Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2958 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Frederick
    May 4, 2008
    9
    I'm convinced that people who trash this game only played for a short time and decided they didn't like it, so they declare that it sucks. You can't judge this game without taking the time to get deep into the single player and multiplayer. Yes, at its core it's got much of the same stuff as other GTA games, and it does have a few problems, which is why I give it a 9 I'm convinced that people who trash this game only played for a short time and decided they didn't like it, so they declare that it sucks. You can't judge this game without taking the time to get deep into the single player and multiplayer. Yes, at its core it's got much of the same stuff as other GTA games, and it does have a few problems, which is why I give it a 9 and not a 10 (I'd give it 9.75 to be exact). But this game has so much stuff to do that it's insane, and most of it is really fun. It may be a little underwhelming at first if you've played GTA before because at first it feels like same-old same-old, but give it time and you will be floored by how much stuff there is to do in this game. People are going to be playing this game for a LONG time. Expand
  2. BarryM.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Superb. Gripping story and amazing gameplay paired with the huge scope that is the trademark of the series. Easily the best in the series. Multiplayer is over the top, and insane but so addictive. One of the best, if not the best game ever released.
  3. KaleB.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Better than Bioshock (my previous favorite game), in my opinion. I'm half way through playing it for the second time and it's still fun as all hell.
  4. JitoM.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    You're gonna need some "Hot Coffee" cause this game is gonna keep you up for weeks. 10 outta 10 breda!
  5. RobertC.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    The story shines, the game play is solid and despite a few minor glitches like collision detection, popups, and lousy save rules, compared to everything else this game is at the top. As good (if not slightly better) than Bioshock, which was my game of the year last year.
  6. JosephD.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    Great game, best in series? Yes, but not by as much as everyone would like you to believe... In other words its a great game, but not even best game in past 12 months let alone of all time... I wouldn't even put it in top 10 of all time... but still, GREAT game, worthy of purchase... just not the greatest game in the history of the universe. Simply a great game like the many other Great game, best in series? Yes, but not by as much as everyone would like you to believe... In other words its a great game, but not even best game in past 12 months let alone of all time... I wouldn't even put it in top 10 of all time... but still, GREAT game, worthy of purchase... just not the greatest game in the history of the universe. Simply a great game like the many other great games lately, nothing more, noting less. Expand
  7. JinW.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    amazing game, visually stunning worth every quid. honestly i can't describe how awesome this game is, I honestly just spend most my time TRYING to be good, even though its sooo easy to raise notoriety...sitting in a cab, just that deserves an award...its just soo amazing. the only problem is that because its so awesome when it doesn't live up to it in minor moments you feel the amazing game, visually stunning worth every quid. honestly i can't describe how awesome this game is, I honestly just spend most my time TRYING to be good, even though its sooo easy to raise notoriety...sitting in a cab, just that deserves an award...its just soo amazing. the only problem is that because its so awesome when it doesn't live up to it in minor moments you feel the fail, even though how minute it is but you feel it. Game of the year nominee right here. Expand
  8. Ethan
    May 5, 2008
    8
    GTA4 is mostly more of the same. Sure, there are new mini games and the addition of the usable cellphone gives the game more depth, building relationships with people isn't particularly fun and the missions aren't particularly different. The aiming setup has improved and the cops are a lot more intelligent, but don't believe the hype the professional reviewers are trying to GTA4 is mostly more of the same. Sure, there are new mini games and the addition of the usable cellphone gives the game more depth, building relationships with people isn't particularly fun and the missions aren't particularly different. The aiming setup has improved and the cops are a lot more intelligent, but don't believe the hype the professional reviewers are trying to push on you. After a day or 2 of GTA4, it feels just like the games that came before it. Great, but tired, gameplay. Expand
  9. HarveyW.
    May 5, 2008
    8
    GTA 4 is a very good game, but it is not the Holy Grail of gaming that the publisher-influenced reviews in the gaming press would have you believe. In just the past 12 months, there have been several better games released, including Call of Duty 4, Bioshock, and Valve's Orange Box (includes Half Life 2 and 2 additional episodes, plus Portal and Team Fortress 2).
  10. CassieM.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    The most in depth game yet. The attention to detail is amazing and the freedom the game gives you is astounding. We've come a long way from the top view, pixelated GTA 1. Hey, this game is even a far cry from San Andreas. An excellent game, possibly the best I've ever played.
  11. JaronR.
    May 5, 2008
    8
    Overall a quality game, but a 10? Not a chance in hell. No use for money except hospital bills which are arbitrarily a % of your total worth, no properties, no way to expand your empire. Dismal targeting, unexceptional graphics, and zero innovation. That said, it's entertaining, and the cast of characters is fantastic.
  12. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Truly amazing game. I'm glad they finally added cover to the game play and it works perfectly. There are so many things to do and places to see that you'll probably not run out of things to do until GTA V.
  13. MattY.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    These reactionary scores are annoying as hell, don't vote to be controversial.
