User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3039 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BryanM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Its no reason why this game should be less than a 10. i have only play for about 1 hr and I didnt want to put it down.
  2. MatthewB.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Excellent. I'd probably give it a 9.9 if I could...the framerate issues and lack of checkpoints on missions take it down a notch. Otherwise, the game has everything....EVERYTHING. It will be the best $60 you will spend on your Xbox 360 or PS3. The detail is unbelievable. Physics are awesome. The story is on par with the best in cinema. Hang around waiting? There's almost always Excellent. I'd probably give it a 9.9 if I could...the framerate issues and lack of checkpoints on missions take it down a notch. Otherwise, the game has everything....EVERYTHING. It will be the best $60 you will spend on your Xbox 360 or PS3. The detail is unbelievable. Physics are awesome. The story is on par with the best in cinema. Hang around waiting? There's almost always something to do! The phone as a game portal is brilliant. I can't write everything in this box that is done so well in this game. Expand
  3. CashOut
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Great Multi, Always dreamed this day would come. Nothing like having 4 friends in a helicopter and taking on 3 guys in a 4rner. Gunz Balzing
  4. AdrianJ.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Awsome game but controls are really horrible and this game is no were worth a ten for some reason it seems magazines gives ten out for anything like Halo 3 got alot of tens and that game is horrible.
  5. Halleluja
    Apr 29, 2008
    0
    Same as every gta. Just better graphics. Characters look like dolls. Bad aura. Only americans and children will like this game.
  6. Alex
    May 11, 2008
    10
    I love this game It is about my home land :) perfect story and amazing multplay
  7. BobG.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Amazing and immersive story, eg how you can choose different outcomes!
  8. AnonymousMC
    May 11, 2008
    10
    ppl who give this game nething lower than a 9 are just trying be sweet cuz like every review site gave this a ten. there isnt the cool customization options in san andreas but this is a dress up game. this game is about violence and open world sandbox gameplay and no game does this better. gta4 may go down as the greatest video game ever. or unitl too human and mgs comes out.
  9. JoeD.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Well, that's it. As many good games as there are on the market, none suck in the gamer quite like GTA does. Be warned, even if you're not a so-called 'hardcore' gamer, this will still take over your life and alienate you from your nearest and dearest. Two Hundred thumbs up.
  10. AdamS.
    May 11, 2008
    4
    Nothing special. It's just like the old ones with nicer graphcis. It feels like the didn't put a lot of time into some of the smaller details. For example one time I was running from the cops and I ran into an alley in which a ladder was hanging down half way from a fire escape, so I pushed over a dumpster, jumped on top of it, and when I tried to get my guy to climb the ladder Nothing special. It's just like the old ones with nicer graphcis. It feels like the didn't put a lot of time into some of the smaller details. For example one time I was running from the cops and I ran into an alley in which a ladder was hanging down half way from a fire escape, so I pushed over a dumpster, jumped on top of it, and when I tried to get my guy to climb the ladder he wouldn't do it. It doesn't really let you get creative with all that stuff. Also the camera view sucks for driving unless you do the in car view. 4 Expand
  11. DaP.
    May 12, 2008
    8
    GTA IV is nowhere near as much fun as San Andreas was and is basically GTA 3 with a minor next-gen respray. The dating and friend systems really get in the way of the main storyline, and feel forced on you. The Radio stations, whilst there are plenty of great tunes, fail to convey a real sense of time and place as in VC and SA, and once again the sound mastering is poor, as in all GTA GTA IV is nowhere near as much fun as San Andreas was and is basically GTA 3 with a minor next-gen respray. The dating and friend systems really get in the way of the main storyline, and feel forced on you. The Radio stations, whilst there are plenty of great tunes, fail to convey a real sense of time and place as in VC and SA, and once again the sound mastering is poor, as in all GTA games, the overall volume level is way too low. Graphically (I've only played the 360 version) the game is a mild letdown, loads of pop up, blurring and jagged edges. The usual GTA bugs, getting cars irretrievably stuck in the scenery (as happened to me in my very first mission), inconsistent Police, disappearing clothing (where have my hat and glasses gone?) poor path finding for allies/npc's and a rubbish targeting system (use free aim only). There's still hours of quality entertainment but best game ever?, it's not even the best game on the 360. A good rather than great game. Expand
  12. ChrisM.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Quite simply the best game ever created.... Thank you Rockstar. Thank you.
  13. JeffreyB.
    May 12, 2008
    5
    Amazingly overrated. I can see how people like this game, but 10's/100's all over the place? To me it started off as a 10, and the more I played the less I liked it. Just the same old thing OVER and OVER(and this is the first GTA I have played). Plus the camera angle swinging just the wrong way at critical times, having to drive FOREVER every time you have to redo a mission(and Amazingly overrated. I can see how people like this game, but 10's/100's all over the place? To me it started off as a 10, and the more I played the less I liked it. Just the same old thing OVER and OVER(and this is the first GTA I have played). Plus the camera angle swinging just the wrong way at critical times, having to drive FOREVER every time you have to redo a mission(and when it is a hard mission, you wind up driving for 10 minutes fifty times to do a 50 second mission). Just maddening. By the time I couldn't take it any more(about 35-40% of the way through), I wanted to throw my Xbox out a window. Isn't this supposed to be FUN? After you have stolen your 500th car and shot your 25th drug dealer, and you still have 2/3 of the game to go? And on top of that, the longer the game went. the less I liked Niko. At the start he seemed like an OK guy trying to make his way in a tough world. After a while he just seems like an amoral scumbag, which is not an especially rewarding role playing experience. But make no mistake, it is the repetitive gameplay and the mediocre controls(especially driving) that drove me away. And take note - the users rating for this game(8.3) reflect the fact that this game is overrated by the critics. Expand
  14. VictorM.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  15. AnthonyMir
    May 13, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing. I was skeptical to purchase at first, but now I'm glad I did. There is no need to play the story. I have stayed up over 24 hours playing this game and during that time I was just picking up hookers and going to the strip club.
  16. AaronV.
    May 13, 2008
    4
    Rockstar!? What the crap have you done to my GTA!? What were you thinking!? I don't want N64-paced character movement, and I certainly don't want realistic driving; I want to take corners at 210 mph leaving flames in my wake (ya' know, like GTA3 on PS2, remember fun games!?), not eat a telephone pole at every intersection, or come to a complete stop every time I use the Rockstar!? What the crap have you done to my GTA!? What were you thinking!? I don't want N64-paced character movement, and I certainly don't want realistic driving; I want to take corners at 210 mph leaving flames in my wake (ya' know, like GTA3 on PS2, remember fun games!?), not eat a telephone pole at every intersection, or come to a complete stop every time I use the e-brake around a corner! The driving cam sucks, I constantly have to lift the cam up to see the road/intersection coming up in front of the car. The combat is at a snails pace, and stop trying to win an oscar with the game's story. *sigh* You guys are supposed to the one developer we can count on to give a great big middle finger to boring games and deviate from mainstream corporate game dev practices...what happened? Try to get back on track with GTA5, would ya'? And lose the stupid artsy "Dry Brush/Paint Daub" graphics, that's just plain annoying. See exhibit A: "Saints Row" for graphical clarity, fun factor, fast-paced combat, and customization options of character and vehicles. And for the love, test the game with people who aren't trying to get a job with you. Above all else, make it fun, I appreciate the level of detail and believable environment, but not at the expense of the fun-filled mayhem that kept me glued to GTA3, Vice and SA. Shame on you. Now go sit in the corner and think about what you've done. Expand
  17. TonyR.
    May 15, 2008
    10
    Great sotry and lots of content.Great game overall.Not the best ever but one of the best.
