Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    85
    Overall Gotham City Imposters is a fun and fast-playing multiplayer game with a great sense of humor. If you're looking for a multiplayer shooter that you can jump into now and again for some quick fun, it's certainly worth a spot on your Xbox 360's hard drive.
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    85
    Gotham City Impostors is online multiplayer gaming in its purest form: straightforward, fun, easy to pick up, deep enough to satisfy the hardcore, boasts an active community, and it's very accessible.
  3. 85
    Irreverent yet addictively engaging, Gotham City Impostors may not be the shooter you expected, but it's definitely the one you deserve.
  4. Mar 3, 2012
    83
    It's not the most original idea for a game and there may be some technical issues to be worked out. But, from the all the unlockables, the endless mixture of clothes, rewards, weapons, mods, and kill phases like 'Let me spray you with my awesome', Gotham City Impostors has plenty of awesome to go round.
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    83
    The more I played Gotham City Imposters, the more I noticed Team Fortress similarities.
  6. Feb 27, 2012
    82
    Gotham City Impostors does the crazy FPS thing well enough so that modern gamers should be satisfied. This game seems as if it had taken a sniff of Joker Juice itself. Chaos truly reigns in the streets of Gotham.
  7. Feb 14, 2012
    81
    Monolith has made the most out of this outlandish idea, making it throughout enjoyable to romp through stages and level up like a pro. Some online modifications would be nice, but for now, this game's good enough to drive you Bat-ty.
  8. Feb 23, 2012
    80
    Compared to other multiplayer shooters flooding the market, Gotham City Imposters may not offer the same breadth of game modes and map content, but it certainly stands out thanks to a great sense of self-referential humor and some oddball gadgetry. Even when the chuckles subside, the madcap action stands strong on its own.
  9. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    For the price tag, Gotham City Impostors is incredible. It has bazillions of unlockable items including costume designs for each for your characters for both the bats and jokers. The game hosts a ton of weaponry and gadgets that rival the armory of Call of Duty. My only big gripe are the micro-transactions they added that help boost experience, buy costumes, unlock certain mascots, and expedite the time it takes how long to queue players into a working lobby.
  10. Feb 13, 2012
    80
    Gotham City Impostors looks and feels great and adds just enough personality to differentiate it from the crowd of similar online multiplayer games.
  11. Feb 11, 2012
    80
    Gotham City Impostors shows how far a clear sense of personality and humor can take you even when you're making the same old style of game.
  12. Feb 8, 2012
    80
    While some gamers may be turned off by the hundreds of dollars worth of day-one DLC, I felt that the $15 download easily offered a full experience on its own. The large majority of DLC is cosmetic, except for the ability to purchase double-XP time for yourself or your team. It's hard to argue the value included with this title, as it contains a substantial shooter experience, unique weapons and gadgets, and more than enough incentive to keep playing. FPS fans that have tired of the typical shooter formula should find plenty to like about this high-flying, slapstick-heavy download.
  13. Feb 14, 2012
    77
    So to sum everything up: We have a Batman game without a Batman, we have generic first person shooter gametypes and controls, average graphics, below average sound, and no real feel that makes you think you're fighting crime like Batman.
  14. Mar 13, 2012
    75
    A cheerfully quirky, crunchy shooter - but it's a grind to get to the good stuff. [Apr 2012, p.76]
  15. Feb 21, 2012
    75
    If you think the idea of playing a first-person shooter as a gang member inspired by Batman or the Joker is a good one or enjoy playing comedic shooters, or just love playing with costumes, then there's no doubt that Gotham City Imposters is for you. If you just want to shoot the man; well, there's pretty much every other first-person shooter out there.
  16. Feb 15, 2012
    75
    A new multiplayer online fps, a crazy way to play against other players. It's not really a masterpiece but surely you can obtain fun from every single match.
  17. Feb 15, 2012
    75
    A very fun and enjoyable title in the early rounds of play. If you are looking for an unusual shooter this could be the game that suits you.
  18. Feb 15, 2012
    75
    Surely not a masterpiece in global design and artistic quality. Still, Impostors is quite funny if you're looking for a frag night.
  19. Feb 13, 2012
    75
    Technical issues aside, Gotham City Impostors is a consistently thrilling experience that's easy to recommend.
