Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2963 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Very cool game with style, you feel like your into this criminal things, the radio is like real, there are a lot things do in this game.
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games I've played! The story is my favorite in the series, Niko is my favorite character in the series, and this game looks great.
  3. Nov 23, 2012
    2
    Most overrated game of all time! this game sucks so bad. I only paid 20 bucks for it and I feel like I have been ripped off. San Andreas is way better this game is so bad it shouldn't be allowed to have the GTA name. I would recommend Saints row 3 if you like the past GTA's. Rockstar should be ashamed.
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    6
    People need to stop living the "2008" hype and start to see this game for what it really is. GTA IV is a okay game with wasted potential. This new game of the acclaimed GTA franchise could have been even more exciting and "mind-blowingly" fun than GTA San Andreas, but it fails miserably for the sake of "realism". Dear Rockstar, if i wanted to eat a hotdog on the f#cking street, talk on thePeople need to stop living the "2008" hype and start to see this game for what it really is. GTA IV is a okay game with wasted potential. This new game of the acclaimed GTA franchise could have been even more exciting and "mind-blowingly" fun than GTA San Andreas, but it fails miserably for the sake of "realism". Dear Rockstar, if i wanted to eat a hotdog on the f#cking street, talk on the phone with people that i don't care about; going to lan houses and forced to go to extremely boring places like theaters i would have done it. Why i didn't make any of those activities ? Because they are BORING! That's why i play videogames. I admit that GTA San Andreas was compromised with reality at a certain level, but it also gave you full character costumization; the possibility of buying houses; learn karate movements; costumize cars; fly airplanes; awesome radio stations; much more cool places to explore along with interesting characters and missions. GTA IV doesnt have any of that, instead, we have boring stuff like playing darts and surf on the internet. Actually, you won't remember almost anything of the game besides the graphics, city and multiplayer. Nearly all the characters are boring or just irritating. God, i hate Roman so much that i would be able to punch a kid right in the face if that could shut Roman's mouth permanently. I also can't stand the "overweighted" accent of Niko Bellic, despite of how hard i tried to like him. Most of the other characters are always asking favors in desesperate and annoying ways. In GTA San Andreas, the missions with Sweet felt natural, like if you were helping a friend. In GTA IV, people sometimes screams(literally) for help as if you owe them a favor or something like that. Maybe i'm being too nostalgic, but the thing is that GTA SA was way more fun and had much more likeable characters (except for Catalina). The great part of the missions in GTA IV follows the logic: "get a car - go to a place - kill thousands of people - return", with that "little to no variety" you can get easily bored after a couple of hours. The city is brown and ugly, sorry but it's true. The "euphoria" thing makes Niko move sooo slow that is almost painful to watch. "Because that's realistic" - Rockstar would have think. The combat system is an improvement over the old GTA games but the super slow "pseudo-realistic" movements ruins the flow of the battles. If all of this would not be bad enough, the frame rate is always an issue. Multiplayer is multiplayer. Let's be honest, you know what to expect: "deathmatch","team deathmatch", a "sandbox" multiplayer mode where little psycopath kids can have fun by creating hell on earth on NY streets and etc. Even 7 for this game feels like a generosity, but the game can be actually fun sometimes. I'm glad to see at least a 7.9 user score on metacritic, it means that not all the people here have "half-brain". If most people out there where more critic with these game, we wouldn't be living on this "over-casualizated attack of the modern warfare clones " age of videogame industry. Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    3
    Severely over-rated game. Repetitive, extremely bland, no great story and no character anywhere near memorable.

    3, vice city and san andreas were all good because they were ahead of their time and did things no other game had done before. 4 was just boring.
  6. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Well.......................................................................................................Short and simple: Great game but no jets :(
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    8
    I don't see this game as the "Pinnacle of Gaming" that many reviewers claim it to be. Nor do I hate it for not being exactly that as many disillusioned fanboys have ranted. I see this game to be exactly what it is: Just another GTA game. Great visuals, great characters, great writing, and exactly what you expect a GTA game to be. Overall: Another great entry into the GTA series, thatI don't see this game as the "Pinnacle of Gaming" that many reviewers claim it to be. Nor do I hate it for not being exactly that as many disillusioned fanboys have ranted. I see this game to be exactly what it is: Just another GTA game. Great visuals, great characters, great writing, and exactly what you expect a GTA game to be. Overall: Another great entry into the GTA series, that entertains, but just doesn't add too much new to the formula. A shame in that regard as you can see the potential is there. Hopefully GTA 5 will learn from this and try to be a bit more daring. Expand
  8. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Finally Rockstar have nailed the GTA series with GTA IV. It is just brilliant in every way. Like the car pysics now feal realistic with tyres bursting once you have been doing dounuts for a long time and the sounds of guns are brilliant. I have bought every GTA except gta 1, 2 and London, but I only got GTA IV a year ago and after half a year of playing it I straight away thought itFinally Rockstar have nailed the GTA series with GTA IV. It is just brilliant in every way. Like the car pysics now feal realistic with tyres bursting once you have been doing dounuts for a long time and the sounds of guns are brilliant. I have bought every GTA except gta 1, 2 and London, but I only got GTA IV a year ago and after half a year of playing it I straight away thought it might be better on PC and it was. Anyone who hasn''t played GTA IV go out now and get it and you will enjoy it. Expand
  9. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    This game is pretty fun, sadly, it is not as much as good as GTA: SA , GTA 3 or GTA: VC...
    Why? This game is mostly about graphics, but the gameplay is not convenient nor comfortable. The game has amazing graphics to be one of the first games for Xbox 360 or for PS3, but they failed with the gameplay, plus the radgoll is cool, but if you fall from a short length, Niko will damaged and you
    This game is pretty fun, sadly, it is not as much as good as GTA: SA , GTA 3 or GTA: VC...
    Why? This game is mostly about graphics, but the gameplay is not convenient nor comfortable. The game has amazing graphics to be one of the first games for Xbox 360 or for PS3, but they failed with the gameplay, plus the radgoll is cool, but if you fall from a short length, Niko will damaged and you will waste time by waiting until he stands up. Also, the story was very idea to be a GTA game. Those are the problems that GTA 4 had (in my opinion). Hopefully GTA 5 is better than GTA 4.
    Expand
  10. May 1, 2014
    3
    Watch cutscenes for 20 minutes. Drive somebody somewhere through a barren, empty wasteland for 10 minutes. Follow a car for 5 minutes, get too close, start mission over from a spot 20 minutes away. Do this 12 times. Change clothes. 10 minute cutscene. Drive 10 minutes to a clumsily controlled 3rd person shootout. Run a hooker over or something supposedly hilarious. Drive someone inWatch cutscenes for 20 minutes. Drive somebody somewhere through a barren, empty wasteland for 10 minutes. Follow a car for 5 minutes, get too close, start mission over from a spot 20 minutes away. Do this 12 times. Change clothes. 10 minute cutscene. Drive 10 minutes to a clumsily controlled 3rd person shootout. Run a hooker over or something supposedly hilarious. Drive someone in a taxi somwhere. 10 minute cutscene. 20 minute cutscene. Drive an ambulance off a roof. Yep, another cutscene. You get the drift. The writing, characters, story and such are top notch, but the actual game itself is a steaming pile of dogsh*t used to fill in the gaping holes in between all of it Expand
  11. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    In my opinion this is the greatest Gta yet. With its vast detail, great story and amazing presentation Gta IV is an extremely entertaining game. In fact it's not just a game but a experience and a great one at that. Not to mention the infinite amount of time that can be invested in the game in the form of Vigilante and other side missions. Well worth every cent used to buy it. 10/10.
  12. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    Graphics: 6/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 7/10 Voice acting: 7/10 Enjoyment: 6/10 = 6.8 (good)
    The graphics are just a blurry mess, I know it came out 5 years ago but even then it just looked like a blurry mess. Although games aren't all about the graphics so lets talk about the game.
    This is not Grand Theft Auto! This is Niko's Chavy Day Out Simulator. This is nothing like the others except
    Graphics: 6/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 7/10 Voice acting: 7/10 Enjoyment: 6/10 = 6.8 (good)
    The graphics are just a blurry mess, I know it came out 5 years ago but even then it just looked like a blurry mess. Although games aren't all about the graphics so lets talk about the game.
    This is not Grand Theft Auto! This is Niko's Chavy Day Out Simulator. This is nothing like the others except it's an open world in an American city. Where's the funny characters? Where's the funny humor? Where's the funny?
    GTA 5 please bring back the funny.
    Thanks for reading and I'll JackYaLater.
    Expand
  13. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    i think Grand Theft Auto is appropriate for ages 10+ the reason why is because you can censor all the bad language. This is also much like the game saints row it is very similar to Grand Theft Auto and Saints row is also not that bad i recommend it to. so this is my opinion im funzoid and a think Grand Theft Auto is a appropriate game THANKS!
  14. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Laugh at me if you want, I just bought this game from Best Buy because one of my friends convinced me to buy the game saying that the game was good and I had to try it out. I really didn't know what to expect going into GTA 4. When I put the game in, I was blown away how pretty the game looked and this is the first game I've played where I love most of the characters in the story. Niko isLaugh at me if you want, I just bought this game from Best Buy because one of my friends convinced me to buy the game saying that the game was good and I had to try it out. I really didn't know what to expect going into GTA 4. When I put the game in, I was blown away how pretty the game looked and this is the first game I've played where I love most of the characters in the story. Niko is a the main protagonist who went to America from Russia to seek a new life. While in Liberty City, a fictional city in Los Angeles, he meets up with his cousin Roman. Roman is a funny character that's in major debt to Loan Sharks. Niko must help his cousin out. While trying to help out his cousin, he meets a girl named Michelle and wants go out with her, but is side-lined from all the work he is doing to help Roman. The characters that you meet early in the game have their own personality instead of being carbon copies of other characters in the game. I have not gotten far into the campaign, but I really enjoy the game and hope I have more fun with it later on. I encourage you to buy this game. Expand
  15. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is just as impressive as it looks. Although it doesn't offer exciting visuals, or great graphics, it is wildly entertaining, and sets high standards for open world games. Controls take some getting used to, but they make sense for the game's combat style. The story is phenomenal, with strong characters, and an incredible (albeit somewhat cliché) plot. It has plenty ofGrand Theft Auto IV is just as impressive as it looks. Although it doesn't offer exciting visuals, or great graphics, it is wildly entertaining, and sets high standards for open world games. Controls take some getting used to, but they make sense for the game's combat style. The story is phenomenal, with strong characters, and an incredible (albeit somewhat cliché) plot. It has plenty of content, fun missions, and great features. Although the game doesn't have much play value after completion of the main story missions, it's easily overlooked. Grand Theft Auto IV is the best of its genre. Expand
  16. Aug 7, 2013
    8
    I get it. I really do