  18. Jammer
    May 15, 2008
    6
    Yeah yeah yeah, its a big detailed open world but what can you do with it?! NADA. You cant even walk into any buildings, except for the chosen few, which is about 5% of them. Niko walks very slow and weird (stiff). The ephoria engine is weak.. How does somebody get hit wit a RPG.......... but their whole body is still intact?!!?!!?! Every car drives the same, the handling sucks, the Yeah yeah yeah, its a big detailed open world but what can you do with it?! NADA. You cant even walk into any buildings, except for the chosen few, which is about 5% of them. Niko walks very slow and weird (stiff). The ephoria engine is weak.. How does somebody get hit wit a RPG.......... but their whole body is still intact?!!?!!?! Every car drives the same, the handling sucks, the clothing stores are wack, you cant even hold up, stick up, rob stores like Saint Row... swimming is wack. I don't see how this game gets all these 10's... this is a 60$, but plays just as good, if not worse as San Andreas, I don't get how this 399$ system and all this technology produces a game this mediocre and over hyped.. I fell for it. Expand
  19. NateW.
    May 15, 2008
    10
    This game revolutionary. The graphics were the biggest knock and now they are incredible. The gameplay does not get boring. The cover system is good, because it realistic. If you know how to work it, it is good. I also think another great thing is you can't predict what is going to happen on a mission. For example, you can't fail a misssion and go where you were before the This game revolutionary. The graphics were the biggest knock and now they are incredible. The gameplay does not get boring. The cover system is good, because it realistic. If you know how to work it, it is good. I also think another great thing is you can't predict what is going to happen on a mission. For example, you can't fail a misssion and go where you were before the mission takes you there, showing how smart the AI is. Most people who give it a lower reting most likely can't buy it or own a Wii. I love that you can replay a mission using the cell phone. Also, when people give a low rating, look at the other games that have that rating, and can you honestly say that those games are better/on the same level as GTA 4? I don't think so. Expand
  20. PatH.
    May 16, 2008
    9
    As a single game without the rest of the series behind it, this is a fantastic game. The problem I had was that so many expectations gained from the previous games were left unfulfilled in this chapter. I found myself on multiple occasions saying to myself, "why can I not do this anymore?" You can no longer buy property (including houses and businesses), no bikes, no random minigames, a As a single game without the rest of the series behind it, this is a fantastic game. The problem I had was that so many expectations gained from the previous games were left unfulfilled in this chapter. I found myself on multiple occasions saying to myself, "why can I not do this anymore?" You can no longer buy property (including houses and businesses), no bikes, no random minigames, a lot less area to explore, and less weapons. While there is a lot more music, none of it is as memorable as previous games, which may be due to the fact that there is really no reason to drive around (taxis are plentiful and take you where you want to go instantly). Everyone I have talked to who has played this game feels the same way as I do, in that the game leaves a lot to be desired and that the reviews are a bit outrageous. This game is by no means a bad game, in fact, to a player new to the series, it would be outstanding, but after the amount of variety in San Andreas, a veteran player is left a tad disappointed. I think a 90 is very fair for this game, but in no way is it a 100. Good: Story is fantastic. Lead character is by far the best yet. Graphics and Effects are very nice A fun interactive world. Filled with very believable npcs walking the streets. Liberty City feels very real in that sense Bad: So much left out from other games of the series Missions get very very repetitive. Restarting missions from the absolute beginning is a real pain (turned off the game a few times after losing missions a few times in a row) Smaller environment. Expand
  21. CoYoTeX
    May 16, 2008
    6
    It doesnt live up to his name, doesnt add anything new to the videogames, its a sandbox and nothing else. Whats so cool about it ? Honestly, i played for 5 hours on the fist round, and i got bored, the same custom made missions over and over again. Can you honestly say that its better than gears of war, oblivion, ninja gaiden, bioshock, its pure hype. RockStar can thank the senators or It doesnt live up to his name, doesnt add anything new to the videogames, its a sandbox and nothing else. Whats so cool about it ? Honestly, i played for 5 hours on the fist round, and i got bored, the same custom made missions over and over again. Can you honestly say that its better than gears of war, oblivion, ninja gaiden, bioshock, its pure hype. RockStar can thank the senators or the christian church for providing this franchise with premium TOP GRADE PUBLICITY. Nothing new, dont get me wrong, is a fun game to play, would i buy it again ? NO. DONT BELIEVE THE HYPE. Expand
  22. JakeChappelle
    May 18, 2008
    7
    It was fun for awhile, yet as the game went through it's course, there were numerous problems that bore down on it's performance. The main character went from being a confused immigrant into a "cold" in killer less than a quarter of the game. The mission redo structure could definitely use improvements, a checkpoint for when you reach the destination perhaps, instead of having toIt was fun for awhile, yet as the game went through it's course, there were numerous problems that bore down on it's performance. The main character went from being a confused immigrant into a "cold" in killer less than a quarter of the game. The mission redo structure could definitely use improvements, a checkpoint for when you reach the destination perhaps, instead of having to trek across the city or use a cab. It was a fun game, but a bit of a disappointment in a lot aspects. Expand
  23. DanielMikula
    May 19, 2008
    7
    A good game, but not a great game. I'm not too surprised that so many journalists have jumped on the bandwagon to tout Rockstar's latest release, but it seems just a little too soon after San Andreas to give it such high ratings --- especially when they universally note that GTAIV doesn't even have the same level of content that the previous title had.

    On a storytelling
    A good game, but not a great game. I'm not too surprised that so many journalists have jumped on the bandwagon to tout Rockstar's latest release, but it seems just a little too soon after San Andreas to give it such high ratings --- especially when they universally note that GTAIV doesn't even have the same level of content that the previous title had.

    On a storytelling level, the game steps on a bad foot, countering the in median res storyline of GTA3 and VC or the hook of CJ's return home in SA with an ineffectual line shouted by a nameless character. Comical? Perhaps. Certainly cocky, and I can't help but think it's directed at the audience.

    Niko's a far inferior protagonist to both of the personalized avatars introduced in Vice City and San Andreas. The writers never make it clear just why Niko wants to even amass wealth nor do they even quite make it clear why it is he's so willing to abandon his resolve to 'start a new life' from wartorn Bosnia by immediately leaping into a life of murder and mayhem. Before even a month in America he's already disillusioned and making wisecracking political commentary that simply doesn't belong in a character that's meant to be believable.

    The level of content pales in comparison to SA or even VC, with fewer weapons, vehicles, and land mass to explore. Furthermore, players will find themselves carrying about a large sum of cash by the end of the game with simply nothing to spend it on. Another missing component of all Grand Theft Auto games that isn't anywhere in its latest incarnation is the 'rampage' minigame, where you have a set amount of time to blow up a set number of vehicles, off as many people as possible, and other crazy sorts of mass destruction.

    The positive points number in the polish, and there's plenty of it. Lots of nuanced animations, interactions, and all the comical charm laced in previous games shine in this one as well. However, the biggest star of the game seems to be the body physics of the characters in play, where characters will stumble about and react in a more releastic and less scripted way to being shot.

    Even with that last point, unfortunately, Rockstar can't take any credit --- it's a licenced engine called Euphoria by NaturalMotion that deserves all the credit. Apart from this physics engine phenomenoa, the only notable 'advance' would be in the weight of the vehicles --- vehicles that have an absurdly large turning radius and have an unbelievably low amount of friction on the tires, resulting in a good number of frustrating times where turns which had been routine in any previous title now fall far out of grasp.

    With a story that's hardly revolutionary and an ending that leaves players with that same letdown as from the likes of Halo 2, GTA 4 doesn't have much going for it. While it's a gorgeous game, it'd taking a few steps back from the sort of random fun from Vice City and San Andreas. Hopefully the downloadable content will fix some of this, but even in the end you'll probably wind up paying for half a game when you pick this up off the shelves. Rent it, play it, decide if you like it, but this is no 'ten out of ten' game.
    Expand
  24. StephenB.
    May 19, 2008
    8
    Missing features that were present in GTA: San Andreas. . . . Improvable player stats (muscle, weapon skills, etc) Planes and jets Base jumping Henchmen Owning property Vehicle customization Underwater swimming Military on six star wanted level Tanks Firefighting and ambulance missions Most of the character visual customization Helicoptor missiles Jetpack Most collectibles Most arcade Missing features that were present in GTA: San Andreas. . . . Improvable player stats (muscle, weapon skills, etc) Planes and jets Base jumping Henchmen Owning property Vehicle customization Underwater swimming Military on six star wanted level Tanks Firefighting and ambulance missions Most of the character visual customization Helicoptor missiles Jetpack Most collectibles Most arcade games Burglary missions Two-player same screen co-op Katana, dildo, chainsaw, other weapons Car garages C4 Many other things. Expand
  25. Edward
    May 21, 2008
    8
    A good game, but an overrated one. Weaker storyline, characters, and missions than both Vice City and San Andreas drags it down. Also, the writing on the peripherals (radio stations, television, Internet) is MUCH better than the actual script for the storyline.
