etc. all combine to help you immerse yourself to a level that was once know only by Halo. Along This game is definantly one that is an instant buy. I played through the campaign mode with a buddy of mine and we loved every second of it. The level of visual quality is perfectly paired with the level of sound quality in this game. The voice overs are awesome. The guns, enemys, enviorments, etc. all combine to help you immerse yourself to a level that was once know only by Halo. Along with the awesome online support. Co-op online, COME ON! Personally that is something I have been wanting for a long time, and boy did this game deliver. So in the end this game definantly gets a perfect score from me. Expand
  78. OverRated
    Nov 10, 2006
    7
    This game is sorely over-rated. It is the same thing over and over (hide shoot throw grenade in hole.) They mix it up a bit by stayin out of darkness. (yeah thats it) the Chainsaw is worthless because if you try running to use it your dead. You do get to use it but its not that great. The graphics are good and story is good. Its a good game don't get me wrong its just over rated. It This game is sorely over-rated. It is the same thing over and over (hide shoot throw grenade in hole.) They mix it up a bit by stayin out of darkness. (yeah thats it) the Chainsaw is worthless because if you try running to use it your dead. You do get to use it but its not that great. The graphics are good and story is good. Its a good game don't get me wrong its just over rated. It is seriously not the best game. only 8 people online and A short campaign its a mediocre game with great graphics thats it. Expand
  79. NeilV.
    Nov 17, 2006
    8
    Its really a neat game, but the game isnt long enough. My friends and I beat it so quickly...it left as asking, "Thats it???"
  80. RyanD.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    This game is awesome. Alot of folks are sayings its not innovative and its not as good as the hype but what this game is is FUN. its graphics are smoking, load times are fast, the creatures are interesting. Havnt had this much fun with a game since halo 2.
  81. KBeatty
    Nov 17, 2006
    10
    It's been a long time since I've sat in my office thinking about getting home so I can play a game. Gears has captivated me completely. There are so many standout moments along with the "best I've ever seen on a console" graphics, that this game should not be missed.
  82. Lucas_in_denver
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Thanks to Epic's "Gears of War" XBOX 360 gamers are finally getting an idea of what this game system can do! GoW is like a lethal combo of "Aliens", Predator", and "Starship Troopers" with a little "Blade Runner" thrown in for effect. The result is absolutely AWESOME!
  83. TylerW.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Excellent game with well paced action and bits of story. The roadie run has a great gritty war feel with on the fly field of view changes. The graphics are gorgeous yes, but thats not all that sells it. The level design is well done and easy to follow. Weapons are balanced. Its done 3rd person right with excellent cameras and action. A must have app for the 360.
  84. KoreyW.
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Story mode was fun. End boss was to easy to beat though. The reason I give this game a 10 is because the graphics are what you expect, same with the sound. Multiplayer is HUGE!! I'm officially finished with halo until part 3 comes out.
  85. JonnyBoy
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Great gameplay and graphics. The action is superb! They used the Resident Evil 4 aiming system and made it better. On of the best games I have ever played. Definitely a must buy for 360 owners.
  86. NateDog
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Two things to say. 1)Absolutely hands down the best game i have played all year, play it co-op it is simply amazing. 2)To anyone that says its too short, then they must have been playing it on Casual difficulty, Hardcore is exactly that, so if you do buy it - don't be a wimp, make sure to play it on Hardcore and get your money's worth!
  87. Nick
    Nov 24, 2006
    8
    Ok ok this is a very good game, but as good as Oblivion and on the same level as Halo? I don't think so. The graphics amd sound are fantastic, but i just felt the gameplay style is too repetitive. Its all about hiding behind things then jumping out to shoot some monsters then hiding again before you get shot too much - and it seems this is all you do. The last 3rd Person shooter I Ok ok this is a very good game, but as good as Oblivion and on the same level as Halo? I don't think so. The graphics amd sound are fantastic, but i just felt the gameplay style is too repetitive. Its all about hiding behind things then jumping out to shoot some monsters then hiding again before you get shot too much - and it seems this is all you do. The last 3rd Person shooter I got right into was Brute Force back on Xbox and I have to say I prefered that to G of W. Not saying that I don't enjoy this game, I just thought it was a bit overhyped. Give me Oblivion or Call of Duty 2 any day over Gears of War. Expand