    This game is awesome and takes all that is good from the previous GTA entries and makes it great and makes it bigger. Nevermind the obvious graphical upgrade, the story is more realistic. Its just, I have seen this before. I'm not as invested this time around. I don't want to be an immigrant that comes over to my country to terrorize my country to get paid. I
    I get it. I really do

    This game is awesome and takes all that is good from the previous GTA entries and makes it great and makes it bigger. Nevermind the obvious graphical upgrade, the story is more realistic.

    Its just, I have seen this before. I'm not as invested this time around. I don't want to be an immigrant that comes over to my country to terrorize my country to get paid.

    I liked San Andreas ability to truly customize my playable character through clothes and body type.

    The radio stuff isn't as good and for a story that is supposed to be so believable, the totality of what Niko gets away with in terms of destruction is absolutely ludicrous.

    The missions drag for me and have been done before in previous GTA's. The unlocking of new places in the city is predictable and expected.

    I think that is my problem with this; for all of its grandeur, most of it I totally expected. I knew what I was getting into through and through and that was the problem for me.

    Its a great game for somebody else and I get that. But for me its just a really good game
    Expand
  17. Feb 24, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GTA4 is terrible compared to SA VC. Can't do anything without cops harassing you.. Not even vigilante missions, which is what's the most fun. Just too many cops roaming around very unrealistic. It's no longer FUN to drive a motorbike (controls, easy death, etc..).. The constant phone calls from "friends" gets so annoying, you have to just put your phone on sleep in order to enjoy free-roam play. 8 max RPGs? --stupid. No minigun? Pigeon completion is a horrendous task. Can't fly planes. Can't freely look around the airport. Helis are scarce. Money is hard to come by after story completion. Story missions are good, graphics are very good, and pedestrian reactions are funny. The best thing about GTA4 is the auto-save. At least you can avoid being stripped of $20,000-worth of weapons, or avoid a ludicrous $10,000 health fee and go back to where you left off. I can't wait for GTA IV Expand
  18. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    I know a lot of people loved this game and it got a lot of hype, but I dont think it was all that great. Yes the graphics were amazing (for the time), and yes the cars got A LOT better. But the only thing is it was kind of a let down. I know it looks a lot better, the graphics, the cars, the missions, but people forgot to look at somethings. The fact that they took out so much from whatI know a lot of people loved this game and it got a lot of hype, but I dont think it was all that great. Yes the graphics were amazing (for the time), and yes the cars got A LOT better. But the only thing is it was kind of a let down. I know it looks a lot better, the graphics, the cars, the missions, but people forgot to look at somethings. The fact that they took out so much from what was in the previous GTA'S like San Andreas. They did add a lot of things, and it does look a lot nicer but they took away too much stuff that the bordism kind of took place often. Now im not saying this game sucks or anything like that, im just saying it was kind of a big let down. Although there were a lot of cool new features. The graphics had a HUGE improvement. And the story was an actual story. Recommendation level: 6/10. Expand
  19. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This is a best game since,i play the xbox 360 is a
    very very good game and doesn t have any error with the game. This is a expetacular and the best productions of rockstar games. i recommend.
  20. May 7, 2013
    10
    Maybe my all time best game. sure the game has flaws, but it barely affect me enjoying every minute in this game. I got the key to city achievement, took me like forever, but at the end I just like to do this meaningless collective things in this game, mainly because i like to drive around the city. The combat/gunplay is not topnotch, but I dont care, the game just has massive other thingsMaybe my all time best game. sure the game has flaws, but it barely affect me enjoying every minute in this game. I got the key to city achievement, took me like forever, but at the end I just like to do this meaningless collective things in this game, mainly because i like to drive around the city. The combat/gunplay is not topnotch, but I dont care, the game just has massive other things to do than shooting. I gave the time a 10, maybe a little overrated. I don't think in any way this game is a perfect 10, but I just cannot think of any game is better than this, therefore, after comparison, IMO, this is how a 10 score game should like... Expand
  21. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    This game is pretty damn easy.... Maybe it was because I was a bit younger, but San Andreas was a hard game for me! This game was (I believe) the first big release from GTA to be in HD and not 3D, and I have to say... It looks pretty good. For the story in this game, it is decent, but the game play is great and saves the story. And my problem with this game settles in the multiplayer. IThis game is pretty damn easy.... Maybe it was because I was a bit younger, but San Andreas was a hard game for me! This game was (I believe) the first big release from GTA to be in HD and not 3D, and I have to say... It looks pretty good. For the story in this game, it is decent, but the game play is great and saves the story. And my problem with this game settles in the multiplayer. I don't know about the other platforms, but on the Xbox this is FULL of hackers and people that will teleport you randomly and freeze your system. The other 60 of the players shoot you the second you spawn in. I don't see the fun in that! This game was fun, but not nearly good enough for the 98 meta-score and definitely not as good as I thought it was back in '09 Expand
  22. Apr 16, 2013
    5
    Holy hot hell what is with all these inflated reviews of this game?! The game was distinctly average at best! The best thing in this game is playing it multiplayer and just messing around with some friends. Except for that, this game was good, but not the best. San Andreas was the best of the series, this one was probably the worst.
  23. May 2, 2013
    10
    I just played and completed this game again for the second time. It is completely awesome and still the best game I've ever played, great open world way ahead of its time, great voice acting, story and attention to detail.

