Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2994 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Catraven
    May 1, 2008
    9
    This game is the best GTA to date. It's so much fun that I can't wait to play it when I get home from work! The missions are fun and easy and I hope they stay that way.Good job Rockstar!
  2. StephenL.
    May 5, 2008
    8
    This is a good game for all types of gamers but it wasn't a big enough improvement on the last game to get an 9 or 10. Moving around on foot is clunky and most of the buildings are like cardboard cut outs, people dont die as satisfyingly as in the previous games, the feds are on your case in the airport and you cant blow up planes. The is plenty of good tho, the soundtrack, the This is a good game for all types of gamers but it wasn't a big enough improvement on the last game to get an 9 or 10. Moving around on foot is clunky and most of the buildings are like cardboard cut outs, people dont die as satisfyingly as in the previous games, the feds are on your case in the airport and you cant blow up planes. The is plenty of good tho, the soundtrack, the characters and the drinking missions. Gameplay wise its just as good as the previous games but I was hoping for more. Expand
  3. MuSauce
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    I first started playing this game and I thought hmmm..... Overrated...maybe? But the more I played, the better it got. All I have to say is that the people that have already written reviews knocking it, haven't played it enough. I am giving it a 10 cause I know it will be when all is said and done. on top of that the multiplayer is ridiculously fun!
  4. AlienWare
    May 1, 2008
    10
    ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC, and the first game that could dethrone Half-Life 2.
  5. JimboH.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Comparable to GTA III the first time you played it. Superb storyline. Been a while since I've played a game this fun. Loses a point because the humor that we saw in GTA III isn't really there (where's lazlow when you need him?!). They might as well of just had people randomly say "Republicans are stoopid" followed by a laugh track and some random swearing, since that's Comparable to GTA III the first time you played it. Superb storyline. Been a while since I've played a game this fun. Loses a point because the humor that we saw in GTA III isn't really there (where's lazlow when you need him?!). They might as well of just had people randomly say "Republicans are stoopid" followed by a laugh track and some random swearing, since that's basically what over half of the "humor" is. Expand
  6. RavenWolfx
    May 3, 2008
    9
    I'd give it a 9.25 if I could, but this will suffice. The game is pretty damn good with the best story that GTA has had so far. The graphics are great, with some problems of graphic pop-in (I read that the ps3 verision has this problem a little less, but not much). The aiming system is much improved from previous games, but it still needs work, but the cover system is a welcome I'd give it a 9.25 if I could, but this will suffice. The game is pretty damn good with the best story that GTA has had so far. The graphics are great, with some problems of graphic pop-in (I read that the ps3 verision has this problem a little less, but not much). The aiming system is much improved from previous games, but it still needs work, but the cover system is a welcome addition. I like the cell phone addition, but it could have been further worked on. The multiplayer is pretty decent, but there are some complaints. For example, after you play a ranked match, you are kicked back into the party mode instead of just searching for another match. If you are kicked out of the multiplayer game completely, it loads up the singleplayer again, which is just a waste of time. The load time are long (both single and multi) but not too frequent, and I'm patient enough to wait a whole 10 seconds or so during loading screens (the initial load is much longer, lasting closer to 30 seconds, but I didn't actually time it). All in all, it is a Game of the Year contender, but GTA will find it very difficult when competing against Metal Gear Solid 4, Fallout 3, and Gears of War 2. Buy the game (should take over 30 hours if you do some side missions). Expand
  7. free187s
    May 5, 2008
    10
    To simplify the reason for a 10/10: DETAIL No game in history has as much detail to graphics, storyline, dialog, and gameplay as gta4 has. By all means this game deserves a perfect score.
  8. PaulF.
    May 7, 2008
    9
    An excellent game in almost every aspect, but certainly nothing groundbreaking.
  9. SzchifoT
    May 8, 2008
    8
    Ive completed this game now and its revealed itself to be pretty depthless once the main story is done. Why have a world so big when most of it isn't used? Ok you can go anywhere but theres nothing to do once you get there...i would have liked some more content once the single player was done. As for the multiplayer its pretty shabby (it seems everyone is going back to COD4 after 1 Ive completed this game now and its revealed itself to be pretty depthless once the main story is done. Why have a world so big when most of it isn't used? Ok you can go anywhere but theres nothing to do once you get there...i would have liked some more content once the single player was done. As for the multiplayer its pretty shabby (it seems everyone is going back to COD4 after 1 week). For those who have yet to purchase then grab a copy but beware, once you finish the single player missions this game with probably gather dust until the DLC in november - sorry PS3 fanboys but you wont be getting this. Expand
  10. WilhelmK.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Beautiful - just beautiful.
  11. JamesO.
    May 9, 2008
    8
    Don't listen to a word these "professional" game reviewers are selling you. This game is far from heaven sent. It provides a fun, realistic world in which to run amok with your friends, but the last-gen controls and graphical glitches keep it humbled in the presence of games more worthy of your hard earned cash.
