Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2958 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdrianoV.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    One of my Top 10 Favorite games of all time. Basically, it might as well be called one of the Top Ten Best Games Ever Made Period.
  2. TownsendD.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    The best game of this decade, it deserves all the praise it getting. A true masterpiece.
  3. JoeB
    May 26, 2008
    5
    It's amazing that "VIce City" in my opinion is the best GTA, then GTA 3, then San Andreas. GTA 4 is a MASSIVE Disappointment, Rockstar needs to get back the the drawing board and re-invent their franchise, before people start realizing the GTA games are rehashed, linear, un-fun, crap. Rent it, then buy it. Save your money for FALLOUT 3.
  4. JohnN.
    May 26, 2008
    9
    To all of those people who say "Where are my hat and glasses?" If you die, or are in an accident, they will fall off. Simple as that. Pay attention for once! Anyways I liked it a lot. Niko was the best GTA protagonist, because there is a better sense of remorse. I like this game a lot, but it is not the best ever.
  5. AmbE
    May 27, 2008
    6
    Just another GTA game. Fun for a while, but quickly grows repetitive and boring.
  6. MarkD.
    May 27, 2008
    3
    Over hyped and by the looks of it over rated. Sadly the game isn't half as good as san andreas. I couldn't put that down, but was able to put this down and pick back up call of duty just 2 days after buying GTA4.
  7. DavidS,
    May 27, 2008
    3
    I cannot believe how overrated this game is. Awkward, repetitive, ofen pointless and so boring. For those critics that give it a ten, may I suggest that you try sunlight again. This game is not fun, not engaging and all of the hype leaves such a bad taste in the mouth. I think I actually enjoyed earlier versions slightly better. Muddied graphics (and what is with Niko's face - he I cannot believe how overrated this game is. Awkward, repetitive, ofen pointless and so boring. For those critics that give it a ten, may I suggest that you try sunlight again. This game is not fun, not engaging and all of the hype leaves such a bad taste in the mouth. I think I actually enjoyed earlier versions slightly better. Muddied graphics (and what is with Niko's face - he looks like a misshapen potato) and annoying radio stations - I could go on. After a few hours play I took the disc out and started playing pac-man online - pac man is a bad game; GTA IV is appalling. Expand
  8. LukeV
    May 27, 2008
    7
    Here's the thing, GTA 4 is a very good game, don't get me wrong. It's just that the original trilogy was 100 times better. All of the missions seemed very dull and without purpose. In San Andreas and Vice City I loved driving around the city, but in the new Liberty I found myself using the cab nearly every time I wanted to go somewhere. The characters are well voiced, and Here's the thing, GTA 4 is a very good game, don't get me wrong. It's just that the original trilogy was 100 times better. All of the missions seemed very dull and without purpose. In San Andreas and Vice City I loved driving around the city, but in the new Liberty I found myself using the cab nearly every time I wanted to go somewhere. The characters are well voiced, and well animated, but I soon discovered that I didn't really care what happened to the characters. Unlike the other classic GTA characters, who were driven to continue by forces like a brother in prison (CJ) an angry mob boss who wants to kill you (Tommy) or an escape from prison(Claude), Nikko is constantly pushing ahead through his anger and lust for revenge. Not to mention that both of the endings were by far, some of the most disappointing conclusions I have ever experienced. This made me feel detached and unsympathetic for him. Not to mention that both of the endings were by far, some of the most disappointing conclusions I have ever experienced. The graphics are amazing, there is no mistake there, and the ambience is good as well, but the fact is that most of the music is unfamiliar to me and therefore takes away from the setting whereas the previous games had the late 20th century to help set the mood. The gameplay is also good, but I felt I was too sluggish and weighed down. The models relied too heavily on rag-doll physics and just weren't as believable as even the old school animations. The accuracy of the weapons started to become frustrating as well. Overall, the experience was not even CLOSE to the fun I had playing the first three GTA games and I hope that Rockstar realizes that they need to go back to the core story and setting elements that made the originals so epic. VERDICT: 7/10 Expand
  9. meme
    May 27, 2008
    7
    This game does not deserve the 100% scores it's getting. It has a lot of control problems and the camera is really annoying sometimes. The game is a lot of fun, don't get me wrong, but it's not the 10/10 masterpiece that these fanboy reviewers are making it out to be.
  10. KauriK.
    May 28, 2008
    6
    Extremely overrated. Too much clintches, gameplay far to easy and requires no skills at all. Visually seems ok, but must say, Xbox version seems more like Beta test version for the PC version. To compare critics reviews with user reviews, then it looks like all the max points from reviewers are coming because of advertising money (we all know that in Gamespot it's this way).
  11. IanS.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    This is definitely one of the best games ever made. I've been playing it non-stop for the past two weeks! Brilliant!
  12. ScottD.
    May 28, 2008
    7
    The main thing that sets this game to a high standard, was the high expectation and to me, it did not deliver. i am yet to see a GTA game better than Vice City for the fun factor, the latest have been all too shoot first, ask questions later.
  13. Wallpaperman
    May 28, 2008
    10
    GTA4 = Best Game Ever. To get 100% on this beast takes well over 200 hours. Well worth your money.
  14. TarvuT.
    May 30, 2008
    8
    Brilliant plot and graphics, disappointing handling (Nico seems to have minor retardation) and abysmal online interactivity, seems as if Rockstar never heard of Play testing. (Multiplayer game could not be joined, returning to single player. But I want to play Multiplayer!)
  15. Solidzell
    May 30, 2008
    7
    Ok this game is not 10 not even a 9 the graphics is 6-7. this is not ps2 any more this ps3 the nextgen game system if you compare the graphics with mgs4 this would get a 5 for graphics. im starting to get pissed off at people that say this game is great because you can do anything. but the thing you do is not all that fun i rather have a smaller game with better graphics better gameplay Ok this game is not 10 not even a 9 the graphics is 6-7. this is not ps2 any more this ps3 the nextgen game system if you compare the graphics with mgs4 this would get a 5 for graphics. im starting to get pissed off at people that say this game is great because you can do anything. but the thing you do is not all that fun i rather have a smaller game with better graphics better gameplay and amazying story and i mean amazing story and bioshock is a fine example of it not just a game that has a bad graphic striper gaves u a lap dances. this is almost like sims but with the M rating and there are so many games better than this period. Expand
  16. xXxKRAUSERxXx
    May 31, 2008
    9
    On the down side it gets boring at times and comes across as repititive, but for the most part you will become addictted.
  17. ColO.
    May 31, 2008
    7
    The game doesn't have any new features. the graphics are ok but the missions are repetitive and the game in general is easy. (in the final missions i wasn´t even killed). and also where is the plane? Why almost all the mission are on cars, what abouts boats and hellicopters?