    I decided to play this again in preparation for GTA V and show my son how good it was, he is only 9 and loves the iPad GTA games and loved it too. I'm hoping GTA V
    I just played and completed this game again for the second time. It is completely awesome and still the best game I've ever played, great open world way ahead of its time, great voice acting, story and attention to detail.

    I decided to play this again in preparation for GTA V and show my son how good it was, he is only 9 and loves the iPad GTA games and loved it too. I'm hoping GTA V will have some filter for kids and open it to a wider audience but even without this the game is worthy of the amazing reviews and score that is here.

    If you have ever been to New York you will recognize a lot of the places, structures an that just adds a touch of something extra. The driving and feel in this game is different to other GTA games, the driving is a lot harder and you will have to work to control your cars, with that said its much more realistic, you can't just hurl around corners at almost full speed.

    The graphics are probably a bit dated now, but the engine is what really started it all for open world games. New engines such as those in Farcry 3 or Just Cause 2 are better, but they owe respect to GTA IV for doing it first and years ahead.
    Expand
  24. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Although it may not contain the amount of variety that was provided by San Andreas (which is still the best in the series) it excels in creating a living, breathing open world environment which has not been matched until the release of Skyrim. A must own for GTA fans, open world fans or fans of great games in general
  25. Sep 28, 2013
    6
    Grand theft auto IV tiene sus cosas como buena jugabilidad, buenas graficas entre otros factores importantes en un juego, sin embargo no se ateiene a aceptar una buena historia como es la simple historia de la traicion cada 10 segundos entre negros, es un desastre la historia, sin embar va por buena causa
  26. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    The number 1 rated game on metacritic,I can see why.This game has awesome combat,fun mini-games and really cool veichles.I can't wait to see what they do in GTA 5.
  27. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    One of the best game ever made in the World, go rockstar
    people that doesn t like this sorts of game give it bad score shame on you Spela inte spel f-- h------ d-.
  28. May 31, 2013
    10
    For eveyone who hates this game i will tell you to please reconsidder and actually PLAY IT for a longer period of time! Messing with the cops and pedestrians is still fun. Doing stunts with bikes and cars are in my opinion even more fun thanks to the new engine. And doing awesome yet simple drifts and such with vehicles is just so much fun because of the realistic feel of the cars. YouFor eveyone who hates this game i will tell you to please reconsidder and actually PLAY IT for a longer period of time! Messing with the cops and pedestrians is still fun. Doing stunts with bikes and cars are in my opinion even more fun thanks to the new engine. And doing awesome yet simple drifts and such with vehicles is just so much fun because of the realistic feel of the cars. You tell yourself after a perfect drift ''i did that! And it was awesome!''. It's just great fun if you get used to the different direction in gameplay.

    I love this game and will always do and HOPEFULLY gta 5 will be even greater. And by the way, to the haters, it will keep the realistic feel of this game. Most likely all the future main entries of the series will. So i guess you will just have to say goodbye to rockstar.
    Expand
  29. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game. Epic single player, epic multiplayer. Seriously, i don't know what these negative reviews are saying or thinking, but take it from me, its AMAZING
  30. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    It Grand Theft Auto that should cover the review already. I can't tell you how many hours I've wasted playing mulitplayer with my friends. Rock Star cannot disappoint they crafted a great well thought out game with great game-play.
  31. Jun 17, 2013
    3
    GTA IV Has to take the gold for being the most overrated game of all time.

    Pros: -Lengthy Story, a lot of gameplay available -Sandbox game, can be played an unlimited amount of times, providing you can find something fun. Cons: -Clunky feeling controls and slow character response -Game is almost becoming a normal life for a criminal, where has all the fun things from GTA:VC and
    GTA IV Has to take the gold for being the most overrated game of all time.

    Pros:
    -Lengthy Story, a lot of gameplay available
    -Sandbox game, can be played an unlimited amount of times, providing you can find something fun.

    Cons:
    -Clunky feeling controls and slow character response
    -Game is almost becoming a normal life for a criminal, where has all the fun things from GTA:VC and GTA:SA Gone?
    -Online provides no actual purpose, only a few sketchy gamemodes and a sandbox mode which most players will choose, however nothing really more to it than the story with a few friends
    -Color seems to have flown out the window, the only colors this game using is Grey, black and murky colors.
    -irritating real life style situations, in GTA IV you can go bowling with a cousin, go on dates with girls and generally do things which you can do for real, however in GTA the fun is taken out of it when you are constantly called or text messaged asking you to do certain things, and if you don't, your relationship with the character drops, resulting in a forced,broken up feeling to the idea of a fun criminal game.