  12. JV
    Jun 8, 2008
    8
    Visually, the preceding GTA's are sick jokes compared to GTA IV, but the missions are almost exactly the same with a few deviations. The side missions are dull this time around, and there are lots of annoying changes made to the GTA formula, such as limited cars, limited safehouses, limited weapon roster, and probably most annoyingly is the limit to how much ammo you can carry. The Visually, the preceding GTA's are sick jokes compared to GTA IV, but the missions are almost exactly the same with a few deviations. The side missions are dull this time around, and there are lots of annoying changes made to the GTA formula, such as limited cars, limited safehouses, limited weapon roster, and probably most annoyingly is the limit to how much ammo you can carry. The most unrewarding part of this game is that after you complete it to 100% you're rewarded with nothing except that the ammo cap is removed, and with NOTHING to do after completion, who wants to waste their money on ammo? Of course the physics are awe-inspiring and the subtle details in every inch of scenery and movement are incredible. The gameplay is a little better as well. But all of the customization that made GTA San Andreas (clothes, cars, body type) has been stripped in this title as well. I think that Rockstar held back on this one; they gave us enough to please the professional critics, but are saving all the best features for future installments. Expand
  13. EricS
    Aug 2, 2009
    8
    This game was a very well done game. The driving was realistic which is probably why everyone hated it but thats life. The glitches were aplenty but no one could forget the swingset glitch or the skydiving glitch. The contols were sketchy and that costed this rating a whole point and the repetitive missions plus the fail-and-do-it-ALL-over-again also costed this rating a point but the This game was a very well done game. The driving was realistic which is probably why everyone hated it but thats life. The glitches were aplenty but no one could forget the swingset glitch or the skydiving glitch. The contols were sketchy and that costed this rating a whole point and the repetitive missions plus the fail-and-do-it-ALL-over-again also costed this rating a point but the graphics, funny characters, GREAT story, and diverse world with its internet and advertisments galore made the grand theft auto series what it is today. Expand
  14. jonathank
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This game really has brought GTA to its finest. Although I would prefer San Andreas over this, GTA 4 is a ery good game as it is. THe graphics are very nice, as good as they can get. The driving has improved alot compared to the previous GTA gaes, and even though there might not be a lot to do in the game( ex. go to the gym, pimp your car), they made up for it by making the game feel very This game really has brought GTA to its finest. Although I would prefer San Andreas over this, GTA 4 is a ery good game as it is. THe graphics are very nice, as good as they can get. The driving has improved alot compared to the previous GTA gaes, and even though there might not be a lot to do in the game( ex. go to the gym, pimp your car), they made up for it by making the game feel very HQ. And to conclude my review, something for the people that are saying thre isnt anything to do in this game: quality over quantity. Overall, GTA 4 is really enjoyable, with all the cars and the multiplayer, although i think they could have removed some of the most unused things( the ATMs, other little things) to add one thing that everyone liked in san andreas: car pimping, baby! Expand
  15. MichaelA.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    It's apparent from most of these comments here that our society constantly degenerates. Easily one of the best games of the decade with a compelling story and great voice acting, tight gameplay, etc. Seriously, unless you have problems with some of the morals in the game (and the really bad decisions are left up to the player so people really can't get offended...) then I find It's apparent from most of these comments here that our society constantly degenerates. Easily one of the best games of the decade with a compelling story and great voice acting, tight gameplay, etc. Seriously, unless you have problems with some of the morals in the game (and the really bad decisions are left up to the player so people really can't get offended...) then I find it hard to believe so many people think this is overrated. Especially since San Andreas is slightly overrated in itself. Ugh. Expand
  16. BryanK.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    I don't know how any of you are actually rating this game before its even released. You are all probably haters who just put low scores to be funny. Well I'm gonna give it a perfect score, just to go against everything you stand for.
  17. MichaelH.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Greatest game of all time. Period.
  18. AustinC.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Grand Theft Auto has always been one of the games that gives one of the most open-world experiences. I've never gotten bored from any GTA game. I have been frustrated at times, but that shows that it all wont be easy. GTA IV will be a phenomenon that will easily change how people play games.
  19. MikeT.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played.
  20. ScottG.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Dead set the best game out. Stunning visuals.
  21. KevinR.
    Apr 29, 2008
    8
    A very good game, and definitely the best entry into the GTA series to date. However, it has numerous small problems, that on the surface may seem insignificant, but on the whole make the game very stagnant around the 10th hour. Simply put, the combat still lacks any variety or nuance, and that just gets dull quickly.
  22. PucklesW.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Pros: next gen graphics, improved physics, slightly better combat systems, unparalled scope, better storyline and character development, and new gameplay functions like online. Getting to easily replay missions when you fail is a nice upgrade too. Cons: this game really doesn't feel much different than the prior 3 GTAs which all eventually got frustrating to play as you've Pros: next gen graphics, improved physics, slightly better combat systems, unparalled scope, better storyline and character development, and new gameplay functions like online. Getting to easily replay missions when you fail is a nice upgrade too. Cons: this game really doesn't feel much different than the prior 3 GTAs which all eventually got frustrating to play as you've combined a mediocre driver, poor shooter, etc. Movement and control are just not great and while the GTA universe is amazing it makes you notice how often controlling Nikko is downright frustrating. Like prior games this one also has glitches, framerate issues, etc. Finally, the character development and storyline is improved but Mass Effect really raised the bar by introducing choice as a key to the storyline. I feel myself wanting the same control over Nikko's decisions and it's just not there. GTA V will probably do the job. All and all it is a great sandbox with some nice enhancements over prior GTAs but it is still plagued by some of the problems that annoyed me about prior iterations. If you loved the others you'll love this more. Me, I still feel it's not quite there. Expand
  23. EdenH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Best game of this decade and that's all there is to it.
  24. TequliaM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    A great game, but definitely not the best next-gen title.(Bioshock and Oblivion still ahead in my opinion) The environment has some grade A graphics but the cars themselves are a let-down. (There is no excuse for semi transparent cars in a next -gen game) The strength of this title and the reason you should buy it is for the storyline,both in its cinematic quality and scope. And it's A great game, but definitely not the best next-gen title.(Bioshock and Oblivion still ahead in my opinion) The environment has some grade A graphics but the cars themselves are a let-down. (There is no excuse for semi transparent cars in a next -gen game) The strength of this title and the reason you should buy it is for the storyline,both in its cinematic quality and scope. And it's a lot of fun. Expand
  25. DanielB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Considering the scope of the city, the graphics are amazing. Being able to go in and out of a building without any load times and go back out without load times is truly amazing, especially when you take a look inside some of these buildings and see how much detail there is. The gameplay is absolutely fantastic. Without a doubt a 10/10.
  26. Andrew
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Since I've bought it I cannot put it down. Whereas other GTA games grow tiresome after a couple hours of play, this one keeps you interested and entertained for multiple hours on end. And that's just doing the missions. Theres also free roaming around, side missions, relationships to tend, and the awesome multiplayer.
    The story and graphics are also excellent.

