User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2777 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamB.
    Sep 2, 2009
    7
    I fail to understand how this game could score a perfect 10, much less a higher score than the much more enjoyable Saints Row 2. The graphics are bland, the characters are forgettable, there's not much customization, and the missions are the standard "pizza delivery" fare the series is known for. On the plus side the multiplayer is pretty fun.
  2. Maxg
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    No its not perfect but the game is a masterpiece. Yes it has control flaws but what game doesn't. All the problems that plagued the last three have been fixed control wise. The world is fluid and living and is fun to watch. Playing the game is more engaging than any of the last three. GTA: SA was a bit of a let down gameplay wise with ridicuolously bs difficulty missions where as No its not perfect but the game is a masterpiece. Yes it has control flaws but what game doesn't. All the problems that plagued the last three have been fixed control wise. The world is fluid and living and is fun to watch. Playing the game is more engaging than any of the last three. GTA: SA was a bit of a let down gameplay wise with ridicuolously bs difficulty missions where as here you never feel a sense designers make it too difficult. Also the story is one of the finest written in any medium in years. The characters are rich and acted well, you care for them, and it stings when some of them die. The graphics have finally come to meet the mature devolped tone of the games, realistic gritty and superb. Sure the missions are not very varied, go here, kill this guy, steal this go here epeat, but they are done so well it doesnt matter its fun everytime. Simply put this is one of the best games ever made. Expand
  3. DylanE
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    What people need to remember about this game is it's not Gta III canon. gta iii, vice city, and san Andreas were all part of gta iii's story and gameplay style. Those games focused on mindless, silly action (which is not at all a bad thing), while this game is all about character development and realism, emphasis on the real, giving the series something it never had and What people need to remember about this game is it's not Gta III canon. gta iii, vice city, and san Andreas were all part of gta iii's story and gameplay style. Those games focused on mindless, silly action (which is not at all a bad thing), while this game is all about character development and realism, emphasis on the real, giving the series something it never had and separating itself from typical sandbox games. Think of gta iii's games as lethal weapons. and gta iv as the godfather. (When i say this i dont mean gta iv is superior, just that its more serious and real.) With San Andreas perfecting the style they aimed for in the gta iii series, it was definitely the right move to go with a different approach for the start of a new grand theft auto. The AI is so realistic that yes, if unskilled, civilians might be able to beat you in a fight, (for better explanation of how awesome the AI is, read game informer's review) . The driving is so good that i consider that handling (while sometimes so unforgiveably realistic depending on the condition of your car, popped tires, dented frame, etc. *Not a bad thing, if anything this immerses you further into the world of the game) to rival some of my favorite racing games. To use a remark made by game informer, the gunplay's auto aim (optional) makes you feel like a skilled assassin. These features only name a few. If you are a fan of the series, and by some ungodly miracle you don't have this game yet, i want you to run outside, jack the nearest car, and go buy this game. just don't expect it like anything you've ever played. If you play this game with the mindset that its an improved san andreas, it's gonna ruin your experience. As for online, i wouldnt really recommend deathmatch or any of the typical online game modes. however cops n crooks, gta race and the others are pure gold. Free mode is something entirely different. Free mode with friends is just one of those things that seems like a simple idea, messin around in liberty city with ur friends. Sounds fun on paper, but turns out to be phenomenal when you're playing. Ive never had so much fun in any online game. at first you and ur friends will probobaly kill each other over and over until one of you try to set up some kind of truce, and that is when u realize how many possibilities there are. While you can turn off things like cops and traffic, or just play party mode so you can do what ever you want with no consequences, why would you want to? Everybody teamed up while the cops are shooting to kill, watching eachother's backs and fending off swat teams, fbi, and police officers. You feel like youre in an action movie. i remember in particular stealing one of the swat team's armored trucks, screamin at my friends in excitement, tellin them to get in the car. we were all piled in, at least a 5 * wanted level, destroying everything that came at us. it creates this feeling of friendship and connection that I can garentee youve never felt before. it feels like you are in some sort of actiono movie. explosions of enemy cars on both sides of you, the grinding noises of the cops to the left and the right of you, trying to run you off the road. there are bodies flying through the air, high speed chases worthy of any james bond or die hard movie..There are so many moments that make you say : "Oh shit! NO WAY! NO FUCKING WAY! ARE WE REALLY DOING THIS? WE'RE FUCKING RAPING THESE COPS! This is fucking amazing." It models exactly how online gaming should be. Then there are light moments, racing in lawnmowers and forklifts down the runway of an airport is more fun than it sounds, possibly because of the physics of the game, the simplest things can make you step back and say "wow". Trying to describe the game in words is almost a crime against nature, describing it in person might cause you to be at a loss for words, and watching the game be played still wont give you much of a feel about how it actually feels to control Niko. This game is a game that you can't possibly regret buying (do not rent!) If you have some sort of super human ability to still be unsure of wether or not you should buy this game message me on xbox live gamertag: gamezombie009. grand theft auto IV is a game that is impossible to ignore. i havent even mentioned the xbl downloadable content thats coming out in february. grand theft auto IV is worth so much more than 60 bucks. Expand
  4. NikoC.
    Jul 23, 2008
    4
    And it only got that high because of the graphics. After San Andreas this is just a complete letdown. Doing the missions was NEVER the best part of the game. The best part was owning the town. The city was huge and complex and SO FULL of.....Nothing. Where are the safe houses to buy and business to own? Where is the warehouse to save nice cars? Where are the multitudes of clothes theAnd it only got that high because of the graphics. After San Andreas this is just a complete letdown. Doing the missions was NEVER the best part of the game. The best part was owning the town. The city was huge and complex and SO FULL of.....Nothing. Where are the safe houses to buy and business to own? Where is the warehouse to save nice cars? Where are the multitudes of clothes the customize your look?
    Simply put ... this game lacks all the details and freedoms that made this series so fun to play. I would have happily lived with less graphics if it meant i could do more than drive in circles and follow the linear storyline.
    Expand
  5. NikoBellic
    Nov 1, 2009
    8
    I like Saints Row 2 better, but that aside, this is a phenominal game. The graphics rule. I think there are too many songs, so it's hard to decide what radio stations to play, so I just turn to a talk show station. I can't tell if the voice acting is good or bad because everyone has an accent. Online is fun, though it feels like a senseless game of gun-tag usually, but the rules I like Saints Row 2 better, but that aside, this is a phenominal game. The graphics rule. I think there are too many songs, so it's hard to decide what radio stations to play, so I just turn to a talk show station. I can't tell if the voice acting is good or bad because everyone has an accent. Online is fun, though it feels like a senseless game of gun-tag usually, but the rules are impressively flexible. All your clothes look boring and the story isn't deep. The missions are fun, but the game's biggest problem is that you have to be friendly with everyone. Ignore them enough and you would have to do jobs to steadily regain their love. For example, Brucie doesn't like me anymore, all because I just wanted to progress with the story, so now I have to do a bunch of races to win him back, and I SUCK at racing!! Cars steer as realistically as in Grand Turismo, so don't expect it to be easy. The diolaugue is overly profane, so I always have to mute the TV if grandma is in the house. Its second biggest flaw is that Liberty City is just too big. It talkes like half an hour to get to every mission. Dispite all my complaints, it's still a fun game. Check it out if its average score of 9.8 hasn't provoked you to do so yet. Expand
  6. PhillipK.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    I can honestly write page after page of why GTA 4 is the best game every but let me save you the time and say that THIS IS THE BEST GAME TO HIT THE GAMING MARKET SINCE HALO 3 OR GEARS OF WAR! Without a doubt everybody(over the age of 17) should give this game a try. Many people say it sucks and its not worth playing... well they can go f*** themselves. WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING READINGI can honestly write page after page of why GTA 4 is the best game every but let me save you the time and say that THIS IS THE BEST GAME TO HIT THE GAMING MARKET SINCE HALO 3 OR GEARS OF WAR! Without a doubt everybody(over the age of 17) should give this game a try. Many people say it sucks and its not worth playing... well they can go f*** themselves. WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING READING THE REST OF MY REVIEW YOU SHOULD MOVE YOUR A** AND GET YOUR COPY OF GTA 4 RIGHT F***ING NOW! Expand
  7. RyanC
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    A great game with a few technical issues that piss me off every now and then. It's not as over the top as previous GTA installments, but it took a more life like approach to the series.
  8. Dalek
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    (Ok, sorry about my bad review.) The game seems to be running better this time. Anyway, GTA 4 may run like a piece of sh** at first all laggy n' buggy and crashes etc. But it runs ok after a while. If it lags and you want it smooth then get everything lowest, the graphics aren't to bad on low. It's pretty fun and a whole bunch of missions to do, and also if you aren't (Ok, sorry about my bad review.) The game seems to be running better this time. Anyway, GTA 4 may run like a piece of sh** at first all laggy n' buggy and crashes etc. But it runs ok after a while. If it lags and you want it smooth then get everything lowest, the graphics aren't to bad on low. It's pretty fun and a whole bunch of missions to do, and also if you aren't doing so well on single player cause of bugs n' crashes, Then try multiplayer. It is VERY fun, you can do deathmatch, Race, Mafia Work, n' all sorts, You need an Msn account for Windows live which sucks! Its fun, the graphics are great, although this game needs a few more patches. Also every NPC has ragdoll physics and they made the game more physical and realistic. Expand
  9. IIIIIIIIIIIIIssssss
    Jul 31, 2009
    7
    This game was good but nowhere near as fun as GTA San Andreas. The story and graphics were good but after the main missions are complete this game is borning. There are not enough rewards, not enogh variety in weaponairy or vehicles. Where is the Hunter(Military Helicopter) Rhino(Tank) or (Hydra) Fighter Jet. Where are gang wars or Hot Ring Racing. Too realistic reccommended only forThis game was good but nowhere near as fun as GTA San Andreas. The story and graphics were good but after the main missions are complete this game is borning. There are not enough rewards, not enogh variety in weaponairy or vehicles. Where is the Hunter(Military Helicopter) Rhino(Tank) or (Hydra) Fighter Jet. Where are gang wars or Hot Ring Racing. Too realistic reccommended only for rental. The critics have overrated the game. Expand
