Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3019 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Kim
    May 18, 2009
    6
    I wanted to love GTA IV, I did. The controls were a bit unfortunate, the friend system is the most annoying game feature since Otis the janitor in Dead Rising, and all of my favourite parts of the GTA series (especially San Andreas) have seemingly run away to elope with Saints Row 2.
  2. JoshuaF
    Jun 16, 2009
    5
    Everything about this game was good except for the constant running around looking for health and body armor, lack of weapons, vehicle variety, easy death. It's almost impossible to go from mission to mission without having to stop and buy body armor. And most missions will be nearly impossible to complete without it. It seems like they spent so much time trying to get the game to Everything about this game was good except for the constant running around looking for health and body armor, lack of weapons, vehicle variety, easy death. It's almost impossible to go from mission to mission without having to stop and buy body armor. And most missions will be nearly impossible to complete without it. It seems like they spent so much time trying to get the game to look pretty and forgot what GTA3 and San Andreas were like. I enjoyed Crackdown more then this game that's why I traded GTA4 in and kept Crackdown. Expand
  3. Dalek
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    (Ok, sorry about my bad review.) The game seems to be running better this time. Anyway, GTA 4 may run like a piece of sh** at first all laggy n' buggy and crashes etc. But it runs ok after a while. If it lags and you want it smooth then get everything lowest, the graphics aren't to bad on low. It's pretty fun and a whole bunch of missions to do, and also if you aren't (Ok, sorry about my bad review.) The game seems to be running better this time. Anyway, GTA 4 may run like a piece of sh** at first all laggy n' buggy and crashes etc. But it runs ok after a while. If it lags and you want it smooth then get everything lowest, the graphics aren't to bad on low. It's pretty fun and a whole bunch of missions to do, and also if you aren't doing so well on single player cause of bugs n' crashes, Then try multiplayer. It is VERY fun, you can do deathmatch, Race, Mafia Work, n' all sorts, You need an Msn account for Windows live which sucks! Its fun, the graphics are great, although this game needs a few more patches. Also every NPC has ragdoll physics and they made the game more physical and realistic. Expand
  4. SteveJ.
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    I'm not just ranting about how great this game is. I just wish that every person who loves the mindless violence of the others would stop posing those horrendous 0's. This game is definetly a classic experience. If the difficulty is too hard, you shouldn't be playing video games. What I loved about this game the most was the differing situations every time. If I failed a I'm not just ranting about how great this game is. I just wish that every person who loves the mindless violence of the others would stop posing those horrendous 0's. This game is definetly a classic experience. If the difficulty is too hard, you shouldn't be playing video games. What I loved about this game the most was the differing situations every time. If I failed a mission, I strategized and looked for say, an alleyway which I could sneak into if the combat got too intense. A different experience every time makes this game one of the most original of all time. Expand
  5. NikoBellic
    Nov 1, 2009
    8
    I like Saints Row 2 better, but that aside, this is a phenominal game. The graphics rule. I think there are too many songs, so it's hard to decide what radio stations to play, so I just turn to a talk show station. I can't tell if the voice acting is good or bad because everyone has an accent. Online is fun, though it feels like a senseless game of gun-tag usually, but the rules I like Saints Row 2 better, but that aside, this is a phenominal game. The graphics rule. I think there are too many songs, so it's hard to decide what radio stations to play, so I just turn to a talk show station. I can't tell if the voice acting is good or bad because everyone has an accent. Online is fun, though it feels like a senseless game of gun-tag usually, but the rules are impressively flexible. All your clothes look boring and the story isn't deep. The missions are fun, but the game's biggest problem is that you have to be friendly with everyone. Ignore them enough and you would have to do jobs to steadily regain their love. For example, Brucie doesn't like me anymore, all because I just wanted to progress with the story, so now I have to do a bunch of races to win him back, and I SUCK at racing!! Cars steer as realistically as in Grand Turismo, so don't expect it to be easy. The diolaugue is overly profane, so I always have to mute the TV if grandma is in the house. Its second biggest flaw is that Liberty City is just too big. It talkes like half an hour to get to every mission. Dispite all my complaints, it's still a fun game. Check it out if its average score of 9.8 hasn't provoked you to do so yet. Expand
  6. RowanS
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    I keep seeing people say that San Andreas is better then this game. All I have to say is "All you had to do was follow the damn train CJ!"
  7. AndyK
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    If I could give this game more than 10 I would. The best Grand Theft Auto ever made cut.
  8. StevenS
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    It does everything a sandbox game should, and its got a great multiplayer. Don't listen to the people who give it low scores. Its one of the best sandbox games ever made.
  9. JamesS
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    This was my first ever grand theft auto experience, so I did not know what to expect , and after finishing the game, I regret not picking up any of the eariler editions. This is the best experience I have ever had with a video game, period. Every mission feels fresh and new (thats saying a lot, considering there is about 100 of them), the interactions between the original and wacky This was my first ever grand theft auto experience, so I did not know what to expect , and after finishing the game, I regret not picking up any of the eariler editions. This is the best experience I have ever had with a video game, period. Every mission feels fresh and new (thats saying a lot, considering there is about 100 of them), the interactions between the original and wacky characters are timeless (even if they are vulgar), I found myself sad when one of the characters died, not because I was sympathetic to them, but because I would never see any of their hiliarious with niko ever again, the story is very well told, with a slow build-up, (but gets very rewarding when the pace picks up, which is only about a couple hours into the game), that ends with a satisfying conclusion, and plenty of unexpected plot twists in-between, the world of liberty city is a great satire of new york city, that feels very much alive, but at the same time, just put a smile on your face with the light mood rockstar had built around the city (for example, the statute of happiness is always a joy to visit), the combat is fun, which is helped by the variaty of the levels, the explosivness of the later levels, and the unrellenting but stupitdity of the cops. The vehicle mechanics are awsome because they are so arcady when the rest of the world seems to be in a driving simulator, it is a strange combo that works very well, as it is fun to run over people and use your car to smash into other cars, espcially during the fast and furious car chases, and I never lauged so hard when my brother got onto a bike and started crashing all over the places running from the cops. The graphics are gorgious, espcially seeing liberty city during the night when all the lights light up. There is also so much to do, while shooting all those pigons may only be for the seriously dedicated (although there is a site ingame that will tell you where those are), all the other things you can do in liberty city are just increadable, from going to see a show by the real life ricky gervais and katt williams, to going to strip clubs, to just shooting down cops, there is plenty to do other than the main quest, which is an astonishing 30-40 hours, which is nothing to sneeze at at all. Best of all, it comes together in such a complete package (with no bugs or glitches, unless the glitches make the game more fun, like the vehicle-swingset glitch, I might add), that it almost feels overwhelming. Without a doubt the most memorable and complete gaming experience I have ever had. I almost wanted to cry when it was over, and then I realised that the game had a rediculusly wacky and insane multiplayer :). Good job Rockstar! Keep up the good work, you deserved that 98, if not higher. I know what I want for christmas (the episodic pack, which I cannot wait to see what you have in store for me with the two expansions) Expand
  10. RyanC
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    A great game with a few technical issues that piss me off every now and then. It's not as over the top as previous GTA installments, but it took a more life like approach to the series.
  11. RenisH
    Dec 31, 2009
    8
    While this game has some excelent graphics, a deeply involving story that makes the main protagonist feel truly human, a brilliant physics system and other main characters that sometimes feel more human than actual video game characters. I really did feel that they cut out too many things that were in GTA:SA and i came out sworly disappointed because the actual sandbox aspect of the game While this game has some excelent graphics, a deeply involving story that makes the main protagonist feel truly human, a brilliant physics system and other main characters that sometimes feel more human than actual video game characters. I really did feel that they cut out too many things that were in GTA:SA and i came out sworly disappointed because the actual sandbox aspect of the game actually began to become very tedious because of the wow factor that GTA:SA had and i basically came expecting the same from this game and its very unfortunate to find that it's been stripped down this much. Expand
  12. crg
    Jan 2, 2010
    7
    Great set piece & immersive world & incredible attention to detail. Excellent story telling & voice acting... but compared to SA its was not as much fun. The mission design was so repetitive, that I wasn't able to play more then a few missions within one session. Beside of that, the game was too easy. And the final mission(s) didn't feel final at all.. I thought Rockstar is Great set piece & immersive world & incredible attention to detail. Excellent story telling & voice acting... but compared to SA its was not as much fun. The mission design was so repetitive, that I wasn't able to play more then a few missions within one session. Beside of that, the game was too easy. And the final mission(s) didn't feel final at all.. I thought Rockstar is trying to fuck with me, when I saw the credits roll ... IMO overrated. Expand
  13. jonathank
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This game really has brought GTA to its finest. Although I would prefer San Andreas over this, GTA 4 is a ery good game as it is. THe graphics are very nice, as good as they can get. The driving has improved alot compared to the previous GTA gaes, and even though there might not be a lot to do in the game( ex. go to the gym, pimp your car), they made up for it by making the game feel very This game really has brought GTA to its finest. Although I would prefer San Andreas over this, GTA 4 is a ery good game as it is. THe graphics are very nice, as good as they can get. The driving has improved alot compared to the previous GTA gaes, and even though there might not be a lot to do in the game( ex. go to the gym, pimp your car), they made up for it by making the game feel very HQ. And to conclude my review, something for the people that are saying thre isnt anything to do in this game: quality over quantity. Overall, GTA 4 is really enjoyable, with all the cars and the multiplayer, although i think they could have removed some of the most unused things( the ATMs, other little things) to add one thing that everyone liked in san andreas: car pimping, baby! Expand
  14. TomasS.
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Brilliant game!
  15. FlavioM
    Jan 16, 2010
    8
    The game is disappointing on the narrative level; Niko's nemesis is not really that, being always in the background; he's not an overshadowing presence, or something lurking in the closet, is a sleeping character without spine. On the gameplay level it's enjoyable and an upgrade on every level on the previous installments. Liberty City is impressive, but less memorable (and The game is disappointing on the narrative level; Niko's nemesis is not really that, being always in the background; he's not an overshadowing presence, or something lurking in the closet, is a sleeping character without spine. On the gameplay level it's enjoyable and an upgrade on every level on the previous installments. Liberty City is impressive, but less memorable (and so navigable) than the previouses cities. It is annoying to always rely on the GPS. Expand
  16. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    The game isn't perfect, nothing is, but this rating by the CoDFather himself is really 9.8. The cheats are really good, the phone feature, the weapons, the storyline, all as realistic as any game ever was! Betrayal, friendship, drugs, blood, sex, money, all in the big city! What can be more realistic?! A game of the year by many companies including Gameinformer! The endless things you canThe game isn't perfect, nothing is, but this rating by the CoDFather himself is really 9.8. The cheats are really good, the phone feature, the weapons, the storyline, all as realistic as any game ever was! Betrayal, friendship, drugs, blood, sex, money, all in the big city! What can be more realistic?! A game of the year by many companies including Gameinformer! The endless things you can do, the endless lists of combinations and things to do with fun and time- wasting events. A game of the century! Expand
  17. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    it was a good game. the missions are great with lots of action. the cutscenes were also very good. you can hang out with friends, and between the missions their are lots of stuff to do. this is one of the best gta games.
  18. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    i held out on playing this game when it came out as i was sick of gta, but found a cheap copy so figured i would give it a go and it was better than i expected, but it is far from perfect. The cars handle poorly at best, the traffic can just get plain annoying and the ai can be very poor at times. Yet the story kept me intrigued and although linear the vast amounts of ways to play throughi held out on playing this game when it came out as i was sick of gta, but found a cheap copy so figured i would give it a go and it was better than i expected, but it is far from perfect. The cars handle poorly at best, the traffic can just get plain annoying and the ai can be very poor at times. Yet the story kept me intrigued and although linear the vast amounts of ways to play through the game is astonishing. MP can be quite hit and miss, but if you party up with a few friends just to mess about it can be hilarious. Expand
  19. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    My first Grand Theft Auto game and, with that being said, I liked it. I don't think it's the best game ever but pretty enjoyable and will keep you busy for a while. The good: the story is excellent, Liberty City is huge, great music, and voice acting is excellent as well. The bad: no reason to explore LC, driving takes a while to get used to, the penalty for failure is very high, combat isMy first Grand Theft Auto game and, with that being said, I liked it. I don't think it's the best game ever but pretty enjoyable and will keep you busy for a while. The good: the story is excellent, Liberty City is huge, great music, and voice acting is excellent as well. The bad: no reason to explore LC, driving takes a while to get used to, the penalty for failure is very high, combat is meh, and I could never get multiplayer to work. All in all, I recommend a purchase for this. These days it's pretty cheap and you get a lot of bang for your buck and the story is worth experiencing. Expand
  20. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    After nearly eleven years of ups and downs, Rockstar has nailed it. This is the ultimate Grand Theft Auto experience, a powerhouse performance that will leave you clamoring for more, long after you've completed its story.
  21. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    GTA IV has to be one of the best of the games. It delivers a story of Niko, an illegal immigrant with a dark past who arrives in Liberty City (An extremely-detailed recreation of New York.) at the bottom of the food chain and takes up work with his cousin, Roman, and the local mobs. At the start of the game you'll be doing tedious, boring missions that are usually along the lines ofGTA IV has to be one of the best of the games. It delivers a story of Niko, an illegal immigrant with a dark past who arrives in Liberty City (An extremely-detailed recreation of New York.) at the bottom of the food chain and takes up work with his cousin, Roman, and the local mobs. At the start of the game you'll be doing tedious, boring missions that are usually along the lines of transporting someone or beating up some guy. But eventually the game hands you a gun and tells you to shoot the living f**k out of enemies in certain places, or chase after enemies AND THEN shoot the f**k out of them. While that might sound like it would get boring, it never does. The aiming system is great, and the cover system is even better. Plus, the game unlocks new areas for you as you play through the story. If you don't feel like playing through the story, that's okay, because the game features the classic GTA free-roaming that the series is known for. Tired of doing missions? That's cool, go grab yourself a shotgun and go a on a killing spree. Feeling like getting away from the cops? Go over and steal yourself a helicopter and fly into a non-unlocked area, you get an instant five-star wanted level. No matter what you do, this game will provide entertainment. Play this game. Expand
  22. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This game is fantastic it is better than every other sandbox game and all gta games that came before.
    This game has a great single player and multiplayer and all in one game ypu have to buy this it is one of the best games ever released
  23. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    There not too much to say than this, Grand Theft Auto IV is with out a shadow of a doubt the greatest game ever created, played and experienced. Rockstar you have outdone yourselves. Graphics aren't the best the XBOX 360 can offer but thats a small price to pay when you get into this masterpeice of a game. Warning, though this is an outstanding game, for some the content may disgust, soThere not too much to say than this, Grand Theft Auto IV is with out a shadow of a doubt the greatest game ever created, played and experienced. Rockstar you have outdone yourselves. Graphics aren't the best the XBOX 360 can offer but thats a small price to pay when you get into this masterpeice of a game. Warning, though this is an outstanding game, for some the content may disgust, so here is my BBFC content warning, CONTAINS VERY STRONG LANGUAGE THROUGHOUT, STRONG BRUTAL BLOODY VIOLENCE AND VERY STRONG ADULT THEMES, DRUG ABUSE AND VERY FREQUENT AMOUNTS OF LAW BREAKING (which note makes this game what is is, TRULY AWESOME). Expand
  24. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This game has a great story and is very fun to play through once or twice or just mess around with codes on and blow things up. That said, after you beat it you'll probably only play through it once more and even then you may never touch it again. The multiplayer is there, but it feels really disconnected, and literally, you're often disconnected. It's a good game, worthy of the franchise,This game has a great story and is very fun to play through once or twice or just mess around with codes on and blow things up. That said, after you beat it you'll probably only play through it once more and even then you may never touch it again. The multiplayer is there, but it feels really disconnected, and literally, you're often disconnected. It's a good game, worthy of the franchise, but it's not the best game ever. Expand
  25. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Best game I know very epic when it comes to stunts and tipping cars or boats with the rpg which is shown in gta iv stunts 4 and the epic car chases just make me pee myself
  26. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    OK, oh my god, some people are saying this game is bad????? How!? Dude if you like this one the least, out of the other GTAs, then you don't know what a good game is. Great story. Great action. Great free-roam, what more could you want?!
  27. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    I would have given this game a 10/10 if it were not for the story line ending and the rest of the game left to meaningless missions. I was disapointed when the game (story line) ended because the game stats said the game was only 60% complete, leading me to believe that there was much more to the game left...The story line part of the game however was 10/10, very addictive and fun. GreatI would have given this game a 10/10 if it were not for the story line ending and the rest of the game left to meaningless missions. I was disapointed when the game (story line) ended because the game stats said the game was only 60% complete, leading me to believe that there was much more to the game left...The story line part of the game however was 10/10, very addictive and fun. Great graphics. One of the more enjoyable games I have ever played on xbox 360. Expand
  28. Feb 5, 2011
    8
    Great, great game but not ideal. Next time please again for tuning, barber and other "Sims" things. Graphic is OK, too (on 2008 year, of course). But I love NY and I like this game.
  29. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game, but its not perfect like some people make it out to be. Firstly there are many games that have much better visuals and character animations than GTA. Seriously, the people run and walk as though their knees are in a fixed position. There are also some issues with the gameplay as in some situations you find Niko running around in circles rather thanGrand Theft Auto IV is a great game, but its not perfect like some people make it out to be. Firstly there are many games that have much better visuals and character animations than GTA. Seriously, the people run and walk as though their knees are in a fixed position. There are also some issues with the gameplay as in some situations you find Niko running around in circles rather than doing what you pressed on you're controller. Other than that id say this game is perfect, excellent storyline, good soundtrack, and all you would expect from a rockstar game. I recommend it. Expand
  30. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    A very good game. The story line is good, the physics are good, the characters are well planned out and have very good voice acting, and the AI is almost perfect except there are some bugs and some ways to trick them. The multiplayer is also somewhat fun, I played hours on end on multiplayer alone.