  26. JosephR.
    May 21, 2008
    6
    Seriously, I'm pretty sure I just wasted 31 hours of my life. I would have been better to replay gta 3 than try as hard as possible to seriously enjoy this game. While the map is huge, it is nearly empty of things to interact with. Each mission is mostly driving to and from the destination, which once you start taking cabs, becomes even more meaningless. I lost the plot half way Seriously, I'm pretty sure I just wasted 31 hours of my life. I would have been better to replay gta 3 than try as hard as possible to seriously enjoy this game. While the map is huge, it is nearly empty of things to interact with. Each mission is mostly driving to and from the destination, which once you start taking cabs, becomes even more meaningless. I lost the plot half way through, and challenge anyone to explain the interconnecting familys and charectors. Finally, the game is buggy, with it constantly stopping due to "dirty disc syndrome" which I take to mean, catastrophic failure in the program. I won't even begin to mention the cops. Expand
  27. BenjaminC.
    May 22, 2008
    2
    WAY overrated. I... I just don't understand the praise this got from the critics. And im ashamed at the industry for placing this with legends like OOT. Hours were wasted going from place to place, killing drug dealers and stealing cars got repetitive and rather menial. The critics said that the morally aware gamer would love this... no. The more I played, the more I saw my character WAY overrated. I... I just don't understand the praise this got from the critics. And im ashamed at the industry for placing this with legends like OOT. Hours were wasted going from place to place, killing drug dealers and stealing cars got repetitive and rather menial. The critics said that the morally aware gamer would love this... no. The more I played, the more I saw my character for the scumbag he was. and as someone who sees myself as the charcter I am playing, I felt Ill. I am giving it two points more then I want, but you have to give it credit for improvement over the other GTA games, which I was never able to spend more then half an hour on. Expand
  28. BigPapaSteve
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Truly amazing. I've noticed a lot of people complaining about having to drive a bunch after failing a mission. you do realize that if you fail a mission you can take out your phone and retry the mission?
  29. NickW.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Despite the flaws, this game has to be played.
  30. JoeB
    May 26, 2008
    5
    It's amazing that "VIce City" in my opinion is the best GTA, then GTA 3, then San Andreas. GTA 4 is a MASSIVE Disappointment, Rockstar needs to get back the the drawing board and re-invent their franchise, before people start realizing the GTA games are rehashed, linear, un-fun, crap. Rent it, then buy it. Save your money for FALLOUT 3.
  31. JohnN.
    May 26, 2008
    9
    To all of those people who say "Where are my hat and glasses?" If you die, or are in an accident, they will fall off. Simple as that. Pay attention for once! Anyways I liked it a lot. Niko was the best GTA protagonist, because there is a better sense of remorse. I like this game a lot, but it is not the best ever.
  32. LukeV
    May 27, 2008
    7
    Here's the thing, GTA 4 is a very good game, don't get me wrong. It's just that the original trilogy was 100 times better. All of the missions seemed very dull and without purpose. In San Andreas and Vice City I loved driving around the city, but in the new Liberty I found myself using the cab nearly every time I wanted to go somewhere. The characters are well voiced, and Here's the thing, GTA 4 is a very good game, don't get me wrong. It's just that the original trilogy was 100 times better. All of the missions seemed very dull and without purpose. In San Andreas and Vice City I loved driving around the city, but in the new Liberty I found myself using the cab nearly every time I wanted to go somewhere. The characters are well voiced, and well animated, but I soon discovered that I didn't really care what happened to the characters. Unlike the other classic GTA characters, who were driven to continue by forces like a brother in prison (CJ) an angry mob boss who wants to kill you (Tommy) or an escape from prison(Claude), Nikko is constantly pushing ahead through his anger and lust for revenge. Not to mention that both of the endings were by far, some of the most disappointing conclusions I have ever experienced. This made me feel detached and unsympathetic for him. Not to mention that both of the endings were by far, some of the most disappointing conclusions I have ever experienced. The graphics are amazing, there is no mistake there, and the ambience is good as well, but the fact is that most of the music is unfamiliar to me and therefore takes away from the setting whereas the previous games had the late 20th century to help set the mood. The gameplay is also good, but I felt I was too sluggish and weighed down. The models relied too heavily on rag-doll physics and just weren't as believable as even the old school animations. The accuracy of the weapons started to become frustrating as well. Overall, the experience was not even CLOSE to the fun I had playing the first three GTA games and I hope that Rockstar realizes that they need to go back to the core story and setting elements that made the originals so epic. VERDICT: 7/10 Expand
  33. meme
    May 27, 2008
    7
    This game does not deserve the 100% scores it's getting. It has a lot of control problems and the camera is really annoying sometimes. The game is a lot of fun, don't get me wrong, but it's not the 10/10 masterpiece that these fanboy reviewers are making it out to be.
  34. olivermartin
    May 28, 2008
    7
    this game is good. im not that far into it and i hope it will get better, but at the moment i am board of the lackluster missions (drive there then hear and maybe shoot a few people on the way) so far theres no real diffrence in the missions. i have herd that there ment to get better but why should i have to do 20 boring missions just to get to the good ones. the world looks verythis game is good. im not that far into it and i hope it will get better, but at the moment i am board of the lackluster missions (drive there then hear and maybe shoot a few people on the way) so far theres no real diffrence in the missions. i have herd that there ment to get better but why should i have to do 20 boring missions just to get to the good ones. the world looks very impressive but to be honeset so far there isn't a huge deall to do at least thats rally fun. (taking my friends and girlfriends out is a real chore, not that you have to do them). the police side missions are enjoyable however. multi player is the best part of this game and has been talked about to death so im not going to. alot of people have said how great the lead character is but i dont really care about him and why should i when he dosn't show any real emotion. the vehicles are the best of the series however the new camera angle is a real let down, you do get used to it but its a real pain going around corners you cant really see whats there untill you have ether hit somthing or untill your well passed the corner. The handling of the poorest cars is down right shocking the is no point in them having a handbrake because even if your driving at a normal speed you fly round doing at least a 180 degree turn and with the poor camera angle you just end up looking at the front of your car. now there are a lot of very good things about this game and i have just stuck to the negatives, as alot of you will have a go at me for doing. but a game that has got this much high prase and so many 10 out of 10s should not really have this many negatives. should it? Expand
  35. Wallpaperman
    May 28, 2008
    10
    GTA4 = Best Game Ever. To get 100% on this beast takes well over 200 hours. Well worth your money.
  36. ColO.
    May 31, 2008
    7
    The game doesn't have any new features. the graphics are ok but the missions are repetitive and the game in general is easy. (in the final missions i wasn´t even killed). and also where is the plane? Why almost all the mission are on cars, what abouts boats and hellicopters?
  37. Tony
    Jun 16, 2008
    9
    I really gave this game 8.5. I really love gta franchise especially gta:vice city.the problem with this game is that i bought my Xbox lately and thought great ill be able to play games with brilliant graphics and with these graphics it will unlock things never imagined.things that are on the next level.So my expectations were like i am rating this game not on par with the last generation I really gave this game 8.5. I really love gta franchise especially gta:vice city.the problem with this game is that i bought my Xbox lately and thought great ill be able to play games with brilliant graphics and with these graphics it will unlock things never imagined.things that are on the next level.So my expectations were like i am rating this game not on par with the last generation console games but on a next level.I thought that what the next generation console allowed these games the game delivered but they forgot about what makes games great and that is playing the story. I didn't really love niko I didn't find him loveable maybe its cause hes eastern European.. i would have much preferred a spanish/south American or even Indian! but Niko just seemed cold. but I understand why they did it :provide variety and mabye open new markets. the missions lacked real imagination and like in the missions someone like phil would say he hopes nothings gonna happen but ITS A MISSION AND THERE IS GONNA BE KILLING!!!!!!! gods sake! do they think that we are fools or something .alot of the missions lacked creativity and variety.And then youd pass these magnificent buildings and you cant even go into them like what the hell you cant even go into some of the monuments.Thats most of the bad points...the good points have already been pointed out before in other comments. Expand
  38. TonL.
    Jun 18, 2008
    0
    Worst game ever. I cant believe Eurogamer, Edge and Gamedaily gave this piece of crap a 10 while they gave a much superior game in MGS4 a "8" . Goes to show how much microsoft paid these reviewers. the Ps3 version is slightly better with a 1
  39. WeirdN.
    Jun 25, 2008
    8
    This is a great game but like all the GTA's it has it's flaws. There seems to be more quality control this time round though. There's none of the grind that you find in GTA:SA and the sub missions and tasks seem better thought out and pitched to be fun not a chore. The plot and character acting is simply stunning, I can't think of a game that has immersed me more. You This is a great game but like all the GTA's it has it's flaws. There seems to be more quality control this time round though. There's none of the grind that you find in GTA:SA and the sub missions and tasks seem better thought out and pitched to be fun not a chore. The plot and character acting is simply stunning, I can't think of a game that has immersed me more. You really feel for Niko, and find yourself empathizing with him and his problems even though he's not a very sympathetic character. Things like the internet and mobile phone are well thought out and have the usual GTA depth to them. My main criticism are that the missions are a bit "seen it all before", the aiming and cover mechanics could be more refined and it feels too easy. I haven't needed more that two attempts at any mission yet and I'm 90% of the way through the story. But these don't spoil the fact that this is one of the most polished and ambitions titles I've ever played and I have to say I prefer it to GTA:SA as it is more gritty and adult. I've been playing GTA since the first game on PC, and I hope the series continues to show these levels of ambition and detail. Not perfect, but a triumph anyway. Expand
  40. MasJ.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  41. MasJ.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  42. JohnK.
