Gears of War Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2329 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. matt
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    Marc S, they put M ratings on games for a reason, they aren't meant to be played by 6 year olds. And how can you give it a 0 if you think it's a great game? Anyway, my thoughts, it really raises the bar for this genre, only once in a while does this sort of game come along, but when it does, you thank god for video games. Unbelievable game, top marks.
  2. Jon
    Jun 10, 2009
    6
    Gears of War might be just a little hyped from the critics. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game but I don't think it's anywhere close to games such as Halo 3 and CoD4. The single player is top notch, excellent presentation and graphics. I do get a bit frustrated with the "brisk jog" (as some of my friends joke). If you're running and you by chance bump into a Gears of War might be just a little hyped from the critics. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game but I don't think it's anywhere close to games such as Halo 3 and CoD4. The single player is top notch, excellent presentation and graphics. I do get a bit frustrated with the "brisk jog" (as some of my friends joke). If you're running and you by chance bump into a barrier, you will take cover behind it. This can be extremely annoying during fights with berserkers and the like. Sadly, where it is good in single player, it utterly fails in multiplayer. (Several WTF moments, expect to want to fling your controller into the T.V.) Multiplayer is garbage; stay away from it. Other than that, a good game but not deserving of the 94 avg. Expand
  3. TonyG.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    Phenomenal. Fun, intelligent, and violent.
  4. KeithM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    To the people below me, you are idiots. I agree the single player was a little weak in the story department but it was loads of fun. And the only reason you guys don't like the online multiplayer is because A. you suck horribly (noob) and B. you didnt explore the gametypes like annex that allow you to respawn and fight to maintain territory. How about you play the game more than once To the people below me, you are idiots. I agree the single player was a little weak in the story department but it was loads of fun. And the only reason you guys don't like the online multiplayer is because A. you suck horribly (noob) and B. you didnt explore the gametypes like annex that allow you to respawn and fight to maintain territory. How about you play the game more than once before you judge it you idiots. Expand
  5. EricS.
    Nov 19, 2006
    5
    It's obvious that people are reviewing this game based purely on graphics, because they really are the only thing that sets Gears of War apart from countless other shooters. Granted, technically Gears is an amazing achievement, perhaps the best looking game ever made. The shooting is adequate, but really just boils down to ducking behind blocks and coming up to take a few shot. It's obvious that people are reviewing this game based purely on graphics, because they really are the only thing that sets Gears of War apart from countless other shooters. Granted, technically Gears is an amazing achievement, perhaps the best looking game ever made. The shooting is adequate, but really just boils down to ducking behind blocks and coming up to take a few shot. Rinse, repeat. Where Gears of War really faulters is in its creativity. With their high levels of detail, the enemies give the illusion of being well designed. However, what you really have is some standard looking aliens rendered a lot better. The same can be said for the weapons. The particle effects look amazing, but this is seriously one of the least inspired inventories I've ever seen in a game. The one original weapon (which is quite spectacular, if not particularly deep) is almost never useable. The environments are the only exception to the rule. They are what make the game feel epic even if it is just the same shallow, yet surprisingly satisfying shooting mechanics over and over again. Un-originality aside, what really ruins Gears of War is its embarrassing excuse for a story line and dialogue. How can Video Games be respected the general public when its high-profile releases sound like they're written by... well, programmers. If you care at all about dialogue, voice acting and a coherent plot, then just turn off the sound. It's funny that in the Making of DVD, the designers talk about immersion, yet its hard to become immersed a game where the characters you're meant to sympathize with sound like badly-written teenagers in a straight to TV movie. If I could give the developers one piece of advice, it would be to hire a scriptwriter. What's the point in spending so much time crafting a visual masterpiece and not making some effort to create memorable characters and situations? Perhaps if the single-player had lasted more than 5 hours (another disappointment, as so many people have been looking forward to this game for so long) then these flaws could have been overlooked, but if I'm going to spend 70 dollars on a 5 hour game, then it better have a hell of an impact. Despite my rant, Gears of War is by no means a bad game. It's just not the masterpiece that the reviewers claim. But at this point, the game industry is young, and can't yet distinguish between an all-around classic that contributes something new and a visually stunning (not mention over-hyped) game that steals surface concepts from better games to give the illusion of having depth. Expand
  6. StevenS.
    Nov 25, 2006
    9
    Unbelievable. Great co-op, even better versus mode.