  14. ChrisK
    May 5, 2008
    9
    XBox- Not quite a 10 due to graphical issues, worst pop-in in any game ive ever seen. although the amount of content is the reason, i understand. i believe many wouldnt have minded an additional month pushback if some of these errors would have been taken care of. PS3- although no DLC, theres plenty of game there to be ammused with. the pop-in, wait a min....there is no pop-ins! Including XBox- Not quite a 10 due to graphical issues, worst pop-in in any game ive ever seen. although the amount of content is the reason, i understand. i believe many wouldnt have minded an additional month pushback if some of these errors would have been taken care of. PS3- although no DLC, theres plenty of game there to be ammused with. the pop-in, wait a min....there is no pop-ins! Including smoother edges and less screen tearing. pushing the PS3 version to at least a 9.5 Both- Controls are clunky, which takes a bit of getting used to. Cover system is nothing like GOW. except for the name "cover system" in addition: i think the white aim cursor could have been a little bolder, when shooting far distances its quite hard to see. Conclusion: Best Game Ive Ever Played. Flat out. Expand
  15. BertieV
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Greatest game ever played. End of discussion.
  16. TylerC.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Great game play, great story, the racing is decent, awesome graphics and the online play is pretty good considering its a first try for the series. plus, once your done you always have the random killing sprees
  17. AndyV
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Not without its flaws, but probably the best game to be released this year. Character development far excedes anything seen in previous gta games and the story is actually engaging.
  18. EdwardO.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    I'm not a GTA fan, never got into them aside from the random sandbox fun. I also didn't buy into the hype, and finally caved in because I finished with finals and decided it was worth a shot. GTA IV has completely blown me away. It isn't one spectacular thing, it's many small things that build up to become the best console game I have ever played, period. It's I'm not a GTA fan, never got into them aside from the random sandbox fun. I also didn't buy into the hype, and finally caved in because I finished with finals and decided it was worth a shot. GTA IV has completely blown me away. It isn't one spectacular thing, it's many small things that build up to become the best console game I have ever played, period. It's shocking, that I've had more fun with GTA, a 'mainstream' game than Orange Box and Bioshock. But GTA IV has become my favorite console game of all time, and my second favorite game of all time. It's that good. Expand
  19. DavidH.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Sublime. Sound is perfect with memorable songs, excellent sounds of weapons and explosions and pitch perfect dialogue. Story is best in series and very human in its presentation of the main and sub characters. gaemplay aint perfect but a FAR improvement and the realism i think adds to the game in spades. Overall its long enough (but not 100 hours) and worth a purchase in every regard.
  20. DaveC.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    The best GTA so far. Period.
  21. MatC.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    For those of you who say "not perfect", I don't hold my 10 for "perfect". I give 10s to games that set new standards for immersiveness. I give 10s to games that don't confine outcomes. I give 10s to games that are the bellweather games for a console. And I give GTA IV a 10 not because it is perfect, but it's as perfect as we get in 2008. GTA IV stands apart as its own For those of you who say "not perfect", I don't hold my 10 for "perfect". I give 10s to games that set new standards for immersiveness. I give 10s to games that don't confine outcomes. I give 10s to games that are the bellweather games for a console. And I give GTA IV a 10 not because it is perfect, but it's as perfect as we get in 2008. GTA IV stands apart as its own masterpiece. Any other game may do single things better, may shade a pixel better, whatever. No other game is as immersive an environment. It's what video games have always strived to be; you -- starring in a movie. Expand
  22. I.L.
    May 6, 2008
    8
    Good, but not as amazing as everyone says, though the script is a work of genius (especially the radio stations), the gameplay is somewhat shallow.
  23. JamieG.
    May 6, 2008
    8
    This game improves on the general formula and has certainly updated the graphics and physics. What it does not do, however, is innovate. Not only can you find the exact same elements in the past games, but there are many elements of those games which are missing from this version. I have yet to see the ability to purchase property, to alter your physical conditioning or recruit henchmen. This game improves on the general formula and has certainly updated the graphics and physics. What it does not do, however, is innovate. Not only can you find the exact same elements in the past games, but there are many elements of those games which are missing from this version. I have yet to see the ability to purchase property, to alter your physical conditioning or recruit henchmen. It's also missing the bicycle and only has 2 air vehicles, both choppers so no planes, and no jet-pak. This game is missing at least half the stuff I came to love about San Andreas. The GTA series is good, but this version plays no differently than GTA1 or 2 or 2.1 or Godfather or GTA3 and that is very unfortunate. We originally planned to complete the game to 100%. This was before we purchased it and realized it was the same thing all over again. Now we don't play it much except to laugh at the ragdoll physics, which is worth the price alone. Great game as expected. Delivers everything that makes a standard GTA game. Absolutely tired of it already. Nothing new. Won't be paying any attention to GTA5 at all after this one. Series is dead to us. I should also note that the textures are terrible (absolutely disgusting up close) and the game appears to be missing the highest LOD models on many assets. The reflections and shadows are also very blocky, noisy and low-res looking. While the game is obviously incorporating many shaders and real-time reflections, it's all still very PS2 looking to me. However, the improved lighting and day/night cycles make decyphering the graphics in front of you into readable pathways much easier than in previous intsallments. Simply put, I used to not be able to tell where the hell I was going or when a turn was coming up, especially at faster speeds. It wasn't due to the speed, it was due to everything being the same orange/brown tint and