Gears of War Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2334 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaceN.
    Dec 13, 2006
    6
    Well here it is...the kingpin title weve all been waiting for...the game that influenced how much RAM was built into the 360...and universally considered critic-proof........unfortunatly I don't play by those rules! Gears of War starts well enough, youve got a slightly off the right shoulder third person camera, a cover system and lots of urban wasteland to fight big monster Well here it is...the kingpin title weve all been waiting for...the game that influenced how much RAM was built into the 360...and universally considered critic-proof........unfortunatly I don't play by those rules! Gears of War starts well enough, youve got a slightly off the right shoulder third person camera, a cover system and lots of urban wasteland to fight big monster musclemen in and around...but then things get frustrating! Control pad action just isn't translated into onscreen response properly, the chainsaw on the end of your weapon has the idiotic design flaw of switching off if you take a hit...after a few stops & starts you just give up and shoot your would-be saw-ee...left with him riddled with holes instead of being cut in two pieces and you wondering why you bothered trying the saw in the first place...your characters "off & on" cover context always has him leaping out into dead mans land instead of ducking behind cover when you needed him not to the most...the "Avioding Krill" and "Leading Berserker" minigame mechanics feel so out of place and stupid...your teammates care little for their own safety...one time youre given 30 seconds to cross a courtyard filled with enemies to reach an APC or its game over...you might be able to cheese it and just roll & run your way there but had it been 1 minute instead it might have been acceptable...and the outdated and stale checkpoint system has you re-re-re-re-doing sections countless times just because one Theron Guard got lucky with his explodey bow shot. So overall you either love it or hate it..I hate it...the score is for workmanships sake as the game (where applicable) is built quite solidly! But unless your some knd of gaming genius youre going to find little fun in this game...and more anger than your could possibly imagine! Expand
  2. AnonA.
    Dec 25, 2006
    6
    Dissapointing and repetitive gameplay. I can tell you the next 6 hours of gameplay and 4 steps 1)press A to duck or hide 2) Shoot 3) run and hide again 4) Repeat
  3. JohnB.
    Sep 23, 2007
    6
    Single player - great, as long as you play it on Hardcore and then Insane. though replayabaility is limited as you are confined to fighting in tunnels and going from A to B. Co-op - this is perhaps where the longevity lies. Multiplayer - i hated it. thought it was unbalanced with poor quality maps and the bleeding out/no respawn (pre-updates/DLC) was a huge flaw. the coding did not help Single player - great, as long as you play it on Hardcore and then Insane. though replayabaility is limited as you are confined to fighting in tunnels and going from A to B. Co-op - this is perhaps where the longevity lies. Multiplayer - i hated it. thought it was unbalanced with poor quality maps and the bleeding out/no respawn (pre-updates/DLC) was a huge flaw. the coding did not help to alleviate latency, and on many ocassions there was horrific lag. if you don't have Live, then this is a fantastic game for a single player, but if you do, and want to make sure you get as much out of the game as possible, i would suggest something like R6: Vegas or the reigning champ of Halo 2. Expand
  4. JB
    Oct 12, 2008
    6
    This game has good visual display and satisfying animations and gore etc. - but i find it vastly inferior in it supposed strength - its "innovative" cover system and game play mechanics... The game is way to clunky, slow and generally unsatisfying - with the exception of the chainsaw, I will take COD4 over this any day.