  20. Feb 16, 2012
    72
    Gotham City Impostors really is a fantastic use of the Batman License, with some unique and clever variants on a popular game genre. But the continuing attempt to part you from more money and the server/matchmaking issues really drag the game down.
  21. Feb 10, 2012
    71
    Its biggest downfall is lack of useful content. With just five maps and three modes it's not enough to keep you playing for a longer period – even though the frantic action is quite entertaining. With better matchmaking and less focus on DLC the impostors would have a bigger survival chance.
  22. Mar 24, 2012
    70
    Ultimately, the game's sloth-like progression of the first six or seven hours relies far too heavily on each player's patience. [Issue#120, p.99]
  23. Feb 26, 2012
    70
    Gotham City Impostors looks like it was initially designed to be a "freemium" title and then somewhere along the line they decided to charge for it.
  24. Feb 22, 2012
    70
    An online FPS with a "DC Comics" twist. If you're looking for a simple, enjoyable and with tons of character shooter, this is your best bet.
  25. Feb 21, 2012
    70
    I can't help but feel like there could've been more to Gotham City Impostors.
  26. Feb 20, 2012
    70
    Then there's stuff that's just completely baffling, like the game's complete inability to match players into games that have already started - those kind of matchmaking particulars might work for a game the size of Halo, but here it just causes untold problems and a lengthy wait on the lobby screen.
  27. Feb 16, 2012
    70
    A funny and varied action game, but the controls are a bit iffy sometimes.
  28. 70
    Gotham City Imposters adds daft gadgets and a massive dose of style and humour to an old template, and it's a hugely entertaining way to pass any number of evenings, once you get through the matchmaking. But its biggest problem is that the unlocking system and stingy coins system constitutes its own form of psychological warfare with the player. And there, it misfires.
  29. Feb 13, 2012
    70
    Thanks to a bargain price, the console versions of Gotham City Impostors are a good choice for all the less-than-serious shooters fans. If you are considering the purchase of the PC version, remember Team Fortress 2.
  30. Feb 10, 2012
    70
    A functional shooter with a sense of humor and a Batman license. It's got plenty to unlock, but it's not all that deep. Go, shoot, win. Over and over. If you're looking for a first-person shooter that doesn't take itself seriously, have at it, but don't expect a FPS revolution.
  31. Feb 10, 2012
    70
    It's not without its flaws, but the good definitely outweighs the bad. The action is fast-paced, the combat is smooth, and the new twists on familiar FPS tropes really do make Gotham City Impostors a game worth playing. Even if it is just to pretend to be a backyard Batman for a few nights.
  32. Feb 28, 2012
    67
    Gotham City Impostors is a solid shooter wrapped inside of an entertaining tongue and cheek presentation,which results in a very enjoyable game.The core gameplay is right in line with everything that you would expect in a modern shooter but it just so happens to also include a great sense of humor and and a great presentation style. Batman and shooter fans alike will find plenty to enjoy with the game but end up wishing that had more maps and match types in the long run.
  33. Feb 23, 2012
    67
    Overall, Gotham City Impostors retains what works with modern multiplayer games, while offering enough unique flare to allow it to stand out of the crowd.
  34. Feb 21, 2012
    67
    The game is set up almost on a freemium monetization model, but it's a $15 download. And at that price, it does feel a little thin on content- particularly when you're practically asked for your credit card if you want to put a cape on your guy or to buy one of those notorious XP-doubling pills. Granted, most of what you can buy with real money is nothing that any sane adult would care anything about- video game clothes, in-game "mascots", and so forth- but the concept points the way to a future where we'll be paying for FPS games by the bullet.
  35. 60
    It isn't quite as polished or diverse as it should be. [Issue#83, p.102]
  36. Feb 22, 2012
    60
    One starts playing Gotham City Impostors without a lot of enthusiasm, but slowly gets into the brutal and fast-paced gameplay, and this deliciously kitsch atmosphere. But, in the long run, it's hard not to become bored with it.
  37. Feb 14, 2012
    60
    On the one hand, Gotham City Imposters is a really different take on the Batman licence that feels fresh and interesting, but on the other, its a pretty standard online first-person shooter that may struggle to hold people's attention.