  10. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    The game isn't perfect, nothing is, but this rating by the CoDFather himself is really 9.8. The cheats are really good, the phone feature, the weapons, the storyline, all as realistic as any game ever was! Betrayal, friendship, drugs, blood, sex, money, all in the big city! What can be more realistic?! A game of the year by many companies including Gameinformer! The endless things you canThe game isn't perfect, nothing is, but this rating by the CoDFather himself is really 9.8. The cheats are really good, the phone feature, the weapons, the storyline, all as realistic as any game ever was! Betrayal, friendship, drugs, blood, sex, money, all in the big city! What can be more realistic?! A game of the year by many companies including Gameinformer! The endless things you can do, the endless lists of combinations and things to do with fun and time- wasting events. A game of the century! Expand
  11. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    it was a good game. the missions are great with lots of action. the cutscenes were also very good. you can hang out with friends, and between the missions their are lots of stuff to do. this is one of the best gta games.
  12. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This game is fantastic it is better than every other sandbox game and all gta games that came before.
    This game has a great single player and multiplayer and all in one game ypu have to buy this it is one of the best games ever released
  13. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    My first Grand Theft Auto game and, with that being said, I liked it. I don't think it's the best game ever but pretty enjoyable and will keep you busy for a while. The good: the story is excellent, Liberty City is huge, great music, and voice acting is excellent as well. The bad: no reason to explore LC, driving takes a while to get used to, the penalty for failure is very high, combat isMy first Grand Theft Auto game and, with that being said, I liked it. I don't think it's the best game ever but pretty enjoyable and will keep you busy for a while. The good: the story is excellent, Liberty City is huge, great music, and voice acting is excellent as well. The bad: no reason to explore LC, driving takes a while to get used to, the penalty for failure is very high, combat is meh, and I could never get multiplayer to work. All in all, I recommend a purchase for this. These days it's pretty cheap and you get a lot of bang for your buck and the story is worth experiencing. Expand
  14. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    i held out on playing this game when it came out as i was sick of gta, but found a cheap copy so figured i would give it a go and it was better than i expected, but it is far from perfect. The cars handle poorly at best, the traffic can just get plain annoying and the ai can be very poor at times. Yet the story kept me intrigued and although linear the vast amounts of ways to play throughi held out on playing this game when it came out as i was sick of gta, but found a cheap copy so figured i would give it a go and it was better than i expected, but it is far from perfect. The cars handle poorly at best, the traffic can just get plain annoying and the ai can be very poor at times. Yet the story kept me intrigued and although linear the vast amounts of ways to play through the game is astonishing. MP can be quite hit and miss, but if you party up with a few friends just to mess about it can be hilarious. Expand
  15. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    After nearly eleven years of ups and downs, Rockstar has nailed it. This is the ultimate Grand Theft Auto experience, a powerhouse performance that will leave you clamoring for more, long after you've completed its story.
  16. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    GTA IV has to be one of the best of the games. It delivers a story of Niko, an illegal immigrant with a dark past who arrives in Liberty City (An extremely-detailed recreation of New York.) at the bottom of the food chain and takes up work with his cousin, Roman, and the local mobs. At the start of the game you'll be doing tedious, boring missions that are usually along the lines ofGTA IV has to be one of the best of the games. It delivers a story of Niko, an illegal immigrant with a dark past who arrives in Liberty City (An extremely-detailed recreation of New York.) at the bottom of the food chain and takes up work with his cousin, Roman, and the local mobs. At the start of the game you'll be doing tedious, boring missions that are usually along the lines of transporting someone or beating up some guy. But eventually the game hands you a gun and tells you to shoot the living f**k out of enemies in certain places, or chase after enemies AND THEN shoot the f**k out of them. While that might sound like it would get boring, it never does. The aiming system is great, and the cover system is even better. Plus, the game unlocks new areas for you as you play through the story. If you don't feel like playing through the story, that's okay, because the game features the classic GTA free-roaming that the series is known for. Tired of doing missions? That's cool, go grab yourself a shotgun and go a on a killing spree. Feeling like getting away from the cops? Go over and steal yourself a helicopter and fly into a non-unlocked area, you get an instant five-star wanted level. No matter what you do, this game will provide entertainment. Play this game. Expand
  17. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game, but its not perfect like some people make it out to be. Firstly there are many games that have much better visuals and character animations than GTA. Seriously, the people run and walk as though their knees are in a fixed position. There are also some issues with the gameplay as in some situations you find Niko running around in circles rather thanGrand Theft Auto IV is a great game, but its not perfect like some people make it out to be. Firstly there are many games that have much better visuals and character animations than GTA. Seriously, the people run and walk as though their knees are in a fixed position. There are also some issues with the gameplay as in some situations you find Niko running around in circles rather than doing what you pressed on you're controller. Other than that id say this game is perfect, excellent storyline, good soundtrack, and all you would expect from a rockstar game. I recommend it. Expand
  18. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Still playing it in 2012. Fave game overall - ever. Actually got the download version (after buying the DVD over 2 years ago) just so I could play without having to put in the disk at all. It was worth it because it's my "go to" game and every once in a while I just get back into it. Again and again. Love it.
  19. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    There not too much to say than this, Grand Theft Auto IV is with out a shadow of a doubt the greatest game ever created, played and experienced. Rockstar you have outdone yourselves. Graphics aren't the best the XBOX 360 can offer but thats a small price to pay when you get into this masterpeice of a game. Warning, though this is an outstanding game, for some the content may disgust, soThere not too much to say than this, Grand Theft Auto IV is with out a shadow of a doubt the greatest game ever created, played and experienced. Rockstar you have outdone yourselves. Graphics aren't the best the XBOX 360 can offer but thats a small price to pay when you get into this masterpeice of a game. Warning, though this is an outstanding game, for some the content may disgust, so here is my BBFC content warning, CONTAINS VERY STRONG LANGUAGE THROUGHOUT, STRONG BRUTAL BLOODY VIOLENCE AND VERY STRONG ADULT THEMES, DRUG ABUSE AND VERY FREQUENT AMOUNTS OF LAW BREAKING (which note makes this game what is is, TRULY AWESOME). Expand
  20. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This game has a great story and is very fun to play through once or twice or just mess around with codes on and blow things up. That said, after you beat it you'll probably only play through it once more and even then you may never touch it again. The multiplayer is there, but it feels really disconnected, and literally, you're often disconnected. It's a good game, worthy of the franchise,This game has a great story and is very fun to play through once or twice or just mess around with codes on and blow things up. That said, after you beat it you'll probably only play through it once more and even then you may never touch it again. The multiplayer is there, but it feels really disconnected, and literally, you're often disconnected. It's a good game, worthy of the franchise, but it's not the best game ever. Expand
  21. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Best game I know very epic when it comes to stunts and tipping cars or boats with the rpg which is shown in gta iv stunts 4 and the epic car chases just make me pee myself
  22. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    OK, oh my god, some people are saying this game is bad????? How!? Dude if you like this one the least, out of the other GTAs, then you don't know what a good game is. Great story. Great action. Great free-roam, what more could you want?!
  23. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    I've never played a GTA game before, but htis blew me away. A very meaningful and movign story, a great lead character with one hilarious cousin, tie in a love interest and it make for one great game. The driving feels very nice and realistic, and the piles of extra things to do in Liberty City means you'll never get bored, whether it's hanging out with your friends or going for gold in aI've never played a GTA game before, but htis blew me away. A very meaningful and movign story, a great lead character with one hilarious cousin, tie in a love interest and it make for one great game. The driving feels very nice and realistic, and the piles of extra things to do in Liberty City means you'll never get bored, whether it's hanging out with your friends or going for gold in a street race its just pure fun. The gun-play is solid and the chase sequences between you and the police (Or you chasing after someone else) is exilherating. Mulltiplayer is incredibly fun with Liberty City being your batleground was one kick-ass idea, and the wide spread of game modes is awesome, and free-mode is very fun. This is a Must-Buy in my book. Buy this now, and if you hate this game then your either a paranoid parent or a sad little chiild who can't get any kills in multiplayer. Expand
  24. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    I would have given this game a 10/10 if it were not for the story line ending and the rest of the game left to meaningless missions. I was disapointed when the game (story line) ended because the game stats said the game was only 60% complete, leading me to believe that there was much more to the game left...The story line part of the game however was 10/10, very addictive and fun. GreatI would have given this game a 10/10 if it were not for the story line ending and the rest of the game left to meaningless missions. I was disapointed when the game (story line) ended because the game stats said the game was only 60% complete, leading me to believe that there was much more to the game left...The story line part of the game however was 10/10, very addictive and fun. Great graphics. One of the more enjoyable games I have ever played on xbox 360. Expand
  25. Feb 5, 2011
    8
    Great, great game but not ideal. Next time please again for tuning, barber and other "Sims" things. Graphic is OK, too (on 2008 year, of course). But I love NY and I like this game.
  26. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    GTA IV is an excellent game with a great story and characters.It still retains much of its originality,but in a much more mature way.It does have plenty of shortcomings,but not many will care.
  27. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    A very good game. The story line is good, the physics are good, the characters are well planned out and have very good voice acting, and the AI is almost perfect except there are some bugs and some ways to trick them. The multiplayer is also somewhat fun, I played hours on end on multiplayer alone.

