Gears of War Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2341 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2017
    0
    Very boring game, all the time it's the same, very dark... and the music is also boring, I think it has good graphics but the storyline is awful, completely overrated
  2. Jan 24, 2017
    4
    Déjà à l'époque, ça ne m'avait pas beaucoup plu et le temps n'a rien arrangé à l'affaire, car il ne s'agit en fin de compte que d'un nouveau principe (le TPS à couverture) surexploité et repris sur bien des jeux plus tard, notamment les Mass Effect pour ne citer qu'eux (et avec quel brio pour leur part !).

    Le gros souci ne réside pas tant dans son caractère bourrin (bien au contraire)
    Déjà à l'époque, ça ne m'avait pas beaucoup plu et le temps n'a rien arrangé à l'affaire, car il ne s'agit en fin de compte que d'un nouveau principe (le TPS à couverture) surexploité et repris sur bien des jeux plus tard, notamment les Mass Effect pour ne citer qu'eux (et avec quel brio pour leur part !).

    Le gros souci ne réside pas tant dans son caractère bourrin (bien au contraire) mais dans sa maniabilité pataude, son imprécision terrible à la manette (pas le choix pourtant, il est censé avoir été conçu en ce sens !) et cette phase où on doit jouer à cache-cache avec un monstre qu'on ne peut pas tuer et qu'il faut attirer à l'extérieur : un vrai calvaire.

    En effet, la caméra qui fait de la merde lorsqu'on court, l'angle de vision limité et la lenteur du gros con sont rédhibitoires. En outre, pourquoi une telle phase au juste ? le "rayon de l'aube" est déjà une belle connerie en soi mais s'il faut se taper une séance de roulades dans des salles exigües, ça devient vraiment ridicule. Pourquoi ne pas assumer le côté bourrin jusqu'au bout ? Bref, ça en fait des soucis !

    Cela dit, Gears n'est pas entièrement mauvais (en dehors du fait qu'il n'est qu'un long couloir scripté bien entendu) et le principe de la couverture reste excellent, les graphismes superbes, les effets sonores sont au poil et la VF hilarante. Si Gears s'était cantonné au jeu de gros beaufs qui tache au lieu de s'éparpiller dans des conneries de rayons et de roulades, il aurait pu être un honnête divertissement. Quel dommage !
    Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2016
    1
    This game is overrated I finished this game like 5 years ago and its BOOORRRRIIING AND BLAND EVEN FOR 2005 STANDARDS EVEN SHADOW THE HEDGHOG IS A BETTER SHOOTER TEN THIS BLAND BORING FACTORY ROOM OF CRAP the controls and graphics are grea BUT THOSE DONT COUNT THE GAMEPLAY IS BLAND AND **** AND SOMETIMES NON RESPONSIVE SO I GUESS THE CONTROLS ARE BAD this game has a god kill me kinda storyThis game is overrated I finished this game like 5 years ago and its BOOORRRRIIING AND BLAND EVEN FOR 2005 STANDARDS EVEN SHADOW THE HEDGHOG IS A BETTER SHOOTER TEN THIS BLAND BORING FACTORY ROOM OF CRAP the controls and graphics are grea BUT THOSE DONT COUNT THE GAMEPLAY IS BLAND AND **** AND SOMETIMES NON RESPONSIVE SO I GUESS THE CONTROLS ARE BAD this game has a god kill me kinda story (its s **** boring) and its short and the game is to easy on hard mode and too many skills that make the game boring and when u don't use your skills THEN WHAT THE **** THE POINT OF PLAYING (I'm sorry for comfusion) in total this is a VEEEEEEERRRRRY overrated game with nothng bedsides good graphics TO OFFER!!! Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2015
    2
    Yeah, I kind of understand why people would like this Macho-man Randy Savage **** simulator. But Frankly Mr Shankly, I think its easily the blandest video game I've ever played.

