Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

Grand Theft Auto IV Image
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3000 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 Xbox 360 Game of the Year; Also known as "GTA IV"] What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City,[Metacritic's 2008 Xbox 360 Game of the Year; Also known as "GTA IV"] What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover that the reality is very different from the dream in a city that worships money and status, and is heaven for those who have them an a living nightmare for those who don't. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Grand Theft Auto IV is undoubtedly one of the strongest games of this generation. The amount of content is simply mind-blowing.
  3. 100
    I could go on for another couple thousand words about the amazing experience that is GTA IV, but what's most important for you to know is that this game is an absolute masterpiece.
  4. We all knew GTA 4 would be a great game and sell millions of copies, but I didn't expect it to shame pretty much every other game I've played this generation.
  5. With one of the most compelling stories ever told by a video game, an extremely likeable main character, an insane amount of online modes, and virtually no flaws to be detected, GTA IV is even more than it was expected to be by fans.
  6. The cut scenes are where the game really shines for me. There is this...this intensity in the character’s expression. Characters are actually emoting and expressing. They bring out emotions in us.
  7. netjak
    80
    The on-foot controls are an improvement but still have a long way to go before I would consider them even remotely good, and I can’t help but miss the huge world of San Andreas. That all being said, GTA IV offers up probably the most cohesive and mature story in the series to date.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. JasonK
    May 6, 2008
    10
    This is the first GTA where I actually feel like I am in the game. Magnificent graphics that go unmatched with a sweet storyline. Yea This is the first GTA where I actually feel like I am in the game. Magnificent graphics that go unmatched with a sweet storyline. Yea 10/10...the first 10.10 game for me since Halo 2 came out (and that was just for the xbox live!). Expand
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    GTA 4 has, since it's release, represented the high water mark in this current generation of console games.
    GTA 3 prompted me to purchase a
    GTA 4 has, since it's release, represented the high water mark in this current generation of console games.
    GTA 3 prompted me to purchase a PS2, and GTA4 did a similar job in prompting me to purchase an XBOX 360. 3 years on and everything I've played since has always been measured up to my GTA 4 experience and few have even come close.
    My friend has an 8 year old son who loves his XBOX. Due to the adult rating, he can't play GTA 4 (although take a trip to the multiplayer element of the game and you will find that a lot of parents choose to ignore this rating). My heart bleeds for him. If I was 8 now, I would lose the plot if I was forced to wait another 10 years to play the game.

    I can't fault this game. Kinda played it to death now, so desperate for GTA5
    Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through.Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through. Me trying to find at least one thing to complain about. Nothing. This game really deserves GOTY. And I really have to say Niko Bellic is the only character in the GTA series that you can truly connect with. Understanding his difficult life and mis-adventures you can really feel his emotions. And for a free-roaming game they really knocked me out. The free roaming really is amazing. Its awesome how they can have such a nice, luminous city and still have amazing and almost flawless graphics. As for the multi-player, I didn't really play it that much but i love the fact that you can roam around Liberty City causing as much mayhem as you want. The ranked matches are good too, with death-match (etc...) it was pretty cool to see that in a GTA game. Surely I can truly say that you have not experienced free-roam/sandbox games until you have played GTA IV. Expand
  4. ChrisS
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more safehouses, car customization, and so on. But come on people, GTA was never supposed to be The Sims...this is an action game! Instead of a hollow (but funny) character like CJ who the player could "pimp out" through various means, Rockstar has filled its beautiful gameworld with likable, believable characters. Sure there's no busting into Area 69 or blowing up a government cargo plane and then skydiving out...but there is still plenty of freedom and fun to be had in Liberty City's sandbox world. GTA has grown up. This was inevitably going to disappoint some gamers, but in my opinion it is a welcome change. The depth of the characters and world finds me going on fewer killing sprees and often running from police rather than slaying them, and to be honest, there's something awesomely revolutionary and superior about a GTA world full of characters I want to keep around. (Its still fun to push them in the water though). Expand
  5. EliF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    8
    There's fun to be had here, but the main mission design and gameflow are deeply flawed. Retrying a failed mission usually requires There's fun to be had here, but the main mission design and gameflow are deeply flawed. Retrying a failed mission usually requires several minutes of driving. I quit playing after the game failed me twice for not wearing "only smart shoes with a suit" to a meeting with a lawyer. It turned out my shoes were fine -- the problem was that I was wearing sunglasses. I had to drive all the way home to take them off. Expand
  6. Impindahizzy
    May 22, 2008
    7
    Wildly overrated in my opinion. The one player game stuns at first, but the repetitive nature of most missions soon begin to annoy. To be Wildly overrated in my opinion. The one player game stuns at first, but the repetitive nature of most missions soon begin to annoy. To be honest I prefer my games more 'arcadey' (if that's a proper word?) and actually prefered Crackdown to this!! So it's really not to my taste. However, the reason I gave it 7 out of 10 is for the online multi-player modes which are excellent and great fun to play (doesn't come close to the likes of CoD4 and Halo 3 online though), otherwise I would have given it 5 out of 10. To sum up, it's not to my taste but I can understand why the game is well liked. Overrated. Expand
  7. JimM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    0
    It's an alright game but putting it over OoT is an outrage.

See all 895 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.