User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2705 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through. Me trying to find at least one thing to complain about. Nothing. This game really deserves GOTY. And I really have to say Niko Bellic is the only character in the GTA series that you can truly connect with. Understanding his difficult life and mis-adventures you can really feel his emotions. And for a free-roaming game they really knocked me out. The free roaming really is amazing. Its awesome how they can have such a nice, luminous city and still have amazing and almost flawless graphics. As for the multi-player, I didn't really play it that much but i love the fact that you can roam around Liberty City causing as much mayhem as you want. The ranked matches are good too, with death-match (etc...) it was pretty cool to see that in a GTA game. Surely I can truly say that you have not experienced free-roam/sandbox games until you have played GTA IV. Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This is a best game since,i play the xbox 360 is a
    very very good game and doesn t have any error with the game. This is a expetacular and the best productions of rockstar games. i recommend.
  4. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Although it may not contain the amount of variety that was provided by San Andreas (which is still the best in the series) it excels in creating a living, breathing open world environment which has not been matched until the release of Skyrim. A must own for GTA fans, open world fans or fans of great games in general
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Don't even get me started. I'll just leave it as . . . MY FAVORITE VIDEO GAME OF ALL-TIME!!
  6. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    I don't understand how anyone who is a fan of this particular style of genre, or anyone who enjoys gaming occasionally, cannot like Grand Theft Auto IV. It gives you the freedom to do absolutely anything you want, and gives you the tools to do it. The missions are fun and interesting, the array of guns and cars to choose from is amazing, and the sheer size of the map is something I have never seen before. I cannot wait for the next Grand Theft Auto to come out. Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is amazing, not only is this the best GTA game I've ever played but also one of the greatest games I've ever played. GTA IV gives an experience that is unforgettable. You control a serbian immigrant by the name of Niko Bellic who has come to Liberty City (much reminiscent to New York City) to have a better life, however his life is not easy. Niko Bellic is an interesting character, he underlines the struggle to get out to the top, Bellic captures the mood of GTA IV and he shows that there aren't just gangs or the rich but also people trying to start over again. Niko is unlike the other GTA protagonists because he is not a part of a gang, he is a man of his own that is just trying to survive and he does not keep any connections to the gangs. The story of GTA IV is amazing, one of the best storylines I have ever seen, the story will keep you captivated till the end with options that affect how the story plays out. Liberty City is an amazing place, the city is vast and huge with many interactable aspects, Liberty City is full of life with all the different types of people and all the different things you can do in the game. The last big GTA game was San Andreas, San Andreas may have allowed you to do a few more things but the story, the graphics, and the way you approach things is what makes GTA IV outshine San Andreas. The playability of GTA IV is like any other GTA game, the controller and the player become one, outside of story missions you can do whatever you want with contributes to game completion. Overall GTA IV is an amazing game, all the good aspects of the game come together to deliver this monster of a game, there are like virtually ZERO flaws in the game, that is amazing. GTA IV deserves to be one of the greatest games of all time, it smashes it's competition and it deserves the "Game of The Year 2008" Award. GTA IV is a memorable experience that is unforgetable that not only leaves it's mark in the GTA series but in the history of gaming. Breakdown for "Grand Theft Auto IV": Presentation: 10, Graphics: 10, Sound: 10, Gameplay: 10, Lasting Apeeal: 10, Verdict: 10 out of 10 "Masterpiece" Easily the best game I have ever played. Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    best GTA ever with enxt GTA 5, its all what i can said about this game. ..............................................................................................................................
  9. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    i think Grand Theft Auto is appropriate for ages 10+ the reason why is because you can censor all the bad language. This is also much like the game saints row it is very similar to Grand Theft Auto and Saints row is also not that bad i recommend it to. so this is my opinion im funzoid and a think Grand Theft Auto is a appropriate game THANKS!
  10. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    It truly smashed the hype and shocked the critics. GTA IV is a game that MUST be experienced even if you haven't liked the game in the past... And what's better is that there is more to come. The DLC will be here around August and we can't wait!!!
  11. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I had never played a GTA game before this one, so I have no reference to compare it to, but I was hesitant to buy this game at first - due to the negative connotations about it in various media outlets. After getting 100% completion in the game I have to say that it is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played - on ANY platform. As a person who prefers first person shooters & sports games, but has never enjoyed any form of RPG, I was impressed by both the RPG elements and the FPS elements. The story-line was captivating, the various missions were interesting, the achievements were top-notch. It was one of the few games I've ever played that was both open enough to explore - and interesting enough to actually want to take the time to explore. It's not many games that will get me to pause in the middle of a mission, just to listen to the insanely funny bit on the radio in my stolen cab. I'm already anticipating paying full price for GTA V (and I RARELY pay full price for a game). If you haven't played this yet, got out and buy it now!! Expand
  12. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    You know, as a lifelong fan of this game, I can't help but getting a rock hard boner for this game. I mean, holy **** Some games follow, this game leads. If video games could lead, this would be like Abraham Lincoln or some ****
  13. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Bought this on release date back in 2008, still play it online on a nearly weekly basis with friends! If you're a fan of any GTA, you CANNOT miss out on this one.
