Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2966 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisM
    May 1, 2008
    10
    I would give it a 97/100, so I guess it gets a 10/10. If you liked/loved previous GTA's you'll love this.
  2. BobK
    May 17, 2008
    5
    GTA4 is an incredible technical achievement; the graphics and detail of Liberty City are a marvel of modern computing. But while GTA4 is a vehicle for one of gaming's most sophisticated programming, the GTA4's gameplay outright sucks (as a fan of the series from the 2D days). In addition to the persistent GTA flaws and glitches, the game is plagued by a baffling control system GTA4 is an incredible technical achievement; the graphics and detail of Liberty City are a marvel of modern computing. But while GTA4 is a vehicle for one of gaming's most sophisticated programming, the GTA4's gameplay outright sucks (as a fan of the series from the 2D days). In addition to the persistent GTA flaws and glitches, the game is plagued by a baffling control system and a physics engine that, while realistic, has turned driving into nothing short of a chore. GTA4 is a bloated monster of a game, tailored to an outmoded philosophy of game design - namely bigger + prettier = better. Not so anymore Rockstar. Simplicity and fun are the way of the future. Would much rather play Wii Sports with my friends than this. GTA4 has everything but the essentials. Expand
  3. ZlatanK.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It's not perfect as some seem to have expected, but it is masterful. Therefor it deserves a 10 as it is the best game of all time. From the graphics to the gameplay, it is masterful. If you want a game that has detail, you have to get GTA IV. The storyline won't let you go and the gameplay will hold you as its slave. You have been warned. The only flaws you can expect is within It's not perfect as some seem to have expected, but it is masterful. Therefor it deserves a 10 as it is the best game of all time. From the graphics to the gameplay, it is masterful. If you want a game that has detail, you have to get GTA IV. The storyline won't let you go and the gameplay will hold you as its slave. You have been warned. The only flaws you can expect is within the graphics. But these minor and they are inevitable, due to the limitations of the technology within the consoles. The multiplayer is also a fantastic addition to the series and has even enhanced the lifetime of the game that is already spectacular with the single player only. Rockstar has surely managed to set a new standard for feature game titles. Especially those within the "sandbox" genre, which GTA already is dominating. Expand
  4. Josh
    May 18, 2008
    6
    Okay, never take a game review to see whether or not you buy a game, first off, critics judge a game on popularity and hype not how good the game actually is, and that's fact. And user's, well a good portion of people are just stupid sheeps, and most people rate a game so incorrectly as to how they truely feel, I guarantee you everyone taht agve it a 10/10 played for 3 hrs with Okay, never take a game review to see whether or not you buy a game, first off, critics judge a game on popularity and hype not how good the game actually is, and that's fact. And user's, well a good portion of people are just stupid sheeps, and most people rate a game so incorrectly as to how they truely feel, I guarantee you everyone taht agve it a 10/10 played for 3 hrs with the hype image still in their head, came here and rated the game, this is more poorly overhyped than halo 3, can't anyone obtain some intelligence or logic seriously. Expand
  5. EricS.
    May 18, 2008
    0
    This game is okay but not worth buying.
  6. DocK.
    May 1, 2008
    7
    Nothing special as far as I can tell, just a typical GTA game with a few graphical improvements. Story is ok so far, but overall I think the game is vastly overrated.
  7. EmilyJ.
    May 18, 2008
    0
    I will not let my husband play this. There are much better things to do with your time than prostitution, killing, stealing, swearing, drinking, and all forms of immorality!
  8. JoeC.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best of the gta series, redefining the open world genre that it created. Best game ever
  9. LoganS.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Excellent from the story concepts down to the tiniest gritty detail.
  10. TomL.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Immersive storyline, fine gameplay, true to life street maps and demographics. A must have.
  11. DrewT.
    May 19, 2008
    0
    Ok let me begin by sying this game blows ass. it blows ass because theres too much blood and that scares me. it obviously deserves a 0
  12. WoodrowD.
    May 21, 2008
    7
    Pretty Great, but it's getting old on me fast. Definitely enjoyed GTA: San Andreas longer and better. The new improvements are all met by equal losses. The map is too small, and I don't know what else I can do with a helicopter.
  13. JoC.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    The best game ever. Really immersive and addicting. The whole city just feels alive. Makes GTA III seem really fake like a cartoon. How do they work this magic? I can't even imagine the next one on the future consoles, whatever they are.
  14. WesesC.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    The most amazing and realistic game made to date.
  15. SteveC.
    May 2, 2008
    7
    Same game, (*yawn*), new engine. Driving is terrible but the cars look excellent, characters look awful, acting is worse than Britney Spears. Environment looks great. Missions are "okay."
  16. BrightonG.
    May 2, 2008
    8
    By far the best title in the series. Many issues that plagued the older titles have been addressed and overall feels more refined. Given it is not perfect, The free roaming is great in the context of driving around. But you are very limited on foot by comparison. Its a shame Rockstar couldn't take this a bit further in the direction of Crackdown where you have mroe vertical free By far the best title in the series. Many issues that plagued the older titles have been addressed and overall feels more refined. Given it is not perfect, The free roaming is great in the context of driving around. But you are very limited on foot by comparison. Its a shame Rockstar couldn't take this a bit further in the direction of Crackdown where you have mroe vertical free roaming to do than simply just running around on the streets. Characters are well executed and interesting. The only pitfall that seems to be relevant are the missions. Far too many fetch quests, especially in the beginning. This definitely is Game of the Year Material. But most of these reviews seem far too inflated. Expand
  17. JamesN.
    May 20, 2008
    5
    Repetitive, and I don't mean from the beginning of GTA IV, I mean from the first GTA. There is nothing new, no new weapons, car and missions. the look of the game has improved, but that's the only improvment. As a shooter I was dissapointed, as a driving game, its the same old race, and as an RPG, I personaly have a difficult time relating to an illegal Russan imigrant with the Repetitive, and I don't mean from the beginning of GTA IV, I mean from the first GTA. There is nothing new, no new weapons, car and missions. the look of the game has improved, but that's the only improvment. As a shooter I was dissapointed, as a driving game, its the same old race, and as an RPG, I personaly have a difficult time relating to an illegal Russan imigrant with the annoying accents and the 80's style jogging suits. Save your real cash and wait for the fith edition. Expand
  18. JacobC.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Only because the ratings go from 1-10 i put 10. If i was able to type it, I would put 1,000. This game is the best ever, even better than Halo 3. Thank you Rockstar. I'm GTA addict!!!
  19. RobertB.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Best game of its kind. Multiplayer is really fun. Graphics are sweet. It's more realistic, more detailed, more open then previous games. Don't believe the user comments like "PS3 version is better, or framerate sucks, its smooth on PS3" Those are just PS3 fanboys upset because nobody bought it on their console.
  20. YuraT.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    No comment
  21. PaulK.
    May 23, 2008
    10
    This game is the best game I have seen in a LONG time. The story is something you'd expect from the Oscar winning movies everyone loves, and people coming out with this bullshit about it being worse than VC and SA, shut up. Just shut up now. Vice city and San Andreas had characters with 2 dimensional personalities and no development. They had shit graphics. They had ok-ish This game is the best game I have seen in a LONG time. The story is something you'd expect from the Oscar winning movies everyone loves, and people coming out with this bullshit about it being worse than VC and SA, shut up. Just shut up now. Vice city and San Andreas had characters with 2 dimensional personalities and no development. They had shit graphics. They had ok-ish soundtracks, I guess. But other than that, and maybe at a party getting two people in a car and seeing how long they can survive was fun in SA, but all the immense flaws in physics on the other games, especially the fact that doing 150MPH around an 90 degree bend you would STILL leave you alive, have been rectified. This game is not just the game of the year, it is the game of the decade. Expand
  22. AlexR.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Physics engine is freaking amazing, and the A.I. is actually very responsive to your actions and others around them. I like the new driving model, but the on foot controls feel a bit sluggish when in fast paced situations.
  23. JonathanD.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    this game is incredible; there is not a single reason this game shouldn't get a 10. the graphics are above average, the city is absolutely huge, gameplay is pretty damn good, the story has greatly improved over past gta titles. the only issue ive had is some major frame rate issues but i did the update and now it works fine.
  24. CarlS.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Excellent game but because of the fact that I have only played the game for about 5 hours I just can´t give it 10/10 for the moment. It is a must-buy game for all GTA fans!
  25. DB
    May 25, 2008
    10
    It is quite simple - this is the best game ever, even compared with MGS, Halo and jet set willy (from the spectrum days). Nothing even comes close to the sheer detail in GTA. How did Rockstar program this in the time they had? Unbelievable. The other GTAs were good but this is really in a different league. Everything that was slightly wrong before has been bettered. Best game ever.
  26. AVideoGameCritic
    May 25, 2008
    8
    A great game that features amazing writing and character development. A bit repetitive, goes on way too long, and lacks a strong storyline but it's still a winner, definitely recommended to anyone even if it's not the best in the series.
  27. TownsendD.
    May 25, 2008
    10
    The best game of this decade, it deserves all the praise it getting. A true masterpiece.
  28. MaxK.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Simply crap that PS3-version stuck @100%, dont tell xbox is worse. GTAIV best game in History!
  29. Jojo
    May 2, 2008
    10
    I honestly didn't even like previous GTA games. They were cheesy and ridiculous and the characters were two-dimensional. Rockstar however went all out in creating this game. The graphics, gameplay, and story have all been retooled to give what I honestly believe to be the most immersing video game experience to date.
  30. RodrigoL.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Best game this generation by far. I give it a 9.8 but I'm rounding it so.....10 out of 10 Buy it!
  31. RobC
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Quite simply. This is as good as however you make it. If you are creative within your gameplay you can love the way you make this game look, let alone the gamplay itself. For the people who critisize things like the car camera angles and the way you cant climb up one ladder simply havent been creative enough. This game is genuis and for people who are creative with games will apreciateQuite simply. This is as good as however you make it. If you are creative within your gameplay you can love the way you make this game look, let alone the gamplay itself. For the people who critisize things like the car camera angles and the way you cant climb up one ladder simply havent been creative enough. This game is genuis and for people who are creative with games will apreciate this to death. But hey, an opinion is an opinion. And compared to the previous GTA titles, this really brings out the lethal gangster feel, and i'm with you Benjamin, such a great movie like storyline. A winner for me Expand
  32. MartinL.
    May 20, 2008
    3
    Keywords: Overrated, hyped, frustrating gameplay, decent graphics, slobby controls, repetetive missions. Brings absolutely nothing new, other than High def & a little more reaction from the NPCs. Funny random melee massmurdering, but apart from that a disappointment.
  33. JetEngineJesus
    May 29, 2008
    7
    Overall a very good game, but not deserving of the perfect scores coming from the game "journalists". Characters are all well-developed, writing and voice acting are top notch. Niko is easily one of the most interesting (and strangely moral...?) protagonists in modern video games.
    Gameplay marred by clumsy control and camera issues. Missing a lot of the features that made San Andreas so
    Overall a very good game, but not deserving of the perfect scores coming from the game "journalists". Characters are all well-developed, writing and voice acting are top notch. Niko is easily one of the most interesting (and strangely moral...?) protagonists in modern video games.
    Gameplay marred by clumsy control and camera issues. Missing a lot of the features that made San Andreas so much fun (mountain biking, jet-packs, parachutes, etc.). The radio stations all seem like an afterthought, without any standout music or DJs, and get annoying VERY QUICKLY; I've had the volume on them turned completely off for weeks now.
    I don't know what Wallpaperman has been smoking. I'm at 79% complete, with only the story missions remaining, and am sitting at around 70hrs of gameplay.
