User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2114 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    Great game. I hate FPS so this comes as a surprise to me. I wasn't even going to pick this up, but after read the reviews and watching it played at local game store, I figured it was worth a try (hell, I can always sell it for nearly what I paid on ebay this early anyway...). Serioulsy good game. I hate FPS, just played them all to death years ago, but this one is different. Great game. I hate FPS so this comes as a surprise to me. I wasn't even going to pick this up, but after read the reviews and watching it played at local game store, I figured it was worth a try (hell, I can always sell it for nearly what I paid on ebay this early anyway...). Serioulsy good game. I hate FPS, just played them all to death years ago, but this one is different. It's not a FPS since you see behind your avatar ala Resident Evil 4 for example. They added a dodge/hide behind cover element to the gameplay that works really well. Plus, the multiplayer support is incredible - I can hop into my buddies campaign/solo game anytime at any point via xboxLive. All games should do it this seemlessly. Expand
  2. danwong
    Nov 20, 2006
    7
    Hmm, yes excellent graphics - pretty linear gaming though, great sound, good (though over used) cover system, repetitive. Single player and co-op worth a rental, but on-line is no where as fullfilling as cod3. As a matter of fact on line in perfect dark zero is 5 times better. All in all disappointing, I expected something special, but it's nothing we've not seen before gameplay wise.
  3. DLMcK
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Forget these people who seem to have an agenda when bad-mouthing this game. It is one of the most fun and one of the most gorgeous games I have ever seen or played. The hours can melt away before you even know it when this one is in the console.
  4. Ek-oDudley
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    The only problem with the game is the campaign is VERY short. But its good enough to play numerous times. Great Game!
  5. MarkH.
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    This game is awsome, what other title lets your freinds play your campaign over live at any point with you co-op so exciting.
  6. Valg.
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    This is by far the best game on the Xbox 360. The graphics, sound, gameplay, originality, innovation are simply the best. Gears of War = the greatest game EVER on any console. The only other game i consider to be this good is Resident Evil 4 for the Gamecube. But Gears of War tops that game as well. This game is worth every penny, and then some!
  7. AramisG.
    Nov 22, 2006
    7
    It is just ok (fun and looks great). However, the entire game suffers from lack of variation, and it is short to boot. There is barely a variation in enemies or weapons. The music is sometimes inappropriate for what is actually happening on screen. There is even a pompous little inscription in the booklet about what the designer of GOW feels makes a next generation game, "next It is just ok (fun and looks great). However, the entire game suffers from lack of variation, and it is short to boot. There is barely a variation in enemies or weapons. The music is sometimes inappropriate for what is actually happening on screen. There is even a pompous little inscription in the booklet about what the designer of GOW feels makes a next generation game, "next generation". In the end I hope publishers really start considering other methods of creating "next generation" games, other than amazing graphics. In a year this game will be forgotten history. Expand
  8. RedRose
    Nov 23, 2006
    6
    Great graphics but typically bland and unoriginal xbox gameplay.
    **AS USUAL EDGE GETS IT RIGHT AND DOESN'T BUY INTO THE HYPE. READ THE EDGE REVIEW FIRST BEFORE BUYING. LOOK AT ALL THEIR REVIEWS. THEY HARDLY EVER GIVE ABOVE 9 UNLIKE MOST REVIEWERS WHIO THROW 9'S AND 10'S ABOUT LIKE THEY ARE GOING OUT OF FASHION.**

    Buyer beware.
  9. ItsKapuder
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    PLEASE READ TO THE END to find out why I am rating this game a 15 rather than a well deserving 9. I have one question. Why so many 9 and 10s, very few 6,7, or 8s. And then a multitude of 4 and 5s from the likes of Steve M., Bryan M., Cliff B., Eric S. and Anthony V.? What is wrong with you people? I can understand not thinking that the game is that outstanding, but just because youPLEASE READ TO THE END to find out why I am rating this game a 15 rather than a well deserving 9. I have one question. Why so many 9 and 10s, very few 6,7, or 8s. And then a multitude of 4 and 5s from the likes of Steve M., Bryan M., Cliff B., Eric S. and Anthony V.? What is wrong with you people? I can understand not thinking that the game is that outstanding, but just because you say the game is way overhyped, it doesn't warrant you giving it ratings of 4 and 5. And lets not even start with Bob J. and Tank S.. A 2 and a 3 rating! Did you actually put the game into the xbox 360 and pick up a controller.
    Ok the game may not be perfect, but it is far beyond anything ever played on a console system so far. The gameplay is supurb, the graphics are steller, and the sound definately sets the mood. Now, for Eric S. to say "Despite my rant, Gears of War is by no means a bad game. It's just not the masterpiece that the reviewers claim" and then rate it a 5, well we have a problem here. Why would you rate it a 5 if it was not a bad game. Does not make sense to me. And he is not alone.
    So, to conclude with my review, the game does deserve a 9 or possibly a 10, but to get back at those ignorant fools for rating it a 4s and 5s, not mention the 2s and 3s, I will gladly say this game is a 15! A must buy game that absolutely makes the system a next gen console. So much for Tank S. telling us its average and then rating it a 2. See what I mean????
    Expand
  10. ChrisG.
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    What an absolutely incredible game. Aside from a few minor control issues, especially in the "roadie run" mode, Gears blew me away. I have never, ever finished a game and immediatly started over on the same night until I played this. Replay value is perhaps the highest I've ever experienced. The storyline is almost cinematic, and the visuals are sublime. If this doesn't win game What an absolutely incredible game. Aside from a few minor control issues, especially in the "roadie run" mode, Gears blew me away. I have never, ever finished a game and immediatly started over on the same night until I played this. Replay value is perhaps the highest I've ever experienced. The storyline is almost cinematic, and the visuals are sublime. If this doesn't win game of the year It will surprise a lot of people. Now I know why I chose Xbox 360 over PS3 - Microsoft knows how to build original shooters. Expand
  11. G.Camel
    Nov 25, 2006
    5
    This game is way over hyped. Yes, it looks good, but it is now Halo Killer. The game movement could be a lot better. You stick when you want to dive and dive when you are trying to stick to a wall. AI is stupid at times and the cursing is not really necessary. We all know what to say by now when we die and don't need to hear it in the game. This was really gradtuitous. I would This game is way over hyped. Yes, it looks good, but it is now Halo Killer. The game movement could be a lot better. You stick when you want to dive and dive when you are trying to stick to a wall. AI is stupid at times and the cursing is not really necessary. We all know what to say by now when we die and don't need to hear it in the game. This was really gradtuitous. I would recommend a rental, do not buy.Peace. Expand
  12. NateS.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    Excellent graphics, game-play, and multiplayer. Weapon balance, ally and enemy AI, and audio are pure perfection.
  13. SionH.
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    Awesome game the story line is good (not great) the single player is fun and exciting and the multiplayer is generally challenging and fun I played this game and it surprised me how good it was.
  14. KeironG.
    Nov 27, 2006
    5
    Very average kind of game, the graphics are beautiful though and there are some interesting twists but all being said it is over hyped as has already been mentioned. Someone recommended this to me over call of duty 3, im glad i got Call of Duty 3 first, for all that games faults its currently holding more for me in terms of playability than this game is.
