User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2705 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    5
    The biggest problem with the game is the controls. Could they have made driving not feel like a chore? And because they put the cheat system in the phone, its very difficult to access. San Andreas is better because it had more weapons, better controls, and better cheats. San Andreas has a jetpack and flying cars cheats and other great ones. Does GTA 4 have any of this? No.
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    8
    I don't see this game as the "Pinnacle of Gaming" that many reviewers claim it to be. Nor do I hate it for not being exactly that as many disillusioned fanboys have ranted. I see this game to be exactly what it is: Just another GTA game. Great visuals, great characters, great writing, and exactly what you expect a GTA game to be. Overall: Another great entry into the GTA series, that entertains, but just doesn't add too much new to the formula. A shame in that regard as you can see the potential is there. Hopefully GTA 5 will learn from this and try to be a bit more daring. Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2012
    0
    I don't understand the reason for that all the people love this awful game, the story is different in all the games, but all the games be same, kill, kill, kill, and kill this game is boring, Rockstar Games do better things, but GTA is one of the most boring sagas.
  4. May 27, 2012
    6
    This game is so overated. The game is a technical marvel, but its not very fun. Going around, doing pretty much the same thing over and over again. Driving and shooting, and the shooting isnt very well implemented. Technical wise, I'd rate this game a 10, but fun wise i give it a 6.
  5. Sep 27, 2010
    6
    3 steps foward now 3 steps back . thats the best way i can describe GTA4 . the series since GTA 3 for the PS2 was ground breaking and with GTA VC and GTA SA it was pushing foward . although by the time i got to playing GTA SA i felt the series growing alittle stale in its story mode . so when i heard Rockstar was gona try and make GTA4 abit more fresh in it story mode i couldnt wait to see what they where gona try . when i got the game and played it for awhile i was amazed how much they removed from this game . it felt like they stripped it down . all the new guns they where adding in the series are now back to the same gun selection as GTA3 . you are in the same city as GTA 3 and story just feels the same . you are just some guy who is trying to take over the city . most of the missions feel recycled . you have less vehicles in prevous GTA games . they finnaly started adding more flying vehicles in this game in GTA VC and GTA SA but now in GTA 4 we are down to just a helicopter. why are the going backwards? the new stuff they did add just didnt feel like it worked or belonged. like you can now make friends and can hang out with them which if you wana keep them happy you have to do. which for being a cut throat russian who is tryin to take over a city why the hell would you be doing that? The games graphics i thought looked pretty good not ground breaking but did its job. the online mode was ok had ALOT of different game modes to choose from . none of the game modes i felt are any thing long lasting but kept me entertained for a week or so . the most fun i had was the free roaming co op me and friends had alot of fun starting a war with the cops and seeing how long we could survive. though it makes you wish they had a story mode co op how cool could this game coulda been if you and 4 buddys coulda played through the story mode like that? i woulda probubly given this game atleast a 8 if it had that. the game as is i felt was just ok felt to recycled in the end and nothing new and exciting was really added to it . for a next gen GTA game i was really hoping they would try and redifine GTA . i dont know how this beat out Fall out 3 for GOTY. i hope rockstar does a better job with GTA5. Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2011
    6
    If you like any of the previous GTAs do not buy. They've taken loads of stuff out it's basically GTA 3 without the fun stuff and side missions. There's no fun in rampages anymore. The story isn't very good and missions are all the same and not humorous. However, if you are new to the sereis or did not enjoy San Andreas, this is the game for you if you want nothing but a average length story. The online has lots of choice but is fundamentally flawed due to the control scheme. I understand that this is next-gen so it's inevitably not going to be as complete as San Andreas in terms of single-player content, but the game doesn't feel like it's the greatest game of all time. 98/100 is very much overrated and unjustified. It adds nothing new to the already crowded sandbox genre. The online has co-op as well as competitive, but none of the modes are particularly fun or good quality, and there are a few glitches and technical issues with the game engine both online and single player. The entire single player content is just story based, with little to do other than pigeons, and you can't spend money on anything but weapons, which have no use anyway since you can't use them for anything but the story. The map doesn't feel well-made either, with every island and building just copied and pasted over and over again. There's no variety in the missions, map or level design. The story doesn't feel engaging either, and the lack of depth is another issue. It appears that Rockstar have focused almost entirely on the game engine rather than the game itself. Even if we ignore the San Andreas comparison and the fact that it has GTA in the title, this game is still not worthy of anything above 90. OK despite the auto-aim the action is good. The co-op game modes especially are straightforward killing. Yes, there is little skill in the gun-on-gun gameplay competitively, but it's still fun because at least there's recoil, so it's not just about who gets first shot off. The cars and driving are much improved, despite the frankly abysmal attempt at making the physics "realistic". Hitting a curb at like 50mph makes your car do 3 barrel rolls, for example. There are a number of glitches and technical issues surrounding the game too, so it does feel like an old-school sandbox game. The radio stations all suck because the music is terrible, but the chat shows and ads make a worthy return. The city itself is very lackluster. There's no variety like in San Andreas. It's not a bad attempt- certainly much better than the Liberty City of the GTA 3 era but most of the map never gets used; partly due to the lack of side missions and mostly because of the main story missions. The achievement "Liberty City Minute" sums this game up. I completed the story and side missions (excluding collectibles) in 28 hours. Despite this, I didn't feel that Nico had gone on an adventure. The story was just not up to scratch even for a normal game, let alone a Grand Theft Auto. The missions/what you do are AVERAGE for a GAME, and beyond attrocious for a Grand Theft Auto. Rockstar's creativity has completely gone out the window. In every respect, even as a game- let alone a Grand Theft Auto- GTA IV is mediocre. The online is decent but GTA is all about the single player experience. Rockstar have thrown away their creativity, variety and originality. I bought this game expecting an even bigger revolution than San Andreas. What I got was a longer than average shooter for a campaign and A miniscule 28 hours single player experience when San Andreas could easily offer triple that even without collectibles. As a shooter, as a game, as a GTA, this game is a dissapointment however you see it. Nobody can justify 98/100. No-one. Even if this game came out before San Andreas it'd deserve less than 90. GTA IV had big shoes to fill, but has failed. There's no question about it. If you truly had even the slightest attachment to San Andreas or even Vice City, you will realise what I'm saying is so true. You can't possibly think this game was NOT a disapointment if you are a true fan of the series. Of course nobody can deny that GTA IV is a good game. But it's impossible to not make comparisons and throw away expectations and past experiences. when reviewing such a highly rated and anticipated game. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    A quarta parte de uma das franquias mais inovadoras do mundo dos game certamente uma das melhores tanto em suas história e personagens e seus gráficos incríveis.
  8. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Rockstar have a reputation of creating great open world games, with worlds that feel alive and interesting stories. Enter Grand Theft Auto IV, the first in the long running GTA franchise to be released for Xbox 360 & PS3. You play as Niko Bellic, a European immigrant searching for a new life with his cousin in the land of opportunity. Unfortunately for them both they live in Liberty City, Romans gambling addiction gets him and Niko in some deep **** and digs up the past Niko tried to leave behind. Yet another amazing game from Rockstar and another great GTA title Expand
  9. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    GTA V is coming out this year, I thought giving GTA IV a try. Another Rockstar masterpiece or s@$ t stain? I don't think its as good as RDR or L.A Loire (thats just me everyone) but it is another amazing game by rockstar! You play as a man named Nico Belic, who came to Libirty City basically New York) to find fortune with his cousin. However to get that fortune he must kill men, drugs, getting chased by cops to earn money for the fortune they were dreaming of and Nico's past still haunts him. One if the best story's in gaming my opinion. Open world in a mini New York with lots of things to do and can explore it by car, boat even helicoper. Multiplayer is great, hard to find matches, but its great. Now here is the Con witch if I didn't have a problem with I would have giving it a 9.5 to 10 is the amount of times it frose on a mission was redicluous and ruined some really good missions. Overall amazing game. Grand Theft Auto IV 9.2/10. Expand
  10. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    A lot of people claim this is a dull GTA game, and say San Andreas is better. San Andreas had more replay value, but GTA IV's story is one of the most underrated stories in a video game ever. It knows when its a good time to be serious, and when it's a good time to be humorous.
  11. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    grand theft auto 4 is one of the best games I've ever played in my life, it is an almost perfect game, but its only shortcoming is that compared to grand theft auto earlier this game has fewer customizations.
  12. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    You know, as a lifelong fan of this game, I can't help but getting a rock hard boner for this game. I mean, holy **** Some games follow, this game leads. If video games could lead, this would be like Abraham Lincoln or some ****
  13. Sep 28, 2013
    6
    Grand theft auto IV tiene sus cosas como buena jugabilidad, buenas graficas entre otros factores importantes en un juego, sin embargo no se ateiene a aceptar una buena historia como es la simple historia de la traicion cada 10 segundos entre negros, es un desastre la historia, sin embar va por buena causa
  14. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    One of the best games i've ever bought. I got this game for $20 4 years after release, but it still seems worth $60. Great classic GTA gameplay, great character (Niko) with a little touch of too much inappropriateness. This game is a must buy today, tomorrow, or anytime. I'll still be playing this game after the GTA 5 release