    The game is worth the money.
  31. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    This game is definitely a good one, but it is definitely not my favorite GTA for the Xbox 360. My personal favorite Grand Theft Auto game for Xbox 360 is The Ballad of Gay Tony. There are more interesting, and more fun things to do in t.b.o.g.t. In t.b.o.g.t. you have several missions that involve flying helicopters, and sky-diving. In GTA 4 there are only like maybe a couple missions thatThis game is definitely a good one, but it is definitely not my favorite GTA for the Xbox 360. My personal favorite Grand Theft Auto game for Xbox 360 is The Ballad of Gay Tony. There are more interesting, and more fun things to do in t.b.o.g.t. In t.b.o.g.t. you have several missions that involve flying helicopters, and sky-diving. In GTA 4 there are only like maybe a couple missions that involve a helicopter, and no sky-diving in the game. My point is that GTA 4 is good, but I personally got bored of the same thing missionn after mission which is just shooting and killing several men. It gets old if you don't mix it up enough with other fun stuff. The Metacritic score is 98 saying it is the best game on the Xbox 360, but I would give it more like a 85 out of 100. Still great, but not my favorite Grand Theft Auto. Expand
  32. Apr 27, 2011
    7
    Story mode is boring, stopped 30minutes in. Basicly you are driving people around town and then shooting a couple dudes and repeating the same garbage over and over. Free roam and Online play is the only way I found any entertainment. Online is a bit glitchy but runs smooth enough to enjoy. Game is worth buying, only $19.99 now.
  33. May 14, 2011
    8
    I wish i culd give this an 8.5, but i can't. This game does NOT deserve a 98. But it does deserve a really high score. Its a great game, dont get me wrong, but far from perfect. As far as graphics go, they are good but not jawdropping. The gunshots look nice and the screen blurs when your speeding (i always enjoy that) the facial animation looks outdated but you really won't be gettingI wish i culd give this an 8.5, but i can't. This game does NOT deserve a 98. But it does deserve a really high score. Its a great game, dont get me wrong, but far from perfect. As far as graphics go, they are good but not jawdropping. The gunshots look nice and the screen blurs when your speeding (i always enjoy that) the facial animation looks outdated but you really won't be getting into peoples faces alot so that doesn't really matter. Gameplay wise this game is the ultimate third person shooter and sandbox game. The gunplay works great you can lock onto enemies for an easy kill or switch to manual aim if you want a lil more of a challenge. The cover system is a gears of war style system but is far less responsive and useful. Alot of times you will find your character getting on the wrong wall or not getting on it at all which can cause you to get killed, which all you gta fans know will force you to restart because thats right, no checkpoints. The campaign shuld take you around 20-25 hours to complete. thats worth it in my opinion. The multiplayer is the real place were gta 4 shines. 16 player free roam is beautiful and the other game modes make it some of the best online on xbox. You can choose from types such as race, gta race, team deathmatch, free roam, and many others. This game is fun, dont get me wrong, but like i said it's far from perfect. if you want to see a perfect game check out my review for Red Dead Redemption (it's alot shorter). - Zev Frazer. Expand
  34. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    This game really shines when you mess around in the open world and wreak havoc. Unfortunately, the 60 hour story is decent, but tends to be very boring a predictable. The driving mechanics have also taken a step back from San Andreas, but at its core, the game succeeds at what makes a Grand Theft Auto game great.
  35. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    GTA 4 has, since it's release, represented the high water mark in this current generation of console games.
    GTA 3 prompted me to purchase a PS2, and GTA4 did a similar job in prompting me to purchase an XBOX 360. 3 years on and everything I've played since has always been measured up to my GTA 4 experience and few have even come close.
    My friend has an 8 year old son who loves his XBOX.
    GTA 4 has, since it's release, represented the high water mark in this current generation of console games.
    GTA 3 prompted me to purchase a PS2, and GTA4 did a similar job in prompting me to purchase an XBOX 360. 3 years on and everything I've played since has always been measured up to my GTA 4 experience and few have even come close.
    My friend has an 8 year old son who loves his XBOX. Due to the adult rating, he can't play GTA 4 (although take a trip to the multiplayer element of the game and you will find that a lot of parents choose to ignore this rating). My heart bleeds for him. If I was 8 now, I would lose the plot if I was forced to wait another 10 years to play the game.