    Jul 13, 2008
    8
    This is a good game but its not the greatest game ever as the critics would tell you. Everyone knows the strengths so I'll just point out a couple of things that irked me. The game really needs a checkpoint system. If you fail a mission its not like you just start over, you typically gotta drive for 5 minutes and then try again. I noticed a few framerate drops when there is heavy This is a good game but its not the greatest game ever as the critics would tell you. Everyone knows the strengths so I'll just point out a couple of things that irked me. The game really needs a checkpoint system. If you fail a mission its not like you just start over, you typically gotta drive for 5 minutes and then try again. I noticed a few framerate drops when there is heavy action going on. The camera angles are just awful, you always get trees in the way of your vision when you drive in certain areas. (its funny because framerate and camera angles were the main complaint that dropped critics score of Ninja Gaiden 2, but when the game is heavily hyped apparantly they don't notice, even though the camera angles are 10 times worse in GTA) There should be different difficulty settings. I wouldn't mind playing through on a stepped up difficulty the second time through. The multiplayer is unimpressive. Expand
  43. GrandTheftAutoIV
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    Anyone who gives this game lower than a 7 hasn't even played the game. You are just idiots. No I'm not getting paid, but this game IS justone of the best games ever made. Graphics rock, physics rock, multiplayer rocks, it all rocks. The missions might get a bit repetetive, but it doesn't weigh off against everything else.
  44. NikoC.
    Jul 23, 2008
    4
    And it only got that high because of the graphics. After San Andreas this is just a complete letdown. Doing the missions was NEVER the best part of the game. The best part was owning the town. The city was huge and complex and SO FULL of.....Nothing. Where are the safe houses to buy and business to own? Where is the warehouse to save nice cars? Where are the multitudes of clothes theAnd it only got that high because of the graphics. After San Andreas this is just a complete letdown. Doing the missions was NEVER the best part of the game. The best part was owning the town. The city was huge and complex and SO FULL of.....Nothing. Where are the safe houses to buy and business to own? Where is the warehouse to save nice cars? Where are the multitudes of clothes the customize your look?
    Simply put ... this game lacks all the details and freedoms that made this series so fun to play. I would have happily lived with less graphics if it meant i could do more than drive in circles and follow the linear storyline.
    Expand
  45. BobE.
    Aug 12, 2008
    6
    This game is very realistic, but it is too realistic as well. I loved San Andreas because you could do stuff that would be impossible in real life. But in GTAIV, the realism gets in the way of gameplay. I hate the driving physics, which are impossible to control, and i hate how you have to give yourself carpal tunnel by mashing A just to run. Rockstar has taken a big leap forward in terms This game is very realistic, but it is too realistic as well. I loved San Andreas because you could do stuff that would be impossible in real life. But in GTAIV, the realism gets in the way of gameplay. I hate the driving physics, which are impossible to control, and i hate how you have to give yourself carpal tunnel by mashing A just to run. Rockstar has taken a big leap forward in terms of realism, but a giant leap backwards in terms of fun. Expand
  46. MolayM.
    Aug 13, 2008
    6
    Its really an 8, but it sooooo over hyped. especially the online multiplayer. Which Sucks.
  47. EliF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    8
    There's fun to be had here, but the main mission design and gameflow are deeply flawed. Retrying a failed mission usually requires several minutes of driving. I quit playing after the game failed me twice for not wearing "only smart shoes with a suit" to a meeting with a lawyer. It turned out my shoes were fine -- the problem was that I was wearing sunglasses. I had to drive all the There's fun to be had here, but the main mission design and gameflow are deeply flawed. Retrying a failed mission usually requires several minutes of driving. I quit playing after the game failed me twice for not wearing "only smart shoes with a suit" to a meeting with a lawyer. It turned out my shoes were fine -- the problem was that I was wearing sunglasses. I had to drive all the way home to take them off. Expand
  48. ArtW
    Sep 21, 2008
    7
    First off, I played the 360 version so your experience may differ from what I noticed. The over all story flowed fairly well, but unfortunately the story line seemed to be all there was in this game. GTA 4 seems to almost totally devoid of all the little subgames and such that made the previous games so much fun. There were no " pickup this hidden weapon and kill X numbers of people", First off, I played the 360 version so your experience may differ from what I noticed. The over all story flowed fairly well, but unfortunately the story line seemed to be all there was in this game. GTA 4 seems to almost totally devoid of all the little subgames and such that made the previous games so much fun. There were no " pickup this hidden weapon and kill X numbers of people", "get into this car and drive around a RC car to blow other cars up", "no missions that would give you bonuses that you could use from then on". The cellphone "keep your friends happy thing" was interesting but got to be super annoying before you finish the main story line. If you had enough friends all you would be doing is going out on date after date and not doing anything else. The graphics were very well done, but i'm not sure if I quite agreed with the choice to move away from the previous cell shaded titles. The wardrobe interface was inadequate. None of the clothing had a name once it was in your wardrobe and many of the shoes looked exactly alike. Flipping one at a time through your selection of clothes was laborious at best. It was very obvious that rockstar was trying to appease the ratings board. The realistic modeling of being drunk (the cops instantly knowing when you were drunk, even after you had stopped randomly serving was not realistic). Even though you got "warm coffee" within the very first date with michelle and they appeared to be thumbing their nose at the review board, in reality it was too much an easy gimmee and there seemed little else remarkable about it. The cellophone idea was pretty cool, esp the option to dialup ZIT to get the name of the song and artist currently playing on the radio. There was a decent variety of radio stations, but still needed the ability to play custom MP3 playlists. I'm not sure why all the big review sites gave this game such high scores, the game was fun yes, but not awe inspiring. I think if you look at the playing publics score you will see a more realict score and not one that makes the game reviewers look like corporate shills. A good review means nothing when everything they review gets the same scores. Throwing in a lame duck game review of something like Aquaman: Battle for Atlantis, does not balance out all the 90+ scores given out these days. In conclusion, the game had it's good moments but I felt like there was always something missing from the experience. Expand
  49. alexa
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    this is the best game ive played for 2 years i would recon it for anyone because out of the entire series this one is the best by far the story the characters the vehicles and even the phone rockstar did very good on this game the diserve a round of applause
  50. NikoBellic
    Nov 1, 2009
    8
    I like Saints Row 2 better, but that aside, this is a phenominal game. The graphics rule. I think there are too many songs, so it's hard to decide what radio stations to play, so I just turn to a talk show station. I can't tell if the voice acting is good or bad because everyone has an accent. Online is fun, though it feels like a senseless game of gun-tag usually, but the rules I like Saints Row 2 better, but that aside, this is a phenominal game. The graphics rule. I think there are too many songs, so it's hard to decide what radio stations to play, so I just turn to a talk show station. I can't tell if the voice acting is good or bad because everyone has an accent. Online is fun, though it feels like a senseless game of gun-tag usually, but the rules are impressively flexible. All your clothes look boring and the story isn't deep. The missions are fun, but the game's biggest problem is that you have to be friendly with everyone. Ignore them enough and you would have to do jobs to steadily regain their love. For example, Brucie doesn't like me anymore, all because I just wanted to progress with the story, so now I have to do a bunch of races to win him back, and I SUCK at racing!! Cars steer as realistically as in Grand Turismo, so don't expect it to be easy. The diolaugue is overly profane, so I always have to mute the TV if grandma is in the house. Its second biggest flaw is that Liberty City is just too big. It talkes like half an hour to get to every mission. Dispite all my complaints, it's still a fun game. Check it out if its average score of 9.8 hasn't provoked you to do so yet. Expand
  51. PhillipK.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    I can honestly write page after page of why GTA 4 is the best game every but let me save you the time and say that THIS IS THE BEST GAME TO HIT THE GAMING MARKET SINCE HALO 3 OR GEARS OF WAR! Without a doubt everybody(over the age of 17) should give this game a try. Many people say it sucks and its not worth playing... well they can go f*** themselves. WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING READINGI can honestly write page after page of why GTA 4 is the best game every but let me save you the time and say that THIS IS THE BEST GAME TO HIT THE GAMING MARKET SINCE HALO 3 OR GEARS OF WAR! Without a doubt everybody(over the age of 17) should give this game a try. Many people say it sucks and its not worth playing... well they can go f*** themselves. WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING READING THE REST OF MY REVIEW YOU SHOULD MOVE YOUR A** AND GET YOUR COPY OF GTA 4 RIGHT F***ING NOW! Expand
  52. SimonA
    Nov 25, 2009
    6
    It's a pretty good game but it's the most overrated game ever. The graphics are nice but the feel in the game aren't as good as it was in San Andreas or Vice City. I sometimes play San Andreas and just drive around having fun. I have no desire to do that after i'm finished with the story in Gta IV. The special effects and the story is good but it's nothing fun to It's a pretty good game but it's the most overrated game ever. The graphics are nice but the feel in the game aren't as good as it was in San Andreas or Vice City. I sometimes play San Andreas and just drive around having fun. I have no desire to do that after i'm finished with the story in Gta IV. The special effects and the story is good but it's nothing fun to do besides the story (Killing pigeons for the hell of it isn't my idea of fun). Expand
  53. MattE
    Nov 27, 2009
    2
    This game is redundant in the worst way. It's just a repeat of previous versions. It's incredibly repetitive and I completely lost interest 3 hours into the game. Absolutely doesn't deserve your money!