    The game is worth the money.
  28. May 29, 2011
    10
    THIS IS THE BEST GAME OF ALL TIME. this game is the best game of all time if you are looking for a reason to buy this game.STOP wasting your time and GO GET THE GAME NOW! The story is one of the best stories in gaming history, you slowly get to know your cousin and start making friends for Niko. After some progression in the game you start to love the characters and their beautifullyTHIS IS THE BEST GAME OF ALL TIME. this game is the best game of all time if you are looking for a reason to buy this game.STOP wasting your time and GO GET THE GAME NOW! The story is one of the best stories in gaming history, you slowly get to know your cousin and start making friends for Niko. After some progression in the game you start to love the characters and their beautifully created dialogs, you will love every single mission in the game, you will love the little details at every place in liberty city, you will love the side missions, you will love the dating missions, you will love to explore liberty city and just see how the pedestrians walk and talk over the phone or the fat cops that run past you chasing a thief. This game is one of those games you must play if you consider yourself a GAMER. Expand
  29. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is most likely the pinnacle of action sandboxers this console has seen. And it may even remain as one, as GTA III did before it. The story is brilliant - it has multiple endings, and whether or not you realize it, your in-game actions impact it. The main missions vary more than previous series entries, and the side-missions also are far more enjoyable. And if your notGrand Theft Auto IV is most likely the pinnacle of action sandboxers this console has seen. And it may even remain as one, as GTA III did before it. The story is brilliant - it has multiple endings, and whether or not you realize it, your in-game actions impact it. The main missions vary more than previous series entries, and the side-missions also are far more enjoyable. And if your not one for story, the sandbox world is one of a kind. You can load up, throw money to a tramp, get a new jacket, pay for a heli-tour, hijack said heli-tour, and stand atop a building with a sniper. Or one of the hundreds of other opportunities Rocktars beautifully re-booted and re-imaged Liberty City has to offer. And go online, with two or more friends, or on your own. That's another world of it's own. Expand
  30. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    This game is definitely a good one, but it is definitely not my favorite GTA for the Xbox 360. My personal favorite Grand Theft Auto game for Xbox 360 is The Ballad of Gay Tony. There are more interesting, and more fun things to do in t.b.o.g.t. In t.b.o.g.t. you have several missions that involve flying helicopters, and sky-diving. In GTA 4 there are only like maybe a couple missions thatThis game is definitely a good one, but it is definitely not my favorite GTA for the Xbox 360. My personal favorite Grand Theft Auto game for Xbox 360 is The Ballad of Gay Tony. There are more interesting, and more fun things to do in t.b.o.g.t. In t.b.o.g.t. you have several missions that involve flying helicopters, and sky-diving. In GTA 4 there are only like maybe a couple missions that involve a helicopter, and no sky-diving in the game. My point is that GTA 4 is good, but I personally got bored of the same thing missionn after mission which is just shooting and killing several men. It gets old if you don't mix it up enough with other fun stuff. The Metacritic score is 98 saying it is the best game on the Xbox 360, but I would give it more like a 85 out of 100. Still great, but not my favorite Grand Theft Auto. Expand
  31. Apr 27, 2011
    7
    Story mode is boring, stopped 30minutes in. Basicly you are driving people around town and then shooting a couple dudes and repeating the same garbage over and over. Free roam and Online play is the only way I found any entertainment. Online is a bit glitchy but runs smooth enough to enjoy. Game is worth buying, only $19.99 now.
  32. Aug 18, 2011
    6
    The graphics are good, voice acting is bad (I mean Russian accents), cutscenes look bad, no checkpoints in missions, fun to explore the city. Basically, this is just above average open world game, Just Cause 2 is better.
  33. May 14, 2011
    8
    I wish i culd give this an 8.5, but i can't. This game does NOT deserve a 98. But it does deserve a really high score. Its a great game, dont get me wrong, but far from perfect. As far as graphics go, they are good but not jawdropping. The gunshots look nice and the screen blurs when your speeding (i always enjoy that) the facial animation looks outdated but you really won't be gettingI wish i culd give this an 8.5, but i can't. This game does NOT deserve a 98. But it does deserve a really high score. Its a great game, dont get me wrong, but far from perfect. As far as graphics go, they are good but not jawdropping. The gunshots look nice and the screen blurs when your speeding (i always enjoy that) the facial animation looks outdated but you really won't be getting into peoples faces alot so that doesn't really matter. Gameplay wise this game is the ultimate third person shooter and sandbox game. The gunplay works great you can lock onto enemies for an easy kill or switch to manual aim if you want a lil more of a challenge. The cover system is a gears of war style system but is far less responsive and useful. Alot of times you will find your character getting on the wrong wall or not getting on it at all which can cause you to get killed, which all you gta fans know will force you to restart because thats right, no checkpoints. The campaign shuld take you around 20-25 hours to complete. thats worth it in my opinion. The multiplayer is the real place were gta 4 shines. 16 player free roam is beautiful and the other game modes make it some of the best online on xbox. You can choose from types such as race, gta race, team deathmatch, free roam, and many others. This game is fun, dont get me wrong, but like i said it's far from perfect. if you want to see a perfect game check out my review for Red Dead Redemption (it's alot shorter). - Zev Frazer. Expand
  34. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    Is this game perfect? No, but no game is that I've played. The main things I wanted to write in my review was that I liked the character of Niko Bellic and the game was a lot of fun. I loved the bank mission in particular.
    One thing I dislike about this game and similar games...the save system. I like being able to save when I want to. I would also prefer a difficulty adjuster so I can
    Is this game perfect? No, but no game is that I've played. The main things I wanted to write in my review was that I liked the character of Niko Bellic and the game was a lot of fun. I loved the bank mission in particular.
    One thing I dislike about this game and similar games...the save system. I like being able to save when I want to. I would also prefer a difficulty adjuster so I can adjust the combat to be more difficult or easier as I see fit. However, shooting police cars with my RPG made up for any minor complaints!
    Expand
  35. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    This game really shines when you mess around in the open world and wreak havoc. Unfortunately, the 60 hour story is decent, but tends to be very boring a predictable. The driving mechanics have also taken a step back from San Andreas, but at its core, the game succeeds at what makes a Grand Theft Auto game great.
  36. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    GTA 4 has, since it's release, represented the high water mark in this current generation of console games.
    GTA 3 prompted me to purchase a PS2, and GTA4 did a similar job in prompting me to purchase an XBOX 360. 3 years on and everything I've played since has always been measured up to my GTA 4 experience and few have even come close.
    My friend has an 8 year old son who loves his XBOX.
    GTA 4 has, since it's release, represented the high water mark in this current generation of console games.
    GTA 3 prompted me to purchase a PS2, and GTA4 did a similar job in prompting me to purchase an XBOX 360. 3 years on and everything I've played since has always been measured up to my GTA 4 experience and few have even come close.
    My friend has an 8 year old son who loves his XBOX. Due to the adult rating, he can't play GTA 4 (although take a trip to the multiplayer element of the game and you will find that a lot of parents choose to ignore this rating). My heart bleeds for him. If I was 8 now, I would lose the plot if I was forced to wait another 10 years to play the game.

    I can't fault this game. Kinda played it to death now, so desperate for GTA5
    Expand
  37. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    Wow this is the first GTA game I played and I feel great for it. Soo It was such a great start for me, thought I never would play a mature game this one came over me and didn't feel that mature as I played it.
  38. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    I can understand why some people do not like this game. It is filled with flaws, which to some are disappointing, but the main reason it is such a great game because it rises above its problems to deliver such an incredible gaming experience that no other game at the time of this game's release could match.Even after 3 years in the market,this is the game to buy,even more so as you can getI can understand why some people do not like this game. It is filled with flaws, which to some are disappointing, but the main reason it is such a great game because it rises above its problems to deliver such an incredible gaming experience that no other game at the time of this game's release could match.Even after 3 years in the market,this is the game to buy,even more so as you can get it now in under 10 bucks. Expand
  39. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Un juego fantástico, un mundo inmenso lleno de posibilidades, excelente jugabilidad y muchas muchas horas para llevarlo al 100%. El tamaño de la ciudad es impresionante, la cantidad de elementos interactivos es también de admirarse.
  40. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    It's not perfect but nearly.
    Better than many other games.
    This game is just fascinating and I think it is the beset game of 2008.
    Grand Theft Auto IV is undoubtedly one of the strongest games of this generation.
  41. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Niko is awesome. The campaign is awesome. The city is awesome. When I finished the game there was nothing I could do. But the physics engine alone proved me wrong. Driving cars in this game is bloody awesome. This game is to good for a review. It should just automatically get a permanent 10.
  42. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    As with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, noAs with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, no getting fat, no swimming underwater, etc, but its uber fun. Do you play online? This game is online and is SUPER fun. Wreck havoc on complete random strangers. Expand
  43. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Liberty City returns in GTA IV, with a epic storyline that really drags you into the magic of the game. No feeling is like the one when you step into the shoes of Niko Bellic as he steps onshore the land of opportunity. Gorgeous graphics, addictive gameplay, a gritty storyline, solid multiplayer and top of the line sound (17 radio stations!) GTA IV is not to be missed.
  44. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    It was on ok game. Definitely not the best in the series. I much prefer San Andreas or Vice City to this game. I am hoping the next one in the series is more fun. I have moved onto a far more fun game, Saints Row
  45. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    This game may not be an RPG, but is still quite fun to play! the freedom this games gives you is incredible... you can climb, drive, fly, steal, kill, run from the cops and pretty much anything you can do in real life haha, the story is one of the best i have seen, the main character is so charimatic too, i could rate this game a 10 but there are 2 things i hate about this game, one ifThis game may not be an RPG, but is still quite fun to play! the freedom this games gives you is incredible... you can climb, drive, fly, steal, kill, run from the cops and pretty much anything you can do in real life haha, the story is one of the best i have seen, the main character is so charimatic too, i could rate this game a 10 but there are 2 things i hate about this game, one if the Physics and the controls, the controls are HORRIBLE BIG TIME, if you spend a lot of time playing this game on Xbox Live you would know what i am saying... some times the slightest move on the stick your char will do what the hell it wants, also the physics make the gameplay SLOW... i MEAN IT, sometimes you feel like everything is in slow motion.