  15. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is just as impressive as it looks. Although it doesn't offer exciting visuals, or great graphics, it is wildly entertaining, and sets high standards for open world games. Controls take some getting used to, but they make sense for the game's combat style. The story is phenomenal, with strong characters, and an incredible (albeit somewhat cliché) plot. It has plenty of content, fun missions, and great features. Although the game doesn't have much play value after completion of the main story missions, it's easily overlooked. Grand Theft Auto IV is the best of its genre. Expand
  16. Jan 17, 2012
    7
    overhyped,overrated. Also, xbox version looks like a donkey's butthole. Its not a bad game, but many of GTA IV's missions are pretty bland. The game gets points for good voice acting, and having a relatively large open world. I would have rated it an 8, but damn, the graphics are bad on xbox.
  17. Aug 8, 2012
    5
    GTA IV was good, I enjoyed playing and spent a good couple of days on it, however it wasn't enough of an improvment to GTA: San Andreas, they even removed the things that made that game great, you run slower and with seemingly less control, a car tapping your leg deals you damage, which is really annoying, they removed the availability to use planes, and the world was smaller. The two DLC stories weren't that good either, mediocre stories that cleared up only one or two scenarios in the main game, overall, they removed more than they added. Expand
  18. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    GTA IV is an excellent game with a great story and characters.It still retains much of its originality,but in a much more mature way.It does have plenty of shortcomings,but not many will care.
  19. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Just in case you haven't played it yet and you were wondering if the game is still worth playing even though it's five years years old now. Yes. This game is so detailed and more expansive than anything else on the market as of today. Even though the animated characters aren't on par with today's models, the voice acting is top notch and the storyline pulls you along for quite a raunchous adventure of betrayal and revenge. You'll be looking at a total of 90 missions, give or take, so expect a game that will take you a month to play. I found myself liking all of the characters that my protagonist associated with and the main character himself. Outstanding game that only has a drawback on the "save game" issue where if you have to start a mission all over again, you can expect to spend a lot of time just retracing your path to start the mission again. If you haven't played it, now is a perfect time because you can get the two expansions with the main story for only a quarter of the cost of a new game. Expand
  20. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    Holy hot hell what is with all these inflated reviews of this game?! The game was distinctly average at best! The best thing in this game is playing it multiplayer and just messing around with some friends. Except for that, this game was good, but not the best. San Andreas was the best of the series, this one was probably the worst.
  21. Aug 21, 2012
    5
    this game is such a downgrade from san andres there are barely any weapons the characters are annoying the map isnt that good or big its too realistic the mini games are boring the cover system is bad and there is nothing to do in the game after you complete the story on the bright side the shooting is better in this game because it actually uses the trigger buttons instead of the O and or B button the online play is also fun and a good addition with a bunch of different modes and when you shoot people in the game where ever the bullet hits affects the person but this game is very lackluster compared to earlier installments if wasnt for multiplayer and the gun physics id give this a 0 Expand
  22. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    As with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, no getting fat, no swimming underwater, etc, but its uber fun. Do you play online? This game is online and is SUPER fun. Wreck havoc on complete random strangers. Expand
  23. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    GTA IV (along with Uncharted 2,3) is the best game this gen!! I dont care what people say... This game is a masterpiece! It deserves all the praise it gets
  24. May 7, 2013
    10
    Maybe my all time best game. sure the game has flaws, but it barely affect me enjoying every minute in this game. I got the key to city achievement, took me like forever, but at the end I just like to do this meaningless collective things in this game, mainly because i like to drive around the city. The combat/gunplay is not topnotch, but I dont care, the game just has massive other things to do than shooting. I gave the time a 10, maybe a little overrated. I don't think in any way this game is a perfect 10, but I just cannot think of any game is better than this, therefore, after comparison, IMO, this is how a 10 score game should like... Expand
  25. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    It wasn't till the release of GTAV that I stopped playing GTAIV, literally the day before I was driving down the sidewalk of times square and throwing bodies everywhere with the hood of my car or punching a bum then hiding behind a business man so the bum hits him by mistake and then watch the following fight. This is a game I kept finding myself returning to because it is darkly fun which is the tone of the whole series compared to San Andreas, the fun is darker, the art style is darker and so is the story. Niko Bellic is a top notch character and all the people you meet in Liberty City are also colourful and there is plenty of content to keep you busy for years and this is one of the few games where the DLC is actually meaty and worthwhile. This is not a perfect game, I nearly stopped playing it until I discovered the swing that throws you across the map, a lot of people complain that the driving is hard but I found it fun once you got used to it, my problem on the driving front was that New York does not have the best roads for fun cars. What makes GTAIV miss out on game of the year is the companion missions where you have to take one of the characters for a game of darts or something gay like that. Overall this game is jam packed with quality, I recommend thrashing this game till you have seen everything, especially the funny cartoons that can be found on the TV, the map isn't the best that Rockstar has produced but it is so full of content that a 10 is the only score I can give it. Expand
  26. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Don't even get me started. I'll just leave it as . . . MY FAVORITE VIDEO GAME OF ALL-TIME!!
  27. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    One of the best games this gen! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there
  28. May 1, 2014
    3
    Watch cutscenes for 20 minutes. Drive somebody somewhere through a barren, empty wasteland for 10 minutes. Follow a car for 5 minutes, get too close, start mission over from a spot 20 minutes away. Do this 12 times. Change clothes. 10 minute cutscene. Drive 10 minutes to a clumsily controlled 3rd person shootout. Run a hooker over or something supposedly hilarious. Drive someone in a taxi somwhere. 10 minute cutscene. 20 minute cutscene. Drive an ambulance off a roof. Yep, another cutscene. You get the drift. The writing, characters, story and such are top notch, but the actual game itself is a steaming pile of dogsh*t used to fill in the gaping holes in between all of it Expand
  29. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV & Red Dead Redemption are probably my two favorite games. I really don't understand how anyone could rate this poorly... Rockstar makes the best games.
  30. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    It truly smashed the hype and shocked the critics. GTA IV is a game that MUST be experienced even if you haven't liked the game in the past... And what's better is that there is more to come. The DLC will be here around August and we can't wait!!!
  31. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is amazing, not only is this the best GTA game I've ever played but also one of the greatest games I've ever played. GTA IV gives an experience that is unforgettable. You control a serbian immigrant by the name of Niko Bellic who has come to Liberty City (much reminiscent to New York City) to have a better life, however his life is not easy. Niko Bellic is an interesting character, he underlines the struggle to get out to the top, Bellic captures the mood of GTA IV and he shows that there aren't just gangs or the rich but also people trying to start over again. Niko is unlike the other GTA protagonists because he is not a part of a gang, he is a man of his own that is just trying to survive and he does not keep any connections to the gangs. The story of GTA IV is amazing, one of the best storylines I have ever seen, the story will keep you captivated till the end with options that affect how the story plays out. Liberty City is an amazing place, the city is vast and huge with many interactable aspects, Liberty City is full of life with all the different types of people and all the different things you can do in the game. The last big GTA game was San Andreas, San Andreas may have allowed you to do a few more things but the story, the graphics, and the way you approach things is what makes GTA IV outshine San Andreas. The playability of GTA IV is like any other GTA game, the controller and the player become one, outside of story missions you can do whatever you want with contributes to game completion. Overall GTA IV is an amazing game, all the good aspects of the game come together to deliver this monster of a game, there are like virtually ZERO flaws in the game, that is amazing. GTA IV deserves to be one of the greatest games of all time, it smashes it's competition and it deserves the "Game of The Year 2008" Award. GTA IV is a memorable experience that is unforgetable that not only leaves it's mark in the GTA series but in the history of gaming. Breakdown for "Grand Theft Auto IV": Presentation: 10, Graphics: 10, Sound: 10, Gameplay: 10, Lasting Apeeal: 10, Verdict: 10 out of 10 "Masterpiece" Easily the best game I have ever played. Expand
  32. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    I know a lot of people loved this game and it got a lot of hype, but I dont think it was all that great. Yes the graphics were amazing (for the time), and yes the cars got A LOT better. But the only thing is it was kind of a let down. I know it looks a lot better, the graphics, the cars, the missions, but people forgot to look at somethings. The fact that they took out so much from what was in the previous GTA'S like San Andreas. They did add a lot of things, and it does look a lot nicer but they took away too much stuff that the bordism kind of took place often. Now im not saying this game sucks or anything like that, im just saying it was kind of a big let down. Although there were a lot of cool new features. The graphics had a HUGE improvement. And the story was an actual story. Recommendation level: 6/10. Expand
  33. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    I don't understand how anyone who is a fan of this particular style of genre, or anyone who enjoys gaming occasionally, cannot like Grand Theft Auto IV. It gives you the freedom to do absolutely anything you want, and gives you the tools to do it. The missions are fun and interesting, the array of guns and cars to choose from is amazing, and the sheer size of the map is something I have never seen before. I cannot wait for the next Grand Theft Auto to come out. Expand
  34. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments
    are bland, all of which combines to make it difficult to see where you are and where you’re going.

