Grand Theft Auto IV: The Lost and Damned Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 79 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 279 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Arcade] Johnny is a veteran member of The Lost, a notorious biker gang. Johnny has been creating business opportunities for The Lost in Liberty City, but his first loyalty must be to the patch he wears on his back and to Billy Grey, the club's President. However, when Billy[Xbox Live Arcade] Johnny is a veteran member of The Lost, a notorious biker gang. Johnny has been creating business opportunities for The Lost in Liberty City, but his first loyalty must be to the patch he wears on his back and to Billy Grey, the club's President. However, when Billy returns from rehab hell-bent on bloodshed and debauchery, Johnny finds himself in the middle of a vicious turf war with rival gangs for control of a city torn apart by violence and corruption. Can the brotherhood survive? Developed by series creator Rockstar North and set in Liberty City, Grand Theft Auto IV: The Lost and Damned features a new main character, Johnny Klebitz, and plot that intersects with the storyline of Grand Theft Auto IV; new missions that offer an entirely fresh way to explore Liberty City with new multiplayer modes, weapons and vehicles; and a diverse soundtrack with additional music - all with the incredible production values that are the trademarks of Grand Theft Auto. All-new missions and a new storyline that interweaves with the original story arc of Grand Theft Auto IV. Play as Johnny, a member of The Lost Motorcycle Club. Experience Liberty City now with the perspective and lifestyle of a member of a biker gang. Added range of weapons - including the all-new grenade launcher and sawed-off shotgun. New weapons will be available for use in single-player and in all new multiplayer modes. New vehicles - featuring a collection of bikes that include Johnny's own customized heavy-duty chopper. New and improved bike handling and physics. Set of new action-packed multiplayer modes - details coming soon. All-new in-game TV, internet and radio content featuring new radio shows and original music. Plus new side-missions and Xbox 360 Achievement. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 79
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 79
  3. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. 100
    This is how DLC’s got to be. Over 20 new missions, new characters, new weapons and save points during missions (finally!) make this an extraordinary add on for an extraordinary game. Sadly it’s exclusive for 360.
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    100
    The best value DLC your MS points can buy an a new benchmark for additional content. Own it. [May 2009, p.98]
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    94
    Excellently written, acted and dramatized. The interweaving stories are pure genius. Character movement control needs tweaking, but that's a minor gripe. [Mar 2009]
  4. games(TM)
    90
    There’s an obvious luxury to riffing on a masterpiece that other games simply can’t enjoy, but that doesn’t make the choice to blow the city wide-open any less brave. [Apr 2009, p.110]
  5. Storytelling in The Lost and Damned is also of an exceedingly high standard, with Rockstar once again showing the rest of the industry how it should be done. While we prefer Niko over Johnny as a leading character, the quality of acting here is top notch, perhaps even better than it was in the original, and the tension within the gang is portrayed exceedingly well.
  6. TLAD is a great expansion that adds awesome new content, and one that is well worth the investment of time and money for any GTA IV fan.
  7. Building off an already impressive design set by its predecessor, this DLC pack only shows what awesome scenarios can be told in future content packs. Its story can feel disjointed at points, but it is contained between exciting missions and just about the exact amount of time you'd feel comfortable roaming around in a downloadable title.

See all 79 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = This is DLC?? I could've sworn it was a new GTA game and a masterful one at that.
  2. Cheezburgerz
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    Greatest add-on on xbox live.
  3. CiaranG
    Aug 20, 2009
    10
    An absolute blast. Lot's of fun, lots of action. Great missions and good storyline. It's lengthy enough, especially when you An absolute blast. Lot's of fun, lots of action. Great missions and good storyline. It's lengthy enough, especially when you include the side-missions, which are good too. The Lost and the Damned moves on from the often boring and monotonous missions in the main game and your biker mates don't harass you by phoning you all the time like they did in the main game. Expand
  4. JW
    Feb 18, 2009
    9
    The DLC rocks so far. The cut scenes are a riot and are worth watching. The bikes are sweet and are a bit easier to ride. Apparently there The DLC rocks so far. The cut scenes are a riot and are worth watching. The bikes are sweet and are a bit easier to ride. Apparently there aren't any helis in free mode. (bummer) The grainy screen is taking time to get used to, but in some instances it makes the game look like a low down and dirty biker movie, which is cool. Rockstar will completely miss the boat tho if they do not introduce serious war machines with future DLCs (heli with rockets and or door-mounted gatlin gun, military humvee with top mounted gatlin gun, etc.) All in all, I want to call in sick and play L&D all day! Collapse
  5. EddyB.
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    GTAIV: TLAD is well worth the 20 dollars. I thought the story was cool for most of it, especially how they tie Johnny to Niko. However, i wasGTAIV: TLAD is well worth the 20 dollars. I thought the story was cool for most of it, especially how they tie Johnny to Niko. However, i was waiting for something REALLY BIG at the end, but I was extremely disappointed with the ending. I also wish it was longer, but then again, it's only 20 dollars. Expand
  6. Nick
    Mar 29, 2009
    8
    I liked this a lot; I really felt like I got my money's worth. Though at the same time, I felt like it was just more of the same, but I I liked this a lot; I really felt like I got my money's worth. Though at the same time, I felt like it was just more of the same, but I was more than happy with it. It has been one of the best add-on's that I've gotten since I've had my 360 that hasn't later turned out to be free (i.e., like the halo map packs. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    2
    GTA: TLAD is the most disapointing thing ever. Now just like IV the characters are the same the story makes no sense at all, when you heardGTA: TLAD is the most disapointing thing ever. Now just like IV the characters are the same the story makes no sense at all, when you heard that a new GTA is coming out you were thinking "How bad can it be, it can't be worse than IV, I mean you play as a biker and do everything you did in IV". Yeah until you played the game and it blew you're mind, no Im serious you went straight to the guy who sold you the game to get you're money back and an extra few hours that you wasted. TLAD is in fact worse than IV but its not the worst in the series, like Yoda once said "There is another". 2/10 Expand

See all 48 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.