User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2778 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EdwardO.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    I'm not a GTA fan, never got into them aside from the random sandbox fun. I also didn't buy into the hype, and finally caved in because I finished with finals and decided it was worth a shot. GTA IV has completely blown me away. It isn't one spectacular thing, it's many small things that build up to become the best console game I have ever played, period. It's I'm not a GTA fan, never got into them aside from the random sandbox fun. I also didn't buy into the hype, and finally caved in because I finished with finals and decided it was worth a shot. GTA IV has completely blown me away. It isn't one spectacular thing, it's many small things that build up to become the best console game I have ever played, period. It's shocking, that I've had more fun with GTA, a 'mainstream' game than Orange Box and Bioshock. But GTA IV has become my favorite console game of all time, and my second favorite game of all time. It's that good. Expand
  2. DaveC.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    The best GTA so far. Period.
  3. ChasseB.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Game was great, the new shooting was improved ALOT. My only complaint is that when someone gets behind you it is a bit difficult to kill that enemy. It is very minor though and t-not that bug of a deal.
  4. JohnM
    May 7, 2008
    3
    this isnt good, do NOT BUY IT! it doesnt live up to the hype the graphics dont look that great and the missions arent that fun, this isnt good, STOP BUYING THIS CRAP!
  5. KevinT.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Don't listen to the comment on it being unplayable at times. sounds very fanboyish. Having played it on PS3 and 360 i found the ps3 one had a lower res and more frame rate drops. The 360 had a higher res but a bit more pop in. Both stunning, both worth owning. 360 edges it for Live and the extra content coming for me.
  6. LugoP.
    May 7, 2008
    6
    I have loved some of the other GTA's. This one just feels more of the same. However, it just feels like there is more sleaze in the game. It feels like they stepped back from San Andreas with a lot of the game but they stepped forward with more of the filth. I'm surprised that there are so many people that "love" this game. I give it a 4 for single player (yes, I know, a bit I have loved some of the other GTA's. This one just feels more of the same. However, it just feels like there is more sleaze in the game. It feels like they stepped back from San Andreas with a lot of the game but they stepped forward with more of the filth. I'm surprised that there are so many people that "love" this game. I give it a 4 for single player (yes, I know, a bit steep) because it just feels like a step back. Multiplayer is quite fun but it gets old fast. I give it an 8. The avg score is a 6. I've already left this game for some of my other favorites. Expand
  7. BrianT.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Seriously, I think this is hands down one of the greatest games ever... Name one game that has consistently gotten better with each release, the only one you'll find is GTA. Great graphics, animations, characters, and man, the "thick-Plot" are things that make this game great... The only flaw I think Rockstar is gonna have is coming out wit h another GTA. Topping this one is gonna be tough.
  8. TaylorH.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    One of the best GTA titles to date. Improves upon everything GTA: Sandreas brought to the table, and even added in some fresh new material. Bravo GTA, you've done it once again.
  9. Miku
    May 7, 2008
    8
    Sure this is a great game, but it actually is just another GTA with more minigames, better graphics and good physics. IMO most of the professional reviers are trying to hype this game too much and make it some what of a god game. Forexample, IGN gave 10 to all of the categories of GTA which isin my opinion exaggeration. For example the graphics look good but definetly not worth of a 10.
  10. JimmyC.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Gameplay is awesome, graphics are next gen. A must have for xbox 360 owners. Will keep you busy for a very long time. Really addicting.
  11. HenryJ.
    May 7, 2008
    1
    Here's the problem; after all the hype you are left with a game that has a lot *less* activity than the previous GTA's. It's the console factor again, dumbed down. Compare this to the PC version of Vice City, which was special and had real game dpeth. PC gaming is dead but something special died with it, 'immersion'. I keep looking at my XBOX and wonder when Here's the problem; after all the hype you are left with a game that has a lot *less* activity than the previous GTA's. It's the console factor again, dumbed down. Compare this to the PC version of Vice City, which was special and had real game dpeth. PC gaming is dead but something special died with it, 'immersion'. I keep looking at my XBOX and wonder when it's going to deliver with a really 'GREAT' game but it just doesn't have a sole. Ever feel like you've been cheated? Expand
  12. TomasS.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game!
  13. ArmanM.
    May 8, 2008
    8
    This game is great, yes, but it is VERY dissapointing in a few aspects. FIrst of all, what happened to the 95% of the buildings are enter-able? I can't go in any building at all! .. almost .. Second of all, you can't go underwater, thats really irritating if you end up in the middle of nowhere in the ocean and wanna suicide, then you can't. And there is not really much This game is great, yes, but it is VERY dissapointing in a few aspects. FIrst of all, what happened to the 95% of the buildings are enter-able? I can't go in any building at all! .. almost .. Second of all, you can't go underwater, thats really irritating if you end up in the middle of nowhere in the ocean and wanna suicide, then you can't. And there is not really much ''Hey, I wanna do that, now I can!''. And there is no trick system on vehicles. I often see the same vehicles, but not the same people though. The graphics are wonderful, but the gameplay ain't. It's kinda mediocre.. Oh, and the missions are so boring!! Jesus, nice story though and great cut-scenes. The internet café is OK though, the websites are not that funny... The TV is very irritating when you want to change back to the channel, and it suddenly goes to another channel! And yeh, I guess that's it. Oh: There are very few weapons! That just ruins the whole GTA concept > Killing. Well, it was funny though, except for the fact that your money aren't very have-to-have and the restaurants suck ass, you can only choose one type of meal! (E.g a hamburger) THE END Expand
  14. SheaM.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    A well balanced and extremely emersive experience. It takes what worked so well in past installments and re-engineers it in a new and exciting direction.