    10/10
  27. MaxH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Not perfect. But pretty darned good.
  28. Mobius
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Rockstar does it again, but whatâ??s different from the previous GTAâ??s. Well in my opinion not a lot, after playing for 15 hours I was awe struck yet disappointed, I donâ??t know how but I was pulled into the hype of GTA4 and for some reason I was expecting something different something that wasnâ??t GTA Something Amazing!, what I got was GTA?. From the off it Rockstar does it again, but whatâ??s different from the previous GTAâ??s. Well in my opinion not a lot, after playing for 15 hours I was awe struck yet disappointed, I donâ??t know how but I was pulled into the hype of GTA4 and for some reason I was expecting something different something that wasnâ??t GTA Something Amazing!, what I got was GTA?. From the off it feels like GTA and sounds like GTA, nothing much has changed from the previous versions, and for me I am glad of it because you donâ??t screw around with a winning formula, but what is it that makes GTA4 so different, well the only thing apart from multiplayer is the graphics, oddly enough while driving around liberty city you come across areas that look familiar, and only then do you see that your driving around the GTA 3 liberty city, only now it looks like a living breathing city, I guess this is what Rockstar wanted all along and it is only now with the next generation Consoleâ??s that they decided to remake GTA3, and all I can say is WOW. I donâ??t disagree with the magazine reviews or other play.com reviewers, GTA4 is a contender for Game of the Year but take away the polished graphics and what you have is GTA3 with extra contend and better thought out gameplay, donâ??t get me wrong GTA4 is fantastic and if youâ??re a fan of the GTA series then this should be part of your collection without question. Hopefully they donâ??t bother with a Vice City remake and go straight to the San Andreas remake. Expand
  29. SteveB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    It's awesome, and this 10/10 is deserved. Also, big lol's at the people trying to bring the overall score down that have never played it before.
  30. AndyK.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    The best GTA of all, but still not that good I expected from a next-gen-gta...maybe next time.
  31. MarkT.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Tremendously good game - I have not played it all clearly, as it only just came out - but from initial hours a spectacular achievement. Has that godfather type pacing, so does not grab you by the throat from the outset like, say, Bioshock or COD 4, but this is a different creature. Why not a 10? Controls. Maybe its just me, but I find them a bit sluggish, on foot in particular. I also Tremendously good game - I have not played it all clearly, as it only just came out - but from initial hours a spectacular achievement. Has that godfather type pacing, so does not grab you by the throat from the outset like, say, Bioshock or COD 4, but this is a different creature. Why not a 10? Controls. Maybe its just me, but I find them a bit sluggish, on foot in particular. I also found the car shard to use at proper speeds... it too quickly began accelerating wildy and skidding all over the place. That's fun, don't get me wrong, but for true sandbox I would have preferred conservative driving to be a little easier. Expand
  32. VanniG
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Not exactly perfect but its GTA4 on a next Gen console!!!! Its a sandbox game. And this game deserves Game of Year for 2008. The new game engine RAGE with euphoria physics is just amazing. You could say it could be better, but compare to san andrea's and its 100% better. This is a great game and everyone and anyone who doesn't own it should! 10/10 CAN"T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!! Not exactly perfect but its GTA4 on a next Gen console!!!! Its a sandbox game. And this game deserves Game of Year for 2008. The new game engine RAGE with euphoria physics is just amazing. You could say it could be better, but compare to san andrea's and its 100% better. This is a great game and everyone and anyone who doesn't own it should! 10/10 CAN"T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!!!! HELL YEA NUKKA! Expand
  33. VictorM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  34. JakeR.
    May 11, 2008
    9
    Brilliant game. Outstanding storyline and a great world to play in. BUT its not perfect and so no-one can give it 10. 1. No garage 2. No car customisation like saints row 3. Targeting system is still not as proper FPS like saints row 4. The targeting system is not as good as the one in crackdown 5. Not enough variety of clothing 6. The main character is an idoit, he looks like a troll. Brilliant game. Outstanding storyline and a great world to play in. BUT its not perfect and so no-one can give it 10. 1. No garage 2. No car customisation like saints row 3. Targeting system is still not as proper FPS like saints row 4. The targeting system is not as good as the one in crackdown 5. Not enough variety of clothing 6. The main character is an idoit, he looks like a troll. Why cant we customise him? Expand
  35. John
    May 1, 2008
    9
    this GTA is the best one that came out of the 8 that did. the thing that sucks is that you can't fly the jets.... or the forkleft you can't realy work it... but thats just what suckz with it... the car damge likes real you can see ever dent, the cop realy don't want to just kill you if you pull over they get out and walk to the car and realy arest you... but if u run they this GTA is the best one that came out of the 8 that did. the thing that sucks is that you can't fly the jets.... or the forkleft you can't realy work it... but thats just what suckz with it... the car damge likes real you can see ever dent, the cop realy don't want to just kill you if you pull over they get out and walk to the car and realy arest you... but if u run they pull out there fire arm and starts fireing at you.. that makes the game more like the real life cause cops just don't just shoot you. Expand
  36. GameCritic
    May 1, 2008
    10
    You know what got me about this game? The cinnematics. The characters in this game act BETTER than REAL actors in hollywood. And the script is ROCK SOLID. I'm going to replay this game forever... Until the next 1 lol. GO ROCKSTAR... Oh yea and there is a hot coffee joke in the game and it is hilarious! ROCKSTAR U R SUCH PIMPS LMAO
  37. ChaseR.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played. Ever. It's innovative, and will definitely change the face of gaming as we know it. The story is movie-quality, the characters are unique and interesting, and the gameplay mechanics are topnotch. After you get used to the new control scheme, you will love every minute you play.
  38. Cosmic
    May 1, 2008
    10
    The most incredible world put together in a video game that exists. Everything about it is incredible. To really take in this game and understand everything it is about, you will need to play for 50 hours or more, because even after playing hours and hours, you will find or realize something you didn't know before. No this game is not just for people who like GTA, this game is for The most incredible world put together in a video game that exists. Everything about it is incredible. To really take in this game and understand everything it is about, you will need to play for 50 hours or more, because even after playing hours and hours, you will find or realize something you didn't know before. No this game is not just for people who like GTA, this game is for people who want to play the most amazing video game ever made thus far. People with short attention spans stay away, this game may not be for you. Expand
  39. TS
    May 1, 2008
    8
    This game came with high expectations, but I'm going to ignore those expectations. Lets go beyond the fact that this game was supposed to bring God back to the Earth and shake the very foundations of Hell, lets look at it as a game. Graphics are amazing. People have a very endearing cartoonish quality while still having all the appropriate age lines and cars are just... well it might This game came with high expectations, but I'm going to ignore those expectations. Lets go beyond the fact that this game was supposed to bring God back to the Earth and shake the very foundations of Hell, lets look at it as a game. Graphics are amazing. People have a very endearing cartoonish quality while still having all the appropriate age lines and cars are just... well it might be a racing game for the next gen as far as those graphics are concerned. Alas, the world is not made or unmade by graphics. GTA III was a breakthrough because it was the first sandbox game and had more options then any other game of its time. GTA 4... well, its a sandbox game with a large world that the creators should be proud of, but by no means does it introduce new features. Bowling, Dart throwing, and getting drunk add some flavor, but are almost like half-hearted attempts rather then something you can truly enjoy. When the game was first being reviewed there was talk of cops pulling you over for just running a red light and a more "real" feel where everything was very dynamic. Ha. The cops are easier in some ways then the previous series and the action stacks up poorly to games out there like Saint's Row and CrackDown. CrackDown at least brought the unique powers to the table, and while the story brought to us in GTA 4 does count as quite good, it doesn't make up for the complete lack of innovation. Combat is jerky, the aim continues to lock onto people who are down and DEAD while the living continue firing, self aim is amusing but it is a complete pain in the ass to hold the trigger down halfway just to aim. Then there is the save system. I would like to welcome GTA 4 in to the 21st century and remind RockStar that we have HARD DRIVES now that can hold saves from ANYWHERE IN THE GAME. It is tedious to occasionally have to drive all the way across town after reloading in order to redo a mission. IT IS THE HEIGHT OF ANNOYING TO HAVE TO DO THIS SEVERAL TIME FOR THE SAME MISSION. Overall I applaud GTA 4 for the graphics, story, and random fun, but I cannot give it above an eight because the territory it treads has been marked as much as WWII in gaming and all the promise of the previews has become all the empty hype. Expand
  40. ElTorago
    May 1, 2008
    10
    The greatest game ever. Period. I don't even have the game yet.