  5. WilliamJ.
    Jul 12, 2008
    6
    Gears of war is a good game, but is, from its core flawed. The gameplay is basic but changes in the short 7 hour campaign to become varyed, such as riding a vehicle or sniping enemys out. This isn't a deep game and continues to give a basic story, half explaining the full story, and then ending on a cliff hanger. It has texture pop-in, and plenty of bugs. The online is ok, but it Gears of war is a good game, but is, from its core flawed. The gameplay is basic but changes in the short 7 hour campaign to become varyed, such as riding a vehicle or sniping enemys out. This isn't a deep game and continues to give a basic story, half explaining the full story, and then ending on a cliff hanger. It has texture pop-in, and plenty of bugs. The online is ok, but it will only appeal to some becuase of the 1 life per round structure, its also a bit repetitive and has no reward system like cod 4s. The graphics are very depressing and grey. It looks to similar to UT:3, and has clearly taken huge amounts of ideas from the series.The technical side of this game is great, but is showcased in ways that try to show a limit of the hardware, instead of say Viva Pianata that has hugely origiunal charecters and artwork, all not meant to look real. All in all i hate this game but appreciate the unreal engine behind it all. Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2011
    6
    Gears of War is a good game with fantastic action set-pieces and an almost creepy setting, with a human colonised world being destroyed by a ground-dwelling species known as the Locust. The voice acting is great, the graphics, for its time, were spectacular, if a little drab, and the story is solid. The multi-player aspect, I never really got into, as I was always outclassed andGears of War is a good game with fantastic action set-pieces and an almost creepy setting, with a human colonised world being destroyed by a ground-dwelling species known as the Locust. The voice acting is great, the graphics, for its time, were spectacular, if a little drab, and the story is solid. The multi-player aspect, I never really got into, as I was always outclassed and obliterated by other players. The ability to do co-op campaign takes this game from a 3/5 to a 3.5/5, and defeating the final boss with my mate on the hardest difficulty setting is easily my biggest achievement in gaming so far. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    GOW by no means is a bad game but is very very overrated i just can't find the masterpiece that everybody sees, the story is boring the game play is very repetitive the characters are plain, the only good thing are the graphics for a 2006 game off course.
  8. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    I played this game in 2010, So I'm very late to the GOW party.
    The graphics where very nice and had some moments of awe!
    The characters are flat and boring, consisting of hey lets go here and shoot this mentality.
    Story was paper thin...
    The game started and then it felt like it ended with out anything happening in terms of story progression.
    GOW is a fast pace action movie that you control...
  9. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    Gears of War may have violence and 'badass' weapons but its small in substance and lame in the big scheme of things. The intention of its creators was to obviously make exactly what Gears is but that does not make it good. Any memories this game may create wont last and it is only original to the ignorant console crowd. Gears of War's story is pointless asides from the sensation ofGears of War may have violence and 'badass' weapons but its small in substance and lame in the big scheme of things. The intention of its creators was to obviously make exactly what Gears is but that does not make it good. Any memories this game may create wont last and it is only original to the ignorant console crowd. Gears of War's story is pointless asides from the sensation of violence, it lacks originality, the script is a joke and is immaturely predictable. There maybe some fun to be had with some of its gameplay but there are plenty of other better games out there that have both substance and are 'fun'. In the end the Gears series is just another game for the uncritically minded and sits on the big fat pile of games with crap stories and a missed opportunity. Expand
  10. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    Great game, but it's rather ironic that a developer would name themselves Epic Games, but not make the story in this game epic; there should've been another difficulty level really; but for what it is, the campaign mode is nice, the graphics are amazing, the music is John Williams standards, the characters scream testosterone and masculinity, and the gameplay is a bloody mess in a goodGreat game, but it's rather ironic that a developer would name themselves Epic Games, but not make the story in this game epic; there should've been another difficulty level really; but for what it is, the campaign mode is nice, the graphics are amazing, the music is John Williams standards, the characters scream testosterone and masculinity, and the gameplay is a bloody mess in a good way; but the multiplayer is the big problem here; the team deathmatch mode doesn't let you respawn after you die until the next round; they should've took lessons from Halo 2 and have you respawn immediately after you die so you'll get better at it, and have a limit of the number of kills that ends the match instead of rounds; after being told to leave a match by some wanker, I'm never going to play this game on multiplayer ever again Expand
  11. Apr 6, 2014
    6
    Gears of war is fun . but way to hard and it the most biggest challenge ever . but is okay i guess . i will pass level 1 . Grade C+............................................
