Gears of War Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2263 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    It's a rarity that a game gets as much hype as this game got, and even more rare that it lived up to that hype. Even 6 months after its release it's still going strong. This day in age, that's a lifetime for an online shooter. In the tradition of Goldeneye and Halo, this is a game for the ages.
  2. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two of the coolest, most brutal, over the top weapons I have ever seen are introduced in this game. The Lancer is incredible. A high powered assault rifle with a bayonet that is a chainsaw sounds a bit ridiculous I know, but it is ridiculousness that sets games like Gears of War apart from other similar games. The second weapon I speak of is the Torque Bow. If anything could put this game over the top of the threshold of total gruesomeness, it is the Torque Bow. For all intents and purposes, this thing is a cross bow that fires exploding arrows! What more could a gamer (or COG soldier) ask for? On top of the awesome weapons, there are good characters (with good voice acting), fun objectives, a really cool and simple duck and cover system, plus an easily detestable horde villains. My only complaint, and the reasoning behind my 9 rating rather than 10, is that the campaign is kind of short. However, the game is fun enough to play through again, especially because once the game is played through, you unlock "Insane" difficulty. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Where there's hype, there's people who hate it. One reviewer admitted loving Gears for 3 weeks straight, then reaching a completely turnaround after trying the multiplayer. Then he rips on the singleplayer. So, what, you just looked at the box for 3 weeks? If you're going to be critical of a game, let it be based on something. What do I think of Gears? The game's pretty good. Pretty,Where there's hype, there's people who hate it. One reviewer admitted loving Gears for 3 weeks straight, then reaching a completely turnaround after trying the multiplayer. Then he rips on the singleplayer. So, what, you just looked at the box for 3 weeks? If you're going to be critical of a game, let it be based on something. What do I think of Gears? The game's pretty good. Pretty, pretty, pretty good. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    Fun game to play but it had a few frustrating bugs/crashes. Very nice visuals and the characters are second to none. I do not play on-line, so I cannot comment on that aspect of the game, but storyline mode if fun and there is something cathartic about using a chainsaw to cut through a mass of enemies. Anyone who slags this game should reevaluate their expectations because if you cannotFun game to play but it had a few frustrating bugs/crashes. Very nice visuals and the characters are second to none. I do not play on-line, so I cannot comment on that aspect of the game, but storyline mode if fun and there is something cathartic about using a chainsaw to cut through a mass of enemies. Anyone who slags this game should reevaluate their expectations because if you cannot have fun playing this, you should probably quit playing video games. Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    A hell of a game. Xbox maybe has a handful of good exclusive titles but with names like Gears of War, it should convince you to get this game. Or wait. If you don't have this game and you have an Xbox 360, you're a dumbass
  6. Nov 18, 2010
    7
    Gears of War is one of the greatest exclusives brought to the 360 (Yes it was also on PC, so we shall call it console exclusive) ! A great game featuring some great in-game mechanics such as the cover system. Although you aren't likely to be bored by the awesome story and clips, the repetitive gameplay might bore you after a while though.
  7. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    One of my favorite memories of the 360, Gears of War is a great game. It's fun to go through, the story is about a bunch of huge space marines, and things go boom. It looks great, even today, and it's mechanics are rock solid. I've beaten it a dozen times and I still have fond memories about it. The multiplayer is good, though the sequel has it beat there. But for the price you can getOne of my favorite memories of the 360, Gears of War is a great game. It's fun to go through, the story is about a bunch of huge space marines, and things go boom. It looks great, even today, and it's mechanics are rock solid. I've beaten it a dozen times and I still have fond memories about it. The multiplayer is good, though the sequel has it beat there. But for the price you can get this for these days, you might as well pick up and have a go. Expand
  8. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Gears of War might have been over hyped, while it's a great game with solid gameplay it's not a game changer, graphics show age, but the sound is great, and the multiplayer is good, the worst part about this game is the story, there is absolutely no character development, hey try to give you a feeling of mystery about Marcus Fenix's (the main character) past, but it just makes himGears of War might have been over hyped, while it's a great game with solid gameplay it's not a game changer, graphics show age, but the sound is great, and the multiplayer is good, the worst part about this game is the story, there is absolutely no character development, hey try to give you a feeling of mystery about Marcus Fenix's (the main character) past, but it just makes him unlikable, weak story aside if you like 3rd person cover shooters you like this, just don't expect a deep story backing it up. Expand
  9. Apr 20, 2011
    8
    I love this game! Achievements are fun to get, the game play is really fun, great graphic. If you find this game cheap, get it. It is a great game with only one problem. It take too many shots to kill an enemy. That is not really too bad of problem see as you get an unbelievable amount of ammo.