  15. JamesS.
    May 8, 2008
    8
    A very good game but a game that I believe was overhyped. The graphics are good all round save for some minor glitches here and there. My main complaint, though, is that the game is much too easy (until the very last mission, which is more longwinded and annoying rather than difficult to be honest) and it's likely that you won't be stuck for very long on a particular mission. A very good game but a game that I believe was overhyped. The graphics are good all round save for some minor glitches here and there. My main complaint, though, is that the game is much too easy (until the very last mission, which is more longwinded and annoying rather than difficult to be honest) and it's likely that you won't be stuck for very long on a particular mission. The shooting system is a huge improvement over the cumbersome and unnatural systems that can be found in previous versions in the series however it's still not great and can be a little clumsy sometimes (particularly the new cover system). On a different note, my favourite aspect of the game is the city itself. Excuse the cliché, but it really does feel like a living, breathing city because the developers seem to have invested a lot of time in making Liberty City sound, look and feel like a city with the billboards, neon lights, smoke, etc. My favourite part of the city is the Times Square parody; epic. I have mixed feelings about the characters however. While they can be funny at times (it's often worth watching the cutscenes), they feel under developed but, then again, there are a lot of characters to meet along the way; which is a good thing. The driving feels pretty good throughout but some of the vehicles you use (or get stuck with on missions) can be slow and cumbersome and only cop cars and really rare sports cars have really good, responsive handling; with most cars being slow to accelerate and bit of a pain to handle. Overall I would definitely recommend purchasing this game as it is one of the most immersive and fun games on any games console at the moment and obtaining 100% completion should take the average gamer about 35 hours with the main storyline being over in under 30 hours (if you don't 'stop and smell the roses' too much. And it's likely you'll enjoy the game more if you don't read too much into the hype. Expand
  16. RossC
    May 9, 2008
    9
    I have NOT finished this yet so I will not give a full review. Thus far the start of the game (the first few missions) are quite simple but once you begin to open the other areas the depth begins to reveal itself. The story is very very well written and Niko is a great anti-hero I really enjoy playing as him and want to see more of what he can do (Tha's some red army s*** right I have NOT finished this yet so I will not give a full review. Thus far the start of the game (the first few missions) are quite simple but once you begin to open the other areas the depth begins to reveal itself. The story is very very well written and Niko is a great anti-hero I really enjoy playing as him and want to see more of what he can do (Tha's some red army s*** right there!) Excellent. Graphics are extremely good. There is some pop up when travelling very fast, on bridges and the like. The blurring for far away buildings is effective and understandable. It means sun up, water glimmering, reflections look amazing but some side streets are a little blurred. Excellent also. The AI and the cover system are far better but not on a par with dedicated shooters perhaps. Very good. The physics are great, the cars handle very very well and the bodies really fly and the accidents look bone crunching. :) Always fun! The endless driving for ten minutes in San Andreas is gone, thankfully! The city is smaller than SA but there is a LOT more to do, internet, police computers are a nice touch also. The more you look the more you will find and you can become side tracked very easily if you enjoy messing ina sandbox. I cannot recommend this enough. It's GTA that's all you need to know really. The PS3 version does have a slight graphical edge and the loading is shorter but its fine on the XBOX and there will be online content too. Multiplayer is fun but my internet connection is frankly pants so I cannot review this just yet. Easy to connect, easy to join thus far though. PS3 online is far inferior in this regard. They have taken out the character building in the game which RPG fans may miss but ultimately it streamlined the game for me and let me concentrate on missions and fun! Buy this game. This and the elder scrolls oblivion are just marvellous. The audio is fantastic, guns and cars sound perfect. The radio (in MY opinion) is not as good. THere is not the 80s cheese of Vice City or the Freebird, Welcome to the Jungle of San Andreas. Frankly I don't recognise a lot of the music on this but maybe that's just my tastes. The humour is great and the TV shows are very very funny as you would expect. Hilarious as usual! 9.8 out of ten, pending finishing (which will mean the usual impossible last few mission I'd assume). Expand
  17. MarkB.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    This is what I dreamt of when I played the original 2D GTA - incredible!
  18. WulfW.
    May 9, 2008
    5
    Well the points are just for the effort but after all the hype of this and that and cut down version what do you have really nothing new just a modded up engine....Ello game so called game designers think next gen console so means you can do a lot more no more weak excuses on making crap or modded up games...Here's a idea what haven't we done for GTA lets see put more ideas like Well the points are just for the effort but after all the hype of this and that and cut down version what do you have really nothing new just a modded up engine....Ello game so called game designers think next gen console so means you can do a lot more no more weak excuses on making crap or modded up games...Here's a idea what haven't we done for GTA lets see put more ideas like able to design own characters, give them designer skills eg, gangsta hoods beef up strength, firearm skills from small arms to heavy..create a hitman so you need stealth skills, charisma etc etc, able to upgrade character on main story and online...able to create gangs, create own mafia in vice city using your online mates....stop hyping up games in the end if the game crap or boring by word of mouth it won't sell so think before you do things. Expand
  19. CharlieC.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    One of the all time great games. Period. Anybody who thinks any different simply lacks taste.