  88. ProspectiveK.
    Nov 24, 2006
    2
    The controls on this game SUCK!!!!....im sorry but good graphics do not = good game.....i cant believe that no one else has stepped up to say how bad the controls are on this game.......the berserker battle is retarded....im getting killed because i cant control where my guy runs to and when i am stuck on a wall he just jumps to another one and bomb dead.......i have really tried to give The controls on this game SUCK!!!!....im sorry but good graphics do not = good game.....i cant believe that no one else has stepped up to say how bad the controls are on this game.......the berserker battle is retarded....im getting killed because i cant control where my guy runs to and when i am stuck on a wall he just jumps to another one and bomb dead.......i have really tried to give this game a chance but the controls are just not where they should be......come on this is not a game to compare to Halo....and for the record i wasnt the big of a fan of Halo but it least it was playable!!!!! Expand
  89. Mike
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    Prospective K, the controls arent hard nor are they bad, your just an idiot. The controls, once learned are fuid and easy to use. The games graphics are some of the best seen on any platform. The audio is amazing with each weapon giving off a unique sound. The multiplayer online and the co-op is alot of fun, a must buy.
  90. RogierK.
    Nov 28, 2006
    8
    After a couple of months or a year we will realize that we all just got a little overexited. Fun arcade-style game, and the best rental game if you're only in it for the single player campaign.
  91. MichaelW.
    Nov 30, 2006
    9
    Gears of War is fun every time I pick up the controller whether I'm playing co-op with a friend on the highest difficulty or going online to see if I can unlock that last achievement. The duck and cover gameplay adds realism to the combat, immersing the player, and is much smoother and easier to do than any other game I've played. Usually any glitchiness in it is due to human Gears of War is fun every time I pick up the controller whether I'm playing co-op with a friend on the highest difficulty or going online to see if I can unlock that last achievement. The duck and cover gameplay adds realism to the combat, immersing the player, and is much smoother and easier to do than any other game I've played. Usually any glitchiness in it is due to human error. The textures amaze me everytime I look at them, many of the settings look so realistic that I forget I'm sitting on a couch. The A.I. will require you think about how to kill them, especially on higher difficulties. The combat consists of small guerilla skirmishes, with multiple ways to approach and attack enemies, eliminating linear feelings and adding variety. Character developement and voice acting was fairly well done, with a small exception of the main character being a little overdone. My only complaint is that the setting of aliens emerging from the ground could have had so much potential for the combat, but was not utilized. You might also get a little lost on the plot if you don't already know something about it from their website or don't listen carefully to the cutscenes. An excellent buy for the 360 with great replayability on higher difficulties, co-op, and multiplayer. Expand
  92. Pickleman
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    "This is why I bought a X360, for games like this." GoW is "Pure beauty, Pure excitement, and Pure fun." Great game. Other developers should take notes, and quit giving us prettier ports of current gen games.
  93. UweP.
    Nov 7, 2006
    8
    An unforgettable thrill ride that was perhaps a little too forgiving and didn't feature enough explosions (after playing Company of Heroes, every game needs more explosions, right?). Regardless, it is worth buying an Xbox 360 to play this and the next Rainbow Six.
  94. Plixikwhommings
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Amazing campaign. Addicting multiplayer. way better than halo. cant wait for the downloadable content.
  95. JamesW.
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    Overall an excelent game but the horror/survival parts, while they do get your heart rate going, are more of a nusiance rather than something that enhances the game.
  96. FPSMaster
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    This game is for the most part phenomenal. The presentation is spot on, the graphics are better than any other game ever, the sound is booming, the enemy A.I. makes Halo 2's look weak and the controls are pretty tight. The friendly A.I. is the second worst part of the game as they do nothing but get themselves killed constantly and don't listen to orders. You'll numerous This game is for the most part phenomenal. The presentation is spot on, the graphics are better than any other game ever, the sound is booming, the enemy A.I. makes Halo 2's look weak and the controls are pretty tight. The friendly A.I. is the second worst part of the game as they do nothing but get themselves killed constantly and don't listen to orders. You'll numerous times go out to get them up and die yourself. The story seems to grow on you the further you play, but isn't as engaging as Halo's. Although the graphics are better than anything else ever, they have still been toned down quite a bit since May 2005 when it was first said to be running in-game and the anti-aliasing isn't running at full steam so there are quite a bit of jaggies with the occasional pop-up and texture swapping. The controls are tight, but using the A button for running AND getting behind cover was a bad design choice. You get stuck on objects when you'd rather be running and sometimes you want to get behind cover and it doesn't work at all leaving you open for death. All in all though, I have never had this much fun with a single player game. It plays like a great cross between GRAW and Halo. Kinda realistic, but not so realistic that it gets tedious like GRAW does. Now to the worst part of the game: Multiplayer. The