    Second: they jacked up the driving physics of the game so now it feels like everything is moving underwater. Turns that used to be simple now send you sliding into walls, which gets frustrating given the large number of slow, crappy cars you seem to be forced to drive in this game.

    Third: the stale mission-structured gameplay is exactly the same as it was over 10 years ago. It’s so tedious now. You get a mission giver, you have to drive across town to start the mission, then you have to drive to your mission destination, then back to your house if you want to keep your car. Fail the mission and you have to start the commute again. They have even added in “features” like toll booths now, which create traffic on bridges that honestly make you feel like you are commuting to work because if you charge through them you get an automatic wanted rating.

    Oh, and did I mention something about keeping a car you want available? Well, in this game they decided to do away with garages for some reason. You know: the places you used to be able to store vehicles. Now your various pads with have one or two parallel parking spaces out in the middle of the AI-trafficked street and if you park a car there *perfectly* it will be saved. However, if it’s a big car or if the AI traffic knocks it slightly out of place, it will be gone when you reload.

    Possibly the most annoying new “feature” of this series is the dating mini-games. You can hang out with certain people to increase their affection toward you, which reaps you certain benefits, but then ALL of them CONSTANTLY call you to hang out, even if you’re in the middle of a mission getting chased by the cops, or in the middle of commuting to do your next mission, or commuting home from your last mission. Whatever. And if you tell them no, even if it’s your own cousin asking you to go bowling again, though you just went bowling with him two days ago, he will get upset and you’ll lose affection. You can’t tell them no.

    Also, Liberty City is big but incredibly empty. You will not be rewarded for exploring b/c there is simply not much out there. Instead of secret packages to collect, this time around you have to kill special pigeons, which are very frustrating to find even with the help of a guide. I got to about 20 or so before I asked myself why the hell I was doing it, because I wasn’t having any fun.

    Finally, the “story” I keep seeing so many positive reviews refer to is stupid & nonsensical. You’re an illegal alien who begins a career as a professional criminal as soon as you step off the boat. Not much different from any other GTA protagonist aside from not already being a US citizen, right? Except now you’re Borat. AMAZING! There IS NO story! You’re a criminal who makes friends with other criminals throughout the game and then commits criminal acts. *spoiler*

    Furthermore, while there may well be 20 hours’ worth of cutscenes (which tend to go on forever) & dialogue (which also never ends during your mission commutes with NPCs), it seems like it was all written by a 10-year old boy. Penis & fart jokes, characters needlessly dropping f-bombs twice a sentence to be “edgy” (I guess), and all-around lame humor in general that makes you roll your eyes and want to skip through every cutscene you come across. Unless you are a 10-year old boy, in which case I guess you’d be in heaven. Maybe that’s the targeted demographic now?

    But Rockstar will keep making the same game as long as sheep keep buying it. Anyone who wants to see what an improvement in this genre looks like, I’d direct you toward Saints Row the Third. Not the best game ever, but one that is actually, you know, “fun” to play. Something Rockstar left out of GTA4.
    Expand
  35. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    This game is pretty damn easy.... Maybe it was because I was a bit younger, but San Andreas was a hard game for me! This game was (I believe) the first big release from GTA to be in HD and not 3D, and I have to say... It looks pretty good. For the story in this game, it is decent, but the game play is great and saves the story. And my problem with this game settles in the multiplayer. I don't know about the other platforms, but on the Xbox this is FULL of hackers and people that will teleport you randomly and freeze your system. The other 60 of the players shoot you the second you spawn in. I don't see the fun in that! This game was fun, but not nearly good enough for the 98 meta-score and definitely not as good as I thought it was back in '09 Expand
  36. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    My first Grand Theft Auto game and, with that being said, I liked it. I don't think it's the best game ever but pretty enjoyable and will keep you busy for a while. The good: the story is excellent, Liberty City is huge, great music, and voice acting is excellent as well. The bad: no reason to explore LC, driving takes a while to get used to, the penalty for failure is very high, combat is meh, and I could never get multiplayer to work. All in all, I recommend a purchase for this. These days it's pretty cheap and you get a lot of bang for your buck and the story is worth experiencing. Expand
  37. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    The number 1 rated game on metacritic,I can see why.This game has awesome combat,fun mini-games and really cool veichles.I can't wait to see what they do in GTA 5.
  38. Oct 2, 2010
    6
    It lacks everything that San Andreas was and whenever they make a new GTA of course it has to live up the expectations of the last game. I feel like it went a step backwards. The city is dull and forgettable, Niko is boring, barely customizable and every other character is painfully plain. The DLC titles however, are amazing, instead of GTAIV, i would suggest buying the The Lost and Damned and The Ballad of Gay Tony, as they define what a GTA game should be.. unique and a hell of a lot of fun. Expand
  39. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Although it may not contain the amount of variety that was provided by San Andreas (which is still the best in the series) it excels in creating a living, breathing open world environment which has not been matched until the release of Skyrim. A must own for GTA fans, open world fans or fans of great games in general
  40. Nov 25, 2011
    5
    GTA IV wasn't as good as people were making it out to be. The game lost it's sense of fun and humor for the sake of realism and it ended up being boring. The cars drove like a ton of bricks, the graphics while good made areas of the game way too dark, even with the brightness turned right up.