  20. ShaneH.
    Jun 17, 2008
    8
    It a good game but doesn't deserve a perfect score. I agree with the other people when they say this game is overrated by the critiques. I really wonder how it got 98 on metacritique. Sure the story was decent but i think it lacks where it should shine, open sandbox blow shit up, type gameplay that all the other GTAs had. I don't seem to pick up the game as much to rampage, in It a good game but doesn't deserve a perfect score. I agree with the other people when they say this game is overrated by the critiques. I really wonder how it got 98 on metacritique. Sure the story was decent but i think it lacks where it should shine, open sandbox blow shit up, type gameplay that all the other GTAs had. I don't seem to pick up the game as much to rampage, in fact rampaging gets pretty boring in GTA4. I am disappointed, The game is still fun just not perfect. Expand
  21. FatBaz
    Jun 18, 2008
    9
    I'd really give a 9.4 but this is the closest i could get. The story is very immersing and the graphics are top notch. The cover system works great and the way that the cars become damaged is unparalleled. The online mode of GTA IV is probably the best out of all the games. The only things that could be changed is that there is no aeroplanes that you can fly, no parachutes and you I'd really give a 9.4 but this is the closest i could get. The story is very immersing and the graphics are top notch. The cover system works great and the way that the cars become damaged is unparalleled. The online mode of GTA IV is probably the best out of all the games. The only things that could be changed is that there is no aeroplanes that you can fly, no parachutes and you only get to climb on top of the car in 2 missions, and you cannot use a sniper rfle out of a heli. Expand
  22. Cathal
    Jun 18, 2008
    5
    its good but theres alot wrong with the game! if this is definitely not the best game ever or even this year! they didn't even add the effect that wen you beep your horn cars move out of the way! Where's the rampages??? where's the normal vigilante missions?? paramedic missions?? and the flying rats are really hard to find nd so boring finding them anyway! theres not many its good but theres alot wrong with the game! if this is definitely not the best game ever or even this year! they didn't even add the effect that wen you beep your horn cars move out of the way! Where's the rampages??? where's the normal vigilante missions?? paramedic missions?? and the flying rats are really hard to find nd so boring finding them anyway! theres not many clothes to buy! you cant even keep vehicles in your safehouse or have weapons or health at the safehouse|! Expand
  23. JonasL.
    Jun 19, 2008
    8
    A great game in many ways and worth buying, but the critics are over the line giving it 98%. There are a lot of bugs with the AI, and the story is a bit thin. Graphics are impressive considering the size of the city, and the amount of content Rockstar has managed to put into this game is amazing.
  24. DorianJ.
    Jun 21, 2008
    0
    In actuality, I rate this game higher than a zero, but it was such a disappointment to me, that I wouldn't feel right about even giving it an above-zero score.
  25. ManoelQ.
    Jun 20, 2008
    3
    Americans may like this thing, but definitely, when you live in a country where violence is always near, you never enjoy this game. Besides, there's no fun about killing people that are walking around and I don't understand why people like this. Rockstar must review its concepts and ethic principles before launching titles such as "Grand Theft Auto" or "Bully". It's not Americans may like this thing, but definitely, when you live in a country where violence is always near, you never enjoy this game. Besides, there's no fun about killing people that are walking around and I don't understand why people like this. Rockstar must review its concepts and ethic principles before launching titles such as "Grand Theft Auto" or "Bully". It's not good at all. Expand
  26. SebastianI.
    Jun 30, 2008
    7
    I had really high expectations prior to the release of IV, and maybe that's why I didn't like it as much as I could have. Most things about the game are great, especially the seamless scenery, but there are some things that really bothered me while playing. The feeling that I'd done it before was what annoyed me the most. It's almost exactly the same thing as the other I had really high expectations prior to the release of IV, and maybe that's why I didn't like it as much as I could have. Most things about the game are great, especially the seamless scenery, but there are some things that really bothered me while playing. The feeling that I'd done it before was what annoyed me the most. It's almost exactly the same thing as the other games in the series, with some more detail. And the missions are basically the same thing as well. A common scenario is: "Go there, talk to a guy, go there kill some other guy, go back." Sometimes with a twist like, "kill 20 guys by yourself, and take item", added. The game was a good gaming experience, but with all the hype I expected something better. Expand
  27. JabboS.
    Jun 6, 2008
    0
    I thought halo 3 was over hyped but gta 4 redefines the concept. There is no way this game deserves the landslide of perfect scores it has recieved, and the only reasonable conclusion is that the reviewers were paid off. The gameplay is the same as ever and it gets very repetative and dull. drive to point a. shoot some dude. drive to point b. ad nauseum. The story is a complete joke where I thought halo 3 was over hyped but gta 4 redefines the concept. There is no way this game deserves the landslide of perfect scores it has recieved, and the only reasonable conclusion is that the reviewers were paid off. The gameplay is the same as ever and it gets very repetative and dull. drive to point a. shoot some dude. drive to point b. ad nauseum. The story is a complete joke where they throw in every gangster cliche and sterteotype in the book. Nico Bellic has the personality of a cardboard box, save yourself the trouble and watch scarface instead. And the graphics are seriously sub-par. The characters are super blocky and look like something from the original xbox or ps2, textures are bland, and overall its pretty unimpressive. Unless you have a thing for the demoiselles d'avignon you are not going to find the strippers here attractive. dont be fooled by the press. save your cash. Expand
  28. DruD.
    Jun 8, 2008
    1
    Good story and graphics. But i can not use the poor third person car view why the camera doesn't stay behind the car? They forgot the fundamentals of any good game playability! i have to use the first person view when driving but I preferred third person in the previous installments. a big mistake by Rockstar I hope they fix it next time if it ain't I wont be buying!
