Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    96
    The great number of diverse things to do in the game is its strongest asset.
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Diverse, chaotic, and loads of fun, especially with a group of friends. [Christmas 2013, p.84]
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    The true beauty of GTA Online is its endlessness. There are bigger worlds, but none as dense and rich with possibility and hilarity. This is a game that will give and give, and that makes its technical hardships mere distant blips on its radar.
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    87
    It’s been a tough start, but this is the way to go. If they keep polishing the experience and adding content, Los Santos is going to be our home for a long time.
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    80
    Once the intermittent connection kinks have been ironed out, and with Rockstar promising regular additional content, this one could run and run. If you've finished the main game you might think you're done with Los Santos, but Los Santos isn't done with you.
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    75
    GTA Online has great, but not fully realized, potential. The developers need to sort out problems with servers and some irritating gameplay issues, and after that we need to be given an expansion with bank robberies. Fortunately the entire online mode for GTA V is going to be updated on a regular basis (from new missions to new clothes and haircuts). And for now - get some friends together and go do lots of seemingly absurd things. The fun is tremendous.
  7. Oct 12, 2013
    70
    The unpredictable human element is both an asset and a liability, and the technical problems that have plagued it are far too significant to be ignored. But when it clicks, as it often does, there's nothing quite like GTA Online.
  8. Oct 8, 2013
    70
    It's one of the most fun online games I've ever played, but the rampant issues including the mass deletion of character data is something that really should have been worked out before the game launched. One day GTA Online will reach its true potential with a massive map creation tool and more playable content than pretty much every genre outside of MMOs -- of this I have no doubt, given how deep Rockstar's coffers are. But for now, it's best to tread lightly until all of the kinks are worked out.
  9. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    That said, with heists, race editors and much more still to come, GTA Online has enormous potential, and we wouldn't bet against Rockstar from tapping into every last drop.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 163 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 44
  2. Negative: 17 out of 44
  1. Oct 3, 2013
    0
    Disgusting, the complete opposite of single player, a fancy lobby for minigames interwoven with a grind for money farm fest. Not to mentionDisgusting, the complete opposite of single player, a fancy lobby for minigames interwoven with a grind for money farm fest. Not to mention the minigames are so bad. You replay missions to grind for money, races and deathmatches, 16 players in a map so big, the free roam is pathetic. This is not even mentioning the servers were a disgrace, even though they release it 2 weeks after launch to avoid the bad reviews. Billion dollar game huh? Can't even get the concept for a good online game right, but you nailed single player which i loved. Shame really. The people who came up with the online design should not be considered for the next GTA. Good job on milking those stupid enough to buy money with real money. Full Review »
  2. Jul 10, 2014
    1
    This is a complete disappointment and a big f--k you from Rockstar to all its players. This is everything I don't want in a multiplayer game,This is a complete disappointment and a big f--k you from Rockstar to all its players. This is everything I don't want in a multiplayer game, in a multiplayer game.
    Problems with GTA online:
    1: Grand theft auto IV had more hackers and modders then you could care to count in the lobbies. Well Guess what? They return! There is no shortage of hackers at level 1000 with invincibility and billions of dollars running around. And the hackers give out money making Rockstars Microtransactions Worthless. It complete kills the atmosphere of the game.But even that is not the biggest problem with this game.
    2: RDM (Random Death Match)
    Yes you can kill people and it can be fun, but it gets dull almost instantly. Every time you try doing something in freemode, Someone comes up and murders you, blows up your car, sets a bounty on you, Sends mercenaries to kill you, Calls a mugger to steal your cash. And its even worse when they Come up in a Tank and start killing you on spawn. Yes there is a "passive mode". But passive mode is complete GARBAGE. You can be run-over and killed, If your driving a car in passive mode you can still be shot to death, and the police can still shoot and kill you. This is one of the main reasons I play in Invite only sessions.
    3. Police are Merciless, and RELENTLESS.
    It seems any time you try doing anything, the Police come after you. They are completely reckless, annoying, and a complete disaster. I have noticed the Police CHEAT in game, both in storymode and Online. Here is a list of what I have seen them do:
    - Police Cruisers get a random speed boost and ram into you hard.
    - Police Cruisers can keep up with your sports car at high rates of speed, Indicating they have speed hacks. You can test this if you do not believe me by getting in a police cruiser and getting in a chase, Although your driving the same car, They are faster and ram into you hard causing you to spin out.
    - Police spawn right on top of you while in a chase. Countless times I have seen police cruisers spawn a few meters ahead of me. Its unneccesary and takes away any fun in being chased by the police.
    - Police Magnetically go to your exact location. Even in a fighter jet Police helicopters follow you even though they have no idea where you are.
    - Police can randomly gain sight of you even though they have no visual contact on you. Again, This can be proven by going underground with police helicopters chasing you.
    - Police chase you while fighting other players. This is the main reason why I hate online. Having a gun fight with other players in freemode? So are the Police. I guarentee the Police will kill you more then players while trying to have a fight. They also chase you over minute things.
    Rockstar should have done what they did in GTA IV and made lobbies with, or without the police. But of course we all know that would mean more work and for Big ass greedy companies they would rather play the game of "How long can we keep the mice going while giving them the least amount of cheese possible?"
    4: Matchmaking is Complete Garbage.
    Particularly the Quick job crap. The jobs are already a boring grind fest that produce little money, But the Match making MURDERS it. Select a Mission, And the Matchmaking gives you: Last team standing games, Capture mode games, and Top fun Games. I want to do a mission, not a PVP game mode. 75% of the time you end up getting a mode you didn't select. And the Voting screen also, is complete Garbage. If I finished a Mission, Why of 6 choices do I get Parachuting, Deathmatches, Races, and No missions? Yes missions may show up, But not frequently enough. Its completely broken, And it is complete unnecessary.
    I can go on ALL day about what makes GTA online not worth a Cent. If you enjoy a Linear grindfest Garbage dump filled with hackers, Broken menu's, Crappy lobbies, Crappy players, Reduced amount of vehicles, Hackers, Crappy Rockstar Ticket services, And issues carried over from Single player you will feel Right at home. For everyone Else GTA Online is not worth your time. I have played GTA online from October 1st to Now and it has not improved vastly, and continues to disappoint. I am a level 123 with a 2.59 KDR before the fanboy defenders call me a "noob". Please avoid Online at ALL costs and stick to single player, Or play a different game that doesn't screw over its players.

    **Update July 10 2014**
    Often games improve over time, As updates roll in, and bugs get fixed. However there are always exceptions, And GTA online is one of them. They infact, have managed to make all my previous complaints worse.
    #1 DLC.
    Oh how nice free content!.... oh all the DLC content is at a unreasonable price. oh new cars! oops, nevermind they are all overpriced.
    #2 Earning money
    I said this in december "The jobs are already a boring grind fest that produce little money" And they made it even HARDER to earn money. You don't profit on 90% of jobs anymore. "Freedom of GTA 5, online!" my ass.
    Do. Not. Play. GTA Online.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    3
    Grindfest that could, and should have been a whole lot better. The wasted potential here is staggering.

    Added to that the lack of people
    Grindfest that could, and should have been a whole lot better. The wasted potential here is staggering.

    Added to that the lack of people connecting to pretty much anything you try to start from the map kills the online entirely. One can only imagine how many more features or how earlier released GTAV could have been if rockstar hadn't wasted their time on this POS.

    Rockstars previously unimpeachable reputation has taken a huge blow with this, I was genuinely excited for GTA Online in the run-up to release but it has proven to be a damp squib.
    Full Review »