Gears of War Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2361 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GhostNU
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    This is no game - THIS IS ART!!! A next generation masterpiece that will leave you breathless! Take the time to master the controls and you will unlock the most brilliant work of interactive cinema of our time. Like others, I was skeptical about Gears going in (due to all the hype), but make no mistake - this game is a tour de force: visceral action, a brilliantly crafted story full of This is no game - THIS IS ART!!! A next generation masterpiece that will leave you breathless! Take the time to master the controls and you will unlock the most brilliant work of interactive cinema of our time. Like others, I was skeptical about Gears going in (due to all the hype), but make no mistake - this game is a tour de force: visceral action, a brilliantly crafted story full of haunting metaphors to our own time, atmospheric music that is both beautiful and terrifying, and photorealistic graphics that, simply put, look like a living, breathing painting. Believe the hype but don't believe the frustrated Sony and Nintendo fanboys. Because they know that the console wars may be over before they've begun. Expand
  2. SteveW.
    Nov 12, 2006
    10
    People that rate this lower than an 8 must not own a 360. All they can say is that its repetitive! This game is a classic. Multiplayer is awesome, and story mode is different when you run through it 3 or 4 times. Don't choose the same path and it wont be repetitive. KICK ASS GAME
  3. Mr.Anderson
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    This is a game for me. The immersive environments, the better-than-hollywood story, the obviously incredible graphics all enhance the most enjoyable action gameplay I've experienced in years. I'm not usually a big fan of online multiplayer, but this one utilizes strategy and teamwork to an addictive degree. I'm also not one to typically play through an action game's This is a game for me. The immersive environments, the better-than-hollywood story, the obviously incredible graphics all enhance the most enjoyable action gameplay I've experienced in years. I'm not usually a big fan of online multiplayer, but this one utilizes strategy and teamwork to an addictive degree. I'm also not one to typically play through an action game's story more than once (I do that with RPG's some), but I am now going through it the 2nd time on the harder diffculty and can't put it down. It never gets old or frustrating (actually it does when your online and in a match with a team that plays it like it's Halo or doesn't communicate - hopefully that will end soon). If you don't own a 360 - Here's a reason to go get one. Expand
  4. NicholasT.
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    I would give a 9.7, since there is one fault Why don't they make it 4 player split screen, EPIC this game could be better than Halo if you do this in some kind of update!!! please!!!!, stop with only online multiplayer!
  5. BryanM.
    Nov 15, 2006
    4
    It is way too overhyped! It is not that good its just a shooting game that you just hide behind walls and other stuff most of the time, but if you like Ghost Recon, this is your game!
  6. BobM.
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Best Shooter To Date. I Cant Wait For Part Two!
  7. ChristosT.
    Nov 15, 2006
    6
    Yo this game is fun, to co-op is cool, the action is tight, so is the look but online sucks. There needs tobe a 4 player split screen and you will spend most of your time trying to get in to the same game along with your friends. Therefore please update your online cause it is really weak.
