User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2691 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    It truly smashed the hype and shocked the critics. GTA IV is a game that MUST be experienced even if you haven't liked the game in the past... And what's better is that there is more to come. The DLC will be here around August and we can't wait!!!
  2. Sep 27, 2010
    6
    3 steps foward now 3 steps back . thats the best way i can describe GTA4 . the series since GTA 3 for the PS2 was ground breaking and with GTA VC and GTA SA it was pushing foward . although by the time i got to playing GTA SA i felt the series growing alittle stale in its story mode . so when i heard Rockstar was gona try and make GTA4 abit more fresh in it story mode i couldnt wait to see what they where gona try . when i got the game and played it for awhile i was amazed how much they removed from this game . it felt like they stripped it down . all the new guns they where adding in the series are now back to the same gun selection as GTA3 . you are in the same city as GTA 3 and story just feels the same . you are just some guy who is trying to take over the city . most of the missions feel recycled . you have less vehicles in prevous GTA games . they finnaly started adding more flying vehicles in this game in GTA VC and GTA SA but now in GTA 4 we are down to just a helicopter. why are the going backwards? the new stuff they did add just didnt feel like it worked or belonged. like you can now make friends and can hang out with them which if you wana keep them happy you have to do. which for being a cut throat russian who is tryin to take over a city why the hell would you be doing that? The games graphics i thought looked pretty good not ground breaking but did its job. the online mode was ok had ALOT of different game modes to choose from . none of the game modes i felt are any thing long lasting but kept me entertained for a week or so . the most fun i had was the free roaming co op me and friends had alot of fun starting a war with the cops and seeing how long we could survive. though it makes you wish they had a story mode co op how cool could this game coulda been if you and 4 buddys coulda played through the story mode like that? i woulda probubly given this game atleast a 8 if it had that. the game as is i felt was just ok felt to recycled in the end and nothing new and exciting was really added to it . for a next gen GTA game i was really hoping they would try and redifine GTA . i dont know how this beat out Fall out 3 for GOTY. i hope rockstar does a better job with GTA5. Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    The game isn't perfect, nothing is, but this rating by the CoDFather himself is really 9.8. The cheats are really good, the phone feature, the weapons, the storyline, all as realistic as any game ever was! Betrayal, friendship, drugs, blood, sex, money, all in the big city! What can be more realistic?! A game of the year by many companies including Gameinformer! The endless things you can do, the endless lists of combinations and things to do with fun and time- wasting events. A game of the century! Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Don't get the hype, there is nothing "revolutionary" about this game. All I experienced was an extremely dull game with often repetitive missions and monotonous combat.
  5. Aug 23, 2010
    10
    it was a good game. the missions are great with lots of action. the cutscenes were also very good. you can hang out with friends, and between the missions their are lots of stuff to do. this is one of the best gta games.
  6. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Sure the shooting controls aren't perfect but overall the story and the missions make the game awesome. It's a well-crafted game. I completely agree with score it got.
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I had never played a GTA game before this one, so I have no reference to compare it to, but I was hesitant to buy this game at first - due to the negative connotations about it in various media outlets. After getting 100% completion in the game I have to say that it is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played - on ANY platform. As a person who prefers first person shooters & sports games, but has never enjoyed any form of RPG, I was impressed by both the RPG elements and the FPS elements. The story-line was captivating, the various missions were interesting, the achievements were top-notch. It was one of the few games I've ever played that was both open enough to explore - and interesting enough to actually want to take the time to explore. It's not many games that will get me to pause in the middle of a mission, just to listen to the insanely funny bit on the radio in my stolen cab. I'm already anticipating paying full price for GTA V (and I RARELY pay full price for a game). If you haven't played this yet, got out and buy it now!! Expand
  8. Oct 2, 2010
    6
    It lacks everything that San Andreas was and whenever they make a new GTA of course it has to live up the expectations of the last game. I feel like it went a step backwards. The city is dull and forgettable, Niko is boring, barely customizable and every other character is painfully plain. The DLC titles however, are amazing, instead of GTAIV, i would suggest buying the The Lost and Damned and The Ballad of Gay Tony, as they define what a GTA game should be.. unique and a hell of a lot of fun. Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    This game is fantastic it is better than every other sandbox game and all gta games that came before.
    This game has a great single player and multiplayer and all in one game ypu have to buy this it is one of the best games ever released
  10. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.
