Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3019 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Kewlkat
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    One time while I was playing, I saw a fat man eating a hotdog walking across the street. A van came zooming by, and fat boy went in circles in the air. The driver got out to see if the fat man was ok. Fat man was on the ground, like he was making an angel in the snow, breathing heavily. LOL!!! After I saw that, I was sold.
  2. EricP.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    I believe this game is the best of the year. No sandbox game has come close to this kind of size and scope an overall immersion of the player into the world (except for maybe Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion).
  3. ChadT.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    The best game i've ever played, but I wish I could do drugs ect. like on saints row.
  4. KevinD.
    Apr 29, 2008
    8
    While I love the open-ended nature of the whole experience (of the whole series), the infuriating flaws like the difficulty driving automobiles etc. just get to me after a while.
  5. CashOut
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Great Multi, Always dreamed this day would come. Nothing like having 4 friends in a helicopter and taking on 3 guys in a 4rner. Gunz Balzing
  6. VladimirR.
    Apr 29, 2008
    7
    The game is fun but nothing special. Minor improvement over past Grand Theft Autos.
  7. AdrianJ.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Awsome game but controls are really horrible and this game is no were worth a ten for some reason it seems magazines gives ten out for anything like Halo 3 got alot of tens and that game is horrible.
  8. Halleluja
    Apr 29, 2008
    0
    Same as every gta. Just better graphics. Characters look like dolls. Bad aura. Only americans and children will like this game.
  9. MuSauce
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I first started playing this game and I thought hmmm..... Overrated...maybe? But the more I played, the better it got. All I have to say is that the people that have already written reviews knocking it, haven't played it enough. I am giving it a 10 cause I know it will be when all is said and done. on top of that the multiplayer is ridiculously fun!
  10. SteveB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    It's awesome, and this 10/10 is deserved. Also, big lol's at the people trying to bring the overall score down that have never played it before.
  11. EdenH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Best game of this decade and that's all there is to it.
  12. TequliaM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    A great game, but definitely not the best next-gen title.(Bioshock and Oblivion still ahead in my opinion) The environment has some grade A graphics but the cars themselves are a let-down. (There is no excuse for semi transparent cars in a next -gen game) The strength of this title and the reason you should buy it is for the storyline,both in its cinematic quality and scope. And it's A great game, but definitely not the best next-gen title.(Bioshock and Oblivion still ahead in my opinion) The environment has some grade A graphics but the cars themselves are a let-down. (There is no excuse for semi transparent cars in a next -gen game) The strength of this title and the reason you should buy it is for the storyline,both in its cinematic quality and scope. And it's a lot of fun. Expand
  13. TomJ.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    Same old game with new graphics. Not worthy of all the hype.
  14. AndyH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Fantastic return to form for the series. A must buy for any mature gamer with either console.
  15. Mobius
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Rockstar does it again, but whatâ??s different from the previous GTAâ??s. Well in my opinion not a lot, after playing for 15 hours I was awe struck yet disappointed, I donâ??t know how but I was pulled into the hype of GTA4 and for some reason I was expecting something different something that wasnâ??t GTA Something Amazing!, what I got was GTA?. From the off it Rockstar does it again, but whatâ??s different from the previous GTAâ??s. Well in my opinion not a lot, after playing for 15 hours I was awe struck yet disappointed, I donâ??t know how but I was pulled into the hype of GTA4 and for some reason I was expecting something different something that wasnâ??t GTA Something Amazing!, what I got was GTA?. From the off it feels like GTA and sounds like GTA, nothing much has changed from the previous versions, and for me I am glad of it because you donâ??t screw around with a winning formula, but what is it that makes GTA4 so different, well the only thing apart from multiplayer is the graphics, oddly enough while driving around liberty city you come across areas that look familiar, and only then do you see that your driving around the GTA 3 liberty city, only now it looks like a living breathing city, I guess this is what Rockstar wanted all along and it is only now with the next generation Consoleâ??s that they decided to remake GTA3, and all I can say is WOW. I donâ??t disagree with the magazine reviews or other play.com reviewers, GTA4 is a contender for Game of the Year but take away the polished graphics and what you have is GTA3 with extra contend and better thought out gameplay, donâ??t get me wrong GTA4 is fantastic and if youâ??re a fan of the GTA series then this should be part of your collection without question. Hopefully they donâ??t bother with a Vice City remake and go straight to the San Andreas remake. Expand
  16. JoeM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Overall a fun game after 3 hrs - When comparing to Saints Row, Some things i don't like so far include: 1- cannot turn OFF the radio - give me the option to not listen to anything. 2- clothes buying - talk about painful- You have to walk your dude thru the store to find the clothes and put them on, take them off.. just give me a menu with some screen shots of the new look and let me Overall a fun game after 3 hrs - When comparing to Saints Row, Some things i don't like so far include: 1- cannot turn OFF the radio - give me the option to not listen to anything. 2- clothes buying - talk about painful- You have to walk your dude thru the store to find the clothes and put them on, take them off.. just give me a menu with some screen shots of the new look and let me be on my way.. 3- saving does a 6hr fast forward in gametime; its not a big deal, but if you wanted to go on that hot date and its now 3am.. you will get blown off. 4- multiplayer interface - I tried to host a game with some other friends that got the game and never figured out how to change the game type- number of players.. give me a non-game interface menu (NOT the cell phone menu) to set it up before launching. 5- Exploring: I could not leave the new player area - the bridge was blocked off probably due to the 'unlocking feature'. Let me go for a real drive and explore the city. Aside from that, the graphics are excellent, the physics engine is great and the new combat system (cover) helps alot. Expand
  17. YanA.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Stunning, an absolute crackajack, if you don't buy this, you've wasted your money in buying your console!