  8. CliffB.
    Nov 15, 2006
    4
    After all the hyped up broohahah over this game, I was expecting more. It all sounded like it had so much potential... Yeah great graphics and 'cinematic' style and as you jump in the excitement and feeling of action is great, but shouldn't that be a given, on next gen? Whatever happened to that thing called "gameplay"? Gears gameplay is repetitive, and definitely not After all the hyped up broohahah over this game, I was expecting more. It all sounded like it had so much potential... Yeah great graphics and 'cinematic' style and as you jump in the excitement and feeling of action is great, but shouldn't that be a given, on next gen? Whatever happened to that thing called "gameplay"? Gears gameplay is repetitive, and definitely not innovative - just a rip off of Killswitch and a few others. Oh and a chainsaw? Ooooh, never seen that before. Plus there are lots of annoying things that ruin what could have been a pretty "solid" game. Like objects sticking to you as you run past. Lame physics on enemies with limbs flying around in all directions. Numerous disc read, collision and weapon bugs..Allied A.I. is just terrible! I remember bitching about dumb friendlies getting in your way as long ago as Half Life and these guys still haven't figured it out. And nobody seems to have noticed how weak the effects are. This is XBox 360 for god's sake it should be possible to do way better than this, I can't see any excuse for it. As far as overall presentation goes, the story and characters are just adolescent and the setting is pretty stupid too (why are there burnt out cars from the 80s lying about in a futuristic alien world?) Finally, it's only around 6 to 8 hours long. Worth a rental to look at the pretty environments but that's about it. Expand
  9. Alex
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Wow. Its really hard to truly describe the masterpeice that is Gears of War. between the hectic gameplay, heart-stopping visuals, chainsaw bayonet, the unforgettable campaign moments (such as the first Berserker fight), the spot- on voice acting, the cinematic appeal, and the overall AWESOMENESS of it all, its really hard to pick which part of GoW stands out the most. but stop for a Wow. Its really hard to truly describe the masterpeice that is Gears of War. between the hectic gameplay, heart-stopping visuals, chainsaw bayonet, the unforgettable campaign moments (such as the first Berserker fight), the spot- on voice acting, the cinematic appeal, and the overall AWESOMENESS of it all, its really hard to pick which part of GoW stands out the most. but stop for a second, throw the super smooth co-op into it all, and you've got all of the aforementioned, only doubled, and with a friend, making the overall game a true 360 MUST BUY title. plus, its got offline split-screen, which is a feature that (sadly) is becoming incredibly rare now a days. there are the occasional hiccups with the physics and graphics, but these are almost non-existant when you take into account the whole scope of the game. here's to hoping for Gears of War 2. 9.9 out of 10 p.s. Dominic Santiago is a badass. Expand
  10. PatrickC.
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    Killer app. Period. A must try and for most gamers, a must buy ! Top of the notch game ! -0,5 for a lack of story originality. -0,5 for a too short single player campaign.
  11. MattP.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Yeah this game is f..king kick ass you guys did good job on the game only thing i dont like is when u run n u get chainsawed like 10feet away beside that game is kickass been up for 32hrs playing non-stop.
  12. J.T.
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Ok I knew that the game would be good but i have to say that Gears Of War exceeds my expectations 100 percent!! The Gameplay is smooth and inovative, unlike any other game on the market. The graphics are absolutely stuning, and the multiplayer is intense and loads of fun. But the best part of the game has to be the chainsaw...there is nothing like cutting a big grasshopper from elbow to Ok I knew that the game would be good but i have to say that Gears Of War exceeds my expectations 100 percent!! The Gameplay is smooth and inovative, unlike any other game on the market. The graphics are absolutely stuning, and the multiplayer is intense and loads of fun. But the best part of the game has to be the chainsaw...there is nothing like cutting a big grasshopper from elbow to a..hole!!! Expand
  13. Frank
    Nov 19, 2006
    7
    Great graphics solid gameplay. But you will get bored of it pretty quick. SIngle player campaign is short and mutiplayer doesn't have lasting appeal. It will be gathering dust in a few weeks.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    Great game. I hate FPS so this comes as a surprise to me. I wasn't even going to pick this up, but after read the reviews and watching it played at local game store, I figured it was worth a try (hell, I can always sell it for nearly what I paid on ebay this early anyway...). Serioulsy good game. I hate FPS, just played them all to death years ago, but this one is different. Great game. I hate FPS so this comes as a surprise to me. I wasn't even going to pick this up, but after read the reviews and watching it played at local game store, I figured it was worth a try (hell, I can always sell it for nearly what I paid on ebay this early anyway...). Serioulsy good game. I hate FPS, just played them all to death years ago, but this one is different. It's not a FPS since you see behind your avatar ala Resident Evil 4 for example. They added a dodge/hide behind cover element to the gameplay that works really well. Plus, the multiplayer support is incredible - I can hop into my buddies campaign/solo game anytime at any point via xboxLive. All games should do it this seemlessly. Expand
  15. danwong
    Nov 20, 2006
    7
    Hmm, yes excellent graphics - pretty linear gaming though, great sound, good (though over used) cover system, repetitive. Single player and co-op worth a rental, but on-line is no where as fullfilling as cod3. As a matter of fact on line in perfect dark zero is 5 times better. All in all disappointing, I expected something special, but it's nothing we've not seen before gameplay wise.