    Definitely a must play, in spite of all of the criticisms. Just don't go in expecting ZOMGBESTGAMEEVAR!1!!!1!!!!!ZOMGITHINKIMGONNAPLOTZ!!1!
    Expand
  34. SteveW.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    it is as good as advertised. the level of detail is unparalleled. here's a quick example that may go unnoticed: if you are sitting in a car with someone on the way to a mission, you will have a small yet plot-revealing conversation. if you fail the mission and have to replay it, you will have a DIFFERENT convo with them every time. it may not seem like a big deal at first, but it is as good as advertised. the level of detail is unparalleled. here's a quick example that may go unnoticed: if you are sitting in a car with someone on the way to a mission, you will have a small yet plot-revealing conversation. if you fail the mission and have to replay it, you will have a DIFFERENT convo with them every time. it may not seem like a big deal at first, but everything about this game is dynamic and will keep your attention Expand
  35. Endo
    May 3, 2008
    10
    If you're saying "mediocre graphics" you clearly haven't played the game in motion and are judging by screenshots. No one has made a world this vast, detailed and authentic yet. Liberty City at night is breathtakingly beautiful. I'm twenty hours in and haven't even hit the crazy missions on the back half, and already I am blown away. I never played any other game in If you're saying "mediocre graphics" you clearly haven't played the game in motion and are judging by screenshots. No one has made a world this vast, detailed and authentic yet. Liberty City at night is breathtakingly beautiful. I'm twenty hours in and haven't even hit the crazy missions on the back half, and already I am blown away. I never played any other game in the GTA series or cared to, but the production values, story, and sheer amount of user-definable gameplay on display here is unlike anything else out available on the 360. This is one occasion where you can truly believe the hype. Expand
  36. xXxKRAUSERxXx
    May 31, 2008
    9
    On the down side it gets boring at times and comes across as repititive, but for the most part you will become addictted.
  37. MarkoL.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    I just have to look at the votes here to see the true picture, loads of 10's and a miniscule amount of 0's and 1's (unbelievable) and a smattering of low scores. The game is huge, with detailed environments, excellent lighting effects and packed full of things to do. If you do not like the concept of the whole GTA series you aint gonna like this, period. That is the thing, I just have to look at the votes here to see the true picture, loads of 10's and a miniscule amount of 0's and 1's (unbelievable) and a smattering of low scores. The game is huge, with detailed environments, excellent lighting effects and packed full of things to do. If you do not like the concept of the whole GTA series you aint gonna like this, period. That is the thing, why people feel they need to review a game and give it 0 or 1, when clearly the time and effort alone involved in crafting the environments warrants a much higher score is beyond me! Yes I agree the general gameplay of the previous series is unchanged other than tweaking the gun play, physics etc, but lets face it there was not a lot wrong with the original games. I think there are very minor and I mean minor issues with frame rates at times but other than that the movement, environments etc are spot on with an excellent and interesting story line, the gameplay is very varied, god I would rather spend hours replaying this than some damn awful overhyped FPS, the FPS genre has been around since the dawn of time and yet they are still as boring as hell after a while, at least this game makes you want to come back time after time, even if it is just to burn down the streets in a stolen car, its pure escapism in a huge believable city. Awesome, enjoy it for what it is, and those of you that cannot accept a good game when you see one......take up knitting or something! Expand
  38. HannesH.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Nearly perfect! The best GTA ever and a masterpiece of gamedesign! With awesome internet xD!
  39. Andy
    May 3, 2008
    9
    It's really similar to the GTAs from III onwards. It has similar missions, and a similar story progression. The level of detail is astonishing in this new Liberty City. The cell phone feature adds a new level of depth and immersion. However, the same old gripes about GTA remain. Gunplay is unresponsive, and the targeting system rarely does what you want it to do. The mission replay It's really similar to the GTAs from III onwards. It has similar missions, and a similar story progression. The level of detail is astonishing in this new Liberty City. The cell phone feature adds a new level of depth and immersion. However, the same old gripes about GTA remain. Gunplay is unresponsive, and the targeting system rarely does what you want it to do. The mission replay system is vastly improved but still frustrating. You will spend more time driving to that fire-fight that consistently kills you as opposed to actually playing it. It's a good game, but does not make the giant leap this generation that GTA III the generation before it. Expand
  40. BruntFCA
    May 3, 2008
    7
    A great story does not make it a great game on all accounts. I am feeling quite disappointed with the title so far; if I wanted a great story I could just watch a movie, I expect more from a game. KOTRO/Bioware/Fable etc, have been making Moral Choiceâ??s in their games for ages now, itâ??s hardly a new mechanic. So far my choices have mounted to kill someone or A great story does not make it a great game on all accounts. I am feeling quite disappointed with the title so far; if I wanted a great story I could just watch a movie, I expect more from a game. KOTRO/Bioware/Fable etc, have been making Moral Choiceâ??s in their games for ages now, itâ??s hardly a new mechanic. So far my choices have mounted to kill someone or notâ?¦deep. NO matter how amazingly good/twist the end is, I expect to have fun and innovation **along the way**, I donâ??t see how having a great ending should allow a game to get such hire scores. From what I see so far Go here, shoot that person etc gameplay Few real interactive places to go in an otherwise impressive looking city Very few interaction with NPC outside of scripted NPC Money is almost meaningless. no homes to buy, no territory. No flying, no hair customization/car customization. Insane/Outgragoes slapstick humor of SA gone. In SA its not problem that the protagonist is a Psycho since its such a spoof. SO far I see GTAIV taking itsleft a bit too seriously (TV adds aside, Republican space rangers are gold). The main guy is an almost Psycopathic killer with some vague loyalty thing. Expand
  41. StephenD.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    As someone who hated the previous GTAs due to their combat system, this rating is deserved. They finally have good combat and driving.