  14. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Just in case you haven't played it yet and you were wondering if the game is still worth playing even though it's five years years old now. Yes. This game is so detailed and more expansive than anything else on the market as of today. Even though the animated characters aren't on par with today's models, the voice acting is top notch and the storyline pulls you along for quite a raunchous adventure of betrayal and revenge. You'll be looking at a total of 90 missions, give or take, so expect a game that will take you a month to play. I found myself liking all of the characters that my protagonist associated with and the main character himself. Outstanding game that only has a drawback on the "save game" issue where if you have to start a mission all over again, you can expect to spend a lot of time just retracing your path to start the mission again. If you haven't played it, now is a perfect time because you can get the two expansions with the main story for only a quarter of the cost of a new game. Expand
  15. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Story: 7
    Characters: 10
    Graphics: 7
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: 8
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 8
    Gameplay: 7
    Re-Playability Value: 10
    Fun Factor: 10

    Score: 8.7/10 = A
  16. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best, beautiful, immerse, deep, and most importantly fun games i have ever played. Almost every aspect of this game is fantastic. You star as Niko Bellic, a immigrant from eastern europe who has come to the Liberty City to live the "American Dream" along with his cousin Roman. The story is one of the areas where GTA4 shines most. You will grow to love the cousins and their story of triumph and tragedy as they try to make in in America. Speaking of characters, GTA4 has some of the best characters you will ever find in a video game. From the crazy roid using Brucie to the Jamaican drug dealer little Jacob you will care for each character in your own way. One of the games best characters is not a person. It is the city itself. Liberty City is just like the city it was modeled after NYC. It is a living, breathing character itself with so much activity constantly happening even when you are doing something else. The gameplay has gotten enormously better with a cover system available which comes really handy in firefights with enemies. The driving mechanics have gotten a complete overhaul as well. Now it is more difficult to drive a car. You will have to use the break like a real car and watch the damage the car receives as well. Add on a complete fun multiplayer experience and you get not only the game of the year but one of the best games to grace the new generations of consoles you will find anywhere Expand
  17. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    I will be totally honest GTA 4 was the game that made me buy the Xbox 360 and after beating the game twice I have come to the conclusion that it was totally worth it. First of they have made some changes to the gameplay some fans of GTA may like it some may not. I think it was a great idea to make these changes and make the game more realistic rather than using the same formula Rockstar has been using for the previous GTAs. They have added a new physics engine which will be in effect while driving and walking, if you get hit by a car whe nyou are walking you fall down and get hurt, if you are driving roughly and crash into a wall or tree you may fall out of your car hurt, if you are driving a bike roughly and you crash than you may land on your head which may result in instant death. Some people may find this annoying but I for one thought these changes were executed pretty well and adds more realism and a real life feel to the game. The wanted level system has also been worked where you have to escape a region in which the cops are looking for you to escape them, going to pay and spray when you are visible to the cops will not work and if you start violence for no reason on the streets with no cops around the cops will still be alerted about your actions. Other additions are the use of the cell phone that you can use to call friends, girl friends and 911, the Internet which has fake websites which the player can use to browse some information, do some side missions or find a date. You can also hang out with you friends there a good number of places to go however they have their tastes and preferences if you improve your relationship with them you will be allowed to call them to help you or provide some services in different situations, all this is alot similar to the dates in San Andreas it is just that conversations are more deep and engaging this time around. The game's shooting has also been improved with improved camera angles, targeting system and controls along with the cover system and the enemies also react differently upon where you shoot them. This improvement definitely made the shootouts in the game more fun and realistic than the previous GTA games. The player can also hire cabs or call for a cab in order to get around faster around the city. Sadly all the vehicle missions have almost been completely removed and replaced with the Cop side missions however cop side missions this time around are more in depth, longer and more challenging. Along with all this the game also has some racing missions. The side stuff in this game despite being fun and very realistic is far less than it was in San Andreas. A multiplayer mode is in the game and it is far better than the one in San Andreas and has a good number of fun modes to keep the player's interest in the game. The game's story is also very well written and engaging and all the game's characters have a different and interesting personality, the main protogonist of the game Niko Bellic specially is a very deep and interesting character with a badass personality and an awesome accent. The voice acting once again has been done really well like most of the rockstar games the actors are into their characters. The sound effects are also more realistic this time around. The music despite being good is a let down compared to previous games but there is still enough variety in the radio stations and good number of songs to keep the player's interest. The graphics are alot more detailed and realistic, the characters models look alot more detailed and realistic, their animations are also much better and environments look extremely real and the shadow, night and daylight effects have also been very well done. This game is the only GTA game to have graphics that are this realistic and detailed. Definitely the best looking GTA game ever hands down. The game's main story will take the player around 20-25 hours in the first playthrough but after that there are enough side missions and side stuff to hold the player's interest and the game's main story also has alot of replay value specially considering the fact that you get to make some decisions during the missions which is an amazing additions and exactly something which the previous GTA games needed add to that the well done multiplayer mode which the player can spend a long time on without getting bored. Therefore the game's replay value and lasting appeal is very high. Overall GTA 4 is an amazing game and definitely one the best GTA and Sandbox games ever made. 9.5/10 Collapse Expand
  18. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    The best game that I've ever played. You won't spend less than 30 hours in the amazing campaign, and there's plenty to do in Liberty City and in the well-added multiplayer. Graphics are not Crysis, but are perfectly okay. Car driving is easy and awesome as in other GTA games. I have more pleasure to play this game than any other, and while I was playing this, time flew. MUST BUY.
  19. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    The Graphics Of This Game Is Just Unbelievable. The Gameplay is Amazing, The Sound, Lighting, And Effects Make Sound Like Your In The Game. Buy This Game Now. You Wont Regret it. I Can garuantee. I Just Keep Playin And Playin This Everyday.
  20. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    GTA IV (along with Uncharted 2,3) is the best game this gen!! I dont care what people say... This game is a masterpiece! It deserves all the praise it gets
  21. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV & Red Dead Redemption are probably my two favorite games. I really don't understand how anyone could rate this poorly... Rockstar makes the best games.
