Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: EA Sports' tennis sim makes its high-definition debut with a roster of 25 players and all four Grand Slam Championships next year.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    85
    Grand Slam Tennis is as slick and professional a tennis game as you could hope for, and though it lacks something of Top Spin's passion for the sport, the inclusion of Wimbledon and the wider roster really do make a difference.
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    82
    Grand Slam Tennis 2 is a tough one to call. While I have enjoyed other tennis games more, there is something surprisingly complete and authentic about not only the gameplay but the overall presentation. There are no cutesy mini-games or diversions. This is all business, and despite a few nagging issues, the overall mix of the new Total Racquet Control combined with the PRO AI and all the Grand Slam events including Wimbledon make this the most complete tennis experience you can play on your Xbox 360.
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    80
    While it's not a perfect product, EA knows how to make deep, full-featured sports games with high production values. In Grand Slam Tennis 2, developer EA Canada applies some of the lessons learned from the company's other franchises to create a game that excels in many areas while coming up short in a few important ones.
  4. Feb 9, 2012
    70
    The one and only certified Grand Slam tennis game has solid gameplay mechanics and a good amount of game modes... but it remains one, maybe two, steps behind Top Spin and Virtua Tennis.
  5. Feb 14, 2012
    70
    Despite a complex control scheme, Grand Slam Tennis 2 is not a simulative game. There are few reasons to prefer it rather than Virtua Tennis.
  6. 68
    As possibly the only tennis game to be released in 2012 (no others are announced yet), and the only tennis game released in almost a year, Grand Slam Tennis 2 will definitely suffice, just don't expect a game-changer. There's a bit of work to be done before EA climbs to the position of number one seed.
  7. Feb 15, 2012
    40
    All the licensing in the world can't help you if the core gameplay is faulty, and in the case of Grand Slam Tennis 2 it just keeps serving double faults. The more you play it the less you find to like about it until eventually you just wish you hadn't started at all.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    7
    I'm a big Tennis buff, and I know that when it comes to Tennis Games, they're out there, they're just not good. I enjoy Virtua Tennis and Top Spin, but they certainly are not completely authentic to the sport the way other sports games are to their sport. Out comes Grand Slam Tennis 2 and I think it's the most authentic Tennis game out. It bodes a nice roster, mixed with current stars and past legends, it's nice to have both. The graphics are very good, animations are on point. My problems lie within 2 pretty big modes if you ask me. The online mode and the Career mode. Obviously, the game can lag and certainly does and it hurts the game. It's not fun hitting the ball with a delay, sometimes even missing the ball when you were in position to hit it. On top of that, players tend to rush the net a lot, looking for easy, cheap points. Can I fault the game for that? Not sure. The career mode, like many career modes, provides a good amount of customization and realism to it, but damn is it boring. I love Tennis, but this process is so elongated and winning matches becomes way too easy, too fast. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    Still searching for a proper tennis simulation. Would say that Grand Slam falls slightly to far into the Arcade area. There are some nice ideas, such as the shot stick using the right analog for doing different types of shots, that work well. However i found far to often the timing to get perfect strokes off. I play tennis and just feel that is a bit simplified. The AI was not all that great and it was so easy to win tournaments against the top professionals with a very poorly developed player. It took on a better side when playing people online as they actually used challenging tactics. Think Top Spin is still the best tennis series out there for Simulation of the sport but EA's effort does have some merit for what it tried to do and its very accessible to people who are not 100% familiar with the game. The tennis genre is never going to be perfect as I just don't think the audience is there to put alot more time and effort into development. Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2012
    5
    If any other company made this garbage of a tennis game it wouldn't of even scored a 71 overall.I'm actually quite disappointed with Game Informer and IGN for giving it decent scores.It's like playing tennis on the Atari all over again but a prettier version.Top spin 2,3 and especially 4 trumps this game like you wouldn't believe.No EA this wasn't a good effort,at all!Stick with the Wii cause that game was ok ,at least.People don't waste your money on this garbage just because it has commentary and pretty graphics.Top Spin 4 is so good almost perfect in the sense of a tennis simulation.Top Spin 3 was so good and real,it was too real so 2K toned it down and Top Spin 4 is the final product and man is it good.This game deserves no more than a 5 and it's lucky I'm in a good mood today. Collapse