  42. DonM.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Good game, especially if you're a GTA fan. But it's not a life changing experience. It's not just more powerful graphics that make it good, the combat system is so much better than in previous GTA'S. I really like the cover and aim system, much more efficient. I would say the graphics are pretty good but could be better. The driving is improved but overall, it's Good game, especially if you're a GTA fan. But it's not a life changing experience. It's not just more powerful graphics that make it good, the combat system is so much better than in previous GTA'S. I really like the cover and aim system, much more efficient. I would say the graphics are pretty good but could be better. The driving is improved but overall, it's more of the same with a few improvements which is a good thing if you're a GTA fan. But if you're not a fan of this game, then I wouldn't get it for the hype. Expand
  43. MichaelB.
    May 3, 2008
    6
    I am surprised that no one has mentioned the tremendous amount of violence, swearing, and immorality that goes on in this game. Parents beware!
  44. Solidzell
    May 30, 2008
    7
    Ok this game is not 10 not even a 9 the graphics is 6-7. this is not ps2 any more this ps3 the nextgen game system if you compare the graphics with mgs4 this would get a 5 for graphics. im starting to get pissed off at people that say this game is great because you can do anything. but the thing you do is not all that fun i rather have a smaller game with better graphics better gameplay Ok this game is not 10 not even a 9 the graphics is 6-7. this is not ps2 any more this ps3 the nextgen game system if you compare the graphics with mgs4 this would get a 5 for graphics. im starting to get pissed off at people that say this game is great because you can do anything. but the thing you do is not all that fun i rather have a smaller game with better graphics better gameplay and amazying story and i mean amazing story and bioshock is a fine example of it not just a game that has a bad graphic striper gaves u a lap dances. this is almost like sims but with the M rating and there are so many games better than this period. Expand
  45. ArttuL.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Its absolutely the best game in the already amazing series. GTA IV is a must buy for anyone who loves gaming at it's best.
  46. RobK.
    May 3, 2008
    6
    Decent. Exactly like its predecessors but with an extremely annoying physics engine (controlling Niko and driving are both unnecessarily sloppy... It's almost a chore to just go on a cruise through the city) and shiny graphics. A familiar and uninteresting storyline make it difficult to get through the game. Avoid buying this rehashed, made-up harlot of a game and rent it instead.
  47. S.A.R
    May 3, 2008
    6
    I don't know why everybody is saying how awesome this game graphics are, they aren't the best and they aren't even near the best. The shadows just don't look right, and the trees look horrible. The game play is better than the graphics, although most of it, like watching TV, going to bars and playing pool, were just too much like reality to make it worth doing in a I don't know why everybody is saying how awesome this game graphics are, they aren't the best and they aren't even near the best. The shadows just don't look right, and the trees look horrible. The game play is better than the graphics, although most of it, like watching TV, going to bars and playing pool, were just too much like reality to make it worth doing in a video game. It all reminded me of one bad month in my life, when I used to play WOW. I suppose this is a bit biased since I don't like games set in the modern world. All in all, not worth buying, maybe renting, but not buying. Expand
  48. KarlL.
    May 3, 2008
    8
    More GTA with better graphics and a much better story. Lots of new features added, but lots of old features missing too. But still the best GTA yet.
  49. CalvinC.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    I've never liked the GTA series. It only seemed to me that the series was jumping on the mature content bandwagon to garner better sales and press coverage. This changes here. The game doesn't have the violence or sex the other games had, but I'm glad it doesn't, as this gave Rockstar the chance to fix every single issue I had with the game. Better physics? Check. I've never liked the GTA series. It only seemed to me that the series was jumping on the mature content bandwagon to garner better sales and press coverage. This changes here. The game doesn't have the violence or sex the other games had, but I'm glad it doesn't, as this gave Rockstar the chance to fix every single issue I had with the game. Better physics? Check. Characters you actually care about? Check. Refined gunplay? Check. Robust multiplayer? Check. Must-have game? Check, check, check. To quote Gametrailers, "Most games don't live up to the hype, but this is one that does." Expand
  50. DCMike
    May 3, 2008
    9
    GTAIV is a great game despite the hype. Of course no game can ever live up to epic hype but GTAIV delivered on the hype better than Assassin's and definetly better then Halo3. The game plays very similar to Vice City and San Andreas but they just hit everything spot on here. It has the classic comic book feel to the graphics and art, mission based story line and all kinds of other GTAIV is a great game despite the hype. Of course no game can ever live up to epic hype but GTAIV delivered on the hype better than Assassin's and definetly better then Halo3. The game plays very similar to Vice City and San Andreas but they just hit everything spot on here. It has the classic comic book feel to the graphics and art, mission based story line and all kinds of other fun stuff to do. (I played pool for an hour with a girl, then got drunk, got in a fight next to the bar, drove her home wasted, side swiped some cars, outran the cops all while listening to some reggae, then I got laid when I got home! That's just for fun not even part of any mission, HA) That aside the missions are fun so far but the story is the key here, just a great story and some cool characters. Games usually have such lame stories and cheesy talking. Not to mention Liberty City feels like my second home now! People who are arguing over frame rate and glitches and textures are the typical crazy technophiles, I mean when I'm driving balls-out downtown am I really looking in the distance for pop up? No! Just sit back and get sucked into the game for once people, and stop looking at distant textures and crap, this is one game to enjoy! ....back to Liberty City.... Expand
  51. DimOdds
    May 3, 2008
    5
    I bought this the day it came out, popped it in, and wow. Pretty boring. This game is so overhyped, with reviews just flaunting the fact that they had their hands on it first and you didn't. They make such a big deal about people covering their heads in the rain with newspaper, they forgot the game hasn't evolved much since Vice City. What really pisses me off is people saying I bought this the day it came out, popped it in, and wow. Pretty boring. This game is so overhyped, with reviews just flaunting the fact that they had their hands on it first and you didn't. They make such a big deal about people covering their heads in the rain with newspaper, they forgot the game hasn't evolved much since Vice City. What really pisses me off is people saying the story is comparable to movies, even art, even the best game ever. No F-ing way. Plot: Welcome to land of opportunity, blah, blah, go get this car, blah, blah, land of opportunity, blah, blah. Even Scarface was written better than this. And the voice acting is so cartoonishly retarded, like the first time you bone that chick, she gives the most unconvincing, "I'm being F'd good" pillow talk I've ever heard. I'm stilll waiting for a real adult themed game, and this ain't it. Half Life is still years beyond any game out there in terms of story and characters. Buy this if you're twelve and want to giggle. Expand
  52. Dean
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Just brilliant. They really took it to another level with the experience created in Liberty City. The detail is astounding, and you'd swear it was a real place. More realistic driving physics, interesting characters, and an engrossing story line keep you wanting more.