made it impossible to discern what the hell was what. That is pretty much no longer an issue as draw distances are superb and the LOD transitions are smooth and it is very easy to see ahead. The DoF and motion blur help tremendously in this regard aswell to keep you focused on your path. However, with that greatness comes a problem. All of the graphics which are currently in shadow display absolutely zero tone-shifts. In short, the lighting effects turn off completely while the sun isn't directly shining on something. It appears as if there is no baked occlusion. At first glance into a shaded street, you might swear this was the PS2. I should also note this series' serious lack of new vehicles. The Cavalcade was in SA and it's the same thing. In fact, I recognize almost all of the cars. There are perhaps 7-12 that I had not seen in the other games and they are standard, boring cars. Whether or not they actually are the same brand/model, I cannot say. All I can say, is they all pretty much look and feel the same way they always did before. The game also appears to be missing specialist vehicles with special control schemes like the low-rider with the hydraulics. The right-analog stick appears to be solely for camera control in all instances. In the end, our biggest disappointment has been the lack of anything really new. We all expected to be surprised, but in fact we actually were surprised...to see all the same crap again. What I had hoped for would have certainly delayed the game and put a hold on the revenue for Take2, which makes my idea utterly ridiculous in the business world. My idea would have been to take an extra 1-2 years in development and open up every single office building, apartment complex, business and house for player entry and I would have populated all of these structures as mini-portals(worlds) which civilians carrying about their daily business. Basically, I would have had a 2nd world from the outside city that is going on inside almost every building. This way, you can add breaking and entering and terrorrism and kidnapping to your list of fun activities for the evening. Nuff said, that would have made the game king of all games of all time. As it is, it's basically just the next part in the series. It hardly feels like it even touches on the term "next-gen". I'm a 34 year old male who's played games since they came out and who can usually defeat any opponnent at any game, no matter what it is. I love games and I love playing them and I do it all the time. I don't love this game at all. I like it and I find it entertaining, but it's so far short of the next-gen mark, it feels like GTA-Prologue. The very last thing I'd like to mention is that I really dig Niko, the main character. I love his attitude and his dialogue. The delivery is succint, yet very sharp. Great voice acting on the part of his character. The other characters are really great too, especially the roid-raging Brucie. Expand
  24. joed
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Fantastic!
  25. TommyF.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    #1 GTA game in their series on the 360.
  26. JackT.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Just voting 10 to balance out all the retards voting 0. Peace.
  27. OwenM
    May 6, 2008
    8
    Its a pretty good game. It's a little too much of the same for my liking. But once the story is finished there is a lot of fun to be had in multiplayer.
  28. MistahB.
    May 6, 2008
    8
    The critics need to be more critical. This game is very entertaining, and an fantastic accomplishment. But these scores of 100 out of 100 suggest that there is zero room for improvement. If we rate a game like this with a perfect score, then we're not going to give the developers a reason to try to improve on it. And there is room for improvement. I love the cinematic storytelling, The critics need to be more critical. This game is very entertaining, and an fantastic accomplishment. But these scores of 100 out of 100 suggest that there is zero room for improvement. If we rate a game like this with a perfect score, then we're not going to give the developers a reason to try to improve on it. And there is room for improvement. I love the cinematic storytelling, the wide-open world, the dark humor, and the other things that have made the series so popular. But picture going into the strip club and having the girls look like the girls in DOA Volleyball. Picture pulling out your weapon and having Halo gunplay physics and control. Picture getting into your car and having PGR road physics. Picture walking up to any building in the city and being able to walk inside, pick up any object, sell the object, and use the money to upgrade your character, as in Oblivion. Clearly, all these technologies exist elsewhere in the gaming industry. Until I see it all in one game, I won't see a game worthy of a 100 out of 100 score. However, all that said, I am now on my way back to Liberty City to enjoy the incredible experience Rockstar has created for us. Expand
  29. PaulF.
    May 7, 2008
    9
    An excellent game in almost every aspect, but certainly nothing groundbreaking.
  30. Harrym.
    May 7, 2008
    8
    The game is very good, but all these reviewers giving it a perfect 10 must be all the fanboys that we keep getting told about. The game is far from perfect. Without commenting on the the glitches and all the freezes irrespective of console that have widely been reported. The graphics are barely better than GTA-SA. The only genuine addition to the game is a very unstable "better" The game is very good, but all these reviewers giving it a perfect 10 must be all the fanboys that we keep getting told about. The game is far from perfect. Without commenting on the the glitches and all the freezes irrespective of console that have widely been reported. The graphics are barely better than GTA-SA. The only genuine addition to the game is a very unstable "better" multiplayer. Absolutely nothing new to the series, purely evolutionary. Expand
  31. TaylorH.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    One of the best GTA titles to date. Improves upon everything GTA: Sandreas brought to the table, and even added in some fresh new material. Bravo GTA, you've done it once again.
  32. Miku
    May 7, 2008
    8
    Sure this is a great game, but it actually is just another GTA with more minigames, better graphics and good physics. IMO most of the professional reviers are trying to hype this game too much and make it some what of a god game. Forexample, IGN gave 10 to all of the categories of GTA which isin my opinion exaggeration. For example the graphics look good but definetly not worth of a 10.
  33. JimmyC.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Gameplay is awesome, graphics are next gen. A must have for xbox 360 owners. Will keep you busy for a very long time. Really addicting.