  15. CodyW.
    Nov 28, 2006
    4
    Ok the stroy was to short, it didn't even look like a war zone I counted 6 to 8 bots at once the bots can get exstreamly dumb every is grading this game on graphic there was no need to even pick up sniper or gernade gun in campain it was to easy with starting gun and there was only 4v4 online and couldent sign in 4 freinds oflfline its only good because it graphics are amazing I will Ok the stroy was to short, it didn't even look like a war zone I counted 6 to 8 bots at once the bots can get exstreamly dumb every is grading this game on graphic there was no need to even pick up sniper or gernade gun in campain it was to easy with starting gun and there was only 4v4 online and couldent sign in 4 freinds oflfline its only good because it graphics are amazing I will admit that but its not worth 50 dollors. Expand
  16. DWillett
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Oooo buddy the graphics will melt your face.
  17. MassiveShockJ.
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    A must buy for those who are holding out for an Xbox360 (or waiting for the uber expensive PS3), or better yet get this game now and play it! Truly next gen game. Campaign mode is somewhat short, but if you crank up the difficulty level, might take days to finish. Not your typical run and gun third-person shooter, you need to think and outwit the smart A.I., because you will always find A must buy for those who are holding out for an Xbox360 (or waiting for the uber expensive PS3), or better yet get this game now and play it! Truly next gen game. Campaign mode is somewhat short, but if you crank up the difficulty level, might take days to finish. Not your typical run and gun third-person shooter, you need to think and outwit the smart A.I., because you will always find yourself in a tight situation all the time. Multiplayer is where it shines, fun and addicting, and satisfying after you bash a downed enemy in the head to humiliate their ego after being defeated. A must have title to own in you collection. Expand
  18. RedXIII
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    Very nice! This game is an excellent third person shoot, resident evil 4 anyone? single player is awesome, points of terror, points of all out fire fights. The mutliplayer is having some issues with not letting people connect, but the games I have played have been fun, a very well made game, that actually lives up to the hype surronding it.
  19. ThomasM.
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    Best game since the Halo franchise. I had severe doubts about this game, and figured it could just be another over-hyped flop, like Brute Force was a few years ago, which was also hyped up to be "The next Halo". There's so many amazing things in Gears of War that I don't really know where to start. Single player is a lot of fun, and the ability to invite someone to co-op with Best game since the Halo franchise. I had severe doubts about this game, and figured it could just be another over-hyped flop, like Brute Force was a few years ago, which was also hyped up to be "The next Halo". There's so many amazing things in Gears of War that I don't really know where to start. Single player is a lot of fun, and the ability to invite someone to co-op with you at any time over xbox live is a real plus. Multiplayer is definitely the most fun I've had in a long time. The game modes are great, the weapons are very well balanced, and the cover system adds so much to the gameplay. Best next-gen game so far. With the best graphics too (looks beautiful on my 1080p hdtv). If you own a 360 there's no excuse not to have this game. So go pick it up and enjoy. Expand
  20. EricD.
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    Well, I'm giving this game a 10 simply because it's my new favorite of all time. I love it. At first, I started playing and was like...okay, the graphics are beautiful but am I really going to love it? It grows on you. Sweet gameplay in single-player, co-op and multiplayer! When you start playing in the cover system, it is sooo much fun. Always stick with a squadmate!
  21. TroyH.
    Nov 9, 2006
    10
    This game is genius, an amazing 3rd person shooter. The idea of a chainsaw bayonet is insane,blood and gore is used perfectly. This game is a 10 of 10.
  22. SeanJ.
    Nov 9, 2006
    7
    I, like Steve G,wish I never opened it and could return it. The games is great if you are new to gaming but this a boring game where you do the same thing on each board. The graphics are great and so is the sound but the plot is weak. I was bored in the first half hour of it. My biggest problem is with the dead bodies of the enemies they seem not to have any mass. Meaning if you kick or I, like Steve G,wish I never opened it and could return it. The games is great if you are new to gaming but this a boring game where you do the same thing on each board. The graphics are great and so is the sound but the plot is weak. I was bored in the first half hour of it. My biggest problem is with the dead bodies of the enemies they seem not to have any mass. Meaning if you kick or walk by one it will go sliding across the floor. If they had a working Demo I probably never have bought it. Expand
  23. KevinC.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    awesome game, im a pc gamer myself but the ability to revive your buddy is just an awesome coop feature!...HELLUVA GAME..well done!
  24. RalphX.
    Dec 12, 2006
    0
    This game was way too overhyped, and I am mad that I tricked myself into thinking I would like it. The game first of all doesn't have as good graphics as people said, maybe about low Xbox quality. The game is real short. The game is copying Syphon Filter in the terrain cover thing they use, so it isn't inovative. 3rd person shooters are always worse than 1st person shooters. The This game was way too overhyped, and I am mad that I tricked myself into thinking I would like it. The game first of all doesn't have as good graphics as people said, maybe about low Xbox quality. The game is real short. The game is copying Syphon Filter in the terrain cover thing they use, so it isn't inovative. 3rd person shooters are always worse than 1st person shooters. The game was boring and repetitive the second I started playing and the multiplayer I hated after my first game, because it is really boring, and lame. Overall the game just isn't worth $60 of even $20, and I think it is terrible. Expand
  25. JaceN.
    Dec 13, 2006
    6
    Well here it is...the kingpin title weve all been waiting for...the game that influenced how much RAM was built into the 360...and universally considered critic-proof........unfortunatly I don't play by those rules! Gears of War starts well enough, youve got a slightly off the right shoulder third person camera, a cover system and lots of urban wasteland to fight big monster Well here it is...the kingpin title weve all been waiting for...the game that influenced how much RAM was built into the 360...and universally considered critic-proof........unfortunatly I don't play by those rules! Gears of War starts well enough, youve got a slightly off the right shoulder third person camera, a cover system and lots of urban wasteland to fight big monster musclemen in and around...but then things get frustrating! Control pad action just isn't translated into onscreen response properly, the chainsaw on the end of your weapon has the idiotic design flaw of switching off if you take a hit...after a few stops & starts you just give up and shoot your would-be saw-ee...left with him riddled with holes instead of being cut in two pieces and you wondering why you bothered trying the saw in the first place...your characters "off & on" cover context always has him leaping out into dead mans land instead of ducking behind cover when you needed him not to the most...the "Avioding Krill" and "Leading Berserker" minigame mechanics feel so out of place and stupid...your teammates care little for their own safety...one time youre given 30 seconds to cross a courtyard filled with enemies to reach an APC or its game over...you might be able to cheese it and just roll & run your way there but had it been 1 minute instead it might have been acceptable...and the outdated and stale checkpoint system has you re-re-re-re-doing sections countless times just because one Theron Guard got lucky with his explodey bow shot. So overall you either love it or hate it..I hate it...the score is for workmanships sake as the game (where applicable) is built quite solidly! But unless your some knd of gaming genius youre going to find little fun in this game...and more anger than your could possibly imagine! Expand