  18. B.Q.
    Jun 3, 2008
    8
    A very good game, but not nearly as engaging or complete as San Andreas. My primary criticism is that I agree with the reviewers who noted that the game took a big step back in the area of character customization. And while I didnt really care that I couldnt get a different haircut or sculpt my body shape, I was dissapointed by not being able to complete missions to 'upgrade' my A very good game, but not nearly as engaging or complete as San Andreas. My primary criticism is that I agree with the reviewers who noted that the game took a big step back in the area of character customization. And while I didnt really care that I couldnt get a different haircut or sculpt my body shape, I was dissapointed by not being able to complete missions to 'upgrade' my character. In San Andreas, successfully completing side missions, taking gang turf, snapping photos, finding all of an item, mastering a vehicle/weapon to 100%, etc., all allowed your character to unlock certain bonus's, vehicles, weapons, extra heath, damage, vehicle control, etc. Now, all that happens when you complete side missions is that you are 1 step closer to 100% completion. Sure you get a few things here and there.... but there isnt as much incentive to keep playing the game. For someone who isnt as interested in that 100% number as he is in creating a powerful character and collecting a bunch of stuff... this is a big letdown. Especially since they already incorporated those elements into a previous game, I don't understand why they would take them away. Expand
  19. ReneK
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    This Game does one thing, many other games don't: It ROCKS. It makes a lot of fun and entetains you for a very long time. I Think this is the only sense of games. To entertain! yes, there are popups while you're flying the helicopter, but it doesn't destroy anything of the ingame atmosphere. And yes, there are some control problems, but also this doesn't affect the This Game does one thing, many other games don't: It ROCKS. It makes a lot of fun and entetains you for a very long time. I Think this is the only sense of games. To entertain! yes, there are popups while you're flying the helicopter, but it doesn't destroy anything of the ingame atmosphere. And yes, there are some control problems, but also this doesn't affect the perfect atmosphere. In a 100% rating, I would give 97. Expand
  20. DantonQ.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    For those who think this game sucks, why don't you buy a genesis or a N 64 and play those Kirby games you like. Obviously GTA4 has defects but is the best videogame ever made (no doubt about it). Some of you think themselves as 'rebels' saying this game sucks, stupid sexual frustration.... The same with COD 4(obviously again the best FPs ever made), some seem to prefer For those who think this game sucks, why don't you buy a genesis or a N 64 and play those Kirby games you like. Obviously GTA4 has defects but is the best videogame ever made (no doubt about it). Some of you think themselves as 'rebels' saying this game sucks, stupid sexual frustration.... The same with COD 4(obviously again the best FPs ever made), some seem to prefer mercs on snses or commando, go ahead guys, so rebel, so badass!!!! Expand
  21. JabboS.
    Jun 6, 2008
    0
    I thought halo 3 was over hyped but gta 4 redefines the concept. There is no way this game deserves the landslide of perfect scores it has recieved, and the only reasonable conclusion is that the reviewers were paid off. The gameplay is the same as ever and it gets very repetative and dull. drive to point a. shoot some dude. drive to point b. ad nauseum. The story is a complete joke where I thought halo 3 was over hyped but gta 4 redefines the concept. There is no way this game deserves the landslide of perfect scores it has recieved, and the only reasonable conclusion is that the reviewers were paid off. The gameplay is the same as ever and it gets very repetative and dull. drive to point a. shoot some dude. drive to point b. ad nauseum. The story is a complete joke where they throw in every gangster cliche and sterteotype in the book. Nico Bellic has the personality of a cardboard box, save yourself the trouble and watch scarface instead. And the graphics are seriously sub-par. The characters are super blocky and look like something from the original xbox or ps2, textures are bland, and overall its pretty unimpressive. Unless you have a thing for the demoiselles d'avignon you are not going to find the strippers here attractive. dont be fooled by the press. save your cash. Expand
  22. JV
    Jun 8, 2008
    8
    Visually, the preceding GTA's are sick jokes compared to GTA IV, but the missions are almost exactly the same with a few deviations. The side missions are dull this time around, and there are lots of annoying changes made to the GTA formula, such as limited cars, limited safehouses, limited weapon roster, and probably most annoyingly is the limit to how much ammo you can carry. The Visually, the preceding GTA's are sick jokes compared to GTA IV, but the missions are almost exactly the same with a few deviations. The side missions are dull this time around, and there are lots of annoying changes made to the GTA formula, such as limited cars, limited safehouses, limited weapon roster, and probably most annoyingly is the limit to how much ammo you can carry. The most unrewarding part of this game is that after you complete it to 100% you're rewarded with nothing except that the ammo cap is removed, and with NOTHING to do after completion, who wants to waste their money on ammo? Of course the physics are awe-inspiring and the subtle details in every inch of scenery and movement are incredible. The gameplay is a little better as well. But all of the customization that made GTA San Andreas (clothes, cars, body type) has been stripped in this title as well. I think that Rockstar held back on this one; they gave us enough to please the professional critics, but are saving all the best features for future installments. Expand
  23. DanielT.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    it is definitely not the best gta game, but thats kind of because it is nothing like the other GTA games. To me this really just played as an excellent shooter that just happened to have some form of non linearity, not the huge sandbox of San Andreas or anything but still, as an action/shooting/driving game it does everything right, way better than gears of war, as a sandbox game it is it is definitely not the best gta game, but thats kind of because it is nothing like the other GTA games. To me this really just played as an excellent shooter that just happened to have some form of non linearity, not the huge sandbox of San Andreas or anything but still, as an action/shooting/driving game it does everything right, way better than gears of war, as a sandbox game it is kind of a step backwards, but ultimately it is one of the best games i have ever played. Expand
  24. DruD.
    Jun 8, 2008
    1
    Good story and graphics. But i can not use the poor third person car view why the camera doesn't stay behind the car? They forgot the fundamentals of any good game playability! i have to use the first person view when driving but I preferred third person in the previous installments. a big mistake by Rockstar I hope they fix it next time if it ain't I wont be buying!
  25. ArthurP.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Not a revolution, but rather a delivered promise of a refined formula that reveals detail like no other game has. GTA 4 is not without its flaws, but none of them are able to take the spotlight away from the experience as a whole. Special attention goes to the context of the narrative and gameplay that have sobered up since the series' latest title.
  26. CharlieC.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    One of the all time great games. Period. Anybody who thinks any different simply lacks taste.
  27. GodzillaG.
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    When you first play this game everything is great. There is something to like playing a new game and looking at all the stuff the game creators have created, and this had the same sort of feeling. It surprised me how many missions there were in the main story line, each one has a decent cut scene, some grander than others. For example, a mission titled three leafed clover about halfway When you first play this game everything is great. There is something to like playing a new game and looking at all the stuff the game creators have created, and this had the same sort of feeling. It surprised me how many missions there were in the main story line, each one has a decent cut scene, some grander than others. For example, a mission titled three leafed clover about halfway throught the game, had the most cinema blockbuster feel, this mission particular sticks in my head. If your wanting GTA4 to be a unique to it past games it is, and is easily the best one in the series. However if i had one complaint about anything, it would be the the sandbox aspect of the game. Playing it, just by blowing things up is very fun but its troubled by the fact, we have seen crazy things in videogames for ages now. I would imagine using a PC (if ever released) could address this problem, by giving players a more powerful platform, and letting mods etc. Instead, enjoying the open world for me came from finding strange things and running about going places i didn't go before. The multiplayer experience is crap. Once in a game its ok but finding a game is a 1/10 chance, or make a game and wait for ages. If you don't agree with this and had a different experience then don't complain because i gave the game 10 anyway. Expand
  28. JoeS.
    Jun 15, 2008
    8
    This game is not the by any means the best game ever made. It is interesting, and very well developed. However, if I had to give this a score it would never deserve the praise it is recieving. I'm not saying this game is bad, but it sure as hell to me doesn't reach the "Perfect/Innovational" standards, there are games out there that are far more original that deserve this This game is not the by any means the best game ever made. It is interesting, and very well developed. However, if I had to give this a score it would never deserve the praise it is recieving. I'm not saying this game is bad, but it sure as hell to me doesn't reach the "Perfect/Innovational" standards, there are games out there that are far more original that deserve this credit. I honestly believe that this game got the reviews it did because everyone will buy it regardless, it is just one of those games that gets a lot of attention, and thus these bullshit reviewers wanted to cash in on the money train, and yes we have seen it before, Gamespot does it as well as IGN got an exclusive review of it, I wonder what that means...all in all gamewise, it is a solid game, great characters, great graphics, great story, but i've seen it all before, and it doesn't really change the way its played by anymeans. Expand
  29. Tony
    Jun 16, 2008
    9
    I really gave this game 8.5. I really love gta franchise especially gta:vice city.the problem with this game is that i bought my Xbox lately and thought great ill be able to play games with brilliant graphics and with these graphics it will unlock things never imagined.things that are on the next level.So my expectations were like i am rating this game not on par with the last generation I really gave this game 8.5. I really love gta franchise especially gta:vice city.the problem with this game is that i bought my Xbox lately and thought great ill be able to play games with brilliant graphics and with these graphics it will unlock things never imagined.things that are on the next level.So my expectations were like i am rating this game not on par with the last generation console games but on a next level.I thought that what the next generation console allowed these games the game delivered but they forgot about what makes games great and that is playing the story. I didn't really love niko I didn't find him loveable maybe its cause hes eastern European.. i would have much preferred a spanish/south American or even Indian! but Niko just seemed cold. but I understand why they did it :provide variety and mabye open new markets. the missions lacked real imagination and like in the missions someone like phil would say he hopes nothings gonna happen but ITS A MISSION AND THERE IS GONNA BE KILLING!!!!!!! gods sake! do they think that we are fools or something .alot of the missions lacked creativity and variety.And then youd pass these magnificent buildings and you cant even go into them like what the hell you cant even go into some of the monuments.Thats most of the bad points...the good points have already been pointed out before in other comments. Expand