  22. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is the best game in the series and the story is about a russian name Niko Bellic follow his trip to Liberty City and make his life turned into an american dream, the city is perfect, the music was perfect and i think there could be more than 100 music i supposed on the radio, visual arts and graphic are perfect and the name of this engine is "Euphoria" makes it realistic not only that, the ability to used phone is perfect but you could play multiplayer if you're bored playing alone and want to play with friend and the decision that effect the story is awesome so the game is perfect as 10. Expand
  23. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    Why are people such haters? I agree, San Andreas was better because there was alot more to do. But in this game, the story is much longer, the main character is more interesting, and the physics are much better too. It is a different style of driving that takes a little bit to get used to. You can play all the way through the campaign and get a good 30 hours of gameplay(there is even an achievement for beating this in under 30 hours). Once the quest is done, there is not much incentive to keep playing except to hang out with friends, but there really is not much of a point to that. However, after the game is done, there is an exhilerating multiplayer to be played. This is the first time that Rockstar has introduced a multiplayer GTA on console, and they did not just experiment with it, There are ten ranks which basically feels like getting through one prestige on Modern Warfare 2 and every time you get to a new level, you unlock clothes and character models. The multiplayer is one to be played for a long time because it introduces Car fights, mid-air helicopter battles, and even mix-and-match the two on the entirety of the city. Liberty City feels more like a living breathing world more than any other GTA world out there. Expand
  24. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    wow just wow this game is an instant classic, just amazing if you haven't played this game yet (don't know why) just go out and get it, it gives you a good story with unlimited replay value
  25. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Rockstar have a reputation of creating great open world games, with worlds that feel alive and interesting stories. Enter Grand Theft Auto IV, the first in the long running GTA franchise to be released for Xbox 360 & PS3. You play as Niko Bellic, a European immigrant searching for a new life with his cousin in the land of opportunity. Unfortunately for them both they live in Liberty City, Romans gambling addiction gets him and Niko in some deep **** and digs up the past Niko tried to leave behind. Yet another amazing game from Rockstar and another great GTA title Expand
  26. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Just play the story missions and when your done with then roam around Liberty City with the amazing music in this game. Last but not least play the multiplayer then you'll exactly why this game is amazing can't wait till Grand Theft Auto V!
  27. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    GTA4 is the definition of perfect. This game does everything right from story telling to gameplay to interesting characters to driving mechanics and graphics. Nico Bellic is such an awesome character and his cousin Roman is so funny. You start the game having just arrived in liberty city helping Roman with his taxi business doing odd jobs, but before long you meet a ton of different characters and end up doing a variety of missions including collecting outstanding debts, driving people from place to place and killing people on demand. The missions are mixed and varied so you will never get board. If you don't have this game in your collection you should go out now and buy it today. Expand
  28. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    I don't know why people hate on this game so much, I still play it constantly , just to drive around and cause mayhem, never finished the story, just played it enough to open the city's. Just messing around in an open world, with all the freedom to do what you want earns this a perfect 10 in my book.
  29. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    BY FAR!!!!!!!!!! one of the best games i have ever played in a long time!!!!! seriously can't wait for the release of gta v !!! but by the mean time i would just try to wait till it comes out but for now i'd just keep playin dis one!!!
  30. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Very cool game with style, you feel like your into this criminal things, the radio is like real, there are a lot things do in this game.
  31. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games I've played! The story is my favorite in the series, Niko is my favorite character in the series, and this game looks great.
  32. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Well.......................................................................................................Short and simple: Great game but no jets :(
  33. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Finally Rockstar have nailed the GTA series with GTA IV. It is just brilliant in every way. Like the car pysics now feal realistic with tyres bursting once you have been doing dounuts for a long time and the sounds of guns are brilliant. I have bought every GTA except gta 1, 2 and London, but I only got GTA IV a year ago and after half a year of playing it I straight away thought it might be better on PC and it was. Anyone who hasn''t played GTA IV go out now and get it and you will enjoy it. Expand
  34. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    In my opinion this is the greatest Gta yet. With its vast detail, great story and amazing presentation Gta IV is an extremely entertaining game. In fact it's not just a game but a experience and a great one at that. Not to mention the infinite amount of time that can be invested in the game in the form of Vigilante and other side missions. Well worth every cent used to buy it. 10/10.
  35. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Laugh at me if you want, I just bought this game from Best Buy because one of my friends convinced me to buy the game saying that the game was good and I had to try it out. I really didn't know what to expect going into GTA 4. When I put the game in, I was blown away how pretty the game looked and this is the first game I've played where I love most of the characters in the story. Niko is a the main protagonist who went to America from Russia to seek a new life. While in Liberty City, a fictional city in Los Angeles, he meets up with his cousin Roman. Roman is a funny character that's in major debt to Loan Sharks. Niko must help his cousin out. While trying to help out his cousin, he meets a girl named Michelle and wants go out with her, but is side-lined from all the work he is doing to help Roman. The characters that you meet early in the game have their own personality instead of being carbon copies of other characters in the game. I have not gotten far into the campaign, but I really enjoy the game and hope I have more fun with it later on. I encourage you to buy this game. Expand
  36. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is just as impressive as it looks. Although it doesn't offer exciting visuals, or great graphics, it is wildly entertaining, and sets high standards for open world games. Controls take some getting used to, but they make sense for the game's combat style. The story is phenomenal, with strong characters, and an incredible (albeit somewhat cliché) plot. It has plenty of content, fun missions, and great features. Although the game doesn't have much play value after completion of the main story missions, it's easily overlooked. Grand Theft Auto IV is the best of its genre. Expand
  37. May 7, 2013
    10
    Maybe my all time best game. sure the game has flaws, but it barely affect me enjoying every minute in this game. I got the key to city achievement, took me like forever, but at the end I just like to do this meaningless collective things in this game, mainly because i like to drive around the city. The combat/gunplay is not topnotch, but I dont care, the game just has massive other things to do than shooting. I gave the time a 10, maybe a little overrated. I don't think in any way this game is a perfect 10, but I just cannot think of any game is better than this, therefore, after comparison, IMO, this is how a 10 score game should like... Expand
  38. May 2, 2013
    10
    I just played and completed this game again for the second time. It is completely awesome and still the best game I've ever played, great open world way ahead of its time, great voice acting, story and attention to detail.