  26. EricT.
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    Don't listen to all the negative reviews here. This is one of the best games I've ever played. With a single player (and co-op!) campaign that's even better than halo's (YES, I SAID IT) and a very very good multiplayer/online section of the game, this game is a must buy for anybody who's a fan of any kind of shooter. The option to turn off extreme content is also Don't listen to all the negative reviews here. This is one of the best games I've ever played. With a single player (and co-op!) campaign that's even better than halo's (YES, I SAID IT) and a very very good multiplayer/online section of the game, this game is a must buy for anybody who's a fan of any kind of shooter. The option to turn off extreme content is also a must-have for someone with a family of younger eyes (see what the chainsaw or a headshot does, then you'll understand) Expand
  27. JohnS.
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Normally, I can't stand game hype, the same that I can't stand movie hype. It just flat out sours the game/movie for me. However, I got caught up in the Gears hype 10 minutes after turning the game on. The time and work that went into this game is tremendous, and it should definitely be on every "Best Of..." list that you find. Quite simply, the game is a masterpiece, oneNormally, I can't stand game hype, the same that I can't stand movie hype. It just flat out sours the game/movie for me. However, I got caught up in the Gears hype 10 minutes after turning the game on. The time and work that went into this game is tremendous, and it should definitely be on every "Best Of..." list that you find. Quite simply, the game is a masterpiece, one that does something no other game has done (or even tried to do): recreate the gritty, visceral emotions of actually being in a firefight.
    I could go on and on about the graphics, so I won't. suffice it to say, they rule in the way that Resident Evil 4 ruled last year on the GameCube. No other developer has sucked this much juice out of the 360 to date--if this is what Epic can do after two years or so of work, what are they going to do after three or four?
    The cover mechanic is not only well designed, but it works great for those who take the time to strategically plan stuff out. Thankfully, being a huge Metal Gear Solid fan, I'm one of those types. Basically, if you play this game like you play Halo 2, it will murder you. The run mechanic is also solid--I'm loving the camera while you run--a shaky, cameraman-is-running-with-you floor shot. It's not much, but it does so much for the game in the way of pacing and building tension.
    However, it's not totally flawless. The game falls victim to one of my biggest pet peeves about video games today--the plot of the single player campaign just isn't explained at all. Stuff happens in the game that leaves you saying things like, "Who's that?" "Why did that happen?" "Where are we going?" and so on. It couldn't be that hard to insert a title crawl (Star Wars style) to fill people in on the backstory, could it? Also, I'd like to see more online modes and content in the future.
    But the fact is that Gears does everything else so well that it charms you. It's so easy to get sucked in that you're willing to overlook that stuff and just hope that they fix it for Gears 2. With solid gameplay, you can take over the world, and Gears proves that ten times over. Add in great pacing and plenty of memorable gaming moments (the fight at the end with RAAM is really good), this is the best non-Zelda console game you'll play all year.
    Expand
  28. GoukiJ.
    Dec 20, 2006
    7
    What
  29. AnonA.
    Dec 25, 2006
    6
    Dissapointing and repetitive gameplay. I can tell you the next 6 hours of gameplay and 4 steps 1)press A to duck or hide 2) Shoot 3) run and hide again 4) Repeat
  30. MattS.
    Dec 25, 2006
    9
    Gears of War is worth the money purely for the graphics. They're just that good, and reassure the console owner who is wondering if the money on spent on a xbox 360 will end up being worth it. But beyond the pretty face, the game is very solid. The cover system isn't completely revolutionary, but the fact that the game is built from the ground up with the use of cover in mind Gears of War is worth the money purely for the graphics. They're just that good, and reassure the console owner who is wondering if the money on spent on a xbox 360 will end up being worth it. But beyond the pretty face, the game is very solid. The cover system isn't completely revolutionary, but the fact that the game is built from the ground up with the use of cover in mind is. There are ample places to hide in mutliplayer and due to the layout of the maps flanking an enemy becomes very important. The guns are solid and fun to use, and there is hilariously absurd amounts of gore everywhere. Gibbing someone with a shotgun to the face has never been so satisfying, and really, thats the feeling an action game should aim for. Gears of War isn't a perfect ten, however, due to it's short campaign and lack of multiplayer maps and modes. It would also be nice if the matchmaker system was as innovative as the gameplay - as of now, its no better than Halo's. Ah, but those are only minor problems. Gears of War is defiantly worth your money. Expand
  31. Novi4ekNone
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    good game
  32. NathanE.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Hype has the potential to ruin games, it almost ruined Halo 2 for me, because Halo 2 did not live up. This one does.
  33. MarcComeau
    Dec 27, 2006
    7
    first off compair this to halo i thought halo was shit i thought that game was retarted neways some things are bad about the game it is short graphics are amazing its a very fun game yet to play online i rented it first and then i bought it this is one of best games for 360 and the people who gave less then a 7 on this must like crappy games no affence its a very good game
  34. James
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    This game, as the developers are called, is truly Epic. The cover mechanics, the strategies required, the immersity of it, the fun, laughter and tears you will have with this game, will be truly unforgettable. If you do not have this game, I suggest you buy it NOW! Have fun killing Locust! See ya on live!
  35. JustinZ.
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    This game is utterly insane. The graphics get a 10, the sounds get an 8, the gameplay 8, a 7 for originality, and 6 for the story. (but who cares about the story, anyways?). In bombed out inviroments that restrict your ability to go anywere, the game compansates by leting you interact with the invioment you CAN reach. Blind firing from behild a fallen pillew is awsome and new. The in-game This game is utterly insane. The graphics get a 10, the sounds get an 8, the gameplay 8, a 7 for originality, and 6 for the story. (but who cares about the story, anyways?). In bombed out inviroments that restrict your ability to go anywere, the game compansates by leting you interact with the invioment you CAN reach. Blind firing from behild a fallen pillew is awsome and new. The in-game talking is snappy, rude, and funny. The sound are coll, a bit repedative, but still sound good. It's alittle annoying how the game never gets in-depth about how the locusts are being made, or even what planet you are on relative to earth. Confusing? I think so. Forgeting the sparce storyline, the graphics were killer. Literaly. The inviorment was nice and detailed, and there werent any spots where you could get stuck or small little bits of rubble that were uncrossable. As the the gun effects, the were cool, but not neccesarly orriginal. (which guns are, now-adays?). The coolest feature of this game were the chainsaw and stuffing-a-live-grenade-into-his-chest features. Summing up. The game was funny, awsome to play (who doesnt like cutting things in 1/2 w/ a chainsaw), and scared the crap out of me. Good job, Epic Games, for makinging this awesome third person shooter. Expand
  36. JohnQ.
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    I bought the PS3 with Resistance: Fall of Man and Madden. I also bought Gears of War. There is no comparison - Gears of War is amazing and much better than the disappointing Resistance. I have never seen better graphics or atmosphere. PS3 is a big let down. Gears of War is the real next generation. People should stop comparing it to the masterpiece of Halo as well. Completely different I bought the PS3 with Resistance: Fall of Man and Madden. I also bought Gears of War. There is no comparison - Gears of War is amazing and much better than the disappointing Resistance. I have never seen better graphics or atmosphere. PS3 is a big let down. Gears of War is the real next generation. People should stop comparing it to the masterpiece of Halo as well. Completely different games and different times. Expand
  37. CharlesI.
    Dec 6, 2006
    8
    Loved the game, absolutely loved it. The only complaint I have for it is that it is difficult to want to play it again, even with multiplayer mode.