  30. ShaneH.
    Jun 17, 2008
    8
    It a good game but doesn't deserve a perfect score. I agree with the other people when they say this game is overrated by the critiques. I really wonder how it got 98 on metacritique. Sure the story was decent but i think it lacks where it should shine, open sandbox blow shit up, type gameplay that all the other GTAs had. I don't seem to pick up the game as much to rampage, in It a good game but doesn't deserve a perfect score. I agree with the other people when they say this game is overrated by the critiques. I really wonder how it got 98 on metacritique. Sure the story was decent but i think it lacks where it should shine, open sandbox blow shit up, type gameplay that all the other GTAs had. I don't seem to pick up the game as much to rampage, in fact rampaging gets pretty boring in GTA4. I am disappointed, The game is still fun just not perfect. Expand
  31. SVV.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    If you rate this game anything below a 9, you are an idiot.
  32. FatBaz
    Jun 18, 2008
    9
    I'd really give a 9.4 but this is the closest i could get. The story is very immersing and the graphics are top notch. The cover system works great and the way that the cars become damaged is unparalleled. The online mode of GTA IV is probably the best out of all the games. The only things that could be changed is that there is no aeroplanes that you can fly, no parachutes and you I'd really give a 9.4 but this is the closest i could get. The story is very immersing and the graphics are top notch. The cover system works great and the way that the cars become damaged is unparalleled. The online mode of GTA IV is probably the best out of all the games. The only things that could be changed is that there is no aeroplanes that you can fly, no parachutes and you only get to climb on top of the car in 2 missions, and you cannot use a sniper rfle out of a heli. Expand
  33. Cathal
    Jun 18, 2008
    5
    its good but theres alot wrong with the game! if this is definitely not the best game ever or even this year! they didn't even add the effect that wen you beep your horn cars move out of the way! Where's the rampages??? where's the normal vigilante missions?? paramedic missions?? and the flying rats are really hard to find nd so boring finding them anyway! theres not many its good but theres alot wrong with the game! if this is definitely not the best game ever or even this year! they didn't even add the effect that wen you beep your horn cars move out of the way! Where's the rampages??? where's the normal vigilante missions?? paramedic missions?? and the flying rats are really hard to find nd so boring finding them anyway! theres not many clothes to buy! you cant even keep vehicles in your safehouse or have weapons or health at the safehouse|! Expand
  34. TonL.
    Jun 18, 2008
    0
    Worst game ever. I cant believe Eurogamer, Edge and Gamedaily gave this piece of crap a 10 while they gave a much superior game in MGS4 a "8" . Goes to show how much microsoft paid these reviewers. the Ps3 version is slightly better with a 1
  35. JonasL.
    Jun 19, 2008
    8
    A great game in many ways and worth buying, but the critics are over the line giving it 98%. There are a lot of bugs with the AI, and the story is a bit thin. Graphics are impressive considering the size of the city, and the amount of content Rockstar has managed to put into this game is amazing.
  36. ManoelQ.
    Jun 20, 2008
    3
    Americans may like this thing, but definitely, when you live in a country where violence is always near, you never enjoy this game. Besides, there's no fun about killing people that are walking around and I don't understand why people like this. Rockstar must review its concepts and ethic principles before launching titles such as "Grand Theft Auto" or "Bully". It's not Americans may like this thing, but definitely, when you live in a country where violence is always near, you never enjoy this game. Besides, there's no fun about killing people that are walking around and I don't understand why people like this. Rockstar must review its concepts and ethic principles before launching titles such as "Grand Theft Auto" or "Bully". It's not good at all. Expand
  37. ShannonO
    Jun 20, 2008
    5
    I was weary to try the game based on a youtube video montage of Nikko going to strip clubs, getting busy with hookers and then killing them in various ways afterwards. However, you don't have to do that sort of thing so I thought I'd rent it after the ridiculous hype. I'm not uptight, some things were bothersome, like the fact that most of women in this game are little more I was weary to try the game based on a youtube video montage of Nikko going to strip clubs, getting busy with hookers and then killing them in various ways afterwards. However, you don't have to do that sort of thing so I thought I'd rent it after the ridiculous hype. I'm not uptight, some things were bothersome, like the fact that most of women in this game are little more than giggling airheads primarily there for male entertainment or flirtation. But, surprisingly the sexual content didn't bother me nearly as much as the boring repetitiveness of the game. Trying to keep all these characters happy picking them up, driving to spots that become boring after a few visits feels like work after awhile. The FPS parts just don't come close to a proper FPS like CoD4. If you die, you have to drive, run-around, get ammo - menial tasks like this to get back to the short-lived action. I can't believe the reviews on this, the game is frustratingly boring! The reviews are unbelievable but I see that as more people have played the game for more than an hour, they are offering similar reviews, and are wising up about these B.S. reviews by "critics". Must have been paid. Otherwise I can't understand it. Expand
  38. BrandonP.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    Best game ever hands down.
  39. DorianJ.
    Jun 21, 2008
    0
    In actuality, I rate this game higher than a zero, but it was such a disappointment to me, that I wouldn't feel right about even giving it an above-zero score.
  40. RobertW.
    Jun 22, 2008
    10
    I have just recently completed GTA4 and i think it is the best game I have ever played. I was continuously going round and finding new things that interested me such as the helicopter tour for example. One thing i would say though is that the missions are very similar but then again where can you go with a game like this. I strongly disagree with people who have given this game a low I have just recently completed GTA4 and i think it is the best game I have ever played. I was continuously going round and finding new things that interested me such as the helicopter tour for example. One thing i would say though is that the missions are very similar but then again where can you go with a game like this. I strongly disagree with people who have given this game a low score as it does not do this game justice. Expand
  41. ApocalypseBrown
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    Anybody who compares this game to MGS4, is frankly a fool! MGS4 is a linear sneak fest, with dodgy controls and a incoherent story line, and ultimately is a TOTALLY different genre to GTA! Second anyone is believes MGS4 should have got a higher score is very mentally unstable. Where MGS4 is the same game is it always has been just with better graphics and longer cut-scenes, GTA4 has shown Anybody who compares this game to MGS4, is frankly a fool! MGS4 is a linear sneak fest, with dodgy controls and a incoherent story line, and ultimately is a TOTALLY different genre to GTA! Second anyone is believes MGS4 should have got a higher score is very mentally unstable. Where MGS4 is the same game is it always has been just with better graphics and longer cut-scenes, GTA4 has shown the world games can rival movies! I won't got too deep into why this is a excellent game, but it is totally engrossing and simply a joy to behold. But there are several faults to it, something which MGS fanatics would never admit to. Firstly the night time contrast is too dark, way too dark. Second the missions are very similar to GTA3, infact I almost believed this was GTA3 for a short while at least. Lastly the auto targeting is still a pain and you can't fly a plane, which is very disappointing. But those things are easily sweep aside as it is gaming Nirvana for the gamer mases. Read it and weep MGS sicko's! Expand
