Geometry Wars: Retro Evolved Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Arcade] Return to the farthest reaches of the galaxy, where hordes of evil, neon shapes await. The circles, squares, and diamonds are out to get you in Geometry Wars: Retro Evolved. Green squares evade your fire; purple ones divide into smaller clones. Snake-like lines leave[Xbox Live Arcade] Return to the farthest reaches of the galaxy, where hordes of evil, neon shapes await. The circles, squares, and diamonds are out to get you in Geometry Wars: Retro Evolved. Green squares evade your fire; purple ones divide into smaller clones. Snake-like lines leave behind a venomous trail, and red circles morph into black holes. Conserve your bombs—they destroy all enemies, but quantities are limited. Geometry Wars became an instant classic when it first appeared in "Project Gotham Racing 2." This exclusive Xbox Live Arcade sequel gives you both the original Retro version and a new Evolved mode, which combines modern graphics with old-school fun. [Xbox.com] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. And despite its difficulty, the game constantly lures you back, persuading you that this time, you've got it figured out; this time, the high score is yours. But "this time" becomes "next time," and after several lost hours, you realize that this humble $5 downloadable might just be the best experience you've had with your Xbox 360.
  2. It’s a visually stunning, techno music fueled, old school arcade game mixed with new school gameplay.
  3. One of the best buys on Xbox Live Arcade, even comes with a copy of the PGR2-vintage Geometry Wars (complete with its own leaderboards), and - for the cynics - offers one of the most decisive demo versions, too.
  4. The concept is incredibly simple--Asteroids on crack, essentially--and there's not much strategy beyond "don't die," but Geometry Wars still has the ability to put its hooks into you and not let go. [Jun 2006, p.61]
  5. A refreshingly simple, addictive experience that combines appealing graphics and frantic gameplay.
  6. 80
    If you're looking for a throwback to the Space Invader days with the futuristic colors and sound of the powerful 360, this is your game.
  7. It’s a shame there couldn’t be a multiplayer for this game as it might have been fun, but for 400 Microsoft points, what do you expect. It’s a great little pick up and play game that you can play with a little time to kill.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    I love this game. The visuals are like an Einstein equation in 3D color. The control is simple. The gameplay is highly addictive. I find thatI love this game. The visuals are like an Einstein equation in 3D color. The control is simple. The gameplay is highly addictive. I find that I often set down for a quick round or two and before I know it I've lost hours. Two thumbs up! Expand
  2. ChrisK.
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    This game is simply incredible. It's easy to learn yet very addictive and fun. The graphics are simplistic but have a certain beauty to This game is simply incredible. It's easy to learn yet very addictive and fun. The graphics are simplistic but have a certain beauty to them. It is however the gameplay that drives this game home. I have probably put more hours into this game than any of my other xbox 360 games. This title has a replayability to it that many other games don't. Furthermore the price tag of around 5$ means this gamecosts less than a tenth of any other xbox 360 game that you'll but at the store. I have probably spent more time playing Geometry Wars than the combined playing hours of any 2 of my other xbox 360 games. This game is a must buy. Low price, more QUALITY gaming time. Expand
  3. EricD.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    Am I saying this is a 10 because it's better than something like Call of Duty? No way. But, it's a ten in the 360 arcade world. Am I saying this is a 10 because it's better than something like Call of Duty? No way. But, it's a ten in the 360 arcade world. Everyone who comes over to check out my 360 leave talking about Geo Wars. It's fun. It's challenging. It's addicting. It's memories of Astroids on the ol' Atari...only better. Expand