  38. AllistairP.
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    I had recently purchased a Wii with all the most wanted titles, and had an overall alright experience with it (as you can read from my other reviews on this site). Last night I traded my Wii for a 360 and Gears of War, as I heard from many it is one of the best gaming experiences they have ever had. After playing this game for 3 hours with my brother on co-op, I must join in the hype. I had recently purchased a Wii with all the most wanted titles, and had an overall alright experience with it (as you can read from my other reviews on this site). Last night I traded my Wii for a 360 and Gears of War, as I heard from many it is one of the best gaming experiences they have ever had. After playing this game for 3 hours with my brother on co-op, I must join in the hype. This is one of the best gaming expierences I have ever had. Just seeing true next gen graphics (in 1080!!!) with such fun gameplay (OH YES CO-OP!!) is awesome. This is what we all dreamed of Contra becoming someday, and I haven't been this blown away by a game/system since I got a Dreamcast with Soul Calibur II 6 years ago. Amazing! If you even doubt the Wii is for you, sell it and buy this. It's worth every penny. No regrets. Expand
  39. MarkP.
    Dec 9, 2006
    9
    Gears of War is absolutely the best looking game I've ever seen in my life. While you can find more realistic character models in Fight Night Round 3 and Table Tennis, the amount of detail on the entire screen at any given time is jaw-dropping. Now, don't bet me wrong... the character models are still definitely up there amongst the best in any game. But the textures, the Gears of War is absolutely the best looking game I've ever seen in my life. While you can find more realistic character models in Fight Night Round 3 and Table Tennis, the amount of detail on the entire screen at any given time is jaw-dropping. Now, don't bet me wrong... the character models are still definitely up there amongst the best in any game. But the textures, the animation, the smoke, the dust, the "destroyed beauty" in this game is like nothing you've ever seen in a game. The controls are outstanding. There is a learning curve and there have been a couple of times I've been frustrated but once you get the hang of them, you'll be rocking it like the pros. The cover system is so smooth and useful and the active relaod system is one of the best creations for a shooter in recent times. Way to go Gears of War... you've made my 360 my best friend. Expand
  40. JonB.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    This game does everything right. From the first moment you exit your jailroom, seeing the face of your mate Dominique Santiago, you know this ll be a thrilling experience. And it is. Gears of war offers you great graphics, even grater gameplay and a better story then the other comments on this site suggest. The only shortcoming Epic coudnt evade, is that the game only takes you 7 hours of This game does everything right. From the first moment you exit your jailroom, seeing the face of your mate Dominique Santiago, you know this ll be a thrilling experience. And it is. Gears of war offers you great graphics, even grater gameplay and a better story then the other comments on this site suggest. The only shortcoming Epic coudnt evade, is that the game only takes you 7 hours of gameplay on Hardcore-modus. But then again, you'll restart, to kill one of those Berserkers on Insane-modus, or to just run throught the game with one of your friends, enjoying the great split-screen mode. Gears of War is what I call a Testosteron Game: you feel like a little boy, who just has seen ninja turtles on telly, and imitates all their moves on the school's playground. Another example of a game that makes you feel like this, is PS2's God of War. God of War, Gears of War: both of them are superb. So run to the neares gameshop en ask for Epic's Testosteron Game! Expand
  41. BloodSoakedHell
    Jan 11, 2007
    9
    Firstly this game is not perfect but giving it 0 points because it is not Halo 2 is asinine. Anyone that makes that statement is not an avid gamer and most likely only owned Halo 2 for the previous console. Secondly giving it 0 because it gave you 4 year old brother nightmares is just moronic. The fact that you play mature 17+ game in front of a small child is only a credit too yourFirstly this game is not perfect but giving it 0 points because it is not Halo 2 is asinine. Anyone that makes that statement is not an avid gamer and most likely only owned Halo 2 for the previous console. Secondly giving it 0 because it gave you 4 year old brother nightmares is just moronic. The fact that you play mature 17+ game in front of a small child is only a credit too your stupidity as well. Okay, now for my review. This game is fast paced and gorgeous. Initially the control scheme seemed a tad akward, but learning it was quick and rewarding. The game does have some graphical hiccups here and there, I believe this is similar to the system used in Halo 2 to reduce loading screens. Online is where this game really shines. People can really sneak up on you & the paranoia factor is through the roof. Definitely give this one a try, unless youre sleeping with a master chief stuffed doll or have a house full of small children! =P Expand
  42. ZiftK.
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    A 9.5 to say the least. From the graphics, to the slick cover system. I have yet to try the multi player, and I'm sure it's the just the icing on the Cake. Gears is pure fun weather it being alone, yelling to someone next to you, or playing online with your buddies, it's all here, in one package. Gears is the fuel for your 360.
  43. JoeB.
    Jan 18, 2007
    0
    Not a great game like everyone says. Way too short. Online play isn't too good. This game gets a 0 because of the over-hype!
  44. NathanT.
    Jan 21, 2007
    9
    It is a great game overall, lots of shooting, plenty of gore makes it fun. The only problem with the game though is for people who like playing games like Halo and Half-Life have some getting used to for you can't just run out into the open and start killing things.
  45. DannyS.
    Dec 31, 2007
    10
    By far the best campaign mode in a game on X360! Gorgeous graphics, sound, and gameplay!!
  46. CashA.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Move over Halo, this is the best game on the Xbox 360. 10/10 for a third person shooter, Halo 3 deserves a 9/10. The excellent campaign for MULTIPLAYER is the ultimate experience.....and it FEELS so good you won't stop playing. GEARS OF WAR 2 is the only thing that can top this!
  47. KevinE.
    Jan 27, 2007
    1
    To be honest I enjoyed the game...really I DID but then after my 6th go around it started to remind me of doom 3 and HL2. What really let me down is that the controls were hard to get used to and the AI sucked (not alot but enough to make me hate).
  48. ChrisH.
    Jan 29, 2007
    9
    This game was great but very short. To me it got very repetitive at times. The online however makes up for this completely. there isn't much more fun then chopping another guy in half with a chainsaw! Buy this game if you have Xbox Live... and if you don't... well... rent it or go out and buy Xbox live because without Xbox Live your missing out big time.
  49. ChokQ.
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    The one player is short but if you have Xbox Live its so fun. Halo is a great game but Gears it a lot more team work and strategy.
  50. JamesA.
    Feb 19, 2007
    8
    Great, online co-op fun, online verses is repetive, few not fun weapons, online verses repetive, and rent before owning
  51. NikM.
    May 21, 2007
    7
    Perfect in nearly every way, but i dont know what was up, i didnt love it. Its just my opinion.
  52. Bryank
    May 29, 2007
    5
    frist off if someone said this stop me but the game is rated M so no shit it is going to have bloddy and gore Shawn O. you must have bought the game for your kid other wise he would not have it. so don't gi ve it a bad review just because u are dumb and don't look at the box to see if it is ok for you kids. it's you fault.
  53. JakeS.
    May 31, 2007
    10
    It's simple. More gaming sites gave this title Game of the Year honors than any other game. It is easily the best game released last year, with Oblivion and Zelda not far behind. I've played countless online matches and it never gets old. Most people that don't like this game aren't good at it and never do get it. The online operates under a totally unique set of It's simple. More gaming sites gave this title Game of the Year honors than any other game. It is easily the best game released last year, with Oblivion and Zelda not far behind. I've played countless online matches and it never gets old. Most people that don't like this game aren't good at it and never do get it. The online operates under a totally unique set of rules. The weapons, levels, cover, diving, melee, and everything about it makes it a very unique experience. There are so many strategies for taking on the same enemies in the same levels. This isn't your run around the corner and shoot at them meat head game. This thing is very sophisticated once you figure it out. Every weapon can be used with multiple strategies and in different situations. And you can take it from a very good Halo, GRAW, R6V, Gears, Goldeneye, Counterstrike, Battlefield, and Unreal player. I've played most shooters out there. This one isn't the best, but it is damn good and damn unique. I am mostly raving about the multiplayer. Co-op is fun. But the single player by itself isn't that great. It is because it is visually stunning and challenging on higher difficulty. The online is where it's at, though. HDTV + Surround + online Gears multi = Game of the Year. The people giving bad reviews here either suck at the game, didn't like it because it isn't familiar, or are simply lame-ass Sony fanboys. Expand
  54. JacobB.
    Jun 14, 2007
    7
    I know alot of you fans out there will probably hate me and call me too picky or arrogent, but i gave this game I chance and it was not what I expected. I rented this game after finally deciding to
  55. MickT.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    I don't understand some people. Why do people even bother commenting, or even looking at this page if they hate the game. I personally think it was great. Although the story mode wasn't what I had expected, the game was pretty good. Like Rob said, all the characters have their own personalities, and looks. I thought it was a pretty believable story. The multiplayer is fantastic. I don't understand some people. Why do people even bother commenting, or even looking at this page if they hate the game. I personally think it was great. Although the story mode wasn't what I had expected, the game was pretty good. Like Rob said, all the characters have their own personalities, and looks. I thought it was a pretty believable story. The multiplayer is fantastic. It's actually a challenge. And awesome gametypes like Assassination. It's something new. It may not have CTF and like Oddball for all you Halo fanboys. Instead you get a whole new multiplayer experience. Not to say the Halo series consists of bad games. I actually enjoy them. But I find this game much more fun then the old choppy Halo gameplay. This game is something totally new in the military gaming atmosphere. Think about it. It's got great MULTIPLAYER gameplay (I basically bought it for that, because the story mode sucks), good graphics, and a gothy military side to it. Something other FPSs don't have. eevrything else is all happy bunny atmosphere- ish stuff. So don't call me a fanboy because you love Halo ever so much. And this is just MY opinion. So don't spazz because I wrote some negative points about Halo and other games. Expand
  56. MaxD.
    Sep 22, 2007
    1
    This game sucks. the story sucks, the game is incredibly easy becuse the enemies are all basicly the same. the worst part was the acual gameplay, which seems fun and inventive... for the first five minutes. Once youv'e played the first level, you might as well have beat the game.
  57. DavidF.
    Sep 24, 2007
    7
    Great graphics, and exhilerating single player and co-op make it worth the purchase, but the lack of any real story, and the buggy multiplayer taint the experience.
  58. PhilipH.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    A solid 10. This is an extremely rare rating for me, but this game deserves it. It's more of a gaming experience than a mere game. I personally don't even like FPSs that much, but this game had me hooked with my blood pumping and heart pounding the whole way through. Excellent weapons, bosses, graphics, cutscenes - and outstanding co-op play. The duck and cover and action A solid 10. This is an extremely rare rating for me, but this game deserves it. It's more of a gaming experience than a mere game. I personally don't even like FPSs that much, but this game had me hooked with my blood pumping and heart pounding the whole way through. Excellent weapons, bosses, graphics, cutscenes - and outstanding co-op play. The duck and cover and action re-load systems were innovative and impressive as well - they make the game very intense and engaging. Expand
  59. MikeS.
    Nov 23, 2008
    5
    I was not impressed at all. The storyline was trite and boring, and silly at times. The game play was average, there was nothing "innovative" about it. I caught myself yawning during all of the boss fights--shoot here, mash this button, blah, blah. All I saw, from beginning to end, was basically an over-hyped, button-mashing, shooter. After finishing this mediocre game, I'm stillI was not impressed at all. The storyline was trite and boring, and silly at times. The game play was average, there was nothing "innovative" about it. I caught myself yawning during all of the boss fights--shoot here, mash this button, blah, blah. All I saw, from beginning to end, was basically an over-hyped, button-mashing, shooter. After finishing this mediocre game, I'm still reading the reviews and trying to figure out what everyone is so excited about. Expand
  60. CMode
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    I cannot believe that there are people out there that feel this masterpiece deserves a score less than perfect... this game is flawless and anybody that feels otherwise is seriously misled... I get the feeling that the naysayers simply do not own a X360 and/or a powerful PC and simply hate on the game because it is not available on their system.
  61. Fenix
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    This game is, ironically, Epic! I really, really, enjoy playing it. The control scheme is great and even though it takes place in the future you can see a lot of realism in it. For instance, the Locust can take more damage than you, making you constantly have to take cover and you have to help your guys if they get gunned down. They game is fairly linear, but thats not necessarily a bad This game is, ironically, Epic! I really, really, enjoy playing it. The control scheme is great and even though it takes place in the future you can see a lot of realism in it. For instance, the Locust can take more damage than you, making you constantly have to take cover and you have to help your guys if they get gunned down. They game is fairly linear, but thats not necessarily a bad thing. There is a lot of crap you can do with it. You can't just run and gun, you have to use tactics. The ability of giving squad orders is a very helpful tool in combat. The graphics in this game are great. The graphics and visuals are probably the most interesting thing in the game. Because the game is kinda linear, it freed up developers to make the graphics really good. the lighting and shadowing effects are great, also the physics are pretty good. There really is a lot more I could say about this game, but I don't want to make my review longer than it already is. Basically it's a great game and you should buy it, no matter what kind of gamer you are! Expand
  62. MichaelMones
    Mar 22, 2008
    3
    Sure its got some amazing graphics, but this isnt anything i havent played before. Throw in extremely linear, one dimensional gameplay, zero exposition , and a messy control scheme, and what you get is an terribly overrated piece of garbage. Its very hard to believe this recieved such high ratings- i smell a payoff.
  63. IanR.
    May 12, 2008
    7
    I borrowed this game from a friend thinking it was gonna be a definitive title but this game is heavily overrated. This shooting system is flawed and they stole aspects of the game from other games. Like the monster that only hears by sound. Thats from resident evil 4 Its not bad but it doesn't deserve the praise that it gets. The landscapes are beautiful but the characters look like I borrowed this game from a friend thinking it was gonna be a definitive title but this game is heavily overrated. This shooting system is flawed and they stole aspects of the game from other games. Like the monster that only hears by sound. Thats from resident evil 4 Its not bad but it doesn't deserve the praise that it gets. The landscapes are beautiful but the characters look like original xbox graphics. Expand
  64. ZK.
    Jun 18, 2008
    8
    This game is the best co-op campaign on the 360. That being said, single player is boring and the multiplayer is mediocre at best. The game is very glitchy, especially in multiplayer.