  34. TomasS.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game!
  35. AndrewS.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Some people rate games on imperfections ,and some rate games on fun factor alone ,or both , i do both this game has minor flaws, but with that said, the AMAZING amount of things to do, and the FUN to be had in Liberty City, is what makes this the Best game ever (so far) ,and the most amount of Fun i have ever had to date in a virtual world, i have been gaming for almost 3 decades , and Some people rate games on imperfections ,and some rate games on fun factor alone ,or both , i do both this game has minor flaws, but with that said, the AMAZING amount of things to do, and the FUN to be had in Liberty City, is what makes this the Best game ever (so far) ,and the most amount of Fun i have ever had to date in a virtual world, i have been gaming for almost 3 decades , and this game just blows me away . in every way. Expand
  36. ChasseB.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Game was great, the new shooting was improved ALOT. My only complaint is that when someone gets behind you it is a bit difficult to kill that enemy. It is very minor though and t-not that bug of a deal.
  37. ShawnW.
    May 7, 2008
    8
    Its a solid title, but not revolutionary at all. It has hidden depth in relationship management, but the missions are the same old thing. The main reason this game isn't a 10 is that it is the same old game in many respects. Not much of an open world (in a city this size, there are way too few actual shops, buildings to enter). World is small, and the graphics are just ok, not next Its a solid title, but not revolutionary at all. It has hidden depth in relationship management, but the missions are the same old thing. The main reason this game isn't a 10 is that it is the same old game in many respects. Not much of an open world (in a city this size, there are way too few actual shops, buildings to enter). World is small, and the graphics are just ok, not next gen at all. Drop all the atmospheric effects please and up the texture size and add some bump mapping. The videos look good, but playing in game it just looks blocky. And it is just too buggy with missions ending oddly, 6 star pursuits ending if you visit a mission, etc. Very good, but not nearly the adulation its getting. Expand
  38. KevinT.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Don't listen to the comment on it being unplayable at times. sounds very fanboyish. Having played it on PS3 and 360 i found the ps3 one had a lower res and more frame rate drops. The 360 had a higher res but a bit more pop in. Both stunning, both worth owning. 360 edges it for Live and the extra content coming for me.
  39. StephenK
    May 7, 2008
    10
    best game ever made. when you play just pay attention to all the small things R* put in the game and how they're all perfectially orchestrated
  40. BrianT.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Seriously, I think this is hands down one of the greatest games ever... Name one game that has consistently gotten better with each release, the only one you'll find is GTA. Great graphics, animations, characters, and man, the "thick-Plot" are things that make this game great... The only flaw I think Rockstar is gonna have is coming out wit h another GTA. Topping this one is gonna be tough.
  41. SzchifoT
    May 8, 2008
    8
    Ive completed this game now and its revealed itself to be pretty depthless once the main story is done. Why have a world so big when most of it isn't used? Ok you can go anywhere but theres nothing to do once you get there...i would have liked some more content once the single player was done. As for the multiplayer its pretty shabby (it seems everyone is going back to COD4 after 1 Ive completed this game now and its revealed itself to be pretty depthless once the main story is done. Why have a world so big when most of it isn't used? Ok you can go anywhere but theres nothing to do once you get there...i would have liked some more content once the single player was done. As for the multiplayer its pretty shabby (it seems everyone is going back to COD4 after 1 week). For those who have yet to purchase then grab a copy but beware, once you finish the single player missions this game with probably gather dust until the DLC in november - sorry PS3 fanboys but you wont be getting this. Expand
  42. SheaM.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    A well balanced and extremely emersive experience. It takes what worked so well in past installments and re-engineers it in a new and exciting direction.
  43. PeteH
    May 8, 2008
    10
    You know a game is great when you get Nintendo fanboys posting ratings of "0" because they're jealous they can't play it on their chosen system. This game for once lives up to all the hype. It's the most fun I've had in a long time.
  44. JamesS.
    May 8, 2008
    8
    A very good game but a game that I believe was overhyped. The graphics are good all round save for some minor glitches here and there. My main complaint, though, is that the game is much too easy (until the very last mission, which is more longwinded and annoying rather than difficult to be honest) and it's likely that you won't be stuck for very long on a particular mission. A very good game but a game that I believe was overhyped. The graphics are good all round save for some minor glitches here and there. My main complaint, though, is that the game is much too easy (until the very last mission, which is more longwinded and annoying rather than difficult to be honest) and it's likely that you won't be stuck for very long on a particular mission. The shooting system is a huge improvement over the cumbersome and unnatural systems that can be found in previous versions in the series however it's still not great and can be a little clumsy sometimes (particularly the new cover system). On a different note, my favourite aspect of the game is the city itself. Excuse the cliché, but it really does feel like a living, breathing city because the developers seem to have invested a lot of time in making Liberty City sound, look and feel like a city with the billboards, neon lights, smoke, etc. My favourite part of the city is the Times Square parody; epic. I have mixed feelings about the characters however. While they can be funny at times (it's often worth watching the cutscenes), they feel under developed but, then again, there are a lot of characters to meet along the way; which is a good thing. The driving feels pretty good throughout but some of the vehicles you use (or get stuck with on missions) can be slow and cumbersome and only cop cars and really rare sports cars have really good, responsive handling; with most cars being slow to accelerate and bit of a pain to handle. Overall I would definitely recommend purchasing this game as it is one of the most immersive and fun games on any games console at the moment and obtaining 100% completion should take the average gamer about 35 hours with the main storyline being over in under 30 hours (if you don't 'stop and smell the roses' too much. And it's likely you'll enjoy the game more if you don't read too much into the hype. Expand