  38. Feb 15, 2012
    55
    Gotham City Impostors desperately wants to be a freemium game, that much is evident. The gameplay is functional without being exceptional, and the focus is placed entirely on personalization at a price -- be it time or money.
  39. Feb 15, 2012
    50
    This is a freemium game, masquerading as a paid download.
  40. Mar 22, 2012
    40
    This is a sub-par licensed shooter without any real sense for what it wants to accomplish.
  41. Feb 25, 2012
    40
    The most damning aspect of Gotham City Impostors is that the tutorials and the NPCs stand out as the main highlight, which for a multiplayer focused title is a considerable problem. Add to this the slightly whorish way in which DLC is pushed to the fore, and you have a game that sadly lives up to its title; in other words…it feels like something of an imposter.
  42. Feb 19, 2012
    40
    At first glance I thought Gotham City Impostors would provide an interesting take on the FPS genre but I was sadly mistaken. This is just Call of Duty with homemade weapons and a quirky sense of humor, except it lacks everything I enjoy in modern shooters. The grappling hook is a fun addition, but in all honesty a good game without a Batman license will always be better than a mediocre game with a Batman license.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 4 out of 45
  1. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    I am not a fan of FPSs at all. I remember extensively playing Doom on the SNES when it first came out and thinking it was awesome, but that isI am not a fan of FPSs at all. I remember extensively playing Doom on the SNES when it first came out and thinking it was awesome, but that is about the extent of my FPS playing aside from about 20 minutes of Call of Duty Modern Warfare. FPSs just aren't my thing, I suck at them and just can't get into them. However, I decided to try the beta for this because it looked interesting, a lot different than BF or COD. After downloading the beta on 360, I played at least an hour or two a night until they finally took it away from me on February 6th. I immediately purchased it on the 8th, as I am addicted to this game. What sets it apart from most FPSs is an abundance of gadgets that allow you to traverse the maps in unique and amusing ways. Need to get from point A to B in a hurry? Use a grappling hook. Or roller skates. Or a $%%*ing glider. The weapons, although many are renamed and repackaged as DIY type instruments of death, are pretty standard fare with a few exceptions. Graphically, the game is pretty good, but it could be a bit more polished. One bad thing I have noticed that is extremely annoying is that on occasion, say 1 out of 5 times, if I start a match my grappling hook won't actually fire. It will sometimes give the appearance of firing, but it won't attach to anything and I will lose out on a checkpoint because I couldn't get to it in time. I can stand there shooting at the same point or different points and it just doesn't do anything. Then there are the problems with organizing matches. About 2 out of 3 matches are fine, but then for some reason I will get kicked out of the match and go back to the lobby, where I am the only person there. And it will stay that way no matter what. I can change games, for instance, switch from Fumigation to something else, but no one else will be in those lobbies either. I am hoping they get these bugs worked out because the game is a blast to play. If this were a full on retail release, I would be more inclined to give it a lower score like a 7 or 8. However, due to the fact that there is a ton of replay value as well as customization in a title that costs $15, I am going to give it a 10. I think they will get the bugs worked out within the next few days, so I am giving them the benefit of the doubt. Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    8
    Make no mistake, this game is one of the deepest titles you can get for $15. However, this isn't to say it doesn't have its flaws. PossiblyMake no mistake, this game is one of the deepest titles you can get for $15. However, this isn't to say it doesn't have its flaws. Possibly the best feature of the game is the customization of gadgets, weapons and costumes, allowing a level of character customization that puts games like Call of Duty to shame. Though there are onl a few maps and gametypes currently available, more will likely be added in future DLC. As fun and action-packed as it is, Imposters is really held back by its own matchmaking and party systems. Playing with friends is unintuitive at best and non-functional at worst. Thanks to the disconnect-happy, matchmaking system, you'll frequently find yourself waiting for long periods of time before getting into a game, that is if you manage to connect at all. Though the Imposters certainly manage to impress, they will soon wear out their welcome if the matchmaking situation isn't fixed quickly. 8/10 Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This game is Awesome! I cant believe there are 1000 levels! I will try my hardest to achieve that level because I don't think this game willThis game is Awesome! I cant believe there are 1000 levels! I will try my hardest to achieve that level because I don't think this game will get old. This was a brilliant idea for a game; I just hope it will be supported throughout the year. This game deserves attention because it is a fantastic game 10/10 Full Review »