  42. DavidO.
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    GTA IV creates a whole new feel the the series with the detail and complexity overall. True it may feel odd but in the end it is a wonderful, violent and fulfilling experience which deserves the score it receives. One thing to everyone out there, stop looking for too much it games Rockstar worked their hardest to please you and all you want to do is complain. Please respect the people who GTA IV creates a whole new feel the the series with the detail and complexity overall. True it may feel odd but in the end it is a wonderful, violent and fulfilling experience which deserves the score it receives. One thing to everyone out there, stop looking for too much it games Rockstar worked their hardest to please you and all you want to do is complain. Please respect the people who work night and day so you can relax and enjoy gaming to its fullest. I'm not saying everything deserves a 10 but GTA IV has pushed the bar and many only try to find its faults. Expand
  43. JasonBT
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    Highly overrated game. Don't get me wrong, i extremely enjoyed this game, definitely one of the best on the 360, but the reviews are EXTREMELY overrated. First off, the gameplay is fun, but incredibly repetitive. Basically, every mission has you calling a guy, or getting summoned to your "employers" home/base to watch a short but always entertaining cutscene that explains your Highly overrated game. Don't get me wrong, i extremely enjoyed this game, definitely one of the best on the 360, but the reviews are EXTREMELY overrated. First off, the gameplay is fun, but incredibly repetitive. Basically, every mission has you calling a guy, or getting summoned to your "employers" home/base to watch a short but always entertaining cutscene that explains your mission. then you drive to your destination and complete your task. Steal a car, assassinate someone, deliver drugs, etc. After you are done, you get your pay. While it is fun, it gets old doing it literally dozens of times. Because that is all the game has you doing over and over. Now before GTA fanatics flame me, i know there are many other things you can do. Exploring the city by just driving is great on its own, plus doing many other side stories, dating, going out with friends, whatever. But the gameplay is what matters most, and for me, its too redundant. There are the occasional missions with little innovative twists to the game (hopping on the back of a truck, getting ambushed by gangs/cops, deciding on who to kill when both people hired you to kill each other) but they are not enough to make the game feel fresh. that's my only problem with the game preventing me, like most other usual critics, from giving GTAIV a perfect score. No doubt a great game, but when the game play is that repetitive with very little changes, i can't possibly consider it to be one of the best of all time. Definitely worth playing or even buying, but even more so, definitely overrated. Expand
  44. MasJ.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  45. MasJ.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  46. MasJ.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  47. SamuelS.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    Nearing the end of the story, I realized that this is what Shenmue wanted to be. Hell, this is what 3, Vice, and San Andreas wanted to be. As I have been playing this on and off since its release (it HAD to come out at the end of the semester), I found the story to be well written, the characters to be unique and often quite funny, and that the overall game definitely adheres to its own Nearing the end of the story, I realized that this is what Shenmue wanted to be. Hell, this is what 3, Vice, and San Andreas wanted to be. As I have been playing this on and off since its release (it HAD to come out at the end of the semester), I found the story to be well written, the characters to be unique and often quite funny, and that the overall game definitely adheres to its own internal logic. Yes, some cars handle like crap, which is the point. What I've played online, I've liked (with the damn auto-aim OFF, for god's sake). Now what's this I hear about about DLC? Can't wait. Expand
  48. D.Straight
    Jun 29, 2008
    1
    I still don't get the appeal of the series. Yes, our household owns a copy of this game but it sits in my kids room and never leaves. I am just bored with this type of game. Yes, they may have fixed the wonky physics but the underlying boredom remains. Just seems like it would appeal to a bunch of wanna be thugs to me. I dunno, maybe the demographic isn't 30 something Benz I still don't get the appeal of the series. Yes, our household owns a copy of this game but it sits in my kids room and never leaves. I am just bored with this type of game. Yes, they may have fixed the wonky physics but the underlying boredom remains. Just seems like it would appeal to a bunch of wanna be thugs to me. I dunno, maybe the demographic isn't 30 something Benz driving execs. Maybe I'm getting to old. In the same respect I still love FPS. Flame away posers. Expand
  49. SebastianI.
    Jun 30, 2008
    7
    I had really high expectations prior to the release of IV, and maybe that's why I didn't like it as much as I could have. Most things about the game are great, especially the seamless scenery, but there are some things that really bothered me while playing. The feeling that I'd done it before was what annoyed me the most. It's almost exactly the same thing as the other I had really high expectations prior to the release of IV, and maybe that's why I didn't like it as much as I could have. Most things about the game are great, especially the seamless scenery, but there are some things that really bothered me while playing. The feeling that I'd done it before was what annoyed me the most. It's almost exactly the same thing as the other games in the series, with some more detail. And the missions are basically the same thing as well. A common scenario is: "Go there, talk to a guy, go there kill some other guy, go back." Sometimes with a twist like, "kill 20 guys by yourself, and take item", added. The game was a good gaming experience, but with all the hype I expected something better. Expand
  50. HayleyC.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Simply the best Video Game money can buy. Proving that Video Games are the next entertainment medium and that they can ultimately deliver a story as powerful and as character driven as any Tarantino film. The Graphics are truly next gen as Rockstar throw you directly into the heart of a living, breathing Liberty City. The characters are so well thought out, not only will you remember Simply the best Video Game money can buy. Proving that Video Games are the next entertainment medium and that they can ultimately deliver a story as powerful and as character driven as any Tarantino film. The Graphics are truly next gen as Rockstar throw you directly into the heart of a living, breathing Liberty City. The characters are so well thought out, not only will you remember them, you'll believe you were apart of them. The story is so well executed, well... put it this way, its now my 3rd time playing through... and I still love it. After 2 months of solid playing I still haven't seen everything, the scope of this truly rich,beautiful and believable world is incredible. This is the game you will be talking about for years to come. Where were you when Rockstar released GTA IV??? Expand
  51. LarryH.
    Jul 2, 2008
    5
    If you are looking for something new, you certainly will not find it here. If you are looking for the newest version of the same game you've bought multiple times by now, albeit with improved graphics, your prayers have been answered. Stealing cars, killing cops, picking up hookers, and mediocre mini-games that you will quickly grow bored with serve as your main distractions from the If you are looking for something new, you certainly will not find it here. If you are looking for the newest version of the same game you've bought multiple times by now, albeit with improved graphics, your prayers have been answered. Stealing cars, killing cops, picking up hookers, and mediocre mini-games that you will quickly grow bored with serve as your main distractions from the tedious collection of Point A to Point B missions. This game does not deserve to be the highest rated game on the Xbox 360. Do not buy into the hype. Expand
  52. SamM.
    Jul 4, 2008
    8
    GTA4. The scope of this game is just massive. This game could take over your life quite literally and is a credit to the game designers at Rockstar. But I just don't feel it has the charm of VICE CITY (which is still the pinnacle of the series so far). Also the targeting system has still not been perfected. Credit goes to Rockstar for the shear scope of this game, It just does not GTA4. The scope of this game is just massive. This game could take over your life quite literally and is a credit to the game designers at Rockstar. But I just don't feel it has the charm of VICE CITY (which is still the pinnacle of the series so far). Also the targeting system has still not been perfected. Credit goes to Rockstar for the shear scope of this game, It just does not feel fresh anymore to me,. Expand
  53. PaulR.
    Jul 6, 2008
    9
    The game is a bit overrated, but if that's a problem for you then don't read reviews about it. The graphics are awsome I don't know what most of you are talking about. If you don't like blood and kiling then don't play the game. You knew that Grand Theft Auto was blood and killing so if that stuff "scares" you or you don't like it don't play the game. So The game is a bit overrated, but if that's a problem for you then don't read reviews about it. The graphics are awsome I don't know what most of you are talking about. If you don't like blood and kiling then don't play the game. You knew that Grand Theft Auto was blood and killing so if that stuff "scares" you or you don't like it don't play the game. So what if it doesn't have planes the only one that ever did was san andraes. Remember how in vice city when you first got a helicoppter it was "Sooooo Kick Ass"? Now you're all bitching that it only has helicoppters? It's not the games fult for not getting to play a multiplayer game as soon as you log on it's other players. It's also not the games fult that if in multiplayer you have to look for a gun or a car. Overall this game is great so all the people that gave it a bad rating are realllllllly huge morons. Expand
  54. A.Mora
    Jul 8, 2008
    7
    This is fun but is more for thugs wannabe most critics get wrong give this game a 10.