  18. KevinK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This game changed so much and all of it was for the better.
  19. JBrown
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The amount of immature idiots posting is near unbelievable, just because you can't do one thing doesn't mean you give the game a 0 - the game so far for me (i'm about 25% through) is a 10, the reason why? Simple. Its better than the other GTA's, looks fresher, feels more responsive and man anyone who says the graphics are poor needs to get a head check. The attention The amount of immature idiots posting is near unbelievable, just because you can't do one thing doesn't mean you give the game a 0 - the game so far for me (i'm about 25% through) is a 10, the reason why? Simple. Its better than the other GTA's, looks fresher, feels more responsive and man anyone who says the graphics are poor needs to get a head check. The attention to detail is RIDICULOUS! If you ever play a game with this much in it, then its on another planet. What rockstar have done is made a world to believe in, a multiplayer you will enjoy and make the wait for the downloadable content even worse. Small planes/Tanks/More Helicopters please! :) And i've not played the PS3 version. But come ON guys, if the graphics are better, then thats to be expected, the power in the console compared to the 360 is UNREAL. I would expect the entire game to be better but just the graphics? no in game rewards? Sure it makes it better to prank around in, but i'll stick to a solid game with 10 extra hours of DLC every 5 months and achievements to show my game progress. HOORAH Expand
  20. CharlesT.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    this game is great the first time i played the thing i was most amazed about were the graphics the only thing I really dont like is that the camera is sometimes bad but thats about it. If i had this choice I would give it a 9.9/10.
  21. AndyK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    The best GTA of all, but still not that good I expected from a next-gen-gta...maybe next time.
  22. Matt
    Apr 30, 2008
    7
    It's GTA with a new story and new graphics. Not a 10 out of 10. Graphics are average, not as much freedom as Crackdown and the music is nowhere near as good as Vice City's. Good points are attention to detail, cinematography, and sound effects. The driving is also very good, loose and fluid control and great damage modelling.
  23. MarkT.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Tremendously good game - I have not played it all clearly, as it only just came out - but from initial hours a spectacular achievement. Has that godfather type pacing, so does not grab you by the throat from the outset like, say, Bioshock or COD 4, but this is a different creature. Why not a 10? Controls. Maybe its just me, but I find them a bit sluggish, on foot in particular. I also Tremendously good game - I have not played it all clearly, as it only just came out - but from initial hours a spectacular achievement. Has that godfather type pacing, so does not grab you by the throat from the outset like, say, Bioshock or COD 4, but this is a different creature. Why not a 10? Controls. Maybe its just me, but I find them a bit sluggish, on foot in particular. I also found the car shard to use at proper speeds... it too quickly began accelerating wildy and skidding all over the place. That's fun, don't get me wrong, but for true sandbox I would have preferred conservative driving to be a little easier. Expand