    I can't fault this game. Kinda played it to death now, so desperate for GTA5
    Expand
  36. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Un juego fantástico, un mundo inmenso lleno de posibilidades, excelente jugabilidad y muchas muchas horas para llevarlo al 100%. El tamaño de la ciudad es impresionante, la cantidad de elementos interactivos es también de admirarse.
  37. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    Wow this is the first GTA game I played and I feel great for it. Soo It was such a great start for me, thought I never would play a mature game this one came over me and didn't feel that mature as I played it.
  38. Aug 18, 2011
    6
    The graphics are good, voice acting is bad (I mean Russian accents), cutscenes look bad, no checkpoints in missions, fun to explore the city. Basically, this is just above average open world game, Just Cause 2 is better.
  39. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    It's not perfect but nearly.
    Better than many other games.
    This game is just fascinating and I think it is the beset game of 2008.
    Grand Theft Auto IV is undoubtedly one of the strongest games of this generation.
  40. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Liberty City returns in GTA IV, with a epic storyline that really drags you into the magic of the game. No feeling is like the one when you step into the shoes of Niko Bellic as he steps onshore the land of opportunity. Gorgeous graphics, addictive gameplay, a gritty storyline, solid multiplayer and top of the line sound (17 radio stations!) GTA IV is not to be missed.
  41. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Niko is awesome. The campaign is awesome. The city is awesome. When I finished the game there was nothing I could do. But the physics engine alone proved me wrong. Driving cars in this game is bloody awesome. This game is to good for a review. It should just automatically get a permanent 10.
  42. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    This game may not be an RPG, but is still quite fun to play! the freedom this games gives you is incredible... you can climb, drive, fly, steal, kill, run from the cops and pretty much anything you can do in real life haha, the story is one of the best i have seen, the main character is so charimatic too, i could rate this game a 10 but there are 2 things i hate about this game, one ifThis game may not be an RPG, but is still quite fun to play! the freedom this games gives you is incredible... you can climb, drive, fly, steal, kill, run from the cops and pretty much anything you can do in real life haha, the story is one of the best i have seen, the main character is so charimatic too, i could rate this game a 10 but there are 2 things i hate about this game, one if the Physics and the controls, the controls are HORRIBLE BIG TIME, if you spend a lot of time playing this game on Xbox Live you would know what i am saying... some times the slightest move on the stick your char will do what the hell it wants, also the physics make the gameplay SLOW... i MEAN IT, sometimes you feel like everything is in slow motion.