  4. KeeganH.
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    One of the best games ever that will be released for the Xbox 360. I personally spent hours playing this game, though, it costs $5 if you One of the best games ever that will be released for the Xbox 360. I personally spent hours playing this game, though, it costs $5 if you HAVE Xbox Live. If you don't you have to buy it at the store in the Xbox Live Arcade Unplugged, which costs a little bit more. I must have some kind of thing with this game, because I'm so good with this game, I'm at the top of the Xbox Live Leaderboard on this game, and I didn't have to practice that much. As soon as I picked up the game, I was scoring about 200,000 points each game (with the free demo). Since the game was so addictive, I downloaded the full game for $5. Since then, I play this game every now and then, and now I score upwards of 3 million points. As most games, this game is more deep than it appears at first glance. It requires a HUGE amount of strategy and knowledge of the game, such as what to do on certain enemy formations that spawn. Also, there is a glitch in the game, where if a snake circle formation spawns while you are on the wall, you will die instantly. This glitch becomes slightly annoying when you are a beginner, but once you learn to learn to avoid the walls as much as possible, which requires a lot of skill to avoid. Though, hopefully this glitch is never fixed in the patch, because it is one of the only things that prevent the game from becoming too easy (Well... easy for me atleast). I just want to mention that somebody said the achievements were impossible to unlock in a review. I just want to say, that I've unlocked all the achievements but 1 so far (survive 1 million... which I get almost every time, but die just before I reach it). The achievements are probably too easy to unlock actually. The game deserves a 10, hands down. I have never played a game with such a simple concept that is so fun. it is, in my opinion, one of the top games for any console ever made. The game, as I said, is deeper than it appears at first glance. As most arcade games, you are rewarded a life usually when you reach so many points. Geometry Wars does the same thing... Though it does it better. Every 75,000 points, you get a life, every 100,000 points, you get a bomb (which will kill all onscreen enemies), and every 10,000 points you get a weapon upgrade. This seems like a simple concept, but for a good player, you need to use this to your advantage. That means, don't die. As long as you don't die, you get a increased multiplier as you destroy enemies which will quickly get you up in the high scores. That seems simple enough. Don't die... Wrong... Unless you play this game and develop a good strategy, you will probably die... a LOT! Though, fortuantely, I have the game Smash TV, and that game makes this game look REALLY easy. But of course this game is a whole lot funner. You will probably play this games for multiple hours, while each time you get a game over, you tell yourself, just one more game, and soon you realize that you spent half your day playing this game. Also, this game includes Geometry Wars Retro, which is the older version of the game. Retro is much harder than Geometry Wars Evolved (the main version)... at first... But there is a hard cap on the game. Which means, it gets hard... Up to a point, then the game just seems to stay the same. While most people don't seem good enough to get there, if you do, getting a very high score is quite easy. Evolved begins a lot easier, though the game (if you survive of course) gets a lot harder than Retro would ever dream of. The graphics are quite good, and it may take you a while to stop dieing, because you seem to keep staring at the explosions and the wave weapon that you get. After a while though, you eventually get used to stop staring at these dazzling effects. The controls are also quite intresting. You use the left thumbstick to move, the right thumbstick to shoot, and the triggers to use a bomb (controls can be changed of course). I didn't find the controls hard to use, because I was used to playing Smash TV, which uses the same controls. Though, I heard that the controls can be quite troublesome for beginners. Hopefully that won't scare you away. If you have Xbox Live, I recommend downloading the Free Trial, and if it turns out to be the type of game that you like, you can easily get the full version for only a small amount of $5. This game deserves a 10, because, not only does it beat the other Xbox 360 games down (with a few exceptions), it also costs about 10x less than them. Expand
  5. FreelanceJournalist
    Feb 6, 2006
    9
    Easily one of the best Xbox Live Arcade titles. I've been a fan since its appearance on Project Gotham Racing 2. This new, full version Easily one of the best Xbox Live Arcade titles. I've been a fan since its appearance on Project Gotham Racing 2. This new, full version is a sight to behold. The graphics are amazing, with infinite particles and a sublime assault on your eyes. The play is frenetic as can be, on par with some of the best shmups out there. No gamer should pass it up. Expand
  6. MannS.
    Sep 15, 2006
    9
    Back to basics, with a sweet sweet bang!
  7. Syc
    Nov 9, 2006
    5
    An okay shooter that contains the frenzied nature of its superior brothers such as Ikaruga but lacks the intellegence, precision and depth to An okay shooter that contains the frenzied nature of its superior brothers such as Ikaruga but lacks the intellegence, precision and depth to be anything more than a minor diversion. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews