User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 91
  2. Negative: 31 out of 91

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    It's hard to give this a review that will really justify the game, only because it was probably hard to make a game that wouldn't be compared to its classic original (and no, not that crappy Wii version). While this version of the game is certainly well above the game that the Wii put out, it still misses that special feeling to it. It feels like a modern shooting game, which by anyIt's hard to give this a review that will really justify the game, only because it was probably hard to make a game that wouldn't be compared to its classic original (and no, not that crappy Wii version). While this version of the game is certainly well above the game that the Wii put out, it still misses that special feeling to it. It feels like a modern shooting game, which by any standard really doesn't help it at all. I don't feel any nostalgia when I play the game, even though obviously things have changed in the shooter genre since Goldeneye first came out. The graphics aren't much better than the Wii version and it looks even worse online for some reason. Not that I hate the game, I just unfairly maybe be expecting more of what made the N64 game so great and less of what crowds the modern shooter genre. Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    5
    If nostalgia is the reason for getting this game, don't bother. They changed the story line for who knows what reason. Yes, I understand that half the little kiddies who play games now don't even know what the USSR is but that doesn't change that Goldeneye was a good story and hearing "Climate Change" in a James Bond game made me puke in the sink. This game is like a watered down versionIf nostalgia is the reason for getting this game, don't bother. They changed the story line for who knows what reason. Yes, I understand that half the little kiddies who play games now don't even know what the USSR is but that doesn't change that Goldeneye was a good story and hearing "Climate Change" in a James Bond game made me puke in the sink. This game is like a watered down version of Call of Duty. While I do enjoy the Call of Duty series, it has its limitations and this game included all of them. What the f*ck is up with these extra objectives? Thanks for not putting them on the map for me guys. There will be a small "i" for information symbol that appears next to the map when you are near an objective. You will pull out your phone, read the objective twice, go around in circles and if you are lucky find the objective. More than likely you will walk to far away and get to the next checkpoint, locking yourself out and having a "Mission Incomplete" to deal with at the end. While you will be able to go on you will find yourself swearing.

    The A.I. is covered in every other review but let me just say that it bares repeating how utterly inconsistent it really is. Sometimes enemies run blindly three at a time right into your gun. Sometimes a guy with an RPG waits until you are just in range and one-shots you. It is more annoying than anything when you come from a BF2 or COD game to this and realize they came out at the same time. Which brings me to my third and final point. I was hoping, albeit a little naively, that this game would be something different than the aforementioned juggernauts. I was excited at the prospect of Goldeneye being reinvented. I did read about it for the Wii and simply ignored it as Wii =/= FPS =/= Online play. The real let down was how they changed the story and the wonky objectives needlessly being placed in the game and then not showing up on the map.
    Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    I owned the wii version of this game and found one aspect of the wii version better and thats the hit collision on the enemies, the bullets just had more of a satisfying impact and thud on the enemies than the xbox 360 version. How could they stuff that up? lets face it, a big part of the enjoyment on fps is the bullet connection on foes and goldeneye reloaded isnt up to scratch in thatI owned the wii version of this game and found one aspect of the wii version better and thats the hit collision on the enemies, the bullets just had more of a satisfying impact and thud on the enemies than the xbox 360 version. How could they stuff that up? lets face it, a big part of the enjoyment on fps is the bullet connection on foes and goldeneye reloaded isnt up to scratch in that area. Apart from that the graphical update is okay but nothing special and its virtually identical to the wii version. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    Compared to most mainstream games: Bullsh*t
    Compared to the original: Meh.
    What they have done here is practically made it a Call of Duty clone, but I guess it was easier this way since it was made with the IW engine, but not used to it's full potential. The graphics are weak, gameplay we have seen a million times, but stealth that most games seem to be lacking these days. This is what
    Compared to most mainstream games: Bullsh*t
    Compared to the original: Meh.

    What they have done here is practically made it a Call of Duty clone, but I guess it was easier this way since it was made with the IW engine, but not used to it's full potential. The graphics are weak, gameplay we have seen a million times, but stealth that most games seem to be lacking these days. This is what mainly boosts most of my score, the feel of the magical nostalgic stealth.
    Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    What?! Goldeneye?! ON XBOX AND PS3?! Goldeneye is only good on a NINTENDO CONSOLE!!!