    But still one of the greatest games i have ever played.
    Expand
  43. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    A disappointment from such a great developer, I mean, it just wasn't a worthy title to go into rockstars long list of classics, its not the magnus opus of gaming people think it is, the RAGE engines character models are just, I mean they looked better in the table tennis game, but the city is a beautiful place to travel, but you get bored along the way, the multiplayer which sucked wasA disappointment from such a great developer, I mean, it just wasn't a worthy title to go into rockstars long list of classics, its not the magnus opus of gaming people think it is, the RAGE engines character models are just, I mean they looked better in the table tennis game, but the city is a beautiful place to travel, but you get bored along the way, the multiplayer which sucked was only added for the people who think games are a way of virtually shooting your friends in the face and cant even imagine the concept of a campaign, yes the story was good that's a give in but you have drag your legs to advance, the gameplay is solid yet empty, the physics are great, but the great thing about all other rockstar games is that they had great story's which IV has but all the other ones had FUN along the way, it'd let you go crazy with cheats, fly jets, tanks, big foot, Freddy Krueger, aliens, monster trucks, the list can go on and on and on and on and on and.................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  44. Jan 17, 2012
    7
    overhyped,overrated. Also, xbox version looks like a donkey's butthole. Its not a bad game, but many of GTA IV's missions are pretty bland. The game gets points for good voice acting, and having a relatively large open world. I would have rated it an 8, but damn, the graphics are bad on xbox.
  45. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Every release of Grand Theft Auto revolutionizes and raises gaming to a whole new level. Grand theft auto IV did it again. Everything about grand theft auto IV was pitch-perfect. The voice acting, the story, the city and of course, the bad ass war veteran Niko Bellic.
    Inevitably, there are a few faults with this game like minor bugs, weird pedestrians and its repetitive missions, but all
    Every release of Grand Theft Auto revolutionizes and raises gaming to a whole new level. Grand theft auto IV did it again. Everything about grand theft auto IV was pitch-perfect. The voice acting, the story, the city and of course, the bad ass war veteran Niko Bellic.
    Inevitably, there are a few faults with this game like minor bugs, weird pedestrians and its repetitive missions, but all is forgiven with its level of realism and its immersive game play.
    Honestly, this is my third time playing gta 4 and interestingly, I never get tired of it. This is easily one of the best games in gaming history. To everyone who owns a console, don't think twice about buying this game when you still see it on the shelves. Just get it!
    Expand
  46. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Still playing it in 2012. Fave game overall - ever. Actually got the download version (after buying the DVD over 2 years ago) just so I could play without having to put in the disk at all. It was worth it because it's my "go to" game and every once in a while I just get back into it. Again and again. Love it.
  47. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    During this review I will going over the pros and the possible cons the game, Grand Theft Auto IV has. I will keep an open mind when doing this review as well, not comparing to other games especially ones more recent. Back in 2008, I purchased this game liked it but then aunt found out I owned it and ordered me to sell it back. I was around 12 years old. A year later I bought it again gotDuring this review I will going over the pros and the possible cons the game, Grand Theft Auto IV has. I will keep an open mind when doing this review as well, not comparing to other games especially ones more recent. Back in 2008, I purchased this game liked it but then aunt found out I owned it and ordered me to sell it back. I was around 12 years old. A year later I bought it again got bored sold it back, and waited another year. I was now 14 years old and it was August. I bought the game once more and made sure I would never sell it ever again. I was booted on Xbox after pissing my friend off and now had some free time. So I just purchased GTA IV so what else could I play.

    I popped the game in and played the game for the next 4 to 5 days, and this time actually payed attention to the story, studied the characters, and became fully immersed in the world of Liberty City, which is a very well done rendition of New York City. This game did a lot of new things that the series predecessors had not. The Characters in this game are like no other in the series....kinda. But the player over time will have real emotions building up to your character and the others that you come in contact with. Characters feel real for once and aren't really stiff and boring. But that also has to do, with what the developer was capable of doing. The technology that made this game was a alot better. Characters moved around, showed there pain, and feeling towards certain problems and actions that occur. But this game did come out in 2008 while San Andreus was released in 2005. Its been a big jump in the tech used to make everything in the game possible. Graphicswise this game is still to me one of the better looking games on consoles overall, and is still better looking, than the crap pc version. Besides that. I already stated the characters felt alive with the emotions on their face. When they were calm, you saw they were calm and when they were pissed well, you better bet your ass they looked irritated. The city alone makes the game deserve a high score, the player will get lost in the surroundings. The buildings are beautifully crafted, every bit of detail is etched and crammed into every inch, corner, street, and ocean shore of the entire game. Graphically, the game is still visually impressive for 2012 standards. There is a small noticable difference between the PS3 version to the Xbox version though. The lighting on the Xbox has to me always been superior to that of the PS3, and not just on GTA IV. Now, the story.....is almost like any other Rockstar game, where the story truly only gets interesting around 5 hours in. I also have no idea why everyone on this site gives the game a zero because they all say, they tried playing for 2 hours and that it wasn't fun so they gave up. Why don't you give it one more try? But I mean once you get into the story and "play it" and I mean "play it" , the story consumes you and you become intertwined with the master story telling of Grand Theft Auto. But the last 12 hours of the game your character goes through a whole lot and you begin to care for him. The ending wasn't my favorite part. I wanted even more, but I truly feel that the game couldn't have ended better.
    Voice acting was done tremendously well. Cutscenes hold some of the best moments in gaming, and some of the most believable words that hit the player in an emotional way. But my favorite is just the in game dialogue. Especially once the player has around 12 hours left in the game, the dialogue becomes very dark, touching, and expressive. The multiplayer is basically just you vs friends,or you vs the world. I usually make private matches and just mess around in the world. This games multiplayer holds some of my favorite moments with my friends in gaming. Whether its firetuck boarding in a park, jump off the empire state building and see who can hit the driving city bus, or camping at the Empire State Building blowing up others with a rocket while they storm in heli's. Its fun as hell but you need more than 3 other people to play. Now the game itself has an improved aiming system, as well as a non clunky cover system. At least I had no problems working that cover system. This Grand Theft Auto is the best in the series so far. It truly holds something, that is sorely missing in a lot of games these days. The graphics, voice acting, characters are the best in the series so far. The story is mind blowing, and is still the best in recent gaming history. Almost anyone who buys this game will not be dissapointed. You truly are missing out on a extroidinary game. Overall Grand Theft Auto IV desereves a very rare score that pushes the bar for what should be expected in an average game.