  54. RyanC
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    A great game with a few technical issues that piss me off every now and then. It's not as over the top as previous GTA installments, but it took a more life like approach to the series.
  55. KentLassen
    Feb 14, 2009
    3
    Grand Theft Auto IV is takes itself too seriously for a game that is supposed to be about having fun in an open world. It also includes boring settings and lackluster graphics that drag it down further. The game is a step away from what made the previous versions good and you would be better off playing a game like Saint's Row.
  56. MichaelK
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    Once again the gaming community has disappointed me with there narrow minded bashing at an excellent game. Grand Theft Auto 4 took GTA to a next-gen level. Everything about this game is polished and fine tuned. Visually the whole city is a treat to the eyes. From outstanding animation to the life of the city, you will at, one point. end up cruising the city to see the life and visuals Once again the gaming community has disappointed me with there narrow minded bashing at an excellent game. Grand Theft Auto 4 took GTA to a next-gen level. Everything about this game is polished and fine tuned. Visually the whole city is a treat to the eyes. From outstanding animation to the life of the city, you will at, one point. end up cruising the city to see the life and visuals that it supplies (which are rather impressive for such a large map.) The best part is the steady framerate. Almost always 40-50 FPS. I only expeirenced about three dips in framerate and one was because I blew about 20 cars up all at once (don't ask how *cough gas station cough*)Now onto the gameplay. I found that the controls were tight and became natural at one point. I never once had to say, "How do I go to cover." It's all well mapped onto the 360/PS3 controller. The guns feel real and have fantastic SFX that go with them (I go to gun ranges and the AK sounds like an AK.) My personal favorite thing about this game is the physics. I'm not just talking about the environment (which quite a few things break in: fences. poles, benches, statues, etc...) I'm talking about the cars. Not one car feels the same as the other. All handle differently and realistically. You will learn to be a good driver, but those who bash it are just naturally bad drivers.The single player (which starts out a little slow and takes a little while to get into to) will last you a fantastic MINIMUM of 17 hours. That is my fastest time. But, if you spend your time in a fun manner, without the side stuff, you will get about 40-60 hours of gameplay. No joke. With side stuff (which I'm so close to completing) I've logged 137 hours. No life right :D. The story is PHENOMENAL while the characters grow on you (except your fat ass cousin Roman) and you will begin to actually feel for them. I personally think Dwayne, Little Jacob and Dwayne are some of the most real people you'll meet in this game. Preferably Dwayne, but most of all you will become attached to Niko, the main character. You feel for him, he came to this country to get away from the war and horror of his country and also too [***SPOILER***] sorry. And as he progresses through the city and builds up a reputation, you feel for him. His coldness just gets too you and makes you find him mysterious and odd. You will become attached to him and the characters he meets. Not onto the multiplayer, which is surprisingly robust! There are 14 modes total and all are outrageously fun. I prefer free mode because you and friends can explore the city and find stuff to do. Whilst there are the basic modes: TDM & DM, there fantastically orgional ones that actually revolve around characters from the story: Kenny Petrovic missions and so on, Hangman NOOSE (extract VIP from airport to extraction point) and Bomb Da Base II (hijack an armored car, take to heliport, fly helicopter to boat, plant bomb, run like hell [almost forgot! KILL EVERYBODY!] BIG BOOM!). Then there are other modes like ruling different points in the city, gang wars, etc... Overall I found this game so detailed and refreshing that I had to give it a 10. It's a game you must give your respect to due to its insane amount of detail and story plus others. Buy this game or not, just give it a try. Expand
  57. JohnP
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    How dare anyone call these graphics 'sub-part' and the storyline 'crappy.' Grand Theft Auto IV is not about presenting an Oscar winning story line. The franchise has set out epic after epic game of pure fun. Who doesn't love driving around, killing pedestrians, taking it to hookers, and changing outfits? Well, maybe not outfits. But this game hit the money with How dare anyone call these graphics 'sub-part' and the storyline 'crappy.' Grand Theft Auto IV is not about presenting an Oscar winning story line. The franchise has set out epic after epic game of pure fun. Who doesn't love driving around, killing pedestrians, taking it to hookers, and changing outfits? Well, maybe not outfits. But this game hit the money with the gameplay. It did lack in its openness factor though and was rather small compared to San Andreas. Expand
  58. AnonymousMC
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    George F, you have no credibility whatsoever. "Subpar graphics"? When were you born? 2112, maybe, when graphics are more realistic than real life itself? Don't mind that an ENTIRE CITY is crammed into a game with very minimal load time. Don't mind that people react realistically depending on what part of the body you shoot. Don't mind the realistic crash physics. TheGeorge F, you have no credibility whatsoever. "Subpar graphics"? When were you born? 2112, maybe, when graphics are more realistic than real life itself? Don't mind that an ENTIRE CITY is crammed into a game with very minimal load time. Don't mind that people react realistically depending on what part of the body you shoot. Don't mind the realistic crash physics. The storyline is quite good, but you may think otherwise because you were born in a rich neighborhood that were ignorant of the social depravities and injustices occurring only a few blocks down. The gameplay is incredible, due to the exact OPPOSITE reason you provide. The missions are NOT repetitive, and the driving system is spectacular. Watch as the environment blurs as you put your foot to the pedal and watch it realistically crumple as you crash into another car. And since the game is shooting up "the same 10 fake people every three hours" and is for "passive-aggressive thugs," you gave it to your brother. Good job, troll, and trust me, there are other games that actually deserve zeroes.
    The only problem with this game is it's mission setup. When you fail, it takes you back from the beginning with less money and lost weapons depending on how you failed the quest. Another small flaw that I didn't really mind was the radio. It got smaller compared to the previous GTA. The GPS system was a very nice addition to the game. This game was definitely better than GTA3: Vice City and San Andreas where you were literally hearing the world "n*gger" twice every sentence. This game is one of the deepest games out there in terms of storyline and gameplay and it blows the current "competition" out of the park (Halo, Gears, Fable, I'm looking at you!).
    Expand
  59. SuleimanM.
    Mar 15, 2009
    8
    While not nearly as superior as it is acclaimed to be, GTA IV is a solid title nonetheless. If you go into it forgetting the hype, you'll emerge from the experience quite satisfied. With a riveting storyline, an enjoyable single player campaign, and a multiplayer mode to lean back on once the single player portion is complete, you can't go wrong with GTA IV.