  65. Barry
    Jun 24, 2008
    7
    According to Games Master it is the best game they have ever seen. Well, seen is the strong defining word as it was probably the best game to look at around (upon release) but in terms of gameplay, certainly not. Very linear and scripted but to be fair i don't think it deserves to get anything lower than a 6.
  66. LeonardA.
    Aug 14, 2008
    7
    This is a great game. The acting and story sucks though. I wasn't impressed at all besides the graphics and the chainsaw. Oh yea and lots of blood. Thats about it. I prefer the T rated Uncharted: Drakes Fortune over this. I'm not exaggerating either. Uncharted is superior to this game.
  67. JohnnyL.
    Jan 17, 2009
    9
    Thoroughly enjoyed the experience, both the visuals, the audio, and intense gameplay this game served up. And quite frankly, how can you not like a chainsaw bayonet! the gears of war experience is something you can't miss, and though there are some areas to be improved on, you'll notice some beneficial changes in the next game: gears 2.
  68. dominikj
    Feb 21, 2009
    9
    Actually 8.5 it is a great game for any xbox 360 owner the first act and last act are SO fun. gun action is cool but i hate shooters that require half a clip to used to kill one guy like halo series and this game. AI works like its supposed to but some environments after a while look too same and multiplayer is a joke. Great co-op though and great story. I can see why it got a lot of rewards.
  69. AnnetteN
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    I love gears it does everything a 1st person gory shooter supposed to do. I loved the characters and the story, I found nothing wrong with the game. It wasn't boring maybe a little hard but they solved it with gears 2. Wonderful game and I look forward to part 3.
  70. EdK.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    a bit short in one player, but still a great game. thnk of it as a combination of halo and resident evil 4 with amazing graphics. really the first game to put good use to a cover system.
  71. KarlB.
    Nov 12, 2006
    7
    Campaign mode is sorely lacking. The game is fun and the graphics are awesome but you'll be disappointed if you shell out sixty bucks. Rent it and beat it in the 6 hours it takes to do so.
  72. MARCG.
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    Awesome gameplay!! the graphics are superb, but the gameplay is just as good. the innovative reload system and the great cover system make this game highly enjoyable. and with the AI having all the same resources and moves you do it is great to play. they take cover, flank, duck away from gunfire and shoot better than enemies in most games. I love this game!!
  73. ShirleyFilms
    Nov 13, 2006
    9
    I am not really a fan of 3rd person games, generally speaking (I enjoy a good first person shooter). HOWEVER. This game is so good... that it really turned me around. After the first few minutes of having to deal with the "use of cover" and rolling from one cover to the next.... I thought...."This will get old REALLY FAST". but. I was wrong. The story is above average. The level designs I am not really a fan of 3rd person games, generally speaking (I enjoy a good first person shooter). HOWEVER. This game is so good... that it really turned me around. After the first few minutes of having to deal with the "use of cover" and rolling from one cover to the next.... I thought...."This will get old REALLY FAST". but. I was wrong. The story is above average. The level designs are outstanding. The graphics are beyond compare. Music and sound are stellar. My only TINY complaint is the voice acting. Two things - why is it that characters in games can only say 5 phrases? Would it be that hard to get them to say like 50 things? so it doesnt get so old??? Also... the voice acting of the lead is a LITTLE weak. Its not as bad as some games.... but. I dont know. There are SO MANY voice actors out there... is the really the best they could do??? The guy who plays Gus was outstanding tho. Overall... this game lives up to the hype and then some. Games usually DONT live up to the hype (in my opinion ... take FEAR for example) But this one (while a little short) is definitely worth the price of admission. Expand
  74. BigJake
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    Incredible graphics and gameplay to match. Well done fine sirs...well done...
  75. LoganD.
    Nov 15, 2006
    8
    Its a great game..but it is far to short..and the plot makes no sense..its jumps around and around.
  76. GuangmianK.
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    This game has some impressive textures but I am really disappointed by the particle effects and the bullet holes. The drawing of the bullets and the gun holes look absolutely last gen, and do nothing other than block your view when you are firing at enemies at a lare distance. The graphics are good, but only on the textures and characters, but not in a way that actually matters to you and This game has some impressive textures but I am really disappointed by the particle effects and the bullet holes. The drawing of the bullets and the gun holes look absolutely last gen, and do nothing other than block your view when you are firing at enemies at a lare distance. The graphics are good, but only on the textures and characters, but not in a way that actually matters to you and enhances gameplay. More detailed it might be, but it is much less visually attractive compared to Lost Planet and GRAW and even Halo 2. Its like, the game is very detailed, but somehow you don't want to stand there to admire the scenery. Halo 2 was a game which i felt didn't really look that detailed, but the way the plasma shots and explosions and lighting are drawn, really makes the firefight really beautiful. But this is not the case in Gears .The game play is okay, but the drones' AI could really get some improvement. It feels like you are just shooting at rubber ducks that bob up and down from the cover. The controls are a bit out of control when you come into melee range of your enemy, and that is when you realise that Gears could really make use of Rainbow Six: Vegas's first/third person system. The game is still good and above average in my opinion, but its single-player just isn't as good as everybody hypes it up to be. The speeches in the cutscenes are sometimes embarassingly dumb and meaningless, when they could potentially be used to great effect to bring out the story much much more. With a more effective art styling and some tweaking of the controls and camera angles, I feel that the game would have felt alot more organic and easy to play. Expand
  77. AnthonyV.
    Nov 18, 2006
    5
    Overhyped, overrated. Awful dialogue, contrived and non-existent story elements, short single-player. The A button is used for far too many things - running and cover is a pain the neck to pull off. Multiplayer is solid as long as you can put up with the controls. And for the life of me I can't understand how this game is getting so many good reviews; "pretty" looking graphics and Overhyped, overrated. Awful dialogue, contrived and non-existent story elements, short single-player. The A button is used for far too many things - running and cover is a pain the neck to pull off. Multiplayer is solid as long as you can put up with the controls. And for the life of me I can't understand how this game is getting so many good reviews; "pretty" looking graphics and good enemy AI can only do so much if you can't control your own character. The difficulty level of this game is more of a reflection of the cover system than how good the game is. Expand
  78. DwaneW.
    Nov 19, 2006
    9
    I am an ex pc gamer, but I have come to respect console games. In the past I have always held the position that pc games ruled when it came to rendering graphics. However, the past few years since the inception of Xbox 360 and the way the console renders grapics it has humbled me. I am by no means a console drone, but after playing GOW and consuming the level of detail the game has, I I am an ex pc gamer, but I have come to respect console games. In the past I have always held the position that pc games ruled when it came to rendering graphics. However, the past few years since the inception of Xbox 360 and the way the console renders grapics it has humbled me. I am by no means a console drone, but after playing GOW and consuming the level of detail the game has, I have to admit there is no other game to date, pc or console that comes close to the visual detail of GOW. I have played through several levels now and if I had just one complaint is the game at times seems VERY linear. I will admit, I love the, "hide and shoot" .....it RULES! But, I don't like the lack of ability to, "jump down". When I cannot jump down to a trench below....I have to say, I don't want to be a super hero, but I should be able to drop 8-12 feet as a soldier. For this, I long for Halo 3. There were times when I wanted to jump through a window, but I could not. I realize Epic wanted to introduce a new style of gameplay, but I think they were so focused on their experience of paintball, they forgot about advances in technology. I look at the characters in the game! They, for the most part should be able to jump, drop, roll, dive....blah, blah. I know every video game must have it's limitations, but when I am playing and I can't drop down to an area below that is, at most 6 feet below, I have to ask, "Huh?". It goes back to my desire that I don't want be to limited to a linear path. I love GOW, but I believe Halo 3 will present the graphics and much less constrained game play. I am looking forward to Halo 3. Expand
  79. AnonymousMC
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    It's a perfect game, apart from an apparently missing piece of information in the single player campaign (at the level with the train)

    The game has the best cover system in any game, some fun new weapons, an original story and fun multiplayer.