  16. DLMcK
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    Forget these people who seem to have an agenda when bad-mouthing this game. It is one of the most fun and one of the most gorgeous games I have ever seen or played. The hours can melt away before you even know it when this one is in the console.
  17. Ek-oDudley
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    The only problem with the game is the campaign is VERY short. But its good enough to play numerous times. Great Game!
  18. MarkH.
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    This game is awsome, what other title lets your freinds play your campaign over live at any point with you co-op so exciting.
  19. Valg.
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    This is by far the best game on the Xbox 360. The graphics, sound, gameplay, originality, innovation are simply the best. Gears of War = the greatest game EVER on any console. The only other game i consider to be this good is Resident Evil 4 for the Gamecube. But Gears of War tops that game as well. This game is worth every penny, and then some!
  20. AramisG.
    Nov 22, 2006
    7
    It is just ok (fun and looks great). However, the entire game suffers from lack of variation, and it is short to boot. There is barely a variation in enemies or weapons. The music is sometimes inappropriate for what is actually happening on screen. There is even a pompous little inscription in the booklet about what the designer of GOW feels makes a next generation game, "next It is just ok (fun and looks great). However, the entire game suffers from lack of variation, and it is short to boot. There is barely a variation in enemies or weapons. The music is sometimes inappropriate for what is actually happening on screen. There is even a pompous little inscription in the booklet about what the designer of GOW feels makes a next generation game, "next generation". In the end I hope publishers really start considering other methods of creating "next generation" games, other than amazing graphics. In a year this game will be forgotten history. Expand
  21. RedRose
    Nov 23, 2006
    6
    Great graphics but typically bland and unoriginal xbox gameplay.
    **AS USUAL EDGE GETS IT RIGHT AND DOESN'T BUY INTO THE HYPE. READ THE EDGE REVIEW FIRST BEFORE BUYING. LOOK AT ALL THEIR REVIEWS. THEY HARDLY EVER GIVE ABOVE 9 UNLIKE MOST REVIEWERS WHIO THROW 9'S AND 10'S ABOUT LIKE THEY ARE GOING OUT OF FASHION.**

    Buyer beware.
  22. ItsKapuder
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    PLEASE READ TO THE END to find out why I am rating this game a 15 rather than a well deserving 9. I have one question. Why so many 9 and 10s, very few 6,7, or 8s. And then a multitude of 4 and 5s from the likes of Steve M., Bryan M., Cliff B., Eric S. and Anthony V.? What is wrong with you people? I can understand not thinking that the game is that outstanding, but just because youPLEASE READ TO THE END to find out why I am rating this game a 15 rather than a well deserving 9. I have one question. Why so many 9 and 10s, very few 6,7, or 8s. And then a multitude of 4 and 5s from the likes of Steve M., Bryan M., Cliff B., Eric S. and Anthony V.? What is wrong with you people? I can understand not thinking that the game is that outstanding, but just because you say the game is way overhyped, it doesn't warrant you giving it ratings of 4 and 5. And lets not even start with Bob J. and Tank S.. A 2 and a 3 rating! Did you actually put the game into the xbox 360 and pick up a controller.
    Ok the game may not be perfect, but it is far beyond anything ever played on a console system so far. The gameplay is supurb, the graphics are steller, and the sound definately sets the mood. Now, for Eric S. to say "Despite my rant, Gears of War is by no means a bad game. It's just not the masterpiece that the reviewers claim" and then rate it a 5, well we have a problem here. Why would you rate it a 5 if it was not a bad game. Does not make sense to me. And he is not alone.
    So, to conclude with my review, the game does deserve a 9 or possibly a 10, but to get back at those ignorant fools for rating it a 4s and 5s, not mention the 2s and 3s, I will gladly say this game is a 15! A must buy game that absolutely makes the system a next gen console. So much for Tank S. telling us its average and then rating it a 2. See what I mean????