    The multiplayer while fun at first became very boring after a few weeks.

    I play games for fun
    and GTA IV is not fun. I recommend playing Saints Row 2 & 3 instead. Expand
  41. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Don't get the hype, there is nothing "revolutionary" about this game. All I experienced was an extremely dull game with often repetitive missions and monotonous combat.
  42. Aug 26, 2013
    8
    As being misunderstood by the many who claim this game to be the first downfall for the GTA franchise, I would like to concur on many of the dissenting opinions towards this game. Some are deserved, while others just seem childish. Sure, the driving mechanics are a bit hard to handle, even with the most luxurious of cars, and the use of gratuitous game cheats to give you a whole new level of gameplay have been removed for the simply stock versions, none of these makes the aesthetic and feel of Liberty City or the game itself in any shape or form deserving of a 2 or a 1. As this being Rockstar's first leap into the clear cut 3D proven successful by PS3 and XBOX, it is really refreshing to actually notice the details and contours of the city, and the people who live in it. The Problem with the previous GTA's was that the graphics, while acceptable enough, made many of the towns feel vain and empty of depth, where in this "new" installment, we get to see a city that is constantly sprawling at every move you make, and I have to give credit to Rockstar to making a world that is adaptive to your actions as well as reactive in a fluent way. Although, with the inclusion of better 3D graphics, there was a sudden shock of grayness and "realism" to the environment, as well as the protagonist you play in. But, in favor of making a character more out of just wanting to live in peace and solidarity with his vicious past against the usual stock GTA character, "Out to make money" and "ruling the world, Tony Montana style", it is quite refreshing to see a character that we can feel with who has a more legitimate reason for trying to get money in a town full of people, lost from the excesses of the American Dream. And with his Cousin, Roman, conflicting against him with his drive and desire to be rich and own the city (an ode to previous GTA protagonists), you get to see more 3rd dimensional characters within the 3rd dimensional world. YOu get to hang out with them, spend time with them, and get to know them, unlike in previous installments where it was job after job without much context inbetween. The cheats have been improved, not by variations, but how you can use them. NOw, you can "dial" the cheats, and once doing so, are implemented permanently on your "cell phone", which can be activated instantly, a much more faster and efficient method than learning a combo move in other installments. And with your phone, you have access to much more implementations around the world, such as calling the cops, taking "pictures", or even delving in the curiosity of your friends phone messages. Combat has greatly improved, with much better cover systems, aiming, and fluency between combat situations. There are no more awkward first person shooting galleries, which helps especially when dealing with a massive crowd. The weapon variation has diminished greatly, however, with only 2 sets of weapons and one special weapon (rpg). Ragdoll physics upon car impacts are greatly improved as well, although running into multiple targets causes major bog with the FPS, both on console and pc (much greater on console, and haven't played the PC, so this is why I am reviewing through Xbox 360). Car damage is much more detailed and exciting, rather than from simplistic skirt and hood tears, the detail being so great that it could contend with Burnout games. Overall, GTA IV was a major improvement on some of the tripes of the originals, and while the fun of the game may had weined in or just substituted for it's massive and varied multiplayer system, it surely hadn't died away. And who knows? GTA V might bring both the fun, over-amped excitement of the originals, while maintaining the fluent and 3rd dimensional characterization and combat from this new installment. Expand
  43. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Story: 7
    Characters: 10
    Graphics: 7
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: 8
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 8
    Gameplay: 7
    Re-Playability Value: 10
    Fun Factor: 10

    Score: 8.7/10 = A
  44. Nov 13, 2012
    6
    I suppose I understand the appeal of these open world games but some games are not for everyone. I have never been a fan of GTA or Saint's Row and this is not changing my mind. It's boring. Good story, bland gameplay. The humor kept me going
  45. May 27, 2012
    10
    A solid 30 hour+ story mode with a compelling plot, diverse and interesting characters and a beautiful, well designed world, the vehicles handle well (with the exception of the ridiculously easy to fall off motorcycles) and the new cover-based action works perfectly and seems a natural evolution for the series. The online free roam mode is endless fun with friends (seriously, four years on my friends and I are still playing this game). All that's left to do is to compare it to the previous instalment, San Andreas. And honestly, I'm not sure where I stand on this front. The gameplay is smoother and more workable than ever before. The story and characters more interesting. But the map is too generic when compared to the huge-scale, diverse behemoth that was San Andreas, and the upbeat, slightly comical elements of the gameplay and story are almost entirely obliterated in favour of a more moody, darker tone. Above all else, I like the main character, he has depth, which is a trait that no main character in the numerous previous titles possessed, he doesn't kill unnecessarily (well, not unless I make him) and when he does it is with remorse, unlike, say, CJ from San Andreas, who as I recall pushed someone into a hole and buried him under cement for no apparent reason, moments like that just made me sick. So yeah, A f*cking good game that's more than worthy of a buy (It's cheep as chips now too, so the least you can do is snag it for a few bucks in preparation for GTA V) Expand
  46. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games on the Xbox 360 period. It has a great setting, funny characters, and a good enough story.

    GTA IV's biggest success is the city Liberty City. Every area looks different from the other, unlike most open world games. While traveling you get to pick your choice of music and they have a radio station for everybody. This game also has many means
    of traveling. Helicopter, car, and motorcycle are just some of the many vehicles available in this game.

    GTA IV has some very memorable missions that you will do. They are all pretty different, with a few exceptions. The storyline and side missions will assure you that you will spend a very long time in this game. GTA IV is a masterpiece.
    Expand
  47. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    I've never played a GTA game before, but htis blew me away. A very meaningful and movign story, a great lead character with one hilarious cousin, tie in a love interest and it make for one great game. The driving feels very nice and realistic, and the piles of extra things to do in Liberty City means you'll never get bored, whether it's hanging out with your friends or going for gold in a street race its just pure fun. The gun-play is solid and the chase sequences between you and the police (Or you chasing after someone else) is exilherating. Mulltiplayer is incredibly fun with Liberty City being your batleground was one kick-ass idea, and the wide spread of game modes is awesome, and free-mode is very fun. This is a Must-Buy in my book. Buy this now, and if you hate this game then your either a paranoid parent or a sad little chiild who can't get any kills in multiplayer. Expand
  48. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    A definate step backwards from my personal fave San Andreas. I really don't understand how this crap got a positive score from the "Critics" bunch of shills they are. This is one of the most overated games of all time and I love GTA, but this game is a solid step backwards right into a pile of dog S*it.
  49. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    This game is pretty fun, sadly, it is not as much as good as GTA: SA , GTA 3 or GTA: VC...
    Why? This game is mostly about graphics, but the gameplay is not convenient nor comfortable. The game has amazing graphics to be one of the first games for Xbox 360 or for PS3, but they failed with the gameplay, plus the radgoll is cool, but if you fall from a short length, Niko will damaged and you
    will waste time by waiting until he stands up. Also, the story was very idea to be a GTA game. Those are the problems that GTA 4 had (in my opinion). Hopefully GTA 5 is better than GTA 4. Expand
  50. Aug 7, 2013
    8
    I get it. I really do This game is awesome and takes all that is good from the previous GTA entries and makes it great and makes it bigger. Nevermind the obvious graphical upgrade, the story is more realistic. Its just, I have seen this before. I'm not as invested this time around. I don't want to be an immigrant that comes over to my country to terrorize my country to get paid. I liked San Andreas ability to truly customize my playable character through clothes and body type.