    Lets hope the review scores will go up when new content is released!

    SMH & WTF @ the 3 reviews with an 8...!!!!
  80. Michael
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    U guys are forgetting the great multiplayer. but my favorite is the intense gore, especially that which comes from the chainsaw. in the words of cliffyb, "gun, chainsaw, it's like a peanut butter chocolate type thing". also love how its not completely in fcirst person. i prefer over the shoulder much more.
  81. MichaelM.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    This game was amazing! Me and my brother were so pumped by the commercial that we went out and bought a 360 just for it. We hooked it up to a 55 inch sony xrd and played 1080i, and i can honestly say that this game has perhaps the greatest graphics displayed by any game yet. Just makes my mouth water for the ps3's unreal 2007 (which uses the same engine). We played coop for about 7 This game was amazing! Me and my brother were so pumped by the commercial that we went out and bought a 360 just for it. We hooked it up to a 55 inch sony xrd and played 1080i, and i can honestly say that this game has perhaps the greatest graphics displayed by any game yet. Just makes my mouth water for the ps3's unreal 2007 (which uses the same engine). We played coop for about 7 or 8 hours, and it was fantastic!! The story line is great, the gameplay is great, and it was tough! (if you play on the harder of the 2 settings, it took us 15 times to beat different parts. And now i look forward to beating it on the newly unlocked insane mode. Being a very experienced gamer, and very picky, I can honestly say this game lived up to all the hype, I enjoyed its campaign even more than i enjoyed the Ps3's resistance:fall of man, campaign. Now its time to hook it up and play online, dont be deceived by people who hate on this game, other than maybe the campaign wasnt quite as long as i had hoped, i had a hard time finding anything wrong with it. Thats enough rambling... im gonna go play Gears Of War. Expand
  82. JohnS.
    Nov 27, 2006
    2
    I must be a jaded gamer now. This is the first time I've ever bought such a highly rated game and felt so let down. Maybe I just find the game boring and the controls terrible because I play pc games where the controls are precise and the action faster and more interesting. The graphics didn't wow me, the terrain is all flat and it's nearly impossible to distinguish enemy I must be a jaded gamer now. This is the first time I've ever bought such a highly rated game and felt so let down. Maybe I just find the game boring and the controls terrible because I play pc games where the controls are precise and the action faster and more interesting. The graphics didn't wow me, the terrain is all flat and it's nearly impossible to distinguish enemy foot soldiers from your teammates. And everythign in the game is either metallic or brown. The duck and cover game play is not only repetitious but extremely buggy. Melee is pretty wonky. And perhaps the most unforgivable thing about the experience is that after exactly 7 hours of owning the game I had beaten it.. At least coop was kind of fun. Maybe I've been around too long and played too many games but I can honestly say I had MUCH more fun playing the new Zelda and Final Fantasy this Thanksgiving. At least I expect the resale value of my GOW to be relatively high. Expand
  83. JohnG.
    Nov 28, 2006
    7
    The game play if fun and the coop is great but the game is to short and it doesn't really feal like a big battle when you only face 6 to 8 bots at once and they can be dumb as heck. and only 4v4 online is crap I like a big battle.
  84. JDKim
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    Its a fantastic game because of overall gameplay. Single player could've been longer and details should've been more thorough.
  85. Alan
    Dec 12, 2006
    9
    Outstanding game. Being in the military, this game has some of the most realistic war tactics I have ever scene in a game, and it still puts that futuristic, imaganitive icing on the cake. My only regret is that the single player mode leaves me salivating and wanting more. It will be hard for "run n gun" halo players to adjust, but for me it felt right at home.
  86. ChrisD
    Dec 13, 2006
    9
    'Daniel F.', if you're going to make a 'review', make it more than something like that. That's just pathetic. You didn't even state why you didn't like the game. Guess it's just another fanboy.

    Anyway, Gears of War is easily one of the greatest gaming experiences I have ever had. Playing through the co-op campaign with a friend is
    'Daniel F.', if you're going to make a 'review', make it more than something like that. That's just pathetic. You didn't even state why you didn't like the game. Guess it's just another fanboy.

    Anyway, Gears of War is easily one of the greatest gaming experiences I have ever had. Playing through the co-op campaign with a friend is definitely an intense experience. While the cover system is a little rough around the edges, the controls are pretty seamless once you get the hang of them. Active reloading is one of the coolest features I've ever seen as well. If you're looking for a gory, intense, and beautiful shooter, look no further.
    Expand
  87. JasonA.
    Dec 13, 2006
    10
    Most bad ass game out there its fun as hell especialy on insanity and for those retards that think its suck go analy rape yourselves for being re-tard-ed i mean whats more bad ass run up chainsaw a guy in half back up in cover frag them shot gun there face off if there close and still think its hard very orriganal very good looking for more games in the future props
  88. TylerS.
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    This game is the greatest game that I have ever played to this date. I have beaten it and love to play it online. The use of the chainsaw is the beyond words and the y effects are the best. This game is very challenging and has a great cover system. I'm glad that I got it the day that gears came out.
  89. F.G.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    It is at least 10 time better than Halo2 I liked it more than all the other game I have there is great graphics and a really good history. That's why i give it a great 10 on 10
  90. FelipeM.
    Dec 27, 2006
    8
    This game is the real deal. It has the most awesome graphics, and the gameplay is really neat. But, it only lasts 5 hours and it is really easy. Of course, not counting the hardcore version nor the team strory. Otherwise, the multiplayer is real fun, but it is only available for two players, not counting the online version of it.