  41. bestgameever
    May 1, 2008
    10
    NO doubt great graphics when looked at the size of map and compared to previous GTA. THe controls are more realisitc and a ittle harder to control at first but then it is like second nature. THe story is one of the best ever THe sound also very good with a variety of stations and talkshows. The online is a little hard to get on but it was very fun when i was on. There might be a little NO doubt great graphics when looked at the size of map and compared to previous GTA. THe controls are more realisitc and a ittle harder to control at first but then it is like second nature. THe story is one of the best ever THe sound also very good with a variety of stations and talkshows. The online is a little hard to get on but it was very fun when i was on. There might be a little problems but not enough from letting this titlw not get a 10 PS3 version. Expand
  42. HojoM.
    May 1, 2008
    8
    Awesome game, but does not feel finished... very rocky in areas... far from perfect. I would say 9 but the 8 is to balance it out...a little anyways...realistically I'd say it's like a 9.2/10.
  43. BenR.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    It was about time GTA got rid of those crummy canned animations. TG for Euphoria and 16 player Free Roaming!
  44. KevinC.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Best game to come out since Ocarina of Time.
  45. Can'tStandHumanStupidity
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Honestly, if you think the graphics aren't fantastic, not only do you know nothing about video games but you should give them up all together. People need to stop pretending they know anything. GTAIV is the epitome of sand box video games. The attention to detail, no loading time between areas, fantastic physics, great story line, etc is what makes this a 10. If you think it's Honestly, if you think the graphics aren't fantastic, not only do you know nothing about video games but you should give them up all together. People need to stop pretending they know anything. GTAIV is the epitome of sand box video games. The attention to detail, no loading time between areas, fantastic physics, great story line, etc is what makes this a 10. If you think it's graphically mediocre, you're incapable of proper thinking. Just stop. Expand
  46. DiegoR.
    May 17, 2008
    9
    The best fun to be had since the Macarena. Nobody knew what the hell that song was about but everybody wanted to dance and have fun with it. Sorry... I have to go ROMAN is calling me on the cellphone I have to go pick him up.
  47. DavidK.
    May 18, 2008
    10
    By far the best selection from the GTA series. I started the game off thinking it was the same old thing, but the further I played the more I noticed the attention to detail. A living breathing world where every conversation you hear, every radio station you listen to, and every TV show you watch is downright funny. Plus the best characters from and GTA game yet, this game got rid of By far the best selection from the GTA series. I started the game off thinking it was the same old thing, but the further I played the more I noticed the attention to detail. A living breathing world where every conversation you hear, every radio station you listen to, and every TV show you watch is downright funny. Plus the best characters from and GTA game yet, this game got rid of everything I found annoying with San Andreas and improved on everything that was working correctly. I highly recommend this, but it looks like everyone should already own it considering the amount they have sold for both the PS3 and Xbox. Expand
  48. MattC.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is the most realistic game on the market today...and thats what people are looking for, this game offers so much more then expected. You're not a ture American if you don't play Grand Theft Auto IV.
  49. JakeH.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    This game is truly amazing.
  50. MattF.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Great game, but a couple of flaws, and 10/10 means that it is perfect, which it is not. I'd recommend this game to anyone.
  51. BreeandieonW.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    GTA IV belongs in your game collection. It is clear how much thought has gone into this game, and it is superb. This isn't coming from a GTA buff either. I am new to the series and am quite impressed. There are a ton of activities to do and so much to see. It's up to you how the game plays out, so what you put in is what you get out of it. Even the humor within the game is an GTA IV belongs in your game collection. It is clear how much thought has gone into this game, and it is superb. This isn't coming from a GTA buff either. I am new to the series and am quite impressed. There are a ton of activities to do and so much to see. It's up to you how the game plays out, so what you put in is what you get out of it. Even the humor within the game is an awesome touch and makes it that much more enjoyable. The cell phone integration works well also and adds a more social side, which helps to make it an even more memorable experience. Even after you get bored of single player, there are plenty of multiplayer modes such as Cops and Crooks, Hangmans Noose (a personal favorite), deathmatch (of course) and free roam. These can be a hoot when you get all your friends together and just go at it. I can't tell you how much you need to experience this game. At bare minimum rent it, and see what everyone is talking about. Expand
  52. BenH.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    It seems quite obvious that to me that this game is one of the best ever created in the videogame world. From the lifelike city, the realistic physics, the infallible humor, and the well-written script to the intense cop chases, the carefully-honed characters, the sheer open-endedness, and the promising prospect of shooting anyone who pisses you off in the head with a shotgun, GTA IV is It seems quite obvious that to me that this game is one of the best ever created in the videogame world. From the lifelike city, the realistic physics, the infallible humor, and the well-written script to the intense cop chases, the carefully-honed characters, the sheer open-endedness, and the promising prospect of shooting anyone who pisses you off in the head with a shotgun, GTA IV is very much like the games that came before it; however, at the same time, it has made several improvements that easily boost it above any other game of this type, and, indeed, most other games in general. I won't ramble forever here, but I will say this: forget the naysayers, as this game has received so much hype that it seems impossible to this reviewer that there would be no negative scores and reviews. This game, unlike almost every that has come before it (Halo 3, Bioshock, Mass Effect included) lives up to the hype. it is not flawless, obviously, but the flaws themselves are almost minuscule, and critiquing it on these flaws alone would be like hating a perfect film because one of the actors/actresses had bad hair. GTA Iv is certainly greater than the sum of its parts, and, when these sums are added up, it flashes its wealth of gold in gameplay and humor, and almost reinvents--yet again--the sandbox game. This one's a must play. And I didn't even begin to touch on the multiplayer.... Expand
  53. TarvuT.
    May 30, 2008
    8
    Brilliant plot and graphics, disappointing handling (Nico seems to have minor retardation) and abysmal online interactivity, seems as if Rockstar never heard of Play testing. (Multiplayer game could not be joined, returning to single player. But I want to play Multiplayer!)