  12. EricS.
    Nov 19, 2006
    5
    It's obvious that people are reviewing this game based purely on graphics, because they really are the only thing that sets Gears of War apart from countless other shooters. Granted, technically Gears is an amazing achievement, perhaps the best looking game ever made. The shooting is adequate, but really just boils down to ducking behind blocks and coming up to take a few shot. It's obvious that people are reviewing this game based purely on graphics, because they really are the only thing that sets Gears of War apart from countless other shooters. Granted, technically Gears is an amazing achievement, perhaps the best looking game ever made. The shooting is adequate, but really just boils down to ducking behind blocks and coming up to take a few shot. Rinse, repeat. Where Gears of War really faulters is in its creativity. With their high levels of detail, the enemies give the illusion of being well designed. However, what you really have is some standard looking aliens rendered a lot better. The same can be said for the weapons. The particle effects look amazing, but this is seriously one of the least inspired inventories I've ever seen in a game. The one original weapon (which is quite spectacular, if not particularly deep) is almost never useable. The environments are the only exception to the rule. They are what make the game feel epic even if it is just the same shallow, yet surprisingly satisfying shooting mechanics over and over again. Un-originality aside, what really ruins Gears of War is its embarrassing excuse for a story line and dialogue. How can Video Games be respected the general public when its high-profile releases sound like they're written by... well, programmers. If you care at all about dialogue, voice acting and a coherent plot, then just turn off the sound. It's funny that in the Making of DVD, the designers talk about immersion, yet its hard to become immersed a game where the characters you're meant to sympathize with sound like badly-written teenagers in a straight to TV movie. If I could give the developers one piece of advice, it would be to hire a scriptwriter. What's the point in spending so much time crafting a visual masterpiece and not making some effort to create memorable characters and situations? Perhaps if the single-player had lasted more than 5 hours (another disappointment, as so many people have been looking forward to this game for so long) then these flaws could have been overlooked, but if I'm going to spend 70 dollars on a 5 hour game, then it better have a hell of an impact. Despite my rant, Gears of War is by no means a bad game. It's just not the masterpiece that the reviewers claim. But at this point, the game industry is young, and can't yet distinguish between an all-around classic that contributes something new and a visually stunning (not mention over-hyped) game that steals surface concepts from better games to give the illusion of having depth. Expand
  13. LeeG.
    Apr 4, 2007
    5
    Am I the only person who saw the advert for this game when he runs into a dark building to be confronted by a giant monster in the pitch black and started firing with his buddies. It sold the game for me that scene looked fantastic. However I never once experienced such a great looking scene in the game, totally disappointed, the game just seems to get repetitive, and I was absolutely Am I the only person who saw the advert for this game when he runs into a dark building to be confronted by a giant monster in the pitch black and started firing with his buddies. It sold the game for me that scene looked fantastic. However I never once experienced such a great looking scene in the game, totally disappointed, the game just seems to get repetitive, and I was absolutely shocked when it ended, just thought that cant be it thats halve a game surely!! however I rated it 5 because the game does have its moments. Expand
  14. LarryT.
    May 18, 2007
    5
    Only one word to describe this game...disappointing. Graphics are outstanding, a lot of the game physics and controls are oustanding, but jeezey petes the game mechanics are dull and repetitive. With all the time they spent working on the graphics, you'd think there would be some more variety in the enemies and in the weapons. What really killed the fun factor for me in this game was Only one word to describe this game...disappointing. Graphics are outstanding, a lot of the game physics and controls are oustanding, but jeezey petes the game mechanics are dull and repetitive. With all the time they spent working on the graphics, you'd think there would be some more variety in the enemies and in the weapons. What really killed the fun factor for me in this game was the whole ducking and aiming thing. Novel, yes. Fun, no. It's repetitive and frustrating. You seem to aim and shoot at an enemy's general direction and hope they fall. There isn't the skill and variation in usefulness in the weapons either. The same gun is good for the whole game. Expand
  15. TheMan
    Apr 11, 2007
    5
    It was good, but it got fairly repetitive. I also didn't like that it was third person. I think I'll stick with my first person shooters like Halo.
  16. RonL.
    May 14, 2007
    5
    It's an alright game with decent action and storyline. However, I'm personally very tired of games that are formatted with a very straight forward and repetitive level which is capped off with a "beat the boss" format. This format feels dated and takes away from the overall worthiness of the game. Personally, I prefer games with a little less linear design. For what the XBOX 360 It's an alright game with decent action and storyline. However, I'm personally very tired of games that are formatted with a very straight forward and repetitive level which is capped off with a "beat the boss" format. This format feels dated and takes away from the overall worthiness of the game. Personally, I prefer games with a little less linear design. For what the XBOX 360 console should be getting as far as games, I'm only giving this a 5. Rent it only, don't buy it. Expand
  17. NicM.
    Aug 17, 2007
    5
    Most over rated game of all time, its pretty graphics and fun co op dont make up for amazingly repitive single and online play. oblivion is by a longshot better , and the second best game on 360, next to bioshock.