  7. JeffK.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing. When I played, I couldn't believe the graphics, gameplay, etc. The best game I have played to date.
  8. AbdulS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    One of the best games on 360, story could be a little longer, but it is great. the multiplayer is competative and really fun. still best graphics. the only people that do not like this game suck at it.
  9. AngelaF.
    Jan 3, 2007
    10
    This is one of the BEST games out for the 360! The AI is good in this game and so far I haven't found an "easy" way to kill the enemies, except for the berserker on the train, you can make him fall off. Loads of fun and pretty challenging, the weapons are designed well. I especially like how the chainsaw will stop when you get shot at. The controls work perfectly and i really This is one of the BEST games out for the 360! The AI is good in this game and so far I haven't found an "easy" way to kill the enemies, except for the berserker on the train, you can make him fall off. Loads of fun and pretty challenging, the weapons are designed well. I especially like how the chainsaw will stop when you get shot at. The controls work perfectly and i really don't understand how people can say that its hard to use.*cough, NOOB* LOL.. The only thing is that they could have made it a little longer. Still deserves a 10, this game rocks. Expand
  10. Jk
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    This game is so f*ckin good! It might be a a bit short but things like co-op add many extra hours to this game I've beaten this game so many times but I've come back for more its so frican fun specially playing with freinds on split screen or online co op GET IT NOW!
  11. GearH.
    Feb 13, 2007
    8
    Wow! What a game! The visuals are stunning especially on a huge high def television. This game has everything except a decent length story line, with excellent graphics and intense battles throughout you would hope for a story line that grips you for hours and hours but sadly its grips you just hours. Excellent game and cant wait for the next installment.
  12. SlothM.
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    Sick game, yes the campaign is short but the absolutely mindblowing graphics, and superb online multiplayer make this a winner no doubt.
  13. Jordan
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Best game I've ever played. I highly recommend it to anyone. The 3rd person view took me a while to get used to, as well as there being no aiming dot until zooming in. This game has the best graphics I have ever seen. (especially on the 1080i hi-def lcd) each level has great action. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because of the online play. I found it to be a little Best game I've ever played. I highly recommend it to anyone. The 3rd person view took me a while to get used to, as well as there being no aiming dot until zooming in. This game has the best graphics I have ever seen. (especially on the 1080i hi-def lcd) each level has great action. The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because of the online play. I found it to be a little boring. Other than that. Awesome game. Expand
  14. Ian
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    This is the most satisfying game I have played in a long time. Although, judging by Storage Box's content, you may not like the game if you are completely inept with first person shooters. Killing in this game is extremely rewarding and only makes you want to kill more. You won't put a round into someone's head and watch them collapse limp onto the ground. You'll blow This is the most satisfying game I have played in a long time. Although, judging by Storage Box's content, you may not like the game if you are completely inept with first person shooters. Killing in this game is extremely rewarding and only makes you want to kill more. You won't put a round into someone's head and watch them collapse limp onto the ground. You'll blow their freaking head off and watch a mess of guts come raining down after hearing them scream in agony! Although, a fair warning, you may not enjoy the story line if you came here for the epic storytelling of JRR Tolkien. The plot of this game is simple. Kill em. Kill em all! Expand
  15. MartyB.
    Jul 8, 2007
    9
    That Storage Box guy is pretty funny. Someday when my son asks me what an idiot is I will show him Storage's review of Gears of War and he will understand.
  16. Mike
    Sep 21, 2007
    8
    While the gameplay is undeniably fun, you have to shut off your brain and ignore the "plot." The storyline and presentation is so ridiculous and poorly executed that the entire thing is absolutely laughable. Character development? Non existent. Was this written by a 12 year old pre-pubescent boy?
    Hey, Epic Games? Fire your writer(s).