    I decided to play this again in preparation for GTA V and show my son how good it was, he is only 9 and loves the iPad GTA games and loved it too. I'm hoping GTA V
    will have some filter for kids and open it to a wider audience but even without this the game is worthy of the amazing reviews and score that is here.

    If you have ever been to New York you will recognize a lot of the places, structures an that just adds a touch of something extra. The driving and feel in this game is different to other GTA games, the driving is a lot harder and you will have to work to control your cars, with that said its much more realistic, you can't just hurl around corners at almost full speed.

    The graphics are probably a bit dated now, but the engine is what really started it all for open world games. New engines such as those in Farcry 3 or Just Cause 2 are better, but they owe respect to GTA IV for doing it first and years ahead.
    Expand
  39. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    The number 1 rated game on metacritic,I can see why.This game has awesome combat,fun mini-games and really cool veichles.I can't wait to see what they do in GTA 5.
  40. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    The game isn't perfect, nothing is, but this rating by the CoDFather himself is really 9.8. The cheats are really good, the phone feature, the weapons, the storyline, all as realistic as any game ever was! Betrayal, friendship, drugs, blood, sex, money, all in the big city! What can be more realistic?! A game of the year by many companies including Gameinformer! The endless things you can do, the endless lists of combinations and things to do with fun and time- wasting events. A game of the century! Expand
  41. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    it was a good game. the missions are great with lots of action. the cutscenes were also very good. you can hang out with friends, and between the missions their are lots of stuff to do. this is one of the best gta games.
  42. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Sure the shooting controls aren't perfect but overall the story and the missions make the game awesome. It's a well-crafted game. I completely agree with score it got.
  43. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This game is fantastic it is better than every other sandbox game and all gta games that came before.
    This game has a great single player and multiplayer and all in one game ypu have to buy this it is one of the best games ever released
  44. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    After nearly eleven years of ups and downs, Rockstar has nailed it. This is the ultimate Grand Theft Auto experience, a powerhouse performance that will leave you clamoring for more, long after you've completed its story.
  45. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    GTA IV has to be one of the best of the games. It delivers a story of Niko, an illegal immigrant with a dark past who arrives in Liberty City (An extremely-detailed recreation of New York.) at the bottom of the food chain and takes up work with his cousin, Roman, and the local mobs. At the start of the game you'll be doing tedious, boring missions that are usually along the lines of transporting someone or beating up some guy. But eventually the game hands you a gun and tells you to shoot the living f**k out of enemies in certain places, or chase after enemies AND THEN shoot the f**k out of them. While that might sound like it would get boring, it never does. The aiming system is great, and the cover system is even better. Plus, the game unlocks new areas for you as you play through the story. If you don't feel like playing through the story, that's okay, because the game features the classic GTA free-roaming that the series is known for. Tired of doing missions? That's cool, go grab yourself a shotgun and go a on a killing spree. Feeling like getting away from the cops? Go over and steal yourself a helicopter and fly into a non-unlocked area, you get an instant five-star wanted level. No matter what you do, this game will provide entertainment. Play this game. Expand
  46. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game, but its not perfect like some people make it out to be. Firstly there are many games that have much better visuals and character animations than GTA. Seriously, the people run and walk as though their knees are in a fixed position. There are also some issues with the gameplay as in some situations you find Niko running around in circles rather than doing what you pressed on you're controller. Other than that id say this game is perfect, excellent storyline, good soundtrack, and all you would expect from a rockstar game. I recommend it. Expand
  47. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Still playing it in 2012. Fave game overall - ever. Actually got the download version (after buying the DVD over 2 years ago) just so I could play without having to put in the disk at all. It was worth it because it's my "go to" game and every once in a while I just get back into it. Again and again. Love it.
  48. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    There not too much to say than this, Grand Theft Auto IV is with out a shadow of a doubt the greatest game ever created, played and experienced. Rockstar you have outdone yourselves. Graphics aren't the best the XBOX 360 can offer but thats a small price to pay when you get into this masterpeice of a game. Warning, though this is an outstanding game, for some the content may disgust, so here is my BBFC content warning, CONTAINS VERY STRONG LANGUAGE THROUGHOUT, STRONG BRUTAL BLOODY VIOLENCE AND VERY STRONG ADULT THEMES, DRUG ABUSE AND VERY FREQUENT AMOUNTS OF LAW BREAKING (which note makes this game what is is, TRULY AWESOME). Expand
  49. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Best game I know very epic when it comes to stunts and tipping cars or boats with the rpg which is shown in gta iv stunts 4 and the epic car chases just make me pee myself
  50. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    OK, oh my god, some people are saying this game is bad????? How!? Dude if you like this one the least, out of the other GTAs, then you don't know what a good game is. Great story. Great action. Great free-roam, what more could you want?!