    Anyways just its the same Wii remake repackaged and a bit graphically remade for different consoles... and the remake itself never really stayed true to the original Goldeneye for N64, It just looks like Call of Duty sadly...
  6. Nov 6, 2011
    6
    This is an easy COD style game. Its redone, and changed the layout of the maps. Worse graphics and lower framerate than COD. Its not total garbage, it still plays. I expected more out of a goldeneye remake, but to regain the orginals legendary status may be impossible. The real problem is the foundation the remake was built upon - the Wii.
  7. DME
    Oct 17, 2012
    5
    Reloaded is a good game... It's just a horrible GoldenEye game. For a "re-imagining", this game carry's absolutely no resemblance to the original. No nostalgia at all. They've replaced the original "pick up a gun and add it to your arsenal" style of play and thought it would be a good idea to take away all of the player's health. Yeah, there's loadouts, too instead of searching the mapReloaded is a good game... It's just a horrible GoldenEye game. For a "re-imagining", this game carry's absolutely no resemblance to the original. No nostalgia at all. They've replaced the original "pick up a gun and add it to your arsenal" style of play and thought it would be a good idea to take away all of the player's health. Yeah, there's loadouts, too instead of searching the map for weapons. The maps themselves are very generic and unappealing. They also have way too many vantage points and feel confined. Multiplayer can still be fun, as long as you've never played Call of Duty before. Cuz if you've been a part of the CoD series, it will be impossible for you to play multiplayer without comparing... And trust me, CoD wins by a long shot. The only redeeming quality of Reloaded (I refuse to call it "GoldenEye") is the Single Player. The Single Player offers entertaining stealth and spy gameplay as well as a fun Special Ops type mode. But even so, it fails to impress. Expand
  8. Jan 2, 2013
    6
    An older game given the call of duty treatment. The good is its Goldeneye. The bad news is it has been put into the modern game level of intelligence, there is none. The graphics are better but this does not change the fact the AI system is very touchy and dumb. Several times I took note of how many steps it took guards to notice my gunshots as I found one step can be the differenceAn older game given the call of duty treatment. The good is its Goldeneye. The bad news is it has been put into the modern game level of intelligence, there is none. The graphics are better but this does not change the fact the AI system is very touchy and dumb. Several times I took note of how many steps it took guards to notice my gunshots as I found one step can be the difference between you taking out a target and the rest of the nearby soldiers (presumably telepathically) finding out where you are, the same goes for someone seeing you, one look and without opening his mouth or hitting an alarm a guard says "oh criminey here's a bad guy" and all of his are invited. On top of this issue there is also the call of duty style don't worry hide in a corner and your flesh will magically push the bullets out and mend itself leaving not so much as a scar mentality. Thank god they left in the option of having the original Goldeneye "bullet proof vests might help" frame of mind which actually makes the game a challenge.

    Speaking of the difficulty apart from a few moments of having to retry the same part over again a few times, while challenging the game play with a semi thought out plan was all but too easy. While health will not regenerate on classic 007 mode you can still take enough hits to charge a shotgun mp5 blazing and come out with barely a scratch.

    Overall fun to play, but if I wanted a game with a 90's AI system id play the damn original.
    Expand
  9. Apr 7, 2013
    5
    GoldenEye 007: Reloaded is a game that doesn't give the original justice. The game had potential to follow in the footsteps of it's predecessor although it felt bland and quite lacklustre. The idea of the game was nice, but it just didn't feel like a unique game. I'm afraid that it seems GoldenEye Reloaded has fell into the endless category of linear modern shooter. The game doesn'tGoldenEye 007: Reloaded is a game that doesn't give the original justice. The game had potential to follow in the footsteps of it's predecessor although it felt bland and quite lacklustre. The idea of the game was nice, but it just didn't feel like a unique game. I'm afraid that it seems GoldenEye Reloaded has fell into the endless category of linear modern shooter. The game doesn't deserve to be called bad as it can provide some exciting moments, but it lacks of anything to earn it the title of a good solid game. Expand
  10. Aug 3, 2013
    7
    a wonderfull game definantaly u should buy this game and play it lots multiplayer is fun but the story is really easy the guns are simple and u cant knife witch sucks
  11. kys
    Sep 4, 2014
    7
    I love the multiplayer mode Escalation. It's a new and incredibly unique mode in the game and I hope it continues to show up in future 007 titles. Though the multiplayer mode suffers from horrible amounts of unfairness as the developers decided to do the most stupid of all things such as give abilities to the villains like more body armor which makes certain characters invincible to theI love the multiplayer mode Escalation. It's a new and incredibly unique mode in the game and I hope it continues to show up in future 007 titles. Though the multiplayer mode suffers from horrible amounts of unfairness as the developers decided to do the most stupid of all things such as give abilities to the villains like more body armor which makes certain characters invincible to the golden gun. I've seen a character get hit with a bullet from the golden gun, which is supposed to be an instant kill, run towards as if they didn't get hit. The multiplayer characters are far too unbalanced. Expand
  12. Jan 1, 2015
    5
    Mediocre Call of Duty clone that doesn't bring anything original to the table. The campaign is linear, but well done and does stay true to a spy-esque game. However, a complete lack of any meaningful stealth mechanics makes it far easier to go in CoD style and shoot everything. The multiplayer is your standard create a class based shooting action with no resemblance to Goldeneye at all.Mediocre Call of Duty clone that doesn't bring anything original to the table. The campaign is linear, but well done and does stay true to a spy-esque game. However, a complete lack of any meaningful stealth mechanics makes it far easier to go in CoD style and shoot everything. The multiplayer is your standard create a class based shooting action with no resemblance to Goldeneye at all. Basically, it's CoD without Killstreaks. Finally, MI6 Ops. The stealth ones are quite fun (and challenging), but the other two modes are just a generic kill all enemies and survive affair.

    All in all, if you want to play this game - play it only for the campaign, the other two modes are just not worth while.
    Expand
  13. Jul 3, 2015
    7
    In my opinion, Goldeneye 007: Reloaded is the best James Bond game on the Xbox 360! The gameplay is awesome and sound is pretty great. Only problem I had with this is I wish they added more spy missions, it feels like Call Of Duty at some times. Overall, I think this is a great James Bond game for any Bond fans
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. 60
    Average shooter by no means belongs to the top of this genre that you can choose for this year. Even the most nostalgic gamers can not hide poor visuals and troublesome game design. [Christmas 2011]
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    72
    Having loved the game back in the 90s, I was disappointed with the remake. The graphics could have been a lot better, the multiplayer was great back then but with small, monotonous maps an a dearth of game modes is pretty weak by today's standards Surprisingly, the solo campaign is pretty solid, though the story is shallow. Luckily Daniel Craig lent his original voice and visual appearance to the game, so you can play a cool Bond character.
  3. Bond's Ops are crude, overlong slogs - padding, pure and simple. [Feb 2012, p.104]