    Its just so god-awfully hollow as a game. Sure the multiplayer is rather enjoyable, but the setting, dialog, characters, environment is just so **** bland, I mean we never really get to understand or
    Yeah, I kind of understand why people would like this Macho-man Randy Savage **** simulator. But Frankly Mr Shankly, I think its easily the blandest video game I've ever played.

    Its just so god-awfully hollow as a game. Sure the multiplayer is rather enjoyable, but the setting, dialog, characters, environment is just so **** bland, I mean we never really get to understand or emotionally feel invested in the struggles of the characters as they basically act as these walking talking beefy buff **** who basically slaughter the **** out these Aliens, of which I have no real idea as to why they feel as if its a necessary to take over earth.

    God I just really didn't enjoy this game I know visuals shouldn't be an aspect as to why not enjoy a game but the murky bland environments that are just grey is so ugly. I just really disliked this game.

    Like if your into hardcore bromance shooters pick it up and play it, by all means yall have a blast. But if your someone like me and really like beautiful colours and an interesting suspenseful story, with innovate gameplay, its not for you. I had no fun with Gears of War, absolutely none.
    Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2015
    0
    If you like subpar action games with lackluster story and marginal gameplay, this is for you. The online is far surpassed in the sequel causing this game to be the only stain on the Gears legacy, if there is ever a HD collection this should be substituted for Judgement.
  6. Dec 18, 2014
    3
    I've played Gears of War for the first time a couple of months ago. While there's some fun to be had, the controls are adaquate, it's also outdated and newer similar games control a lot more fluid. The graphics are average but everything, absolutely everything is dark and gray. I'd say this game, for modern audiences, deserves about a 5 out of 10. But, that's not taking into account theI've played Gears of War for the first time a couple of months ago. While there's some fun to be had, the controls are adaquate, it's also outdated and newer similar games control a lot more fluid. The graphics are average but everything, absolutely everything is dark and gray. I'd say this game, for modern audiences, deserves about a 5 out of 10. But, that's not taking into account the game breaking bug that never got fixed: the save games. It isn't enough that the checkpoints are too far apart to begin with, it's impossible to know when the game saves exactly. Not only that, we (I played with a friend in split screen) constantly lost our save game, having to play the same section over and over again. We never finished the game but we did see the berserker a couple of times, maybe that gives you an indication how far we were in the game.
    EDIT: as I've read that the sequel and threequel have the same save game bug I will definitely not be playing those unless it's for free. I would however give a new game for Xbox One a shot if this bug is fixed. I believe Judgement already fixed it.
    Expand
  7. Jan 11, 2014
    3
    Writing these reviews at the end of a generation really let's you not only see what games stood the test of time but also lets you add that games contribution to the industry as part of the reviewing process. Gears of War did not stand the test of time and the only contributions it had to the industry were negative. First let me mention how this game got it's score of 3, it is one of theWriting these reviews at the end of a generation really let's you not only see what games stood the test of time but also lets you add that games contribution to the industry as part of the reviewing process. Gears of War did not stand the test of time and the only contributions it had to the industry were negative. First let me mention how this game got it's score of 3, it is one of the only games on the 360 with split screen co-op multiplayer and one of the best gaming experiences I have had was with Halo's co-op multiplayer playing split screen with a friend. Me and the same friend were overjoyed at the fact this would carry on into the new generation and had fun with Gears of War, but that joy would be short lived as the push for online began. This game seems to have been the start of the trend for what would become generic for this generation, a brown looking cover based shooter with a story based around massive men with no personalities, just huge guns. This game was fun the first time around but it inspired nothing and is easily forgotten about, I can't remember the story at all. Overall Gears of War was **** on a stick worth a nostalgic run through if you have a friend you wish to torture and you can pick it up for a pound. Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    Standard blockbuster, big explosion, big muscles, no brains gaming come to life. Barely got through it, because it was so damn boring. The end boss was the most unimaginative bosses i have ever seen! 4 /10 Because it is payable and not broken!
  9. Dec 2, 2011
    4
    One of the most overrated game I've ever played. There is fun to be had here but it's tough to enjoy with the truly awful A.I and tedious gameplay. At release, it had great multiplayer which was unfortunately full of bugs and connection issues. The only appeal this game has is the pretty (but dated) graphics and decent core gameplay and "decent" is generous.
  10. Sep 26, 2011
    3
    Graphics are nice, and the characters have some personality. However the game is very boring, I found myself staying in cover too much for too long and it ultimately became boring. Also getting killed when trying to navigate through a level, made the pacing way too slow.

    I don't mind taking cover, as long as the game lets me roam around without getting killed constantly. It had the
    Graphics are nice, and the characters have some personality. However the game is very boring, I found myself staying in cover too much for too long and it ultimately became boring. Also getting killed when trying to navigate through a level, made the pacing way too slow.

    I don't mind taking cover, as long as the game lets me roam around without getting killed constantly.

    It had the potential to be something great but it disappointed.
    Expand
  11. Apr 13, 2011
    1
    Completely overhyped and overrated. Gamers were basically told that we are supposed to like this game and many never bothered to question that. Read the summary on this game then ask someone who likes GoW why they do. Nine times out of ten their answer will sound like they are reading the summary, almost like rehearsed lines. Clunky gameplay, darkness instead of graphics, overuse of coverCompletely overhyped and overrated. Gamers were basically told that we are supposed to like this game and many never bothered to question that. Read the summary on this game then ask someone who likes GoW why they do. Nine times out of ten their answer will sound like they are reading the summary, almost like rehearsed lines. Clunky gameplay, darkness instead of graphics, overuse of cover system to the point of boredom, very short game (for what was a top dollar release), cliche everything, and nothing new enough to balance just how tired and clearly "borrowed" so much of this game was- all with a sheen of gore and machismo so over the top it is almost laughable. This game had great appeal for people like the movie going audiences that laud each new release as the best movie ever until the next movie comes out, but in the annals of gaming it is a minor embarrassment and little more. Expand
  12. Dec 5, 2010
    4
    I'm not quite sure where the appeal for this game is. I've played up to a certain point, and have not seen many redeeming qualities. The story is... mediocre, sound is okay, music is fine, gameplay mechanics work well enough, but at the end, I really don't care about any of these characters. There's no incentive for me to keep playing, really. In a way, it got boring fighting the same sortI'm not quite sure where the appeal for this game is. I've played up to a certain point, and have not seen many redeeming qualities. The story is... mediocre, sound is okay, music is fine, gameplay mechanics work well enough, but at the end, I really don't care about any of these characters. There's no incentive for me to keep playing, really. In a way, it got boring fighting the same sort of enemies over and over, with a little variation every now and then with 'bosses'. -- The graphics, in its time, must have been pretty good, but does no one realise that graphics will always get worse over time? Praising a game for its amazing visuals while ignoring its faults is akin to people being famous for being famous. Something more lasting: a new, innovative graphical technique, or an interesting use of an old one (like Left 4 Dead's film techniques), an amazing story (Final Fantasy Tactics, lots of RPG's), those sort of things make a game that will be remembered as a good game for a long time to come. -- This game isn't really even worth it's money right now. let alone five years from now because it just isn't that fun. Expand
  13. Dec 5, 2010
    0
    This game is so overhyped! I can't believe how it it said to beat the ps3 exclusives or the x360 games lik Halo and Uncharted 2. But then when I look at the kind of people who find this game appealing I realise hey are the type of people who like anything. Even critics say the game has good graphics - but it doesn't! Play any ps3 exclusive like gt5, ps home, uncharted, FFXIII (I know it'sThis game is so overhyped! I can't believe how it it said to beat the ps3 exclusives or the x360 games lik Halo and Uncharted 2. But then when I look at the kind of people who find this game appealing I realise hey are the type of people who like anything. Even critics say the game has good graphics - but it doesn't! Play any ps3 exclusive like gt5, ps home, uncharted, FFXIII (I know it's not exclusive but it has great graphics), ratchet and clank etc. and you will realise how this game looks like a ps2 game. The gameplay is clunky and the controls are awkward. It sucks. Expand
  14. Sep 15, 2010
    0