  29. DanielT.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    it is definitely not the best gta game, but thats kind of because it is nothing like the other GTA games. To me this really just played as an excellent shooter that just happened to have some form of non linearity, not the huge sandbox of San Andreas or anything but still, as an action/shooting/driving game it does everything right, way better than gears of war, as a sandbox game it is it is definitely not the best gta game, but thats kind of because it is nothing like the other GTA games. To me this really just played as an excellent shooter that just happened to have some form of non linearity, not the huge sandbox of San Andreas or anything but still, as an action/shooting/driving game it does everything right, way better than gears of war, as a sandbox game it is kind of a step backwards, but ultimately it is one of the best games i have ever played. Expand
  30. PaulR.
    Jul 6, 2008
    9
    The game is a bit overrated, but if that's a problem for you then don't read reviews about it. The graphics are awsome I don't know what most of you are talking about. If you don't like blood and kiling then don't play the game. You knew that Grand Theft Auto was blood and killing so if that stuff "scares" you or you don't like it don't play the game. So The game is a bit overrated, but if that's a problem for you then don't read reviews about it. The graphics are awsome I don't know what most of you are talking about. If you don't like blood and kiling then don't play the game. You knew that Grand Theft Auto was blood and killing so if that stuff "scares" you or you don't like it don't play the game. So what if it doesn't have planes the only one that ever did was san andraes. Remember how in vice city when you first got a helicoppter it was "Sooooo Kick Ass"? Now you're all bitching that it only has helicoppters? It's not the games fult for not getting to play a multiplayer game as soon as you log on it's other players. It's also not the games fult that if in multiplayer you have to look for a gun or a car. Overall this game is great so all the people that gave it a bad rating are realllllllly huge morons. Expand
  31. A.Mora
    Jul 8, 2008
    7
    This is fun but is more for thugs wannabe most critics get wrong give this game a 10.
  32. Devin
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    I waited untill I completed the game to rate it. Overall it is an amazing game and corrected many of the major annoyances in previous GTA tittles, however it added some new ones. Give me a break with going out with my friends all the time or at least make it so their respect and like for you increase faster. Getting drunk is hilarious but loses its appeal after over 15 times and the games I waited untill I completed the game to rate it. Overall it is an amazing game and corrected many of the major annoyances in previous GTA tittles, however it added some new ones. Give me a break with going out with my friends all the time or at least make it so their respect and like for you increase faster. Getting drunk is hilarious but loses its appeal after over 15 times and the games and other stuff just kinda suck. I don't want to play crap bar games or waist time picking some one up to go eat when they live on the other end of town. They should have just made it that going out 3 times with a person equalled 100% fondness cause. However, this complaint stems from wanting the achievement so it might not be an issue for other people. My only other complaint is no parachuting. You should be able to be like a frickin paratrooper landing in convertables or on car roofs. Overall still the best GTA yet in my opinion. Expand
  33. maninhobaring
    Aug 1, 2008
    9
    ii luved the stry as alwys in gta, i wasnt lking forward to multiplyer but was impressed, only reason it suks is becus of the gay hosts and noone wanting to ply gta how its meant to be plyed, (jus cre about ranking up stupid geeks) gts bring after about 80 hrs pidgeons were stupis kickass game in all other aspects, crs were realistic (maybe ur jus 12 and cnt drive yet?)
  34. jahw.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Before rating, i looked through the coments of this forum of gta4 and all that came to mind was a bold WTF. sure i saw tens. and nines, and eights. (anyone who rated this game any lower is a retard) but i couldn't get why people didn't like it, no one understands the deep and complex story line in the gta4 franchise. it has so much soul to it... you got a bit of profound content Before rating, i looked through the coments of this forum of gta4 and all that came to mind was a bold WTF. sure i saw tens. and nines, and eights. (anyone who rated this game any lower is a retard) but i couldn't get why people didn't like it, no one understands the deep and complex story line in the gta4 franchise. it has so much soul to it... you got a bit of profound content for sure. but thats nothing short of our everyday lives so...ign is right, game spot is right, and you 7 and unders....your WRONG! Expand
  35. RayB.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    If not the best game ever, it is certainly, without a doubt the best game on the XBox 360. Absolutely stunning graphics, and an almost non-existing glitch count, coupled with an easy on the ears script serves for a great gaming experience. More than just the graphics, and snappy responses Niko can blurt out in Russian to people who piss him off, the storyline for Grand theft Auto IV is If not the best game ever, it is certainly, without a doubt the best game on the XBox 360. Absolutely stunning graphics, and an almost non-existing glitch count, coupled with an easy on the ears script serves for a great gaming experience. More than just the graphics, and snappy responses Niko can blurt out in Russian to people who piss him off, the storyline for Grand theft Auto IV is pure genius. All around, Grand Theft Auto is without a doubt, the best gaming experience you'll have playing the XBox 360. Expand
  36. Jani
    Sep 22, 2008
    7
    How is it possible that the critics gave this game 98 points out of 100? GTA IV isn't a bad game by any means but it's not that good.