  51. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    I've never played a GTA game before, but htis blew me away. A very meaningful and movign story, a great lead character with one hilarious cousin, tie in a love interest and it make for one great game. The driving feels very nice and realistic, and the piles of extra things to do in Liberty City means you'll never get bored, whether it's hanging out with your friends or going for gold in a street race its just pure fun. The gun-play is solid and the chase sequences between you and the police (Or you chasing after someone else) is exilherating. Mulltiplayer is incredibly fun with Liberty City being your batleground was one kick-ass idea, and the wide spread of game modes is awesome, and free-mode is very fun. This is a Must-Buy in my book. Buy this now, and if you hate this game then your either a paranoid parent or a sad little chiild who can't get any kills in multiplayer. Expand
  52. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    I would have given this game a 10/10 if it were not for the story line ending and the rest of the game left to meaningless missions. I was disapointed when the game (story line) ended because the game stats said the game was only 60% complete, leading me to believe that there was much more to the game left...The story line part of the game however was 10/10, very addictive and fun. Great graphics. One of the more enjoyable games I have ever played on xbox 360. Expand
  53. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    GTA IV is an excellent game with a great story and characters.It still retains much of its originality,but in a much more mature way.It does have plenty of shortcomings,but not many will care.
  54. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    A very good game. The story line is good, the physics are good, the characters are well planned out and have very good voice acting, and the AI is almost perfect except there are some bugs and some ways to trick them. The multiplayer is also somewhat fun, I played hours on end on multiplayer alone.

    The game is worth the money.
  55. May 29, 2011
    10
    THIS IS THE BEST GAME OF ALL TIME. this game is the best game of all time if you are looking for a reason to buy this game.STOP wasting your time and GO GET THE GAME NOW! The story is one of the best stories in gaming history, you slowly get to know your cousin and start making friends for Niko. After some progression in the game you start to love the characters and their beautifully created dialogs, you will love every single mission in the game, you will love the little details at every place in liberty city, you will love the side missions, you will love the dating missions, you will love to explore liberty city and just see how the pedestrians walk and talk over the phone or the fat cops that run past you chasing a thief. This game is one of those games you must play if you consider yourself a GAMER. Expand
  56. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is most likely the pinnacle of action sandboxers this console has seen. And it may even remain as one, as GTA III did before it. The story is brilliant - it has multiple endings, and whether or not you realize it, your in-game actions impact it. The main missions vary more than previous series entries, and the side-missions also are far more enjoyable. And if your not one for story, the sandbox world is one of a kind. You can load up, throw money to a tramp, get a new jacket, pay for a heli-tour, hijack said heli-tour, and stand atop a building with a sniper. Or one of the hundreds of other opportunities Rocktars beautifully re-booted and re-imaged Liberty City has to offer. And go online, with two or more friends, or on your own. That's another world of it's own. Expand
  57. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    It puzzles me as to how some people have given this game any lower than a 10. This is undoubtedly the best game of this generation, and perhaps of all time.
    It took a tried and tested open world formula, applying a realistic story and creating one of the most detailed citys ever to appear in any game, let alone open world games. The characters are amazing, from the rastafarian Jacob, to
    the fumbling Roman.
    I'll agree that it was a risky move to break away from what made San Andreas so great, but it was a risk that payed off on so many levels.
    Expand
  58. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    GTA 4 has, since it's release, represented the high water mark in this current generation of console games.
    GTA 3 prompted me to purchase a PS2, and GTA4 did a similar job in prompting me to purchase an XBOX 360. 3 years on and everything I've played since has always been measured up to my GTA 4 experience and few have even come close.
    My friend has an 8 year old son who loves his XBOX.
    Due to the adult rating, he can't play GTA 4 (although take a trip to the multiplayer element of the game and you will find that a lot of parents choose to ignore this rating). My heart bleeds for him. If I was 8 now, I would lose the plot if I was forced to wait another 10 years to play the game.

    I can't fault this game. Kinda played it to death now, so desperate for GTA5
    Expand
  59. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    Wow this is the first GTA game I played and I feel great for it. Soo It was such a great start for me, thought I never would play a mature game this one came over me and didn't feel that mature as I played it.
  60. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    I can understand why some people do not like this game. It is filled with flaws, which to some are disappointing, but the main reason it is such a great game because it rises above its problems to deliver such an incredible gaming experience that no other game at the time of this game's release could match.Even after 3 years in the market,this is the game to buy,even more so as you can get it now in under 10 bucks. Expand
  61. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Un juego fantástico, un mundo inmenso lleno de posibilidades, excelente jugabilidad y muchas muchas horas para llevarlo al 100%. El tamaño de la ciudad es impresionante, la cantidad de elementos interactivos es también de admirarse.
  62. May 13, 2012
    9
    the good points: -liberty city is full of life. you can watch many different people doing different things which you can also see in real life. the city is full of details. -nice cutscenes. brilliant dialogues. incredible voice acting. -nice graphics -best characters i`ve ever seen. -realistic driving -meeting other people through the internet. -30 hour story -different types of missions
    -new coversystem
    -impressive physics engine
    -many different cars which you handle differently
    -a lot of many different songs

    bad points:
    -average story which is just all about revenge. -too many pop ups. espacially when you drive fast.
    -many things to do besides the main missions but most of them are too boring and some of them are useless for example going to eat. you drive throug the whole city to a restaurant or something else just to see the load screen and to drive all the way back home.