  55. EstebanF
    Jul 8, 2008
    6
    In just 2 simple words: EXTREMELY OVERRATED.
  56. JackF.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    Finally, a game that won't leave you reconsidering paying such a large amount for a game that won't leave anything left after finishing it. This game is huge and offers at LEAST 30 hours of play (there's an achievement if you somehow manage to complete it quicker) and is worth every cent. The main highlight is the ragdoll physics. You can spend hours driving incredibly fast Finally, a game that won't leave you reconsidering paying such a large amount for a game that won't leave anything left after finishing it. This game is huge and offers at LEAST 30 hours of play (there's an achievement if you somehow manage to complete it quicker) and is worth every cent. The main highlight is the ragdoll physics. You can spend hours driving incredibly fast in a car and bail out to watch Niko smash his head against another car. The main fault is what most people are praising: The cover system. It's awkward and is nowhere near as fluid as it needs to be. That being said, one flaw won't outweigh the thousands of positives the game has to offer. Seriously, get it. Expand
  57. RaunchyR.
    Jul 12, 2008
    7
    Honestly, I'm not impressed. The new GTA makes me want to say, "If you've played one GTA you've probably played them all". This isn't even GTA SA wrapped in new skin this is GTA VC wrapped in new skin. Meaning, instead of advancing in ideas (other than the horrible online play) it went back to basic mission after mission with no real character progression. If you Honestly, I'm not impressed. The new GTA makes me want to say, "If you've played one GTA you've probably played them all". This isn't even GTA SA wrapped in new skin this is GTA VC wrapped in new skin. Meaning, instead of advancing in ideas (other than the horrible online play) it went back to basic mission after mission with no real character progression. If you haven't played the other GTA's or if you are into going around a massive city causing havoc then this is the game for you. However, if you're the type of player who needs some reason for the rhyme then I would steer clear of this game. Overall...awesome graphics with the same old same old. Expand
  58. JohnK.
    Jul 13, 2008
    8
    This is a good game but its not the greatest game ever as the critics would tell you. Everyone knows the strengths so I'll just point out a couple of things that irked me. The game really needs a checkpoint system. If you fail a mission its not like you just start over, you typically gotta drive for 5 minutes and then try again. I noticed a few framerate drops when there is heavy This is a good game but its not the greatest game ever as the critics would tell you. Everyone knows the strengths so I'll just point out a couple of things that irked me. The game really needs a checkpoint system. If you fail a mission its not like you just start over, you typically gotta drive for 5 minutes and then try again. I noticed a few framerate drops when there is heavy action going on. The camera angles are just awful, you always get trees in the way of your vision when you drive in certain areas. (its funny because framerate and camera angles were the main complaint that dropped critics score of Ninja Gaiden 2, but when the game is heavily hyped apparantly they don't notice, even though the camera angles are 10 times worse in GTA) There should be different difficulty settings. I wouldn't mind playing through on a stepped up difficulty the second time through. The multiplayer is unimpressive. Expand
  59. jahw.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Before rating, i looked through the coments of this forum of gta4 and all that came to mind was a bold WTF. sure i saw tens. and nines, and eights. (anyone who rated this game any lower is a retard) but i couldn't get why people didn't like it, no one understands the deep and complex story line in the gta4 franchise. it has so much soul to it... you got a bit of profound content Before rating, i looked through the coments of this forum of gta4 and all that came to mind was a bold WTF. sure i saw tens. and nines, and eights. (anyone who rated this game any lower is a retard) but i couldn't get why people didn't like it, no one understands the deep and complex story line in the gta4 franchise. it has so much soul to it... you got a bit of profound content for sure. but thats nothing short of our everyday lives so...ign is right, game spot is right, and you 7 and unders....your WRONG! Expand
  60. MitchK.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Simply the Greatest Game of all time, it is a must play experience and must have
  61. BobE.
    Aug 12, 2008
    6
    This game is very realistic, but it is too realistic as well. I loved San Andreas because you could do stuff that would be impossible in real life. But in GTAIV, the realism gets in the way of gameplay. I hate the driving physics, which are impossible to control, and i hate how you have to give yourself carpal tunnel by mashing A just to run. Rockstar has taken a big leap forward in terms This game is very realistic, but it is too realistic as well. I loved San Andreas because you could do stuff that would be impossible in real life. But in GTAIV, the realism gets in the way of gameplay. I hate the driving physics, which are impossible to control, and i hate how you have to give yourself carpal tunnel by mashing A just to run. Rockstar has taken a big leap forward in terms of realism, but a giant leap backwards in terms of fun. Expand
  62. MolayM.
    Aug 13, 2008
    6
    Its really an 8, but it sooooo over hyped. especially the online multiplayer. Which Sucks.
  63. Devin
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    I waited untill I completed the game to rate it. Overall it is an amazing game and corrected many of the major annoyances in previous GTA tittles, however it added some new ones. Give me a break with going out with my friends all the time or at least make it so their respect and like for you increase faster. Getting drunk is hilarious but loses its appeal after over 15 times and the games I waited untill I completed the game to rate it. Overall it is an amazing game and corrected many of the major annoyances in previous GTA tittles, however it added some new ones. Give me a break with going out with my friends all the time or at least make it so their respect and like for you increase faster. Getting drunk is hilarious but loses its appeal after over 15 times and the games and other stuff just kinda suck. I don't want to play crap bar games or waist time picking some one up to go eat when they live on the other end of town. They should have just made it that going out 3 times with a person equalled 100% fondness cause. However, this complaint stems from wanting the achievement so it might not be an issue for other people. My only other complaint is no parachuting. You should be able to be like a frickin paratrooper landing in convertables or on car roofs. Overall still the best GTA yet in my opinion. Expand
  64. EliF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    8
    There's fun to be had here, but the main mission design and gameflow are deeply flawed. Retrying a failed mission usually requires several minutes of driving. I quit playing after the game failed me twice for not wearing "only smart shoes with a suit" to a meeting with a lawyer. It turned out my shoes were fine -- the problem was that I was wearing sunglasses. I had to drive all the There's fun to be had here, but the main mission design and gameflow are deeply flawed. Retrying a failed mission usually requires several minutes of driving. I quit playing after the game failed me twice for not wearing "only smart shoes with a suit" to a meeting with a lawyer. It turned out my shoes were fine -- the problem was that I was wearing sunglasses. I had to drive all the way home to take them off. Expand
  65. BrettD.
    Aug 18, 2008
    6
    This game took away a lot of the features that made the series good. It is a mediocre title at best and should not have recieved the critical acclaim that it has.
  66. RV
    Aug 18, 2008
    6
    Gets to feel like a chore at times, doesn't let you unwind and enjoy the environment, controls are stilted outside of the driving.
  67. DominicM.
    Aug 19, 2008
    7
    The missions are very repetitive, and if you fail you often have to drive a long way, which is very frustrating in the later levels. The driving is realistic, but this also makes those street races next to impossible. Multiplayer is nothing special, overall very overrated game. Definetly not a 10/10.