  24. CoreyH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I'm in love with this game.
  25. VanniG
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Not exactly perfect but its GTA4 on a next Gen console!!!! Its a sandbox game. And this game deserves Game of Year for 2008. The new game engine RAGE with euphoria physics is just amazing. You could say it could be better, but compare to san andrea's and its 100% better. This is a great game and everyone and anyone who doesn't own it should! 10/10 CAN"T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!! Not exactly perfect but its GTA4 on a next Gen console!!!! Its a sandbox game. And this game deserves Game of Year for 2008. The new game engine RAGE with euphoria physics is just amazing. You could say it could be better, but compare to san andrea's and its 100% better. This is a great game and everyone and anyone who doesn't own it should! 10/10 CAN"T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!! HELL YEA NUKKA! Expand
  26. VictorM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  27. FPSMaster
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    I'm just not seeing where all these 10/10's are coming from. I don't even see how it could manage to get an 8/10. They took out a ton of things that every other GTA game let you do to deepen the gameplay. Is there any point to free-roaming now other than to watch yourself go through a windshiield? Where are the RPG elements and hidden things to find in the environments? The I'm just not seeing where all these 10/10's are coming from. I don't even see how it could manage to get an 8/10. They took out a ton of things that every other GTA game let you do to deepen the gameplay. Is there any point to free-roaming now other than to watch yourself go through a windshiield? Where are the RPG elements and hidden things to find in the environments? The graphics are very jaggy and blurry and constantly jitter even when you're not moving. They never look clean or crisp, something Saint's Row did better in 2006.The character movement is still blocky and PS2-ishy feeling so the animations are stilted and last gen as are the character models and when you go to do something your character may or may not do what you want him to since the controls are still very much broken and very, very sluggish. Fist fighting, gun fighting and aiming are no better than before and they almost always do the exact opposite of your button inputs because again, the controls for them are very sluggish. Vehicles handle like Test Drive 5's from PS1 meaning they do whatever they want, skipping and sliding all over the place making the entire point of GTA redundant now: just stay on foot. The hyped Euphoria engine is a joke and does nothing we haven't seen a hundred times already this gen from physics engines, and in some cases seems a generation behind still. Music sucks, using the cel phone sucks and the text and screen cut-off makes things unreadable. The A.I., explosions, voice acting and lighting are decent, but the same old/same old GTA fetch-quest story mission structure is getting boring after rehashing the same game and the same missions 6 times now. MP seems thrown in at the last minute and lags to Hell and back and just doesn't fit GTA at all. I've been doing these same missions and playing this exact same game since 2001, although last gen versions destroyed this one EASILY. Rockstar can sleep well now knowing they managed to do something no other developer has been able to do up until this point: make the exact same game as the other 5 from last gen, NOT push any envelopes but instead make the same standard jump every other developer has with new hardware this gen, and still have the most overhyyped, overrated game in the history of gaming still sell out and still get PERFECT scores. If the 360 was around in 2004, this is what San Andreas would have been. Meaning there's nothing here that couldn't have been done by any developer given new hardware. Rockstar BLOWS as do "PRO" reviewers.. Expand
  28. JonF.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played and should get game of the year.
  29. IvanJ.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Good game, but no way it's a 10. A 10 means absolute perfection, and there's plenty of things that could have been better (driving interface anyone?)
  30. Andrew
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I have to question whether the 6's and 7's have even played the game, not just based on their scores given but on their comments. Mediocre graphics? Standing around waiting? What the hell are you talking about? Either they have ridiculously high expectations or they haven't even played the game. GTA IV is a masterpiece, and this is coming from someone who was never a big I have to question whether the 6's and 7's have even played the game, not just based on their scores given but on their comments. Mediocre graphics? Standing around waiting? What the hell are you talking about? Either they have ridiculously high expectations or they haven't even played the game. GTA IV is a masterpiece, and this is coming from someone who was never a big fan of prior GTA games. I always got bored with the frustrating missions, one dimensional characters, and boring narrative, and would just go around blowing stuff up. I didn't even bother with San Andreas, as I knew I wouldn't be into it. Something told me this game would be both different and better, and it is. This is the first (and only) GTA game I've played where the storyline has trumped wandering and exploring. Even in Oblivion I played a good 40 or so hours before even touching the main story (that isn't exaggeration.) In GTA IV, I haven't even felt the urge to go off on a tangent like that. The story is that engrossing and the characters are that interesting. Not to mention the gameplay and missions are so much damn fun. This game truly has something for everyone. It's nice to see something other than another stupid FPS garnering rave reviews, as I loathe most FPS and twitchy games in general (BioShock being a notable exception.) Easily the best next-gen game yet, and it will take something truly extraordinary to top it. Miss out at your own risk. Expand
  31. LenB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    its obvious that people are just being ignorant when they give this game a 0........give me a break this game is at least an 11! to all those zero people......face the facts..you never even played the game. prob mad that you cant afford the 60$.... As far as the game goes, fun in every aspect! wheather its just shoting civilians, or doing missions...a great way to spend a rainy day off! its obvious that people are just being ignorant when they give this game a 0........give me a break this game is at least an 11! to all those zero people......face the facts..you never even played the game. prob mad that you cant afford the 60$.... As far as the game goes, fun in every aspect! wheather its just shoting civilians, or doing missions...a great way to spend a rainy day off! And ive only got 1% of the game done! Expand
  32. MadisonK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Graphics aren't mindblowing given the current generation of games and the gameplay itself doesn't offer earth-shattering innovation. Same formula as all the other GTA series, with a few neat additions. Those criticisms don't matter simply because GTA4 has kept me entertained like no other game. This is the most fun I have ever had. EVER. If they charged $120, I'd still Graphics aren't mindblowing given the current generation of games and the gameplay itself doesn't offer earth-shattering innovation. Same formula as all the other GTA series, with a few neat additions. Those criticisms don't matter simply because GTA4 has kept me entertained like no other game. This is the most fun I have ever had. EVER. If they charged $120, I'd still buy it. I simply cannot think of a single thing in-game that isn't a blast. Good job, Rockstar! Expand
  33. Roger
    Apr 30, 2008
    7
    Its got a great dynamic world with great weather effects. Its a maasive game with a great story. BUT i think the missions are a bit dull and the basic gameplay is old. Very dissapointed to be honest after all the hype. I see nothing to justify a 10/10. Im not saying its bad its just nothing special.