    Grand Theft Auto IV is worthy of the ever so rare 10 / 10
    Expand
  48. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Just a great game, good story, nice characters; It's just a great gaming experience which i recommend to all of you.
  49. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    Is this game perfect? No, but no game is that I've played. The main things I wanted to write in my review was that I liked the character of Niko Bellic and the game was a lot of fun. I loved the bank mission in particular.
    One thing I dislike about this game and similar games...the save system. I like being able to save when I want to. I would also prefer a difficulty adjuster so I can
    Is this game perfect? No, but no game is that I've played. The main things I wanted to write in my review was that I liked the character of Niko Bellic and the game was a lot of fun. I loved the bank mission in particular.
    One thing I dislike about this game and similar games...the save system. I like being able to save when I want to. I would also prefer a difficulty adjuster so I can adjust the combat to be more difficult or easier as I see fit. However, shooting police cars with my RPG made up for any minor complaints!
    Expand
  50. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there
  51. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    It was on ok game. Definitely not the best in the series. I much prefer San Andreas or Vice City to this game. I am hoping the next one in the series is more fun. I have moved onto a far more fun game, Saints Row
  52. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    As with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, noAs with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, no getting fat, no swimming underwater, etc, but its uber fun. Do you play online? This game is online and is SUPER fun. Wreck havoc on complete random strangers. Expand
  53. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    This is the best game i ever played. Amazing storyline, awesome characters, awesome graphics, and niko is my favourite character. THIS GAME IS MASTERPIECE!
  54. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, one of the few games I consider to be perfect. Easily the best Grand Theft Auto to date. A full world full of new secrets to explore and fun to be had.
  55. Oct 17, 2012
    1
    Un paso atrás. El anterior título era mucho mejor, esperemos que para el próximo hayan aprendido de los errores. Y que escuchen a los usuarios... Queremos un juego interminable :)
  56. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    Graphics: 6/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 7/10 Voice acting: 7/10 Enjoyment: 6/10 = 6.8 (good)
    The graphics are just a blurry mess, I know it came out 5 years ago but even then it just looked like a blurry mess. Although games aren't all about the graphics so lets talk about the game.
    This is not Grand Theft Auto! This is Niko's Chavy Day Out Simulator. This is nothing like the others except
    Graphics: 6/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 7/10 Voice acting: 7/10 Enjoyment: 6/10 = 6.8 (good)
    The graphics are just a blurry mess, I know it came out 5 years ago but even then it just looked like a blurry mess. Although games aren't all about the graphics so lets talk about the game.
    This is not Grand Theft Auto! This is Niko's Chavy Day Out Simulator. This is nothing like the others except it's an open world in an American city. Where's the funny characters? Where's the funny humor? Where's the funny?
    GTA 5 please bring back the funny.
    Thanks for reading and I'll JackYaLater.
    Expand
  57. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GTA4 is terrible compared to SA VC. Can't do anything without cops harassing you.. Not even vigilante missions, which is what's the most fun. Just too many cops roaming around very unrealistic. It's no longer FUN to drive a motorbike (controls, easy death, etc..).. The constant phone calls from "friends" gets so annoying, you have to just put your phone on sleep in order to enjoy free-roam play. 8 max RPGs? --stupid. No minigun? Pigeon completion is a horrendous task. Can't fly planes. Can't freely look around the airport. Helis are scarce. Money is hard to come by after story completion. Story missions are good, graphics are very good, and pedestrian reactions are funny. The best thing about GTA4 is the auto-save. At least you can avoid being stripped of $20,000-worth of weapons, or avoid a ludicrous $10,000 health fee and go back to where you left off. I can't wait for GTA IV Expand
  58. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    Holy hot hell what is with all these inflated reviews of this game?! The game was distinctly average at best! The best thing in this game is playing it multiplayer and just messing around with some friends. Except for that, this game was good, but not the best. San Andreas was the best of the series, this one was probably the worst.
  59. Jun 17, 2013
    3
    GTA IV Has to take the gold for being the most overrated game of all time.

    Pros: -Lengthy Story, a lot of gameplay available -Sandbox game, can be played an unlimited amount of times, providing you can find something fun. Cons: -Clunky feeling controls and slow character response -Game is almost becoming a normal life for a criminal, where has all the fun things from GTA:VC and
    GTA IV Has to take the gold for being the most overrated game of all time.

    Pros:
    -Lengthy Story, a lot of gameplay available
    -Sandbox game, can be played an unlimited amount of times, providing you can find something fun.

    Cons:
    -Clunky feeling controls and slow character response
    -Game is almost becoming a normal life for a criminal, where has all the fun things from GTA:VC and GTA:SA Gone?
    -Online provides no actual purpose, only a few sketchy gamemodes and a sandbox mode which most players will choose, however nothing really more to it than the story with a few friends
    -Color seems to have flown out the window, the only colors this game using is Grey, black and murky colors.
    -irritating real life style situations, in GTA IV you can go bowling with a cousin, go on dates with girls and generally do things which you can do for real, however in GTA the fun is taken out of it when you are constantly called or text messaged asking you to do certain things, and if you don't, your relationship with the character drops, resulting in a forced,broken up feeling to the idea of a fun criminal game.

    GTA IV deserves nothing more than a 4 or a 5/10, with a few fun things here and there, and if you can actually involved in online and find something to do, the game can provides hours, but really, there isn't anything TO do, other than shoot each other and steal a few cars, sound fun? wait until you try to drive them, the car responses will have you screaming
    Expand
  60. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    dlvsdfvjdzbvmdsbvdbvhmbzcnvbzsdfmvbsdmvdfhsvbsdmvbdsnmvbsdmvbsdmcvbdzmvbsdmvbdsmvbsdmvbdsmcbdvnbnvbxzvbxcnvbcvmbxcvbdhvbdmbdfhmvbdmvhbdsmvbsdmvbsdmbvdsnmbvmdnbvnxdbvnmbxdvbmcmxnvbdbvdsnv IS THE BEST
  61. Jul 22, 2013
    4
    I haven't played video games since 2003 and that was GTA San Andreas for the PS2. After seeing all the ads for GTA 5 I went out and bought an Xbox 360 and a copy of GTA IV in preparation for September 17th. Man I could not be more disappointed. Boring characters, boring story line, boring environments (How they managed to make Brooklyn boring is beyond me), the streets are way too circularI haven't played video games since 2003 and that was GTA San Andreas for the PS2. After seeing all the ads for GTA 5 I went out and bought an Xbox 360 and a copy of GTA IV in preparation for September 17th. Man I could not be more disappointed. Boring characters, boring story line, boring environments (How they managed to make Brooklyn boring is beyond me), the streets are way too circular and wined-y and make navigating the landscape more annoying than anything else. Visually, the game is incredibly dark and lacking color. No side quests, nothing to do. It's like they took all the freedom you had in San Andreas so you're relegated to the boring story line (and unlike-able characters) they put in place. This release gives me serious reservations about buying the new game. I was bored after 30 minutes. Expand
  62. Sep 19, 2013
    3
    Un juego que no prenta ninguna novedad para el jugador.Su narrativa totalmente lineal lo comvierte en un juego que cae ante los topicos que presenta.Graficamente notable y banda sonora acertada.
  63. Jun 21, 2017
    0
    Take Two and Rockstar threatened to sue a modder without good reason. This sort of toxic behavior should not be tolerated. Don't support them by giving them your money.
  64. AnonymousMC
    May 5, 2008
    9
    I was on the verge of retiring from my video game career until my buddy showed me this monster. After around two hours into the game, I bought it and the damn SYSTEM during the visit. I'll just say that GTA IV is worthy of it's near-perfect professional reviews. The only downside to this entertainment is the price of admission. The cost of the hardware and the game itselfI was on the verge of retiring from my video game career until my buddy showed me this monster. After around two hours into the game, I bought it and the damn SYSTEM during the visit. I'll just say that GTA IV is worthy of it's near-perfect professional reviews. The only downside to this entertainment is the price of admission. The cost of the hardware and the game itself could feed a small village in the third world for 6 months. If you're looking to buy this game, try it first. Hell, you might be one of the angry basement dwellers that could give this a 0. Expand
  65. AnonymousMC
    May 11, 2008
    10
    ppl who give this game nething lower than a 9 are just trying be sweet cuz like every review site gave this a ten. there isnt the cool customization options in san andreas but this is a dress up game. this game is about violence and open world sandbox gameplay and no game does this better. gta4 may go down as the greatest video game ever. or unitl too human and mgs comes out.
  66. AnonymousMC
    May 29, 2008
    7
    Hmm.