  68. JohnF
    Sep 3, 2008
    8
    The game is great, the graphics and the realism are bar none the greatest I've ever seen. The missions are fun, actually acting human is great in most ways but the game does have its flaws. Driving a car is a hassle, especially the brakes it takes a few seconds to go from driving to stop. Running is as hard too, tapping the A to sprint isn't really necessary. I don't think The game is great, the graphics and the realism are bar none the greatest I've ever seen. The missions are fun, actually acting human is great in most ways but the game does have its flaws. Driving a car is a hassle, especially the brakes it takes a few seconds to go from driving to stop. Running is as hard too, tapping the A to sprint isn't really necessary. I don't think the game is as good as San Andreas, but it's still one of my favorites and I do feverishly play it still. Expand
  69. THarris
    Sep 4, 2008
    4
    This game is a prime subject of what hype can do. It is not neccessarily a bad game but it doesn't dare to do anything new. The gameplay is almost exactly the same as all of the other GTAs with shallow controls and repetittive missions. The graphics make it look quite believable but is very bland. Characters are the same cliched stereotypes. A very dull game that doesn't try This game is a prime subject of what hype can do. It is not neccessarily a bad game but it doesn't dare to do anything new. The gameplay is almost exactly the same as all of the other GTAs with shallow controls and repetittive missions. The graphics make it look quite believable but is very bland. Characters are the same cliched stereotypes. A very dull game that doesn't try anything new because rockstar knows that it will sell anyway. Expand
  70. GregK.
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    Love the realism they put into this game. Rockstar has improved the GTA franchise in every possible way and gave us a much deeper, much more polished game. Every aspect of GTA IV is fun and there's a lot to do after you finished the 30 or so hours long story mode. Compared to the living breathing city of GTA IV, San Andreas feels like an empty cardboard environment. GTA IV is Love the realism they put into this game. Rockstar has improved the GTA franchise in every possible way and gave us a much deeper, much more polished game. Every aspect of GTA IV is fun and there's a lot to do after you finished the 30 or so hours long story mode. Compared to the living breathing city of GTA IV, San Andreas feels like an empty cardboard environment. GTA IV is unquestionably the best of the Grand Theft Auto series. Expand
  71. ChrisA.
    Sep 7, 2008
    8
    Ok here i go. Gta iv is a better game overall than any of the previous titles and any of its competition, improving in every area except one, the sandbox. Now this being a sandbox game thats almost unforgivable. If you have fond memories of spending hours just creating havoc in the streets of liberty city, vice city or the state of san andrias with a sniper rifle, rpg or tank or causing Ok here i go. Gta iv is a better game overall than any of the previous titles and any of its competition, improving in every area except one, the sandbox. Now this being a sandbox game thats almost unforgivable. If you have fond memories of spending hours just creating havoc in the streets of liberty city, vice city or the state of san andrias with a sniper rifle, rpg or tank or causing mayhem on the roads creating traffic jams and pileups or searching down every last stunt jump, hidden package or easter egg or just roaming around taking in the sights watching the weather change while listening to the in game radiostations, or just pottering around in one of the games many forms of transport, and many many other activities that had nothing to do with the story or missions. Then the good news (?) is you can do it all again in gta iv. The list of new things you can do in iv however goes like this. 1 clicking on the retry option to instantly restart a mission. and that i feel sums iv up a retry of whats gone before a great game but still a massive disapointment. Expand
  72. JonW
    Sep 7, 2008
    6
    It is a pretty average game does nothing much new and when driving the camera takes ages to catch up with you on corners.
  73. RayB.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    If not the best game ever, it is certainly, without a doubt the best game on the XBox 360. Absolutely stunning graphics, and an almost non-existing glitch count, coupled with an easy on the ears script serves for a great gaming experience. More than just the graphics, and snappy responses Niko can blurt out in Russian to people who piss him off, the storyline for Grand theft Auto IV is If not the best game ever, it is certainly, without a doubt the best game on the XBox 360. Absolutely stunning graphics, and an almost non-existing glitch count, coupled with an easy on the ears script serves for a great gaming experience. More than just the graphics, and snappy responses Niko can blurt out in Russian to people who piss him off, the storyline for Grand theft Auto IV is pure genius. All around, Grand Theft Auto is without a doubt, the best gaming experience you'll have playing the XBox 360. Expand
  74. IbrahimD
    Sep 14, 2008
    5
    Repetitive and quite shallow.
  75. SeanK
    Sep 15, 2008
    4
    I want to play games for fun not to feel like I have a second life. Bar Halo 3 this may be the most over-hyped game ever. The game gets boring, is demanding (not the same as hard), repetitive and unrewarding. The pluses to the game are that it has a very large environment and the most rounded and interesting characters of all the GTA games. Unfortunately I play games for fun and read I want to play games for fun not to feel like I have a second life. Bar Halo 3 this may be the most over-hyped game ever. The game gets boring, is demanding (not the same as hard), repetitive and unrewarding. The pluses to the game are that it has a very large environment and the most rounded and interesting characters of all the GTA games. Unfortunately I play games for fun and read books/ watch films for story-lines and characters. I'm not against development of characters and their lives in games but not when it is at the expense of enjoyment. Expand
  76. TomL
    Sep 16, 2008
    5
    I was looking forward to getting this game for like 3 months and when I did I realised it was so inferior to the previous editions. I mean so much stuff has been lost, you can't buy properties the area is so much smaller, you can't jumo of the back of a low loader which lets face it was one of the highlights of the previous games. Wy take it out. I don't understand the hype I was looking forward to getting this game for like 3 months and when I did I realised it was so inferior to the previous editions. I mean so much stuff has been lost, you can't buy properties the area is so much smaller, you can't jumo of the back of a low loader which lets face it was one of the highlights of the previous games. Wy take it out. I don't understand the hype at all. How can these sites give it 100% , have they actually played it for more than 10 minutes because after this it really becomes repetitive and frankly boring. Not a patch on gta 3 san andreas or vice city. To sum it up, HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT! Expand
  77. McTom
    Sep 20, 2008
    8
    GTA IV suffers from tricky controls, repetitive design, arbitrary save feature and regular clipping. Also, the 'friend'-system isn't perfect and it is not 'a totally free world' as some of the reviewers say - I was in the understanding I could enter EVERY building in the game, but that's far from it . Only triggered locations can be entered. Nonetheless, I GTA IV suffers from tricky controls, repetitive design, arbitrary save feature and regular clipping. Also, the 'friend'-system isn't perfect and it is not 'a totally free world' as some of the reviewers say - I was in the understanding I could enter EVERY building in the game, but that's far from it . Only triggered locations can be entered. Nonetheless, I enjoy the game pretty much. The characters are pretty good, the missions are varied enough (apart from the driving to-bit) and the whole atmosphere works really well. At its core the gameplay is very old-fashioned and I guess that's what I really like about the game. Nice, but by no means perfect. Expand
  78. ArtW
    Sep 21, 2008
    7
    First off, I played the 360 version so your experience may differ from what I noticed. The over all story flowed fairly well, but unfortunately the story line seemed to be all there was in this game. GTA 4 seems to almost totally devoid of all the little subgames and such that made the previous games so much fun. There were no " pickup this hidden weapon and kill X numbers of people", First off, I played the 360 version so your experience may differ from what I noticed. The over all story flowed fairly well, but unfortunately the story line seemed to be all there was in this game. GTA 4 seems to almost totally devoid of all the little subgames and such that made the previous games so much fun. There were no " pickup this hidden weapon and kill X numbers of people", "get into this car and drive around a RC car to blow other cars up", "no missions that would give you bonuses that you could use from then on". The cellphone "keep your friends happy thing" was interesting but got to be super annoying before you finish the main story line. If you had enough friends all you would be doing is going out on date after date and not doing anything else. The graphics were very well done, but i'm not sure if I quite agreed with the choice to move away from the previous cell shaded titles. The wardrobe interface was inadequate. None of the clothing had a name once it was in your wardrobe and many of the shoes looked exactly alike. Flipping one at a time through your selection of clothes was laborious at best. It was very obvious that rockstar was trying to appease the ratings board. The realistic modeling of being drunk (the cops instantly knowing when you were drunk, even after you had stopped randomly serving was not realistic). Even though you got "warm coffee" within the very first date with michelle and they appeared to be thumbing their nose at the review board, in reality it was too much an easy gimmee and there seemed little else remarkable about it. The cellophone idea was pretty cool, esp the option to dialup ZIT to get the name of the song and artist currently playing on the radio. There was a decent variety of radio stations, but still needed the ability to play custom MP3 playlists. I'm not sure why all the big review sites gave this game such high scores, the game was fun yes, but not awe inspiring. I think if you look at the playing publics score you will see a more realict score and not one that makes the game reviewers look like corporate shills. A good review means nothing when everything they review gets the same scores. Throwing in a lame duck game review of something like Aquaman: Battle for Atlantis, does not balance out all the 90+ scores given out these days. In conclusion, the game had it's good moments but I felt like there was always something missing from the experience. Expand
  79. Jani
    Sep 22, 2008
    7
    How is it possible that the critics gave this game 98 points out of 100? GTA IV isn't a bad game by any means but it's not that good.