  45. ArmanM.
    May 8, 2008
    8
    This game is great, yes, but it is VERY dissapointing in a few aspects. FIrst of all, what happened to the 95% of the buildings are enter-able? I can't go in any building at all! .. almost .. Second of all, you can't go underwater, thats really irritating if you end up in the middle of nowhere in the ocean and wanna suicide, then you can't. And there is not really much This game is great, yes, but it is VERY dissapointing in a few aspects. FIrst of all, what happened to the 95% of the buildings are enter-able? I can't go in any building at all! .. almost .. Second of all, you can't go underwater, thats really irritating if you end up in the middle of nowhere in the ocean and wanna suicide, then you can't. And there is not really much ''Hey, I wanna do that, now I can!''. And there is no trick system on vehicles. I often see the same vehicles, but not the same people though. The graphics are wonderful, but the gameplay ain't. It's kinda mediocre.. Oh, and the missions are so boring!! Jesus, nice story though and great cut-scenes. The internet café is OK though, the websites are not that funny... The TV is very irritating when you want to change back to the channel, and it suddenly goes to another channel! And yeh, I guess that's it. Oh: There are very few weapons! That just ruins the whole GTA concept > Killing. Well, it was funny though, except for the fact that your money aren't very have-to-have and the restaurants suck ass, you can only choose one type of meal! (E.g a hamburger) THE END Expand
  46. PatD
    May 8, 2008
    8
    I agree with a lot of the other user reviews. This is a very good and entertaining game, but is by no means a 10, or even one of the best games of the past year. I find Call of Duty IV, Halo 3 and Bioshock just as good, if not better. However, it is very immersive and the scope of the world you're dropped into is amazing. Fun multiplayer action, too...when it works.
  47. WilhelmK.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Beautiful - just beautiful.
  48. VictorM.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  49. RossC
    May 9, 2008
    9
    I have NOT finished this yet so I will not give a full review. Thus far the start of the game (the first few missions) are quite simple but once you begin to open the other areas the depth begins to reveal itself. The story is very very well written and Niko is a great anti-hero I really enjoy playing as him and want to see more of what he can do (Tha's some red army s*** right I have NOT finished this yet so I will not give a full review. Thus far the start of the game (the first few missions) are quite simple but once you begin to open the other areas the depth begins to reveal itself. The story is very very well written and Niko is a great anti-hero I really enjoy playing as him and want to see more of what he can do (Tha's some red army s*** right there!) Excellent. Graphics are extremely good. There is some pop up when travelling very fast, on bridges and the like. The blurring for far away buildings is effective and understandable. It means sun up, water glimmering, reflections look amazing but some side streets are a little blurred. Excellent also. The AI and the cover system are far better but not on a par with dedicated shooters perhaps. Very good. The physics are great, the cars handle very very well and the bodies really fly and the accidents look bone crunching. :) Always fun! The endless driving for ten minutes in San Andreas is gone, thankfully! The city is smaller than SA but there is a LOT more to do, internet, police computers are a nice touch also. The more you look the more you will find and you can become side tracked very easily if you enjoy messing ina sandbox. I cannot recommend this enough. It's GTA that's all you need to know really. The PS3 version does have a slight graphical edge and the loading is shorter but its fine on the XBOX and there will be online content too. Multiplayer is fun but my internet connection is frankly pants so I cannot review this just yet. Easy to connect, easy to join thus far though. PS3 online is far inferior in this regard. They have taken out the character building in the game which RPG fans may miss but ultimately it streamlined the game for me and let me concentrate on missions and fun! Buy this game. This and the elder scrolls oblivion are just marvellous. The audio is fantastic, guns and cars sound perfect. The radio (in MY opinion) is not as good. THere is not the 80s cheese of Vice City or the Freebird, Welcome to the Jungle of San Andreas. Frankly I don't recognise a lot of the music on this but maybe that's just my tastes. The humour is great and the TV shows are very very funny as you would expect. Hilarious as usual! 9.8 out of ten, pending finishing (which will mean the usual impossible last few mission I'd assume). Expand
  50. MarkB.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    This is what I dreamt of when I played the original 2D GTA - incredible!
  51. JimM
    May 10, 2008
    10
    you cant get better than this. GTA 4 has very decent graffix and great AI. I love this game because you can play it over and over again and not get bored. 1 thing that i found out about it is that they move their fingers unlike in San Andreas. Anyways if you haven't got it, GET IT!!!!
  52. StevenG.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, if only for the story. Best game story ever.
  53. KaneG.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    Yay one of the best Games I've ever seen Right up there with Ocorina of time and Resident Evil 4.
  54. IanR.
    May 10, 2008
    10
    At first I wasn't totally blown away because I was use to the old controls but the more you play the better it gets. The cars control kinda like forza and random killing is more fun because you can target a certain part of there body and watch them get up only to shoot them again. Buy this game.
  55. JakeR.
    May 11, 2008
    9
    Brilliant game. Outstanding storyline and a great world to play in. BUT its not perfect and so no-one can give it 10. 1. No garage 2. No car customisation like saints row 3. Targeting system is still not as proper FPS like saints row 4. The targeting system is not as good as the one in crackdown 5. Not enough variety of clothing 6. The main character is an idoit, he looks like a troll. Brilliant game. Outstanding storyline and a great world to play in. BUT its not perfect and so no-one can give it 10. 1. No garage 2. No car customisation like saints row 3. Targeting system is still not as proper FPS like saints row 4. The targeting system is not as good as the one in crackdown 5. Not enough variety of clothing 6. The main character is an idoit, he looks like a troll. Why cant we customise him? Expand
  56. Alex
    May 11, 2008
    10
    I love this game It is about my home land :) perfect story and amazing multplay
  57. BobG.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Amazing and immersive story, eg how you can choose different outcomes!
