Grand Theft Auto IV Image
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2745 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 Xbox 360 Game of the Year; Also known as "GTA IV"] What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City,[Metacritic's 2008 Xbox 360 Game of the Year; Also known as "GTA IV"] What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover that the reality is very different from the dream in a city that worships money and status, and is heaven for those who have them an a living nightmare for those who don't. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Grand Theft Auto IV is undoubtedly one of the strongest games of this generation. The amount of content is simply mind-blowing.
  3. 100
    I could go on for another couple thousand words about the amazing experience that is GTA IV, but what's most important for you to know is that this game is an absolute masterpiece.
  4. We all knew GTA 4 would be a great game and sell millions of copies, but I didn't expect it to shame pretty much every other game I've played this generation.
  5. With one of the most compelling stories ever told by a video game, an extremely likeable main character, an insane amount of online modes, and virtually no flaws to be detected, GTA IV is even more than it was expected to be by fans.
  6. The cut scenes are where the game really shines for me. There is this...this intensity in the character’s expression. Characters are actually emoting and expressing. They bring out emotions in us.
  7. 80
    The on-foot controls are an improvement but still have a long way to go before I would consider them even remotely good, and I can’t help but miss the huge world of San Andreas. That all being said, GTA IV offers up probably the most cohesive and mature story in the series to date.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. KaleB.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Better than Bioshock (my previous favorite game), in my opinion. I'm half way through playing it for the second time and it's still Better than Bioshock (my previous favorite game), in my opinion. I'm half way through playing it for the second time and it's still fun as all hell. Expand
  2. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    GTA IV has to be one of the best of the games. It delivers a story of Niko, an illegal immigrant with a dark past who arrives in Liberty CityGTA IV has to be one of the best of the games. It delivers a story of Niko, an illegal immigrant with a dark past who arrives in Liberty City (An extremely-detailed recreation of New York.) at the bottom of the food chain and takes up work with his cousin, Roman, and the local mobs. At the start of the game you'll be doing tedious, boring missions that are usually along the lines of transporting someone or beating up some guy. But eventually the game hands you a gun and tells you to shoot the living f**k out of enemies in certain places, or chase after enemies AND THEN shoot the f**k out of them. While that might sound like it would get boring, it never does. The aiming system is great, and the cover system is even better. Plus, the game unlocks new areas for you as you play through the story. If you don't feel like playing through the story, that's okay, because the game features the classic GTA free-roaming that the series is known for. Tired of doing missions? That's cool, go grab yourself a shotgun and go a on a killing spree. Feeling like getting away from the cops? Go over and steal yourself a helicopter and fly into a non-unlocked area, you get an instant five-star wanted level. No matter what you do, this game will provide entertainment. Play this game. Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through.Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through. Me trying to find at least one thing to complain about. Nothing. This game really deserves GOTY. And I really have to say Niko Bellic is the only character in the GTA series that you can truly connect with. Understanding his difficult life and mis-adventures you can really feel his emotions. And for a free-roaming game they really knocked me out. The free roaming really is amazing. Its awesome how they can have such a nice, luminous city and still have amazing and almost flawless graphics. As for the multi-player, I didn't really play it that much but i love the fact that you can roam around Liberty City causing as much mayhem as you want. The ranked matches are good too, with death-match (etc...) it was pretty cool to see that in a GTA game. Surely I can truly say that you have not experienced free-roam/sandbox games until you have played GTA IV. Expand
  4. TomSawyer
    Aug 24, 2008
    9
    Dominic is an idiot..the races impossible? I never EVER had trouble coming in 1st. You are just really bad or using the wrong cars...evenDominic is an idiot..the races impossible? I never EVER had trouble coming in 1st. You are just really bad or using the wrong cars...even though I could do come in 1st with just about any car. I would give it a 9.5/10...everyone who says its bad is proabably just bad at the game itself. The controls are slick. Expand
  5. JonasL.
    Jun 19, 2008
    8
    A great game in many ways and worth buying, but the critics are over the line giving it 98%. There are a lot of bugs with the AI, and the A great game in many ways and worth buying, but the critics are over the line giving it 98%. There are a lot of bugs with the AI, and the story is a bit thin. Graphics are impressive considering the size of the city, and the amount of content Rockstar has managed to put into this game is amazing. Expand
  6. ZacL.
    May 4, 2008
    7
    This game was way easier than previous GTA games. Most missions were about 10 minutes of driving to the location and back, plus shoot a guy This game was way easier than previous GTA games. Most missions were about 10 minutes of driving to the location and back, plus shoot a guy in the head which takes 4-5 seconds. Certainly entertaining, not as good as San Andreas. Expand
  7. JimM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    0
    It's an alright game but putting it over OoT is an outrage.

See all 874 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.