    But still one of the greatest games i have ever played.
    Expand
  46. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    A disappointment from such a great developer, I mean, it just wasn't a worthy title to go into rockstars long list of classics, its not the magnus opus of gaming people think it is, the RAGE engines character models are just, I mean they looked better in the table tennis game, but the city is a beautiful place to travel, but you get bored along the way, the multiplayer which sucked wasA disappointment from such a great developer, I mean, it just wasn't a worthy title to go into rockstars long list of classics, its not the magnus opus of gaming people think it is, the RAGE engines character models are just, I mean they looked better in the table tennis game, but the city is a beautiful place to travel, but you get bored along the way, the multiplayer which sucked was only added for the people who think games are a way of virtually shooting your friends in the face and cant even imagine the concept of a campaign, yes the story was good that's a give in but you have drag your legs to advance, the gameplay is solid yet empty, the physics are great, but the great thing about all other rockstar games is that they had great story's which IV has but all the other ones had FUN along the way, it'd let you go crazy with cheats, fly jets, tanks, big foot, Freddy Krueger, aliens, monster trucks, the list can go on and on and on and on and on and.................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  47. Jan 17, 2012
    7
    overhyped,overrated. Also, xbox version looks like a donkey's butthole. Its not a bad game, but many of GTA IV's missions are pretty bland. The game gets points for good voice acting, and having a relatively large open world. I would have rated it an 8, but damn, the graphics are bad on xbox.
  48. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Every release of Grand Theft Auto revolutionizes and raises gaming to a whole new level. Grand theft auto IV did it again. Everything about grand theft auto IV was pitch-perfect. The voice acting, the story, the city and of course, the bad ass war veteran Niko Bellic.
    Inevitably, there are a few faults with this game like minor bugs, weird pedestrians and its repetitive missions, but all
    Every release of Grand Theft Auto revolutionizes and raises gaming to a whole new level. Grand theft auto IV did it again. Everything about grand theft auto IV was pitch-perfect. The voice acting, the story, the city and of course, the bad ass war veteran Niko Bellic.
    Inevitably, there are a few faults with this game like minor bugs, weird pedestrians and its repetitive missions, but all is forgiven with its level of realism and its immersive game play.
    Honestly, this is my third time playing gta 4 and interestingly, I never get tired of it. This is easily one of the best games in gaming history. To everyone who owns a console, don't think twice about buying this game when you still see it on the shelves. Just get it!
    Expand
  49. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    During this review I will going over the pros and the possible cons the game, Grand Theft Auto IV has. I will keep an open mind when doing this review as well, not comparing to other games especially ones more recent. Back in 2008, I purchased this game liked it but then aunt found out I owned it and ordered me to sell it back. I was around 12 years old. A year later I bought it again gotDuring this review I will going over the pros and the possible cons the game, Grand Theft Auto IV has. I will keep an open mind when doing this review as well, not comparing to other games especially ones more recent. Back in 2008, I purchased this game liked it but then aunt found out I owned it and ordered me to sell it back. I was around 12 years old. A year later I bought it again got bored sold it back, and waited another year. I was now 14 years old and it was August. I bought the game once more and made sure I would never sell it ever again. I was booted on Xbox after pissing my friend off and now had some free time. So I just purchased GTA IV so what else could I play.