    -internet has many different web sites but most of them are just useless
    -keeping up happy your friends can sometimes be annoying
    -a bit too easy
    -you cant customize your character like in san andreas
    Expand
  63. May 27, 2012
    10
    A solid 30 hour+ story mode with a compelling plot, diverse and interesting characters and a beautiful, well designed world, the vehicles handle well (with the exception of the ridiculously easy to fall off motorcycles) and the new cover-based action works perfectly and seems a natural evolution for the series. The online free roam mode is endless fun with friends (seriously, four years on my friends and I are still playing this game). All that's left to do is to compare it to the previous instalment, San Andreas. And honestly, I'm not sure where I stand on this front. The gameplay is smoother and more workable than ever before. The story and characters more interesting. But the map is too generic when compared to the huge-scale, diverse behemoth that was San Andreas, and the upbeat, slightly comical elements of the gameplay and story are almost entirely obliterated in favour of a more moody, darker tone. Above all else, I like the main character, he has depth, which is a trait that no main character in the numerous previous titles possessed, he doesn't kill unnecessarily (well, not unless I make him) and when he does it is with remorse, unlike, say, CJ from San Andreas, who as I recall pushed someone into a hole and buried him under cement for no apparent reason, moments like that just made me sick. So yeah, A f*cking good game that's more than worthy of a buy (It's cheep as chips now too, so the least you can do is snag it for a few bucks in preparation for GTA V) Expand
  64. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    It's not perfect but nearly.
    Better than many other games.
    This game is just fascinating and I think it is the beset game of 2008.
    Grand Theft Auto IV is undoubtedly one of the strongest games of this generation.
  65. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    After years of playing this kind of games, I finally play a wonderful game that gives so many freedom, so realistic, that makes the game very dangerous, but at the same time is so much fun. It is a big-smash to your face, or a shot, one of my favourite games, and one of the best I've played.
  66. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Niko is awesome. The campaign is awesome. The city is awesome. When I finished the game there was nothing I could do. But the physics engine alone proved me wrong. Driving cars in this game is bloody awesome. This game is to good for a review. It should just automatically get a permanent 10.
  67. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    This game was amazing and all but It wasn't addictive. I would play some missions, quit for a week or a month or so, and come back to play some more. I was amazed when I finally beat the thing probably a year after I bought it. Its a great game to come back to periodically. Add to the rotation.
  68. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    The best game ever made on the xbox 360. Great story. Amazing open world with endless exploring. This game was well designed and a lot of thought was put into it's creation.
  69. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    As with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, no getting fat, no swimming underwater, etc, but its uber fun. Do you play online? This game is online and is SUPER fun. Wreck havoc on complete random strangers. Expand
  70. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Liberty City returns in GTA IV, with a epic storyline that really drags you into the magic of the game. No feeling is like the one when you step into the shoes of Niko Bellic as he steps onshore the land of opportunity. Gorgeous graphics, addictive gameplay, a gritty storyline, solid multiplayer and top of the line sound (17 radio stations!) GTA IV is not to be missed.
  71. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    This game may not be an RPG, but is still quite fun to play! the freedom this games gives you is incredible... you can climb, drive, fly, steal, kill, run from the cops and pretty much anything you can do in real life haha, the story is one of the best i have seen, the main character is so charimatic too, i could rate this game a 10 but there are 2 things i hate about this game, one if the Physics and the controls, the controls are HORRIBLE BIG TIME, if you spend a lot of time playing this game on Xbox Live you would know what i am saying... some times the slightest move on the stick your char will do what the hell it wants, also the physics make the gameplay SLOW... i MEAN IT, sometimes you feel like everything is in slow motion.

    But still one of the greatest games i have ever played.
    Expand
  72. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    A disappointment from such a great developer, I mean, it just wasn't a worthy title to go into rockstars long list of classics, its not the magnus opus of gaming people think it is, the RAGE engines character models are just, I mean they looked better in the table tennis game, but the city is a beautiful place to travel, but you get bored along the way, the multiplayer which sucked was only added for the people who think games are a way of virtually shooting your friends in the face and cant even imagine the concept of a campaign, yes the story was good that's a give in but you have drag your legs to advance, the gameplay is solid yet empty, the physics are great, but the great thing about all other rockstar games is that they had great story's which IV has but all the other ones had FUN along the way, it'd let you go crazy with cheats, fly jets, tanks, big foot, Freddy Krueger, aliens, monster trucks, the list can go on and on and on and on and on and.................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  73. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Every release of Grand Theft Auto revolutionizes and raises gaming to a whole new level. Grand theft auto IV did it again. Everything about grand theft auto IV was pitch-perfect. The voice acting, the story, the city and of course, the bad ass war veteran Niko Bellic.
    Inevitably, there are a few faults with this game like minor bugs, weird pedestrians and its repetitive missions, but all
    is forgiven with its level of realism and its immersive game play.
    Honestly, this is my third time playing gta 4 and interestingly, I never get tired of it. This is easily one of the best games in gaming history. To everyone who owns a console, don't think twice about buying this game when you still see it on the shelves. Just get it!
    Expand
  74. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    During this review I will going over the pros and the possible cons the game, Grand Theft Auto IV has. I will keep an open mind when doing this review as well, not comparing to other games especially ones more recent. Back in 2008, I purchased this game liked it but then aunt found out I owned it and ordered me to sell it back. I was around 12 years old. A year later I bought it again got bored sold it back, and waited another year. I was now 14 years old and it was August. I bought the game once more and made sure I would never sell it ever again. I was booted on Xbox after pissing my friend off and now had some free time. So I just purchased GTA IV so what else could I play.