  58. JoeD.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Well, that's it. As many good games as there are on the market, none suck in the gamer quite like GTA does. Be warned, even if you're not a so-called 'hardcore' gamer, this will still take over your life and alienate you from your nearest and dearest. Two Hundred thumbs up.
  59. MiguelA.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    GTA is the greatest game in history to date.
  60. JonP.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    As close to perfect as a game can come.
  61. MattD.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing... You can sit there and watch people go through there daily lives.
  62. BenjaminS.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    The lack of customization is made up for by one of the best stories in gaming history. the story in this is the first one in the GTA series that was capable of driving a emotional response. they stepped back from San Andres as refined what they had before, and it works.
  63. LiamA.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    I'm about halfway through the game atm, and so far there as been; no boring parts, no repetition, no "bad" glitch's, and nothing that could ever really turn anyone away from this game, 10/10!
  64. NickT.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Effortlessly lives up to the hype.
  65. VictorM.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  66. DaP.
    May 12, 2008
    8
    GTA IV is nowhere near as much fun as San Andreas was and is basically GTA 3 with a minor next-gen respray. The dating and friend systems really get in the way of the main storyline, and feel forced on you. The Radio stations, whilst there are plenty of great tunes, fail to convey a real sense of time and place as in VC and SA, and once again the sound mastering is poor, as in all GTA GTA IV is nowhere near as much fun as San Andreas was and is basically GTA 3 with a minor next-gen respray. The dating and friend systems really get in the way of the main storyline, and feel forced on you. The Radio stations, whilst there are plenty of great tunes, fail to convey a real sense of time and place as in VC and SA, and once again the sound mastering is poor, as in all GTA games, the overall volume level is way too low. Graphically (I've only played the 360 version) the game is a mild letdown, loads of pop up, blurring and jagged edges. The usual GTA bugs, getting cars irretrievably stuck in the scenery (as happened to me in my very first mission), inconsistent Police, disappearing clothing (where have my hat and glasses gone?) poor path finding for allies/npc's and a rubbish targeting system (use free aim only). There's still hours of quality entertainment but best game ever?, it's not even the best game on the 360. A good rather than great game. Expand
  67. ChrisM.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Quite simply the best game ever created.... Thank you Rockstar. Thank you.
  68. VictorM.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  69. FelipeH.
    May 13, 2008
    9
    Overall the graphics are amazing and everything looks nice. The only downside is the car combat which makes it hard to shoot and drive at the same time.
  70. PeterW.
    May 13, 2008
    10
    bob a your an idiot ! how can you rate a game based on the type of clothes the character can wear? Unless your a strange fruit you will be amazed with this ! Graphics arent staggering at first but the level of detail, thought and characters this game has to offer is simply the bomb.
  71. TonyR.
    May 15, 2008
    10
    Great sotry and lots of content.Great game overall.Not the best ever but one of the best.
  72. NateW.
    May 15, 2008
    10
    This game revolutionary. The graphics were the biggest knock and now they are incredible. The gameplay does not get boring. The cover system is good, because it realistic. If you know how to work it, it is good. I also think another great thing is you can't predict what is going to happen on a mission. For example, you can't fail a misssion and go where you were before the This game revolutionary. The graphics were the biggest knock and now they are incredible. The gameplay does not get boring. The cover system is good, because it realistic. If you know how to work it, it is good. I also think another great thing is you can't predict what is going to happen on a mission. For example, you can't fail a misssion and go where you were before the mission takes you there, showing how smart the AI is. Most people who give it a lower reting most likely can't buy it or own a Wii. I love that you can replay a mission using the cell phone. Also, when people give a low rating, look at the other games that have that rating, and can you honestly say that those games are better/on the same level as GTA 4? I don't think so. Expand
  73. MichaelI.
    May 16, 2008
    9
    This game is just amazing. I love this game i'm addicted to it and it's in my opinion game of the year material. Thank you Rockstar keep up the great work.
  74. KrisS.
    May 16, 2008
    10
    One of the most in depth games I have played in a long time. What separates this GTA from previous installments is the little details you notice that weren't there before. The world feels more alive than ever and they fixed most of the annoying mechanics and got rid of the useless RPG features from San Andreas. It's a throwback and the game GTA III was meant to be.
  75. PatH.
    May 16, 2008
    9
    As a single game without the rest of the series behind it, this is a fantastic game. The problem I had was that so many expectations gained from the previous games were left unfulfilled in this chapter. I found myself on multiple occasions saying to myself, "why can I not do this anymore?" You can no longer buy property (including houses and businesses), no bikes, no random minigames, a As a single game without the rest of the series behind it, this is a fantastic game. The problem I had was that so many expectations gained from the previous games were left unfulfilled in this chapter. I found myself on multiple occasions saying to myself, "why can I not do this anymore?" You can no longer buy property (including houses and businesses), no bikes, no random minigames, a lot less area to explore, and less weapons. While there is a lot more music, none of it is as memorable as previous games, which may be due to the fact that there is really no reason to drive around (taxis are plentiful and take you where you want to go instantly). Everyone I have talked to who has played this game feels the same way as I do, in that the game leaves a lot to be desired and that the reviews are a bit outrageous. This game is by no means a bad game, in fact, to a player new to the series, it would be outstanding, but after the amount of variety in San Andreas, a veteran player is left a tad disappointed. I think a 90 is very fair for this game, but in no way is it a 100. Good: Story is fantastic. Lead character is by far the best yet. Graphics and Effects are very nice A fun interactive world. Filled with very believable npcs walking the streets. Liberty City feels very real in that sense Bad: So much left out from other games of the series Missions get very very repetitive. Restarting missions from the absolute beginning is a real pain (turned off the game a few times after losing missions a few times in a row) Smaller environment. Expand