    Expand
  23. ChrisG.
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    What an absolutely incredible game. Aside from a few minor control issues, especially in the "roadie run" mode, Gears blew me away. I have never, ever finished a game and immediatly started over on the same night until I played this. Replay value is perhaps the highest I've ever experienced. The storyline is almost cinematic, and the visuals are sublime. If this doesn't win game What an absolutely incredible game. Aside from a few minor control issues, especially in the "roadie run" mode, Gears blew me away. I have never, ever finished a game and immediatly started over on the same night until I played this. Replay value is perhaps the highest I've ever experienced. The storyline is almost cinematic, and the visuals are sublime. If this doesn't win game of the year It will surprise a lot of people. Now I know why I chose Xbox 360 over PS3 - Microsoft knows how to build original shooters. Expand
  24. G.Camel
    Nov 25, 2006
    5
    This game is way over hyped. Yes, it looks good, but it is now Halo Killer. The game movement could be a lot better. You stick when you want to dive and dive when you are trying to stick to a wall. AI is stupid at times and the cursing is not really necessary. We all know what to say by now when we die and don't need to hear it in the game. This was really gradtuitous. I would This game is way over hyped. Yes, it looks good, but it is now Halo Killer. The game movement could be a lot better. You stick when you want to dive and dive when you are trying to stick to a wall. AI is stupid at times and the cursing is not really necessary. We all know what to say by now when we die and don't need to hear it in the game. This was really gradtuitous. I would recommend a rental, do not buy.Peace. Expand
  25. NateS.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    Excellent graphics, game-play, and multiplayer. Weapon balance, ally and enemy AI, and audio are pure perfection.
  26. SionH.
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    Awesome game the story line is good (not great) the single player is fun and exciting and the multiplayer is generally challenging and fun I played this game and it surprised me how good it was.
  27. KeironG.
    Nov 27, 2006
    5
    Very average kind of game, the graphics are beautiful though and there are some interesting twists but all being said it is over hyped as has already been mentioned. Someone recommended this to me over call of duty 3, im glad i got Call of Duty 3 first, for all that games faults its currently holding more for me in terms of playability than this game is.
  28. CodyW.
    Nov 28, 2006
    4
    Ok the stroy was to short, it didn't even look like a war zone I counted 6 to 8 bots at once the bots can get exstreamly dumb every is grading this game on graphic there was no need to even pick up sniper or gernade gun in campain it was to easy with starting gun and there was only 4v4 online and couldent sign in 4 freinds oflfline its only good because it graphics are amazing I will Ok the stroy was to short, it didn't even look like a war zone I counted 6 to 8 bots at once the bots can get exstreamly dumb every is grading this game on graphic there was no need to even pick up sniper or gernade gun in campain it was to easy with starting gun and there was only 4v4 online and couldent sign in 4 freinds oflfline its only good because it graphics are amazing I will admit that but its not worth 50 dollors. Expand
  29. DWillett
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    Oooo buddy the graphics will melt your face.
  30. MassiveShockJ.
    Nov 8, 2006
    10
    A must buy for those who are holding out for an Xbox360 (or waiting for the uber expensive PS3), or better yet get this game now and play it! Truly next gen game. Campaign mode is somewhat short, but if you crank up the difficulty level, might take days to finish. Not your typical run and gun third-person shooter, you need to think and outwit the smart A.I., because you will always find A must buy for those who are holding out for an Xbox360 (or waiting for the uber expensive PS3), or better yet get this game now and play it! Truly next gen game. Campaign mode is somewhat short, but if you crank up the difficulty level, might take days to finish. Not your typical run and gun third-person shooter, you need to think and outwit the smart A.I., because you will always find yourself in a tight situation all the time. Multiplayer is where it shines, fun and addicting, and satisfying after you bash a downed enemy in the head to humiliate their ego after being defeated. A must have title to own in you collection. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 90
    The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.