  34. ChrisS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. Easily the best game I have ever played. Rockstar has changed everything with this game, taking the next-gen consoles by the balls, looking at other developers and saying "Ok guys, this is how it's done. Feel free to take notes and build upon it."
  35. EricD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    In the first two hours of gameplay I watched some hilarious television, sped around the city in a stolen car, got into two fist fights, got arrested, went on a date to go bowling, played pool in a bar, and crashed so hard while driving that I flew through windshield. The actions and responses in this game are the most realistic I have ever seen. I can't imagine playing another game In the first two hours of gameplay I watched some hilarious television, sped around the city in a stolen car, got into two fist fights, got arrested, went on a date to go bowling, played pool in a bar, and crashed so hard while driving that I flew through windshield. The actions and responses in this game are the most realistic I have ever seen. I can't imagine playing another game for weeks and look forward to exploring every aspect of this masterpiece. Expand
  36. CamCam
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    game is good, but not great. Visuals outstanding, but reminded me too much of old games, only a few new things. MP is cool, great addition.
  37. YourMother
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Fantastic storytelling, above average graphics, and a below average soundtrack compared to previous GTA games. The vehicles control like the ground is made of ice. Nonetheless, it's a whole lot of fun.
  38. Firehead
    Apr 30, 2008
    7
    10/10 means a perfect game, and GTA IV isn't. Anyone who gives it a 10 is kidding themselves. It's a good game, very addicting, and its popularity just got bigger. But games like Bioshock, COD4, Crysis (for you PC fanboys) have raised standards so high in terms of graphics, sound, and gameplay that GTA IV falls a bit short, albeit by not much. And those games didn't get a 10/10 means a perfect game, and GTA IV isn't. Anyone who gives it a 10 is kidding themselves. It's a good game, very addicting, and its popularity just got bigger. But games like Bioshock, COD4, Crysis (for you PC fanboys) have raised standards so high in terms of graphics, sound, and gameplay that GTA IV falls a bit short, albeit by not much. And those games didn't get a 10. So it's only fair that GTA IV doesn't either. And to those saying that GTA IV "is your life"... dude... Expand
  39. SeAjala
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    This game is phenominal but a 10/10? Nah let's all take a deep breath. and relax. In the end GTA IV comes down to: more of the same in a solid game franchise with smoothed rough edges (targetting), and a loads of content. But groundbreaking? Not in a San Andreas kind of way.
  40. AnthonyF.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    If Carlsberg did games it would quite simply be GTA4. Single player game is very engaging and is nicely paced I've just completed after nearly 32hrs game time and I haven't even delved into any of the side missions or races but simply brilliant. Was going to give it a nine because of the sometimes unresponsive controls and slightly awkward auto-aim, but when you go online with If Carlsberg did games it would quite simply be GTA4. Single player game is very engaging and is nicely paced I've just completed after nearly 32hrs game time and I haven't even delved into any of the side missions or races but simply brilliant. Was going to give it a nine because of the sometimes unresponsive controls and slightly awkward auto-aim, but when you go online with some friends it for me so far has been one of the best and most fun online experiences you could have on xbox live. Expand
  41. RayW.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I like how when people see a something get a good score they immediately feel obligated to hate on it and give it low score. Its a great game accept it... get higher self esteem because your clearly hating for no reason.
  42. JasonS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Simply surreal; easily the closest to a "real" game world out there today. The only reason this may not feel like a milestone to some is because Rockstar has wowed us thrice before, leaving us to expect the impossible. Well, this time they pulled it off.
  43. ShainE.
    Apr 30, 2008
    7
    This is a good game. However, it has some technical problems which are surprisingly severe. I really expected a better finished product. Far worse technical issues than other recent games have been crucified over. Euphoria engine is great in some places, but really awkward in others. Still, it adds a bit more life to the streets. I do like how the aiming system has improved, multiplayer This is a good game. However, it has some technical problems which are surprisingly severe. I really expected a better finished product. Far worse technical issues than other recent games have been crucified over. Euphoria engine is great in some places, but really awkward in others. Still, it adds a bit more life to the streets. I do like how the aiming system has improved, multiplayer is fun although buggy, and the story is above par for GTA. Expand
  44. StevenH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Overrated for sure... I don't know why Its getting THIS good of ratings, but it is a cool fun experience and a must buy for console gamers OVER 17 years of age. Plus I hate it when People are dissing the xbox verson because of one Point... the only reason why its down by one is because it has twice as many reviews.