  80. ZachN.
    Sep 22, 2008
    8
    At first I was afraid I'd be the jerk who didnt give this game a big fat 10, but after getting a chance to look at everyones' reviews here it seems I'm not alone in the least with my complaints. The action is great, the graphics are insane when you think of how much is going on at any given time, the voice acting is some of the best you'll ever find in a game, the At first I was afraid I'd be the jerk who didnt give this game a big fat 10, but after getting a chance to look at everyones' reviews here it seems I'm not alone in the least with my complaints. The action is great, the graphics are insane when you think of how much is going on at any given time, the voice acting is some of the best you'll ever find in a game, the story is engrossing and gritty. So yes this is a great game don't get me wrong, but it has a few core-game flaws. As everyone's mentioned, the mission fail system is terrible. Having to drive the same route five times to get to the same guy 5 times to try those 5 times to figure out what you're doing wrong gets old extremely fast. Since most of the missions consist of getting to the action; placing you just before the action when respawning would have made a world of difference. Another thing I seem to have in common with others here is the multiplayer complaints. It just simply isn't that fun. There is one redeeming quality in the multiplayer though. If you can do as I had the chance to and get yourself and a few friends and just run together terrorizing to city you'll definately be pleased. That was some of the most fun I've had gaming in a long time. The only problem is that I'm sure not everyone would be able to do this, and even the fun there doesn't last forever. As far as good things go though this game can be great, you just have to get over the whole mission fail system for the most part, because otherwise there's a ton of good story here to play though. I would say wait until it price drops some. I know it'll be awhile, but I was able to play it for free since my cousin got tired of it and lent it to me; and even then I somehow knew that I would have been horribly dissapointed if I'd dropped 60 bucks on this. Expand
  81. KapiusT.
    Sep 25, 2008
    7
    Undoubtedly an excellent game, GTA 4 fall short in several places that make the game less playable than other games. The fights are often intense and action packed, but when the character dies, he is forced to go all the way back to the scene of the fight, often killing the vibe that could be created by more frequent checkpoint use. I often found myself throwing the controller away from Undoubtedly an excellent game, GTA 4 fall short in several places that make the game less playable than other games. The fights are often intense and action packed, but when the character dies, he is forced to go all the way back to the scene of the fight, often killing the vibe that could be created by more frequent checkpoint use. I often found myself throwing the controller away from myself in disgust after failing for the third straight time and facing the prospect of driving for another 3 minutes to survive only 20 seconds of combat. Additionally, the lack of freedom initially makes the game less appetizing to people who desired the open world aspect. I'm all for unlockable content throughout the game, but for the majority of what I played, it seemed as though I was confined by walls which could not be passed through. I didn't even know about the ability to get in boats until well after I had reached my frustration point in the game. Undoubtably it is a good game, but several flaws keep it from being really "fun." Expand
  82. JoonasM.
    Sep 27, 2008
    9
    Very good game. Everything is very polished in GTA, only few more checkpoints in missions would be good, and maybe more guns.
  83. HagenM.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    Amazing gaming nirvana that everyone should experience. Riveting plot-line that seems like a hollywood blockbuster, and it has many more games within itself. The multiplayer is sheerly fun, not for skill-based shooting, but for simply screwing around in cops'n'crooks, or free-mode.
  84. BenC.
    Oct 8, 2008
    7
    Good game, but bad combat controls, slow framerates, frustrating missions. If you have a good gaming PC, I'd wait for the PC version.
  85. Petter
    Oct 28, 2008
    6
    The good: Good storyline, nice graphics The bad: not much to do other than going on a rampage but it gets boring over time, should be more guns, multiplayer is horrible; i get disconnected all the time and it takes hours to gather enough players for a real match, its impossible to drive a car because of the handling, it seems that EVERYONE in LC are able to kick your ass...bottomline, a The good: Good storyline, nice graphics The bad: not much to do other than going on a rampage but it gets boring over time, should be more guns, multiplayer is horrible; i get disconnected all the time and it takes hours to gather enough players for a real match, its impossible to drive a car because of the handling, it seems that EVERYONE in LC are able to kick your ass...bottomline, a decent game but has several flaws, an over-hyped game. Expand
  86. BenT.
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    It is itself a brilliant game, but not enough has improved over the last 3 3D GTA games to warrant garnering a maximum rating from nearly every reviewer. For Immersion in a game world it recieves about a 95 but for gameplay it wanes down to about a 70, purely because we have seen it all before!
  87. LaclhanC.
    Nov 9, 2008
    8
    While it was worth its money, In play time and fun. I felt this game is far too overrated. There is NO way this game deserves to rate a 98/100 meta score! The game lacks a proper world market. Money is useless in this game, the online is very poor and it would be far better if you were allowed to have your own gang members or posse you could travel with! Although the introductions of While it was worth its money, In play time and fun. I felt this game is far too overrated. There is NO way this game deserves to rate a 98/100 meta score! The game lacks a proper world market. Money is useless in this game, the online is very poor and it would be far better if you were allowed to have your own gang members or posse you could travel with! Although the introductions of choices having an effect on the story was a pleasing surprise, The story line was I felt much worse than the previous GTA. Expand
  88. MichaelA.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    It's apparent from most of these comments here that our society constantly degenerates. Easily one of the best games of the decade with a compelling story and great voice acting, tight gameplay, etc. Seriously, unless you have problems with some of the morals in the game (and the really bad decisions are left up to the player so people really can't get offended...) then I find It's apparent from most of these comments here that our society constantly degenerates. Easily one of the best games of the decade with a compelling story and great voice acting, tight gameplay, etc. Seriously, unless you have problems with some of the morals in the game (and the really bad decisions are left up to the player so people really can't get offended...) then I find it hard to believe so many people think this is overrated. Especially since San Andreas is slightly overrated in itself. Ugh. Expand
  89. TomasS.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game!
  90. ImaanM.
    Dec 11, 2008
    7
    I enjoyed this game massively until the final mission. This mission literally ruined the game for me so badly I traded it in the next day. The whole 'you killed my cousins wife so I kill you' storyline to it was horrible, there were loads of loose ends (eg. more missions with playboy/his friend depending on who you kill) For this reason it only gets a 7.
  91. BartM
    Dec 12, 2008
    7
    I don't understand the 98% rating, as I didn't find this game to be that great, or even very good. yes - the model of the city is nice, and cool soundtrack as usual, but I find the gameplay repetitive, with a series of "drive there" missions. Controls are sub-par. Animations are sub-par. Voice acting is OK, not at the level of, say, the one in Bioshock. As for the "Oscar-worthy I don't understand the 98% rating, as I didn't find this game to be that great, or even very good. yes - the model of the city is nice, and cool soundtrack as usual, but I find the gameplay repetitive, with a series of "drive there" missions. Controls are sub-par. Animations are sub-par. Voice acting is OK, not at the level of, say, the one in Bioshock. As for the "Oscar-worthy story", well, hum, when was the last time you guys so an "Oscar worthy" movie? I mean, are you kidding me? Expand