  53. DillonH.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This is the best and funniest game I have EVER played.. I do still like COD4 and Halo3 but where else can you get the freemdom to do whatever you want... The game is not perfect but who cares we all play for fun not for perfect.. I am already almost half waythough and all I can find wrong with it is that things such as trees, signs, and etc pop up when you are driving fast.. And the only This is the best and funniest game I have EVER played.. I do still like COD4 and Halo3 but where else can you get the freemdom to do whatever you want... The game is not perfect but who cares we all play for fun not for perfect.. I am already almost half waythough and all I can find wrong with it is that things such as trees, signs, and etc pop up when you are driving fast.. And the only other thing is the COPS.. The cops are a lillte to hard and not so realistic. They pop up everywhere.. The cops I know never respond that quickly.. But it is very easy to lose them... But that is the only two flaws... So why are people giving them low scores... Beats me.. It's GREAT. Expand
  54. Heman
    May 4, 2008
    7
    The game play is slow and Multiplayer is ok. There is not much of a co-op game. the free roam with your friends is fun for about the first 10 min..They took out all the NPC in the bars and restaurants soo all you have to do is kill civilians and each other. Would have been a 10 if there was more to do online.
  55. CorbinB.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Surely a master piece of a game. While this game is not considered a perfect game to some,the world Rockstar has created engulfs you from the moment you step off the boat of Niko's unnamed Eastern European country. The world feels as if it can't run without you being there, and if it would if you died. With a fix on controls and car handling this title can be a pick up and play Surely a master piece of a game. While this game is not considered a perfect game to some,the world Rockstar has created engulfs you from the moment you step off the boat of Niko's unnamed Eastern European country. The world feels as if it can't run without you being there, and if it would if you died. With a fix on controls and car handling this title can be a pick up and play to a new comer and a complete 40 hours worth so those who would play through. GTA IV is sure to please any gamer, as it is one of the best games to come. Expand
  56. iRKeb
    May 4, 2008
    4
    I don't get the 100 scores. I just don't. I've been playing this game for well over 20 hours, and while it's good, it is nowhere near a perfect score. The camera sucks, melee fighting is sloppy, driving cars is a study in frustration and is clunky and counter fluid, your characters movements like turning and running are mechanical and just plain pathetic, and I don't get the 100 scores. I just don't. I've been playing this game for well over 20 hours, and while it's good, it is nowhere near a perfect score. The camera sucks, melee fighting is sloppy, driving cars is a study in frustration and is clunky and counter fluid, your characters movements like turning and running are mechanical and just plain pathetic, and what's with the cops? I punch one guy in the face and the cops are all over my ass. That's not fun, that's anti-fun. Did nobody play Saints Row? The first game is far superior to all the things I mentioned above. Saints Row 2 will blow this away. Sorry, but this game is frustrating, even after all the time I've put into it. Expand
  57. IkanB.
    May 5, 2008
    0
    The game is horrible. It does have decent graphics, but that doesn't make up for lack of character development, pop-ins occurring every other minute, immense load-times and another rehash that everyone has to hype over. I don't see how this game is better than San Andreas.
  58. HarveyW.
    May 5, 2008
    8
    GTA 4 is a very good game, but it is not the Holy Grail of gaming that the publisher-influenced reviews in the gaming press would have you believe. In just the past 12 months, there have been several better games released, including Call of Duty 4, Bioshock, and Valve's Orange Box (includes Half Life 2 and 2 additional episodes, plus Portal and Team Fortress 2).
  59. JaronR.
    May 5, 2008
    8
    Overall a quality game, but a 10? Not a chance in hell. No use for money except hospital bills which are arbitrarily a % of your total worth, no properties, no way to expand your empire. Dismal targeting, unexceptional graphics, and zero innovation. That said, it's entertaining, and the cast of characters is fantastic.
  60. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Truly amazing game. I'm glad they finally added cover to the game play and it works perfectly. There are so many things to do and places to see that you'll probably not run out of things to do until GTA V.
  61. AnonymousMC
    May 5, 2008
    9
    I was on the verge of retiring from my video game career until my buddy showed me this monster. After around two hours into the game, I bought it and the damn SYSTEM during the visit. I'll just say that GTA IV is worthy of it's near-perfect professional reviews. The only downside to this entertainment is the price of admission. The cost of the hardware and the game itselfI was on the verge of retiring from my video game career until my buddy showed me this monster. After around two hours into the game, I bought it and the damn SYSTEM during the visit. I'll just say that GTA IV is worthy of it's near-perfect professional reviews. The only downside to this entertainment is the price of admission. The cost of the hardware and the game itself could feed a small village in the third world for 6 months. If you're looking to buy this game, try it first. Hell, you might be one of the angry basement dwellers that could give this a 0. Expand
  62. LukaszJ.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Clearly the best game of GTA series to date.
  63. JitoM.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    You're gonna need some "Hot Coffee" cause this game is gonna keep you up for weeks. 10 outta 10 breda!
