Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 26, 2013
    96
    The great number of diverse things to do in the game is its strongest asset.
  2. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    Diverse, chaotic, and loads of fun, especially with a group of friends. [Christmas 2013, p.84]
  3. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    The true beauty of GTA Online is its endlessness. There are bigger worlds, but none as dense and rich with possibility and hilarity. This is a game that will give and give, and that makes its technical hardships mere distant blips on its radar.
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    87
    It’s been a tough start, but this is the way to go. If they keep polishing the experience and adding content, Los Santos is going to be our home for a long time.
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    80
    Once the intermittent connection kinks have been ironed out, and with Rockstar promising regular additional content, this one could run and run. If you've finished the main game you might think you're done with Los Santos, but Los Santos isn't done with you.
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    75
    GTA Online has great, but not fully realized, potential. The developers need to sort out problems with servers and some irritating gameplay issues, and after that we need to be given an expansion with bank robberies. Fortunately the entire online mode for GTA V is going to be updated on a regular basis (from new missions to new clothes and haircuts). And for now - get some friends together and go do lots of seemingly absurd things. The fun is tremendous.
  7. Oct 12, 2013
    70
    The unpredictable human element is both an asset and a liability, and the technical problems that have plagued it are far too significant to be ignored. But when it clicks, as it often does, there's nothing quite like GTA Online.
  8. Oct 8, 2013
    70
    It's one of the most fun online games I've ever played, but the rampant issues including the mass deletion of character data is something that really should have been worked out before the game launched. One day GTA Online will reach its true potential with a massive map creation tool and more playable content than pretty much every genre outside of MMOs -- of this I have no doubt, given how deep Rockstar's coffers are. But for now, it's best to tread lightly until all of the kinks are worked out.
  9. Oct 17, 2013
    60
    That said, with heists, race editors and much more still to come, GTA Online has enormous potential, and we wouldn't bet against Rockstar from tapping into every last drop.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 38
  2. Negative: 16 out of 38
  1. Oct 3, 2013
    0
    Disgusting, the complete opposite of single player, a fancy lobby for minigames interwoven with a grind for money farm fest. Not to mention the minigames are so bad. You replay missions to grind for money, races and deathmatches, 16 players in a map so big, the free roam is pathetic. This is not even mentioning the servers were a disgrace, even though they release it 2 weeks after launch to avoid the bad reviews. Billion dollar game huh? Can't even get the concept for a good online game right, but you nailed single player which i loved. Shame really. The people who came up with the online design should not be considered for the next GTA. Good job on milking those stupid enough to buy money with real money. Full Review »
  2. Oct 21, 2013
    3
    A good idea spoiled by terrible execution. The bad sport mechanic ruins a lot of the potential fun in this game, and the bugs and ridiculous level do as well. Full Review »
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    I had some extreme issues at launch, but after a while, it works like a charm and it's awesome when you finally get past the extremely bugged out tutorial. Everything is awesome after that, but Rockstar, I am still a bit disappointed. Full Review »