  11. Sep 20, 2010
    5
    So boring. Unless I'm in a room full of people who have absolutely no desire to have a turn, and are encouraging me to hit that old lady with my firetruck, then it's hard for me to play this game for more than ten minutes.
  12. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    My first Grand Theft Auto game and, with that being said, I liked it. I don't think it's the best game ever but pretty enjoyable and will keep you busy for a while. The good: the story is excellent, Liberty City is huge, great music, and voice acting is excellent as well. The bad: no reason to explore LC, driving takes a while to get used to, the penalty for failure is very high, combat is meh, and I could never get multiplayer to work. All in all, I recommend a purchase for this. These days it's pretty cheap and you get a lot of bang for your buck and the story is worth experiencing. Expand
  13. Sep 21, 2010
    8
    i held out on playing this game when it came out as i was sick of gta, but found a cheap copy so figured i would give it a go and it was better than i expected, but it is far from perfect. The cars handle poorly at best, the traffic can just get plain annoying and the ai can be very poor at times. Yet the story kept me intrigued and although linear the vast amounts of ways to play through the game is astonishing. MP can be quite hit and miss, but if you party up with a few friends just to mess about it can be hilarious. Expand
  14. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    After nearly eleven years of ups and downs, Rockstar has nailed it. This is the ultimate Grand Theft Auto experience, a powerhouse performance that will leave you clamoring for more, long after you've completed its story.
  15. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    You know, as a lifelong fan of this game, I can't help but getting a rock hard boner for this game. I mean, holy **** Some games follow, this game leads. If video games could lead, this would be like Abraham Lincoln or some ****
  16. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    GTA IV has to be one of the best of the games. It delivers a story of Niko, an illegal immigrant with a dark past who arrives in Liberty City (An extremely-detailed recreation of New York.) at the bottom of the food chain and takes up work with his cousin, Roman, and the local mobs. At the start of the game you'll be doing tedious, boring missions that are usually along the lines of transporting someone or beating up some guy. But eventually the game hands you a gun and tells you to shoot the living f**k out of enemies in certain places, or chase after enemies AND THEN shoot the f**k out of them. While that might sound like it would get boring, it never does. The aiming system is great, and the cover system is even better. Plus, the game unlocks new areas for you as you play through the story. If you don't feel like playing through the story, that's okay, because the game features the classic GTA free-roaming that the series is known for. Tired of doing missions? That's cool, go grab yourself a shotgun and go a on a killing spree. Feeling like getting away from the cops? Go over and steal yourself a helicopter and fly into a non-unlocked area, you get an instant five-star wanted level. No matter what you do, this game will provide entertainment. Play this game. Expand
  17. rhe
    Oct 25, 2010
    5
    While this game has an excellently realised and altogether human protagonist, a brilliant cast of characters, some cutting edge graphical achievements with one of the best physics engines in gaming today and some stellar voice actors. The only reason I would buy GTA 4 is the insane amount of stuff that you can do outside of the missions and this is where it falls short because the truth is that I wanted this game to be as good as GTA: San Andreas if not better and when I popped GTA 4 into my 360 I couldn't help but get bored because there just isn't enough in GTA 4 outside of the missions to keep you busy and while some may say don't compare it to GTA: SA you really can't help it because you expect it to be better than its predecessor but even GTA: SA had more stuff to keep you busy outside of missions. Expand
  18. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game, but its not perfect like some people make it out to be. Firstly there are many games that have much better visuals and character animations than GTA. Seriously, the people run and walk as though their knees are in a fixed position. There are also some issues with the gameplay as in some situations you find Niko running around in circles rather than doing what you pressed on you're controller. Other than that id say this game is perfect, excellent storyline, good soundtrack, and all you would expect from a rockstar game. I recommend it. Expand
  19. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Don't even get me started. I'll just leave it as . . . MY FAVORITE VIDEO GAME OF ALL-TIME!!
  20. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Still playing it in 2012. Fave game overall - ever. Actually got the download version (after buying the DVD over 2 years ago) just so I could play without having to put in the disk at all. It was worth it because it's my "go to" game and every once in a while I just get back into it. Again and again. Love it.