  18. G.Camel
    Nov 25, 2006
    5
    This game is way over hyped. Yes, it looks good, but it is now Halo Killer. The game movement could be a lot better. You stick when you want to dive and dive when you are trying to stick to a wall. AI is stupid at times and the cursing is not really necessary. We all know what to say by now when we die and don't need to hear it in the game. This was really gradtuitous. I would This game is way over hyped. Yes, it looks good, but it is now Halo Killer. The game movement could be a lot better. You stick when you want to dive and dive when you are trying to stick to a wall. AI is stupid at times and the cursing is not really necessary. We all know what to say by now when we die and don't need to hear it in the game. This was really gradtuitous. I would recommend a rental, do not buy.Peace. Expand
  19. KeironG.
    Nov 27, 2006
    5
    Very average kind of game, the graphics are beautiful though and there are some interesting twists but all being said it is over hyped as has already been mentioned. Someone recommended this to me over call of duty 3, im glad i got Call of Duty 3 first, for all that games faults its currently holding more for me in terms of playability than this game is.
  20. Bryank
    May 29, 2007
    5
    frist off if someone said this stop me but the game is rated M so no shit it is going to have bloddy and gore Shawn O. you must have bought the game for your kid other wise he would not have it. so don't gi ve it a bad review just because u are dumb and don't look at the box to see if it is ok for you kids. it's you fault.
  21. MikeS.
    Nov 23, 2008
    5
    I was not impressed at all. The storyline was trite and boring, and silly at times. The game play was average, there was nothing "innovative" about it. I caught myself yawning during all of the boss fights--shoot here, mash this button, blah, blah. All I saw, from beginning to end, was basically an over-hyped, button-mashing, shooter. After finishing this mediocre game, I'm stillI was not impressed at all. The storyline was trite and boring, and silly at times. The game play was average, there was nothing "innovative" about it. I caught myself yawning during all of the boss fights--shoot here, mash this button, blah, blah. All I saw, from beginning to end, was basically an over-hyped, button-mashing, shooter. After finishing this mediocre game, I'm still reading the reviews and trying to figure out what everyone is so excited about. Expand
  22. AnthonyV.
    Nov 18, 2006
    5
    Overhyped, overrated. Awful dialogue, contrived and non-existent story elements, short single-player. The A button is used for far too many things - running and cover is a pain the neck to pull off. Multiplayer is solid as long as you can put up with the controls. And for the life of me I can't understand how this game is getting so many good reviews; "pretty" looking graphics and Overhyped, overrated. Awful dialogue, contrived and non-existent story elements, short single-player. The A button is used for far too many things - running and cover is a pain the neck to pull off. Multiplayer is solid as long as you can put up with the controls. And for the life of me I can't understand how this game is getting so many good reviews; "pretty" looking graphics and good enemy AI can only do so much if you can't control your own character. The difficulty level of this game is more of a reflection of the cover system than how good the game is. Expand
  23. May 2, 2011
    5
    I'd like to be kind here, but I just don't understand where some of the reviewers are coming from. Golem's cave perhaps? It is not tactical in the least bit. Run, shoot, ooh creepy, shoot, ahh look at that! shoot, yeah! give him the chainsaw! shoot.
    I returned it for a full refund a day or 2 after I purchased it. They asked me why I would do such a thing, and I told them what I'm telling
    I'd like to be kind here, but I just don't understand where some of the reviewers are coming from. Golem's cave perhaps? It is not tactical in the least bit. Run, shoot, ooh creepy, shoot, ahh look at that! shoot, yeah! give him the chainsaw! shoot.
    I returned it for a full refund a day or 2 after I purchased it. They asked me why I would do such a thing, and I told them what I'm telling you now. They put a lot of effort into this game, and a lot of detail, but it has been way over-hyped. Primarily because of how gritty and cool it looks(I admit that at least). But tactical? Nah. Maybe if taking a dump is tactical for you.
    In all fairness, I thought it was a cool game, and the 2nd one is much much better because of online and horde mode, but I'm surprised this franchise has gotten to where it is now. Did not see it coming.
    Like I said though, it's enjoyable, but completely not complicated.
    Expand
  24. May 6, 2011
    5
    Sure its got some amazing graphics, but this isnt anything i havent played before. Throw in extremely linear, one dimensional gameplay, zero exposition , and a messy control scheme, and what you get is an terribly overrated piece of garbage. Its very hard to believe this recieved such high ratings- i smell a payoff.