    This GAME IS FULL OF S%#T, go rot in hell. All you xbox 360 fanboys look like Marcus's screwed up wife! So yeah I h8 this game so that's it I am going to say and I did this so xbox 360 will be gone.
  15. MasterChief
    Dec 14, 2009
    0
    This game is nothing compared to the adrenaline fueled graphics bomb we all know as Halo 3. Halo 3 is the only thing on the 360, if you want games like this, buy a Wii. Cause Wii is great for these casual games.
  16. nick
    Jan 5, 2009
    0
    Boring very boring shooters are suppose to be about running through enemies shooting their face off with 2 bullets, not hiding behind cover during battles that are 5 times longer than in a normal shooters and using an entire clip to kill one guy on lv 1, the squad your forced to be with is crap they run out in the middle of the fight get shoot down and expect you to help them the enemy Boring very boring shooters are suppose to be about running through enemies shooting their face off with 2 bullets, not hiding behind cover during battles that are 5 times longer than in a normal shooters and using an entire clip to kill one guy on lv 1, the squad your forced to be with is crap they run out in the middle of the fight get shoot down and expect you to help them the enemy can see through walls and have 360 vision, and im not kidding you could hid behind cover behind and enmies back and the second you stick your head out he will spin around and kill you. this is just another crappy over hyped game on the 360 were the develpers focused to much on the blood and gore instead of the gameplay. Expand
  17. JackieB
    Jan 4, 2009
    4
    My problem with this series is that it's a basic mod for Unreal Tournament 2004. The Cogs look identical to the Human race in UT2k4 and after playing it on the PC, I can say that 'ts almost exactly the same. Aside from being third person, having a cover mechanic, and not being able to jump. I can say that Epic games has pulled a fast one and slapped a mod onto an older game and My problem with this series is that it's a basic mod for Unreal Tournament 2004. The Cogs look identical to the Human race in UT2k4 and after playing it on the PC, I can say that 'ts almost exactly the same. Aside from being third person, having a cover mechanic, and not being able to jump. I can say that Epic games has pulled a fast one and slapped a mod onto an older game and made millions. The only reason this game isn't getting a 1 is because the blood and gore in it are really good. Otherwise, it's hide, shoot, hide, shoot, watch scene, walk a little, hide, shoot, hide, shoot, hide, shoot, move a little, etc etc there are some enjoyable dialogues.. but honestly.. you guys just modded UT 2004 and called it Gears of War. Please. Have a little more creativity. Expand
  18. TomEdwards
    Dec 8, 2008
    1
    The feeling i get from this is that, they could have done this by DLC. It feels like gears 1.5 instead of a full fledged, which is no bad thing because it's gears, but i feel as though i'm being ripped off by something that should have been a bit cheaper.
  19. GuyWithGoodTaste
    May 10, 2008
    3
    This is one of the worst games I have ever played. It really says a lot about the state of the games industry when THIS game gets high marks. Repetitive, short, and just generally soul crushing. It's only redeeming aspect is the graphics, which aren't all that dazzling when they make the transition from screen shot to actual game. Gears of War is the very definition of This is one of the worst games I have ever played. It really says a lot about the state of the games industry when THIS game gets high marks. Repetitive, short, and just generally soul crushing. It's only redeeming aspect is the graphics, which aren't all that dazzling when they make the transition from screen shot to actual game. Gears of War is the very definition of mediocrity. Avoid at all costs. It's not even worth it if it's free. Expand
  20. MichaelMones
    Mar 22, 2008
    3
    Sure its got some amazing graphics, but this isnt anything i havent played before. Throw in extremely linear, one dimensional gameplay, zero exposition , and a messy control scheme, and what you get is an terribly overrated piece of garbage. Its very hard to believe this recieved such high ratings- i smell a payoff.
  21. Justin
    Feb 11, 2008
    2