  76. DiegoR.
    May 17, 2008
    9
    The best fun to be had since the Macarena. Nobody knew what the hell that song was about but everybody wanted to dance and have fun with it. Sorry... I have to go ROMAN is calling me on the cellphone I have to go pick him up.
  77. DavidK.
    May 18, 2008
    10
    By far the best selection from the GTA series. I started the game off thinking it was the same old thing, but the further I played the more I noticed the attention to detail. A living breathing world where every conversation you hear, every radio station you listen to, and every TV show you watch is downright funny. Plus the best characters from and GTA game yet, this game got rid of By far the best selection from the GTA series. I started the game off thinking it was the same old thing, but the further I played the more I noticed the attention to detail. A living breathing world where every conversation you hear, every radio station you listen to, and every TV show you watch is downright funny. Plus the best characters from and GTA game yet, this game got rid of everything I found annoying with San Andreas and improved on everything that was working correctly. I highly recommend this, but it looks like everyone should already own it considering the amount they have sold for both the PS3 and Xbox. Expand
  78. ThomasP.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    Of all the GTA's I've played, this will be the first one that I actually finish. I give a lot of credit to the story and writing because this is the first time I've actually cared about the character I was playing in a GTA game. This game's just all-around amazing.
  79. AngelR.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    The best game ever. I just hope that the pc gamers will enjoy that soon.
  80. JoeC.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best of the gta series, redefining the open world genre that it created. Best game ever
  81. StephenB.
    May 19, 2008
    8
    Missing features that were present in GTA: San Andreas. . . . Improvable player stats (muscle, weapon skills, etc) Planes and jets Base jumping Henchmen Owning property Vehicle customization Underwater swimming Military on six star wanted level Tanks Firefighting and ambulance missions Most of the character visual customization Helicoptor missiles Jetpack Most collectibles Most arcade Missing features that were present in GTA: San Andreas. . . . Improvable player stats (muscle, weapon skills, etc) Planes and jets Base jumping Henchmen Owning property Vehicle customization Underwater swimming Military on six star wanted level Tanks Firefighting and ambulance missions Most of the character visual customization Helicoptor missiles Jetpack Most collectibles Most arcade games Burglary missions Two-player same screen co-op Katana, dildo, chainsaw, other weapons Car garages C4 Many other things. Expand
  82. Mako
    May 20, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. Best Grand Theft Auto in almost every aspect. I played every grand theft auto minus the psp one's and this is the best out of all of them, by twenty. This game is great. It's one of the few games that lives up to "the hype."
  83. WesesC.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    The most amazing and realistic game made to date.
  84. AndyC.
    May 21, 2008
    8
    A great game, as you'd expect from *any* game that cost $100 million to make, but its just not as good as the critics say, and not as good as it could have been. Missions get repetitive, cutscenes and friend relationships get tiring...at times the game actually borders on being dull, which no 10/10 game ever should. As someone who completed San Andreas to 100%, I was expecting more A great game, as you'd expect from *any* game that cost $100 million to make, but its just not as good as the critics say, and not as good as it could have been. Missions get repetitive, cutscenes and friend relationships get tiring...at times the game actually borders on being dull, which no 10/10 game ever should. As someone who completed San Andreas to 100%, I was expecting more than this... yes, it looks stunning. But its GTA by numbers, just with beatutiful graphics and attention to detail. There's not enough inventiveness when it comes to missions...and, lets be honest, whats the point of including Alderney? The ultimate destination of the game should be Algonquin... moving onto Alderney from there feels like a step backwards. We dont need the final island. So much of the previous three islands still feels unexplored and underused, I think Rockstar's efforts would have been put to far better use in creating more varied, dynamic and longer missions, than the needless inclusion of the 4th island. Expand
  85. JayO.
    May 21, 2008
    9
    Anybody who gives this game less than a 90 isn't fit to breathe the same air as the rest of us. This is the single greatest game released so far this century, hands down. The amount of content in this title will keep you busy for dozens of hours, and that's not even including the multiplayer. I gave this a 9 on here, but I would really give it a 9.5. Everything from the Anybody who gives this game less than a 90 isn't fit to breathe the same air as the rest of us. This is the single greatest game released so far this century, hands down. The amount of content in this title will keep you busy for dozens of hours, and that's not even including the multiplayer. I gave this a 9 on here, but I would really give it a 9.5. Everything from the graphics, to the audio, to the overhauled gameplay mechanics makes this a must have for anybody who considers themselves a true gamer. Don't listen to these haters who are giving this game 5, 6, or 7's, they are completely and utterly wrong in every aspect. Expand
  86. PaulJ.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    You rate this less than ten, then you're an idiot.
  87. Daz
    May 21, 2008
    10
    I would give this 11 or more out of ten if i could. Game in the future will be judged against GTA4. Simply briliiantly amazing. The amount of detail is immense. The is a game that is worth losing your life to. I ahev played games since the early 1980s and the is the best. If you are unsure then simply BUY.