  25. Jun 21, 2011
    5
    Even if I finished this game I was realy dissapointed. It´s quite fun to playthrough, but I dont see anything so amazing about this title. Yeah, maybe the cover system was something new, but the control is bad, It have realy poor story, stupid enemies, graphics was maybe once good, but these days bad, but never great. The final boss fight also bit killed the game for me. IEven if I finished this game I was realy dissapointed. It´s quite fun to playthrough, but I dont see anything so amazing about this title. Yeah, maybe the cover system was something new, but the control is bad, It have realy poor story, stupid enemies, graphics was maybe once good, but these days bad, but never great. The final boss fight also bit killed the game for me. I cant help, but when I see Cliff, nothing personal, I see some very juvenile ego with the muscles, soo full of himself..., the same I thing about this game. I give five, because of regret. Expand
  26. May 4, 2013
    5
    A bit pale to be honest it was easy on easy setting but when you jump on the Insane level it's gets so bad hard that it just feels so wrong to play on your own.

    I did try on insane and let me say it was hardest thing to try to do as when you're inside a house ect there send waves after waves after you and you pretty much die in one hit by almost anything. Also it takes a million hits
    A bit pale to be honest it was easy on easy setting but when you jump on the Insane level it's gets so bad hard that it just feels so wrong to play on your own.

    I did try on insane and let me say it was hardest thing to try to do as when you're inside a house ect there send waves after waves after you and you pretty much die in one hit by almost anything.

    Also it takes a million hits just to kill something in 1p mode it's really is annoying because you don't know what gun you want to use in the long run on them.

    Checkpoints is long too to save the game is horridly to say the least MUST WAIT FOR A CHECKPOINT to kick in before you can save a game just like modern day games.

    The driving was not good too in it you had to drive away from the black bat things I really can't remeber them so something like locast and then aim a light at them in the end I keept dieing over and over then the game put me in after it for some strange reason maybe a glitch or if you die too many times the game will pass you on the next part because frankly it was hard to do.

    So yeah the game can be a bit unfair on you at times that's why I give it a 5 for half non a 10 because it's missing a lot of things I wanted in this game.
    Expand
  27. Aug 14, 2015
    5
    Blood, guts and beyond the human refuse, no heart, with solid controls and game-play mechanics alongside a dark and suiting artistic style. The thing that fails to accompany all this is a good narrative to which to follow upon. Making you believe the only suitable use of this game is a stress relief simulator for children with ADHD
  28. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    4
    IT works. It lacks any major glitches. Beyond that, there is nothing to recommend this game. It is boring, repetitive, formulaic, and above all else mundane. It is the quintessential second-rate shooter, embodying all that is and can be wrong with the FPS genre. The online is boring to the point of unplayability, the offline held together simply by polish. They did what they set out to IT works. It lacks any major glitches. Beyond that, there is nothing to recommend this game. It is boring, repetitive, formulaic, and above all else mundane. It is the quintessential second-rate shooter, embodying all that is and can be wrong with the FPS genre. The online is boring to the point of unplayability, the offline held together simply by polish. They did what they set out to do, they made what they set out to make. They just forgot to make sure that goal was . . . you know . . . good. Expand
  29. SteveF.
    Mar 19, 2007
    4
    Sure, it looks and sounds great, but that's only skin deep. The core cover mechanic is repetitive, cumbersome and unoriginal (you're basically playing Killswitch 2), the plot is terrible and the AI seems lobotomised. Mulitplayer is fairly fun for a while but dragged down by glitches, limited modes and the same repetition of that cover mechanic.
  30. SteveM.
    Nov 14, 2006
    4
    This game was hyped way to much!!! The game is beautiful, but the game play gets boring after about an hour. Its the same thing over and over agian. No new originality. I think they focused to much on the graphics and not on the gameplay. The single player campaign is way to short and lacking in a lot of areas. I would rent this and then take it back, because once your done with it, you This game was hyped way to much!!! The game is beautiful, but the game play gets boring after about an hour. Its the same thing over and over agian. No new originality. I think they focused to much on the graphics and not on the gameplay. The single player campaign is way to short and lacking in a lot of areas. I would rent this and then take it back, because once your done with it, you wont want to play it again. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. 90
    The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.