  17. GuyWithGoodTaste
    May 10, 2008
    3
    This is one of the worst games I have ever played. It really says a lot about the state of the games industry when THIS game gets high marks. Repetitive, short, and just generally soul crushing. It's only redeeming aspect is the graphics, which aren't all that dazzling when they make the transition from screen shot to actual game. Gears of War is the very definition of This is one of the worst games I have ever played. It really says a lot about the state of the games industry when THIS game gets high marks. Repetitive, short, and just generally soul crushing. It's only redeeming aspect is the graphics, which aren't all that dazzling when they make the transition from screen shot to actual game. Gears of War is the very definition of mediocrity. Avoid at all costs. It's not even worth it if it's free. Expand
  18. Notafanboy
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    I could go on for pages about this game. One of the few games to deliver. What makes this game great is the features it brings. The chainsaw will keep newcomers happy in a sadistic way for some time, as well as the curb stomp, which after two years is still great fun. The graphics are right up there with the greats, even after all this time. I still haven't put this game down, truly I could go on for pages about this game. One of the few games to deliver. What makes this game great is the features it brings. The chainsaw will keep newcomers happy in a sadistic way for some time, as well as the curb stomp, which after two years is still great fun. The graphics are right up there with the greats, even after all this time. I still haven't put this game down, truly breathtaking. Expand
  19. JamieD.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    This is a great game with a couple shortcomings. It looks great, it plays great, and is a lot of fun. I would have like to seen 4 person split screen and a longer campaign. Versus online is fun, but I get most of my kills with the chainsaw which is cool but I would like to kill more enemies with my gun. Online Co-Op Rocks!
  20. MikeM.
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    An amazing game that suddenly renewed my interest in the FP shooter genre again. I have to admit I'm a pretty jaded and long time gamer (early 80's) and like many, feared this would be either be another Brute Force or a typical formulamatic shooter. But I was definately wrong. Dead wrong. Forget that this game would put graphic whores in pure ecstasy, but the gameplay works well An amazing game that suddenly renewed my interest in the FP shooter genre again. I have to admit I'm a pretty jaded and long time gamer (early 80's) and like many, feared this would be either be another Brute Force or a typical formulamatic shooter. But I was definately wrong. Dead wrong. Forget that this game would put graphic whores in pure ecstasy, but the gameplay works well that melds halo type action with the strategy of a Tom Clancy type shooter. Repetitive game play? I think not. The coop mode is pretty sweet, but the versus mode simply enhances the games longetivity. Its only 4v4, but the maps are made perfectly accomodating for that amount. Now I only hope if they make a sequel they include 4 player coop.... Expand
  21. Falak.D
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    This game is amazing. the graphics, gameplay proves that this could be the game to beat Halo 3 but we'll have to wait and see. It was either FEAR or GOW and I guess I made the right decision. The best game for 06' PERIOD!
  22. TonyB.
    Nov 12, 2006
    7
    I think that everybody loves this game only because its the first real next generation game. Sure the graphics and sound are simply amazing I must agree but its the same thing over and over again kill the locust blow up there emergence holes move on its the same thing as any other 3rd person shooter. Another problem is absolutely nothing is destructable. I shot a glass pot and it left a I think that everybody loves this game only because its the first real next generation game. Sure the graphics and sound are simply amazing I must agree but its the same thing over and over again kill the locust blow up there emergence holes move on its the same thing as any other 3rd person shooter. Another problem is absolutely nothing is destructable. I shot a glass pot and it left a bullet hole like I shot a wall it didn't even go through it unless the weapon of the future are extrmemly weak I think we have a problem housten. They spent all that time making the game look good and windows and pots can't break rawr. Expand
  23. Mahfu83
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    Dont believe the other ratings! These people only rated the single player mode. Multiplayer and online are so utterly amazing that it outshines anything ever created for online. If you love to get the blood pumpin and enjoy edge of your seat competion....then buy this game. The hype was under-rated!
  24. danwarb
    Nov 10, 2006
    10
    Very innovative and original gameplay ;) ;). Great story. Subtle; you're not hit over the head with it. Best visuals in a game so far.