    GTA IV deserves nothing more than a 4 or a 5/10, with a few fun things here and there, and if you can actually involved in online and find something to do, the game can provides hours, but really, there isn't anything TO do, other than shoot each other and steal a few cars, sound fun? wait until you try to drive them, the car responses will have you screaming
    Expand
  32. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    dlvsdfvjdzbvmdsbvdbvhmbzcnvbzsdfmvbsdmvdfhsvbsdmvbdsnmvbsdmvbsdmcvbdzmvbsdmvbdsmvbsdmvbdsmcbdvnbnvbxzvbxcnvbcvmbxcvbdhvbdmbdfhmvbdmvhbdsmvbsdmvbsdmbvdsnmbvmdnbvnxdbvnmbxdvbmcmxnvbdbvdsnv IS THE BEST
  33. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    GTA IV is a fantastic game don't get me wrong, but to say it is overrated is a MASSIVE understatement. I have played and completed all GTA games numerous of times and enjoyed them all, but this isn't even the best GTA, nevermind the best game I've played. I completed this twice and chose different routes/paths in the storyline both times. I played this probably more than any other gameGTA IV is a fantastic game don't get me wrong, but to say it is overrated is a MASSIVE understatement. I have played and completed all GTA games numerous of times and enjoyed them all, but this isn't even the best GTA, nevermind the best game I've played. I completed this twice and chose different routes/paths in the storyline both times. I played this probably more than any other game because it was a great way to spend time but I can't see what some others see when they say it's the "best game they've ever played'. They must've played some shocking games to say this is the best. Driving is good and the selection of cars is broad and the shooting isn't too bad. I did enjoy the multiplayer more than the single player but what really lets it down for me is after you've completed it. I have a total of 105+ hours of game-time which is a lot, but most of that was after completing the game. I spent hour after hour roaming around the map wondering what to do and could find nothing other than enjoy the odd game of bowling or go around shooting all the pigeons for an achievement the achievements were the only thing keeping me playing it. There should've been something extra at the end something to keep you engaged once you have completed the storyline a couple of times but there wasn't. This is a fantastic game don't get me wrong, but you can easily get tired of it, and just because I'm calling it OVERRATED, doesn't mean I didn't enjoy it, because I did. 7/10. Expand
  34. Jul 22, 2013
    4
    I haven't played video games since 2003 and that was GTA San Andreas for the PS2. After seeing all the ads for GTA 5 I went out and bought an Xbox 360 and a copy of GTA IV in preparation for September 17th. Man I could not be more disappointed. Boring characters, boring story line, boring environments (How they managed to make Brooklyn boring is beyond me), the streets are way too circularI haven't played video games since 2003 and that was GTA San Andreas for the PS2. After seeing all the ads for GTA 5 I went out and bought an Xbox 360 and a copy of GTA IV in preparation for September 17th. Man I could not be more disappointed. Boring characters, boring story line, boring environments (How they managed to make Brooklyn boring is beyond me), the streets are way too circular and wined-y and make navigating the landscape more annoying than anything else. Visually, the game is incredibly dark and lacking color. No side quests, nothing to do. It's like they took all the freedom you had in San Andreas so you're relegated to the boring story line (and unlike-able characters) they put in place. This release gives me serious reservations about buying the new game. I was bored after 30 minutes. Expand
  35. Jul 25, 2013
    0
    0/10 game does not do what it says
    not good
    ┈┈┈┈┈┈▕▔╲┈┈┈┈┈┈
    ┈┈┈┈┈┈┈▏▕┈┈┈┈┈┈
    ┈┈┈┈┈┈┈▏▕▂▂▂┈┈┈
    ▂▂▂▂▂▂╱┈▕▂▂▂▏┈┈
    ▉▉▉▉▉┈┈┈▕▂▂▂▏┈┈
    ▉▉▉▉▉┈┈┈▕▂▂▂▏┈┈
    ▔▔▔▔▔▔╲▂▕▂▂▂I
  36. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    Great Game ...Great features...Great graphics..The controls are easy to master. Scenery is good. Scenarios are awesome. The weapons are amazing but some features from its previous successors are missing such as the gym and many more. This game's worth buying and playing but it deservedly shouldn't deserve to get any awards.
  37. Aug 10, 2013
    6
    the game doesn´t make honorable to the GTA franchise, the story in itself its awesome but besides the missions the game doesn´t has much to offer, compared to the other Rockstar´s games this is one of the worst of them.
  38. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    Since five years ago I can't stop playing this game. The best game of the consoles until GTAV.
    No other game has got me into the story and in the gameplay. No other game has that ragdoll physics. Feels real.
  39. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Very nice story, and online. The graphics are awesome, the whole game is awesome. It was definitely worth the wait. Can't wait the Grand Theft Auto 5 now :D
  40. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments are bland, all of which combines to make it difficult to see where you are and where you’re going.

    Second: they jacked up the driving physics of the game so now it feels like everything is moving underwater. Turns that used to be simple now send you sliding into walls, which gets frustrating given the large number of slow, crappy cars you seem to be forced to drive in this game.

    Third: the stale mission-structured gameplay is exactly the same as it was over 10 years ago. It’s so tedious now. You get a mission giver, you have to drive across town to start the mission, then you have to drive to your mission destination, then back to your house if you want to keep your car. Fail the mission and you have to start the commute again. They have even added in “features” like toll booths now, which create traffic on bridges that honestly make you feel like you are commuting to work because if you charge through them you get an automatic wanted rating.

    Oh, and did I mention something about keeping a car you want available? Well, in this game they decided to do away with garages for some reason. You know: the places you used to be able to store vehicles. Now your various pads with have one or two parallel parking spaces out in the middle of the AI-trafficked street and if you park a car there *perfectly* it will be saved. However, if it’s a big car or if the AI traffic knocks it slightly out of place, it will be gone when you reload.

    Possibly the most annoying new “feature” of this series is the dating mini-games. You can hang out with certain people to increase their affection toward you, which reaps you certain benefits, but then ALL of them CONSTANTLY call you to hang out, even if you’re in the middle of a mission getting chased by the cops, or in the middle of commuting to do your next mission, or commuting home from your last mission. Whatever. And if you tell them no, even if it’s your own cousin asking you to go bowling again, though you just went bowling with him two days ago, he will get upset and you’ll lose affection. You can’t tell them no.

    Also, Liberty City is big but incredibly empty. You will not be rewarded for exploring b/c there is simply not much out there. Instead of secret packages to collect, this time around you have to kill special pigeons, which are very frustrating to find even with the help of a guide. I got to about 20 or so before I asked myself why the hell I was doing it, because I wasn’t having any fun.

    Finally, the “story” I keep seeing so many positive reviews refer to is stupid & nonsensical. You’re an illegal alien who begins a career as a professional criminal as soon as you step off the boat. Not much different from any other GTA protagonist aside from not already being a US citizen, right? Except now you’re Borat. AMAZING! There IS NO story! You’re a criminal who makes friends with other criminals throughout the game and then commits criminal acts. *spoiler*

    Furthermore, while there may well be 20 hours’ worth of cutscenes (which tend to go on forever) & dialogue (which also never ends during your mission commutes with NPCs), it seems like it was all written by a 10-year old boy. Penis & fart jokes, characters needlessly dropping f-bombs twice a sentence to be “edgy” (I guess), and all-around lame humor in general that makes you roll your eyes and want to skip through every cutscene you come across. Unless you are a 10-year old boy, in which case I guess you’d be in heaven. Maybe that’s the targeted demographic now?

    But Rockstar will keep making the same game as long as sheep keep buying it. Anyone who wants to see what an improvement in this genre looks like, I’d direct you toward Saints Row the Third. Not the best game ever, but one that is actually, you know, “fun” to play. Something Rockstar left out of GTA4.
    Expand
  41. Ed_
    Apr 13, 2015
    10
    BEST GTA EVER.

    The new GTA 5 is not even comparable to this game.
    Best story, gameplay and you can sympathize with the game character. You get everything.
    Niko is my favorite!
  42. Sep 16, 2013
    1
    I found the game very dull and difficult to get through. The city was very bland and graphically unimpressive.
    The gameplay it self, shooting, driving etc was very boring. The city was boring......the fact that it was just a empty shell really..
  43. Sep 19, 2013
    3
    Un juego que no prenta ninguna novedad para el jugador.Su narrativa totalmente lineal lo comvierte en un juego que cae ante los topicos que presenta.Graficamente notable y banda sonora acertada.
  44. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    One of the most ambitious games ever produced. TASTE LIKE CHICKEN MY COP THIS GAME! EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS GAME DIP IN OIL WITH SOME SEASONING KNOW WHAT I'M SAYING? I WONDER WHERE DAT PIZZA HUT IS TOO?
  45. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    GTA IV is a game that I love to call "a masterpiece". My journey with Niko Bellic is one of the most memorable experiences I've ever been at in my life. Exploring Liberty City (one of the most impressive, realistic, visually stunning worlds I've ever explored) for almost 6 months has been so awesome, that I want to play it again, experience it again, and LIVE it again. Despite on all theGTA IV is a game that I love to call "a masterpiece". My journey with Niko Bellic is one of the most memorable experiences I've ever been at in my life. Exploring Liberty City (one of the most impressive, realistic, visually stunning worlds I've ever explored) for almost 6 months has been so awesome, that I want to play it again, experience it again, and LIVE it again. Despite on all the controversy that surrounds it, its elements (stunning action pieces, well-structured storyline, relationships with friends, shocking plot twists/turns, cast of characters, and many activities to do) are flawless and it couldn't stop getting any better. This is, unexpectedly, one of my favorite games ever, and in every bit of respect I love to give it, it would be enormous for everyone to see. After I finished over 100 hours of campaign mode, I come to feel for Niko, who is flawed and desperate to "climb out the hole he trip in" (a underworld full of psychopaths, thieves, loan sharks, crooked people, and gang-bangers). Rockstar has told one of the greatest stories ever told in gaming. It deserves to be the greatest game of the current generation of gaming, but also hold a shadow, along with GTA V, over the next generation, making it look bad. I love to recommend this game to ALL of you to experience. The multiplayer does help with its success, but most of it comes from its single-player mode, which is one of the most memorable experiences I've also ever played, as well. So, I'm gonna make this short: If any of you want to "understand" on what I am saying, now is the chance to PLAY this game, NOW. Expand
  46. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    grand theft auto 4 is one of the best games I've ever played in my life, it is an almost perfect game, but its only shortcoming is that compared to grand theft auto earlier this game has fewer customizations.
  47. Oct 29, 2013
    0
    The most overrated piece of in its franchise. And no, I'm not the only rational being stating this. Through all these GTA fanboys, there's still plenty of ppl admitting to the fact that GTA IV has been SERIOUSLY overrated, and when I say seriously, I mean: SERIOUSLY!
  48. Nov 2, 2013
    6
    THE GOOD: Niko is a cool character. The map has some cool landmarks that can make it interesting. Map can be fun to explore.