  54. MrFairrate
    May 3, 2008
    10
    All the people I see giving the low scores are all whining about the same thing: GTA IV isn't much different than other GTAs.......ARE YOU RETARDED?!?!?!? 16 ONLINE MULTIPLAYER!!! 16!!!!! This GTA is very different than the other GTAs. Very good ragdoll effects on the civilians. The vehicles are fun to use. The new police escape feature is new. So if you say that GTA IV is noAll the people I see giving the low scores are all whining about the same thing: GTA IV isn't much different than other GTAs.......ARE YOU RETARDED?!?!?!? 16 ONLINE MULTIPLAYER!!! 16!!!!! This GTA is very different than the other GTAs. Very good ragdoll effects on the civilians. The vehicles are fun to use. The new police escape feature is new. So if you say that GTA IV is no different, please, do us all a favor and shoot yourself. Expand
  55. DHarmshaw
    May 3, 2008
    10
    The first truly next gen game. The PS3 version has slightly better graphic- but then again the xbox 360 gets more downloadable content with new missions-i know which one I'd choose!
  56. Frederick
    May 4, 2008
    9
    I'm convinced that people who trash this game only played for a short time and decided they didn't like it, so they declare that it sucks. You can't judge this game without taking the time to get deep into the single player and multiplayer. Yes, at its core it's got much of the same stuff as other GTA games, and it does have a few problems, which is why I give it a 9 I'm convinced that people who trash this game only played for a short time and decided they didn't like it, so they declare that it sucks. You can't judge this game without taking the time to get deep into the single player and multiplayer. Yes, at its core it's got much of the same stuff as other GTA games, and it does have a few problems, which is why I give it a 9 and not a 10 (I'd give it 9.75 to be exact). But this game has so much stuff to do that it's insane, and most of it is really fun. It may be a little underwhelming at first if you've played GTA before because at first it feels like same-old same-old, but give it time and you will be floored by how much stuff there is to do in this game. People are going to be playing this game for a LONG time. Expand
  57. RudyS.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Believe the hype. This is as good as everyone says it is.
  58. FredC.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This game has poor graphics for a PS3 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  59. ChrisK
    May 5, 2008
    9
    XBox- Not quite a 10 due to graphical issues, worst pop-in in any game ive ever seen. although the amount of content is the reason, i understand. i believe many wouldnt have minded an additional month pushback if some of these errors would have been taken care of. PS3- although no DLC, theres plenty of game there to be ammused with. the pop-in, wait a min....there is no pop-ins! Including XBox- Not quite a 10 due to graphical issues, worst pop-in in any game ive ever seen. although the amount of content is the reason, i understand. i believe many wouldnt have minded an additional month pushback if some of these errors would have been taken care of. PS3- although no DLC, theres plenty of game there to be ammused with. the pop-in, wait a min....there is no pop-ins! Including smoother edges and less screen tearing. pushing the PS3 version to at least a 9.5 Both- Controls are clunky, which takes a bit of getting used to. Cover system is nothing like GOW. except for the name "cover system" in addition: i think the white aim cursor could have been a little bolder, when shooting far distances its quite hard to see. Conclusion: Best Game Ive Ever Played. Flat out. Expand
  60. KaleB.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Better than Bioshock (my previous favorite game), in my opinion. I'm half way through playing it for the second time and it's still fun as all hell.
  61. RobertC.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    The story shines, the game play is solid and despite a few minor glitches like collision detection, popups, and lousy save rules, compared to everything else this game is at the top. As good (if not slightly better) than Bioshock, which was my game of the year last year.
  62. JinW.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    amazing game, visually stunning worth every quid. honestly i can't describe how awesome this game is, I honestly just spend most my time TRYING to be good, even though its sooo easy to raise notoriety...sitting in a cab, just that deserves an award...its just soo amazing. the only problem is that because its so awesome when it doesn't live up to it in minor moments you feel the amazing game, visually stunning worth every quid. honestly i can't describe how awesome this game is, I honestly just spend most my time TRYING to be good, even though its sooo easy to raise notoriety...sitting in a cab, just that deserves an award...its just soo amazing. the only problem is that because its so awesome when it doesn't live up to it in minor moments you feel the fail, even though how minute it is but you feel it. Game of the year nominee right here. Expand
  63. TommyF.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    #1 GTA game in their series on the 360.
  64. JackT.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Just voting 10 to balance out all the retards voting 0. Peace.
  65. DavidH.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Sublime. Sound is perfect with memorable songs, excellent sounds of weapons and explosions and pitch perfect dialogue. Story is best in series and very human in its presentation of the main and sub characters. gaemplay aint perfect but a FAR improvement and the realism i think adds to the game in spades. Overall its long enough (but not 100 hours) and worth a purchase in every regard.