  25. NateB.
    Nov 10, 2006
    6
    A very very mediocre title that was way too overhyped. Like everyone else, I thought this would be the best game ever. Turns out, its just a pretty average 3rd person shooter. Kind of reminds me of black. There aren't enough explosions, the gore looks like its cel shaded or something, the wepaons are pretty lame (the chainsaw is cool except the buttons are so unresponsive you usually A very very mediocre title that was way too overhyped. Like everyone else, I thought this would be the best game ever. Turns out, its just a pretty average 3rd person shooter. Kind of reminds me of black. There aren't enough explosions, the gore looks like its cel shaded or something, the wepaons are pretty lame (the chainsaw is cool except the buttons are so unresponsive you usually die because your guy won't attack when you try to) and there is a serious drought mental challenges since everything is way too straight foward and on rails. Use cover, shoot, cover, repeat. I think that everyone is over looking this game's flaws simply because it really is a beautiful game. To say though that this game belongs in the same class as Halo 2, RE4 or Metroid Prime is an insult to those games. Just rent this game (and if you're playing co-op, be prepared to block off a lot of time because it won't save your game until you beat a chapter, maybe a couple hours long. What idiot made it so you can't save at individual checkpoints? At least divide up the levels or something) Expand
  26. BruinsFan247
    Nov 10, 2006
    8
    Product of overhyping? Possibly. Is it a bad game? Not at all, it fact its pretty darn fun. However, after more than a year of hype, I for one was expecting more innovation and more of everything. Aside from maybe the graphics, which by the way are the prettiest gaming has ever seen, period. I for one dont play games for graphics though. The gameplay is fierce and almost non-stop action, Product of overhyping? Possibly. Is it a bad game? Not at all, it fact its pretty darn fun. However, after more than a year of hype, I for one was expecting more innovation and more of everything. Aside from maybe the graphics, which by the way are the prettiest gaming has ever seen, period. I for one dont play games for graphics though. The gameplay is fierce and almost non-stop action, also a possitive. My biggest problem with the game lies in the controls. I dont like they running button being the same as the cover button. What do you think is going to happen when you run too close to a wall or crate or any other object to be used as cover, its very frustrating to me. The single player campaign is riveting, for a short while anyway. Its only about 6 hours long. Thats not such a big negative to me since I play most of my games online. Anyway its a great game, though not deserving of all the hype in my opinion. Its still a must have for especially for online gamers. Deserving of a "10" or a 100% rating? not to this gamer. Expand
  27. gregchaboinker
    Nov 18, 2006
    8
    this is obviously a great game. the graphics are stunning and the gameplay is phenomenal. this game was very overly hyphed though. i really thought it was missing something. i think they should have spent more time too make it absolutley perfect. its still a great game and should be boughten, but i think it cud be better
  28. PeterA.
    Nov 10, 2006
    9
    Single player game is difficult and you will die often, but extremely rewarding. Co-op is a bit easier as you and your teammate can keep each other alive (run up t a downed teammate and hit X). Multi-player is excellent for the limited time I have played it. Good team work is rewarded and Rambo-style play will get you killed quick. Not sure if there are the usual CTF and free-for-all Single player game is difficult and you will die often, but extremely rewarding. Co-op is a bit easier as you and your teammate can keep each other alive (run up t a downed teammate and hit X). Multi-player is excellent for the limited time I have played it. Good team work is rewarded and Rambo-style play will get you killed quick. Not sure if there are the usual CTF and free-for-all options. Also finding an online game to join wasn't always successful. Excellent story and pacing. Some decent shock value. Graphically excellent, but sometimes difficult to tell friend from foe at a distance. Controls are intuitive once you select the Legacy configuration (Halo-like) that reverses the functions of the analog sticks. Highly recommended. I would give it a 9.5. Expand
  29. DrewC.
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    It is an amazing game! This is the first game I played on xbox 360 and it is the best of the bunch. I'm HOOKED!
  30. JonT.
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Love the singleplayer and coop. Multiplayer is great fun too. Easily best 360 game out now, so get it and play it!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 90
    The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.