  60. Mike
    Mar 21, 2009
    2
    I was pretty disappointed with this game. Graphics are very nice, although the filter washes everything out to where I can't really appreciate them. Music was subpar compared to previous titles although that could be my disdain for modern music, but they should have at least had an oldies station. The new driving system didn't really bother me with it's added realistic I was pretty disappointed with this game. Graphics are very nice, although the filter washes everything out to where I can't really appreciate them. Music was subpar compared to previous titles although that could be my disdain for modern music, but they should have at least had an oldies station. The new driving system didn't really bother me with it's added realistic physics, it did require a greater degree of skill than previous titles but I found I was able to get it down after a while. The gun play was awkward with an inability to manually target enemies well, although I did like the cover system. I guess the bulk of my disappointment was with the story, which I found lackluster, and the actual "fun" of the game. Realism is something I don't want to see in GTA games, they have always been "arcadey" and campy. To take out all the fun little details that have made past games so engaging is the height of stupidity as I see it. I bought this game right after it came out and I got to the end of the game and lost my desire to even finish it, it sits on my shelf collecting dust. I give this game -200 pigeons. Expand
  61. Dalek
    Jun 17, 2009
    8
    (Ok, sorry about my bad review.) The game seems to be running better this time. Anyway, GTA 4 may run like a piece of sh** at first all laggy n' buggy and crashes etc. But it runs ok after a while. If it lags and you want it smooth then get everything lowest, the graphics aren't to bad on low. It's pretty fun and a whole bunch of missions to do, and also if you aren't (Ok, sorry about my bad review.) The game seems to be running better this time. Anyway, GTA 4 may run like a piece of sh** at first all laggy n' buggy and crashes etc. But it runs ok after a while. If it lags and you want it smooth then get everything lowest, the graphics aren't to bad on low. It's pretty fun and a whole bunch of missions to do, and also if you aren't doing so well on single player cause of bugs n' crashes, Then try multiplayer. It is VERY fun, you can do deathmatch, Race, Mafia Work, n' all sorts, You need an Msn account for Windows live which sucks! Its fun, the graphics are great, although this game needs a few more patches. Also every NPC has ragdoll physics and they made the game more physical and realistic. Expand
  62. PeteW
    Jul 22, 2009
    9
    When I first played this game at a friends house, I hated it. The controls seemed different and nothing really stood out. Rather than buy it I borrowed it off said friend and I'm so glad I did. It's absolutely awesome. The graphics are much improved for the HD generation, especially the game's capacity to render large distances. The controls are much improved on When I first played this game at a friends house, I hated it. The controls seemed different and nothing really stood out. Rather than buy it I borrowed it off said friend and I'm so glad I did. It's absolutely awesome. The graphics are much improved for the HD generation, especially the game's capacity to render large distances. The controls are much improved on foot(finally, move and aim!) and after playing it for a few days the driving is by far superior, more responsive and more relative to the the type of car being driven. The only exception to this is the bike controls which not quite realistic and are too hard to control. The size of the map is perfect, as in my opinion San Andreas was just too big, and it could become very tedious just moving between missions in the latter stages. The replay feature and the taxi skip-to-destination feature are excellent additions for those of us who don't have 12 hours a day to play games. The story is the best since Vice City especially with the addition of "decisions" and I can't wait to download the add-on "The Lost and The Damned". Rockstar scores big And for those of you who are too blinded being "Gangsta" in the last instalment and giving this game a low score, you need to broaden your horizons. Expand
  63. IIIIIIIIIIIIIssssss
    Jul 31, 2009
    7
    This game was good but nowhere near as fun as GTA San Andreas. The story and graphics were good but after the main missions are complete this game is borning. There are not enough rewards, not enogh variety in weaponairy or vehicles. Where is the Hunter(Military Helicopter) Rhino(Tank) or (Hydra) Fighter Jet. Where are gang wars or Hot Ring Racing. Too realistic reccommended only forThis game was good but nowhere near as fun as GTA San Andreas. The story and graphics were good but after the main missions are complete this game is borning. There are not enough rewards, not enogh variety in weaponairy or vehicles. Where is the Hunter(Military Helicopter) Rhino(Tank) or (Hydra) Fighter Jet. Where are gang wars or Hot Ring Racing. Too realistic reccommended only for rental. The critics have overrated the game. Expand
  64. AnonymousMC
    Nov 18, 2008
    7
    While the visuals and the combat have been improved the game is extremely slow. It takes literally HOURS before you get your first gun and even after 4 hours of playing I still haven't opened up any of the other islands. Yeah it's fun messing around in the city with your friends, but if you're playing through by yourself it's pretty damned boring.
  65. dingd
    Dec 27, 2009
    0
    The game is just downright terrible and doesn't deserve any praise from critics. The controls are clunky, driving a car feels like driving a log. Walking around should not be so clumsy and stiff. A story involving the city's top criminals would be great yes? Nope, it's surprisingly bland. There aren't as many funny scenes and parodies as in the previous games. The The game is just downright terrible and doesn't deserve any praise from critics. The controls are clunky, driving a car feels like driving a log. Walking around should not be so clumsy and stiff. A story involving the city's top criminals would be great yes? Nope, it's surprisingly bland. There aren't as many funny scenes and parodies as in the previous games. The missions don't have any checkpoints and it's easy to screw up for some stupid reason, like going through a wall thanks to a glitch or the stupid AI falling off a tall building and died. The game focuses more on trying to be gritty and realistic but instead turns out awkward and unenjoyable. It's really not a fine game. Heck I know many gamers like myself and they all think pretty much the same thing. Expand
  66. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    It truly smashed the hype and shocked the critics. GTA IV is a game that MUST be experienced even if you haven't liked the game in the past... And what's better is that there is more to come. The DLC will be here around August and we can't wait!!!
  67. Sep 27, 2010
    6
    3 steps foward now 3 steps back . thats the best way i can describe GTA4 . the series since GTA 3 for the PS2 was ground breaking and with GTA VC and GTA SA it was pushing foward . although by the time i got to playing GTA SA i felt the series growing alittle stale in its story mode . so when i heard Rockstar was gona try and make GTA4 abit more fresh in it story mode i couldnt wait to see3 steps foward now 3 steps back . thats the best way i can describe GTA4 . the series since GTA 3 for the PS2 was ground breaking and with GTA VC and GTA SA it was pushing foward . although by the time i got to playing GTA SA i felt the series growing alittle stale in its story mode . so when i heard Rockstar was gona try and make GTA4 abit more fresh in it story mode i couldnt wait to see what they where gona try . when i got the game and played it for awhile i was amazed how much they removed from this game . it felt like they stripped it down . all the new guns they where adding in the series are now back to the same gun selection as GTA3 . you are in the same city as GTA 3 and story just feels the same . you are just some guy who is trying to take over the city . most of the missions feel recycled . you have less vehicles in prevous GTA games . they finnaly started adding more flying vehicles in this game in GTA VC and GTA SA but now in GTA 4 we are down to just a helicopter. why are the going backwards? the new stuff they did add just didnt feel like it worked or belonged. like you can now make friends and can hang out with them which if you wana keep them happy you have to do. which for being a cut throat russian who is tryin to take over a city why the hell would you be doing that? The games graphics i thought looked pretty good not ground breaking but did its job. the online mode was ok had ALOT of different game modes to choose from . none of the game modes i felt are any thing long lasting but kept me entertained for a week or so . the most fun i had was the free roaming co op me and friends had alot of fun starting a war with the cops and seeing how long we could survive. though it makes you wish they had a story mode co op how cool could this game coulda been if you and 4 buddys coulda played through the story mode like that? i woulda probubly given this game atleast a 8 if it had that. the game as is i felt was just ok felt to recycled in the end and nothing new and exciting was really added to it . for a next gen GTA game i was really hoping they would try and redifine GTA . i dont know how this beat out Fall out 3 for GOTY. i hope rockstar does a better job with GTA5. Expand
  68. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    The game isn't perfect, nothing is, but this rating by the CoDFather himself is really 9.8. The cheats are really good, the phone feature, the weapons, the storyline, all as realistic as any game ever was! Betrayal, friendship, drugs, blood, sex, money, all in the big city! What can be more realistic?! A game of the year by many companies including Gameinformer! The endless things you canThe game isn't perfect, nothing is, but this rating by the CoDFather himself is really 9.8. The cheats are really good, the phone feature, the weapons, the storyline, all as realistic as any game ever was! Betrayal, friendship, drugs, blood, sex, money, all in the big city! What can be more realistic?! A game of the year by many companies including Gameinformer! The endless things you can do, the endless lists of combinations and things to do with fun and time- wasting events. A game of the century! Expand
  69. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Don't get the hype, there is nothing "revolutionary" about this game. All I experienced was an extremely dull game with often repetitive missions and monotonous combat.
  70. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    it was a good game. the missions are great with lots of action. the cutscenes were also very good. you can hang out with friends, and between the missions their are lots of stuff to do. this is one of the best gta games.
  71. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Sure the shooting controls aren't perfect but overall the story and the missions make the game awesome. It's a well-crafted game. I completely agree with score it got.