  45. BobicoolD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    so cool, the graphique are great (but not like COD4), after you finish the game you can play for houres and houred, do side mission and get lost in the world. And in + rockstar put's multiplayer mode WTF so cool you can play for so long and years so let's play and wait for the nexte one. This is one of the best game of my life.
  46. MarkG.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    The best game ever made. The detail is amazing the story's brilliant and the gameplay is perfect and as ever the radio stations are great and the voice acting is as good as ever. Muti player is also great and combined with every thing else there is to do this breath taking game will keep you hooked for not just months but even years.
  47. BenL.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    THis is my standpoint. They went from Grandtheft auto 3.. Straight to Grandtheft auto 4. They forgot things that they used in Vice City and San Andreas. 1. Character customization is hugely lacking in this game - San Andreas you could pick haircuts, hairstyles, colors, control the weight of your character. 2. No planes - wow San Andreas had it. 3. Multiplayer and you cant go to the strip THis is my standpoint. They went from Grandtheft auto 3.. Straight to Grandtheft auto 4. They forgot things that they used in Vice City and San Andreas. 1. Character customization is hugely lacking in this game - San Andreas you could pick haircuts, hairstyles, colors, control the weight of your character. 2. No planes - wow San Andreas had it. 3. Multiplayer and you cant go to the strip club 4. Did you learn anything from your competition Saints Row had the best character customization yet for this style of game.. Come on 5. Wow is everybody broke in New York because in San Andreas you kill someone you at least got 12 dollars - I guess you just have to stake out ATM's. 6. San Andreas you had homies that you could summon and ride along with you. Basically they had a lot of features that they just plain forgot about that made grand theft auto better then previous copies. Yes it does have mulitplayer but terrible co-op Expand
  48. DanielB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Considering the scope of the city, the graphics are amazing. Being able to go in and out of a building without any load times and go back out without load times is truly amazing, especially when you take a look inside some of these buildings and see how much detail there is. The gameplay is absolutely fantastic. Without a doubt a 10/10.
  49. TerryG.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    Standard Grand Theft Auto. Graphically impressive with a robust, alive world. Really impressing. The multiplayer should've been cut down to free roam. To access MP is an insult to intuitive design and should be completely remade. I have never dealt with more frustrating Multiplayer in my life. If it wasn't for multiplayer I would give it an 8/10. It is not a 10/10 game... thats Standard Grand Theft Auto. Graphically impressive with a robust, alive world. Really impressing. The multiplayer should've been cut down to free roam. To access MP is an insult to intuitive design and should be completely remade. I have never dealt with more frustrating Multiplayer in my life. If it wasn't for multiplayer I would give it an 8/10. It is not a 10/10 game... thats just stupid game reviewer hype they just don't want to anger their customers. Expand
  50. JeromeD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Look, I understand the shock and awe of GTA4. However its just GTA3 with a few nice upgrades. I have a 65" DLP diamond. Full HDMI and the graphics are close to laughable. Oblivion came out at the beginning of this generation and looks better. But the mechanics? Sure there nice, but what of everything else. They downgraded all kinds of things from the other games and for what? So I can see Look, I understand the shock and awe of GTA4. However its just GTA3 with a few nice upgrades. I have a 65" DLP diamond. Full HDMI and the graphics are close to laughable. Oblivion came out at the beginning of this generation and looks better. But the mechanics? Sure there nice, but what of everything else. They downgraded all kinds of things from the other games and for what? So I can see what would really happen when you get hit by a car, or drive under a bridge and see all those nice lighting effects? This is an honest step back from the series and as soon as the hype machine slows down and the fog clears, you'll see what I'm talking about. Its a good game not a great game and certanly, not a 10. Like Halo 3, this is the critcs sucking up to the great publishers. Get real. Expand
  51. AlessioS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I can't stop playing it..this game rocks! Huge scenario, great gameplay, detailed graphic, hilarious dialogues and a bad arse music selection..how could it be any better?
  52. MaxH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Not perfect. But pretty darned good.
  53. ShawnM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Its really the same old gta with a fresh coat of paint...San Andreas had a bigger wow effect on me. Its not bad, just dont believe the hype...best video game ever? Not even close.
  54. TomW.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    All that suckers who says that this game is not awesome you must be retardet there is nothing to say about the graphics or the gameplay a few popups can't ruin a game and the storyline is awesome as well so i don't understeand why you posting bad rewiews you morons
  55. FreddyD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    The cars handle like crap. Just another GTA, but the best one yet of course. Just super-glossed up.
  56. MikeB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    7
    Good game, meh graphics, overall overrated! PLease compare GTA 4 to GTA SA or even Saints Row before labeling this the greatest game EVER! It's the same ol fun to play formula with the usual weaker than everything else available graphics that GTA fans have come to love but lets not get ahaead of ourselves.