  64. JosephD.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    Great game, best in series? Yes, but not by as much as everyone would like you to believe... In other words its a great game, but not even best game in past 12 months let alone of all time... I wouldn't even put it in top 10 of all time... but still, GREAT game, worthy of purchase... just not the greatest game in the history of the universe. Simply a great game like the many other Great game, best in series? Yes, but not by as much as everyone would like you to believe... In other words its a great game, but not even best game in past 12 months let alone of all time... I wouldn't even put it in top 10 of all time... but still, GREAT game, worthy of purchase... just not the greatest game in the history of the universe. Simply a great game like the many other great games lately, nothing more, noting less. Expand
  65. I.L.
    May 6, 2008
    8
    Good, but not as amazing as everyone says, though the script is a work of genius (especially the radio stations), the gameplay is somewhat shallow.
  66. joed
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Fantastic!
  67. MistahB.
    May 6, 2008
    8
    The critics need to be more critical. This game is very entertaining, and an fantastic accomplishment. But these scores of 100 out of 100 suggest that there is zero room for improvement. If we rate a game like this with a perfect score, then we're not going to give the developers a reason to try to improve on it. And there is room for improvement. I love the cinematic storytelling, The critics need to be more critical. This game is very entertaining, and an fantastic accomplishment. But these scores of 100 out of 100 suggest that there is zero room for improvement. If we rate a game like this with a perfect score, then we're not going to give the developers a reason to try to improve on it. And there is room for improvement. I love the cinematic storytelling, the wide-open world, the dark humor, and the other things that have made the series so popular. But picture going into the strip club and having the girls look like the girls in DOA Volleyball. Picture pulling out your weapon and having Halo gunplay physics and control. Picture getting into your car and having PGR road physics. Picture walking up to any building in the city and being able to walk inside, pick up any object, sell the object, and use the money to upgrade your character, as in Oblivion. Clearly, all these technologies exist elsewhere in the gaming industry. Until I see it all in one game, I won't see a game worthy of a 100 out of 100 score. However, all that said, I am now on my way back to Liberty City to enjoy the incredible experience Rockstar has created for us. Expand
  68. OwenM
    May 6, 2008
    8
    Its a pretty good game. It's a little too much of the same for my liking. But once the story is finished there is a lot of fun to be had in multiplayer.
  69. JasonK
    May 6, 2008
    10
    This is the first GTA where I actually feel like I am in the game. Magnificent graphics that go unmatched with a sweet storyline. Yea 10/10...the first 10.10 game for me since Halo 2 came out (and that was just for the xbox live!).
  70. BruntFCAFCA
    May 6, 2008
    6
    Better graphics, less gameplay than prior games. Nothing to do with money, no gambling, pointless mini games, very few real buildings to enter. Boring repetative missions. It also suffers from well documented Freezing/Crashing and Pop-Up, so no way is it 10/10. Main character is a 2 dimensional psychotic loser. Most NPC are sterotypes. One the hype dies down, I think a lot of ppl are Better graphics, less gameplay than prior games. Nothing to do with money, no gambling, pointless mini games, very few real buildings to enter. Boring repetative missions. It also suffers from well documented Freezing/Crashing and Pop-Up, so no way is it 10/10. Main character is a 2 dimensional psychotic loser. Most NPC are sterotypes. One the hype dies down, I think a lot of ppl are going to trade this in. Expand
  71. BertieV
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Greatest game ever played. End of discussion.
  72. TylerC.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Great game play, great story, the racing is decent, awesome graphics and the online play is pretty good considering its a first try for the series. plus, once your done you always have the random killing sprees
  73. AndyV
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Not without its flaws, but probably the best game to be released this year. Character development far excedes anything seen in previous gta games and the story is actually engaging.
  74. EdwardO.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    I'm not a GTA fan, never got into them aside from the random sandbox fun. I also didn't buy into the hype, and finally caved in because I finished with finals and decided it was worth a shot. GTA IV has completely blown me away. It isn't one spectacular thing, it's many small things that build up to become the best console game I have ever played, period. It's I'm not a GTA fan, never got into them aside from the random sandbox fun. I also didn't buy into the hype, and finally caved in because I finished with finals and decided it was worth a shot. GTA IV has completely blown me away. It isn't one spectacular thing, it's many small things that build up to become the best console game I have ever played, period. It's shocking, that I've had more fun with GTA, a 'mainstream' game than Orange Box and Bioshock. But GTA IV has become my favorite console game of all time, and my second favorite game of all time. It's that good. Expand
  75. DaveC.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    The best GTA so far. Period.
  76. ChasseB.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Game was great, the new shooting was improved ALOT. My only complaint is that when someone gets behind you it is a bit difficult to kill that enemy. It is very minor though and t-not that bug of a deal.
  77. JohnM
    May 7, 2008
    3
    this isnt good, do NOT BUY IT! it doesnt live up to the hype the graphics dont look that great and the missions arent that fun, this isnt good, STOP BUYING THIS CRAP!
  78. KevinT.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Don't listen to the comment on it being unplayable at times. sounds very fanboyish. Having played it on PS3 and 360 i found the ps3 one had a lower res and more frame rate drops. The 360 had a higher res but a bit more pop in. Both stunning, both worth owning. 360 edges it for Live and the extra content coming for me.
  79. mobius
    May 7, 2008
    10
    I agree with all the mags, but after seeing that the 360 version has sharper graphics a higher HD resoulution and far less pop up buildings when in the helicopers aswell as the easy to use multiplayer game access and I had to return my PS3 version and get the 360 version instead. and as i am lucky to have the two consols i have to say that the 360 is the better version. i understand thatI agree with all the mags, but after seeing that the 360 version has sharper graphics a higher HD resoulution and far less pop up buildings when in the helicopers aswell as the easy to use multiplayer game access and I had to return my PS3 version and get the 360 version instead. and as i am lucky to have the two consols i have to say that the 360 is the better version. i understand that the PS3 version is the port of the 360 version anyway. Expand