good stuff is the multiplayer looks exactly like single player, meaning it wasn't toned down graphically like just about every other game online on the 360. Now to the bad: There are NO RESPAWNS so for those of us that don't have the time to master this game but just want to play occasionally we are screwed into sitting out most of the time. The controls don't work quite as well online, maybe because of the lag spurts, but it still hurts the gameplay. You'll get behind someone and go to use the chainsaw and nothing happens even when you aren't getting shot at or anything. Just a half animation that even your dead teamates see and say WTF? Why didn't it work? You'll also get chainsawed by someone that's 10 feet away too. Again, a lag issue. But it is to be expected with the engine pushing these graphics with 8 players all at once. Only a few of the weapons can actually kill someone, like the special ones lying around the map but USUALLY not the ones you start with, so most of the time they will only go down from regular weapons and you have to run up to them and kill them with one of your melee attacks. This kinda sucks considering throught the entire campaign these standard weapons work as they should..killing tools. The shotgun can kill someone up close online, but trying this will usually get you chainsawed. The problem with shooting someone and them only going down and not dying is that you just earned a kill and now you have to run out in the open across the map to finish them off leaving yourself vulnerable to being killed while the person you just downed gets back up. And that's how most kills work when you do it with bullets first, so I feel it was a bad design choice making it so easy for people to go down only to have the person that runs out to finish them off get chainsawed again for the 100th time. Basically though, the MP comes down to who can chainsaw who first. This is why I only give this game a 9. You see, the MP is already one of the most simplistic MP games ever, which works better than some other deeper games, but gets cheap when the whole thing comes down to the chainsaw as most of the weapons don't do enough alone. Most of the time people don't even try to play using weapons, cover and the entire map. They just run to the middle of the map and chainsaw it out or run for the sniper rifle making most matches last about 30 seconds. All in all, a great game with a phenominal single player experince I can't wait to play through again and again on the differnt difficulties. The multiplayer on the other hand feels a little thrown together and is nothing more than a showcase for the chainsaw and death animations as nothing else really ever gets you a kill except the occasional sniper rifle or torque bow and the curb stomp which is another move you have to do after downing someone leaving yourself vulnerable yet again. It's still worthy of a purchase anyway just to see it in motion. COD3's online plays better and offers plenty more options, other than the now sorely missing cover feature, but after seeing the graphics in this one COD3 looks like a last gen game making it hard to play at all. Too bad the MP is so bland and cheap in GOW or this would be an almost perfect game. Bots would have helped a lot for practice seeing as the enemy A.I. in the story is better than most human players so far and actually look for cover and don't use cheap tactics like the constant chainsaw for kills. Expand
  97. JoeP.
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    The wait for a system seller on Xbox 360 is over. This game lives up to the massive hype and is easily the best game you can buy on Xbox 360. Forget the rest go get yourself Gears of war and enter the real next generation of games. In single player, co-op or online with friends you're going to have the ride of your life.
  98. GatorB.
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    This is what I envisioned as "Next-Gen" gameplay when I bought the 360 almost a year ago. The single player mode has been a blast, and the chainsaw / rifle may go down as one of the best weapons ever created in videogame history! Can't wait to try out the multi-player co-op!
  99. TankS.
    Nov 8, 2006
    2
    Thoroughly average. Tried and tested game formula is finally getting tiring. All the separate components are nice; graphics, music but is just held back by such repetitive gameplay. I could play this again for an hour and not need to play more.
  100. SteveG.
    Nov 9, 2006
    7
    I have to admit, I fell into all the Hype about this game as well, and it has left me a bit disappointed and $60 poorer. The Graphics are very, very, very good and the sound effects are just the same. The Graphics/Artwork are what I would expect to see from a well produced comic book with "Dark" overtones. The Controls are more than ok, but not great. The maps to me are not as large as I I have to admit, I fell into all the Hype about this game as well, and it has left me a bit disappointed and $60 poorer. The Graphics are very, very, very good and the sound effects are just the same. The Graphics/Artwork are what I would expect to see from a well produced comic book with "Dark" overtones. The Controls are more than ok, but not great. The maps to me are not as large as I expected them to be. To me this game is very reminiscent to KillZone for the PS2, but with better graphics. The real downfall to this game is the Very Limited number of players while playing Online (that is of course you can get online because of the connection problems!). The Online maps are Small compared to the largeness of the Caricatures and scenery. Maybe that's why they only allow a Total of 8 players. 4 on each team. So, you run around wildly while blasting away at your opponent. Hmmm Not much fun after about 15 minutes of that. So kids, that's why I rated this game as I did. I have to say, I wished I didn't open the game so I could take it back to where I bought it. Yours Truly xSkullnBonesx Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 90
    The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.