  37. ZachN.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    At first I was afraid I'd be the jerk who didnt give this game a big fat 10, but after getting a chance to look at everyones' reviews here it seems I'm not alone in the least with my complaints. The action is great, the graphics are insane when you think of how much is going on at any given time, the voice acting is some of the best you'll ever find in a game, the At first I was afraid I'd be the jerk who didnt give this game a big fat 10, but after getting a chance to look at everyones' reviews here it seems I'm not alone in the least with my complaints. The action is great, the graphics are insane when you think of how much is going on at any given time, the voice acting is some of the best you'll ever find in a game, the story is engrossing and gritty. So yes this is a great game don't get me wrong, but it has a few core-game flaws. As everyone's mentioned, the mission fail system is terrible. Having to drive the same route five times to get to the same guy 5 times to try those 5 times to figure out what you're doing wrong gets old extremely fast. Since most of the missions consist of getting to the action; placing you just before the action when respawning would have made a world of difference. Another thing I seem to have in common with others here is the multiplayer complaints. It just simply isn't that fun. There is one redeeming quality in the multiplayer though. If you can do as I had the chance to and get yourself and a few friends and just run together terrorizing to city you'll definately be pleased. That was some of the most fun I've had gaming in a long time. The only problem is that I'm sure not everyone would be able to do this, and even the fun there doesn't last forever. As far as good things go though this game can be great, you just have to get over the whole mission fail system for the most part, because otherwise there's a ton of good story here to play though. I would say wait until it price drops some. I know it'll be awhile, but I was able to play it for free since my cousin got tired of it and lent it to me; and even then I somehow knew that I would have been horribly dissapointed if I'd dropped 60 bucks on this. Expand
  38. JoonasM.
    Sep 27, 2008
    9
    Very good game. Everything is very polished in GTA, only few more checkpoints in missions would be good, and maybe more guns.
  39. JohnF
    Sep 3, 2008
    8
    The game is great, the graphics and the realism are bar none the greatest I've ever seen. The missions are fun, actually acting human is great in most ways but the game does have its flaws. Driving a car is a hassle, especially the brakes it takes a few seconds to go from driving to stop. Running is as hard too, tapping the A to sprint isn't really necessary. I don't think The game is great, the graphics and the realism are bar none the greatest I've ever seen. The missions are fun, actually acting human is great in most ways but the game does have its flaws. Driving a car is a hassle, especially the brakes it takes a few seconds to go from driving to stop. Running is as hard too, tapping the A to sprint isn't really necessary. I don't think the game is as good as San Andreas, but it's still one of my favorites and I do feverishly play it still. Expand
  40. GregK.
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    Love the realism they put into this game. Rockstar has improved the GTA franchise in every possible way and gave us a much deeper, much more polished game. Every aspect of GTA IV is fun and there's a lot to do after you finished the 30 or so hours long story mode. Compared to the living breathing city of GTA IV, San Andreas feels like an empty cardboard environment. GTA IV is Love the realism they put into this game. Rockstar has improved the GTA franchise in every possible way and gave us a much deeper, much more polished game. Every aspect of GTA IV is fun and there's a lot to do after you finished the 30 or so hours long story mode. Compared to the living breathing city of GTA IV, San Andreas feels like an empty cardboard environment. GTA IV is unquestionably the best of the Grand Theft Auto series. Expand