    THE BAD: There are a large amount of issues in this game. The cars control badly, like slippery boats. The game definitely looks like an X360 game but graphics are still not all that visually pleasing. The game removes so much from GTA San Andreas. San Andreas had
    THE GOOD: Niko is a cool character. The map has some cool landmarks that can make it interesting. Map can be fun to explore.

    THE BAD: There are a large amount of issues in this game. The cars control badly, like slippery boats. The game definitely looks like an X360 game but graphics are still not all that visually pleasing. The game removes so much from GTA San Andreas. San Andreas had mountains, countrysides, deserts, small towns, and big cities. GTA IV, on the other hand, is just one city. Gun mechanics could be much more responsive. Way too many cops in this game, which can limit freedom to do crazy stuff. There are performance issues that are annoying. For example, when you drive fast, sometimes you can run into invisible objects, which are textures that have not appeared yet. Cheat codes are also hard to access at critical times because they are put in the in-game phone. When you are trying to put in a cheat code a cop can shoot you and make you automatically put the phone away. It is extremely annoying and once again, limits freedom. There are only a few outfits available to change your character into, which is a disappointment because San Andreas allowed you to change clothes, haircuts, and tattoos in a variety of ways. GTA IV just doesn't do the one thing that is necessary for an open-world game, ALLOW FREEDOM.

    Very overrated game. At its best, it can be worth renting to enjoy the things it does get right. Rent it.
    Expand
  49. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    Grand Theft Auto IV, has an amazing story line, there are many action packed missions involving many different unique characters as well as completely different situations. The three-dimensional graphics were good. The sound quality was average, I enjoyed driving the vehicles around just to listen to the sound of their engines, it was beautiful.

    The multiplayer was generally
    Grand Theft Auto IV, has an amazing story line, there are many action packed missions involving many different unique characters as well as completely different situations. The three-dimensional graphics were good. The sound quality was average, I enjoyed driving the vehicles around just to listen to the sound of their engines, it was beautiful.

    The multiplayer was generally entertaining; I have had many great times with my friends while playing this game. The different activities in multiplayer were entertaining, such as, “GTA Race” or “Cops & Robbers”
    Although there are some slight problems, such as, when driving any vehicle in single player or multiplayer the controls are a little wacky. It was difficult to turn the headlights on or off as well as to turn the radio off.

    I do enjoy playing this game with or without people; therefore I give this game a 7/10.
    Expand
  50. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    The game is close to perfect or in-fact perfect in my opinion. It blew me away. The story was very well-written and the characters fit in nicely. The City is simply breathtaking and this deserves a higher user score. Hats of to Rockstar for creating such a master piece.
  51. Dec 23, 2013
    2
    its a good game overall, gorgeous and fast cars, funny at times but one of the biggest cheats i've ever encountered when it comes to missions. very dissapointed.
  52. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    This game is overrated. It's rated as the best game of all time by the critics but in reality this game is nothing special. The graphics in this game lack color and they are full browns and grays and this game looks washed out. The graphics are average for a 2008 game.The sound design is pretty average and the voice acting is atrocious. The plot is somewhat interesting but the charactersThis game is overrated. It's rated as the best game of all time by the critics but in reality this game is nothing special. The graphics in this game lack color and they are full browns and grays and this game looks washed out. The graphics are average for a 2008 game.The sound design is pretty average and the voice acting is atrocious. The plot is somewhat interesting but the characters are uninspired and bland. The missions range from being fun to boring escort tasks. The gameplay is alright. It's not a great third person shooter but it's not bad either. Overall it's an average game and the worst Grand Theft Auto. Expand
  53. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    Just 3 words. One big masterpiece!!!!!!

    But forget about the boat like car handling and some of the unnecessary features like sex appeal and fat in. San Andreas.
  54. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    It wasn't till the release of GTAV that I stopped playing GTAIV, literally the day before I was driving down the sidewalk of times square and throwing bodies everywhere with the hood of my car or punching a bum then hiding behind a business man so the bum hits him by mistake and then watch the following fight. This is a game I kept finding myself returning to because it is darkly fun whichIt wasn't till the release of GTAV that I stopped playing GTAIV, literally the day before I was driving down the sidewalk of times square and throwing bodies everywhere with the hood of my car or punching a bum then hiding behind a business man so the bum hits him by mistake and then watch the following fight. This is a game I kept finding myself returning to because it is darkly fun which is the tone of the whole series compared to San Andreas, the fun is darker, the art style is darker and so is the story. Niko Bellic is a top notch character and all the people you meet in Liberty City are also colourful and there is plenty of content to keep you busy for years and this is one of the few games where the DLC is actually meaty and worthwhile. This is not a perfect game, I nearly stopped playing it until I discovered the swing that throws you across the map, a lot of people complain that the driving is hard but I found it fun once you got used to it, my problem on the driving front was that New York does not have the best roads for fun cars. What makes GTAIV miss out on game of the year is the companion missions where you have to take one of the characters for a game of darts or something gay like that. Overall this game is jam packed with quality, I recommend thrashing this game till you have seen everything, especially the funny cartoons that can be found on the TV, the map isn't the best that Rockstar has produced but it is so full of content that a 10 is the only score I can give it. Expand
  55. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    Wow. GTA IV is absolutely perfect!
    I simply can not express how much I love this game. Besides its heavily improved graphics (compared to its predecessors), the game also offers a fantastic story and great protagonist, Niko Bellic. Multiplayer mode is enjoyable and there's just enough room to cause chaos if you wish to do so.
    But this game is not just about free-roaming around Liberty
    Wow. GTA IV is absolutely perfect!
    I simply can not express how much I love this game. Besides its heavily improved graphics (compared to its predecessors), the game also offers a fantastic story and great protagonist, Niko Bellic. Multiplayer mode is enjoyable and there's just enough room to cause chaos if you wish to do so.
    But this game is not just about free-roaming around Liberty City and killing pedestrians. It is more dependant on its story. That's why I think some people were slightly disappointed about this game.
    It's really not similar to other GTA titles, but it still amazes me. I think this game deserves every recognition it gets and every high rating it obtains. Because it's simply amazing!
    Expand
  56. Dec 7, 2014
    3
    I know this is a bit late but, I just had to put this out there. This must seriously be the most overrated game in existence. 98/100 on critics reviews? Seriously??

    This is a good game, no doubt, But one of the highest rated of all time? How much did Rockstar pay reviewers for this, I guess none will ever know. This game in no way comes close to the best in the series, Vice City,
    I know this is a bit late but, I just had to put this out there. This must seriously be the most overrated game in existence. 98/100 on critics reviews? Seriously??