    I popped the game in and played the game for the next 4 to 5 days, and this time actually payed attention to the story, studied the characters, and became fully immersed in the world of Liberty City, which is a very well done rendition of New York City. This game did a lot of new things that the series predecessors had not. The Characters in this game are like no other in the series....kinda. But the player over time will have real emotions building up to your character and the others that you come in contact with. Characters feel real for once and aren't really stiff and boring. But that also has to do, with what the developer was capable of doing. The technology that made this game was a alot better. Characters moved around, showed there pain, and feeling towards certain problems and actions that occur. But this game did come out in 2008 while San Andreus was released in 2005. Its been a big jump in the tech used to make everything in the game possible. Graphicswise this game is still to me one of the better looking games on consoles overall, and is still better looking, than the crap pc version. Besides that. I already stated the characters felt alive with the emotions on their face. When they were calm, you saw they were calm and when they were pissed well, you better bet your ass they looked irritated. The city alone makes the game deserve a high score, the player will get lost in the surroundings. The buildings are beautifully crafted, every bit of detail is etched and crammed into every inch, corner, street, and ocean shore of the entire game. Graphically, the game is still visually impressive for 2012 standards. There is a small noticable difference between the PS3 version to the Xbox version though. The lighting on the Xbox has to me always been superior to that of the PS3, and not just on GTA IV. Now, the story.....is almost like any other Rockstar game, where the story truly only gets interesting around 5 hours in. I also have no idea why everyone on this site gives the game a zero because they all say, they tried playing for 2 hours and that it wasn't fun so they gave up. Why don't you give it one more try? But I mean once you get into the story and "play it" and I mean "play it" , the story consumes you and you become intertwined with the master story telling of Grand Theft Auto. But the last 12 hours of the game your character goes through a whole lot and you begin to care for him. The ending wasn't my favorite part. I wanted even more, but I truly feel that the game couldn't have ended better.
    Voice acting was done tremendously well. Cutscenes hold some of the best moments in gaming, and some of the most believable words that hit the player in an emotional way. But my favorite is just the in game dialogue. Especially once the player has around 12 hours left in the game, the dialogue becomes very dark, touching, and expressive. The multiplayer is basically just you vs friends,or you vs the world. I usually make private matches and just mess around in the world. This games multiplayer holds some of my favorite moments with my friends in gaming. Whether its firetuck boarding in a park, jump off the empire state building and see who can hit the driving city bus, or camping at the Empire State Building blowing up others with a rocket while they storm in heli's. Its fun as hell but you need more than 3 other people to play. Now the game itself has an improved aiming system, as well as a non clunky cover system. At least I had no problems working that cover system. This Grand Theft Auto is the best in the series so far. It truly holds something, that is sorely missing in a lot of games these days. The graphics, voice acting, characters are the best in the series so far. The story is mind blowing, and is still the best in recent gaming history. Almost anyone who buys this game will not be dissapointed. You truly are missing out on a extroidinary game. Overall Grand Theft Auto IV desereves a very rare score that pushes the bar for what should be expected in an average game.

    Grand Theft Auto IV is worthy of the ever so rare 10 / 10
    Expand
  50. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Just a great game, good story, nice characters; It's just a great gaming experience which i recommend to all of you.
  51. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there
  52. Oct 17, 2012
    1
    Un paso atrás. El anterior título era mucho mejor, esperemos que para el próximo hayan aprendido de los errores. Y que escuchen a los usuarios... Queremos un juego interminable :)
  53. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best game i ever played. Amazing storyline, awesome characters, awesome graphics, and niko is my favourite character. THIS GAME IS MASTERPIECE!
  54. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, one of the few games I consider to be perfect. Easily the best Grand Theft Auto to date. A full world full of new secrets to explore and fun to be had.
  55. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    Graphics: 6/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 7/10 Voice acting: 7/10 Enjoyment: 6/10 = 6.8 (good)
    The graphics are just a blurry mess, I know it came out 5 years ago but even then it just looked like a blurry mess. Although games aren't all about the graphics so lets talk about the game.
    This is not Grand Theft Auto! This is Niko's Chavy Day Out Simulator. This is nothing like the others except
    Graphics: 6/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 7/10 Voice acting: 7/10 Enjoyment: 6/10 = 6.8 (good)
    The graphics are just a blurry mess, I know it came out 5 years ago but even then it just looked like a blurry mess. Although games aren't all about the graphics so lets talk about the game.
    This is not Grand Theft Auto! This is Niko's Chavy Day Out Simulator. This is nothing like the others except it's an open world in an American city. Where's the funny characters? Where's the funny humor? Where's the funny?
    GTA 5 please bring back the funny.
    Thanks for reading and I'll JackYaLater.
    Expand
  56. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GTA4 is terrible compared to SA VC. Can't do anything without cops harassing you.. Not even vigilante missions, which is what's the most fun. Just too many cops roaming around very unrealistic. It's no longer FUN to drive a motorbike (controls, easy death, etc..).. The constant phone calls from "friends" gets so annoying, you have to just put your phone on sleep in order to enjoy free-roam play. 8 max RPGs? --stupid. No minigun? Pigeon completion is a horrendous task. Can't fly planes. Can't freely look around the airport. Helis are scarce. Money is hard to come by after story completion. Story missions are good, graphics are very good, and pedestrian reactions are funny. The best thing about GTA4 is the auto-save. At least you can avoid being stripped of $20,000-worth of weapons, or avoid a ludicrous $10,000 health fee and go back to where you left off. I can't wait for GTA IV Expand
  57. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    Holy hot hell what is with all these inflated reviews of this game?! The game was distinctly average at best! The best thing in this game is playing it multiplayer and just messing around with some friends. Except for that, this game was good, but not the best. San Andreas was the best of the series, this one was probably the worst.
  58. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games on the Xbox 360 period. It has a great setting, funny characters, and a good enough story.