  88. Edward
    May 21, 2008
    8
    A good game, but an overrated one. Weaker storyline, characters, and missions than both Vice City and San Andreas drags it down. Also, the writing on the peripherals (radio stations, television, Internet) is MUCH better than the actual script for the storyline.
  89. LaruzA.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Amazing game that has many drawbacks (Tattoos, Haircuts, Car Customisation) that will all be added to in the DLC which will help to soliify this as the greatest game ever played.
  90. JacobC.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Only because the ratings go from 1-10 i put 10. If i was able to type it, I would put 1,000. This game is the best ever, even better than Halo 3. Thank you Rockstar. I'm GTA addict!!!
  91. BigPapaSteve
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Truly amazing. I've noticed a lot of people complaining about having to drive a bunch after failing a mission. you do realize that if you fail a mission you can take out your phone and retry the mission?
  92. AAACE5
    May 22, 2008
    10
    It is obvious a lot of people didn't understand this game! It is hard for some to accept that GTA 4 has focused the gameplay more on realism, than on arcade play of previous GTA games. I had a problem with the driving camera angles and a few other areas as well. But once I got used to them, and accepted things like, "OK, I gotta drive the cars like real cars!" Then the game started It is obvious a lot of people didn't understand this game! It is hard for some to accept that GTA 4 has focused the gameplay more on realism, than on arcade play of previous GTA games. I had a problem with the driving camera angles and a few other areas as well. But once I got used to them, and accepted things like, "OK, I gotta drive the cars like real cars!" Then the game started to show it's true beauty. The amount of detail put into this game is astounding. It is not perfect, but nothing is broken, or in any way make the game unplayable. But for a game like this, to have the amount of realism incorporated into it, all the way down to pieces of paper flowing down the street, to steam rising from the sewers, shows that rockstar's focus was to give gamers an experience, where other games just want to give you something to do for a while. The story in this game is top notch in my book. The story blends movie style stories with real situations that people run into in real life. The characters all seem to fit perfectly. One thing a lot of gamers haven't realized about all GTA games is they all contain a message that is often overlooked. The moral message in this one is "Maintaining relationships". That's why the cellphone plays a key role in this game. It is known that a large majority of gamers are anti-social, or just lack people skills. GTA 4 is trying to change that. For a game this large and detailed to work as great as it does, with only a few minor problems is commendable, and should be respected. Even little details like when you fail a mission. All you have to do is bring up your cellphone and it offers the option to retry the mission, and you're right back to it. GTA 4 for me stands at the top of my list of great games right along with Zelda OoT, and Final Fantasy X. I have had a great time with this game. Cant wait for the DLC, and the next edition. I know there will be people who just hate GTA just because, but they are missing something truly spectacular in my book. Oh, and my real score for this game is 9.7! Expand
  93. PaulK.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    This game is the best game I have seen in a LONG time. The story is something you'd expect from the Oscar winning movies everyone loves, and people coming out with this bullshit about it being worse than VC and SA, shut up. Just shut up now. Vice city and San Andreas had characters with 2 dimensional personalities and no development. They had shit graphics. They had ok-ish This game is the best game I have seen in a LONG time. The story is something you'd expect from the Oscar winning movies everyone loves, and people coming out with this bullshit about it being worse than VC and SA, shut up. Just shut up now. Vice city and San Andreas had characters with 2 dimensional personalities and no development. They had shit graphics. They had ok-ish soundtracks, I guess. But other than that, and maybe at a party getting two people in a car and seeing how long they can survive was fun in SA, but all the immense flaws in physics on the other games, especially the fact that doing 150MPH around an 90 degree bend you would STILL leave you alive, have been rectified. This game is not just the game of the year, it is the game of the decade. Expand
  94. PaulA.
    May 24, 2008
    9
    innovative, revolutionary, highly detailed . . . a gaming masterpiece not without its faults though
  95. NickW.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Despite the flaws, this game has to be played.
  96. DB
    May 25, 2008
    10
    It is quite simple - this is the best game ever, even compared with MGS, Halo and jet set willy (from the spectrum days). Nothing even comes close to the sheer detail in GTA. How did Rockstar program this in the time they had? Unbelievable. The other GTAs were good but this is really in a different league. Everything that was slightly wrong before has been bettered. Best game ever.
  97. AVideoGameCritic
    May 25, 2008
    8
    A great game that features amazing writing and character development. A bit repetitive, goes on way too long, and lacks a strong storyline but it's still a winner, definitely recommended to anyone even if it's not the best in the series.
  98. AdrianoV.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    One of my Top 10 Favorite games of all time. Basically, it might as well be called one of the Top Ten Best Games Ever Made Period.
  99. TownsendD.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    The best game of this decade, it deserves all the praise it getting. A true masterpiece.
  100. JohnN.
    May 26, 2008
    9
    To all of those people who say "Where are my hat and glasses?" If you die, or are in an accident, they will fall off. Simple as that. Pay attention for once! Anyways I liked it a lot. Niko was the best GTA protagonist, because there is a better sense of remorse. I like this game a lot, but it is not the best ever.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    98
    Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.