    I haven't yet played for more than about 7 hours, and I got it on the day it came out. The thing is, there's nothing drawing me too it. To be fair, it is probably one of the best games around, it's just unfortunate it isn't the first GTA, because I think some of the others were better. Bearing in mind I haven't played it as much as some, and so may have
    Hmm.

    I haven't yet played for more than about 7 hours, and I got it on the day it came out. The thing is, there's nothing drawing me too it. To be fair, it is probably one of the best games around, it's just unfortunate it isn't the first GTA, because I think some of the others were better.

    Bearing in mind I haven't played it as much as some, and so may have not been given or found out certain things, but these are my main problems:

    Where are the gangs? Remember GTA III with the mafia mob etc? GTA SA as well. Maybe this is something i'm yet to discover.

    Why can't you swim under water? In prior to SA you drowned if you fell into the water. They then realised that was unrealistic and stupid. Now you can't go under water. What, was that too realistic?

    Ah, I knocked the guy who was attacking me to the floor, a quick stamp on his head and - oh. Just punching is it? Why? And what about all the fighting styles of SA?

    Anyone remember that great feeling in Vice City when you took over that mansion, and you could park your sweet car in the garage, and go to the weapons room? At that point you really felt you'd made it ... Some of the magic has been lost.

    Is it possible they're trying to be too realistic, and some of the fun has been lost?

    I feel harsh giving it a 7 because it's still better than 99% of games. But by GTA standards, something is lost.
    Expand
  67. AnonymousMC
    Jun 6, 2008
    6
    This isn't a bad game but it definately isn't the holy grail of gaming that all the critics are making it out to be. How can you give a game 100% when there are serious camera issues, control issues (especially during combat) and repetiiveness issues. The problem is GTA4 doesnt have the same impact that GTA3 had all that time ago when it was something new and not done before.This isn't a bad game but it definately isn't the holy grail of gaming that all the critics are making it out to be. How can you give a game 100% when there are serious camera issues, control issues (especially during combat) and repetiiveness issues. The problem is GTA4 doesnt have the same impact that GTA3 had all that time ago when it was something new and not done before. Here it just feels the same old same old with better graphics. Also Liberty City is way less interactive and interesting than some are making it out to be. This has made me rethink my buying choices based on critics reviews - if a game gets numerous 100% I expect it to be perfect - quite simply - this isn't. Expand
  68. Vultan
    Jul 30, 2008
    6
    Totally overated. Cannot believe all the 9 and 10's this game's got. Repetitive and the graphics are nowhere near the best the 360 has to offer. The claims of interactivity and a fully realised city are just wrong, most of the buildings in the city cannot be entered and have horendous textures when up close. Missions repeat themselves and multiplayer no better than averageTotally overated. Cannot believe all the 9 and 10's this game's got. Repetitive and the graphics are nowhere near the best the 360 has to offer. The claims of interactivity and a fully realised city are just wrong, most of the buildings in the city cannot be entered and have horendous textures when up close. Missions repeat themselves and multiplayer no better than average FPS. Dissapointing. Expand
  69. AnonymousMC
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    before this game came out there was so much hype and high expectations and i think that gta4 has lived up to these. This game has amazing graphics and great gameplay. Even once you have completed it there is still plenty more to do and have fun with. I can't understand how people can give a rating less than nine its a fun game, it can be a laugh and hours of gameplay more than enough.before this game came out there was so much hype and high expectations and i think that gta4 has lived up to these. This game has amazing graphics and great gameplay. Even once you have completed it there is still plenty more to do and have fun with. I can't understand how people can give a rating less than nine its a fun game, it can be a laugh and hours of gameplay more than enough. Amazing game 10/10 Expand
  70. maninhobaring
    Aug 1, 2008
    9
    ii luved the stry as alwys in gta, i wasnt lking forward to multiplyer but was impressed, only reason it suks is becus of the gay hosts and noone wanting to ply gta how its meant to be plyed, (jus cre about ranking up stupid geeks) gts bring after about 80 hrs pidgeons were stupis kickass game in all other aspects, crs were realistic (maybe ur jus 12 and cnt drive yet?)
  71. JohnKunkel
    Aug 7, 2008
    8
    Overall, excellent gameplay. GTA 4 has some really cool new features such as the whole combat/target deal. GTA 4 though leaves out a lot of things in my opinion which made games like San Andreas so great. The story for one isn't very intense... I read some interviews where the developers mentioned how they didn't want this one to be "cinematic." Whatever that may have meant, theyOverall, excellent gameplay. GTA 4 has some really cool new features such as the whole combat/target deal. GTA 4 though leaves out a lot of things in my opinion which made games like San Andreas so great. The story for one isn't very intense... I read some interviews where the developers mentioned how they didn't want this one to be "cinematic." Whatever that may have meant, they sure seemed to have pulled it off with a somewhat bland story line, and a very unsatisfying ending (for me personally). Yah, there's still a hell lot more to do with side missions, but I expected the 90 missions I had to go through in order to complete the game would have given me a lot more satisfaction.

    Don't get me wrong, GTA 4 was great, but they seemed to have left out some key elements which made the other games a lot of fun. In my opinion, if they had kept a lot of elements that were in San Andreas, and shifted them over to GTA 4, it would have made the game top notch.
    Understandly, they appear to have tried to do things differently, but to me that just made for mixed personal feelings on certain aspects of the game (which very easily could have been improved).
    GTA 4 stands out as one of the strongest games of its genre around, but it also could have been so much better with very simple, and small details.