    GTA IV's biggest success is the city Liberty City. Every area looks different from the other, unlike most open world games. While traveling you get to pick your choice of music and they have a radio station for everybody. This game also has many means
    Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games on the Xbox 360 period. It has a great setting, funny characters, and a good enough story.

    GTA IV's biggest success is the city Liberty City. Every area looks different from the other, unlike most open world games. While traveling you get to pick your choice of music and they have a radio station for everybody. This game also has many means of traveling. Helicopter, car, and motorcycle are just some of the many vehicles available in this game.

    GTA IV has some very memorable missions that you will do. They are all pretty different, with a few exceptions. The storyline and side missions will assure you that you will spend a very long time in this game. GTA IV is a masterpiece.
    Expand
  59. Jun 17, 2013
    3
    GTA IV Has to take the gold for being the most overrated game of all time.

    Pros: -Lengthy Story, a lot of gameplay available -Sandbox game, can be played an unlimited amount of times, providing you can find something fun. Cons: -Clunky feeling controls and slow character response -Game is almost becoming a normal life for a criminal, where has all the fun things from GTA:VC and
    GTA IV Has to take the gold for being the most overrated game of all time.

    Pros:
    -Lengthy Story, a lot of gameplay available
    -Sandbox game, can be played an unlimited amount of times, providing you can find something fun.

    Cons:
    -Clunky feeling controls and slow character response
    -Game is almost becoming a normal life for a criminal, where has all the fun things from GTA:VC and GTA:SA Gone?
    -Online provides no actual purpose, only a few sketchy gamemodes and a sandbox mode which most players will choose, however nothing really more to it than the story with a few friends
    -Color seems to have flown out the window, the only colors this game using is Grey, black and murky colors.
    -irritating real life style situations, in GTA IV you can go bowling with a cousin, go on dates with girls and generally do things which you can do for real, however in GTA the fun is taken out of it when you are constantly called or text messaged asking you to do certain things, and if you don't, your relationship with the character drops, resulting in a forced,broken up feeling to the idea of a fun criminal game.

    GTA IV deserves nothing more than a 4 or a 5/10, with a few fun things here and there, and if you can actually involved in online and find something to do, the game can provides hours, but really, there isn't anything TO do, other than shoot each other and steal a few cars, sound fun? wait until you try to drive them, the car responses will have you screaming
    Expand
  60. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    dlvsdfvjdzbvmdsbvdbvhmbzcnvbzsdfmvbsdmvdfhsvbsdmvbdsnmvbsdmvbsdmcvbdzmvbsdmvbdsmvbsdmvbdsmcbdvnbnvbxzvbxcnvbcvmbxcvbdhvbdmbdfhmvbdmvhbdsmvbsdmvbsdmbvdsnmbvmdnbvnxdbvnmbxdvbmcmxnvbdbvdsnv IS THE BEST
  61. Jul 22, 2013
    4
    I haven't played video games since 2003 and that was GTA San Andreas for the PS2. After seeing all the ads for GTA 5 I went out and bought an Xbox 360 and a copy of GTA IV in preparation for September 17th. Man I could not be more disappointed. Boring characters, boring story line, boring environments (How they managed to make Brooklyn boring is beyond me), the streets are way too circularI haven't played video games since 2003 and that was GTA San Andreas for the PS2. After seeing all the ads for GTA 5 I went out and bought an Xbox 360 and a copy of GTA IV in preparation for September 17th. Man I could not be more disappointed. Boring characters, boring story line, boring environments (How they managed to make Brooklyn boring is beyond me), the streets are way too circular and wined-y and make navigating the landscape more annoying than anything else. Visually, the game is incredibly dark and lacking color. No side quests, nothing to do. It's like they took all the freedom you had in San Andreas so you're relegated to the boring story line (and unlike-able characters) they put in place. This release gives me serious reservations about buying the new game. I was bored after 30 minutes. Expand
  62. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments are bland, all of which combines to make it difficult to see where you are and where you’re going.

    Second: they jacked up the driving physics of the game so now it feels like everything is moving underwater. Turns that used to be simple now send you sliding into walls, which gets frustrating given the large number of slow, crappy cars you seem to be forced to drive in this game.

    Third: the stale mission-structured gameplay is exactly the same as it was over 10 years ago. It’s so tedious now. You get a mission giver, you have to drive across town to start the mission, then you have to drive to your mission destination, then back to your house if you want to keep your car. Fail the mission and you have to start the commute again. They have even added in “features” like toll booths now, which create traffic on bridges that honestly make you feel like you are commuting to work because if you charge through them you get an automatic wanted rating.

    Oh, and did I mention something about keeping a car you want available? Well, in this game they decided to do away with garages for some reason. You know: the places you used to be able to store vehicles. Now your various pads with have one or two parallel parking spaces out in the middle of the AI-trafficked street and if you park a car there *perfectly* it will be saved. However, if it’s a big car or if the AI traffic knocks it slightly out of place, it will be gone when you reload.

    Possibly the most annoying new “feature” of this series is the dating mini-games. You can hang out with certain people to increase their affection toward you, which reaps you certain benefits, but then ALL of them CONSTANTLY call you to hang out, even if you’re in the middle of a mission getting chased by the cops, or in the middle of commuting to do your next mission, or commuting home from your last mission. Whatever. And if you tell them no, even if it’s your own cousin asking you to go bowling again, though you just went bowling with him two days ago, he will get upset and you’ll lose affection. You can’t tell them no.

    Also, Liberty City is big but incredibly empty. You will not be rewarded for exploring b/c there is simply not much out there. Instead of secret packages to collect, this time around you have to kill special pigeons, which are very frustrating to find even with the help of a guide. I got to about 20 or so before I asked myself why the hell I was doing it, because I wasn’t having any fun.

    Finally, the “story” I keep seeing so many positive reviews refer to is stupid & nonsensical. You’re an illegal alien who begins a career as a professional criminal as soon as you step off the boat. Not much different from any other GTA protagonist aside from not already being a US citizen, right? Except now you’re Borat. AMAZING! There IS NO story! You’re a criminal who makes friends with other criminals throughout the game and then commits criminal acts. *spoiler*

    Furthermore, while there may well be 20 hours’ worth of cutscenes (which tend to go on forever) & dialogue (which also never ends during your mission commutes with NPCs), it seems like it was all written by a 10-year old boy. Penis & fart jokes, characters needlessly dropping f-bombs twice a sentence to be “edgy” (I guess), and all-around lame humor in general that makes you roll your eyes and want to skip through every cutscene you come across. Unless you are a 10-year old boy, in which case I guess you’d be in heaven. Maybe that’s the targeted demographic now?