    I popped the game in and played the game for the next 4 to 5 days, and this time actually payed attention to the story, studied the characters, and became fully immersed in the world of Liberty City, which is a very well done rendition of New York City. This game did a lot of new things that the series predecessors had not. The Characters in this game are like no other in the series....kinda. But the player over time will have real emotions building up to your character and the others that you come in contact with. Characters feel real for once and aren't really stiff and boring. But that also has to do, with what the developer was capable of doing. The technology that made this game was a alot better. Characters moved around, showed there pain, and feeling towards certain problems and actions that occur. But this game did come out in 2008 while San Andreus was released in 2005. Its been a big jump in the tech used to make everything in the game possible. Graphicswise this game is still to me one of the better looking games on consoles overall, and is still better looking, than the crap pc version. Besides that. I already stated the characters felt alive with the emotions on their face. When they were calm, you saw they were calm and when they were pissed well, you better bet your ass they looked irritated. The city alone makes the game deserve a high score, the player will get lost in the surroundings. The buildings are beautifully crafted, every bit of detail is etched and crammed into every inch, corner, street, and ocean shore of the entire game. Graphically, the game is still visually impressive for 2012 standards. There is a small noticable difference between the PS3 version to the Xbox version though. The lighting on the Xbox has to me always been superior to that of the PS3, and not just on GTA IV. Now, the story.....is almost like any other Rockstar game, where the story truly only gets interesting around 5 hours in. I also have no idea why everyone on this site gives the game a zero because they all say, they tried playing for 2 hours and that it wasn't fun so they gave up. Why don't you give it one more try? But I mean once you get into the story and "play it" and I mean "play it" , the story consumes you and you become intertwined with the master story telling of Grand Theft Auto. But the last 12 hours of the game your character goes through a whole lot and you begin to care for him. The ending wasn't my favorite part. I wanted even more, but I truly feel that the game couldn't have ended better.
    Voice acting was done tremendously well. Cutscenes hold some of the best moments in gaming, and some of the most believable words that hit the player in an emotional way. But my favorite is just the in game dialogue. Especially once the player has around 12 hours left in the game, the dialogue becomes very dark, touching, and expressive. The multiplayer is basically just you vs friends,or you vs the world. I usually make private matches and just mess around in the world. This games multiplayer holds some of my favorite moments with my friends in gaming. Whether its firetuck boarding in a park, jump off the empire state building and see who can hit the driving city bus, or camping at the Empire State Building blowing up others with a rocket while they storm in heli's. Its fun as hell but you need more than 3 other people to play. Now the game itself has an improved aiming system, as well as a non clunky cover system. At least I had no problems working that cover system. This Grand Theft Auto is the best in the series so far. It truly holds something, that is sorely missing in a lot of games these days. The graphics, voice acting, characters are the best in the series so far. The story is mind blowing, and is still the best in recent gaming history. Almost anyone who buys this game will not be dissapointed. You truly are missing out on a extroidinary game. Overall Grand Theft Auto IV desereves a very rare score that pushes the bar for what should be expected in an average game.

    Grand Theft Auto IV is worthy of the ever so rare 10 / 10
    Expand
  75. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Just a great game, good story, nice characters; It's just a great gaming experience which i recommend to all of you.
  76. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there
  77. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Best Open World Title so far. Technically superb, interesting storytelling and a great humor makes this peace of software an absolute an definitive Must Have!
  78. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    Great GTA don't understand why so many people say it's not a good game, loved it so much I was determained to complete the whole thing to 100%, something I hadn't done in previous GTA's!
  79. Apr 16, 2012
    9
    Perfect?? Well, NOT. This game has a very good history, good graphics, you can take more than 100 hours with this game but, it´s NOT PERFECT as many people say. Please, be objectives this game is wonderful, but not perfect. For example, sometimes the history missions can be, well ARE REPETITIVE. Nothing else to say, but remember :be objectives, do not imitate all the criticisms and daring to say more about this game, because it´s not perfect. Expand
  80. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    GTA V is coming out this year, I thought giving GTA IV a try. Another Rockstar masterpiece or s@$ t stain? I don't think its as good as RDR or L.A Loire (thats just me everyone) but it is another amazing game by rockstar! You play as a man named Nico Belic, who came to Libirty City basically New York) to find fortune with his cousin. However to get that fortune he must kill men, drugs, getting chased by cops to earn money for the fortune they were dreaming of and Nico's past still haunts him. One if the best story's in gaming my opinion. Open world in a mini New York with lots of things to do and can explore it by car, boat even helicoper. Multiplayer is great, hard to find matches, but its great. Now here is the Con witch if I didn't have a problem with I would have giving it a 9.5 to 10 is the amount of times it frose on a mission was redicluous and ruined some really good missions. Overall amazing game. Grand Theft Auto IV 9.2/10. Expand
  81. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    One of the best games i've ever bought. I got this game for $20 4 years after release, but it still seems worth $60. Great classic GTA gameplay, great character (Niko) with a little touch of too much inappropriateness. This game is a must buy today, tomorrow, or anytime. I'll still be playing this game after the GTA 5 release
  82. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    I have played this game this game loads and i can't get enough of it. I have restarted it 12 times and i really love it when you start working with jimmy P. the start was a bit slow though
  83. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    This game is simply amazing. I was skeptical to purchase at first, but now I'm glad I did. There is no need to play the story. I have stayed up over 24 hours playing this game and during that time I was just picking up hookers and going to the strip club.
  84. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best game i ever played. Amazing storyline, awesome characters, awesome graphics, and niko is my favourite character. THIS GAME IS MASTERPIECE!
  85. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    This is one of the finest games to grace console. It almost feels like a film - the characters are compelling, the story deep. The attention to detail is unprecedented and the city is expansive and so real (well, it is based on New York) - the fact that the types/quality of cars and the police presence vary by place is just part of it. Every mission is slightly different. It's amazing how you can play so many missions without getting bored. It's equally challenging too. There are so many characters and so many sub plots, which, while it seems a lot, don't conflict with each other. Even Niko's character is a mystery. Another ingenious feature is having the mobile phone which essentially controls the game. Who'd have thought it? Perhaps my review is slightly better because I've never properly played, or had, the previous GTAs, so I've nothing to compare it to, but it would still rank pretty high. The thing I love about this game is the complexity of the story and multitude of characters and plots with the hugely varied gameplay. You can even do races, deliveries, assassination contracts if you feel you want a break from the main story. The only bad things aren't story related but gameplay related - the constant driving can get a bit tedious and the helicopter controls... I'm not even going to bother. They're stupid, awkward, especially landing them. I was overjoyed when I landed the helicopter successfully after attempting a mission at least 20 (not exaggerating) times. A masterpiece of a game. Expand
  86. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, one of the few games I consider to be perfect. Easily the best Grand Theft Auto to date. A full world full of new secrets to explore and fun to be had.