  10. May 29, 2011
    10
    The most enjoyable multiplayer experience I've had on the Xbox 360. I met most of my XBL friends through this game and played it more than any other game I've owned for the system. It's a perfect blend of arcade action, strategy, teamwork, and fun. Single player is short but that's not the reason to play this. The only downside in hindsight is the lack of a MP leveling system and noThe most enjoyable multiplayer experience I've had on the Xbox 360. I met most of my XBL friends through this game and played it more than any other game I've owned for the system. It's a perfect blend of arcade action, strategy, teamwork, and fun. Single player is short but that's not the reason to play this. The only downside in hindsight is the lack of a MP leveling system and no stats tracked for non-ranked matches (which is where I spent most of my time). Expand
  11. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Single player: The single player campaign is the main reason why I love Gears of War. I spent most of my time on the game, playing the campaign with my ex or by myself. The story is great and the controls are pretty good. I feel like the campaign was just long enough as well. With it on it's easiest level, it's EXTREMELY easy and hard is just hard enough to still enjoy the gameSingle player: The single player campaign is the main reason why I love Gears of War. I spent most of my time on the game, playing the campaign with my ex or by myself. The story is great and the controls are pretty good. I feel like the campaign was just long enough as well. With it on it's easiest level, it's EXTREMELY easy and hard is just hard enough to still enjoy the game Multiplayer: I enjoyed multiplayer but I wasn't good at it. I was very impatient and that hurt me. You have to be good at aiming from your hip a lot. It's solid gameplay, but it just wasn't my thing. Expand
  12. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    It's very good! Solid campaign, fun multiplayer, likeable characters and good gameplay. The story is also very good, and the latin/english dubs are very, very sweet. feels very complete, and is very fun.
  13. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Gears of War is a game that is near perfect. Fantastic graphics, enthralling story, funny characters, and addicting multiplayer all combines to create one of the best game of the decade. Whether your slaughtering Locust in single-player, or shotgunning noobs in Multi, this game is hard to get board of. This game would be a clear 10 if not for the bugs that plague the Gears of War serversGears of War is a game that is near perfect. Fantastic graphics, enthralling story, funny characters, and addicting multiplayer all combines to create one of the best game of the decade. Whether your slaughtering Locust in single-player, or shotgunning noobs in Multi, this game is hard to get board of. This game would be a clear 10 if not for the bugs that plague the Gears of War servers years after it release. Oddly enough, although these were fixed for Gears of War 2 (for the most part), Gears of War 1 is still a more fun game. A must buy for any shooter fan, and one your going to want to keep. Expand
  14. Sep 2, 2011
    8
    With Gears of War 3 drawing ever closer I decided to go back to the start before it finally arrives! First of all, stating the obvious, its a great game. Sure, 5 years or so on from the original release but it's still one of the best gaming debuts. Back in the day I recall being blown away by what Gears had to offer. Visually it raised the bar, it looked very next gen. More importantly theWith Gears of War 3 drawing ever closer I decided to go back to the start before it finally arrives! First of all, stating the obvious, its a great game. Sure, 5 years or so on from the original release but it's still one of the best gaming debuts. Back in the day I recall being blown away by what Gears had to offer. Visually it raised the bar, it looked very next gen. More importantly the game plays extremely well. The shooting system is fairly straightforward and easy to come to grips with although it times you may get ever son slightly frustrated but thats were the revolutionary chainsaw and gun combination comes to the rescue. Yes, its absurd, ridiculous but also genius! The story is simple, humanity is on the brink. The Locust Horde have risen and are taking over, enter Marcus Fenix, humanity's last hope. Well not quite but you get the drift. Its an incredibly engaging experience and a very well written game full of twists and also full of all sorts of weird and nasty creatures. For me there wasn't much wrong with this game however I just feel it was lacking something, what though I can't quite put my finger on I wanted more but I was for from disappointed because as an all round game Gears of War is a fantastic game. Online is addictive as hell and there is bags of fun to be had here for hours on end, you really do have to experience this game mind you it is 2011 so I doubt any 360 owner hasn't. Not perfect but a stunning game nonetheless. Expand
  15. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    Quite possibly the best shooter I have played on the Xbox360. While some people automatically rule Gears of War out because it is an over-the-shoulder, or Third-Person shooter, players need to give it a chance and allow themselves to fall into the gameplay.