    This is a good game, no doubt, But one of the highest rated of all time? How much did Rockstar pay reviewers for this, I guess none will ever know.

    This game in no way comes close to the best in the series, Vice City, which was close to perfection, at least in this genre. I just can't fathom what reviewers were thinking.

    Again, I'm not hating on the game, it is definitely good, maybe even great. But a masterpiece? I guess the user-reviews are the most reliable source of critics for this game.
    Expand
  57. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    A lot of people claim this is a dull GTA game, and say San Andreas is better. San Andreas had more replay value, but GTA IV's story is one of the most underrated stories in a video game ever. It knows when its a good time to be serious, and when it's a good time to be humorous.
  58. Feb 18, 2014
    4
    The worst game in the GTA series! The history is boring, the engine is poor, mobility is the worst, missions are boring! The worst bet of Rockstar! I consider lower than the average!
  59. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    An epic gangster fable on a grandiose scale, Grand Theft Auto IV is undoubtedly one of the greatest games ever played, mixing tough-as-nails characters, a fully-realised story (in the vein of The Godfather) and a fantastic free-roaming ability. This here, is an odyssey and a gratifying adventure. This is an experience!,
  60. Feb 24, 2014
    3
    The biggest problem with GTA IV is the lack of being able to control your movements. The accuracy is poor and will always do so that you end up in trouble. Camera angles do not contribute to make your life easier and the challenge is instead to be patient with the clumsy steering. What makes things worse is that the game has no checkpoints during a mission. If you die during the mission,The biggest problem with GTA IV is the lack of being able to control your movements. The accuracy is poor and will always do so that you end up in trouble. Camera angles do not contribute to make your life easier and the challenge is instead to be patient with the clumsy steering. What makes things worse is that the game has no checkpoints during a mission. If you die during the mission, you have to redo everything, you even have to drive to your destination.
    Another flaw is that the game's protagonist Niko Bellic who feels very flat and boring. The opposite could be said about Tommy Vercetti in GTA: Vice City.

    There are certainly some good things to say about GTA IV, but because of the things I mentioned above do so that everything else relevant end up in the background. The great city that you will have access to will not be interesting if you can not move in it without getting pissed.
    Expand
  61. Jul 16, 2014
    8
    "Grand Theft Auto IV" is the most overrated title of the Xbox 360 generation. The game is fun, yes. And it has an unbelievable amount of content, including it's own TV shows and internet. The game is also incredibly boring for long stretches of time and stiffly animated to the point of making motion in the original Xbox look cutting edge.

    I know what's going on. GTAIV has an epic and
    "Grand Theft Auto IV" is the most overrated title of the Xbox 360 generation. The game is fun, yes. And it has an unbelievable amount of content, including it's own TV shows and internet. The game is also incredibly boring for long stretches of time and stiffly animated to the point of making motion in the original Xbox look cutting edge.

    I know what's going on. GTAIV has an epic and cinematic start. The first few missions of petty beatdowns and car theft are fun. The characters are interesting in a way most video game characters are not. That's about as far as most reviewers go. If you play the game the whole way through, like me, you suffer through long car rides between missions, missions that repeat from the start due to random deaths, and string of boring dates and man-dates. Statistics show that most GTAIV players will not finish the game, and I cannot blame them.

    GTAIV ultimately proves that a bigger sandbox is not a funner sandbox. Hardly any buildings can be entered, so the game world is one big fake parking lot. Police chases escalate quickly but always end with Niko running out of range or paying a small fine after exploding in his car. And the story really does drag on to long to the point where I really stop caring so much about Niko and only about my own obsessive need to finish every game I buy. Really, I would rather write about how great this game (I am giving it an 8!), but this GTAIV isn't an underdog story.
    Expand
  62. Oct 25, 2014
    10
    For its time, a remarkable achievement. GTA IV set the benchmark for the modern sandbox game, merging great open-world gameplay with a scathing, but hilarious satire on the nature of Western consumerism. A+
  63. Sep 19, 2014
    3
    Maybe it's my fault that I have had a horrible time playing through this game. I have a curse for running into numerous bugs and mission-breaks throughout many of my play-throughs. Either that or this game is so terrible that it shows all that is ugly and wrong with our modern gaming journalists, countless of which proceeded to give this game a perfect rating. Now I know that this game isMaybe it's my fault that I have had a horrible time playing through this game. I have a curse for running into numerous bugs and mission-breaks throughout many of my play-throughs. Either that or this game is so terrible that it shows all that is ugly and wrong with our modern gaming journalists, countless of which proceeded to give this game a perfect rating. Now I know that this game is a bit outdated, but 2008 was still a damn good year for videogames and I have truthfully not played a game this mind-numbingly dreadful in a long time. I am not trolling, I am being genuinely honest about my opinions for this game. I'm just saying exactly what I thought about it when playing through and I have nothing against the developers, the controversial stuff, or the franchise as a whole.
    How anyone can rate this 10/10 is beyond me. The game simply isn't fun, nor does it excel in any particular areas. At the start of the game I was really excited to play through it and had positive opinions and expectations after the countless reviews and awards I'd seen it receive. I've only recently played any of the GTA games so this was the first one that I got to truly sit down and play through properly. The first issue that I had was something that flawed the game greatly right from the start: the vehicles. They control like crap, feeling like they're floating on a pocket of air and having horribly ineffective brakes and stiff hand brakes. This ruins most of the game for me, as the main missions have a huge focus on driving sections and a lot of your fun you'd expect to come from outrunning cops. But with these **** stiff driving mechanics it's scary to go over 20mph in-game because you're doomed to crash at the next minor turn.
    Secondly, the story is massively overrated. I couldn't give a blind **** about any of the characters, especially Niko who, instead of feeling like badass criminal with moral dilemmas and awesome lines to make him at least memorable, really feels like a completely lifeless **** who spends the game doing petty [law-breaking] chores for his lazy, **** cousin. I couldn't bring myself to connect with any of the cardboard characters, even when I tried, hard.
    Thirdly, and this is probably the biggest problem, the ****ing checkpoint system sucks balls. I cannot count the amount of times I have quitted the game pissed off at this ****ing terrible checkpoint system. Why does it suck so hard? Because there essentially are no checkpoints for most of the missions in the game. You'll play through a boring sequence and then have to chase or shoot a guy, or outrun the cops and which point you'll likely fail or die because, despite it being an open world game, everything feels incredibly trial-and-error-based. So when you fail you have to start the whole mission all over again right from the start and worse, if you die you respawn outside the nearest hospital (which is retarded and makes no ****ing sense because you've usually been shot by the police) and then have to travel in your floaty-ass car to your mission start point and do everything all over again. This has been a problem with other previous Rockstar titles (such as Bully: Scholarship Edition) but it's amplified here because the missions are a lot less imaginative or enjoyable and with the dreadful driving mechanics you're gonna fail a lot more often.
    They're the main problems I have with this game, but all of my other annoyances essentially boil down to how shockingly unoriginal everything truly is. There are far better open world games out there, even ones that came out in or before 2008, like Oblivion, Bully and Saints Row 2. Rockstar is, in my opinion, a great developer, but this is easily their worst work. I'm baffled by the reviews for this game and I do wonder if many of the critics were bribed to give it such untruthfully high scores. Nothing here ever impressed me and I couldn't stop saying out loud how bad this game was at times. It was overall a chore to play through and that should never be the case. **** this game.
    Expand
  64. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    GTA IV is a great game. The storyline is awesome, environments beatifull and I find myself having alot of fun just crusing around and playing the story. The multiplayer isnt engaging to my taste. I would have been thriled to be able to paly Co-Op, but the multiplayer is decent. From Cops and Rooks to mini missions to satisfy the lack of Co-Op, GTA IV is just an awesome game and worth buying.
  65. Aug 6, 2014
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is an incredible sandbox game with an amazing story. The main aspect of the game is the story, it's a pretty good one. The story has a few twists here and there and the characters are great too. Grand Theft Auto IV focuses more on the story and missions rather than activities to do outside of the story. There's not a whole lot to do except go to a restaurant or bowingGrand Theft Auto IV is an incredible sandbox game with an amazing story. The main aspect of the game is the story, it's a pretty good one. The story has a few twists here and there and the characters are great too. Grand Theft Auto IV focuses more on the story and missions rather than activities to do outside of the story. There's not a whole lot to do except go to a restaurant or bowing or something. The complaint I have about gameplay is that there's absolutely nothing to spend your money on. A person could easily accumulate over $750,000 but there's nothing to buy except weapons and clothes. The technical complaint I have is that the driving isn't the greatest. I feel like my vehicle is going to tip over or drift off around the corner at any time. The multiplayer of Grand Theft Auto IV is pretty great. It's fun to hang out with everyone in free roam or do some racing and missions, it's a blast. Grand Theft Auto IV is a great installment of the series for its compelling story, and it also introduced multiplayer for the better of the series, it's an amazing game. Expand
  66. Aug 14, 2014
    7
    I don't know why this game got a score of 98. From the three GTAs I've played this one is my least favorite. In my opinion San Andreas and Vice City are way better than GTA IV. I missed the fun from the previous games in this one.
  67. Sep 28, 2014
    8
    Technologically, this game is as near perfect as pre-2010 games could get. Massive attention to details, an early yet entertaining euphoria physics engine, above average graphics, it had what many sandbox games at the time could only dream of. Story wise, I found the serious turn in the main plot and hints of dry and immature humor to be a welcomed change to the over-the-top stories inTechnologically, this game is as near perfect as pre-2010 games could get. Massive attention to details, an early yet entertaining euphoria physics engine, above average graphics, it had what many sandbox games at the time could only dream of. Story wise, I found the serious turn in the main plot and hints of dry and immature humor to be a welcomed change to the over-the-top stories in games prior. Without going into detail, the opening, decisions, and conclusions in the base Grand Theft Auto IV experience were enjoyable without being as predictable as branched stories tend to be. So far GTA IV is a damn good game.