  41. ChrisA.
    Sep 7, 2008
    8
    Ok here i go. Gta iv is a better game overall than any of the previous titles and any of its competition, improving in every area except one, the sandbox. Now this being a sandbox game thats almost unforgivable. If you have fond memories of spending hours just creating havoc in the streets of liberty city, vice city or the state of san andrias with a sniper rifle, rpg or tank or causing Ok here i go. Gta iv is a better game overall than any of the previous titles and any of its competition, improving in every area except one, the sandbox. Now this being a sandbox game thats almost unforgivable. If you have fond memories of spending hours just creating havoc in the streets of liberty city, vice city or the state of san andrias with a sniper rifle, rpg or tank or causing mayhem on the roads creating traffic jams and pileups or searching down every last stunt jump, hidden package or easter egg or just roaming around taking in the sights watching the weather change while listening to the in game radiostations, or just pottering around in one of the games many forms of transport, and many many other activities that had nothing to do with the story or missions. Then the good news (?) is you can do it all again in gta iv. The list of new things you can do in iv however goes like this. 1 clicking on the retry option to instantly restart a mission. and that i feel sums iv up a retry of whats gone before a great game but still a massive disapointment. Expand
  42. LukeD
    Nov 2, 2009
    7
    The game is great at first, in fact its amazing at first but then you discover you cant do some of the things you can do in San Andreas, which made me angry. you can't fly planes; do-up your cars; pump weights; get fat; get hair cut and more. I don;t know why they didnt include these so I'm giving it a fair 7, a vey fair 7
  43. PaulWilson
    Feb 15, 2009
    0
    OMG are these game critics serious? 98 average? WTF. It is soooo boring. For one thing the physics program is too real. What happened to the good old days of Vice City? That game ruled. It wasn't graphics busy. The extra missions were fun. It was easy to get around. Just about everything was FUN. When did games become a second life? It makes no sense for GAME to be REAL. There isOMG are these game critics serious? 98 average? WTF. It is soooo boring. For one thing the physics program is too real. What happened to the good old days of Vice City? That game ruled. It wasn't graphics busy. The extra missions were fun. It was easy to get around. Just about everything was FUN. When did games become a second life? It makes no sense for GAME to be REAL. There is such a thing as TOO real. The next GTA game will be one where a guy who had a bad past life and is a master with all weapons moves to New Yor- i mean some completely new city and takes on the mob but gets assasinated by a hitman in the first 5 minutes of game play. Thats it. Real enough? Expand
  44. NajamUddin
    Feb 17, 2009
    1
    This is the most over-rated i have ever played.the game play is pathetic and there low class violence.missions are easy and too less.this game had a lot of expectations from all of us but turned out to be a flop.(sigh)this game overall doesn't receive any good compliments from me.this was the worst rockstars have ever made.This game SUCKS! believe me.i ain't lyin'.don'tThis is the most over-rated i have ever played.the game play is pathetic and there low class violence.missions are easy and too less.this game had a lot of expectations from all of us but turned out to be a flop.(sigh)this game overall doesn't receive any good compliments from me.this was the worst rockstars have ever made.This game SUCKS! believe me.i ain't lyin'.don't waste your $60 to buy it.most of the critics score comes from the EDITORS CHOICE. Expand
  45. MikeD
    Apr 25, 2009
    8
    This game is not even close to the best game on earth....it is very fun in the beginning and then it gets very, very bad. I've noticed that when I am online stuff is different for my buddies and it has horrible lag. My friends will float and sometimes cars will not be in the same spots for them. The multiplayer mode is by far one of the worse I have ever played. Other than that, theThis game is not even close to the best game on earth....it is very fun in the beginning and then it gets very, very bad. I've noticed that when I am online stuff is different for my buddies and it has horrible lag. My friends will float and sometimes cars will not be in the same spots for them. The multiplayer mode is by far one of the worse I have ever played. Other than that, the only other flaw is the physics, couldn't they have just used ragdolls? I can't have any fun when I stand on top of cars or anything cause you just fall! And your guy always stumbles around like a dunderhead. But, besides that the singleplayer campaign is amazing! The story is very well told and it couldn't get any better. The graphics are also eye bewildering, from the cars to the buildings and to the water it looks life-like. If you want a game with a good singleplayer and great graphics please buy this game. But if you want a fun combination of singleplayer and multiplayer with ok graphics, buy Saints Row 2. Expand
  46. BenT.
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    It is itself a brilliant game, but not enough has improved over the last 3 3D GTA games to warrant garnering a maximum rating from nearly every reviewer. For Immersion in a game world it recieves about a 95 but for gameplay it wanes down to about a 70, purely because we have seen it all before!
  47. LaclhanC.
    Nov 9, 2008
    8
    While it was worth its money, In play time and fun. I felt this game is far too overrated. There is NO way this game deserves to rate a 98/100 meta score! The game lacks a proper world market. Money is useless in this game, the online is very poor and it would be far better if you were allowed to have your own gang members or posse you could travel with! Although the introductions of While it was worth its money, In play time and fun. I felt this game is far too overrated. There is NO way this game deserves to rate a 98/100 meta score! The game lacks a proper world market. Money is useless in this game, the online is very poor and it would be far better if you were allowed to have your own gang members or posse you could travel with! Although the introductions of choices having an effect on the story was a pleasing surprise, The story line was I felt much worse than the previous GTA. Expand
  48. MichaelL.
    Dec 22, 2008
    7
    I'm not going to argue that this is not a good game. I think all the games in the GTA series are good, but this game does not deserve anywhere near the praise it is getting. The story is not any better than any of the other games. Nico simply says, I feel bad about what I"m doing while he blasts people away and people eat it up. That is not realistic behavior at all! The shooting was I'm not going to argue that this is not a good game. I think all the games in the GTA series are good, but this game does not deserve anywhere near the praise it is getting. The story is not any better than any of the other games. Nico simply says, I feel bad about what I"m doing while he blasts people away and people eat it up. That is not realistic behavior at all! The shooting was a little better, but still awful. The driving was worse than any of the other games since 3, and that should be the best part of the game! A lot of people say the ending is where the best part of the story is, but I just don't have the patience to make it that far, and I don't think I missed much. Expand
  49. DylanE
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    gamertag: gamezombie009
    send me a message about any negative word about gta iv, wether you saw this in the game or some one told you, and can can prove it wrong

    @ John H.
    hopping in a taxi can teleport you to any part of the city if you "press A to skip" when inside
  50. zackshannon
    Dec 4, 2008
    6
    I really wanted to love this game i really did. Its GTA for christ sakes, i have loved everone of there games up to this point...