    The radio stuff isn't as good and for a story that is supposed to be so believable, the totality of what Niko gets away with in terms of destruction is absolutely ludicrous.

    The missions drag for me and have been done before in previous GTA's. The unlocking of new places in the city is predictable and expected.

    I think that is my problem with this; for all of its grandeur, most of it I totally expected. I knew what I was getting into through and through and that was the problem for me.

    Its a great game for somebody else and I get that. But for me its just a really good game
    Expand
  51. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Laugh at me if you want, I just bought this game from Best Buy because one of my friends convinced me to buy the game saying that the game was good and I had to try it out. I really didn't know what to expect going into GTA 4. When I put the game in, I was blown away how pretty the game looked and this is the first game I've played where I love most of the characters in the story. Niko is a the main protagonist who went to America from Russia to seek a new life. While in Liberty City, a fictional city in Los Angeles, he meets up with his cousin Roman. Roman is a funny character that's in major debt to Loan Sharks. Niko must help his cousin out. While trying to help out his cousin, he meets a girl named Michelle and wants go out with her, but is side-lined from all the work he is doing to help Roman. The characters that you meet early in the game have their own personality instead of being carbon copies of other characters in the game. I have not gotten far into the campaign, but I really enjoy the game and hope I have more fun with it later on. I encourage you to buy this game. Expand
  52. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Sure the shooting controls aren't perfect but overall the story and the missions make the game awesome. It's a well-crafted game. I completely agree with score it got.
  53. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    GTA IV has to be one of the best of the games. It delivers a story of Niko, an illegal immigrant with a dark past who arrives in Liberty City (An extremely-detailed recreation of New York.) at the bottom of the food chain and takes up work with his cousin, Roman, and the local mobs. At the start of the game you'll be doing tedious, boring missions that are usually along the lines of transporting someone or beating up some guy. But eventually the game hands you a gun and tells you to shoot the living f**k out of enemies in certain places, or chase after enemies AND THEN shoot the f**k out of them. While that might sound like it would get boring, it never does. The aiming system is great, and the cover system is even better. Plus, the game unlocks new areas for you as you play through the story. If you don't feel like playing through the story, that's okay, because the game features the classic GTA free-roaming that the series is known for. Tired of doing missions? That's cool, go grab yourself a shotgun and go a on a killing spree. Feeling like getting away from the cops? Go over and steal yourself a helicopter and fly into a non-unlocked area, you get an instant five-star wanted level. No matter what you do, this game will provide entertainment. Play this game. Expand
  54. Aug 6, 2014
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is an incredible sandbox game with an amazing story. The main aspect of the game is the story, it's a pretty good one. The story has a few twists here and there and the characters are great too. Grand Theft Auto IV focuses more on the story and missions rather than activities to do outside of the story. There's not a whole lot to do except go to a restaurant or bowing or something. The complaint I have about gameplay is that there's absolutely nothing to spend your money on. A person could easily accumulate over $750,000 but there's nothing to buy except weapons and clothes. The technical complaint I have is that the driving isn't the greatest. I feel like my vehicle is going to tip over or drift off around the corner at any time. The multiplayer of Grand Theft Auto IV is pretty great. It's fun to hang out with everyone in free roam or do some racing and missions, it's a blast. Grand Theft Auto IV is a great installment of the series for its compelling story, and it also introduced multiplayer for the better of the series, it's an amazing game. Expand
  55. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    The game isn't perfect, nothing is, but this rating by the CoDFather himself is really 9.8. The cheats are really good, the phone feature, the weapons, the storyline, all as realistic as any game ever was! Betrayal, friendship, drugs, blood, sex, money, all in the big city! What can be more realistic?! A game of the year by many companies including Gameinformer! The endless things you can do, the endless lists of combinations and things to do with fun and time- wasting events. A game of the century! Expand
  56. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    The best game that I've ever played. You won't spend less than 30 hours in the amazing campaign, and there's plenty to do in Liberty City and in the well-added multiplayer. Graphics are not Crysis, but are perfectly okay. Car driving is easy and awesome as in other GTA games. I have more pleasure to play this game than any other, and while I was playing this, time flew. MUST BUY.
  57. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    After nearly eleven years of ups and downs, Rockstar has nailed it. This is the ultimate Grand Theft Auto experience, a powerhouse performance that will leave you clamoring for more, long after you've completed its story.
  58. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This game has a great story and is very fun to play through once or twice or just mess around with codes on and blow things up. That said, after you beat it you'll probably only play through it once more and even then you may never touch it again. The multiplayer is there, but it feels really disconnected, and literally, you're often disconnected. It's a good game, worthy of the franchise, but it's not the best game ever. Expand
  59. May 17, 2012
    8
    What a great game, funny story, amazing graphics, interesting world to explore, lots of cool side quests like racing.