  87. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    a great game and has a very very good story line.
    hours of fun running over pedestrians in a ice cream truck or kidnapping hookers then beating them to death with a a baseball bat.
    the multiplayer is fun but has to many cheating moders/hackers mainly freezing the game and spoiling the fun.
    but still in general a awesome game
  88. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    A quarta parte de uma das franquias mais inovadoras do mundo dos game certamente uma das melhores tanto em suas história e personagens e seus gráficos incríveis.
  89. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    One of the best game ever made in the World, go rockstar
    people that doesn t like this sorts of game give it bad score shame on you Spela inte spel f-- h------ d-.
  90. May 31, 2013
    10
    For eveyone who hates this game i will tell you to please reconsidder and actually PLAY IT for a longer period of time! Messing with the cops and pedestrians is still fun. Doing stunts with bikes and cars are in my opinion even more fun thanks to the new engine. And doing awesome yet simple drifts and such with vehicles is just so much fun because of the realistic feel of the cars. You tell yourself after a perfect drift ''i did that! And it was awesome!''. It's just great fun if you get used to the different direction in gameplay.

    I love this game and will always do and HOPEFULLY gta 5 will be even greater. And by the way, to the haters, it will keep the realistic feel of this game. Most likely all the future main entries of the series will. So i guess you will just have to say goodbye to rockstar.
    Expand
  91. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. Epic single player, epic multiplayer. Seriously, i don't know what these negative reviews are saying or thinking, but take it from me, its AMAZING
  92. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    It Grand Theft Auto that should cover the review already. I can't tell you how many hours I've wasted playing mulitplayer with my friends. Rock Star cannot disappoint they crafted a great well thought out game with great game-play.
  93. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games on the Xbox 360 period. It has a great setting, funny characters, and a good enough story.

    GTA IV's biggest success is the city Liberty City. Every area looks different from the other, unlike most open world games. While traveling you get to pick your choice of music and they have a radio station for everybody. This game also has many means
    of traveling. Helicopter, car, and motorcycle are just some of the many vehicles available in this game.

    GTA IV has some very memorable missions that you will do. They are all pretty different, with a few exceptions. The storyline and side missions will assure you that you will spend a very long time in this game. GTA IV is a masterpiece.
    Expand
  94. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    dlvsdfvjdzbvmdsbvdbvhmbzcnvbzsdfmvbsdmvdfhsvbsdmvbdsnmvbsdmvbsdmcvbdzmvbsdmvbdsmvbsdmvbdsmcbdvnbnvbxzvbxcnvbcvmbxcvbdhvbdmbdfhmvbdmvhbdsmvbsdmvbsdmbvdsnmbvmdnbvnxdbvnmbxdvbmcmxnvbdbvdsnv IS THE BEST
  95. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    Since five years ago I can't stop playing this game. The best game of the consoles until GTAV.
    No other game has got me into the story and in the gameplay. No other game has that ragdoll physics. Feels real.
  96. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Very nice story, and online. The graphics are awesome, the whole game is awesome. It was definitely worth the wait. Can't wait the Grand Theft Auto 5 now :D
  97. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    One of the most ambitious games ever produced. TASTE LIKE CHICKEN MY COP THIS GAME! EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS GAME DIP IN OIL WITH SOME SEASONING KNOW WHAT I'M SAYING? I WONDER WHERE DAT PIZZA HUT IS TOO?
  98. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    GTA IV is a game that I love to call "a masterpiece". My journey with Niko Bellic is one of the most memorable experiences I've ever been at in my life. Exploring Liberty City (one of the most impressive, realistic, visually stunning worlds I've ever explored) for almost 6 months has been so awesome, that I want to play it again, experience it again, and LIVE it again. Despite on all the controversy that surrounds it, its elements (stunning action pieces, well-structured storyline, relationships with friends, shocking plot twists/turns, cast of characters, and many activities to do) are flawless and it couldn't stop getting any better. This is, unexpectedly, one of my favorite games ever, and in every bit of respect I love to give it, it would be enormous for everyone to see. After I finished over 100 hours of campaign mode, I come to feel for Niko, who is flawed and desperate to "climb out the hole he trip in" (a underworld full of psychopaths, thieves, loan sharks, crooked people, and gang-bangers). Rockstar has told one of the greatest stories ever told in gaming. It deserves to be the greatest game of the current generation of gaming, but also hold a shadow, along with GTA V, over the next generation, making it look bad. I love to recommend this game to ALL of you to experience. The multiplayer does help with its success, but most of it comes from its single-player mode, which is one of the most memorable experiences I've also ever played, as well. So, I'm gonna make this short: If any of you want to "understand" on what I am saying, now is the chance to PLAY this game, NOW. Expand
  99. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    grand theft auto 4 is one of the best games I've ever played in my life, it is an almost perfect game, but its only shortcoming is that compared to grand theft auto earlier this game has fewer customizations.
  100. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    The game is close to perfect or in-fact perfect in my opinion. It blew me away. The story was very well-written and the characters fit in nicely. The City is simply breathtaking and this deserves a higher user score. Hats of to Rockstar for creating such a master piece.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.