Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

Grand Theft Auto IV Image
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2990 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 Xbox 360 Game of the Year; Also known as "GTA IV"] What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City,[Metacritic's 2008 Xbox 360 Game of the Year; Also known as "GTA IV"] What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover that the reality is very different from the dream in a city that worships money and status, and is heaven for those who have them an a living nightmare for those who don't. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Grand Theft Auto IV is undoubtedly one of the strongest games of this generation. The amount of content is simply mind-blowing.
  3. 100
    I could go on for another couple thousand words about the amazing experience that is GTA IV, but what's most important for you to know is that this game is an absolute masterpiece.
  4. We all knew GTA 4 would be a great game and sell millions of copies, but I didn't expect it to shame pretty much every other game I've played this generation.
  5. With one of the most compelling stories ever told by a video game, an extremely likeable main character, an insane amount of online modes, and virtually no flaws to be detected, GTA IV is even more than it was expected to be by fans.
  6. The cut scenes are where the game really shines for me. There is this...this intensity in the character’s expression. Characters are actually emoting and expressing. They bring out emotions in us.
  7. netjak
    80
    The on-foot controls are an improvement but still have a long way to go before I would consider them even remotely good, and I can’t help but miss the huge world of San Andreas. That all being said, GTA IV offers up probably the most cohesive and mature story in the series to date.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. BertieV
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Greatest game ever played. End of discussion.
  2. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Un juego fantástico, un mundo inmenso lleno de posibilidades, excelente jugabilidad y muchas muchas horas para llevarlo al 100%.Un juego fantástico, un mundo inmenso lleno de posibilidades, excelente jugabilidad y muchas muchas horas para llevarlo al 100%. El tamaño de la ciudad es impresionante, la cantidad de elementos interactivos es también de admirarse. Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through.Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through. Me trying to find at least one thing to complain about. Nothing. This game really deserves GOTY. And I really have to say Niko Bellic is the only character in the GTA series that you can truly connect with. Understanding his difficult life and mis-adventures you can really feel his emotions. And for a free-roaming game they really knocked me out. The free roaming really is amazing. Its awesome how they can have such a nice, luminous city and still have amazing and almost flawless graphics. As for the multi-player, I didn't really play it that much but i love the fact that you can roam around Liberty City causing as much mayhem as you want. The ranked matches are good too, with death-match (etc...) it was pretty cool to see that in a GTA game. Surely I can truly say that you have not experienced free-roam/sandbox games until you have played GTA IV. Expand
  4. StevenS
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    It does everything a sandbox game should, and its got a great multiplayer. Don't listen to the people who give it low scores. Its one of It does everything a sandbox game should, and its got a great multiplayer. Don't listen to the people who give it low scores. Its one of the best sandbox games ever made. Expand
  5. EliF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    8
    There's fun to be had here, but the main mission design and gameflow are deeply flawed. Retrying a failed mission usually requires There's fun to be had here, but the main mission design and gameflow are deeply flawed. Retrying a failed mission usually requires several minutes of driving. I quit playing after the game failed me twice for not wearing "only smart shoes with a suit" to a meeting with a lawyer. It turned out my shoes were fine -- the problem was that I was wearing sunglasses. I had to drive all the way home to take them off. Expand
  6. Impindahizzy
    May 22, 2008
    7
    Wildly overrated in my opinion. The one player game stuns at first, but the repetitive nature of most missions soon begin to annoy. To be Wildly overrated in my opinion. The one player game stuns at first, but the repetitive nature of most missions soon begin to annoy. To be honest I prefer my games more 'arcadey' (if that's a proper word?) and actually prefered Crackdown to this!! So it's really not to my taste. However, the reason I gave it 7 out of 10 is for the online multi-player modes which are excellent and great fun to play (doesn't come close to the likes of CoD4 and Halo 3 online though), otherwise I would have given it 5 out of 10. To sum up, it's not to my taste but I can understand why the game is well liked. Overrated. Expand
  7. JimM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    0
    It's an alright game but putting it over OoT is an outrage.

See all 893 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.