  57. MackM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This game has some issues, there is some pop up and the new driving mechanics take same time...but once you get through that it is without a doubt the BEST game to come out within the last 10 years. regardless if ur a fan of GTA or not this one is absolutely necessary to play. If your a gamer this needs to be in you collection
  58. CarterS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Best game I've ever played!
  59. JimboH.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Comparable to GTA III the first time you played it. Superb storyline. Been a while since I've played a game this fun. Loses a point because the humor that we saw in GTA III isn't really there (where's lazlow when you need him?!). They might as well of just had people randomly say "Republicans are stoopid" followed by a laugh track and some random swearing, since that's Comparable to GTA III the first time you played it. Superb storyline. Been a while since I've played a game this fun. Loses a point because the humor that we saw in GTA III isn't really there (where's lazlow when you need him?!). They might as well of just had people randomly say "Republicans are stoopid" followed by a laugh track and some random swearing, since that's basically what over half of the "humor" is. Expand
  60. GameCritic
    May 1, 2008
    10
    You know what got me about this game? The cinnematics. The characters in this game act BETTER than REAL actors in hollywood. And the script is ROCK SOLID. I'm going to replay this game forever... Until the next 1 lol. GO ROCKSTAR... Oh yea and there is a hot coffee joke in the game and it is hilarious! ROCKSTAR U R SUCH PIMPS LMAO
  61. BlockssT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best GTA ever, theres so much things to do along with a superior multiplayer mode and soon get EXCLUSIVE download contents only for the XBOX360. This GTA4 will keep me busy for years to come. There is no way anybody could give this game less then a 10.
  62. AndyR.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Its a perfect 10 just because of the story. Love it!
  63. AlienWare
    May 1, 2008
    10
    ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC, and the first game that could dethrone Half-Life 2.
  64. Catraven
    May 1, 2008
    9
    This game is the best GTA to date. It's so much fun that I can't wait to play it when I get home from work! The missions are fun and easy and I hope they stay that way.Good job Rockstar!
  65. JackD.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best game I've ever played... little on the 'naughty' side, but you know - that's what the game is.
  66. ShannonL.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    I dont know why anyone is disapointed withthis game. - By far the BEST and most technologically advanced game I have ever played By FAR!
  67. bestgameever
    May 1, 2008
    10
    NO doubt great graphics when looked at the size of map and compared to previous GTA. THe controls are more realisitc and a ittle harder to control at first but then it is like second nature. THe story is one of the best ever THe sound also very good with a variety of stations and talkshows. The online is a little hard to get on but it was very fun when i was on. There might be a little NO doubt great graphics when looked at the size of map and compared to previous GTA. THe controls are more realisitc and a ittle harder to control at first but then it is like second nature. THe story is one of the best ever THe sound also very good with a variety of stations and talkshows. The online is a little hard to get on but it was very fun when i was on. There might be a little problems but not enough from letting this titlw not get a 10 PS3 version. Expand
  68. ElTorago
    May 1, 2008
    10
    The greatest game ever. Period. I don't even have the game yet.
  69. HojoM.
    May 1, 2008
    8
    Awesome game, but does not feel finished... very rocky in areas... far from perfect. I would say 9 but the 8 is to balance it out...a little anyways...realistically I'd say it's like a 9.2/10.
  70. BenR.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It was about time GTA got rid of those crummy canned animations. TG for Euphoria and 16 player Free Roaming!
  71. JensC.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Very surprised by some of the sour comments, this is the best next gen game sor far. It is a very subtle game in some respects in that you get out what you put in. Sensational IMHO.
  72. Can'tStandHumanStupidity
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Honestly, if you think the graphics aren't fantastic, not only do you know nothing about video games but you should give them up all together. People need to stop pretending they know anything. GTAIV is the epitome of sand box video games. The attention to detail, no loading time between areas, fantastic physics, great story line, etc is what makes this a 10. If you think it's Honestly, if you think the graphics aren't fantastic, not only do you know nothing about video games but you should give them up all together. People need to stop pretending they know anything. GTAIV is the epitome of sand box video games. The attention to detail, no loading time between areas, fantastic physics, great story line, etc is what makes this a 10. If you think it's graphically mediocre, you're incapable of proper thinking. Just stop. Expand