    What sets many off of GTA IV is the lacking gameplay. Uninteresting and repetitive missions, non-existent customization options and what some would even call a smaller playground left many gamers with experience in the last generation of Grand Theft Auto games dissatisfied with the main run in GTA IV and the lesser re-playability.

    In my opinion, GTA IV was a technological masterpiece with a great story but was held back slightly by its inferior gameplay in comparison to its predecessor San Andreas. Does it make it awful? No. Free play in the luscious HD version of Liberty City is still fun and the main story is worthwhile also, however, the burning image of San Andreas made IV pale in comparison. Had this game been developed elsewhere it would have landed a 9/10 easily, however, Rockstar's reputation left many disappointment with the first of two seventh generation Grand Theft Autos.

    8/10: Great, but not better.
    Expand
  68. Sep 9, 2016
    3
    In every single aspect worse game than GTA San Andreas. Such a disapointment. Why this one has better score than GTA V and GTA:SA...damn even Saints Row 3 was waaaay better - compared to GTA4 it should get perfect score! Why does this long forgotten crap have such high rating is just beyond me.
  69. Nov 16, 2014
    9
    This is a very good game it is very interesting and fun I didn't expect it would be this very good the weapons are good but the bad thing about it is the missions they could of made it more easier.
  70. Nov 23, 2014
    6
    Liberty City has undergone an amazing HD transformation from Grand Theft Auto III, and compared to 3D GTA, GTA IV is huge, although GTA San Andreas is to compete with. The graphics, shooting mechanics and driving physics in the game are a great improvement from previous GTA Games but there are some cons
    The storyline is cliche and not that good. There is a fair share of glitches (Catapult
    Liberty City has undergone an amazing HD transformation from Grand Theft Auto III, and compared to 3D GTA, GTA IV is huge, although GTA San Andreas is to compete with. The graphics, shooting mechanics and driving physics in the game are a great improvement from previous GTA Games but there are some cons
    The storyline is cliche and not that good. There is a fair share of glitches (Catapult swing set being the funniest) and pop-in is very annoying.
    Also GTA IV has devolved from GTA San Andreas as there are no planes, no diversity like the countryside or the sea and not being able to buy houses.
    Oh and Roman Bellic always calling you asking 'To go bowling' This really sucked. They should add a blocking feature on the phone
    But I still enjoyed this game, I couldn't put it down and so I give this game a strong 6
    Expand
  71. Dec 1, 2014
    8
    This is nice video-gaming. Lots of things to do, the story folds out pretty well, lots of violence, car crashes, prostitutes and overtime. It's kind of a peculiar game if you think about it. At the beginning you keep wondering why the hell am I going through all these deliveries and stuff. After a couple of hours you have a few contacts and they're not in for anything good and fair. So youThis is nice video-gaming. Lots of things to do, the story folds out pretty well, lots of violence, car crashes, prostitutes and overtime. It's kind of a peculiar game if you think about it. At the beginning you keep wondering why the hell am I going through all these deliveries and stuff. After a couple of hours you have a few contacts and they're not in for anything good and fair. So you decide to come along.