  66. AndrewS.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Some people rate games on imperfections ,and some rate games on fun factor alone ,or both , i do both this game has minor flaws, but with that said, the AMAZING amount of things to do, and the FUN to be had in Liberty City, is what makes this the Best game ever (so far) ,and the most amount of Fun i have ever had to date in a virtual world, i have been gaming for almost 3 decades , and Some people rate games on imperfections ,and some rate games on fun factor alone ,or both , i do both this game has minor flaws, but with that said, the AMAZING amount of things to do, and the FUN to be had in Liberty City, is what makes this the Best game ever (so far) ,and the most amount of Fun i have ever had to date in a virtual world, i have been gaming for almost 3 decades , and this game just blows me away . in every way. Expand
  67. Harrym.
    May 7, 2008
    8
    The game is very good, but all these reviewers giving it a perfect 10 must be all the fanboys that we keep getting told about. The game is far from perfect. Without commenting on the the glitches and all the freezes irrespective of console that have widely been reported. The graphics are barely better than GTA-SA. The only genuine addition to the game is a very unstable "better" The game is very good, but all these reviewers giving it a perfect 10 must be all the fanboys that we keep getting told about. The game is far from perfect. Without commenting on the the glitches and all the freezes irrespective of console that have widely been reported. The graphics are barely better than GTA-SA. The only genuine addition to the game is a very unstable "better" multiplayer. Absolutely nothing new to the series, purely evolutionary. Expand
  68. PatD
    May 8, 2008
    8
    I agree with a lot of the other user reviews. This is a very good and entertaining game, but is by no means a 10, or even one of the best games of the past year. I find Call of Duty IV, Halo 3 and Bioshock just as good, if not better. However, it is very immersive and the scope of the world you're dropped into is amazing. Fun multiplayer action, too...when it works.
  69. PeteH
    May 8, 2008
    10
    You know a game is great when you get Nintendo fanboys posting ratings of "0" because they're jealous they can't play it on their chosen system. This game for once lives up to all the hype. It's the most fun I've had in a long time.
  70. VictorM.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  71. JasonBT
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    Highly overrated game. Don't get me wrong, i extremely enjoyed this game, definitely one of the best on the 360, but the reviews are EXTREMELY overrated. First off, the gameplay is fun, but incredibly repetitive. Basically, every mission has you calling a guy, or getting summoned to your "employers" home/base to watch a short but always entertaining cutscene that explains your Highly overrated game. Don't get me wrong, i extremely enjoyed this game, definitely one of the best on the 360, but the reviews are EXTREMELY overrated. First off, the gameplay is fun, but incredibly repetitive. Basically, every mission has you calling a guy, or getting summoned to your "employers" home/base to watch a short but always entertaining cutscene that explains your mission. then you drive to your destination and complete your task. Steal a car, assassinate someone, deliver drugs, etc. After you are done, you get your pay. While it is fun, it gets old doing it literally dozens of times. Because that is all the game has you doing over and over. Now before GTA fanatics flame me, i know there are many other things you can do. Exploring the city by just driving is great on its own, plus doing many other side stories, dating, going out with friends, whatever. But the gameplay is what matters most, and for me, its too redundant. There are the occasional missions with little innovative twists to the game (hopping on the back of a truck, getting ambushed by gangs/cops, deciding on who to kill when both people hired you to kill each other) but they are not enough to make the game feel fresh. that's my only problem with the game preventing me, like most other usual critics, from giving GTAIV a perfect score. No doubt a great game, but when the game play is that repetitive with very little changes, i can't possibly consider it to be one of the best of all time. Definitely worth playing or even buying, but even more so, definitely overrated. Expand
  72. B.Q.
    Jun 3, 2008
    8
    A very good game, but not nearly as engaging or complete as San Andreas. My primary criticism is that I agree with the reviewers who noted that the game took a big step back in the area of character customization. And while I didnt really care that I couldnt get a different haircut or sculpt my body shape, I was dissapointed by not being able to complete missions to 'upgrade' my A very good game, but not nearly as engaging or complete as San Andreas. My primary criticism is that I agree with the reviewers who noted that the game took a big step back in the area of character customization. And while I didnt really care that I couldnt get a different haircut or sculpt my body shape, I was dissapointed by not being able to complete missions to 'upgrade' my character. In San Andreas, successfully completing side missions, taking gang turf, snapping photos, finding all of an item, mastering a vehicle/weapon to 100%, etc., all allowed your character to unlock certain bonus's, vehicles, weapons, extra heath, damage, vehicle control, etc. Now, all that happens when you complete side missions is that you are 1 step closer to 100% completion. Sure you get a few things here and there.... but there isnt as much incentive to keep playing the game. For someone who isnt as interested in that 100% number as he is in creating a powerful character and collecting a bunch of stuff... this is a big letdown. Especially since they already incorporated those elements into a previous game, I don't understand why they would take them away. Expand
  73. DantonQ.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    For those who think this game sucks, why don't you buy a genesis or a N 64 and play those Kirby games you like. Obviously GTA4 has defects but is the best videogame ever made (no doubt about it). Some of you think themselves as 'rebels' saying this game sucks, stupid sexual frustration.... The same with COD 4(obviously again the best FPs ever made), some seem to prefer For those who think this game sucks, why don't you buy a genesis or a N 64 and play those Kirby games you like. Obviously GTA4 has defects but is the best videogame ever made (no doubt about it). Some of you think themselves as 'rebels' saying this game sucks, stupid sexual frustration.... The same with COD 4(obviously again the best FPs ever made), some seem to prefer mercs on snses or commando, go ahead guys, so rebel, so badass!!!! Expand
  74. JoeK.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    GREAT GAME!
  75. ArthurP.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Not a revolution, but rather a delivered promise of a refined formula that reveals detail like no other game has. GTA 4 is not without its flaws, but none of them are able to take the spotlight away from the experience as a whole. Special attention goes to the context of the narrative and gameplay that have sobered up since the series' latest title.