    Pros: Amazing Story, Love the free roaming around the city. Decent Multiplayer. Some fantastic missions. Cons: Horrible driving, Bad gun mechanics, boring missions (755 of them) Multiplayer letdown. (some good games but mostly bad) Like i said i really
    I really wanted to love this game i really did. Its GTA for christ sakes, i have loved everone of there games up to this point...

    Pros: Amazing Story, Love the free roaming around the city. Decent Multiplayer. Some fantastic missions.

    Cons: Horrible driving, Bad gun mechanics, boring missions (755 of them) Multiplayer letdown. (some good games but mostly bad)

    Like i said i really wanted to like this game. But ahlast this gets my most disapointing game of the year awayd.
    Expand
  51. HagenM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Amazing gaming nirvana that everyone should experience. Riveting plot-line that seems like a hollywood blockbuster, and it has many more games within itself. The multiplayer is sheerly fun, not for skill-based shooting, but for simply screwing around in cops'n'crooks, or free-mode.
  52. DavidL.
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    The best game of this generation. One of the best games of all time.
  53. JackB.
    Apr 21, 2008
    1
    Character movements are real slow, an the frame rates suffer a lot wen the shooting begins.
  54. MiguelL.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    I think this game is just going to be incredible and revolutionary enough for all games to follow in its footsteps.
  55. DaveyJ.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    With outstanding visuals, an amazing story and character development, and control that far outclasses all of the previous GTA titles, Grand Theft Auto 4 blows away the competition and even Rockstar's history with this truly epic game. 90 amazing missions, and multiplayer that shakes it's junk in even Halo 3's face, truly this is what all Next Gen games should be like.
  56. DanielM.
    Apr 24, 2008
    10
    Only minimal drawback is lack of "in-car" camera. This game is the best game I have ever played on xbox 360. Many, many hours of entertainment!
  57. MikeV.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    People giving it such low ratings are haters.
  58. ChrisG.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Been waiting since Oct 16 for this game and from everything I read its gona be every bit worth it and one of the greatest games of the year.
  59. MischaB.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Simply the best GTA ever made. Great graphics and even more amazing gameplay. One of the best games of the year hands down.
  60. AuggieH.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Just truely and amazing game. The city feels alive and every previous problem in the series has been fixed. There may be the few instances of a technical glitch, but it takes nothing away from the experience. Once of the greatest games EVER made.
  61. HamzaK.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Awesome crazy graphics ultimate story and awesome soundtrack which gives it a ten.
  62. GregJ.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    THE definitive action game. It won't be surpassed until the next installment in the series!
  63. MattB.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    GTA has always been the benchmark for sandbox games and GTA IV has set the benchmark extremely high and I can't see anything beating it for game of the year. It has it's flaws but the game is so well rounded it more than makes up for it.
  64. BryceF.
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    Simply amazing most fun I had in years.
  65. MattiT.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    I've never seen this good game after the release of Ocarina of Time!
  66. JohnS.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Great game, only about halfway through but even better than the previous games.
  67. MikeG.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Yep it's that damn good...a rating of 10 really doesn't do this game justice and to think I was never really a fan of the other games. I'm just blown away by the size and the ridiculous amount of things that can be done in this game.
  68. NickH.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    To the people of Rockstar it is your genius that creates a masterpiece. Break open the champaign, write out the bonus checks my friends you have done it! The greatest game of the last five years possible in the top five of all time! What could possibly be next for Rockstar Games!
  69. MantasN.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Definitely the best game of 2008 so far.
  70. Simon
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game ever made. It's the world before GTA IV, and after. This changes everything.
  71. HenriH.
    Apr 28, 2008
    8
    It's a nice game but I can't see it as a 100 points game. For that it should be perfect and in all means it's not perfect. Actually I found it only a small improvement in the series.
  72. RickE.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome I can already tell from all the things you can do in it. This is nothing like any other GTA game. And it deserves 10/10 in my opinion anyways.
  73. JoshA.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    A spectacular game in all aspects. One of the biggest steps into what most people thought "next-gen" gaming would entail.
  74. DanielK.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Almost as good as Halo 3 as a game overall but even more technically impressive. Having the grace of owning both PS3 and 360, I would still say between the eventual added DLC, achievements and far superior texture and color representation, the 360 still manages to outshine the PS3 version.
  75. VictorM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  76. LeeB.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the best game ever to come onto the console market. Well worth the money, well worth losing your life to, well worth ditching the girlfriend for...... Do I need to go on?
  77. Jay
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Great game, only 2% in and I'm hooked! CANNOT fault it!
  78. BryanSmall
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    I received this game today and is WELL worth the purchase! What are you waiting for? GO BUY IT!
  79. JCRomero
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    The best gane of the year, it's awesome.
  80. MaxB.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    definitively a 10, Best game i've played since Ocarina Of Time. offline is great, online is even better
  81. Steve
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    I've played this game for 12 hours straight and I have to say, while it does have its (very VERY slight) problems, this is one of the best games I have ever played. Period.
  82. KevinD.
    Apr 29, 2008
    8
    While I love the open-ended nature of the whole experience (of the whole series), the infuriating flaws like the difficulty driving automobiles etc. just get to me after a while.