    But Rockstar will keep making the same game as long as sheep keep buying it. Anyone who wants to see what an improvement in this genre looks like, I’d direct you toward Saints Row the Third. Not the best game ever, but one that is actually, you know, “fun” to play. Something Rockstar left out of GTA4.
    Expand
  63. Sep 19, 2013
    3
    Un juego que no prenta ninguna novedad para el jugador.Su narrativa totalmente lineal lo comvierte en un juego que cae ante los topicos que presenta.Graficamente notable y banda sonora acertada.
  64. Jan 14, 2015
    0
    I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don'tI don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it.I don't like it. Expand
  65. Catraven
    May 1, 2008
    9
    This game is the best GTA to date. It's so much fun that I can't wait to play it when I get home from work! The missions are fun and easy and I hope they stay that way.Good job Rockstar!
  66. BenC.
    Oct 8, 2008
    7
    Good game, but bad combat controls, slow framerates, frustrating missions. If you have a good gaming PC, I'd wait for the PC version.
  67. ShainE.
    Apr 30, 2008
    7
    This is a good game. However, it has some technical problems which are surprisingly severe. I really expected a better finished product. Far worse technical issues than other recent games have been crucified over. Euphoria engine is great in some places, but really awkward in others. Still, it adds a bit more life to the streets. I do like how the aiming system has improved, multiplayer This is a good game. However, it has some technical problems which are surprisingly severe. I really expected a better finished product. Far worse technical issues than other recent games have been crucified over. Euphoria engine is great in some places, but really awkward in others. Still, it adds a bit more life to the streets. I do like how the aiming system has improved, multiplayer is fun although buggy, and the story is above par for GTA. Expand
  68. MuSauce
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I first started playing this game and I thought hmmm..... Overrated...maybe? But the more I played, the better it got. All I have to say is that the people that have already written reviews knocking it, haven't played it enough. I am giving it a 10 cause I know it will be when all is said and done. on top of that the multiplayer is ridiculously fun!
  69. Matt
    Apr 30, 2008
    7
    It's GTA with a new story and new graphics. Not a 10 out of 10. Graphics are average, not as much freedom as Crackdown and the music is nowhere near as good as Vice City's. Good points are attention to detail, cinematography, and sound effects. The driving is also very good, loose and fluid control and great damage modelling.
  70. AlienWare
    May 1, 2008
    10
    ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC, and the first game that could dethrone Half-Life 2.
  71. Target
    May 1, 2008
    5
    Very disapointing! Does not live up to the hype.
  72. JimboH.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Comparable to GTA III the first time you played it. Superb storyline. Been a while since I've played a game this fun. Loses a point because the humor that we saw in GTA III isn't really there (where's lazlow when you need him?!). They might as well of just had people randomly say "Republicans are stoopid" followed by a laugh track and some random swearing, since that's Comparable to GTA III the first time you played it. Superb storyline. Been a while since I've played a game this fun. Loses a point because the humor that we saw in GTA III isn't really there (where's lazlow when you need him?!). They might as well of just had people randomly say "Republicans are stoopid" followed by a laugh track and some random swearing, since that's basically what over half of the "humor" is. Expand
  73. RavenWolfx
    May 3, 2008
    9
    I'd give it a 9.25 if I could, but this will suffice. The game is pretty damn good with the best story that GTA has had so far. The graphics are great, with some problems of graphic pop-in (I read that the ps3 verision has this problem a little less, but not much). The aiming system is much improved from previous games, but it still needs work, but the cover system is a welcome I'd give it a 9.25 if I could, but this will suffice. The game is pretty damn good with the best story that GTA has had so far. The graphics are great, with some problems of graphic pop-in (I read that the ps3 verision has this problem a little less, but not much). The aiming system is much improved from previous games, but it still needs work, but the cover system is a welcome addition. I like the cell phone addition, but it could have been further worked on. The multiplayer is pretty decent, but there are some complaints. For example, after you play a ranked match, you are kicked back into the party mode instead of just searching for another match. If you are kicked out of the multiplayer game completely, it loads up the singleplayer again, which is just a waste of time. The load time are long (both single and multi) but not too frequent, and I'm patient enough to wait a whole 10 seconds or so during loading screens (the initial load is much longer, lasting closer to 30 seconds, but I didn't actually time it). All in all, it is a Game of the Year contender, but GTA will find it very difficult when competing against Metal Gear Solid 4, Fallout 3, and Gears of War 2. Buy the game (should take over 30 hours if you do some side missions). Expand
  74. MattL.
    May 6, 2008
    6
    It's just like every other GTA game with a bunch of extra, they didn't raise the bar here or anything. It's insanely repetitive and designed to make you play the game twice for achievement. News flash developers, if your game needs achievements to make me play it again, it's not worth playing the first time. Multiplayer is mediocre and uncreative. It's riddled It's just like every other GTA game with a bunch of extra, they didn't raise the bar here or anything. It's insanely repetitive and designed to make you play the game twice for achievement. News flash developers, if your game needs achievements to make me play it again, it's not worth playing the first time. Multiplayer is mediocre and uncreative. It's riddled with mad design and because of the "seamless" design you often spend more time on load screens then you do playing when you get one of the two popular connection problems. When you look at games like Halo, Call of Duty 4, and Rainbow 6 Vegas 2.. the mutliplayer of GTA is a real let down. The game was definitely overhyped and Rockstar should have kept it until the holiday 2008. Expand
  75. PaulF.
    May 7, 2008
    9
    An excellent game in almost every aspect, but certainly nothing groundbreaking.
  76. SzchifoT
    May 8, 2008
    8
    Ive completed this game now and its revealed itself to be pretty depthless once the main story is done. Why have a world so big when most of it isn't used? Ok you can go anywhere but theres nothing to do once you get there...i would have liked some more content once the single player was done. As for the multiplayer its pretty shabby (it seems everyone is going back to COD4 after 1 Ive completed this game now and its revealed itself to be pretty depthless once the main story is done. Why have a world so big when most of it isn't used? Ok you can go anywhere but theres nothing to do once you get there...i would have liked some more content once the single player was done. As for the multiplayer its pretty shabby (it seems everyone is going back to COD4 after 1 week). For those who have yet to purchase then grab a copy but beware, once you finish the single player missions this game with probably gather dust until the DLC in november - sorry PS3 fanboys but you wont be getting this. Expand
  77. WilhelmK.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Beautiful - just beautiful.
  78. JV
    Jun 8, 2008
    8
    Visually, the preceding GTA's are sick jokes compared to GTA IV, but the missions are almost exactly the same with a few deviations. The side missions are dull this time around, and there are lots of annoying changes made to the GTA formula, such as limited cars, limited safehouses, limited weapon roster, and probably most annoyingly is the limit to how much ammo you can carry. The Visually, the preceding GTA's are sick jokes compared to GTA IV, but the missions are almost exactly the same with a few deviations. The side missions are dull this time around, and there are lots of annoying changes made to the GTA formula, such as limited cars, limited safehouses, limited weapon roster, and probably most annoyingly is the limit to how much ammo you can carry. The most unrewarding part of this game is that after you complete it to 100% you're rewarded with nothing except that the ammo cap is removed, and with NOTHING to do after completion, who wants to waste their money on ammo? Of course the physics are awe-inspiring and the subtle details in every inch of scenery and movement are incredible. The gameplay is a little better as well. But all of the customization that made GTA San Andreas (clothes, cars, body type) has been stripped in this title as well. I think that Rockstar held back on this one; they gave us enough to please the professional critics, but are saving all the best features for future installments. Expand
  79. EricR.
    Feb 1, 2010
    7
    At the end of the day the game did a good job of keeping me entertained until its closure, but nothing about it made me go "wow" or "that should be in other games." I guess most notably the soundtrack was my favorite aspect, otherwise I'd just rent it.
  80. MichaelA.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    It's apparent from most of these comments here that our society constantly degenerates. Easily one of the best games of the decade with a compelling story and great voice acting, tight gameplay, etc. Seriously, unless you have problems with some of the morals in the game (and the really bad decisions are left up to the player so people really can't get offended...) then I find It's apparent from most of these comments here that our society constantly degenerates. Easily one of the best games of the decade with a compelling story and great voice acting, tight gameplay, etc. Seriously, unless you have problems with some of the morals in the game (and the really bad decisions are left up to the player so people really can't get offended...) then I find it hard to believe so many people think this is overrated. Especially since San Andreas is slightly overrated in itself. Ugh. Expand
  81. BryanK.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    I don't know how any of you are actually rating this game before its even released. You are all probably haters who just put low scores to be funny. Well I'm gonna give it a perfect score, just to go against everything you stand for.
  82. MichaelH.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Greatest game of all time. Period.
  83. AustinC.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Grand Theft Auto has always been one of the games that gives one of the most open-world experiences. I've never gotten bored from any GTA game. I have been frustrated at times, but that shows that it all wont be easy. GTA IV will be a phenomenon that will easily change how people play games.
  84. MikeT.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played.
  85. ScottG.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Dead set the best game out. Stunning visuals.
  86. KevinR.
    Apr 29, 2008
    8
    A very good game, and definitely the best entry into the GTA series to date. However, it has numerous small problems, that on the surface may seem insignificant, but on the whole make the game very stagnant around the 10th hour. Simply put, the combat still lacks any variety or nuance, and that just gets dull quickly.
  87. EdenH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Best game of this decade and that's all there is to it.
  88. TequliaM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    A great game, but definitely not the best next-gen title.(Bioshock and Oblivion still ahead in my opinion) The environment has some grade A graphics but the cars themselves are a let-down. (There is no excuse for semi transparent cars in a next -gen game) The strength of this title and the reason you should buy it is for the storyline,both in its cinematic quality and scope. And it's A great game, but definitely not the best next-gen title.(Bioshock and Oblivion still ahead in my opinion) The environment has some grade A graphics but the cars themselves are a let-down. (There is no excuse for semi transparent cars in a next -gen game) The strength of this title and the reason you should buy it is for the storyline,both in its cinematic quality and scope. And it's a lot of fun. Expand
  89. DanielB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Considering the scope of the city, the graphics are amazing. Being able to go in and out of a building without any load times and go back out without load times is truly amazing, especially when you take a look inside some of these buildings and see how much detail there is. The gameplay is absolutely fantastic. Without a doubt a 10/10.
  90. MaxH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Not perfect. But pretty darned good.
  91. Mobius
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Rockstar does it again, but whatâ??s different from the previous GTAâ??s. Well in my opinion not a lot, after playing for 15 hours I was awe struck yet disappointed, I donâ??t know how but I was pulled into the hype of GTA4 and for some reason I was expecting something different something that wasnâ??t GTA Something Amazing!, what I got was GTA?. From the off it Rockstar does it again, but whatâ??s different from the previous GTAâ??s. Well in my opinion not a lot, after playing for 15 hours I was awe struck yet disappointed, I donâ??t know how but I was pulled into the hype of GTA4 and for some reason I was expecting something different something that wasnâ??t GTA Something Amazing!, what I got was GTA?. From the off it feels like GTA and sounds like GTA, nothing much has changed from the previous versions, and for me I am glad of it because you donâ??t screw around with a winning formula, but what is it that makes GTA4 so different, well the only thing apart from multiplayer is the graphics, oddly enough while driving around liberty city you come across areas that look familiar, and only then do you see that your driving around the GTA 3 liberty city, only now it looks like a living breathing city, I guess this is what Rockstar wanted all along and it is only now with the next generation Consoleâ??s that they decided to remake GTA3, and all I can say is WOW. I donâ??t disagree with the magazine reviews or other play.com reviewers, GTA4 is a contender for Game of the Year but take away the polished graphics and what you have is GTA3 with extra contend and better thought out gameplay, donâ??t get me wrong GTA4 is fantastic and if youâ??re a fan of the GTA series then this should be part of your collection without question. Hopefully they donâ??t bother with a Vice City remake and go straight to the San Andreas remake. Expand
  92. SteveB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    It's awesome, and this 10/10 is deserved. Also, big lol's at the people trying to bring the overall score down that have never played it before.
  93. AndyK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    The best GTA of all, but still not that good I expected from a next-gen-gta...maybe next time.
  94. MarkT.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Tremendously good game - I have not played it all clearly, as it only just came out - but from initial hours a spectacular achievement. Has that godfather type pacing, so does not grab you by the throat from the outset like, say, Bioshock or COD 4, but this is a different creature. Why not a 10? Controls. Maybe its just me, but I find them a bit sluggish, on foot in particular. I also Tremendously good game - I have not played it all clearly, as it only just came out - but from initial hours a spectacular achievement. Has that godfather type pacing, so does not grab you by the throat from the outset like, say, Bioshock or COD 4, but this is a different creature. Why not a 10? Controls. Maybe its just me, but I find them a bit sluggish, on foot in particular. I also found the car shard to use at proper speeds... it too quickly began accelerating wildy and skidding all over the place. That's fun, don't get me wrong, but for true sandbox I would have preferred conservative driving to be a little easier. Expand
  95. VanniG
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Not exactly perfect but its GTA4 on a next Gen console!!!! Its a sandbox game. And this game deserves Game of Year for 2008. The new game engine RAGE with euphoria physics is just amazing. You could say it could be better, but compare to san andrea's and its 100% better. This is a great game and everyone and anyone who doesn't own it should! 10/10 CAN"T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!! Not exactly perfect but its GTA4 on a next Gen console!!!! Its a sandbox game. And this game deserves Game of Year for 2008. The new game engine RAGE with euphoria physics is just amazing. You could say it could be better, but compare to san andrea's and its 100% better. This is a great game and everyone and anyone who doesn't own it should! 10/10 CAN"T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!! HELL YEA NUKKA! Expand
  96. VictorM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  97. JakeR.
    May 11, 2008
    9
    Brilliant game. Outstanding storyline and a great world to play in. BUT its not perfect and so no-one can give it 10. 1. No garage 2. No car customisation like saints row 3. Targeting system is still not as proper FPS like saints row 4. The targeting system is not as good as the one in crackdown 5. Not enough variety of clothing 6. The main character is an idoit, he looks like a troll. Brilliant game. Outstanding storyline and a great world to play in. BUT its not perfect and so no-one can give it 10. 1. No garage 2. No car customisation like saints row 3. Targeting system is still not as proper FPS like saints row 4. The targeting system is not as good as the one in crackdown 5. Not enough variety of clothing 6. The main character is an idoit, he looks like a troll. Why cant we customise him? Expand
  98. John
    May 1, 2008
    9
    this GTA is the best one that came out of the 8 that did. the thing that sucks is that you can't fly the jets.... or the forkleft you can't realy work it... but thats just what suckz with it... the car damge likes real you can see ever dent, the cop realy don't want to just kill you if you pull over they get out and walk to the car and realy arest you... but if u run they this GTA is the best one that came out of the 8 that did. the thing that sucks is that you can't fly the jets.... or the forkleft you can't realy work it... but thats just what suckz with it... the car damge likes real you can see ever dent, the cop realy don't want to just kill you if you pull over they get out and walk to the car and realy arest you... but if u run they pull out there fire arm and starts fireing at you.. that makes the game more like the real life cause cops just don't just shoot you. Expand
  99. GameCritic
    May 1, 2008
    10
    You know what got me about this game? The cinnematics. The characters in this game act BETTER than REAL actors in hollywood. And the script is ROCK SOLID. I'm going to replay this game forever... Until the next 1 lol. GO ROCKSTAR... Oh yea and there is a hot coffee joke in the game and it is hilarious! ROCKSTAR U R SUCH PIMPS LMAO
  100. ChaseR.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. Ever. It's innovative, and will definitely change the face of gaming as we know it. The story is movie-quality, the characters are unique and interesting, and the gameplay mechanics are topnotch. After you get used to the new control scheme, you will love every minute you play.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.