    The only negatives are the awkwardness of aiming, and somewhere near the end the storyline missions get harder and boring. But by that point I had already played for 50 or so hours, so clearly the rest of the game was fun.
  60. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    It Grand Theft Auto that should cover the review already. I can't tell you how many hours I've wasted playing mulitplayer with my friends. Rock Star cannot disappoint they crafted a great well thought out game with great game-play.
  61. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    The Graphics Of This Game Is Just Unbelievable. The Gameplay is Amazing, The Sound, Lighting, And Effects Make Sound Like Your In The Game. Buy This Game Now. You Wont Regret it. I Can garuantee. I Just Keep Playin And Playin This Everyday.
  62. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    BY FAR!!!!!!!!!! one of the best games i have ever played in a long time!!!!! seriously can't wait for the release of gta v !!! but by the mean time i would just try to wait till it comes out but for now i'd just keep playin dis one!!!
  63. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    Instant classic, tons of missions, fun gun play and great car chases. The story is great and this game is brutal in a classic rock star way. A few let downs about this game, no garages to store more than two cars, no gym to change appearance, and a few other things that were left out that I liked in the other gta series. But its still a great game overall.
  64. Aug 18, 2011
    6
    The graphics are good, voice acting is bad (I mean Russian accents), cutscenes look bad, no checkpoints in missions, fun to explore the city. Basically, this is just above average open world game, Just Cause 2 is better.
  65. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    I will be totally honest GTA 4 was the game that made me buy the Xbox 360 and after beating the game twice I have come to the conclusion that it was totally worth it. First of they have made some changes to the gameplay some fans of GTA may like it some may not. I think it was a great idea to make these changes and make the game more realistic rather than using the same formula Rockstar has been using for the previous GTAs. They have added a new physics engine which will be in effect while driving and walking, if you get hit by a car whe nyou are walking you fall down and get hurt, if you are driving roughly and crash into a wall or tree you may fall out of your car hurt, if you are driving a bike roughly and you crash than you may land on your head which may result in instant death. Some people may find this annoying but I for one thought these changes were executed pretty well and adds more realism and a real life feel to the game. The wanted level system has also been worked where you have to escape a region in which the cops are looking for you to escape them, going to pay and spray when you are visible to the cops will not work and if you start violence for no reason on the streets with no cops around the cops will still be alerted about your actions. Other additions are the use of the cell phone that you can use to call friends, girl friends and 911, the Internet which has fake websites which the player can use to browse some information, do some side missions or find a date. You can also hang out with you friends there a good number of places to go however they have their tastes and preferences if you improve your relationship with them you will be allowed to call them to help you or provide some services in different situations, all this is alot similar to the dates in San Andreas it is just that conversations are more deep and engaging this time around. The game's shooting has also been improved with improved camera angles, targeting system and controls along with the cover system and the enemies also react differently upon where you shoot them. This improvement definitely made the shootouts in the game more fun and realistic than the previous GTA games. The player can also hire cabs or call for a cab in order to get around faster around the city. Sadly all the vehicle missions have almost been completely removed and replaced with the Cop side missions however cop side missions this time around are more in depth, longer and more challenging. Along with all this the game also has some racing missions. The side stuff in this game despite being fun and very realistic is far less than it was in San Andreas. A multiplayer mode is in the game and it is far better than the one in San Andreas and has a good number of fun modes to keep the player's interest in the game. The game's story is also very well written and engaging and all the game's characters have a different and interesting personality, the main protogonist of the game Niko Bellic specially is a very deep and interesting character with a badass personality and an awesome accent. The voice acting once again has been done really well like most of the rockstar games the actors are into their characters. The sound effects are also more realistic this time around. The music despite being good is a let down compared to previous games but there is still enough variety in the radio stations and good number of songs to keep the player's interest. The graphics are alot more detailed and realistic, the characters models look alot more detailed and realistic, their animations are also much better and environments look extremely real and the shadow, night and daylight effects have also been very well done. This game is the only GTA game to have graphics that are this realistic and detailed. Definitely the best looking GTA game ever hands down. The game's main story will take the player around 20-25 hours in the first playthrough but after that there are enough side missions and side stuff to hold the player's interest and the game's main story also has alot of replay value specially considering the fact that you get to make some decisions during the missions which is an amazing additions and exactly something which the previous GTA games needed add to that the well done multiplayer mode which the player can spend a long time on without getting bored. Therefore the game's replay value and lasting appeal is very high. Overall GTA 4 is an amazing game and definitely one the best GTA and Sandbox games ever made. 9.5/10 Collapse Expand
  66. Mar 13, 2011
    4
    I have never encountered a game so over hyped on Metacritic before. Okay, so this game has lots of content, but the quality is **** Bad graphics (lighting is most problematic), terrible voice acting (woe betide Jamaicans, I can't understand a single thing they say in this game), poor design (start a mission-get shot-die-start over-cycle repeats). You get my drift. Just because a game has prostitutes in it does not warrant it to automatically have high reviews! Expand
  67. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    A very good game. The story line is good, the physics are good, the characters are well planned out and have very good voice acting, and the AI is almost perfect except there are some bugs and some ways to trick them. The multiplayer is also somewhat fun, I played hours on end on multiplayer alone.

    The game is worth the money.
  68. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    After years of playing this kind of games, I finally play a wonderful game that gives so many freedom, so realistic, that makes the game very dangerous, but at the same time is so much fun. It is a big-smash to your face, or a shot, one of my favourite games, and one of the best I've played.
  69. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    This game may not be an RPG, but is still quite fun to play! the freedom this games gives you is incredible... you can climb, drive, fly, steal, kill, run from the cops and pretty much anything you can do in real life haha, the story is one of the best i have seen, the main character is so charimatic too, i could rate this game a 10 but there are 2 things i hate about this game, one if the Physics and the controls, the controls are HORRIBLE BIG TIME, if you spend a lot of time playing this game on Xbox Live you would know what i am saying... some times the slightest move on the stick your char will do what the hell it wants, also the physics make the gameplay SLOW... i MEAN IT, sometimes you feel like everything is in slow motion.

    But still one of the greatest games i have ever played.
    Expand
  70. Nov 23, 2012
    2
    Most overrated game of all time! this game sucks so bad. I only paid 20 bucks for it and I feel like I have been ripped off. San Andreas is way better this game is so bad it shouldn't be allowed to have the GTA name. I would recommend Saints row 3 if you like the past GTA's. Rockstar should be ashamed.
  71. Jun 17, 2013
    3
    GTA IV Has to take the gold for being the most overrated game of all time. Pros: -Lengthy Story, a lot of gameplay available -Sandbox game, can be played an unlimited amount of times, providing you can find something fun. Cons: -Clunky feeling controls and slow character response -Game is almost becoming a normal life for a criminal, where has all the fun things from GTA:VC and GTA:SA Gone?
    -Online provides no actual purpose, only a few sketchy gamemodes and a sandbox mode which most players will choose, however nothing really more to it than the story with a few friends
    -Color seems to have flown out the window, the only colors this game using is Grey, black and murky colors.
    -irritating real life style situations, in GTA IV you can go bowling with a cousin, go on dates with girls and generally do things which you can do for real, however in GTA the fun is taken out of it when you are constantly called or text messaged asking you to do certain things, and if you don't, your relationship with the character drops, resulting in a forced,broken up feeling to the idea of a fun criminal game.

    GTA IV deserves nothing more than a 4 or a 5/10, with a few fun things here and there, and if you can actually involved in online and find something to do, the game can provides hours, but really, there isn't anything TO do, other than shoot each other and steal a few cars, sound fun? wait until you try to drive them, the car responses will have you screaming
    Expand
  72. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    I can understand why some people do not like this game. It is filled with flaws, which to some are disappointing, but the main reason it is such a great game because it rises above its problems to deliver such an incredible gaming experience that no other game at the time of this game's release could match.Even after 3 years in the market,this is the game to buy,even more so as you can get it now in under 10 bucks. Expand
  73. Sep 19, 2013
    8
    Just a great game if you want to play a GTA game pick up Grand Theft Auto 4 the price is extremely low for this game its a great game the graphics controls and gameplay I just hated the story and extremely boring characters but it does not kill the game its open world sandbox feature is worth a try because its fairly cheap these days
  74. Nov 2, 2013
    6
    THE GOOD: Niko is a cool character. The map has some cool landmarks that can make it interesting. Map can be fun to explore.

    THE BAD: There are a large amount of issues in this game. The cars control badly, like slippery boats. The game definitely looks like an X360 game but graphics are still not all that visually pleasing. The game removes so much from GTA San Andreas. San Andreas had
    mountains, countrysides, deserts, small towns, and big cities. GTA IV, on the other hand, is just one city. Gun mechanics could be much more responsive. Way too many cops in this game, which can limit freedom to do crazy stuff. There are performance issues that are annoying. For example, when you drive fast, sometimes you can run into invisible objects, which are textures that have not appeared yet. Cheat codes are also hard to access at critical times because they are put in the in-game phone. When you are trying to put in a cheat code a cop can shoot you and make you automatically put the phone away. It is extremely annoying and once again, limits freedom. There are only a few outfits available to change your character into, which is a disappointment because San Andreas allowed you to change clothes, haircuts, and tattoos in a variety of ways. GTA IV just doesn't do the one thing that is necessary for an open-world game, ALLOW FREEDOM.