  80. LugoP.
    May 7, 2008
    6
    I have loved some of the other GTA's. This one just feels more of the same. However, it just feels like there is more sleaze in the game. It feels like they stepped back from San Andreas with a lot of the game but they stepped forward with more of the filth. I'm surprised that there are so many people that "love" this game. I give it a 4 for single player (yes, I know, a bit I have loved some of the other GTA's. This one just feels more of the same. However, it just feels like there is more sleaze in the game. It feels like they stepped back from San Andreas with a lot of the game but they stepped forward with more of the filth. I'm surprised that there are so many people that "love" this game. I give it a 4 for single player (yes, I know, a bit steep) because it just feels like a step back. Multiplayer is quite fun but it gets old fast. I give it an 8. The avg score is a 6. I've already left this game for some of my other favorites. Expand
  81. BrianT.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Seriously, I think this is hands down one of the greatest games ever... Name one game that has consistently gotten better with each release, the only one you'll find is GTA. Great graphics, animations, characters, and man, the "thick-Plot" are things that make this game great... The only flaw I think Rockstar is gonna have is coming out wit h another GTA. Topping this one is gonna be tough.
  82. TaylorH.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    One of the best GTA titles to date. Improves upon everything GTA: Sandreas brought to the table, and even added in some fresh new material. Bravo GTA, you've done it once again.
  83. Miku
    May 7, 2008
    8
    Sure this is a great game, but it actually is just another GTA with more minigames, better graphics and good physics. IMO most of the professional reviers are trying to hype this game too much and make it some what of a god game. Forexample, IGN gave 10 to all of the categories of GTA which isin my opinion exaggeration. For example the graphics look good but definetly not worth of a 10.
  84. JimmyC.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. Gameplay is awesome, graphics are next gen. A must have for xbox 360 owners. Will keep you busy for a very long time. Really addicting.
  85. HenryJ.
    May 7, 2008
    1
    Here's the problem; after all the hype you are left with a game that has a lot *less* activity than the previous GTA's. It's the console factor again, dumbed down. Compare this to the PC version of Vice City, which was special and had real game dpeth. PC gaming is dead but something special died with it, 'immersion'. I keep looking at my XBOX and wonder when Here's the problem; after all the hype you are left with a game that has a lot *less* activity than the previous GTA's. It's the console factor again, dumbed down. Compare this to the PC version of Vice City, which was special and had real game dpeth. PC gaming is dead but something special died with it, 'immersion'. I keep looking at my XBOX and wonder when it's going to deliver with a really 'GREAT' game but it just doesn't have a sole. Ever feel like you've been cheated? Expand
  86. TomasS.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game!
  87. ArmanM.
    May 8, 2008
    8
    This game is great, yes, but it is VERY dissapointing in a few aspects. FIrst of all, what happened to the 95% of the buildings are enter-able? I can't go in any building at all! .. almost .. Second of all, you can't go underwater, thats really irritating if you end up in the middle of nowhere in the ocean and wanna suicide, then you can't. And there is not really much This game is great, yes, but it is VERY dissapointing in a few aspects. FIrst of all, what happened to the 95% of the buildings are enter-able? I can't go in any building at all! .. almost .. Second of all, you can't go underwater, thats really irritating if you end up in the middle of nowhere in the ocean and wanna suicide, then you can't. And there is not really much ''Hey, I wanna do that, now I can!''. And there is no trick system on vehicles. I often see the same vehicles, but not the same people though. The graphics are wonderful, but the gameplay ain't. It's kinda mediocre.. Oh, and the missions are so boring!! Jesus, nice story though and great cut-scenes. The internet café is OK though, the websites are not that funny... The TV is very irritating when you want to change back to the channel, and it suddenly goes to another channel! And yeh, I guess that's it. Oh: There are very few weapons! That just ruins the whole GTA concept > Killing. Well, it was funny though, except for the fact that your money aren't very have-to-have and the restaurants suck ass, you can only choose one type of meal! (E.g a hamburger) THE END Expand
  88. SheaM.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    A well balanced and extremely emersive experience. It takes what worked so well in past installments and re-engineers it in a new and exciting direction.
  89. JamesS.
    May 8, 2008
    8
    A very good game but a game that I believe was overhyped. The graphics are good all round save for some minor glitches here and there. My main complaint, though, is that the game is much too easy (until the very last mission, which is more longwinded and annoying rather than difficult to be honest) and it's likely that you won't be stuck for very long on a particular mission. A very good game but a game that I believe was overhyped. The graphics are good all round save for some minor glitches here and there. My main complaint, though, is that the game is much too easy (until the very last mission, which is more longwinded and annoying rather than difficult to be honest) and it's likely that you won't be stuck for very long on a particular mission. The shooting system is a huge improvement over the cumbersome and unnatural systems that can be found in previous versions in the series however it's still not great and can be a little clumsy sometimes (particularly the new cover system). On a different note, my favourite aspect of the game is the city itself. Excuse the cliché, but it really does feel like a living, breathing city because the developers seem to have invested a lot of time in making Liberty City sound, look and feel like a city with the billboards, neon lights, smoke, etc. My favourite part of the city is the Times Square parody; epic. I have mixed feelings about the characters however. While they can be funny at times (it's often worth watching the cutscenes), they feel under developed but, then again, there are a lot of characters to meet along the way; which is a good thing. The driving feels pretty good throughout but some of the vehicles you use (or get stuck with on missions) can be slow and cumbersome and only cop cars and really rare sports cars have really good, responsive handling; with most cars being slow to accelerate and bit of a pain to handle. Overall I would definitely recommend purchasing this game as it is one of the most immersive and fun games on any games console at the moment and obtaining 100% completion should take the average gamer about 35 hours with the main storyline being over in under 30 hours (if you don't 'stop and smell the roses' too much. And it's likely you'll enjoy the game more if you don't read too much into the hype. Expand
  90. RossC
    May 9, 2008
    9