    I stopped playing within the first 10 minutes because: 1. The "training mission" that might as well have never existed 2. The very clumsy controls 3. Most importantly, the lighting that made the game almost painful to look at. I didn't even get to what some have described as a lame story/weapons selection/dialogue/etc. Save your money; go buy the Orange Box or COD4.
  22. JeffB.
    Feb 6, 2008
    1
    Two big reasons I was turned off to this game: 1)The grayed out screen had me shooting my own guys as often as the enemy because I couldn't tell them apart. 2)The most important part of the game is HIDING. What fun is a game where HIDING is the most important skill to learn? I am trying to have FUN, not learning how to duck and cover. I know that some of this needs to be involved, Two big reasons I was turned off to this game: 1)The grayed out screen had me shooting my own guys as often as the enemy because I couldn't tell them apart. 2)The most important part of the game is HIDING. What fun is a game where HIDING is the most important skill to learn? I am trying to have FUN, not learning how to duck and cover. I know that some of this needs to be involved, but this much? Very frustrating to play a game where most of it involves taking cover, and then accidentally shooting your own guys(when the cumbersome aiming allows you to actually hit anything at all). Amazed at how highly rated this game is when I see how good the other games receiving similar ratings are. And I have heard it is short too, although I will never find out myself. Glad I got it used - if I return it fast I can get decent store credit. Expand
  23. NevilleS.
    Jan 30, 2008
    0
    This is one of those "am I playing the same game?" moments. Controls are clunky and cumbersome and unintuitive. The "training" session to get you into the game is appalling. The "multifunction" cover button never does what you want or expect - endless rolling around on the floor when you want to mantle or hide. Graphics are so greyed out and poorly defined that you can't tell team This is one of those "am I playing the same game?" moments. Controls are clunky and cumbersome and unintuitive. The "training" session to get you into the game is appalling. The "multifunction" cover button never does what you want or expect - endless rolling around on the floor when you want to mantle or hide. Graphics are so greyed out and poorly defined that you can't tell team members from foes. Plot, bad-guys, voices and weapons so cliched they may as well not exist - oh look it's THE HORDE ffs! Oh look - the baddies all look like they are from Alien. Oh look - there's a cute chick giving you instructions in your ear! Maybe the PC version is better - but having to come out of cover, twiddle endlessly with the stick to get an aim while getting shot up is DULL DULL DULL Did absolutely nothing to suck me in or make me want to play further than level one. What the hell am I missing? Expand
  24. MessiahLee
    Dec 13, 2007
    0
    A generic, mediocre shooter of the most depthless proportions. My opinion of this game is hardly marred by its difficulty, Abdul, but its been-there-done-that gameplay.
    I think it's funny that you claim Mass Effect's storyline was awful, and then you gave Gears of War, an entire experience that can be summarized in one or two paragraphs at Wikipedia, and finished in less than
    A generic, mediocre shooter of the most depthless proportions. My opinion of this game is hardly marred by its difficulty, Abdul, but its been-there-done-that gameplay.
    I think it's funny that you claim Mass Effect's storyline was awful, and then you gave Gears of War, an entire experience that can be summarized in one or two paragraphs at Wikipedia, and finished in less than 6 hours on HARDCORE MODE, a perfect 10.
    You're an idiot.
    Expand
  25. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    4
    IT works. It lacks any major glitches. Beyond that, there is nothing to recommend this game. It is boring, repetitive, formulaic, and above all else mundane. It is the quintessential second-rate shooter, embodying all that is and can be wrong with the FPS genre. The online is boring to the point of unplayability, the offline held together simply by polish. They did what they set out to IT works. It lacks any major glitches. Beyond that, there is nothing to recommend this game. It is boring, repetitive, formulaic, and above all else mundane. It is the quintessential second-rate shooter, embodying all that is and can be wrong with the FPS genre. The online is boring to the point of unplayability, the offline held together simply by polish. They did what they set out to do, they made what they set out to make. They just forgot to make sure that goal was . . . you know . . . good. Expand