  72. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I had never played a GTA game before this one, so I have no reference to compare it to, but I was hesitant to buy this game at first - due to the negative connotations about it in various media outlets. After getting 100% completion in the game I have to say that it is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played - on ANY platform. As a person who prefers first personI had never played a GTA game before this one, so I have no reference to compare it to, but I was hesitant to buy this game at first - due to the negative connotations about it in various media outlets. After getting 100% completion in the game I have to say that it is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played - on ANY platform. As a person who prefers first person shooters & sports games, but has never enjoyed any form of RPG, I was impressed by both the RPG elements and the FPS elements. The story-line was captivating, the various missions were interesting, the achievements were top-notch. It was one of the few games I've ever played that was both open enough to explore - and interesting enough to actually want to take the time to explore. It's not many games that will get me to pause in the middle of a mission, just to listen to the insanely funny bit on the radio in my stolen cab. I'm already anticipating paying full price for GTA V (and I RARELY pay full price for a game). If you haven't played this yet, got out and buy it now!! Expand
  73. Oct 2, 2010
    6
    It lacks everything that San Andreas was and whenever they make a new GTA of course it has to live up the expectations of the last game. I feel like it went a step backwards. The city is dull and forgettable, Niko is boring, barely customizable and every other character is painfully plain. The DLC titles however, are amazing, instead of GTAIV, i would suggest buying the The Lost and DamnedIt lacks everything that San Andreas was and whenever they make a new GTA of course it has to live up the expectations of the last game. I feel like it went a step backwards. The city is dull and forgettable, Niko is boring, barely customizable and every other character is painfully plain. The DLC titles however, are amazing, instead of GTAIV, i would suggest buying the The Lost and Damned and The Ballad of Gay Tony, as they define what a GTA game should be.. unique and a hell of a lot of fun. Expand
  74. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This game is fantastic it is better than every other sandbox game and all gta games that came before.
    This game has a great single player and multiplayer and all in one game ypu have to buy this it is one of the best games ever released
  75. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.
  76. Sep 20, 2010
    5
    So boring. Unless I'm in a room full of people who have absolutely no desire to have a turn, and are encouraging me to hit that old lady with my firetruck, then it's hard for me to play this game for more than ten minutes.
  77. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    My first Grand Theft Auto game and, with that being said, I liked it. I don't think it's the best game ever but pretty enjoyable and will keep you busy for a while. The good: the story is excellent, Liberty City is huge, great music, and voice acting is excellent as well. The bad: no reason to explore LC, driving takes a while to get used to, the penalty for failure is very high, combat isMy first Grand Theft Auto game and, with that being said, I liked it. I don't think it's the best game ever but pretty enjoyable and will keep you busy for a while. The good: the story is excellent, Liberty City is huge, great music, and voice acting is excellent as well. The bad: no reason to explore LC, driving takes a while to get used to, the penalty for failure is very high, combat is meh, and I could never get multiplayer to work. All in all, I recommend a purchase for this. These days it's pretty cheap and you get a lot of bang for your buck and the story is worth experiencing. Expand
  78. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    i held out on playing this game when it came out as i was sick of gta, but found a cheap copy so figured i would give it a go and it was better than i expected, but it is far from perfect. The cars handle poorly at best, the traffic can just get plain annoying and the ai can be very poor at times. Yet the story kept me intrigued and although linear the vast amounts of ways to play throughi held out on playing this game when it came out as i was sick of gta, but found a cheap copy so figured i would give it a go and it was better than i expected, but it is far from perfect. The cars handle poorly at best, the traffic can just get plain annoying and the ai can be very poor at times. Yet the story kept me intrigued and although linear the vast amounts of ways to play through the game is astonishing. MP can be quite hit and miss, but if you party up with a few friends just to mess about it can be hilarious. Expand
  79. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    After nearly eleven years of ups and downs, Rockstar has nailed it. This is the ultimate Grand Theft Auto experience, a powerhouse performance that will leave you clamoring for more, long after you've completed its story.
  80. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    You know, as a lifelong fan of this game, I can't help but getting a rock hard boner for this game. I mean, holy **** Some games follow, this game leads. If video games could lead, this would be like Abraham Lincoln or some ****
  81. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    GTA IV has to be one of the best of the games. It delivers a story of Niko, an illegal immigrant with a dark past who arrives in Liberty City (An extremely-detailed recreation of New York.) at the bottom of the food chain and takes up work with his cousin, Roman, and the local mobs. At the start of the game you'll be doing tedious, boring missions that are usually along the lines ofGTA IV has to be one of the best of the games. It delivers a story of Niko, an illegal immigrant with a dark past who arrives in Liberty City (An extremely-detailed recreation of New York.) at the bottom of the food chain and takes up work with his cousin, Roman, and the local mobs. At the start of the game you'll be doing tedious, boring missions that are usually along the lines of transporting someone or beating up some guy. But eventually the game hands you a gun and tells you to shoot the living f**k out of enemies in certain places, or chase after enemies AND THEN shoot the f**k out of them. While that might sound like it would get boring, it never does. The aiming system is great, and the cover system is even better. Plus, the game unlocks new areas for you as you play through the story. If you don't feel like playing through the story, that's okay, because the game features the classic GTA free-roaming that the series is known for. Tired of doing missions? That's cool, go grab yourself a shotgun and go a on a killing spree. Feeling like getting away from the cops? Go over and steal yourself a helicopter and fly into a non-unlocked area, you get an instant five-star wanted level. No matter what you do, this game will provide entertainment. Play this game. Expand
  82. rhe
    Oct 25, 2010
    5
    While this game has an excellently realised and altogether human protagonist, a brilliant cast of characters, some cutting edge graphical achievements with one of the best physics engines in gaming today and some stellar voice actors. The only reason I would buy GTA 4 is the insane amount of stuff that you can do outside of the missions and this is where it falls short because the truth isWhile this game has an excellently realised and altogether human protagonist, a brilliant cast of characters, some cutting edge graphical achievements with one of the best physics engines in gaming today and some stellar voice actors. The only reason I would buy GTA 4 is the insane amount of stuff that you can do outside of the missions and this is where it falls short because the truth is that I wanted this game to be as good as GTA: San Andreas if not better and when I popped GTA 4 into my 360 I couldn't help but get bored because there just isn't enough in GTA 4 outside of the missions to keep you busy and while some may say don't compare it to GTA: SA you really can't help it because you expect it to be better than its predecessor but even GTA: SA had more stuff to keep you busy outside of missions. Expand
  83. Jun 21, 2017
    0
    Take Two and Rockstar threatened to sue a modder without good reason. This sort of toxic behavior should not be tolerated. Don't support them by giving them your money.
  84. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game, but its not perfect like some people make it out to be. Firstly there are many games that have much better visuals and character animations than GTA. Seriously, the people run and walk as though their knees are in a fixed position. There are also some issues with the gameplay as in some situations you find Niko running around in circles rather thanGrand Theft Auto IV is a great game, but its not perfect like some people make it out to be. Firstly there are many games that have much better visuals and character animations than GTA. Seriously, the people run and walk as though their knees are in a fixed position. There are also some issues with the gameplay as in some situations you find Niko running around in circles rather than doing what you pressed on you're controller. Other than that id say this game is perfect, excellent storyline, good soundtrack, and all you would expect from a rockstar game. I recommend it. Expand
  85. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Don't even get me started. I'll just leave it as . . . MY FAVORITE VIDEO GAME OF ALL-TIME!!
  86. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Still playing it in 2012. Fave game overall - ever. Actually got the download version (after buying the DVD over 2 years ago) just so I could play without having to put in the disk at all. It was worth it because it's my "go to" game and every once in a while I just get back into it. Again and again. Love it.