    The characters are so well made and wonderfully portrayed. judging this game as simply dumb gaming is somewhat wrong. There's a lot going on for this title to be missed and not looked upon.
    The odd menus and the fact the city sometimes feels dead with nothing actually gameplay-wise interesting to perform. But hey, everyone has its problems, right?
    Expand
  72. Jun 22, 2015
    10
    I won't say much, i had lots of fun with this one, but this game is all about driving cars and shooting, it may get boring a bit, but the story is worth it.
  73. Jan 1, 2015
    8
    Overall GTA IV is a good game. It has a good story that keeps you interested for a while. Definitely a must have if you like the Grand Theft Auto series. You play as Niko Bellic a immigrant that gets involved in the criminal world, you have to work your way up as a professional criminal. So get this game if you just love a all around great action/adventure game.
  74. Feb 18, 2015
    10
    MY MOST FAVORITE and MOST memorable Grand Theft Auto in the WHOLE SERIES! THIS WAS THE ABSOLUTE BEST ONE AND ALWAYS WILL BE THE BEST GRAND THEFT AUTO HANDS DOWN
  75. Aug 31, 2015
    9
    amazing game. love the gta series. if you are a big fan of gta pick this one up. this game is a lot of fun to play it has funny voice acting and great mission design
  76. May 8, 2015
    10
    An absolute masterpiece of a game in every respect possible. It has amazing game play, great graphics, and provides an endlessly fun experience that you will love, guaranteed. It's worth every single penny you put into buying it. Free Roam is easily the best feature of the game, but the story is also worthy of mention. It's amazing. Just buy it.
  77. Jul 4, 2015
    10
    now i have not beat grand theft auto 4 in a long time but my memories are clear of how great it was!!! i spent 49 hours in this game dude for some perspective it took me about 23 hours to beat gta 5 thats why this game has a higher score then gta 5. the story is incredible and you feel emotion for whats happening! nikko bellic is a man who just left a world of crime and warfare. he heresnow i have not beat grand theft auto 4 in a long time but my memories are clear of how great it was!!! i spent 49 hours in this game dude for some perspective it took me about 23 hours to beat gta 5 thats why this game has a higher score then gta 5. the story is incredible and you feel emotion for whats happening! nikko bellic is a man who just left a world of crime and warfare. he heres the word that his cousin roman is living what this games definition of what the american dream is. but once he gets there he finds the opposite roman is i lying drunk man who is balls deep in debt with loan sharks and other criminal scum of the city. after saving him you are kidnapped and have 2 missions do what ever it takes to keep roman alive and finding that american dream! that story is so awesome and its really fun to see how bad it gets for our 2 characters. you will make tuff choices in the game as well that screw with your emotions this is the first gta were instead of it just being an action game it has enough fun and a focus on story telling to be diffrant and include all that other fun. now the reason gta 5 seems a bit more fun is because its more free and has so much to do in its world in this game if your tired of a crappy mission you hang with roman and get drunk or play darts or go bowling thats about it main story or booze because its the only fun side thing to do. i would talk of the online modes but i really shouldn't everyone is playing gta 5 online so if your planning on buying this game witch you really should make sure your in it for some missions. but again grand theft auto is pure gold here and its a ton of fun and the story is good so go and check it out. im so done with people saying that gta 5 is better because it has something like tennis or the online mode but what rockstar games did was cover your ungrateful ass and make the game worth 60 dollars just with the story mode! gta v has 69 missions and 20 side ones that areint that great they put so much of the game in the online mode that has 70 more missions and so on gta 5 is worth every penny if you pay for online bullcrap its about the shadiest scam i have seen thats why gta v gets a 9 out of ten and this gets a 10 end of story! Expand
  78. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through. Me trying to find at least one thing to complain about. Nothing. This game really deserves GOTY. And I really have to say Niko Bellic is the only character in the GTA series that you can truly connect with. Understanding his difficult life and mis-adventures you can really feel his emotions. And for a free-roaming game they really knocked me out. The free roaming really is amazing. Its awesome how they can have such a nice, luminous city and still have amazing and almost flawless graphics. As for the multi-player, I didn't really play it that much but i love the fact that you can roam around Liberty City causing as much mayhem as you want. The ranked matches are good too, with death-match (etc...) it was pretty cool to see that in a GTA game. Surely I can truly say that you have not experienced free-roam/sandbox games until you have played GTA IV. Expand
  79. Aug 29, 2015
    6
    GTA IV improves many aspects of the gameplay and physics about the franchise. It also presents a decent story, with good voice acting and some good characters. The cover mechanic is drastically improved, and the driving mechanics and overall physics are much more realistic.
    However, it fails in provide the same amount of features present in the previous title (GTA San Andreas). Most of
    GTA IV improves many aspects of the gameplay and physics about the franchise. It also presents a decent story, with good voice acting and some good characters. The cover mechanic is drastically improved, and the driving mechanics and overall physics are much more realistic.
    However, it fails in provide the same amount of features present in the previous title (GTA San Andreas). Most of the customization options are gone or limited, there are only a couple clothes Niko can wear in the game and the vehicles customization doesn't exist (you can only change the color). The number of vehicles was reduced, especially due to the removal of airplanes (You can see airplanes in the game, but cannot fly in one). The RPG elements that were present in San Andreas is gone, you can eat as many hot-dogs you as you wish, but Niko will maintain the same body type. Different fight styles were removed as well.
    The map is also one of the biggest flaws of this game: it is lifeless and smaller than San Andreas.
    In the end GTA IV is one of the most “realistic” GTA with it brand new physics engine, in the other hand it is the less customizable and fun to play, which in my point of view are the tow characteristics that define the franchise. The game still better than most games out there, with its good mechanics and gameplay, but it for sure the worst GTA I have played.
    Expand
  80. Sep 5, 2015
    3
    Gta IV was good but not 98. it had so many missions where you do things for roman and Gta V is better ( GTA V is also great but not 97 ,I'd rate it at a 92-93)
  81. Nov 27, 2015
    9
    Grand theft auto IV was the 2nd best Gta game in the whole pack type deal, the first on vice city because I loved and I mean loved the campaign a lot. So Gta 4 had a bloody, action, sexy, and brutal campaign which was amazing. And I was a great game, 9-10 right there.
  82. Feb 20, 2016
    8
    ótimo jogo, joguei muito ele no xbox 360, salvei o jogo e gostei da história, mas nada se compara a zoeira, nossa, perdi as contas de quantas vezes eu joguei granadas naquele hospital. roubar o helhicoptero do heliporto, roubar a viatura da polícia e prender os criminosos, quebrar as cancelas do pedágio pra não precisar pagar, colocar um carro no meio da rua pra gerar trânsito e depoisótimo jogo, joguei muito ele no xbox 360, salvei o jogo e gostei da história, mas nada se compara a zoeira, nossa, perdi as contas de quantas vezes eu joguei granadas naquele hospital. roubar o helhicoptero do heliporto, roubar a viatura da polícia e prender os criminosos, quebrar as cancelas do pedágio pra não precisar pagar, colocar um carro no meio da rua pra gerar trânsito e depois explodir tudo com a bazuca. tacar granada nas lanchonetes, tacar granadas no boliche. empurrar os outros na linha do trem. só não gostei de duas coisas, 1 - o jogo continua com aquele bug do carro sumir do lugar onde eu estaciono. 2 - a cidade é muito cinza. Expand
  83. Mar 20, 2016
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has to be the most annoying/frustrating game I have ever played! It is a chaw to play any of the missions or side missions. The controlls have to be the worst in a video game. The gameplay is SO repetitive, who would want to run around the map looking for 200 pigeons!? The only the redeeming factors are: the map (which is so fun to explore), and the subway (I loved just riding around in them, I know I am weird!). Maybe if I played this game when it first came out I may have liked it more, considering the amount of 10/10 review scores this has. If you're looking to play a GTA game, definitely play Grand Theft Auto V (maybe the best game ever made)! Expand
  84. May 9, 2016
    10
    Has to be one of the best games i have every played. I was so hooked on it for a good 4-6 years before it got boring, and i played it everyday for those years. It's a game you can put your mind to work on, no it isn't Grand Theft Auto V where you can customize your cars or fly jets, but that's what i like about it. You can really put your mind to work, because there is so much to do in this game.
  85. May 15, 2016
    10
    Actually, this GTA game one of the best in series. Wonderful and sad storyline, wonderful grapics for 2008, yeah and the Liberty City - my favorite city in GTA. Much better for GTA V with her worst storyline
  86. Jun 3, 2016
    10
    + Amazing "alive" world
    + Great Visuals and attention to detail.
    + Awesome Multiplayer
    + Great story and characters
    + Fun controls = Fun Gameplay

    - Mission structure was a bit archaic.
  87. Aug 20, 2016
    10
    With a great story, sprawling open-world, amazing physics, and better-than-ever gameplay, GTA 4 is a masterpiece. There is so much to do in the freshened Liberty City. The graphics are a huge departure from the pre-360 era GTA games. You can now freely aim your gun, and car damage is surprisingly realistic. I love the story and the characters. It is extremely entertaining and funny. TheWith a great story, sprawling open-world, amazing physics, and better-than-ever gameplay, GTA 4 is a masterpiece. There is so much to do in the freshened Liberty City. The graphics are a huge departure from the pre-360 era GTA games. You can now freely aim your gun, and car damage is surprisingly realistic. I love the story and the characters. It is extremely entertaining and funny. The online mode is good. I always like to play the races. However, it doesn't have a countdown timer, so people will always forget to click the "ready" button and a game could literally NEVER start. Despite that minor issue, GTA IV is an absolute must-buy and is extremely cheap these days. Expand
  88. Oct 15, 2016
    8
    Jogo demais, só que achei a dirigibilida dos carros ruins. O jogo vai te entreter muito, fazendo você continuar jogando para saber se o Niko vai ser feliz ou não.
    "Let's go bowling?"
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    98
    Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.