    Very overrated game. At its best, it can be worth renting to enjoy the things it does get right. Rent it.
    Expand
  75. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    Just 3 words. One big masterpiece!!!!!!

    But forget about the boat like car handling and some of the unnecessary features like sex appeal and fat in. San Andreas.
  76. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is most likely the pinnacle of action sandboxers this console has seen. And it may even remain as one, as GTA III did before it. The story is brilliant - it has multiple endings, and whether or not you realize it, your in-game actions impact it. The main missions vary more than previous series entries, and the side-missions also are far more enjoyable. And if your not one for story, the sandbox world is one of a kind. You can load up, throw money to a tramp, get a new jacket, pay for a heli-tour, hijack said heli-tour, and stand atop a building with a sniper. Or one of the hundreds of other opportunities Rocktars beautifully re-booted and re-imaged Liberty City has to offer. And go online, with two or more friends, or on your own. That's another world of it's own. Expand
  77. Jul 5, 2012
    7
    Motion blur and depth of field kills the game. Even on X360, graphics are too "soapy", blurry and LODs are awful. I have both PC and X360 versions and i enjoy PC version much more. Though, the game itself is nice (everyobody must already know it). 6 for X360 version, 9 for PC version.
  78. Oct 30, 2011
    1
    WOW, that game is just SO bad. First of all the story : by far the worst characters in a GTA game, and the worst story as well : Dude comes into another country searching foor another dude who has betrayed him - revenge time! but ends up saving his cousin over and over and over again , by the worst story and characters. Then there are graphics....and like always the graphics are outdated at least by a year. Music on the radio is so bad for the most part that im just driving with radio off - something i have never been doing in a GTA game. People in Liberty City are so pissed,, even if you close by somebody, he'll say "WTF?", which is just completely inappropriate. Car controls are probably the worst in the gaming history. Then there is multi-player: That's the place where i had a little fun running around with my friends and shooting everything that moves, still the game is all hype, and i still don't understand how did it get 98/100 Expand
  79. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    This game was amazing and all but It wasn't addictive. I would play some missions, quit for a week or a month or so, and come back to play some more. I was amazed when I finally beat the thing probably a year after I bought it. Its a great game to come back to periodically. Add to the rotation.
  80. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Liberty City returns in GTA IV, with a epic storyline that really drags you into the magic of the game. No feeling is like the one when you step into the shoes of Niko Bellic as he steps onshore the land of opportunity. Gorgeous graphics, addictive gameplay, a gritty storyline, solid multiplayer and top of the line sound (17 radio stations!) GTA IV is not to be missed.
  81. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Just play the story missions and when your done with then roam around Liberty City with the amazing music in this game. Last but not least play the multiplayer then you'll exactly why this game is amazing can't wait till Grand Theft Auto V!
  82. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    GTA4 is the definition of perfect. This game does everything right from story telling to gameplay to interesting characters to driving mechanics and graphics. Nico Bellic is such an awesome character and his cousin Roman is so funny. You start the game having just arrived in liberty city helping Roman with his taxi business doing odd jobs, but before long you meet a ton of different characters and end up doing a variety of missions including collecting outstanding debts, driving people from place to place and killing people on demand. The missions are mixed and varied so you will never get board. If you don't have this game in your collection you should go out now and buy it today. Expand
  83. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    Great Game ...Great features...Great graphics..The controls are easy to master. Scenery is good. Scenarios are awesome. The weapons are amazing but some features from its previous successors are missing such as the gym and many more. This game's worth buying and playing but it deservedly shouldn't deserve to get any awards.
  84. Sep 29, 2012
    6
    Good: An incredibly detailed, realistic urban world for the player to explore. Driving and car chases can be fun.

    Bad: GTA IV has a terrible (at times unplayable) framerate on the Xbox 360 (I've read the PS3 version is even worse). It also has one of the worst gameplay cameras I've come across (it constantly autocenters itself, making for a very unpleasant--even nauseating--experience.)
    The lack of checkpoints in missions is a big middle finger to the player from the developer. The cutscenes are drawn out and overacted, with uninteresting dialogue.

    Summary: an outstanding *world* but a mediocre *game*.
    Expand
  85. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, one of the few games I consider to be perfect. Easily the best Grand Theft Auto to date. A full world full of new secrets to explore and fun to be had.
  86. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    Graphics: 6/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 7/10 Voice acting: 7/10 Enjoyment: 6/10 = 6.8 (good)
    The graphics are just a blurry mess, I know it came out 5 years ago but even then it just looked like a blurry mess. Although games aren't all about the graphics so lets talk about the game.
    This is not Grand Theft Auto! This is Niko's Chavy Day Out Simulator. This is nothing like the others except
    it's an open world in an American city. Where's the funny characters? Where's the funny humor? Where's the funny?
    GTA 5 please bring back the funny.
    Thanks for reading and I'll JackYaLater.
    Expand
  87. Jul 25, 2013
    0
    0/10 game does not do what it says
    not good
    ┈┈┈┈┈┈▕▔╲┈┈┈┈┈┈
    ┈┈┈┈┈┈┈▏▕┈┈┈┈┈┈
    ┈┈┈┈┈┈┈▏▕▂▂▂┈┈┈
    ▂▂▂▂▂▂╱┈▕▂▂▂▏┈┈
    ▉▉▉▉▉┈┈┈▕▂▂▂▏┈┈
    ▉▉▉▉▉┈┈┈▕▂▂▂▏┈┈
    ▔▔▔▔▔▔╲▂▕▂▂▂I
  88. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    GTA IV is a game that I love to call "a masterpiece". My journey with Niko Bellic is one of the most memorable experiences I've ever been at in my life. Exploring Liberty City (one of the most impressive, realistic, visually stunning worlds I've ever explored) for almost 6 months has been so awesome, that I want to play it again, experience it again, and LIVE it again. Despite on all the controversy that surrounds it, its elements (stunning action pieces, well-structured storyline, relationships with friends, shocking plot twists/turns, cast of characters, and many activities to do) are flawless and it couldn't stop getting any better. This is, unexpectedly, one of my favorite games ever, and in every bit of respect I love to give it, it would be enormous for everyone to see. After I finished over 100 hours of campaign mode, I come to feel for Niko, who is flawed and desperate to "climb out the hole he trip in" (a underworld full of psychopaths, thieves, loan sharks, crooked people, and gang-bangers). Rockstar has told one of the greatest stories ever told in gaming. It deserves to be the greatest game of the current generation of gaming, but also hold a shadow, along with GTA V, over the next generation, making it look bad. I love to recommend this game to ALL of you to experience. The multiplayer does help with its success, but most of it comes from its single-player mode, which is one of the most memorable experiences I've also ever played, as well. So, I'm gonna make this short: If any of you want to "understand" on what I am saying, now is the chance to PLAY this game, NOW. Expand
  89. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    "Grand Theft Auto IV" is the most overrated title of the Xbox 360 generation. The game is fun, yes. And it has an unbelievable amount of content, including it's own TV shows and internet. The game is also incredibly boring for long stretches of time and stiffly animated to the point of making motion in the original Xbox look cutting edge.

    I know what's going on. GTAIV has an epic and
    cinematic start. The first few missions of petty beatdowns and car theft are fun. The characters are interesting in a way most video game characters are not. That's about as far as most reviewers go. If you play the game the whole way through, like me, you suffer through long car rides between missions, missions that repeat from the start due to random deaths, and string of boring dates and man-dates. Statistics show that most GTAIV players will not finish the game, and I cannot blame them.