  91. AlecB.
    Dec 28, 2006
    8
    I'm not really an Xbox 360 fan at all. I own a ps3 ,ps2,x-box,and psp but when I heard how good this game is I spent my Christmas money on 360 and Gears of War and I was amazed how great this game is. It is no Halo 2 but pretty damn close. The fact that you can use chainsaws to cut people in half is great. The only reason now I'm keeping 360 is Gears of War and Halo 3 when it I'm not really an Xbox 360 fan at all. I own a ps3 ,ps2,x-box,and psp but when I heard how good this game is I spent my Christmas money on 360 and Gears of War and I was amazed how great this game is. It is no Halo 2 but pretty damn close. The fact that you can use chainsaws to cut people in half is great. The only reason now I'm keeping 360 is Gears of War and Halo 3 when it comes out in nov 07, those are the only 2 games 360 is made for. Expand
  92. StephenR.
    Dec 31, 2006
    8
    Here at the things you aren't getting in the other reviews, for better or worse. This game is VERY short, but at the same time intense. There are a couple of levels of badly designed crap (the light "gun" shooting at bats, is maddening). The game is really really pretty, and for the most part well executed. The other things that are missing are a lack of being able to affect or Here at the things you aren't getting in the other reviews, for better or worse. This game is VERY short, but at the same time intense. There are a couple of levels of badly designed crap (the light "gun" shooting at bats, is maddening). The game is really really pretty, and for the most part well executed. The other things that are missing are a lack of being able to affect or interact with the scene, if they put a bottle on a table you should be able to blow it off. The fact that it tells you that you can control that guys, but you really can't, is also a negative. There is nothing worse than trying to flank a dude shooting at you and having the guy who was suppressing them stop shooting and follow you. The games 'brothers in arms" and "freedom fighters" have the best player control of NPC's that I've seen, I hope that game developers take note of that at some point. I would suggest playing the game, but renting before you buy. Replay value may or may not be high enough to warrant $60. This game is better than HALO. HALO was always overhyped. The graphics are better, the action is better, the villians are "smarter." This is as close to the joy of Half Life 2 that you can play on the 360. Expand
  93. PaxtonC.
    Nov 19, 2007
    7
    decent. Looks great, but Epic made a mistake by trying to impress the community with real-time-rendered cinematics. They just don't look as good as they could. Fun campaign, but I wasn't a fan of the multiplayer, the achievements were too hard to get. Also, no ranking system makes for a highly unbalanced matchmaking. RENT first, THEN buy.
  94. KadathB.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    Epic used to have a much larger name- 'Epic Mega Games'. Gears of War is their first game to truly be Epic, or a Mega Game, since the original, and still best, Unreal. In fact, it's sweeter. Gears of War is a thrill ride. It is not a BioShock style 'choose your own adventure' game where the gameplay changes based on ones decisions in the gameworld, it is rather a Epic used to have a much larger name- 'Epic Mega Games'. Gears of War is their first game to truly be Epic, or a Mega Game, since the original, and still best, Unreal. In fact, it's sweeter. Gears of War is a thrill ride. It is not a BioShock style 'choose your own adventure' game where the gameplay changes based on ones decisions in the gameworld, it is rather a movie-quality thrill ride, you strap in, let the graphics and sound suck you in, and then let the rest of the game blow you away. Gears of War is the only true 'Adventure' game that also plays like a shooter. While it's story is not the greatest, it's thrills are worthy of Indiana Jones and Alien. It's adventure and horror, fun and gore. In fact, speaking of Indiana Jones, one of my favourite parts is a section where you go for a ride in a mining cart. This is like one of those Hollywood blockbusters that may not have much to say in it's word or message, but everything else is just.. FUN. Despite it's dark premise, theres quite a bit of humour and adventure, and even a few pretty damn creepy moments, including a couple nods to it's inspiration, Resident Evil. Gears Of War is not entirely on the rails though, you do get to play the game, and it is a unique game at that. The strategy involved is minor, but the cover system is the first in any game to truly be unique and entertaining. It gets even better online, where Strategy does show it's true form, though balls to the wall splatterfests [where you massacre the other team as a one man army] can sometiimes be more exhilarating leading your team to victory, if your team is exceptionally bad. The graphics are gorgeous. The music is great, except for a couple out of place metal guitar riffs, and the guns sound like guns, and the villains sound menacing. The dialogue isn't brilliant, and the characters are thin, but their characters are brought out by great points of humour and good voice acting (Except for Fenix, who tries to hard to sound like a Vin Diesel with rocks stuck in his throat.). The game is truly Epic, and it is worth playing through several times just to enjoy the experience, and the multiplayer is there if Singeplayer games get old to you after awhile. It's a great package, and a truly Epic game. Expand
  95. JacoboT.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    It deserves an 11. I used to love halo, now it is nothing in comparison. This game in comparison to Resistance: Fall of Man is amusing, resistance is like a dumb little kid, and gears is a grown super-genius with a machinegun.
  96. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Easily one of my favorite games of all time. It's one of my favorite campaigns to play and I find the story missions very enjoyable to play. Especially Marcus Fenix. He's just a badass! Otherwise, the campaign is not too long and not too short either. On easiest, it'll take around 6-7 hours, which is not bad at all for games nowadays. Playing on Insane, however, will take anEasily one of my favorite games of all time. It's one of my favorite campaigns to play and I find the story missions very enjoyable to play. Especially Marcus Fenix. He's just a badass! Otherwise, the campaign is not too long and not too short either. On easiest, it'll take around 6-7 hours, which is not bad at all for games nowadays. Playing on Insane, however, will take an extremely long time. Multiplayer is not the best but during development, it was considered not being included. The sequel, Gears of War 2, features an expanded multiplayer component. Overall, Gears of War is an excellent game with stunning visuals, intriguing gameplay and a whole lot of blood. Expand
  97. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    It's a rarity that a game gets as much hype as this game got, and even more rare that it lived up to that hype. Even 6 months after its release it's still going strong. This day in age, that's a lifetime for an online shooter. In the tradition of Goldeneye and Halo, this is a game for the ages.
  98. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two of the coolest, most brutal, over the top weapons I have ever seen are introduced in this game. The Lancer is incredible. A high powered assault rifle with a bayonet that is a chainsaw sounds a bit ridiculous I know, but it is ridiculousness that sets games like Gears of War apart from other similar games. The second weapon I speak of is the Torque Bow. If anything could put this game over the top of the threshold of total gruesomeness, it is the Torque Bow. For all intents and purposes, this thing is a cross bow that fires exploding arrows! What more could a gamer (or COG soldier) ask for? On top of the awesome weapons, there are good characters (with good voice acting), fun objectives, a really cool and simple duck and cover system, plus an easily detestable horde villains. My only complaint, and the reasoning behind my 9 rating rather than 10, is that the campaign is kind of short. However, the game is fun enough to play through again, especially because once the game is played through, you unlock "Insane" difficulty. Expand
  99. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Where there's hype, there's people who hate it. One reviewer admitted loving Gears for 3 weeks straight, then reaching a completely turnaround after trying the multiplayer. Then he rips on the singleplayer. So, what, you just looked at the box for 3 weeks? If you're going to be critical of a game, let it be based on something. What do I think of Gears? The game's pretty good. Pretty,Where there's hype, there's people who hate it. One reviewer admitted loving Gears for 3 weeks straight, then reaching a completely turnaround after trying the multiplayer. Then he rips on the singleplayer. So, what, you just looked at the box for 3 weeks? If you're going to be critical of a game, let it be based on something. What do I think of Gears? The game's pretty good. Pretty, pretty, pretty good. Expand
  100. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    Fun game to play but it had a few frustrating bugs/crashes. Very nice visuals and the characters are second to none. I do not play on-line, so I cannot comment on that aspect of the game, but storyline mode if fun and there is something cathartic about using a chainsaw to cut through a mass of enemies. Anyone who slags this game should reevaluate their expectations because if you cannotFun game to play but it had a few frustrating bugs/crashes. Very nice visuals and the characters are second to none. I do not play on-line, so I cannot comment on that aspect of the game, but storyline mode if fun and there is something cathartic about using a chainsaw to cut through a mass of enemies. Anyone who slags this game should reevaluate their expectations because if you cannot have fun playing this, you should probably quit playing video games. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.