  76. NikoBellic
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    hey ANTHONY M. i am one of the Rockstar developers you talked about and yes i do smoke cockroach repelent on the job. giving the cops god powers was my idea. not to cover up the ai (it is fantastic), but because smoking all that cockroach repelent makes me feel like i have god powers. there was going to be an exterminator mission in the game but my idea got rejected. so then i suggestedhey ANTHONY M. i am one of the Rockstar developers you talked about and yes i do smoke cockroach repelent on the job. giving the cops god powers was my idea. not to cover up the ai (it is fantastic), but because smoking all that cockroach repelent makes me feel like i have god powers. there was going to be an exterminator mission in the game but my idea got rejected. so then i suggested that there be 200 cockroaches randomly placed in liberty city that could be killed with cockroach repelent. in san andreas there was spray paint to leave your gang sign, so i thought that cockroach repelent spray paint could be a great way to kill the rodent and leave your mark. that was accepted but then later replaced with pigeons and there was no cockroach repelent spray paint. but yes since i will get fired if i say something bad about this, this piece of fun game is the best game in the entire star wars galaxy. Expand
  77. AnonymousMC
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    before this game came out there was so much hype and high expectations and i think that gta4 has lived up to these. This game has amazing graphics and great gameplay. Even once you have completed it there is still plenty more to do and have fun with. I can't understand how people can give a rating less than nine its a fun game, it can be a laugh and hours of gameplay more than enough.before this game came out there was so much hype and high expectations and i think that gta4 has lived up to these. This game has amazing graphics and great gameplay. Even once you have completed it there is still plenty more to do and have fun with. I can't understand how people can give a rating less than nine its a fun game, it can be a laugh and hours of gameplay more than enough. Amazing game 10/10 Expand
  78. JackF.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    Finally, a game that won't leave you reconsidering paying such a large amount for a game that won't leave anything left after finishing it. This game is huge and offers at LEAST 30 hours of play (there's an achievement if you somehow manage to complete it quicker) and is worth every cent. The main highlight is the ragdoll physics. You can spend hours driving incredibly fast Finally, a game that won't leave you reconsidering paying such a large amount for a game that won't leave anything left after finishing it. This game is huge and offers at LEAST 30 hours of play (there's an achievement if you somehow manage to complete it quicker) and is worth every cent. The main highlight is the ragdoll physics. You can spend hours driving incredibly fast in a car and bail out to watch Niko smash his head against another car. The main fault is what most people are praising: The cover system. It's awkward and is nowhere near as fluid as it needs to be. That being said, one flaw won't outweigh the thousands of positives the game has to offer. Seriously, get it. Expand
  79. MitchK.
    Aug 10, 2008
    10
    Simply the Greatest Game of all time, it is a must play experience and must have
  80. JohnKunkel
    Aug 7, 2008
    8
    Overall, excellent gameplay. GTA 4 has some really cool new features such as the whole combat/target deal. GTA 4 though leaves out a lot of things in my opinion which made games like San Andreas so great. The story for one isn't very intense... I read some interviews where the developers mentioned how they didn't want this one to be "cinematic." Whatever that may have meant, theyOverall, excellent gameplay. GTA 4 has some really cool new features such as the whole combat/target deal. GTA 4 though leaves out a lot of things in my opinion which made games like San Andreas so great. The story for one isn't very intense... I read some interviews where the developers mentioned how they didn't want this one to be "cinematic." Whatever that may have meant, they sure seemed to have pulled it off with a somewhat bland story line, and a very unsatisfying ending (for me personally). Yah, there's still a hell lot more to do with side missions, but I expected the 90 missions I had to go through in order to complete the game would have given me a lot more satisfaction.

    Don't get me wrong, GTA 4 was great, but they seemed to have left out some key elements which made the other games a lot of fun. In my opinion, if they had kept a lot of elements that were in San Andreas, and shifted them over to GTA 4, it would have made the game top notch.
    Understandly, they appear to have tried to do things differently, but to me that just made for mixed personal feelings on certain aspects of the game (which very easily could have been improved).
    GTA 4 stands out as one of the strongest games of its genre around, but it also could have been so much better with very simple, and small details.

    I am a fan nevertheless, and you should definitely try itout!
    Expand
  81. McTom
    Sep 20, 2008
    8
    GTA IV suffers from tricky controls, repetitive design, arbitrary save feature and regular clipping. Also, the 'friend'-system isn't perfect and it is not 'a totally free world' as some of the reviewers say - I was in the understanding I could enter EVERY building in the game, but that's far from it . Only triggered locations can be entered. Nonetheless, I GTA IV suffers from tricky controls, repetitive design, arbitrary save feature and regular clipping. Also, the 'friend'-system isn't perfect and it is not 'a totally free world' as some of the reviewers say - I was in the understanding I could enter EVERY building in the game, but that's far from it . Only triggered locations can be entered. Nonetheless, I enjoy the game pretty much. The characters are pretty good, the missions are varied enough (apart from the driving to-bit) and the whole atmosphere works really well. At its core the gameplay is very old-fashioned and I guess that's what I really like about the game. Nice, but by no means perfect. Expand
  82. TN
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Best game ever ffs. Hate theese kids that are addicted to the Sims and WoW and can't appreciate a good game. "I like to fly around in Jetpacks" well come on! What the fuck!
    Does anyone remember GTA1? That rocked and now you want a tamagoochi?

    Get real, n00bs
  83. MattF
    Mar 7, 2009
    10
    A stunning technical achievement that includes a world full of detail, stunning graphics, incredible storyline/voice acting. Anyone who rates this 0 is a cynical loser who thinks going against the grain and down-rating a popular game makes them smart or better than everyone else, and nothing will ever appease them.
  84. Johnandrew
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    For those who liked san andreas better than this....well...they definitely need a brain upgrade or sumfin. it definitely is the best gta to date and graphics are great for the first time. thanks to the realism saints row 2 looked like a sucker in deciding to compete with gta.
  85. ChrisS
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more safehouses, car customization, and so on. But come on people, GTA was never supposed to be The Sims...this is an action game! Instead of a hollow (but funny) character like CJ who the player could "pimp out" through various means, Rockstar has filled its A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more safehouses, car customization, and so on. But come on people, GTA was never supposed to be The Sims...this is an action game! Instead of a hollow (but funny) character like CJ who the player could "pimp out" through various means, Rockstar has filled its beautiful gameworld with likable, believable characters. Sure there's no busting into Area 69 or blowing up a government cargo plane and then skydiving out...but there is still plenty of freedom and fun to be had in Liberty City's sandbox world. GTA has grown up. This was inevitably going to disappoint some gamers, but in my opinion it is a welcome change. The depth of the characters and world finds me going on fewer killing sprees and often running from police rather than slaying them, and to be honest, there's something awesomely revolutionary and superior about a GTA world full of characters I want to keep around. (Its still fun to push them in the water though). Expand
  86. JamesM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    One of the best games ever, story is great and you get to make choices that can change the direction the story goes in. Multiplayer is good too, a great laugh with mates. The only reason to not give it a 10 is the pop ups, I knew the game would have random pop ups due to the speed you can tear around a gigantic city that is so very detailed. A must own for all gaming fans.
  87. MichaelHummer
    Oct 2, 2008
    8
    Well I'm playing through the game for the second time and I've just read about 100 reviews from users like me so I'm ready to share my opinion.
    It definitely grew on me over time.