  73. KevinC.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best game to come out since Ocarina of Time.
  74. MikeM.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    As much as I hate to say it, this is the best game I have ever played. If I had to find a flaw with this game, it would be that sometimes the game gives me too much to do at once: I'll be on a mission for person A - say, winning a street race - and while on the mission two more characters I know will call me to do some other job for them. Everything I didn't like about Vice City As much as I hate to say it, this is the best game I have ever played. If I had to find a flaw with this game, it would be that sometimes the game gives me too much to do at once: I'll be on a mission for person A - say, winning a street race - and while on the mission two more characters I know will call me to do some other job for them. Everything I didn't like about Vice City and San Andreas has been fixed, and some things I couldn't even think of improvements for have been overhauled and upgraded. I could go on and on about how great this game is, but because I know some people will TL,DR this already I'll hit a few high points: -Autosave feature that, if enabled, saves the game after every mission (dates etc included). This makes it a lot more convenient to do a bunch of missions in a row without driving across town. -A story good enough to be publishable -Unbelievable police AI: I have yet to escape successfully after the SWAT team is called -Best of all: a multi player experience second to none in sheer entertainment value in the entire history of gaming. Anyone who gives this game less than a 9 is a Nintendo fanboy, a troll, or both; even my 50-year-old mother loves this game. Expand
  75. RobR.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is PERFECT. And I might just have to say that it is the single greatest game of all time. Pros : Great story line, incredible voice acting, good graphics, easily the best physics ever in a game, and too many more for me to include here Cons: Minor (30) to major (10) frame rate drop in intense moments of the game, and the textures pop in sometimes. Overall the Pros WAY outway the This game is PERFECT. And I might just have to say that it is the single greatest game of all time. Pros : Great story line, incredible voice acting, good graphics, easily the best physics ever in a game, and too many more for me to include here Cons: Minor (30) to major (10) frame rate drop in intense moments of the game, and the textures pop in sometimes. Overall the Pros WAY outway the cons. 10.5/10 GO BUY THE GREATEST GAME SINCE... EVER Expand
  76. ChrisM
    May 1, 2008
    10
    I would give it a 97/100, so I guess it gets a 10/10. If you liked/loved previous GTA's you'll love this.
  77. Target
    May 1, 2008
    5
    Very disapointing! Does not live up to the hype.
  78. ZlatanK.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's not perfect as some seem to have expected, but it is masterful. Therefor it deserves a 10 as it is the best game of all time. From the graphics to the gameplay, it is masterful. If you want a game that has detail, you have to get GTA IV. The storyline won't let you go and the gameplay will hold you as its slave. You have been warned. The only flaws you can expect is within It's not perfect as some seem to have expected, but it is masterful. Therefor it deserves a 10 as it is the best game of all time. From the graphics to the gameplay, it is masterful. If you want a game that has detail, you have to get GTA IV. The storyline won't let you go and the gameplay will hold you as its slave. You have been warned. The only flaws you can expect is within the graphics. But these minor and they are inevitable, due to the limitations of the technology within the consoles. The multiplayer is also a fantastic addition to the series and has even enhanced the lifetime of the game that is already spectacular with the single player only. Rockstar has surely managed to set a new standard for feature game titles. Especially those within the "sandbox" genre, which GTA already is dominating. Expand
  79. DocK.
    May 1, 2008
    7
    Nothing special as far as I can tell, just a typical GTA game with a few graphical improvements. Story is ok so far, but overall I think the game is vastly overrated.
  80. MattC.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is the most realistic game on the market today...and thats what people are looking for, this game offers so much more then expected. You're not a ture American if you don't play Grand Theft Auto IV.
  81. LoganS.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Excellent from the story concepts down to the tiniest gritty detail.
  82. TomL.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Immersive storyline, fine gameplay, true to life street maps and demographics. A must have.
  83. JakeH.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is truly amazing.
  84. Cosmic
    May 1, 2008
    10
    The most incredible world put together in a video game that exists. Everything about it is incredible. To really take in this game and understand everything it is about, you will need to play for 50 hours or more, because even after playing hours and hours, you will find or realize something you didn't know before. No this game is not just for people who like GTA, this game is for The most incredible world put together in a video game that exists. Everything about it is incredible. To really take in this game and understand everything it is about, you will need to play for 50 hours or more, because even after playing hours and hours, you will find or realize something you didn't know before. No this game is not just for people who like GTA, this game is for people who want to play the most amazing video game ever made thus far. People with short attention spans stay away, this game may not be for you. Expand
  85. ArvinM.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Incredible storytelling, acting, music, ambiance, gameplay, just perfect.
  86. JohnC.
    May 1, 2008
    8
    Very good game, but honestly it doesn't seem that different to me than GTA III.
  87. Zark7
    May 1, 2008
    9
    The review scores for Halo 3 and Metroid Prime 3 were docked by some review sites for being "more of the same." Why wasn't this? Sure, there have been improvements from previous games, but I'd hardly call them revolutionary. I'd score it in the mid to upper nines but would dock it a few tenths just like Halo 3 or Metroid Prime 3 got docked for basically being an improved The review scores for Halo 3 and Metroid Prime 3 were docked by some review sites for being "more of the same." Why wasn't this? Sure, there have been improvements from previous games, but I'd hardly call them revolutionary. I'd score it in the mid to upper nines but would dock it a few tenths just like Halo 3 or Metroid Prime 3 got docked for basically being an improved version of the same game. Expand
  88. JonM.
    May 1, 2008
    7
    I agree the engine looks great, especially the lighting. But I am so bored. It is no where near as good as the amount the praise it has received.
