Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 42
  2. Negative: 3 out of 42
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    75
    Technical issues aside, Gotham City Impostors is a consistently thrilling experience that's easy to recommend.
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    80
    While some gamers may be turned off by the hundreds of dollars worth of day-one DLC, I felt that the $15 download easily offered a full experience on its own. The large majority of DLC is cosmetic, except for the ability to purchase double-XP time for yourself or your team. It's hard to argue the value included with this title, as it contains a substantial shooter experience, unique weapons and gadgets, and more than enough incentive to keep playing. FPS fans that have tired of the typical shooter formula should find plenty to like about this high-flying, slapstick-heavy download.
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    For the price tag, Gotham City Impostors is incredible. It has bazillions of unlockable items including costume designs for each for your characters for both the bats and jokers. The game hosts a ton of weaponry and gadgets that rival the armory of Call of Duty. My only big gripe are the micro-transactions they added that help boost experience, buy costumes, unlock certain mascots, and expedite the time it takes how long to queue players into a working lobby.
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    75
    A new multiplayer online fps, a crazy way to play against other players. It's not really a masterpiece but surely you can obtain fun from every single match.
  5. Games Master UK
    Mar 13, 2012
    75
    A cheerfully quirky, crunchy shooter - but it's a grind to get to the good stuff. [Apr 2012, p.76]
  6. Feb 21, 2012
    75
    If you think the idea of playing a first-person shooter as a gang member inspired by Batman or the Joker is a good one or enjoy playing comedic shooters, or just love playing with costumes, then there's no doubt that Gotham City Imposters is for you. If you just want to shoot the man; well, there's pretty much every other first-person shooter out there.
  7. Feb 15, 2012
    75
    Surely not a masterpiece in global design and artistic quality. Still, Impostors is quite funny if you're looking for a frag night.
  8. Feb 15, 2012
    75
    A very fun and enjoyable title in the early rounds of play. If you are looking for an unusual shooter this could be the game that suits you.
  9. 85
    Irreverent yet addictively engaging, Gotham City Impostors may not be the shooter you expected, but it's definitely the one you deserve.
  10. Apr 16, 2012
    85
    Overall Gotham City Imposters is a fun and fast-playing multiplayer game with a great sense of humor. If you're looking for a multiplayer shooter that you can jump into now and again for some quick fun, it's certainly worth a spot on your Xbox 360's hard drive.
  11. Feb 27, 2012
    82
    Gotham City Impostors does the crazy FPS thing well enough so that modern gamers should be satisfied. This game seems as if it had taken a sniff of Joker Juice itself. Chaos truly reigns in the streets of Gotham.
  12. Mar 3, 2012
    83
    It's not the most original idea for a game and there may be some technical issues to be worked out. But, from the all the unlockables, the endless mixture of clothes, rewards, weapons, mods, and kill phases like 'Let me spray you with my awesome', Gotham City Impostors has plenty of awesome to go round.
  13. Feb 23, 2012
    80
    Compared to other multiplayer shooters flooding the market, Gotham City Imposters may not offer the same breadth of game modes and map content, but it certainly stands out thanks to a great sense of self-referential humor and some oddball gadgetry. Even when the chuckles subside, the madcap action stands strong on its own.
  14. Feb 27, 2012
    85
    Gotham City Impostors is online multiplayer gaming in its purest form: straightforward, fun, easy to pick up, deep enough to satisfy the hardcore, boasts an active community, and it's very accessible.
  15. Feb 11, 2012
    80
    Gotham City Impostors shows how far a clear sense of personality and humor can take you even when you're making the same old style of game.
  16. Feb 14, 2012
    81
    Monolith has made the most out of this outlandish idea, making it throughout enjoyable to romp through stages and level up like a pro. Some online modifications would be nice, but for now, this game's good enough to drive you Bat-ty.
  17. Feb 14, 2012
    77
    So to sum everything up: We have a Batman game without a Batman, we have generic first person shooter gametypes and controls, average graphics, below average sound, and no real feel that makes you think you're fighting crime like Batman.
  18. Feb 13, 2012
    80
    Gotham City Impostors looks and feels great and adds just enough personality to differentiate it from the crowd of similar online multiplayer games.
  19. Feb 10, 2012
    83
    The more I played Gotham City Imposters, the more I noticed Team Fortress similarities.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 45
  2. Negative: 4 out of 45
  1. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    I am not a fan of FPSs at all. I remember extensively playing Doom on the SNES when it first came out and thinking it was awesome, but that isI am not a fan of FPSs at all. I remember extensively playing Doom on the SNES when it first came out and thinking it was awesome, but that is about the extent of my FPS playing aside from about 20 minutes of Call of Duty Modern Warfare. FPSs just aren't my thing, I suck at them and just can't get into them. However, I decided to try the beta for this because it looked interesting, a lot different than BF or COD. After downloading the beta on 360, I played at least an hour or two a night until they finally took it away from me on February 6th. I immediately purchased it on the 8th, as I am addicted to this game. What sets it apart from most FPSs is an abundance of gadgets that allow you to traverse the maps in unique and amusing ways. Need to get from point A to B in a hurry? Use a grappling hook. Or roller skates. Or a $%%*ing glider. The weapons, although many are renamed and repackaged as DIY type instruments of death, are pretty standard fare with a few exceptions. Graphically, the game is pretty good, but it could be a bit more polished. One bad thing I have noticed that is extremely annoying is that on occasion, say 1 out of 5 times, if I start a match my grappling hook won't actually fire. It will sometimes give the appearance of firing, but it won't attach to anything and I will lose out on a checkpoint because I couldn't get to it in time. I can stand there shooting at the same point or different points and it just doesn't do anything. Then there are the problems with organizing matches. About 2 out of 3 matches are fine, but then for some reason I will get kicked out of the match and go back to the lobby, where I am the only person there. And it will stay that way no matter what. I can change games, for instance, switch from Fumigation to something else, but no one else will be in those lobbies either. I am hoping they get these bugs worked out because the game is a blast to play. If this were a full on retail release, I would be more inclined to give it a lower score like a 7 or 8. However, due to the fact that there is a ton of replay value as well as customization in a title that costs $15, I am going to give it a 10. I think they will get the bugs worked out within the next few days, so I am giving them the benefit of the doubt. Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2012
    8
    Make no mistake, this game is one of the deepest titles you can get for $15. However, this isn't to say it doesn't have its flaws. PossiblyMake no mistake, this game is one of the deepest titles you can get for $15. However, this isn't to say it doesn't have its flaws. Possibly the best feature of the game is the customization of gadgets, weapons and costumes, allowing a level of character customization that puts games like Call of Duty to shame. Though there are onl a few maps and gametypes currently available, more will likely be added in future DLC. As fun and action-packed as it is, Imposters is really held back by its own matchmaking and party systems. Playing with friends is unintuitive at best and non-functional at worst. Thanks to the disconnect-happy, matchmaking system, you'll frequently find yourself waiting for long periods of time before getting into a game, that is if you manage to connect at all. Though the Imposters certainly manage to impress, they will soon wear out their welcome if the matchmaking situation isn't fixed quickly. 8/10 Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    This game is Awesome! I cant believe there are 1000 levels! I will try my hardest to achieve that level because I don't think this game willThis game is Awesome! I cant believe there are 1000 levels! I will try my hardest to achieve that level because I don't think this game will get old. This was a brilliant idea for a game; I just hope it will be supported throughout the year. This game deserves attention because it is a fantastic game 10/10 Full Review »