Grand Theft Auto IV Xbox 360

Grand Theft Auto IV Image
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2958 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 Xbox 360 Game of the Year; Also known as "GTA IV"] What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City,[Metacritic's 2008 Xbox 360 Game of the Year; Also known as "GTA IV"] What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover that the reality is very different from the dream in a city that worships money and status, and is heaven for those who have them an a living nightmare for those who don't. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Grand Theft Auto IV is undoubtedly one of the strongest games of this generation. The amount of content is simply mind-blowing.
  3. 100
    I could go on for another couple thousand words about the amazing experience that is GTA IV, but what's most important for you to know is that this game is an absolute masterpiece.
  4. We all knew GTA 4 would be a great game and sell millions of copies, but I didn't expect it to shame pretty much every other game I've played this generation.
  5. With one of the most compelling stories ever told by a video game, an extremely likeable main character, an insane amount of online modes, and virtually no flaws to be detected, GTA IV is even more than it was expected to be by fans.
  6. The cut scenes are where the game really shines for me. There is this...this intensity in the character’s expression. Characters are actually emoting and expressing. They bring out emotions in us.
  7. netjak
    80
    The on-foot controls are an improvement but still have a long way to go before I would consider them even remotely good, and I can’t help but miss the huge world of San Andreas. That all being said, GTA IV offers up probably the most cohesive and mature story in the series to date.

See all 86 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Truly amazing game. I'm glad they finally added cover to the game play and it works perfectly. There are so many things to do and places Truly amazing game. I'm glad they finally added cover to the game play and it works perfectly. There are so many things to do and places to see that you'll probably not run out of things to do until GTA V. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is most likely the pinnacle of action sandboxers this console has seen. And it may even remain as one, as GTA III didGrand Theft Auto IV is most likely the pinnacle of action sandboxers this console has seen. And it may even remain as one, as GTA III did before it. The story is brilliant - it has multiple endings, and whether or not you realize it, your in-game actions impact it. The main missions vary more than previous series entries, and the side-missions also are far more enjoyable. And if your not one for story, the sandbox world is one of a kind. You can load up, throw money to a tramp, get a new jacket, pay for a heli-tour, hijack said heli-tour, and stand atop a building with a sniper. Or one of the hundreds of other opportunities Rocktars beautifully re-booted and re-imaged Liberty City has to offer. And go online, with two or more friends, or on your own. That's another world of it's own. Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through.Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through. Me trying to find at least one thing to complain about. Nothing. This game really deserves GOTY. And I really have to say Niko Bellic is the only character in the GTA series that you can truly connect with. Understanding his difficult life and mis-adventures you can really feel his emotions. And for a free-roaming game they really knocked me out. The free roaming really is amazing. Its awesome how they can have such a nice, luminous city and still have amazing and almost flawless graphics. As for the multi-player, I didn't really play it that much but i love the fact that you can roam around Liberty City causing as much mayhem as you want. The ranked matches are good too, with death-match (etc...) it was pretty cool to see that in a GTA game. Surely I can truly say that you have not experienced free-roam/sandbox games until you have played GTA IV. Expand
  4. ChrisS
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more A typical complaint about GTA4 is the lack of features that were present in San Andreas: haircuts, greater variety of clothes, more safehouses, car customization, and so on. But come on people, GTA was never supposed to be The Sims...this is an action game! Instead of a hollow (but funny) character like CJ who the player could "pimp out" through various means, Rockstar has filled its beautiful gameworld with likable, believable characters. Sure there's no busting into Area 69 or blowing up a government cargo plane and then skydiving out...but there is still plenty of freedom and fun to be had in Liberty City's sandbox world. GTA has grown up. This was inevitably going to disappoint some gamers, but in my opinion it is a welcome change. The depth of the characters and world finds me going on fewer killing sprees and often running from police rather than slaying them, and to be honest, there's something awesomely revolutionary and superior about a GTA world full of characters I want to keep around. (Its still fun to push them in the water though). Expand
  5. SamM.
    Jul 4, 2008
    8
    GTA4. The scope of this game is just massive. This game could take over your life quite literally and is a credit to the game designers at GTA4. The scope of this game is just massive. This game could take over your life quite literally and is a credit to the game designers at Rockstar. But I just don't feel it has the charm of VICE CITY (which is still the pinnacle of the series so far). Also the targeting system has still not been perfected. Credit goes to Rockstar for the shear scope of this game, It just does not feel fresh anymore to me,. Expand
  6. ZacL.
    May 4, 2008
    7
    This game was way easier than previous GTA games. Most missions were about 10 minutes of driving to the location and back, plus shoot a guy This game was way easier than previous GTA games. Most missions were about 10 minutes of driving to the location and back, plus shoot a guy in the head which takes 4-5 seconds. Certainly entertaining, not as good as San Andreas. Expand
  7. JimM.
    Apr 29, 2008
    0
    It's an alright game but putting it over OoT is an outrage.

See all 890 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: December 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.