  89. John
    May 1, 2008
    9
    this GTA is the best one that came out of the 8 that did. the thing that sucks is that you can't fly the jets.... or the forkleft you can't realy work it... but thats just what suckz with it... the car damge likes real you can see ever dent, the cop realy don't want to just kill you if you pull over they get out and walk to the car and realy arest you... but if u run they this GTA is the best one that came out of the 8 that did. the thing that sucks is that you can't fly the jets.... or the forkleft you can't realy work it... but thats just what suckz with it... the car damge likes real you can see ever dent, the cop realy don't want to just kill you if you pull over they get out and walk to the car and realy arest you... but if u run they pull out there fire arm and starts fireing at you.. that makes the game more like the real life cause cops just don't just shoot you. Expand
  90. TraderPro
    May 1, 2008
    9
    The graphics are impressive just because of how much stuff is in the game. The skyline views are beautiful, the city feels alive, and the violence is portayed far more realistically than ever before. Multiplayer is fun and crazy. Gears of War style cover and shoot mechanics make this one of the best games I've ever played. I can't wait to get off work and return to the streets The graphics are impressive just because of how much stuff is in the game. The skyline views are beautiful, the city feels alive, and the violence is portayed far more realistically than ever before. Multiplayer is fun and crazy. Gears of War style cover and shoot mechanics make this one of the best games I've ever played. I can't wait to get off work and return to the streets of L. City. Expand
  91. ChaseR.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. Ever. It's innovative, and will definitely change the face of gaming as we know it. The story is movie-quality, the characters are unique and interesting, and the gameplay mechanics are topnotch. After you get used to the new control scheme, you will love every minute you play.
  92. JuhaS.
    May 1, 2008
    5
    This came is like Saints raw 1,5 only thing beter to saints is the driving and physics engine and that ain't much.
  93. NickN.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    The best game I have ever played by far, I don't plan on playing anything else for a long long time.
  94. SteveL.
    May 1, 2008
    7
    This is a GOOD game, but not nearly the 100 score reviewers think it is. Camera controls, melee fighting, controls, driving, minigames, gps/map... they're all lackluster. GTA really shines with it's incredible storyline/openworld aspects - the attention to those asset details are amazing... but it really could use some more polish before it gets any game of the year praises.
  95. YarrrP.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    9 because it isnt perfect, but honestly its damn near close. Theres nothing like chasing someone accross rooftops murdering him in a alley and then going home to watch HSN sell swords haha
  96. JohnH.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    omg this is the best game in the WORLD and wen I say best game I mean best game come on anyone that hasn't and doesnt want to play it must be crazy.
  97. AndrewT.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    A groundbreaking triumph of the art form - in every way: graphics, sound, gameplay, presentation, story... simply amazing.
  98. JayM.
    May 1, 2008
    8
    The game is very good,but it misses something like in san andreas you could do everything. This was kind of a set back. Although multiplayer adds a kick to the game. I think the big reviewers such as gamespot and ign were payed to give a good review. Remember how Kayne and Lynch sucked, but got a bad review from gamespot so gamespot fired their reviewer.LOL consipracy. It deserves an 8 The game is very good,but it misses something like in san andreas you could do everything. This was kind of a set back. Although multiplayer adds a kick to the game. I think the big reviewers such as gamespot and ign were payed to give a good review. Remember how Kayne and Lynch sucked, but got a bad review from gamespot so gamespot fired their reviewer.LOL consipracy. It deserves an 8 maybe 8.5 just because it ahs multiplayer. if it didn`t have multiplayer I would of gave it a 7 Expand
  99. TD
    May 1, 2008
    7
    The game hasn't changed much from the past beside prettier graphics. There are plenty of glitches and uncomfortable controls. It gets off really slow due to having a mission for every little feature in the game. My enjoyment comes not from the game itself but just goofing around and seeing the behaviors. They definetly benefitted from using euphoria to make their game seem really The game hasn't changed much from the past beside prettier graphics. There are plenty of glitches and uncomfortable controls. It gets off really slow due to having a mission for every little feature in the game. My enjoyment comes not from the game itself but just goofing around and seeing the behaviors. They definetly benefitted from using euphoria to make their game seem really life like. An pretty good game at best but not 100%. Reviewers are caught up too much with the hype. Nobody cares to talk about negative or if they do they say there are all these issues but I'll give it a perfect score anyway. Expand
  100. ZR
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Every 2 minutes I have to pause and say "No way". Nuf said.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    98
    Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.