  87. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    There not too much to say than this, Grand Theft Auto IV is with out a shadow of a doubt the greatest game ever created, played and experienced. Rockstar you have outdone yourselves. Graphics aren't the best the XBOX 360 can offer but thats a small price to pay when you get into this masterpeice of a game. Warning, though this is an outstanding game, for some the content may disgust, soThere not too much to say than this, Grand Theft Auto IV is with out a shadow of a doubt the greatest game ever created, played and experienced. Rockstar you have outdone yourselves. Graphics aren't the best the XBOX 360 can offer but thats a small price to pay when you get into this masterpeice of a game. Warning, though this is an outstanding game, for some the content may disgust, so here is my BBFC content warning, CONTAINS VERY STRONG LANGUAGE THROUGHOUT, STRONG BRUTAL BLOODY VIOLENCE AND VERY STRONG ADULT THEMES, DRUG ABUSE AND VERY FREQUENT AMOUNTS OF LAW BREAKING (which note makes this game what is is, TRULY AWESOME). Expand
  88. May 21, 2011
    6
    I can understand the metascore of 92 if you've played the game for an hour. Seriously, though, the game is self-repeating and more boring than San Andreas ever was. Technically, this is just a graphic and physics improvement of GTA with the expense of nothing to do but to ignore the phone calls from your "friends". The multiplayer started to bore me after a couple of hours, but the singleI can understand the metascore of 92 if you've played the game for an hour. Seriously, though, the game is self-repeating and more boring than San Andreas ever was. Technically, this is just a graphic and physics improvement of GTA with the expense of nothing to do but to ignore the phone calls from your "friends". The multiplayer started to bore me after a couple of hours, but the single player - the real core of GTA - was playable. If you're looking for a sandbox, GTA gives you a postal-sort of fun for 5 minutes. After which you realize there is nothing to do, little to no use for the money you earn from missions and in-game bowling and other games are as dull as they sound like. I can not understand people giving a full-priced game which only contains better graphics and physics a full 10, or even 9. Truth be told, GTA IV was successful solely because of the Rockstar's mastery of hype and the thirst for another Grand Theft Auto. Nothing more. The story of Niko Bellic is generic and the game itself isn't even close to 9/10. Fanboys aside, you'll enjoy the first playthrough but in the end it leaves you 50 bucks poorer and a bad taste in your mouth because of the praise from critics and GTA disciples alike. Expand
  89. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    average. not the best gta by quite some way. how this is the best reviewd x360 game on metacritic ever I don't know. Not a disaster, has its moments, but still a very average game
  90. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This game has a great story and is very fun to play through once or twice or just mess around with codes on and blow things up. That said, after you beat it you'll probably only play through it once more and even then you may never touch it again. The multiplayer is there, but it feels really disconnected, and literally, you're often disconnected. It's a good game, worthy of the franchise,This game has a great story and is very fun to play through once or twice or just mess around with codes on and blow things up. That said, after you beat it you'll probably only play through it once more and even then you may never touch it again. The multiplayer is there, but it feels really disconnected, and literally, you're often disconnected. It's a good game, worthy of the franchise, but it's not the best game ever. Expand
  91. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Best game I know very epic when it comes to stunts and tipping cars or boats with the rpg which is shown in gta iv stunts 4 and the epic car chases just make me pee myself
  92. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    OK, oh my god, some people are saying this game is bad????? How!? Dude if you like this one the least, out of the other GTAs, then you don't know what a good game is. Great story. Great action. Great free-roam, what more could you want?!
  93. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Bought this on release date back in 2008, still play it online on a nearly weekly basis with friends! If you're a fan of any GTA, you CANNOT miss out on this one.
  94. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    I've never played a GTA game before, but htis blew me away. A very meaningful and movign story, a great lead character with one hilarious cousin, tie in a love interest and it make for one great game. The driving feels very nice and realistic, and the piles of extra things to do in Liberty City means you'll never get bored, whether it's hanging out with your friends or going for gold in aI've never played a GTA game before, but htis blew me away. A very meaningful and movign story, a great lead character with one hilarious cousin, tie in a love interest and it make for one great game. The driving feels very nice and realistic, and the piles of extra things to do in Liberty City means you'll never get bored, whether it's hanging out with your friends or going for gold in a street race its just pure fun. The gun-play is solid and the chase sequences between you and the police (Or you chasing after someone else) is exilherating. Mulltiplayer is incredibly fun with Liberty City being your batleground was one kick-ass idea, and the wide spread of game modes is awesome, and free-mode is very fun. This is a Must-Buy in my book. Buy this now, and if you hate this game then your either a paranoid parent or a sad little chiild who can't get any kills in multiplayer. Expand
  95. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through. Me trying to find at least one thing to complain about. Nothing. This game really deserves GOTY. And I really have to say Niko Bellic is the only character in the GTA series that you can truly connect with. Understanding his difficult life andWow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through. Me trying to find at least one thing to complain about. Nothing. This game really deserves GOTY. And I really have to say Niko Bellic is the only character in the GTA series that you can truly connect with. Understanding his difficult life and mis-adventures you can really feel his emotions. And for a free-roaming game they really knocked me out. The free roaming really is amazing. Its awesome how they can have such a nice, luminous city and still have amazing and almost flawless graphics. As for the multi-player, I didn't really play it that much but i love the fact that you can roam around Liberty City causing as much mayhem as you want. The ranked matches are good too, with death-match (etc...) it was pretty cool to see that in a GTA game. Surely I can truly say that you have not experienced free-roam/sandbox games until you have played GTA IV. Expand
  96. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    I would have given this game a 10/10 if it were not for the story line ending and the rest of the game left to meaningless missions. I was disapointed when the game (story line) ended because the game stats said the game was only 60% complete, leading me to believe that there was much more to the game left...The story line part of the game however was 10/10, very addictive and fun. GreatI would have given this game a 10/10 if it were not for the story line ending and the rest of the game left to meaningless missions. I was disapointed when the game (story line) ended because the game stats said the game was only 60% complete, leading me to believe that there was much more to the game left...The story line part of the game however was 10/10, very addictive and fun. Great graphics. One of the more enjoyable games I have ever played on xbox 360. Expand
  97. Dec 13, 2015
    6
    This is the black sheep of the GTA series. As I played through this game years ago, I didn't understand why they straight-up eliminated so many of the innovations they added to GTA: San Andreas. You just don't have as much to explore. The city is rendered very well, of course, but that's the bare minimum for a Rockstar game. There's not a lot of interaction to be had with the environmentThis is the black sheep of the GTA series. As I played through this game years ago, I didn't understand why they straight-up eliminated so many of the innovations they added to GTA: San Andreas. You just don't have as much to explore. The city is rendered very well, of course, but that's the bare minimum for a Rockstar game. There's not a lot of interaction to be had with the environment in this game.

    And then there's the annoying "buddy system," which they excised from GTA V, and for good reason. Basically, you'll meet people throughout the game. In order to unlock various little "perks" that these people have to offer, you must build the relationship up to a friendship. How do you do this? Do you go on shoot-em-up missions wherein you alternate between piloting and manning the MG of a helicopter as you traverse the narrow corridors of a nearby canyon or canal? Not even close. No, what Rockstar decided was that it'd be cooler if you randomly received calls on your cell phone from these people. Like a real cell phone, you never want to take their calls. If you do take their calls, however, they'll invite you to go to a fried chicken fast food restaurant, play darts, or get drunk. In order to become their friend, you must accompany them for same. Eating at the fast food restaurant is exactly like it sounds - you pick them up from their house, drive to a fried chicken restaurant, eat fried chicken with them, and drive them home. The same goes for the other activities. At least with the darts you actually do play a dart mini-game, FWTW. Pretty lame, guys...pretty lame. Am I being picky? Nope. That's because this is a substantial part of the game that takes up a lot of time. It was almost like Rockstar thought this to be the gameplay's crowning achievement. So much so that they thought it adequate to trim away all the innovations introduced in GTA: SA.

    You're not going to care about the main character, or his brother, or any of the other characters in the game for that matter. You won't play this game again. If you haven't played GTA: IV, then don't. Move on to GTA: V, which corrected all the problems I noted above.
    Expand
  98. Feb 5, 2011
    8
    Great, great game but not ideal. Next time please again for tuning, barber and other "Sims" things. Graphic is OK, too (on 2008 year, of course). But I love NY and I like this game.
  99. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    GTA IV is an excellent game with a great story and characters.It still retains much of its originality,but in a much more mature way.It does have plenty of shortcomings,but not many will care.
  100. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Just in case you haven't played it yet and you were wondering if the game is still worth playing even though it's five years years old now. Yes. This game is so detailed and more expansive than anything else on the market as of today. Even though the animated characters aren't on par with today's models, the voice acting is top notch and the storyline pulls you along for quite aJust in case you haven't played it yet and you were wondering if the game is still worth playing even though it's five years years old now. Yes. This game is so detailed and more expansive than anything else on the market as of today. Even though the animated characters aren't on par with today's models, the voice acting is top notch and the storyline pulls you along for quite a raunchous adventure of betrayal and revenge. You'll be looking at a total of 90 missions, give or take, so expect a game that will take you a month to play. I found myself liking all of the characters that my protagonist associated with and the main character himself. Outstanding game that only has a drawback on the "save game" issue where if you have to start a mission all over again, you can expect to spend a lot of time just retracing your path to start the mission again. If you haven't played it, now is a perfect time because you can get the two expansions with the main story for only a quarter of the cost of a new game. Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    98
    Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.