  83. JasonB.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Game is insane. Visuals are awesome and physics are really good too. For example, very satisfying to run people over with the car and backup over them and see the car ride over them like a bump. And to shoot people in the head while theyâ??re on the ground and blood splatters on the screen and watch it ooze onto the ground. Lots and lots of stuff to do besides missions. For example, Game is insane. Visuals are awesome and physics are really good too. For example, very satisfying to run people over with the car and backup over them and see the car ride over them like a bump. And to shoot people in the head while theyâ??re on the ground and blood splatters on the screen and watch it ooze onto the ground. Lots and lots of stuff to do besides missions. For example, I went on a bowling date with a chickâ?¦tried to call her for another date to see if I could get laid the second time, but missed the date (she kept callin/textin to see where I was) cause instead ended up going to a strip club with a buddy. Got excited to see the strippers and tried to jump up on stageâ?¦so the bouncers threw us out. So I went back in with my piece and shot everyone dead. Then the Cops flooded the place so I had a shootout with them till I ran out of ammo and died. That was all sandbox thing, not a real mission. Funnest game I've ever played. Expand
  84. VladimirR.
    Apr 29, 2008
    7
    The game is fun but nothing special. Minor improvement over past Grand Theft Autos.
  85. Kewlkat
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    One time while I was playing, I saw a fat man eating a hotdog walking across the street. A van came zooming by, and fat boy went in circles in the air. The driver got out to see if the fat man was ok. Fat man was on the ground, like he was making an angel in the snow, breathing heavily. LOL!!! After I saw that, I was sold.
  86. EricP.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    I believe this game is the best of the year. No sandbox game has come close to this kind of size and scope an overall immersion of the player into the world (except for maybe Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion).
  87. CJ
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Amazing. Played all the GTAs, and this one is the best.
  88. Fabian
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Awesome story, awesome graphics, awesome gameplay, awesome game. Good work, Rockstar!
  89. GrouchoM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Epic on all levels, the music, the city, the peds, the vehicles. This game accomplishes what most games can only dream of and then some. Rockstar once again topped their previous efforts and put to shame the GTA clones. And don't even get me started on how amazing the multiplayer is. Now I must get some sleep.
  90. RobertL.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Fantastic open world, superb voice acting. It's the best game in the series and a must for fans of video games worldwide.
  91. StephenS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    1
    Rinse & repeat. May as well have been a first person shooter for all the innovation it introduced.
  92. RRahman
    Apr 29, 2008
    7
    Over rated, more of the same lark.
  93. Nildur
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I ever played in my life! I'm 19 years old and I was playing many, many, many games. I don't was playing on multiplayer but singleplayer is awseome!! Everything is very good. I don't understand why users give that low score. I love it.
  94. ChrisS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing. Easily the best game I have ever played. Rockstar has changed everything with this game, taking the next-gen consoles by the balls, looking at other developers and saying "Ok guys, this is how it's done. Feel free to take notes and build upon it."
  95. EricD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    In the first two hours of gameplay I watched some hilarious television, sped around the city in a stolen car, got into two fist fights, got arrested, went on a date to go bowling, played pool in a bar, and crashed so hard while driving that I flew through windshield. The actions and responses in this game are the most realistic I have ever seen. I can't imagine playing another game In the first two hours of gameplay I watched some hilarious television, sped around the city in a stolen car, got into two fist fights, got arrested, went on a date to go bowling, played pool in a bar, and crashed so hard while driving that I flew through windshield. The actions and responses in this game are the most realistic I have ever seen. I can't imagine playing another game for weeks and look forward to exploring every aspect of this masterpiece. Expand
  96. YourMother
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Fantastic storytelling, above average graphics, and a below average soundtrack compared to previous GTA games. The vehicles control like the ground is made of ice. Nonetheless, it's a whole lot of fun.
  97. Firehead
    Apr 30, 2008
    7
    10/10 means a perfect game, and GTA IV isn't. Anyone who gives it a 10 is kidding themselves. It's a good game, very addicting, and its popularity just got bigger. But games like Bioshock, COD4, Crysis (for you PC fanboys) have raised standards so high in terms of graphics, sound, and gameplay that GTA IV falls a bit short, albeit by not much. And those games didn't get a 10/10 means a perfect game, and GTA IV isn't. Anyone who gives it a 10 is kidding themselves. It's a good game, very addicting, and its popularity just got bigger. But games like Bioshock, COD4, Crysis (for you PC fanboys) have raised standards so high in terms of graphics, sound, and gameplay that GTA IV falls a bit short, albeit by not much. And those games didn't get a 10. So it's only fair that GTA IV doesn't either. And to those saying that GTA IV "is your life"... dude... Expand
  98. RayW.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I like how when people see a something get a good score they immediately feel obligated to hate on it and give it low score. Its a great game accept it... get higher self esteem because your clearly hating for no reason.
  99. StevenH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Overrated for sure... I don't know why Its getting THIS good of ratings, but it is a cool fun experience and a must buy for console gamers OVER 17 years of age. Plus I hate it when People are dissing the xbox verson because of one Point... the only reason why its down by one is because it has twice as many reviews.
  100. BobicoolD.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    so cool, the graphique are great (but not like COD4), after you finish the game you can play for houres and houred, do side mission and get lost in the world. And in + rockstar put's multiplayer mode WTF so cool you can play for so long and years so let's play and wait for the nexte one. This is one of the best game of my life.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.