    The multiplayer delivered (past tense, as it's fairly inactive now) when it was active. If you can find this game for $20 or less, I
    Quite possibly the best shooter I have played on the Xbox360. While some people automatically rule Gears of War out because it is an over-the-shoulder, or Third-Person shooter, players need to give it a chance and allow themselves to fall into the gameplay.

    The multiplayer delivered (past tense, as it's fairly inactive now) when it was active. If you can find this game for $20 or less, I would say pick it up and play it, as Gears of War 2 was great, and Gears of War 3 is on it's way.
    Expand
  16. May 31, 2011
    10
    What more can i say about this game.. Its definately up there with the best! A real benchmark of a game to this day,both graphically & features that have inspired many other games to copy elements it has introduced to gaming,like the now much copied context sensitive cover system,Blind Firing from Cover,to the feel itself,with games like Resistance & later Killzone games,& even games laterWhat more can i say about this game.. Its definately up there with the best! A real benchmark of a game to this day,both graphically & features that have inspired many other games to copy elements it has introduced to gaming,like the now much copied context sensitive cover system,Blind Firing from Cover,to the feel itself,with games like Resistance & later Killzone games,& even games later games such as Vanquish & Hunted-The Demons Forge among others owing alot to Gears.Its great that,as good as the graphics are(& lets face it,they dont come much better),all the Gears games still have Online & Offline Co-Op.GREAT!! & is an example to all those developers out there,using the feeble excuse,that their games cant be done in Co-Op,or Split Screen,& not without Borders in Split Screen.If Gears can,then ANY game can.Simple as that! Expand
  17. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    The is the game that started it all. This is the game tht started one of the most beloved and successful Xbox exclusive games in our beoved consoles history. With beautiful graphics, wonderful gameplay mechnics, this game will be remebered by Xbox fans for years to come.
  18. Jan 14, 2014
    8
    Its easy to forgot now but at the time the original Gears of War set a benchmark for next generation graphics and inspired a whole genre in the way it reinvented the cover based shooter. Truth be told there is little story behind proceedings and the controls could be a little fiddly until you got a handle on them but, the brutal gameplay was truly unlike anything else available at theIts easy to forgot now but at the time the original Gears of War set a benchmark for next generation graphics and inspired a whole genre in the way it reinvented the cover based shooter. Truth be told there is little story behind proceedings and the controls could be a little fiddly until you got a handle on them but, the brutal gameplay was truly unlike anything else available at the time and the opportunity to play the entire campaign with a friend (either split-screen or over Xbox Live) only made things even better. Expand
  19. May 2, 2011
    5
    I'd like to be kind here, but I just don't understand where some of the reviewers are coming from. Golem's cave perhaps? It is not tactical in the least bit. Run, shoot, ooh creepy, shoot, ahh look at that! shoot, yeah! give him the chainsaw! shoot.
    I returned it for a full refund a day or 2 after I purchased it. They asked me why I would do such a thing, and I told them what I'm telling
    I'd like to be kind here, but I just don't understand where some of the reviewers are coming from. Golem's cave perhaps? It is not tactical in the least bit. Run, shoot, ooh creepy, shoot, ahh look at that! shoot, yeah! give him the chainsaw! shoot.
    I returned it for a full refund a day or 2 after I purchased it. They asked me why I would do such a thing, and I told them what I'm telling you now. They put a lot of effort into this game, and a lot of detail, but it has been way over-hyped. Primarily because of how gritty and cool it looks(I admit that at least). But tactical? Nah. Maybe if taking a dump is tactical for you.