  26. MaxD.
    Sep 22, 2007
    1
    This game sucks. the story sucks, the game is incredibly easy becuse the enemies are all basicly the same. the worst part was the acual gameplay, which seems fun and inventive... for the first five minutes. Once youv'e played the first level, you might as well have beat the game.
  27. AG
    Sep 16, 2007
    0
    Overrated. Gory. They should have called it Gears of Crap. In fact, this is such a stupid game it barely deserves any more words.
  28. CamJ.
    Sep 14, 2007
    3
    I hate this game, on single player they force you to listen to stupid dialogs that you cant skip and they put it after a checkpoint so you have to hear it over again every time you die as punishment, like this game has a story anyway online its worse, the maps are stupid simple designed an its nothing but lag and noobs that either chainsaw you or just knock you in the head, the guns are I hate this game, on single player they force you to listen to stupid dialogs that you cant skip and they put it after a checkpoint so you have to hear it over again every time you die as punishment, like this game has a story anyway online its worse, the maps are stupid simple designed an its nothing but lag and noobs that either chainsaw you or just knock you in the head, the guns are useless dont bother shooting anyone, just run up to them either knock them in the head or stick a frag on them, this game is so over hyped. Expand
  29. GeraldS.
    Sep 13, 2007
    4
    I don't understand the appeal of this game. I read a dozen reviews and talked to friends, all insisting this was the second coming. I don't like multiplayer, so that could be why I wasn't impressed. Graphics are awesome, but I don't like "half games" where the actual gameplay takes second seat to cinematics. If I want a movie I'll pay 1/3 the price for one. I don't understand the appeal of this game. I read a dozen reviews and talked to friends, all insisting this was the second coming. I don't like multiplayer, so that could be why I wasn't impressed. Graphics are awesome, but I don't like "half games" where the actual gameplay takes second seat to cinematics. If I want a movie I'll pay 1/3 the price for one. I'm forcing myself to play just to finish the single player. Snore. Expand
  30. RickyM.
    Jul 26, 2007
    4
    This game is full of stupid gimmicks that don't work. Graphics aren't that pretty, making everything dark and shiny doesn't equal good. Weapons are ridiculous and unbalanced, a machine gun with a chainsaw on it that has an attack that can't be stopped is just stupid. The whole being knocked out or whatever concept is okay, except the part where actions done to you This game is full of stupid gimmicks that don't work. Graphics aren't that pretty, making everything dark and shiny doesn't equal good. Weapons are ridiculous and unbalanced, a machine gun with a chainsaw on it that has an attack that can't be stopped is just stupid. The whole being knocked out or whatever concept is okay, except the part where actions done to you while on the ground can't be stopped. Online play is laggy and full of 12 year olds that scream about everything. Map design is either extremely simple and lazy or huge and unfocused, causing new players to get lost a lot. The one thing that makes this game not worth your time is the maneuvering system, which is an absolute joke. Whoever decided that the A button would be used for dashing and leaning against walls was a serious moron. It's not uncommon to end up stuck against multiple walls in a sticky situation because of the terrible control scheme. It's also during this that the camera reveals how bad it is and flies around like a rabid child. Online pros will stroke their e-penises and call you a noob if you complain about it, yet have a fit if it happens to them. The reloading system is a hassle and mostly makes you roll around like an idiot hoping you won't jam your weapon. Overall, the game's controls are what make this game unworthy of not only the price of an XBox 360, but of an Xbox Live subscription as well. Incredibly overhyped by critics and players alike, this game is a mistake. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 90
    The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.