  21. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    There not too much to say than this, Grand Theft Auto IV is with out a shadow of a doubt the greatest game ever created, played and experienced. Rockstar you have outdone yourselves. Graphics aren't the best the XBOX 360 can offer but thats a small price to pay when you get into this masterpeice of a game. Warning, though this is an outstanding game, for some the content may disgust, so here is my BBFC content warning, CONTAINS VERY STRONG LANGUAGE THROUGHOUT, STRONG BRUTAL BLOODY VIOLENCE AND VERY STRONG ADULT THEMES, DRUG ABUSE AND VERY FREQUENT AMOUNTS OF LAW BREAKING (which note makes this game what is is, TRULY AWESOME). Expand
  22. May 21, 2011
    6
    I can understand the metascore of 92 if you've played the game for an hour. Seriously, though, the game is self-repeating and more boring than San Andreas ever was. Technically, this is just a graphic and physics improvement of GTA with the expense of nothing to do but to ignore the phone calls from your "friends". The multiplayer started to bore me after a couple of hours, but the single player - the real core of GTA - was playable. If you're looking for a sandbox, GTA gives you a postal-sort of fun for 5 minutes. After which you realize there is nothing to do, little to no use for the money you earn from missions and in-game bowling and other games are as dull as they sound like. I can not understand people giving a full-priced game which only contains better graphics and physics a full 10, or even 9. Truth be told, GTA IV was successful solely because of the Rockstar's mastery of hype and the thirst for another Grand Theft Auto. Nothing more. The story of Niko Bellic is generic and the game itself isn't even close to 9/10. Fanboys aside, you'll enjoy the first playthrough but in the end it leaves you 50 bucks poorer and a bad taste in your mouth because of the praise from critics and GTA disciples alike. Expand
  23. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    average. not the best gta by quite some way. how this is the best reviewd x360 game on metacritic ever I don't know. Not a disaster, has its moments, but still a very average game
  24. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This game has a great story and is very fun to play through once or twice or just mess around with codes on and blow things up. That said, after you beat it you'll probably only play through it once more and even then you may never touch it again. The multiplayer is there, but it feels really disconnected, and literally, you're often disconnected. It's a good game, worthy of the franchise, but it's not the best game ever. Expand
  25. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    Best game I know very epic when it comes to stunts and tipping cars or boats with the rpg which is shown in gta iv stunts 4 and the epic car chases just make me pee myself
  26. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    OK, oh my god, some people are saying this game is bad????? How!? Dude if you like this one the least, out of the other GTAs, then you don't know what a good game is. Great story. Great action. Great free-roam, what more could you want?!
  27. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Bought this on release date back in 2008, still play it online on a nearly weekly basis with friends! If you're a fan of any GTA, you CANNOT miss out on this one.
  28. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    I've never played a GTA game before, but htis blew me away. A very meaningful and movign story, a great lead character with one hilarious cousin, tie in a love interest and it make for one great game. The driving feels very nice and realistic, and the piles of extra things to do in Liberty City means you'll never get bored, whether it's hanging out with your friends or going for gold in a street race its just pure fun. The gun-play is solid and the chase sequences between you and the police (Or you chasing after someone else) is exilherating. Mulltiplayer is incredibly fun with Liberty City being your batleground was one kick-ass idea, and the wide spread of game modes is awesome, and free-mode is very fun. This is a Must-Buy in my book. Buy this now, and if you hate this game then your either a paranoid parent or a sad little chiild who can't get any kills in multiplayer. Expand
  29. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through. Me trying to find at least one thing to complain about. Nothing. This game really deserves GOTY. And I really have to say Niko Bellic is the only character in the GTA series that you can truly connect with. Understanding his difficult life and mis-adventures you can really feel his emotions. And for a free-roaming game they really knocked me out. The free roaming really is amazing. Its awesome how they can have such a nice, luminous city and still have amazing and almost flawless graphics. As for the multi-player, I didn't really play it that much but i love the fact that you can roam around Liberty City causing as much mayhem as you want. The ranked matches are good too, with death-match (etc...) it was pretty cool to see that in a GTA game. Surely I can truly say that you have not experienced free-roam/sandbox games until you have played GTA IV. Expand
  30. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    I would have given this game a 10/10 if it were not for the story line ending and the rest of the game left to meaningless missions. I was disapointed when the game (story line) ended because the game stats said the game was only 60% complete, leading me to believe that there was much more to the game left...The story line part of the game however was 10/10, very addictive and fun. Great graphics. One of the more enjoyable games I have ever played on xbox 360. Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.