    In all fairness, I thought it was a cool game, and the 2nd one is much much better because of online and horde mode, but I'm surprised this franchise has gotten to where it is now. Did not see it coming.
    Like I said though, it's enjoyable, but completely not complicated.
    Expand
  20. May 6, 2011
    5
    Sure its got some amazing graphics, but this isnt anything i havent played before. Throw in extremely linear, one dimensional gameplay, zero exposition , and a messy control scheme, and what you get is an terribly overrated piece of garbage. Its very hard to believe this recieved such high ratings- i smell a payoff.
  21. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    I can't believe Gears of War came out 5 years ago, I recently revisited it and it's one of the few games that you can say has aged well. Regardless of being overhyped, Gears of War is still one of my most favourite games of this game gen.
  22. May 23, 2011
    9
    payed this in the days that the only fps i admired or really new about was halo, pleasantly surprised loved the alternative methods of movements and fantastic cinematic feel :)
  23. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Gears of War is epic. Just epic. If you haven't played this game...go play it. It's a little short but overall this is a very good game! The gameplay is WOW and the graphics is good. This is better than Gears of War 2 in my opinion.
  24. Jun 21, 2011
    5
    Even if I finished this game I was realy dissapointed. It´s quite fun to playthrough, but I dont see anything so amazing about this title. Yeah, maybe the cover system was something new, but the control is bad, It have realy poor story, stupid enemies, graphics was maybe once good, but these days bad, but never great. The final boss fight also bit killed the game for me. IEven if I finished this game I was realy dissapointed. It´s quite fun to playthrough, but I dont see anything so amazing about this title. Yeah, maybe the cover system was something new, but the control is bad, It have realy poor story, stupid enemies, graphics was maybe once good, but these days bad, but never great. The final boss fight also bit killed the game for me. I cant help, but when I see Cliff, nothing personal, I see some very juvenile ego with the muscles, soo full of himself..., the same I thing about this game. I give five, because of regret. Expand
  25. Oct 22, 2011
    8
    On the weekend I went game shopping and rustled myself up a copy of the 2006 Xbox Classic-Gears of War. By Epic Games the creators of Bulletstorm and the Unreal Games. Gears of War was a Revolutionary shooter and I see why. When Microsoft released it they said it was the new Halo and they weren't kidding. But when they said that they meant it was better than Halo. You are the ratherOn the weekend I went game shopping and rustled myself up a copy of the 2006 Xbox Classic-Gears of War. By Epic Games the creators of Bulletstorm and the Unreal Games. Gears of War was a Revolutionary shooter and I see why. When Microsoft released it they said it was the new Halo and they weren't kidding. But when they said that they meant it was better than Halo. You are the rather massive Marcus Fenix who has been put in jail because you tried to save your father from the locust horde who have risen out of the Earth for some reason. This is all until your friend Dominic Santiago rescues you from prison you are then told to go plant a resonator light bomb in an underground pumping station to stop them. The games story is average but it doesn't really need one because the game is pure action you sort of forget the story even. The gunplay is as any good i've ever seen the cover system is the most intuitive ive ever seen and the guns are kick-ass. My favorite is the Lancer mainly because it's attachment is a chainsaw and that makes for some very gory parts in fact the game it self is pretty damn gory. It's sort of annoying with the hub though when your being shot the GoW logo fades in as you get closer to death but even then I didn't know when I was dying because I was focused on the action. I barely got lost. The level design accomadates some tactics they were the same in evry level but thats good to have in a game overall I had a great time and it definitely beats Halo so i'll give it 8.5 massive stars As always this will be on Metacritic http://www.maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/ Expand
  26. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Compared to other game released in 2005, 'Gears of War' far exceeds all expectations against it's competitor's. It was clean, smooth and great to play, If you go by time frame 'Gears of War' is probably one of the greatest games ever. It was a new way of war playing game and something that we have never seen before. We have to appreciate that this game released in 2005 has that kind ofCompared to other game released in 2005, 'Gears of War' far exceeds all expectations against it's competitor's. It was clean, smooth and great to play, If you go by time frame 'Gears of War' is probably one of the greatest games ever. It was a new way of war playing game and something that we have never seen before. We have to appreciate that this game released in 2005 has that kind of graphics and game play, well that is just remarkable. In all, this was my all time FAVORITE game!!!!!! 10/10 Expand
  27. Aug 14, 2011
    9
    Nearly perfect. The game came out with a bang back in 2005 and exploded past all the competition. This game had something special about it and wasn't afraid to show it. The graphic's were great and the game play was even better. I truly love getting head shots my self something special about it. All and all a great game and one of my favorites to play, of all time!