  92. MichaelL.
    Dec 22, 2008
    7
    I'm not going to argue that this is not a good game. I think all the games in the GTA series are good, but this game does not deserve anywhere near the praise it is getting. The story is not any better than any of the other games. Nico simply says, I feel bad about what I"m doing while he blasts people away and people eat it up. That is not realistic behavior at all! The shooting was I'm not going to argue that this is not a good game. I think all the games in the GTA series are good, but this game does not deserve anywhere near the praise it is getting. The story is not any better than any of the other games. Nico simply says, I feel bad about what I"m doing while he blasts people away and people eat it up. That is not realistic behavior at all! The shooting was a little better, but still awful. The driving was worse than any of the other games since 3, and that should be the best part of the game! A lot of people say the ending is where the best part of the story is, but I just don't have the patience to make it that far, and I don't think I missed much. Expand
  93. BenJ
    Jan 21, 2009
    3
    I don't think I can explain how much I dislike this game. It is possibly the most annoying game I've ever played. The visuals are incredible, but will the NPC's ever just shut up and let me have fun playing without insisting I do something? Controls are bad, NPC's just make me want to turn the game off, gameplay is decent, but not very fun, multiplayer is a complete I don't think I can explain how much I dislike this game. It is possibly the most annoying game I've ever played. The visuals are incredible, but will the NPC's ever just shut up and let me have fun playing without insisting I do something? Controls are bad, NPC's just make me want to turn the game off, gameplay is decent, but not very fun, multiplayer is a complete joke...luckily it's a tad better than Fable 2's multiplayer, but I don't want to play random challenges with people, I want to terrorize the citry freely with people. Expand
  94. GeorgeF
    Jan 21, 2009
    0
    Rockstar must've been thinking, "Let's take every GTA we've created and release it on 360 as GTA IV." Subpar graphics, storyline, and gameply are all a thorn in the side of this overrated monstrosity. This game does nothing to grab a player's attention, unless you're a passive-aggressive thug that gets off on shooting up the same 10 fake people every three hours. Rockstar must've been thinking, "Let's take every GTA we've created and release it on 360 as GTA IV." Subpar graphics, storyline, and gameply are all a thorn in the side of this overrated monstrosity. This game does nothing to grab a player's attention, unless you're a passive-aggressive thug that gets off on shooting up the same 10 fake people every three hours. Repetative missions and an utterly terrible driving system just shove this waste of disc space down the tubes. I gave the game to my brother after playing, don't waste your money. I was going to give this a 2 to pay homage to the programmers, but considering the huge amount of perfect scores and the tendency to feel like this game was created with a simple "copy-paste-rename" system, it earns my zero. Expand
  95. JeremyB
    Feb 19, 2009
    0
    This game sucks, fair enough rockstar tried but to take out all the fun factors of gta like jet packs and hovercrafts and even push bikes shows how really little thought they put into this game. people enjoy using golf buggies and random planes to fly around not a more realistic world game designers tried and failed in their attempt of making their game more like real life. overall theThis game sucks, fair enough rockstar tried but to take out all the fun factors of gta like jet packs and hovercrafts and even push bikes shows how really little thought they put into this game. people enjoy using golf buggies and random planes to fly around not a more realistic world game designers tried and failed in their attempt of making their game more like real life. overall the game is simply a crappy runner up to san andreas that had it all. Expand
  96. JohnP
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    How dare anyone call these graphics 'sub-part' and the storyline 'crappy.' Grand Theft Auto IV is not about presenting an Oscar winning story line. The franchise has set out epic after epic game of pure fun. Who doesn't love driving around, killing pedestrians, taking it to hookers, and changing outfits? Well, maybe not outfits. But this game hit the money with How dare anyone call these graphics 'sub-part' and the storyline 'crappy.' Grand Theft Auto IV is not about presenting an Oscar winning story line. The franchise has set out epic after epic game of pure fun. Who doesn't love driving around, killing pedestrians, taking it to hookers, and changing outfits? Well, maybe not outfits. But this game hit the money with the gameplay. It did lack in its openness factor though and was rather small compared to San Andreas. Expand
  97. SuleimanM.
    Mar 15, 2009
    8
    While not nearly as superior as it is acclaimed to be, GTA IV is a solid title nonetheless. If you go into it forgetting the hype, you'll emerge from the experience quite satisfied. With a riveting storyline, an enjoyable single player campaign, and a multiplayer mode to lean back on once the single player portion is complete, you can't go wrong with GTA IV.
  98. JohnH
    Mar 19, 2009
    4
    A tremendous disappointment, and a huge shame on all of the critics who bloviated so about this weak departure from what has been the wittiest and funnest video game series. Where's the wit and humor that vice city delivered on every radio station? WHere's the fun in the missions? All of the missions are chase somebody down and kill them. Period. All of the praise for this game A tremendous disappointment, and a huge shame on all of the critics who bloviated so about this weak departure from what has been the wittiest and funnest video game series. Where's the wit and humor that vice city delivered on every radio station? WHere's the fun in the missions? All of the missions are chase somebody down and kill them. Period. All of the praise for this game must be for it's improved realism, but that's where I'm sure rockstar has gone wrong. You've sacrificed all of the fun for a realistic NYC from the time of it's most blandest. Congratulations at boring me to tears for my $35. I would go back to San Andreas in a heart beat. Expand
  99. Mike
    Mar 21, 2009
    2
    I was pretty disappointed with this game. Graphics are very nice, although the filter washes everything out to where I can't really appreciate them. Music was subpar compared to previous titles although that could be my disdain for modern music, but they should have at least had an oldies station. The new driving system didn't really bother me with it's added realistic I was pretty disappointed with this game. Graphics are very nice, although the filter washes everything out to where I can't really appreciate them. Music was subpar compared to previous titles although that could be my disdain for modern music, but they should have at least had an oldies station. The new driving system didn't really bother me with it's added realistic physics, it did require a greater degree of skill than previous titles but I found I was able to get it down after a while. The gun play was awkward with an inability to manually target enemies well, although I did like the cover system. I guess the bulk of my disappointment was with the story, which I found lackluster, and the actual "fun" of the game. Realism is something I don't want to see in GTA games, they have always been "arcadey" and campy. To take out all the fun little details that have made past games so engaging is the height of stupidity as I see it. I bought this game right after it came out and I got to the end of the game and lost my desire to even finish it, it sits on my shelf collecting dust. I give this game -200 pigeons. Expand
  100. AaronS
    May 12, 2009
    7
    This is one of those games you can have fun just running around randomly. I love games that are still fun even if you aren't in the mood for getting into a "mission". This is thanks to the physics and animations that make the world really interactive. The missions aren't terribly frustrating, and the ability to easily restart the mission if it's failed is nice as well. I This is one of those games you can have fun just running around randomly. I love games that are still fun even if you aren't in the mood for getting into a "mission". This is thanks to the physics and animations that make the world really interactive. The missions aren't terribly frustrating, and the ability to easily restart the mission if it's failed is nice as well. I would have given it a higher score if it weren't for the frustrating Microsoft Live integration, that can cause your save games to be orphaned on a different account whenever you decide to switch from an offline account to an online account. It is also frustratingly difficult to get into an online game due to having to start a single player game before you can access the ingame "phone" to start multiplayer. Multiplayer can be quite fun, but I rarely am in the mood to deal with trying to get into it. Expand
  101. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    This is one of the finest games to grace console. It almost feels like a film - the characters are compelling, the story deep. The attention to detail is unprecedented and the city is expansive and so real (well, it is based on New York) - the fact that the types/quality of cars and the police presence vary by place is just part of it. Every mission is slightly different. It's amazing howThis is one of the finest games to grace console. It almost feels like a film - the characters are compelling, the story deep. The attention to detail is unprecedented and the city is expansive and so real (well, it is based on New York) - the fact that the types/quality of cars and the police presence vary by place is just part of it. Every mission is slightly different. It's amazing how you can play so many missions without getting bored. It's equally challenging too. There are so many characters and so many sub plots, which, while it seems a lot, don't conflict with each other. Even Niko's character is a mystery. Another ingenious feature is having the mobile phone which essentially controls the game. Who'd have thought it? Perhaps my review is slightly better because I've never properly played, or had, the previous GTAs, so I've nothing to compare it to, but it would still rank pretty high. The thing I love about this game is the complexity of the story and multitude of characters and plots with the hugely varied gameplay. You can even do races, deliveries, assassination contracts if you feel you want a break from the main story. The only bad things aren't story related but gameplay related - the constant driving can get a bit tedious and the helicopter controls... I'm not even going to bother. They're stupid, awkward, especially landing them. I was overjoyed when I landed the helicopter successfully after attempting a mission at least 20 (not exaggerating) times. A masterpiece of a game. Collapse
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    98
    Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.