    I am a fan nevertheless, and you should definitely try itout!
    Expand
  72. KevinRickett
    Aug 12, 2008
    6
    Eh... It's pretty good... for about the first 2 hours but then it starts to get repetitive and boring. This game makes me realize how much fun San Andreas was compared to this. The multiplayer is ok to play with friends but there are some games that just don't need a deathmatch or team deathmatch or racing multiplayer modes and this is one of those games. The only multiplayerEh... It's pretty good... for about the first 2 hours but then it starts to get repetitive and boring. This game makes me realize how much fun San Andreas was compared to this. The multiplayer is ok to play with friends but there are some games that just don't need a deathmatch or team deathmatch or racing multiplayer modes and this is one of those games. The only multiplayer mode that this game really needed was co-op, nothing else. Overall, the game is ok but it could've done a whole lot better. Expand
  73. TomSawyer
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    Dominic is an idiot..the races impossible? I never EVER had trouble coming in 1st. You are just really bad or using the wrong cars...even though I could do come in 1st with just about any car. I would give it a 9.5/10...everyone who says its bad is proabably just bad at the game itself. The controls are slick.
  74. Andrew
    Sep 3, 2008
    6
    The most over-rated, repetitive , over-hyped, boring game i've bought. I tried, dearly tried to force myself to finish the game but the controls suck, gameplay sucks, and it's nothing new. Game reviewers need to stop rating for hype and what people want to hear. I'd give it nothing more than a 6-7. Average mediocre game. Nothing special.
  75. MarkValadez
    Sep 9, 2008
    5
    I give this game a 5 because the storyline sucked me personally 2 russian guys i aint felling it they should atleast put tommy back or created an american and also the game is to realistic for me dont get me wrong the graphics and details are excellent i give that a 10 but other than that its trash i wasted 60$ for nonthing worst thing is that i cant get a refund.
  76. AnonymousMC
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    Wow an amazing game.. I can't beat either final mission but who cares. The voice acting is incredible and the story is as well. The graphics are very good too, for example when driving on the Brooklyn Bridge (not actual name) to Algonquin at night time, it's probably one of the most beautiful graphical moments in Videogame history. I'm pretty sure that many of these userWow an amazing game.. I can't beat either final mission but who cares. The voice acting is incredible and the story is as well. The graphics are very good too, for example when driving on the Brooklyn Bridge (not actual name) to Algonquin at night time, it's probably one of the most beautiful graphical moments in Videogame history. I'm pretty sure that many of these user reviewers have not even played the game. Expand
  77. MichaelHummer
    Oct 2, 2008
    8
    Well I'm playing through the game for the second time and I've just read about 100 reviews from users like me so I'm ready to share my opinion.
    It definitely grew on me over time.
    The graphics are undoubtedly sweet. I don't like auto lock, pull trigger half way deal. It would have been so easy to make RB the lock and dedicate LT for manual aim. The driving while
    Well I'm playing through the game for the second time and I've just read about 100 reviews from users like me so I'm ready to share my opinion.
    It definitely grew on me over time.
    The graphics are undoubtedly sweet.
    I don't like auto lock, pull trigger half way deal.
    It would have been so easy to make RB the lock and dedicate LT for manual aim.
    The driving while initially frustrating becomes fun.
    You just have to plan your skids A LOT earlier.
    Now I can get away from the cops pretty quickly because I know how to time it.
    With that in mind it's still not the carefree driving experience of San Andreas but there are good times to be had.
    In fact, a car I hated for it's lack on control in the beginning has become my favorite because it's got tons of power and I can now control it (Stallion).
    The soundtrack sucks!!!
    Other than like 5 songs it's a major disappointment.
    Every other station is just hip-hop, reggae, rap... With San Andreas you had a few stations for everyone.
    I've played this game enough to have found a station I like by now and I have found nothing.
    Yes, the game and missions have a been there done that feel.
    this is one of the first feelings I had when playing the game.
    I was hoping for something new but it was not to be.
    I felt bored pretty quickly because of this and more than that disappointed.
    Given that there were no better games to be found on the 360, or at least in my possession, I continued to play and have had tons of fun.
    Taxis can save a TON of time and keep the wait between action to a minimum.
    At this point I use taxis as a rule and drive only when necessary.
    Even with this philosophy there'splenty of driving and enjoyment.
    What I've found really enjoyable is the combat.
    After a long time I'm used to the targeting deal and can reliably keep from pulling the trigger all the way and ruining the experience.
    However, a lot of that is because I've been there before.
    Any new experience might jolt me and cause a knee jerk auto lock.
    Again, RB should be auto lock and leave LT dedicated to free aim!
    Nevertheless I am really enjoying going through the combat missions again and very rarely die.
    I dig the shotgun and like switching guns during combat.
    I'd like it if he walked a little faster during adrenalin moments and if the sneak elements were present that would be cool.
    I snuck onto a site with tons of enemies and it would have been cool to take them all out silently with a knife or silencer.
    The problem is that they don't sell knives at the gun shops and there are no silencers!!!
    If you ever lose your knife from the beginning mission you can't get it back.
    I'm sure I'm wrong about the knife deal but it's definitely not easy to find a knife and I'm through the game a second time; I'll try Jacob's deal to see if he has knives before I completely cry foul.
    The strip clubs are fun and even though the girls run through their routine with the same enthusiasm that a real stripper would they are legitimately exciting.
    Ammo is way too expensive, especially for the rocket launcher.
    They force you to pay attention to a woman near the end of the game and yet she's bugly!
    I liked her personality enough even though she was too extreme: see prude & righteous.
    But like I said she was friggin' hard to look at.
    The second time through she's been getting the cold shoulder.
    The friend thing is a friggin waste of time.
    It would be nice to hang with these people but they could have achieved that in several different ways: on the way to missions, during cut scenes, etc...
    The only reason to do it is to get the friend's bonus so there could have been a better way to achieve this.
    Interestingly, I find the game more playable because the main character is not upgradeable.
    If he had been ungradeable it would have been hard to start over with him at a weaker state.
    It's really just the weapons that distinguish the beginning from the end.
    I would like to see remote grenades for dealing with pesky swarms of cops who don't like it when you kill their coworkers.
    The boating stuff is a waste of time but shooting down helicopters with a rocket launcher NEVER gets old.
    I'd like to have seen more execution options like in Godfather; in that game you could really go on a rampage.
    The rocket launcher is a total blast but like I said it's $$$.
    The vigilante missions are different and limited in number and that last part sucks. It's nice for game completion but I'd prefer a San Andreas version with ever increasing difficulty. They do offer current crimes but neither type brings any money so that's a bummer. Money in this game becomes too important and significantly hinders fun. I stole a car once after a good amount of prep work and got $1,000.00 for it. Hi, that's the price of one grenade! Just make rocket launcher shells $2,000, instead of 5, and we'll all be happy. Overall I give it an 85 out of 100. I look forward to the next iteration.
    Expand
  78. JohnHartman
    Oct 9, 2008
    8
    While it's storyline is awesome and the combat is alright at best, I hate being penalised for not wanting to drive some person I don't care about halfway across town to go eat, I hate having to drive halfway across town to change my clothes for a mission, I hate driving halfway across town back to where I was before I died in a mission, I hate having to drive halfway across townWhile it's storyline is awesome and the combat is alright at best, I hate being penalised for not wanting to drive some person I don't care about halfway across town to go eat, I hate having to drive halfway across town to change my clothes for a mission, I hate driving halfway across town back to where I was before I died in a mission, I hate having to drive halfway across town just to SAVE A FREAKING GAME.

    I don't think Rockstar realises that gamers don't like grinding.
    Expand
  79. CR
    Oct 14, 2008
    7
    This game suffers from shoddy graphics, shoddy sound, shoddy play control, a lack of direction at certain points in the game... But despite all of that remains a heck of a lot of fun to play. I still can't believe so many critics labeled this defective game 100. There's no reason for that kind of over-hyped score. This game is nowhere near a 100, but it is a lot of fun to play.
  80. TimBremner
    Nov 11, 2008
    7
    This is by no means a bad game, its not a great one though either. Aside from what has already been pointed out about the uselessness of money, poor multiplayer and repetitive everything! This game was really killed (my vocabulary is very limited, I know) by the lack of enjoyment after finishing the campaign and also the developers choice to go down a more realistic path..... Bad move Rockstar.
  81. AnonymousMC
    Nov 18, 2008
    7
    While the visuals and the combat have been improved the game is extremely slow. It takes literally HOURS before you get your first gun and even after 4 hours of playing I still haven't opened up any of the other islands. Yeah it's fun messing around in the city with your friends, but if you're playing through by yourself it's pretty damned boring.
  82. jamieholland
    Nov 28, 2008
    7
    great storytelling and visuals marred only by below average gameplay unforunately.
    the numerous poor technical descisions are astounding. weapon scrolling, lock on to manual targeting is LT pressure sensitive, cannot run whilst locking on, camera movement is sloppy, rubbish tilting 1st person on motorbikes, no more fuel caps, pool minigame insulting(can clip through ball to make shot) and
    great storytelling and visuals marred only by below average gameplay unforunately.
    the numerous poor technical descisions are astounding. weapon scrolling, lock on to manual targeting is LT pressure sensitive, cannot run whilst locking on, camera movement is sloppy, rubbish tilting 1st person on motorbikes, no more fuel caps, pool minigame insulting(can clip through ball to make shot) and many more. it just isnt user friendly like saints row but is still quite playable surprisingly
    Expand
  83. zackshannon
    Dec 4, 2008
    6
    I really wanted to love this game i really did. Its GTA for christ sakes, i have loved everone of there games up to this point...

    Pros: Amazing Story, Love the free roaming around the city. Decent Multiplayer. Some fantastic missions. Cons: Horrible driving, Bad gun mechanics, boring missions (755 of them) Multiplayer letdown. (some good games but mostly bad) Like i said i really
    I really wanted to love this game i really did. Its GTA for christ sakes, i have loved everone of there games up to this point...