  28. Sep 24, 2012
    9
    It's not often that you can play a game SIX YEARS AFTER RELEASE and still be amazed by the graphics. I had to stop playing the game just to come here and say that it's THE BEST LOOKING SHOOTER ON XBOX 360 TO DATE! The lighting and textures have insane detail, and no other game- not even Gears of War 3- can match its graphics. As the first ever game to use the most common game engine ofIt's not often that you can play a game SIX YEARS AFTER RELEASE and still be amazed by the graphics. I had to stop playing the game just to come here and say that it's THE BEST LOOKING SHOOTER ON XBOX 360 TO DATE! The lighting and textures have insane detail, and no other game- not even Gears of War 3- can match its graphics. As the first ever game to use the most common game engine of this generation, its technological achievement is astounding. The gameplay is so original, and the controls are the best for a third person shooter because they are fast and fluent. I've come from Gears 2 and 3 to play this and you really CANNOT tell that this game is old. It was one of the first games to have co-op splitscreen in campaign, and the gameplay, controls, graphics and campaign are still amazing today. Another thing that is astonishing is the A.I. I have completed the other two games on Insane and playing through this on Hardcore puts them to shame. Unlike the other two the AI on here seem to analyse your position relative to other enemies and can judge when to advance. In most other shooters the AI just sit there behind cover, wheras on here they seem dynamic. As a result, the game is made more challenging, which is always welcome. Not only was Gears of War way ahead of its time, but the gameplay and controls were so original and unique that now you have games that try to copy its style, like Warhammer Space Marine. For its time, this was definitely the best shooter on X360 without a doubt. The graphics on this game just go to show how little advancements have been made for console shooters due to the hardware's limited performance. I'd highly recommend this game if you like a good shooter and especially if you've played other Gears games. Expand
  29. Sep 26, 2011
    3
    Graphics are nice, and the characters have some personality. However the game is very boring, I found myself staying in cover too much for too long and it ultimately became boring. Also getting killed when trying to navigate through a level, made the pacing way too slow.

    I don't mind taking cover, as long as the game lets me roam around without getting killed constantly. It had the
    Graphics are nice, and the characters have some personality. However the game is very boring, I found myself staying in cover too much for too long and it ultimately became boring. Also getting killed when trying to navigate through a level, made the pacing way too slow.

    I don't mind taking cover, as long as the game lets me roam around without getting killed constantly.

    It had the potential to be something great but it disappointed.
    Expand
  30. Dec 18, 2014
    3
    I've played Gears of War for the first time a couple of months ago. While there's some fun to be had, the controls are adaquate, it's also outdated and newer similar games control a lot more fluid. The graphics are average but everything, absolutely everything is dark and gray. I'd say this game, for modern audiences, deserves about a 5 out of 10. But, that's not taking into account theI've played Gears of War for the first time a couple of months ago. While there's some fun to be had, the controls are adaquate, it's also outdated and newer similar games control a lot more fluid. The graphics are average but everything, absolutely everything is dark and gray. I'd say this game, for modern audiences, deserves about a 5 out of 10. But, that's not taking into account the game breaking bug that never got fixed: the save games. It isn't enough that the checkpoints are too far apart to begin with, it's impossible to know when the game saves exactly. Not only that, we (I played with a friend in split screen) constantly lost our save game, having to play the same section over and over again. We never finished the game but we did see the berserker a couple of times, maybe that gives you an indication how far we were in the game.
    EDIT: as I've read that the sequel and threequel have the same save game bug I will definitely not be playing those unless it's for free. I would however give a new game for Xbox One a shot if this bug is fixed. I believe Judgement already fixed it.
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 90
    The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.