    The graphics are undoubtedly sweet. I don't like auto lock, pull trigger half way deal. It would have been so easy to make RB the lock and dedicate LT for manual aim. The driving while
    Well I'm playing through the game for the second time and I've just read about 100 reviews from users like me so I'm ready to share my opinion.
    It definitely grew on me over time.
    The graphics are undoubtedly sweet.
    I don't like auto lock, pull trigger half way deal.
    It would have been so easy to make RB the lock and dedicate LT for manual aim.
    The driving while initially frustrating becomes fun.
    You just have to plan your skids A LOT earlier.
    Now I can get away from the cops pretty quickly because I know how to time it.
    With that in mind it's still not the carefree driving experience of San Andreas but there are good times to be had.
    In fact, a car I hated for it's lack on control in the beginning has become my favorite because it's got tons of power and I can now control it (Stallion).
    The soundtrack sucks!!!
    Other than like 5 songs it's a major disappointment.
    Every other station is just hip-hop, reggae, rap... With San Andreas you had a few stations for everyone.
    I've played this game enough to have found a station I like by now and I have found nothing.
    Yes, the game and missions have a been there done that feel.
    this is one of the first feelings I had when playing the game.
    I was hoping for something new but it was not to be.
    I felt bored pretty quickly because of this and more than that disappointed.
    Given that there were no better games to be found on the 360, or at least in my possession, I continued to play and have had tons of fun.
    Taxis can save a TON of time and keep the wait between action to a minimum.
    At this point I use taxis as a rule and drive only when necessary.
    Even with this philosophy there'splenty of driving and enjoyment.
    What I've found really enjoyable is the combat.
    After a long time I'm used to the targeting deal and can reliably keep from pulling the trigger all the way and ruining the experience.
    However, a lot of that is because I've been there before.
    Any new experience might jolt me and cause a knee jerk auto lock.
    Again, RB should be auto lock and leave LT dedicated to free aim!
    Nevertheless I am really enjoying going through the combat missions again and very rarely die.
    I dig the shotgun and like switching guns during combat.
    I'd like it if he walked a little faster during adrenalin moments and if the sneak elements were present that would be cool.
    I snuck onto a site with tons of enemies and it would have been cool to take them all out silently with a knife or silencer.
    The problem is that they don't sell knives at the gun shops and there are no silencers!!!
    If you ever lose your knife from the beginning mission you can't get it back.
    I'm sure I'm wrong about the knife deal but it's definitely not easy to find a knife and I'm through the game a second time; I'll try Jacob's deal to see if he has knives before I completely cry foul.
    The strip clubs are fun and even though the girls run through their routine with the same enthusiasm that a real stripper would they are legitimately exciting.
    Ammo is way too expensive, especially for the rocket launcher.
    They force you to pay attention to a woman near the end of the game and yet she's bugly!
    I liked her personality enough even though she was too extreme: see prude & righteous.
    But like I said she was friggin' hard to look at.
    The second time through she's been getting the cold shoulder.
    The friend thing is a friggin waste of time.
    It would be nice to hang with these people but they could have achieved that in several different ways: on the way to missions, during cut scenes, etc...
    The only reason to do it is to get the friend's bonus so there could have been a better way to achieve this.
    Interestingly, I find the game more playable because the main character is not upgradeable.
    If he had been ungradeable it would have been hard to start over with him at a weaker state.
    It's really just the weapons that distinguish the beginning from the end.
    I would like to see remote grenades for dealing with pesky swarms of cops who don't like it when you kill their coworkers.
    The boating stuff is a waste of time but shooting down helicopters with a rocket launcher NEVER gets old.
    I'd like to have seen more execution options like in Godfather; in that game you could really go on a rampage.
    The rocket launcher is a total blast but like I said it's $$$.
    The vigilante missions are different and limited in number and that last part sucks. It's nice for game completion but I'd prefer a San Andreas version with ever increasing difficulty. They do offer current crimes but neither type brings any money so that's a bummer. Money in this game becomes too important and significantly hinders fun. I stole a car once after a good amount of prep work and got $1,000.00 for it. Hi, that's the price of one grenade! Just make rocket launcher shells $2,000, instead of 5, and we'll all be happy. Overall I give it an 85 out of 100. I look forward to the next iteration.
    Expand
  88. JohnHartman
    Oct 9, 2008
    8
    While it's storyline is awesome and the combat is alright at best, I hate being penalised for not wanting to drive some person I don't care about halfway across town to go eat, I hate having to drive halfway across town to change my clothes for a mission, I hate driving halfway across town back to where I was before I died in a mission, I hate having to drive halfway across townWhile it's storyline is awesome and the combat is alright at best, I hate being penalised for not wanting to drive some person I don't care about halfway across town to go eat, I hate having to drive halfway across town to change my clothes for a mission, I hate driving halfway across town back to where I was before I died in a mission, I hate having to drive halfway across town just to SAVE A FREAKING GAME.

    I don't think Rockstar realises that gamers don't like grinding.
    Expand
  89. SapetV.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    Beautiful light accompanied by satisfying gameplay and amazing narrative.
  90. OscarD.
    Apr 24, 2008
    10
    The biggest and the best game of the 21th century.
  91. NarutoK.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Probably one of the best video games we'll see for a looong time.
  92. RicS.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    This is the game I've been looking forward to since the first trailer, now ONLY 3 MORE DAYS! I hope that Saint's Row 2 is going to take lots of the ideas from the GTA IV.
  93. TobyT.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the best ever!
  94. BeljimS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    8
    Not enough of a difference from the other GTA games other than for the graphics which in my opinion are not all that either. Was expecting much more from all the hype.
  95. SdfSdf
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing in every aspect.
  96. VictorM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  97. RahulD
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    Being one of the lucky few to watch this game in action (at a blog's previewer version), I have to say that this game looks amazing. It seems like a clever gangster flick, but in the core is a sandbox game like the previous titles.
    I have a strong feeling that this is going to be the game of 2008 on the Xbox 360, the same way Halo 3, Bioshock, and Call of Duty 4 took 2007.
  98. RobB.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Sublime - Rockstar have pushed the boundaries once again for what makes a truly amazing game. Yeah there may be minor flaws but that's all they are - MINOR. They really do not hinder your enjoyment one bit. Game of the Year without a doubt, go buy it now!
  99. VictorM.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  100. Millsy
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Wow. My best gaming moment has just happened. How it was better than I expected is beyond me.... I expected a lot ...but WOW!
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    98
    Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.