    I have NOT finished this yet so I will not give a full review. Thus far the start of the game (the first few missions) are quite simple but once you begin to open the other areas the depth begins to reveal itself. The story is very very well written and Niko is a great anti-hero I really enjoy playing as him and want to see more of what he can do (Tha's some red army s*** right I have NOT finished this yet so I will not give a full review. Thus far the start of the game (the first few missions) are quite simple but once you begin to open the other areas the depth begins to reveal itself. The story is very very well written and Niko is a great anti-hero I really enjoy playing as him and want to see more of what he can do (Tha's some red army s*** right there!) Excellent. Graphics are extremely good. There is some pop up when travelling very fast, on bridges and the like. The blurring for far away buildings is effective and understandable. It means sun up, water glimmering, reflections look amazing but some side streets are a little blurred. Excellent also. The AI and the cover system are far better but not on a par with dedicated shooters perhaps. Very good. The physics are great, the cars handle very very well and the bodies really fly and the accidents look bone crunching. :) Always fun! The endless driving for ten minutes in San Andreas is gone, thankfully! The city is smaller than SA but there is a LOT more to do, internet, police computers are a nice touch also. The more you look the more you will find and you can become side tracked very easily if you enjoy messing ina sandbox. I cannot recommend this enough. It's GTA that's all you need to know really. The PS3 version does have a slight graphical edge and the loading is shorter but its fine on the XBOX and there will be online content too. Multiplayer is fun but my internet connection is frankly pants so I cannot review this just yet. Easy to connect, easy to join thus far though. PS3 online is far inferior in this regard. They have taken out the character building in the game which RPG fans may miss but ultimately it streamlined the game for me and let me concentrate on missions and fun! Buy this game. This and the elder scrolls oblivion are just marvellous. The audio is fantastic, guns and cars sound perfect. The radio (in MY opinion) is not as good. THere is not the 80s cheese of Vice City or the Freebird, Welcome to the Jungle of San Andreas. Frankly I don't recognise a lot of the music on this but maybe that's just my tastes. The humour is great and the TV shows are very very funny as you would expect. Hilarious as usual! 9.8 out of ten, pending finishing (which will mean the usual impossible last few mission I'd assume). Expand
  91. VictorM.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  92. VictorM.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  93. MarkB.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    This is what I dreamt of when I played the original 2D GTA - incredible!
  94. WulfW.
    May 9, 2008
    5
    Well the points are just for the effort but after all the hype of this and that and cut down version what do you have really nothing new just a modded up engine....Ello game so called game designers think next gen console so means you can do a lot more no more weak excuses on making crap or modded up games...Here's a idea what haven't we done for GTA lets see put more ideas like Well the points are just for the effort but after all the hype of this and that and cut down version what do you have really nothing new just a modded up engine....Ello game so called game designers think next gen console so means you can do a lot more no more weak excuses on making crap or modded up games...Here's a idea what haven't we done for GTA lets see put more ideas like able to design own characters, give them designer skills eg, gangsta hoods beef up strength, firearm skills from small arms to heavy..create a hitman so you need stealth skills, charisma etc etc, able to upgrade character on main story and online...able to create gangs, create own mafia in vice city using your online mates....stop hyping up games in the end if the game crap or boring by word of mouth it won't sell so think before you do things. Expand
  95. CharlieC.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    One of the all time great games. Period. Anybody who thinks any different simply lacks taste.
  96. ShaneH.
    Jun 17, 2008
    8
    It a good game but doesn't deserve a perfect score. I agree with the other people when they say this game is overrated by the critiques. I really wonder how it got 98 on metacritique. Sure the story was decent but i think it lacks where it should shine, open sandbox blow shit up, type gameplay that all the other GTAs had. I don't seem to pick up the game as much to rampage, in It a good game but doesn't deserve a perfect score. I agree with the other people when they say this game is overrated by the critiques. I really wonder how it got 98 on metacritique. Sure the story was decent but i think it lacks where it should shine, open sandbox blow shit up, type gameplay that all the other GTAs had. I don't seem to pick up the game as much to rampage, in fact rampaging gets pretty boring in GTA4. I am disappointed, The game is still fun just not perfect. Expand
  97. FatBaz
    Jun 18, 2008
    9
    I'd really give a 9.4 but this is the closest i could get. The story is very immersing and the graphics are top notch. The cover system works great and the way that the cars become damaged is unparalleled. The online mode of GTA IV is probably the best out of all the games. The only things that could be changed is that there is no aeroplanes that you can fly, no parachutes and you I'd really give a 9.4 but this is the closest i could get. The story is very immersing and the graphics are top notch. The cover system works great and the way that the cars become damaged is unparalleled. The online mode of GTA IV is probably the best out of all the games. The only things that could be changed is that there is no aeroplanes that you can fly, no parachutes and you only get to climb on top of the car in 2 missions, and you cannot use a sniper rfle out of a heli. Expand
  98. Cathal
    Jun 18, 2008
    5
    its good but theres alot wrong with the game! if this is definitely not the best game ever or even this year! they didn't even add the effect that wen you beep your horn cars move out of the way! Where's the rampages??? where's the normal vigilante missions?? paramedic missions?? and the flying rats are really hard to find nd so boring finding them anyway! theres not many its good but theres alot wrong with the game! if this is definitely not the best game ever or even this year! they didn't even add the effect that wen you beep your horn cars move out of the way! Where's the rampages??? where's the normal vigilante missions?? paramedic missions?? and the flying rats are really hard to find nd so boring finding them anyway! theres not many clothes to buy! you cant even keep vehicles in your safehouse or have weapons or health at the safehouse|! Expand
  99. JonasL.
    Jun 19, 2008
    8
    A great game in many ways and worth buying, but the critics are over the line giving it 98%. There are a lot of bugs with the AI, and the story is a bit thin. Graphics are impressive considering the size of the city, and the amount of content Rockstar has managed to put into this game is amazing.
  100. DorianJ.
    Jun 21, 2008
    0
    In actuality, I rate this game higher than a zero, but it was such a disappointment to me, that I wouldn't feel right about even giving it an above-zero score.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    98
    Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.