    Pros: Amazing Story, Love the free roaming around the city. Decent Multiplayer. Some fantastic missions.

    Cons: Horrible driving, Bad gun mechanics, boring missions (755 of them) Multiplayer letdown. (some good games but mostly bad)

    Like i said i really wanted to like this game. But ahlast this gets my most disapointing game of the year awayd.
    Expand
  84. DylanE
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    gamertag: gamezombie009
    send me a message about any negative word about gta iv, wether you saw this in the game or some one told you, and can can prove it wrong

    @ John H.
    hopping in a taxi can teleport you to any part of the city if you "press A to skip" when inside
  85. ChrisLambert
    Dec 24, 2008
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is definitely the best game I've ever played in my life! Anyone who gives this game below a perfect score of 10 has impossible expectations out of games. Rockstar North put an indescribable amount of detail into GTA IV, and I still play the game frequently, despite my having had the game since early May.
    You absolutely need to play this game (if you haven't
    Grand Theft Auto IV is definitely the best game I've ever played in my life! Anyone who gives this game below a perfect score of 10 has impossible expectations out of games. Rockstar North put an indescribable amount of detail into GTA IV, and I still play the game frequently, despite my having had the game since early May.
    You absolutely need to play this game (if you haven't already)!!!!! 15/10 (if I could rate that high)!!!!
    Expand
  86. PaulWilson
    Feb 15, 2009
    0
    OMG are these game critics serious? 98 average? WTF. It is soooo boring. For one thing the physics program is too real. What happened to the good old days of Vice City? That game ruled. It wasn't graphics busy. The extra missions were fun. It was easy to get around. Just about everything was FUN. When did games become a second life? It makes no sense for GAME to be REAL. There isOMG are these game critics serious? 98 average? WTF. It is soooo boring. For one thing the physics program is too real. What happened to the good old days of Vice City? That game ruled. It wasn't graphics busy. The extra missions were fun. It was easy to get around. Just about everything was FUN. When did games become a second life? It makes no sense for GAME to be REAL. There is such a thing as TOO real. The next GTA game will be one where a guy who had a bad past life and is a master with all weapons moves to New Yor- i mean some completely new city and takes on the mob but gets assasinated by a hitman in the first 5 minutes of game play. Thats it. Real enough? Expand
  87. NajamUddin
    Feb 17, 2009
    1
    This is the most over-rated i have ever played.the game play is pathetic and there low class violence.missions are easy and too less.this game had a lot of expectations from all of us but turned out to be a flop.(sigh)this game overall doesn't receive any good compliments from me.this was the worst rockstars have ever made.This game SUCKS! believe me.i ain't lyin'.don'tThis is the most over-rated i have ever played.the game play is pathetic and there low class violence.missions are easy and too less.this game had a lot of expectations from all of us but turned out to be a flop.(sigh)this game overall doesn't receive any good compliments from me.this was the worst rockstars have ever made.This game SUCKS! believe me.i ain't lyin'.don't waste your $60 to buy it.most of the critics score comes from the EDITORS CHOICE. Expand
  88. MatthewEdwards
    Mar 3, 2009
    5
    Sure it's smooth, violent, edgy, and huge. However, it is still the same game it was when GTA 3 came out. So little has changed except for the graphics that I got bored in under 2 hours. I'm pretty sure the only reason it scores so high is that Junior High kids love any game that says F&%K. Screw Rockstar games and the dusty old horse they rode in on ( and charged $60 for).
  89. MattF
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    A stunning technical achievement that includes a world full of detail, stunning graphics, incredible storyline/voice acting. Anyone who rates this 0 is a cynical loser who thinks going against the grain and down-rating a popular game makes them smart or better than everyone else, and nothing will ever appease them.
  90. montedoucette
    Mar 26, 2009
    7
    Truthfully its a big upset to any one expecting to build a character like they had showed in Gta 4 good real voices it was interesting you should really have alot more custom things in games now a days this was way over rated and if you need help on the next one call me id be glad i know what truw gamers want
  91. MikeD
    Apr 25, 2009
    8
    This game is not even close to the best game on earth....it is very fun in the beginning and then it gets very, very bad. I've noticed that when I am online stuff is different for my buddies and it has horrible lag. My friends will float and sometimes cars will not be in the same spots for them. The multiplayer mode is by far one of the worse I have ever played. Other than that, theThis game is not even close to the best game on earth....it is very fun in the beginning and then it gets very, very bad. I've noticed that when I am online stuff is different for my buddies and it has horrible lag. My friends will float and sometimes cars will not be in the same spots for them. The multiplayer mode is by far one of the worse I have ever played. Other than that, the only other flaw is the physics, couldn't they have just used ragdolls? I can't have any fun when I stand on top of cars or anything cause you just fall! And your guy always stumbles around like a dunderhead. But, besides that the singleplayer campaign is amazing! The story is very well told and it couldn't get any better. The graphics are also eye bewildering, from the cars to the buildings and to the water it looks life-like. If you want a game with a good singleplayer and great graphics please buy this game. But if you want a fun combination of singleplayer and multiplayer with ok graphics, buy Saints Row 2. Expand
  92. ChrisS
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more safehouses, car customization, and so on. But come on people, GTA was never supposed to be The Sims...this is an action game! Instead of a hollow (but funny) character like CJ who the player could "pimp out" through various means, Rockstar has filled its A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more safehouses, car customization, and so on. But come on people, GTA was never supposed to be The Sims...this is an action game! Instead of a hollow (but funny) character like CJ who the player could "pimp out" through various means, Rockstar has filled its beautiful gameworld with likable, believable characters. Sure there's no busting into Area 69 or blowing up a government cargo plane and then skydiving out...but there is still plenty of freedom and fun to be had in Liberty City's sandbox world. GTA has grown up. This was inevitably going to disappoint some gamers, but in my opinion it is a welcome change. The depth of the characters and world finds me going on fewer killing sprees and often running from police rather than slaying them, and to be honest, there's something awesomely revolutionary and superior about a GTA world full of characters I want to keep around. (Its still fun to push them in the water though). Expand
  93. JacobM
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    It's an entertaining game that can keep me occupied for a few hours. However, most of the missions are similar to one another, and to the missions in previous games. The camera is sometime hard to control and will give you a weird viewpoint, especially when driving. The graphics are not top notch either. Even though this game has some problems and is repetitive, it will keep youIt's an entertaining game that can keep me occupied for a few hours. However, most of the missions are similar to one another, and to the missions in previous games. The camera is sometime hard to control and will give you a weird viewpoint, especially when driving. The graphics are not top notch either. Even though this game has some problems and is repetitive, it will keep you playing for a while, because the story is pretty long. Expand
  94. StuY
    Aug 17, 2009
    3
    After hearing so much about the game, i decided to borrow it from a friend. I played through 10 or 20 mission before i was sick of listening to my cousin talk about nothing. "Hey want to go bowling". "Hey, drive me hear. Take me there." i like GTA 3 where you get the mission and nobody says anything.
  95. ChrisLudwick
    Aug 25, 2009
    2
    I had some fun playing it but its just not the same as the other ones,it doesnt feel like a GTA game.trust me im no GTA hater i loved san andreas and vice city but this one never really made me like have to beat it...hopefully the next one will be better
  96. TN
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Best game ever ffs. Hate theese kids that are addicted to the Sims and WoW and can't appreciate a good game. "I like to fly around in Jetpacks" well come on! What the fuck!
    Does anyone remember GTA1? That rocked and now you want a tamagoochi?

    Get real, n00bs
  97. VictorM.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Best game ever
  98. JakeH.
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    This game is truly amazing.
  99. MiguelL.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    I think this game is just going to be incredible and revolutionary enough for all games to follow in its footsteps.
  100. JackB.
    Apr 21, 2008
    1
    Character movements are real slow, an the frame rates suffer a lot wen the shooting begins.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    98
    Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.