    GTAIV ultimately proves that a bigger sandbox is not a funner sandbox. Hardly any buildings can be entered, so the game world is one big fake parking lot. Police chases escalate quickly but always end with Niko running out of range or paying a small fine after exploding in his car. And the story really does drag on to long to the point where I really stop caring so much about Niko and only about my own obsessive need to finish every game I buy. Really, I would rather write about how great this game (I am giving it an 8!), but this GTAIV isn't an underdog story.
    Expand
  90. Apr 2, 2012
    7
    A brilliant, well written, fun game that has some things that bring it down a notch. It's a great game with lots to do, and combat is fun. The main issue I had was the fact I couldnt beat it because of a bug that wouldn't let me get onto a helicopter. That was disappointing. I also wish the map was bigger and you could fly aircraft. However, beyond those issues, Grand Theft Auto IV is a good game borderlining on greatness but for me was held just back a tad. Expand
  91. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    This game, the best in the GTA series to this point, is wonderful. It has great open environment play and awesome missions as well. Rockstar made a great one here.
  92. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    People need to stop living the "2008" hype and start to see this game for what it really is. GTA IV is a okay game with wasted potential. This new game of the acclaimed GTA franchise could have been even more exciting and "mind-blowingly" fun than GTA San Andreas, but it fails miserably for the sake of "realism". Dear Rockstar, if i wanted to eat a hotdog on the f#cking street, talk on the phone with people that i don't care about; going to lan houses and forced to go to extremely boring places like theaters i would have done it. Why i didn't make any of those activities ? Because they are BORING! That's why i play videogames. I admit that GTA San Andreas was compromised with reality at a certain level, but it also gave you full character costumization; the possibility of buying houses; learn karate movements; costumize cars; fly airplanes; awesome radio stations; much more cool places to explore along with interesting characters and missions. GTA IV doesnt have any of that, instead, we have boring stuff like playing darts and surf on the internet. Actually, you won't remember almost anything of the game besides the graphics, city and multiplayer. Nearly all the characters are boring or just irritating. God, i hate Roman so much that i would be able to punch a kid right in the face if that could shut Roman's mouth permanently. I also can't stand the "overweighted" accent of Niko Bellic, despite of how hard i tried to like him. Most of the other characters are always asking favors in desesperate and annoying ways. In GTA San Andreas, the missions with Sweet felt natural, like if you were helping a friend. In GTA IV, people sometimes screams(literally) for help as if you owe them a favor or something like that. Maybe i'm being too nostalgic, but the thing is that GTA SA was way more fun and had much more likeable characters (except for Catalina). The great part of the missions in GTA IV follows the logic: "get a car - go to a place - kill thousands of people - return", with that "little to no variety" you can get easily bored after a couple of hours. The city is brown and ugly, sorry but it's true. The "euphoria" thing makes Niko move sooo slow that is almost painful to watch. "Because that's realistic" - Rockstar would have think. The combat system is an improvement over the old GTA games but the super slow "pseudo-realistic" movements ruins the flow of the battles. If all of this would not be bad enough, the frame rate is always an issue. Multiplayer is multiplayer. Let's be honest, you know what to expect: "deathmatch","team deathmatch", a "sandbox" multiplayer mode where little psycopath kids can have fun by creating hell on earth on NY streets and etc. Even 7 for this game feels like a generosity, but the game can be actually fun sometimes. I'm glad to see at least a 7.9 user score on metacritic, it means that not all the people here have "half-brain". If most people out there where more critic with these game, we wouldn't be living on this "over-casualizated attack of the modern warfare clones " age of videogame industry. Expand
  93. Nov 23, 2014
    6
    Liberty City has undergone an amazing HD transformation from Grand Theft Auto III, and compared to 3D GTA, GTA IV is huge, although GTA San Andreas is to compete with. The graphics, shooting mechanics and driving physics in the game are a great improvement from previous GTA Games but there are some cons
    The storyline is cliche and not that good. There is a fair share of glitches (Catapult
    swing set being the funniest) and pop-in is very annoying.
    Also GTA IV has devolved from GTA San Andreas as there are no planes, no diversity like the countryside or the sea and not being able to buy houses.
    Oh and Roman Bellic always calling you asking 'To go bowling' This really sucked. They should add a blocking feature on the phone
    But I still enjoyed this game, I couldn't put it down and so I give this game a strong 6
    Expand
  94. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is the best game in the series and the story is about a russian name Niko Bellic follow his trip to Liberty City and make his life turned into an american dream, the city is perfect, the music was perfect and i think there could be more than 100 music i supposed on the radio, visual arts and graphic are perfect and the name of this engine is "Euphoria" makes it realistic not only that, the ability to used phone is perfect but you could play multiplayer if you're bored playing alone and want to play with friend and the decision that effect the story is awesome so the game is perfect as 10. Expand
  95. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    wow just wow this game is an instant classic, just amazing if you haven't played this game yet (don't know why) just go out and get it, it gives you a good story with unlimited replay value
  96. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    Grand Theft Auto IV, has an amazing story line, there are many action packed missions involving many different unique characters as well as completely different situations. The three-dimensional graphics were good. The sound quality was average, I enjoyed driving the vehicles around just to listen to the sound of their engines, it was beautiful.

    The multiplayer was generally
    entertaining; I have had many great times with my friends while playing this game. The different activities in multiplayer were entertaining, such as, “GTA Race” or “Cops & Robbers”
    Although there are some slight problems, such as, when driving any vehicle in single player or multiplayer the controls are a little wacky. It was difficult to turn the headlights on or off as well as to turn the radio off.

    I do enjoy playing this game with or without people; therefore I give this game a 7/10.
    Expand
  97. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game, but its not perfect like some people make it out to be. Firstly there are many games that have much better visuals and character animations than GTA. Seriously, the people run and walk as though their knees are in a fixed position. There are also some issues with the gameplay as in some situations you find Niko running around in circles rather than doing what you pressed on you're controller. Other than that id say this game is perfect, excellent storyline, good soundtrack, and all you would expect from a rockstar game. I recommend it. Expand
  98. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    Wow this is the first GTA game I played and I feel great for it. Soo It was such a great start for me, thought I never would play a mature game this one came over me and didn't feel that mature as I played it.
  99. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Niko is awesome. The campaign is awesome. The city is awesome. When I finished the game there was nothing I could do. But the physics engine alone proved me wrong. Driving cars in this game is bloody awesome. This game is to good for a review. It should just automatically get a permanent 10.
  100. Jul 14, 2012
    4
    I didn't buy this game but I played it when I was at my friends house. From what I played the story wasn't very interesting. I didn't really like the shooting and as for the jumping it wasn't top notch. The only thing I found fun was driving around at high speeds and jumping off high ledges. It got boring for me fairly quickly for me.
  101. rhe
    Oct 25, 2010
    0
    While this game has an excellently realised and altogether human protagonist, a brilliant cast of characters, some cutting edge graphical achievements with one of the best physics engines in gaming today and some stellar voice actors. The only reason I would buy GTA 4 is the insane amount of stuff that you can do outside of the missions and this is where it falls short because the truth is that I wanted this game to be as good as GTA: San Andreas if not better and when I popped GTA 4 into my 360 I couldn't help but get bored because there just isn't enough in GTA 4 outside of the missions to keep you busy and while some may say don't compare it to GTA: SA you really can't help it because you expect it to be better than its predecessor but even GTA: SA had more stuff to keep you busy outside of missions. Collapse
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.